فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / مصر / من الماضي الى الحاضر / الثورة العسكرية والجمهورية

الثورة العسكرية والجمهورية

حركة الضباط الأحرار، الصف الأمامي: جمال عبد الناصر، محمد نجيب، عبد الحكيم عامر، صلاح سالم، أنور السادات / Photo HH
حركة الضباط الأحرار، الصف الأمامي: جمال عبد الناصر، محمد نجيب، عبد الحكيم عامر، صلاح سالم، أنور السادات / Photo HH
المقدم جمال عبد الناصر (XXXX-1970)
المقدم جمال عبد الناصر (XXXX-1970)
العقيد محمد نجيب (1901-1984)
العقيد محمد نجيب (1901-1984)

بلغت الاضطرابات والقلاقل ذروتها عام 1952. استولت منظمة ثوريّة سريّة من الضباط كانت قد تأسست بعد المشاركة في حرب 1948 ضد إسرائيل، منظمة الضباط الأحرار، على السلطة في 23 تموز/يوليو. عندها اضطر الملك فاروق (1920-1965) إلى التنازل عن العرش ومغادرة البلاد (خلفه رسمياً ابنه البالغ ستة أشهر من العمر ليصبح الملك فؤاد الثاني). لم تصدر ردة فعل بريطانية على الحدث. تم إلغاء الدستور وحل الأحزاب السياسية. وبعد عام واحد، في 18 حزيران/يونيو 1953، تم الإعلان عن جمهورية مصر رسمياً. وتم تشكيل حكومة، وأصبح الجنرال محمد نجيب (1901-1984) رئيساً للجمهوريّة ورئيساً للوزراء وقائداً عامًا للقوات المسلحة. لكن السلطة الحقيقية كانت في يد مجلس قيادة الثورة بزعامة المقدم جمال عبد الناصر. وبعد صراع على السلطة، تقلّد الرئيس عبد الناصر زمام الحكم في حزيران/يونيو عام 1956.

دعمكم عونٌ لنا

فَنَك هي مؤسسة إعلامية إلكترونية مستقلة، لا تمولها أي دولة أو مجموعات مصالح. تلتزم فَنَك بنشر تحليلاتٍ مبنية على الوقائع ومحايدة، إلى جانب التقارير المواضيعية حول الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا.
شهد الموقع نمواً سريعاً في نطاق وعمق المعلومات التي يُقدمها، واليوم، بات يُشكل مصدراً غنياً وقيماً للمعلومات عن 21 بلداً، من المغرب إلى عُمان ومن إيران إلى اليمن، باللغتين العربية والإنجليزية. حالياً، وصل عدد القراء إلى 6 ملايين سنوياً، والعدد آخذٌ بالإزدياد.
لضمان حيادية المعلومات على موقع فَنَك (وقائع وأحداث) ، تُنشر المقالات دون ذكر أسماء الكتّاب، مما يُتيح أيضاً لمراسلينا مساحة أكبر من الحرية عند التطرق إلى القضايا الحساسة أو المثيرة للجدل فى بلادهم. وإلى جانب ذلك، نتحرى حقائق جميع المعلومات الواردة في مقالاتنا قبل النشر لضمان دقة المعلومات، وحداثتها وحيادها.

استمرارية تشغيل مثل هذا الموقع الإلكتروني مُكلفة للغاية. بتبرعٍ صغيرٍ منك، يمكنك المساهمة في الحفاظ على حرية واستقلالية تغطيتنا.

Fanack Home / Egypt / Past to Present / Military revolution and republic

Military revolution and republic


The Free Officers Movement, front row: Gamal Abdel Nasser, Mohammed Naguib, Abdel Hakim Amer, Salah Salem, and Anwar al-Sadat / Photo HH

Years of unrest and disturbance came to a climax in 1952. A secret revolutionary organization of officers that was established after they took part in the 1948 war against Israel, the Free Officers Organization, seized power on 23 July. King Farouk (1920-1965) was forced to abdicate and left the country (his six-month-old son formally succeeded him as King Fouad II). Britain did not react to the takeover. The Constitution was revoked, and political parties were dissolved. One year later, on 18 June 1953, Egypt was officially declared a republic. A government was formed, with General Muhammad Naguib (1901-1984) as President, Prime Minister, and commander of the Armed Forces. Real power, however, was in the hands of the Revolutionary Command Council, led by Colonel Gamal Abdel Nasser. After a power struggle, Nasser was inaugurated President in June 1956.
General Muhammad Naguib (r) and Colonel Gamal Abdel Nasser behind him.
image_pdfimage_print

We would like to ask you something …

Fanack is an independent media organisation, not funded by any state or any interest group, that distributes in the Middle East and the wider world unbiased analysis and background information, based on facts, about the Middle East and North Africa.

The website grew rapidly in breadth and depth and today forms a rich and valuable source of information on 21 countries, from Morocco to Oman and from Iran to Yemen, both in Arabic and English. We currently reach six million readers annually and growing fast.

In order to guarantee the impartiality of information on the Chronicle, articles are published without by-lines. This also allows correspondents to write more freely about sensitive or controversial issues in their country. All articles are fact-checked before publication to ensure that content is accurate, current and unbiased.

To run such a website is very expensive. With a small donation, you can make a huge impact. And it only takes a minute. Thank you.