فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / مصر / الحكم والسياسة / التعديلات الدستورية طوّر الإعداد لتكريس الحكم الإستبداي في مصر

التعديلات الدستورية طوّر الإعداد لتكريس الحكم الإستبداي في مصر

Egypt- Egyptian parliament
رئيس البرلمان المصري علي عبد العال (يمين) يترأس جلسة عامة في البرلمان لمناقشة التعديلات الدستورية المقترحة لتمديد ولاية الرئيس من 4 إلى 6 سنوات، في العاصمة القاهرة في 14 فبراير 2019. Photo AFP

في خطوةٍ توقعها المحللون والنشطاء منذ عامٍ على الأقل، وافق البرلمان المصري، بشكلٍ مبدئي، على مسودة التعديلات على الدستور في فبراير 2019، التي تمنح الرئيس عبد الفتاح السيسي سلطاتٍ واسعة وتسمح له بالبقاء في السلطة حتى عام 2034.

ستناقش اللجنة التشريعية في البرلمان التعديلات، وربما تنقحها، قبل إجراء التصويت النهائي المتوقع في أواخر مارس أو أبريل. وبعد ذلك، ستخضع التعديلات لاستفتاءٍ من المتوقع إجراؤه قبل بداية شهر رمضان، أي في الأسبوع الأول من شهر مايو.

التعديل الأبرز هو ذلك الذي يتعلق بتحديد مدة الرئاسة، حيث سيتم رفعها من ولايتن مدة كل منهما أربع سنوات إلى ولايتين مدة كل منهما ست سنوات. وهذا من شأنه أن يسمح للسيسي بالترشح لولايتين إضافيتين بعد انتهاء ولايته الحالية في عام 2022، مما يعني بقاءه في السلطة حتى عام 2034.

من جهتهم، يرى المشرعون الذين اقترحوا التعديلات أنها ضرورية لاستقرار البلاد وللسماح للسيسي باستكمال العديد من المشاريع التنموية، مثل العاصمة الإدارية الجديدة شرق القاهرة.

وعلاوةً على ذلك، ستمنح هذه التعديلات الرئيس سلطة تعيين القضاة في المحاكم العليا في مصر واختيار المدعي العام. وقالت عدة منظمات غير حكومية معنية بحقوق الإنسان في بيانٍ إن هذه الإجراءات “ستقضي على ما تبقى من استقلال القضاء.”

وقال مسؤول قضائي رفيع المستوى للمنفذ الإخباري المحلي، مدى مصر، إن التغييرات ستجعل الدستور “دستوراً ديكتاتورياً عسكرياً.”

فقد أثبتت المحاكم أنها واحدة من الأماكن الأخيرة التي يمكن فيها تحدي سلطة السيسي بشكلٍ أو بآخر. ففي عامي 2016 و2017، تمكن المحامون من إحباط نقل مصر لملكية جزر البحر الأحمر، تيران وصنافير، إلى المملكة العربية السعودية في المحكمة الإدارية العليا لأكثر من عام.

كما ستلغي التعديلات سلطة مجلس الدولة في مراجعة العقود التي تكون فيها الدولة أو إحدى الشركات التابعة لها أحد أصحاب المصلحة. هذه المادة غريبة على وجه الخصوص في ضوء التوسع الأخير لمشاركة الجيش المصري في الاقتصاد من خلال العديد من الشركات المملوكة للجيش التي توقع عقوداً مع شركاتٍ خاصة (دولية).

تعديلٌ رئيسي آخر في الدستور يتعلق بالقوات المسلحة المصرية، إذ سيمنحها مسؤولياتٍ تتجاوز مجرد حماية حدود البلاد والحفاظ على الأمن. وفي حال تمت الموافقة على التعديلات، سيشمل دور الجيش “الحفاظ على الديمقراطية والدستور، وحماية المبادىء الأساسية للدولة وطبيعتها المدنية، وحماية حقوق الأفراد والحريات الفردية.”

ويخشى المعلقون من أن هذا سيسمح للجيش بالتدخل في الشؤون السياسية، إلى حد إلغاء نتائج الانتخابات.

وعليه، ستضفي المواد المعدلة المتعلقة بالجيش طابعاً دستورياً على ما يحصل في البلاد منذ أن أطاح الجيش بالرئيس الإسلامي محمد مرسي في يوليو 2013. فقد ازداد الدور السياسي للجيش منذ ذلك الحين، وذلك في المقام الأول بانتخاب اللواء السيسي، رئيساً للبلاد. بالإضافة إلى ذلك، تم تعيين العديد من كبار القادة العسكريين أو المتقاعدين كوزراء أو محافظين على مدى السنوات الماضية، ويبدو أن الإنفاق العسكري قد ازداد بشكلٍ ملحوظ.

وعلاوةً على ذلك، أقر البرلمان قانوناً جديداً في يوليو 2018 يمكن بموجبه للرئيس أن يحمي الضباط العسكريين من المقاضاة على جرائم ارتكبت في الفترة بين يوليو 2013 ويناير 2016. يحمي القانون فعلياً القادة المسؤولين عن حملة القمع العنيفة على الإخوان المسلمين في هذه الفترة، على سبيل المثال، فض اعتصام رابعة في أغسطس 2013، الذي أدى إلى مقتل ما يقرب من 1000 شخص، دون مساءلة.

وعلاوة على ذلك، باتت شركات الجيش، الواقعة تحت مظلة وزارة الدفاع أو وزارة الإنتاج العسكري، تشارك بشكلٍ متزايد في الأنشطة الاقتصادية. فقد قال أحد المصادر في مجال الطاقة لفَنَك بأنه، بشكلٍ أساسي، ينبغي أن يمر كل مشروع جديد تطوره شركاتٌ أجنبية في مصر عبر الجيش. كما مُنحت الهيئة الهندسية للقوات المسلحة أدواراً رائدة في مشاريع البنية التحتية الضخمة، مثل توسيع قناة السويس وبناء العاصمة الجديدة.

التعديل الأخير في الدستور هو إعادة مجلس الشورى، الذي يعتبر الغرفة العليا للحكومة. وعليه، يعيّن الرئيس ثلث مجلس الشورى بشكلٍ مباشر.

وبالفعل، بدأت القوى الموالية للحكومة في حشد الدعم لهذه التعديلات. وتقول حملة تقودها آلاف المنظمات غير الحكومية إنها تهدف إلى زيادة الوعي بين الناس حول “ضرورة التعديلات الدستورية” لاستقرار مصر وبناء دولةٍ حديثة.

بينما تحاول ما تبقى من المعارضة التعبئة ضد هذه التعديلات. فقد أعلن المرشح الرئاسي السابق والسياسي المخضرم حمدين صباحي في مطلع فبراير إنشاء ائتلافٍ من 11 حزباً سياسياً وعددٍ من الشخصيات السياسية والنواب.

وقال خالد داوود، الرئيس السابق لحزب الدستور، لوكالة أسوشييتد برس: “سنطعن بالتعديلات المقترحة أمام المحكمة الدستورية العليا في البلاد.”

وقال أحد المحامين المعارضين للتعديلات لفَنَك شريطة عدم الكشف عن هويته، إنه لا يتوقع أن يكون هذا الائتلاف قادراً على إيقاف التعديلات، بيد أن ذلك ذو أهمية لمواصلة الضغط على النظام. ويعتقد أن الكثير من الناس قد يصوتون بـ”لا” في الاستفتاء، مما سيجبر النظام على التلاعب بالنتيجة.

وقال، “سيدرك الناس ذلك، مما سيشعل الإستياء الذي قد يتراكم ويجدد الاحتجاجات، كما كانت الإنتخابات البرلمانية المزورة عام 2010 ذريعةً لثورة 25 يناير.”

بالكاد يستطيع أي شخص التعبير عن سخطه تجاه قيادة البلاد بشكلٍ علني، ومع ذلك يبدو أن الشارع يغلي خلف الكواليس. فبعد حادث تحطم القطار في القاهرة في 27 فبراير والذي أسفر عن مقتل 22 شخصاً، كان وسم (هاشتاغ) “راجعين التحرير” الأكثر تداولاً على تويتر.

وفي محاولةٍ واضحة لإسكات المعارضة المحتملة على التعديلات الدستورية، ألقت مصر القبض على العشرات من الشخصيات السياسية البارزة والنشطاء خلال الأشهر الماضية. فقد ألقي القبض على أربعة من أعضاء حزب الدستور في أواخر فبراير، عبر اثنان منهم عن معارضتهم للتعديلات الدستورية على وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي.

في نهاية المطاف، يبدو أن الدولة عازمة على المضي قدماً بالتعديلات وضمان عدم قدرة المعارضة على التحرك ضدها.

image_pdfimage_print

دعمكم عونٌ لنا

فَنَك هي مؤسسة إعلامية إلكترونية مستقلة، لا تمولها أي دولة أو مجموعات مصالح. تلتزم فَنَك بنشر تحليلاتٍ مبنية على الوقائع ومحايدة، إلى جانب التقارير المواضيعية حول الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا.
شهد الموقع نمواً سريعاً في نطاق وعمق المعلومات التي يُقدمها، واليوم، بات يُشكل مصدراً غنياً وقيماً للمعلومات عن 21 بلداً، من المغرب إلى عُمان ومن إيران إلى اليمن، باللغتين العربية والإنجليزية. حالياً، وصل عدد القراء إلى 6 ملايين سنوياً، والعدد آخذٌ بالإزدياد.
لضمان حيادية المعلومات على موقع فَنَك (وقائع وأحداث) ، تُنشر المقالات دون ذكر أسماء الكتّاب، مما يُتيح أيضاً لمراسلينا مساحة أكبر من الحرية عند التطرق إلى القضايا الحساسة أو المثيرة للجدل فى بلادهم. وإلى جانب ذلك، نتحرى حقائق جميع المعلومات الواردة في مقالاتنا قبل النشر لضمان دقة المعلومات، وحداثتها وحيادها.

استمرارية تشغيل مثل هذا الموقع الإلكتروني مُكلفة للغاية. بتبرعٍ صغيرٍ منك، يمكنك المساهمة في الحفاظ على حرية واستقلالية تغطيتنا.

Fanack Home / Egypt / Governance & Politics / Constitutional Changes in the Making to Seal Autocracy in Egypt

Constitutional Changes in the Making to Seal Autocracy in Egypt

Egypt- Egyptian parliament
Egypt’s Parliament Speaker Ali Abdel-Aal (R) chairs a parliament plenary session to deliberate the proposed constitutional amendments to increase office term durations for the country’s president from four to six years, in the capital Cairo on February 14, 2019. Photo AFP

In a move analysts and activists have expected for at least a year, Egypt’s parliament initially approved draft amendments to the constitution in February 2019, granting President Abdel Fattah al-Sisi sweeping powers and allowing him to stay in power until 2034.

The parliament’s legislative committee will discuss the amendments, and potentially revise them, before a final vote expected in late March or April. The amendments will then be subject to a referendum, which could happen before the start of Ramadan in the first week of May.

The most notable change is to the presidential term limit, increasing it from two four-year terms to two six-year terms. This would allow al-Sisi to run for two more terms after his current one ends in 2022, which could keep him in power until 2034.

Lawmakers who proposed the changes argue that these are necessary for the stability of the country and to allow al-Sisi to complete several development projects, such as the new administrative capital east of Cairo.

Moreover, the changes would grant the president the power to appoint judges for Egypt’s highest courts and select the prosecutor general. Several Egyptian human rights NGOs said in a statement that these measures would ‘eliminate all remnants of judicial independence’.

A senior judicial official told local news outlet Mada Masr that the changes would make the constitution “one for military dictatorships”.

Courts have proven to be one of the last spaces where al-Sisi’s power can be more or less challenged. In 2016 and 2017, lawyers managed to frustrate Egypt’s transfer of the Red Sea islands Tiran and Sanafir to Saudi Arabia in the Supreme Administrative Court for well over a year.

The amendments would also abolish the State Council’s authority to review contracts in which the state or one of its subsidiaries is a stakeholder. This article is peculiar in light of the recent expansion of Egypt’s military involvement in the economy through numerous military-owned companies that sign contracts with (international) private companies.

Another major change in the constitution concerns Egypt’s armed forces, granting them responsibilities beyond merely protecting the country’s borders and maintaining security. If approved, the army’s role would include ‘preserving democracy and the constitution, protecting the basic principles of the state and its civilian nature, and protecting people’s rights and individual freedoms’.

Commentators fear that this would allow the military to intervene in political affairs, to the extent of cancelling election results.

The amended articles concerning the army would constitutionalize what has been happening in the country since the army deposed Islamist President Mohamed Morsi in July 2013. The army’s political role has increased since, in the first instance by the election of al-Sisi, a general, as president. In addition, numerous senior or retired army leaders have been appointed as ministers or governors over the past years, and military spending appears to have increased significantly.

Moreover, parliament approved a new law in July 2018 under which the president can protect military officers from being prosecuted for crimes committed between July 2013 and January 2016. The law effectively shields commanders responsible for the violent crackdown on the Muslim Brotherhood in this period, for instance the Rabaa dispersal in August 2013 that left approximately 1,000 people dead, from being held accountable.

Further, army companies, either under the umbrella of the Ministry of Defence or the Ministry of Military Production, are increasingly involved in economic activities. One source in the energy field told Fanack that basically every new project developed by foreign companies in Egypt has to go through the army. The armed forces engineering authority has been granted leading roles in mega infrastructure projects, such as the extension of the Suez Canal and the building of the new capital.

A final change in the constitution would be the reinstatement of the Shura Council, the government’s Upper House. One third of this body would be appointed directly by the president.

Pro-government forces have already started to rally support for the changes. A campaign led by thousands of NGOs says it aims to raise awareness among the people about the ‘necessity of constitutional amendments’ for Egypt’s stability and for building a ‘modern state’.

What is left of the opposition is trying to mobilize against the amendments. Former presidential candidate and veteran politician Hamdeen Sabahi announced in early February a coalition of 11 political parties and several political figures and MPs.

“We will challenge the proposed amendments before the country’s Supreme Constitutional Court,” former Dostour Party leader Khaled Dawoud told AP.

A lawyer who opposes the amendments told Fanack on condition of anonymity that he does not expect this coalition to be able to stop the changes, but that it is nevertheless important to keep putting pressure on the regime. He believes many people could vote no in the referendum, which would force the regime to manipulate the result.

“People will realize this, which will fuel discontent that could accumulate to renewed protests, like the allegedly fraudulent parliamentary elections in 2010 were a pretext for the 25 January Revolution,” he said.

Discontent over the country’s leadership is hardly expressed in public but seems to vibrate just beneath the surface. After a train crash in Cairo on 27 February that killed 22 people, the hashtag ‘We are returning to Tahrir’ began trending on Twitter.

In an apparent bid to silence possible opposition to the constitutional amendments, Egypt has rounded up dozens of prominent political figures and activists over the past months. Four Dostour Party members were arrested in late February, two of whom had expressed opposition to the constitutional changes on social media. The state seems determined to push through the amendments and ensure opposition will not be able to mobilize against it.

image_pdfimage_print

We would like to ask you something …

Fanack is an independent media organisation, not funded by any state or any interest group, that distributes in the Middle East and the wider world unbiased analysis and background information, based on facts, about the Middle East and North Africa.

The website grew rapidly in breadth and depth and today forms a rich and valuable source of information on 21 countries, from Morocco to Oman and from Iran to Yemen, both in Arabic and English. We currently reach six million readers annually and growing fast.

In order to guarantee the impartiality of information on the Chronicle, articles are published without by-lines. This also allows correspondents to write more freely about sensitive or controversial issues in their country. All articles are fact-checked before publication to ensure that content is accurate, current and unbiased.

To run such a website is very expensive. With a small donation, you can make a huge impact. And it only takes a minute. Thank you.