فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / مصر / من الماضي الى الحاضر / مصر تفتح أول كشك للفتاوى في محطة المترو

مصر تفتح أول كشك للفتاوى في محطة المترو

Egypt- Fatwa kiosk
كشك الفتوى في محطة مترو الشهداء بالقاهرة. Photo Fanack

بات يُقدم للركاب الذين يمرون عبر محطة الشهداء (التي أعيدت تسميتها من محطة مبارك بعد ثورة 2011)، الأكثر ازدحاماً في العاصمة القاهرة، خدمة جديدة: فتاوى مجانية من الأزهر الشريف.

فقد افتتح الأزهر، أعلى مرجعية سُنية وأهم سلطة دينية في مصر، الكشك لتقديم المشورة الدينية الفورية (الفتاوى) في يوليو 2017. وعندما زرنا في فَنَك الكشك المذكور، كان هناك ثلاثة رجال يصطفون في انتظار دورهم للتحدث إلى إمامين. لم يرغب الإمامان اللذان كانا يرتديان الزي التقليدي، في الرد على أسئلةٍ صحفية.

فالشائع لدى المسلمين استشارة أحد الشيوخ في أمور الحياة اليومية أو المعضلات الدينية، وذلك من أجل الحصول على المشورة للتعامل مع القضية المرجوة بطريقة إسلامية سليمة.

تنبع الفكرة من وراء كشك الفتاوى من جهود الأزهر تعزيز “الإسلام المعتدل.” ففي عام 2015، دعا الرئيس المصري عبد الفتاح السيسي إلى إحداث “ثورة في الخطاب الديني،” لمحاربة الفكر المتطرف. ومن خلال هذه الأكشاك، يأمل الأزهر توسيع نطاق وصوله للعامة ومنع الناس من الانجذاب إلى الأفكار المتطرفة. ولا يزال هذا الكشك تحت التجربة، ومن المفترض افتتاح أكشاك أخرى في محطات المترو الأخرى.

فمنذ تولي السيسي منصب رئيس البلاد بعد الإطاحة بمحمد مرسي من جماعة الإخوان المسلمين في عام 2013، واجهت البلاد تمرداً مستمراً من التنظيمات التابعة لتنظيم الدولة الإسلامية وغيرها من الجماعات الإسلامية الأصغر حجماً.ويشتد الصراع على وجه الخصوص في شمال سيناء، حيث يشن تنظيم داعش المحلي هجمات أسبوعية تقريباً على قوات الأمن. وفي أبريل ومايو 2017، استهدف انتحاريون المجتمع المسيحي القبطي في البلاد.

كانت ردود الفعل على كشك الفتاوى متباينة، إذ قال بعض الركاب انهم سعداء لوجود الكشك، ذلك أنه يوفر وسيلة سهلة الوصول للحصول على الفتاوى. بينما يرى فيه البعض الآخر مؤشراً على ازدياد التدين ومحاولةً من الأزهر فرض القيم الدينية على العامة. وكتب النائب محمد أبو حامد على تويتر أن الكشك يثبت أن الأزهر “منفصل عن واقع المجتمع،” بينما علق الناشط المصري لحقوق الإنسان هشام قاسم قائلاً: “الدين لله والمترو للجمهور.”

وبشكلٍ عام، يخضع دور الأزهر في مصر للجدل. ففي أعقاب الهجمات على الكنائس القبطية في طنطا والاسكندرية في أحد الشعانين، انتقد البعض الأزهر لعدم تكفيره متطرفي الدولة الإسلامية. أحد النقاد الصريحين هو المذيع التلفزيوني إسلام البحيري، الذي صرح أن على الأزهر نبذ بعض التعاليم الإسلامية التاريخية كتلك التي تحرض على العنف ضد غير المسلمين وتُستخدم كمصدر فكري للدولة الإسلامية. أدى انتقاد البحيري إلى توجيه تهمٍ إليه بالتجديف والحكم عليه بالسجن لمدة عام. كما وصف آخرون جامعة الأزهر، وهي مركز مهم للدراسات الإسلامية للطلاب من جميع أنحاء العالم، بالأرض الخصبة للجهاديين.

ويعتقد الدكتور إتش إيه هيلير، وهو زميل بارز في مجلس الأطلسي في الولايات المتحدة وخبير في الدراسات الإسلامية، أن هذا النوع من النقد إشكالي، إذ قال لفَنَك: “سأشعر بالقلق إذا بدأ الأزهر، بكل حرية، تقرير من مسلم ومن غير ذلك،” مضيفاً أنه من المعتاد تكفير داعش للمسلمين الآخرين.

وأوضح، يمكنك على سبيل المثال القيام بأمور تتعارض مع الإسلام، وأن تبقى مسلماً وفقاً للتقاليد الإسلامية. وتابع قوله: “إن عدم تكفير الأزهر لداعش لا يعني تعاطفه معهم؛ إذ لا يزال يعتبرهم مجرمين تتعارض أفعالهم مع الإسلام.” وأضاف إن تكفير داعش على أساس ارتكاب المعاصي سيكون “وضعاً خطيراً.” فعلى سبيل المثال، يتعارض احتساء الكحول مع الإسلام إلا أن العديد من المسلمين يحتسونها، وهذا لا يجعلهم مرتدين.

ووفقاً لهيلير، المشكلة مع الأزهر جزءٌ من قضية أوسع بكثير في مصر: سوء التعليم، إذ قال في هذا الشأن “الأزهر منظمة ضخمة وفوضوية، ولا يشجع النظام التعليمي الأكاديميين المختصين على الذهاب إلى الأزهر. وهذا يعني أن المعلمين السيئين يمكن أن يتسللوا بسهولة، فضلاً عن الطلاب السيئيين، مما يجعل العديد سريعي التأثر.”

ويعتقد هيلير أنه يمكن لمصر والعالم الإسلامي بشكلٍ عام الاستفادة من السلطة الدينية للأزهر، ذلك أنه يمكن أن يدحض القاعدة الإيديولوجية للدولة الإسلامية، على الرغم من أنه أعرب عن قلقه بشأن فعالية المنظمة. فهو لا يرى في إزالة بعض التعاليم الإسلامية من المنهاج الدراسي حلاً. وأضاف “لا ينبغي أن تزيل مفهوم الجهاد من المناهج الدراسية، بل عليك وضعه في سياقه التاريخي الصحيح، وبالتالي تُبيّن أنه لا يمكن أن يبرر أفعال المتطرفين.”

ويُفضل هيلير أن يصف الأزهر، بدلاً من “متطرف،” بالمؤسسه المحافظة التى لا تفضل التدخل الخارجي فيما تعتبره مجالها الحصري، ألا وهو الدين. وهذا يفسر ردها القوي على انتقادات من أشخاص مثل البحيري.

وفي مثالٍ آخر، رفض الأزهر اقتراحاً من السيسي يُقيّد قانونياً “الطلاق الشفوي،” وهو مفهومٌ في الشريعة الإسلامية يسمح للرجل بتطليق زوجته بالتفوه بعبارة الطلاق ثلاث مرات. وقال هيلير في هذا الصدد “قد يوجد فعلاً أساس إسلامي يُقيد الطلاق الشفوي، إلا أن الأزهر لن يدعمه ذلك أنه يرى في اقتراح السيسي تدخلاً في مجاله.”

يُشكل الجدل العام حول دور الأزهر في التعامل مع التطرف الخلفية التي تم بموجبها افتتاح كشك الفتاوى. وعليه، يمكن أن يُنظر إلى المبادرة باعتبارها وسيلة من وسائل الأزهر ليس لمحاربة التطرف فحسب، بل أيضاً للتأكيد على مكانته باعتباره السلطة الإسلامية الرئيسية في البلاد وتثبيت وجوده قدر المستطاع بين عامة الجمهور.

دعمكم عونٌ لنا

فَنَك هي مؤسسة إعلامية إلكترونية مستقلة، لا تمولها أي دولة أو مجموعات مصالح. تلتزم فَنَك بنشر تحليلاتٍ مبنية على الوقائع ومحايدة، إلى جانب التقارير المواضيعية حول الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا.
شهد الموقع نمواً سريعاً في نطاق وعمق المعلومات التي يُقدمها، واليوم، بات يُشكل مصدراً غنياً وقيماً للمعلومات عن 21 بلداً، من المغرب إلى عُمان ومن إيران إلى اليمن، باللغتين العربية والإنجليزية. حالياً، وصل عدد القراء إلى 6 ملايين سنوياً، والعدد آخذٌ بالإزدياد.
لضمان حيادية المعلومات على موقع فَنَك (وقائع وأحداث) ، تُنشر المقالات دون ذكر أسماء الكتّاب، مما يُتيح أيضاً لمراسلينا مساحة أكبر من الحرية عند التطرق إلى القضايا الحساسة أو المثيرة للجدل فى بلادهم. وإلى جانب ذلك، نتحرى حقائق جميع المعلومات الواردة في مقالاتنا قبل النشر لضمان دقة المعلومات، وحداثتها وحيادها.

استمرارية تشغيل مثل هذا الموقع الإلكتروني مُكلفة للغاية. بتبرعٍ صغيرٍ منك، يمكنك المساهمة في الحفاظ على حرية واستقلالية تغطيتنا.

Fanack Home / Egypt / Past to Present / Egypt Opens First Fatwa Kiosk in Metro Station

Egypt Opens First Fatwa Kiosk in Metro Station

Egypt- Fatwa kiosk
Clerics wait to answer commuters’ questions inside a fatwa kiosk at al-Shohada metro station in Cairo. Photo Fanack

Commuters passing through Cairo’s busiest metro station Shohada (‘Martyrs’ – renamed from its former name Mubarak after the 2011 revolution) are being offered a new service: free religious advice or ‘fatwas’ courtesy of al-Azhar.

Al-Azhar, the highest seat of Sunni teaching and Egypt’s most important religious authority, opened the kiosk to provide on-the-spot religious advice in July 2017. When Fanack visited the kiosk, three people were waiting in line to speak to two sheikhs. Dressed in traditional robes, the sheikhs did not want to respond to questions from a journalist.

It is common practice for Muslims to consult a sheikh for everyday life or religious dilemmas, in order to get advice on the proper Islamic way to deal with the issue.

The idea behind the fatwa kiosk comes from al-Azhar’s effort to promote a ‘moderate Islam’. In 2015, Egyptian President Abdel Fattah al-Sisi called for a ‘revolution in religious discourse’ to combat extremist thought. Through the kiosk, al-Azhar hopes to extend its reach and prevent people from falling for extremist ideas. The kiosk is considered a pilot, and extensions to other metro stations are on the table.

Since al-Sisi took over from Muslim Brotherhood President Mohamed Morsi in 2013, the country has faced an ongoing insurgency from Islamic State (IS) affiliates and other, smaller Islamist groups. The conflict is most pressing in North Sinai, where the local IS group launches almost weekly attacks on security forces. In April and May 2017, suicide bombers targeted the country’s Coptic Christian community.

The fatwa kiosk has received mixed reactions. Some commuters said that they were happy with the kiosk, as it provides an accessible means to find advice. Others see it as a sign of increasing religiosity and an attempt by al-Azhar to impose religious values on the public. MP Mohamed Abu Hamed tweeted on Twitter that the kiosk proves al-Azhar is ‘detached from the reality of society’. Egyptian human rights activist Hisham Kassem commented: “Religion is for God and the metro for the public.”

The role of al-Azhar in Egypt in general is subject to debate. Following the attacks on Coptic churches in Tanta and Alexandria on Palm Sunday, some have criticized al-Azhar for not declaring IS radicals as apostates. One vocal critic is TV presenter Islam Behery, who argued that al-Azhar should reject certain historic Islamic teachings as these would incite violence against non-Muslims and be an ideological source for IS. Behery’s criticism led to charges of blasphemy and a one-year prison sentence.

Others have described al-Azhar University, an important centre for Islamic studies for students from all over the world, as a breeding ground  for jihadists.

Dr H.A. Hellyer, a senior fellow at the US-based Atlantic Council and an expert in Islamic studies, believes this sort of criticism can be problematic. “I would be worried if al-Azhar starts liberally deciding who is a Muslim and who is not,” he told Fanack, adding that is it typical for IS to declare other Muslims apostates.

You can do something that goes against Islam, and still be a Muslim according to Islamic tradition, he explained. “Al-Azhar not declaring IS apostates does not mean it sympathizes with them; [it] still views them as criminals and their acts against Islam.” Declaring IS apostates on the basis of sins would be a “slippery slope”, he said. For example, drinking alcohol goes against Islam but a lot of Muslims still drink, and this does not make them apostates.

According to Hellyer, the problem with al-Azhar is part of a much broader issue in Egypt: poor education. “Al-Azhar is a huge and chaotic organization, and the educational system doesn’t encourage the academically adept to go to al-Azhar. That means bad teachers can seep in easily, along with bad students, which makes many vulnerable.”

Hellyer believes Egypt and the Islamic world in general could benefit from the religious authority of al-Azhar, as it could refute the ideological base of IS, although he expresses concern about the functionality of the organization. He does not see removing certain Islamic teachings from the curriculum as a solution. “You shouldn’t remove the concept of jihad from the curriculum, you have to put it in its proper historical context and thereby show that it cannot justify the deeds of extremists.”

Rather than ‘radical’, Hellyer would describe al-Azhar as a conservative institution that does not like outside interference in what it considers as its exclusive domain, namely religion. This explains its strong response to criticism from people like Behery.

In another example, al-Azhar rejected a proposal by al-Sisi to legally restrict the practice of ‘verbal divorce’, a concept in sharia allowing a man to divorce his wife simply by uttering a phrase three times. “There could actually be an Islamic basis for restricting verbal divorce, but al-Azhar would not go along with it as in its view al-Sisi’s proposal was an interference in its domain,” Hellyer said.

The public debate on the role of al-Azhar in dealing with extremism forms the background in which the fatwa kiosk was opened. The initiative may thus be seen as a means by al-Azhar not only to combat extremist thought but also to assure its position as the main Islamic authority in the country and increase its visibility as such among the people.

image_pdfimage_print

We would like to ask you something …

Fanack is an independent media organisation, not funded by any state or any interest group, that distributes in the Middle East and the wider world unbiased analysis and background information, based on facts, about the Middle East and North Africa.

The website grew rapidly in breadth and depth and today forms a rich and valuable source of information on 21 countries, from Morocco to Oman and from Iran to Yemen, both in Arabic and English. We currently reach six million readers annually and growing fast.

In order to guarantee the impartiality of information on the Chronicle, articles are published without by-lines. This also allows correspondents to write more freely about sensitive or controversial issues in their country. All articles are fact-checked before publication to ensure that content is accurate, current and unbiased.

To run such a website is very expensive. With a small donation, you can make a huge impact. And it only takes a minute. Thank you.