الصفحة الرئيسية / مصر / من الماضي الى الحاضر / مكافحة التطرف في مصر: الفجوة بين النظرية والتطبيق

مكافحة التطرف في مصر: الفجوة بين النظرية والتطبيق

Egypt- Pope Tawadros II
البابا تواضروس الثاني، بابا الإسكندرية وبطريرك الكنيسة القبطية، يُلقي خطاباً خلال مؤتمرٍ بعنوان “الحرية والمواطنة،” الذي يستضيفه الأزهر، أحد السلطات الإسلامية السُنيّة الرائدة في القاهرة، 28 فبراير 2017. Photo AFP

للتطرف جذورٌ ضاربة في تاريخ مصر، ففي عام 1981، اغتال متطرفون متدينون الرئيس أنور السادات. وفي عام 1997، قُتل عشرات السياح في الأقصر؛ وفي العقد الأول من القرن الحادي والعشرين، تعرضت البلدات السياحية في شرم الشيخ ودهب في سيناء لهجمات تفجيرية.

ومع التقدم الإقليمي لما تطور فيما بعد وبات يُعرف بتنظيم الدولة الإسلامية (داعش) في السنوات المضطربة التي تلت الربيع العربي، ضرب التطرف العنيف مصر مرةً أخرى بقوة. وتشمل أسوأ الفظائع التي ارتكبتها الجماعة إسقاط طائرةٍ كان على متنها أكثر من 200 سائح روسي في سيناء في أكتوبر 2015، ومقتل أكثر من 100 مسيحي في عدة هجماتٍ على كنائس منفصلة، وهجومٍ على مسجدٍ صوفي في شمال سيناء في نوفمبر 2017 أسفر عن مقتل أكثر من 300 شخص. كما استهدفت جماعاتٌ أخرى، تتراوح ما بين جماعاتٍ تابعةٍ لتنظيم القاعدة إلى فروع للإخوان المسلمين، قوات الأمن بشكلٍ رئيسي، ولا سيما شن هجماتٍ كبيرة في الصحراء الغربية.

واعتمدت استراتيجية مصر لمكافحة هذه الجماعات في المقام الأول على شن حملة أمنية – تحديدًا على جماعة الإخوان المسلمين– وعملياتٍ عسكرية واسعة النطاق ضد داعش في شمال سيناء.

وفي الوقت نفسه، عملت الدولة على “تجديد الخطاب الديني.” فمنذ أن تولى الرئيس عبد الفتاح السيسي منصبه في يونيو 2014، دعا مراراً وتكراراً إلى اعتماد نسخةٍ أكثر اعتدالاً للإسلام، على الرغم من التشكيك بجدوى ونهج منع التطرف ومكافحته.

يعتمد تجفيف منابع التطرف على ثلاثة أدوات، بحسب ما قاله زياد عقل، أحد كبار الباحثين في مركز الأهرام للدراسات السياسية والاستراتيجية، لفَنك، ألا وهي وزارة الأوقاف، ودار الإفتاء، والأزهر الشريف.

تهدف الوزارة إلى وقف انتشار الفكر المتطرف من خلال توحيد خطبة صلاة الجمعة في جميع مساجد البلاد. فقد تم إيقاف الأئمة الذين يخرجون عن نص هذه الخطب، حتى وإن كان هذا الخروج قد تم ظاهرياً بطرقٍ بريئة، مثل مدح لاعب كرة قدمٍ مصري ناجح كمثالٍ على العمل الجاد والمثابرة. وقال عقل إن الوزارة أغلقت أيضاً العديد من المساجد الصغيرة غير الرسمية التي يطلق عليها “الزاوية،” التي لم تملك السيطرة عليها والتي كانت مصدراً للفكر المتطرف.

وقال عقل إن دار الافتاء، وهي المؤسسة المسؤولة عن اصدار الفتاوى أو المراسيم الدينية، قد بدأت تدريجياً في إصدار فتاوى أكثر اعتدالاً والإعلان عن أن أشياء معينة، لم تكن موجودةً من قبل، مقبولة في الاسلام.

في حين يُركز الأزهر الشريف، أعلى مقامٍ للتعليم السُني، على الرسائل المضادة، ويقوم بدحض الروايات الدينية من جماعاتٍ مثل القاعدة وتنظيم داعش على أساس ديني- عقائدي. وفي عام 2015، أنشأ الأزهر “مرصداً لمكافحة التطرف،” والذي يتكون من مجموعة من الأساتذة والمسؤولين الذين يراقبون الإنترنت بحثاً عن رسائل متطرفة والرد عليها على أساسٍ لاهوتي.

وقال سيد زكريا، وهو أستاذ مساعد يعمل في المرصد لفَنَك: “نهدف إلى تقديم سردٍ مضاد للفكر المتطرف، خاصة في ضوء صعود داعش، من خلال تقديم الصورة الحقيقة والصحيحة عن الإسلام.”

وأوضح زكريا أن “سرد تلك الجماعات يعتمد على المفاهيم القديمة التي وضعوها قيد الممارسة،” مُضيفاً أن الأزهر يعمل على تطوير المزيد من المنصات للتفاعل مع جمهوره، مثل الاجتماعات في المساجد والجامعات والمراكز لمناقشة الفكر المتطرف. وتابع قوله، “يحاول الأزهر جاهداً توضيح أن الإسلام متنوع، وعدم اتباع عقيدةٍ واحدة، وإقامة علاقاتٍ جيدة مع الآخرين. الأمر فعّال، ولكن هناك عوامل أخرى تؤدي إلى التطرف، مثل العوامل الاجتماعية والاقتصادية والسياسية. وبالإضافة إلى ذلك، فإن التعليم ليس جيد دائماً في المدارس الحكومية،” مضيفاً أن المسؤولين يطورون مناهج جديدة.

ويعتبر الدين جزءاً هاماً من المنهج الدراسي في النظام التعليمي في مصر، على الرغم من أنه بعيد كل البعد عن أعين الأزهر وحتى وزارة التربية والتعليم. ففي مارس 2018، تم الإعلان عن خطةٍ لإصدار كتبٍ مدرسية جديدة لتعليم الأخلاق والتسامح في محاولةٍ لمكافحة التطرف الديني. ومع ذلك، أثار هذا الإعلان ردود أفعال غاضبة من الدعاة السلفيين.

إن التطرف عملية معقدة للغاية لا تنطوي فحسب على عوامل دينية- أيديولوجية. وبحسب عقل، فإن حظر جماعة الإخوان المسلمين، المتجذرة في المجتمع المصري، قد أدى إلى إنشاء جماعاتٍ جديدة. ومن الأمثلة على ذلك حركة “حسم” و”لواء الثورة،” اللتان استهدفتا في كثيرٍ من الأحيان أفراد الأمن. وقال عقل: “يقوم الإخوان المسلمون بتأجيج التطرف كرد فعلٍ على عنف الدولة [مثل فض اعتصام رابعة في عام 2013 الذي أودى بحياة حوالي 1000 متظاهر مؤيد للإخوان المسلمين] وحظر الجماعة.”

ومن جهته، أجرى عالم الاجتماع سعد الدين إبراهيم أبحاثًا مكثفة حول عمليات التطرف، وخلص إلى أن الجهادي النموذجي هو شابٌ من خلفية الطبقة العاملة أو الطبقة الوسطى الدنيا، الذي حاول إكمال تعليمه العالي إلا أنه فشل في تسلق السلم الاجتماعي بسبب التخبط الاقتصادي، والمحسوبية، والفساد، مما تركه يشعر بخيبة أمل.

ويمكن أن تسهم السجون المصرية، التي تشتهر بالمعاملة السيئة وحتى تعذيب السجناء، في التطرف. ووفقاً لما أفاده موقع بزفيد في نوفمبر 2017 أن جماعة الإخوان المسلمين وداعش “يتقاتلون فيما بينهم لضم المجندين الجدد” داخل سجن طرة الشهير في القاهرة.

كما شدد اتش إيه هيلر، الخبير بالشؤون المصرية لدى المجلس الأطلسي في الولايات المتحدة، على أن هناك مسارات مختلفة تؤدي إلى التطرف، والتي قد تكون مرتبطة جزئياً بالأيديولوجية. فقد قال هيلر، “لنكن واضحين، أولئك الذين يهاجمون المسجد في شمال سيناء لم يكن الفقر دافعهم، ففي حين أنهم لربما يعانون من المظالم، إلا أنه كان لديهم كراهية أيديولوجية عميقة للمسلمين الذين يمارسون الصوفية.”

ولكن حتى عند النظر فحسب إلى البعد الأيديولوجي للتطرف، فإن مصر تواجه مشكلة. وكما يقول هيلر “الأشخاص الذين تأثروا بالسرد المتطرف يرون في الأزهر جزءاً من المشكلة.” وأضاف “تأتِ المصداقية من انتقاد الدولة أيضاً، وقول الحقيقة للسلطة، إلا أن هذا الحيز غير موجود فعلياً.”

وأضاف عقل: “لا تتمتع هذه المؤسسات بالمصداقية بين الحركات الإسلامية لأنها ترى أنها مسيّسة.” وترى جماعة الإخوان المسلمين والجماعات السلفية أن الأزهر هو الهيئة الدينية للدولة، وأن رجال الأزهر مسؤولين في الدولة بدلاً من كونهم علماء دين، وفقاً لعقل.

وهو يعتقد أن مفتاح التغيير يكمن في “تمكين المجتمع المدني،” مع وجود جهاتٍ فاعلة قوية غير تابعة للدولة على أرض الواقع يمكنها سد الفجوة بين هذه المؤسسات والشعب. كما ينادي باتباع نهجٍ شامل ومتعدد القطاعات لـ”الأمن البشري،” ولكنه يدرك أن المناخ السياسي الحالي يشكل تحدياً. وبحسب قوله “لا يرحب النظام بالمنظمات الاجتماعية، حيث [ينظر] بعين الريبة لأي شكلٍ من أشكال الحشد. كما يعتمد على مقاربة أمنية قاسية.”

بينما أقرّ زكريا بأن هناك أناساً يملكون ثقةً أكبر بالجماعات المتطرفة من ثقتهم بالأزهر، إلا أنه يعتقد أن نهج المؤسسة سيؤتِ ثماره. “نحن نثقف الطلاب حول جميع المدارس الفكرية، حتى تلك التي يتم إتباعها خارج مصر مثل الشيعة، وأن يكونوا منفتحين على الجميع، على النقيض من المتطرفين الذين يتبعون خطاً واحداً ويعتبرون أي شخصٍ آخر غير مؤمن.”

بيد أنه دون فتح مجالٍ للحوار والنقد، قد يظل من الصعب على هيئات الدولة التي تحارب الفكر المتطرف الوصول إلى أولئك سريعي التأثر بالتطرف.

image_pdfimage_print

Fanack Home / Egypt / Past to Present / Combatting Radicalization in Egypt: the Gap between Theory and Practice

Combatting Radicalization in Egypt: the Gap between Theory and Practice

Egypt- Pope Tawadros II
The leader of Egypt’s Coptic Church, Pope Tawadros II of Alexandria delivers a speech during a conference titled ‘’Freedom and citizenship’’ hosted by Al-Azhar, one of the leading Sunni Muslim authorities based in Cairo, on February 28, 2017. Photo AFP

Radicalization has a long history in Egypt. In 1981, religious extremists assassinated President Anwar al-Sadat; in 1997, scores of tourists were killed in Luxor; and in the 2000s, the tourist towns of Sharm al-Sheikh and Dahab in Sinai suffered bomb attacks.

With the regional rise of what evolved into the Islamic State (IS) in the volatile years following the Arab Spring, violent extremism has hit Egypt hard once again. The group’s worst atrocities include downing a plane with over 200 Russian tourists on board in Sinai in October 2015, killing over a 100 Christians in several separate church attacks and an attack on a Sufi mosque in North Sinai in November 2017 that killed over 300. Other groups, varying from al-Qaeda affiliates to Muslim Brotherhood offshoots, have primarily targeted security forces, notably staging several large attacks in the Western Desert.

Egypt’s strategy to combat these groups has primarily relied on a security crackdown – specifically on the Muslim Brotherhood – and large-scale military operations against IS in North Sinai.

At the same time, the state has set about ‘renewing religious discourse’. Since President Abdel Fattah al-Sisi took office in June 2014, he has repeatedly called for a more moderate version of Islam, although the efficacy of the approach to prevent and counter radicalization has been questioned.

This deradicalization relies on three tools, Ziad Akl, senior researcher at al-Ahram Center for Political and Strategic Studies, told Fanack Chronicle. These are the Ministry of Religious Endowments (Awqaf), Dar al-Iftaa and al-Azhar.

The ministry aims to stem the spread of radical thought by prescribing sermons to all mosques in the country for the important Friday prayers. Imams who have diverted from these sermons have been suspended, even if the diversion was in seemingly innocent ways, such as praising a successful Egyptian football player as an example of hard work and persistence. The ministry has also closed down many small informal mosques, so-called zawya, over which it had no control and which were a source of radical thought, Akl said.

Dar al-Iftaa, the institution responsible for issuing fatwas or religious edicts, has gradually started issuing more moderate fatwas and declaring certain things acceptable in Islam that previously were not, Akl said.

Al-Azhar, the highest seat of Sunni teaching, focuses on counter-messaging, refuting religious narratives from groups such as al-Qaeda and IS on a religious-ideological basis. In 2015, it formed an ‘observatory for combatting extremism’, which consists of a group of professors and officials who monitor the internet in search of extremist messages and reply to them on a theological basis.

“We aim to provide a counter-narrative to extremist thought, especially in light of the rise of IS, by presenting the true, correct image of Islam,” Sayed Zakaria, an assistant professor working for the observatory, told Fanack Chronicle.

“The narrative of those groups depends on old concepts that they put into practice,” Zakaria explained, adding that al-Azhar is working on developing more platforms to interact with its audience, such as meetings in mosques, universities and centres to discuss extremist thought. “Al-Azhar is trying hard to represent Islam as diverse, not following one dogma and having good relations with others. This is effective, but there are other factors leading to radicalization, such as social, economical, political. In addition, education is not always good at public schools,” Zakaria said, adding that officials are developing new curricula.

Religion is an important part of the curriculum in Egypt’s education system, although largely out of sight of al-Azhar and even the Ministry of Education. In March 2018, a plan was announced to issue new school textbooks to teach morals and tolerance in an effort to combat religious extremism. The announcement sparked angry reactions from Salafi preachers.

Radicalization is a complex process in which more than just religious-ideological factors are at play. The banning of the Muslim Brotherhood, which is deeply rooted in Egyptian society, has led to the creation of new groups, said Akl. Examples are the Hasm movement and Lewa al-Thawra, which have frequently targeted security personnel. “The Muslim Brotherhood is breeding radicalization in reaction to state violence [such as the dispersal of the Rabaa sit-in in 2013 that killed approximately 1,000 pro-Brotherhood protesters] and the ban of the group,” Akl said.

Sociologist Saad Eddin Ibrahim has conducted extensive research into processes of radicalization, concluding that the typical jihadist is a young man from a working- or lower middle-class background who had tried to complete higher education but failed to climb the social ladder because of a floundering economy, nepotism and corruption, leaving him disillusioned.

Egypt’s prisons, notorious for their bad treatment and even torture of inmates, may also be contributing to radicalization. Buzzfeed reported in November 2017 that the Brotherhood and IS are ‘fighting for fresh recruits’ inside the infamous Tora prison in Cairo.

HA Hellyer, senior fellow at the US-based Atlantic Council, also stressed that there are different paths leading to radicalization, which may be only partly related to ideology. “Let’s be clear,” Hellyer said, “those attacking the mosque in North Sinai were not motivated by poverty, and while they might have grievances, they had a deep ideological hatred of Muslims that practice Sufism.”

But even when looking solely at the ideological dimension of radicalization, Egypt has a problem. “People impacted by radical narratives see al-Azhar as part of the problem,” Hellyer said. “Credibility comes with being critical of the state as well, speaking truth to power, and that space doesn’t really exist.”

“These institutions are not credible among Islamic movements because they see them as politicized,” Akl added. The Muslim Brotherhood and Salafist groups view al-Azhar as the state’s religious body, and its clerics as state officials instead of religious scholars, according to Akl.

He believes the key to change is “empowering civil society”, with strong non-state actors on the ground that can bridge the gap between these institutions and the people. He advocates a comprehensive, multi-sectoral ‘human security’ approach but realizes the current political climate poses a challenge. “The regime is unwelcoming to social organizations, [considering] any mobilization problematic. It relies on a hard-core security approach,” he said.

Zakaria acknowledged that there are people who have more trust in extremist groups than in al-Azhar but believes the institution’s approach will bear fruits. “We educate students in all schools of thought, even those followed outside of Egypt like Shia [Islam], and in being open to all, in contrast to extremists who follow one line and consider everyone else to be a disbeliever.”

However, without opening up a space for debate and criticism, those susceptible to radicalization may remain hard to reach for the state bodies combatting extremist thought.

image_pdfimage_print