فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / مصر / تاريخ مصر من الماضي الى الحاضر / مصر مبارك (1981 – 2011)

مصر مبارك (1981 – 2011)

Photo HH
Photo HH

سار نائب الرئيس السادات، حسني مبارك (مواليد 1928)، لواء سابق في القوات الجوية المصرية، على خطى السادات. وتميزت رئاسته بالصراع ضد الإسلاميين المتطرفين. وبعد اغتيال السادات مباشرة، أعلنت حالة الطوارئ (وبقيت سارية المفعول حتى عام 2012).

الأمن الداخلي

كان الأمن الداخلي الشغل الشاغل في عهد مبارك. في تسعينات القرن العشرين، واجهت قوات الأمن تمرد مقاتلين إسلاميين، بقيادة الجماعة الإسلامية والجهاد الإسلامي؛ كان هدف هاتين الحركتين المتنافستين قلب نظام الحكم وإقامة دولة إسلامية. قُتِل أكثر من ألف شخص، وأصيب أكثر من 10,000، واعتقل الآلاف. تبع ذلك أعوام من الهدوء الحذر؛ ولكن في 2005 و 2004 و 2006، هزّت هجمات إرهابية جديدة على المنتجعات السياحية في شبه جزيرة سيناء شعور البلاد بالإستقرار والأمن.

الإقتصاد

ورث مبارك اقتصاداً راكداً. لم يتمكن النمو الاقتصادي من مواكبة النمو السكاني، وذلك نتيجة البيروقراطية الهائلة والفساد المستشري والحكومة غير الكفؤ والمنافسة الدولية الشرسة. وانهارت الخدمات العامة، مثل التعليم والرعاية الصحية والإسكان، تحت وطأة الطلب وسوء الإدارة. وازدادت الفوارق الاجتماعية بين الجماهير الفقيرة والنخبة الغنية. وفي تموز/يوليو 2004، انضم فريق اقتصادي جديد إلى الحكومة من خلال جهود جمال، النجل الثاني المبارك، مما أثار تكهنات بأنه سيكون ولي العهد. فتم الإعلان عن إصلاحات مؤيدة للأعمال التجارية، ومنذ ذلك الحين بدأ الاستثمار في الارتفاع ، إلاّ أن الفوائد لم تطل الجماهير الفقيرة.

الدبلوماسية

دبلوماسياً، ركز مبارك جهوده على إعادة بناء العلاقات مع الدول العربية الأخرى، وتمكن من استعادة بعض المكانة في العالم العربي مع الحفاظ على سلام بارد مع إسرائيل. تم قبول مصر مجدداً في جامعة الدول العربية عام 1990، وأعيد مقرّ الجامعة إلى القاهرة. وتعززت العلاقات مع الولايات المتحدة حتى توترت بعد الغزو الأمريكي للعراق عام 2003 والمطالب الأمريكية بالديمقراطية في مصر. وما لبثت هذه المطالب، التي أهملت إلى حد كبير بعد الحملة الأمريكية على العراق، أن تعرقلت. وفي الوقت ذاته، لم تتوقف مصر عن لعب دور الوسيط في النزاع الإسرائيلي الفلسطيني.

السياسة

خلال السنوات الأخيرة من رئاسة مبارك، دخل المشهد السياسي حالة من الترقب. وفي 7 أيلول/سبتمبر 2005، أجرت مصر أولى الانتخابات الرئاسية متعددة المرشحين. فاز مبارك بأغلبية ساحقة، رغم عدم تصويت أكثر من 23% من مجموع الناخبين. وبعد شهرين، في تشرين الثاني/نوفمبر وكانون الأول/ديسمبر، أجريت انتخابات برلمانية على ثلاث مراحل. وأثناء الحملات، وُجّهت انتقادات غير مسبوقة للنظام والرئيس. ولأول مرة، سُمح لجماعة الإخوان المسلمين المحظورة بالاحتجاج في الشوارع والهتاف بشعار “الإسلام هو الحل”. كما سُمح للإسلاميين بالمشاركة في الانتخابات شرط تقدمهم كمرشحين مستقلين. ورغم فوز الحزب الوطني الديمقراطي (الحاكم) بأغلبية الأصوات في البرلمان، إلا أن الإخوان المسلمين فازوا بـ 88 من 444 مقعد المتنافس عليها (حوالي 20%)، بزيادة خمسة أضعاف.

بعد ذلك، ضاق الخناق على النظام. تم اعتقال المرشح الرئاسي أيمن نور (مواليد 1964)، وتعرض الإخوان المسلمون إلى اعتقالات متواصلة. وقبل شهرين من إجبار مبارك على التنحي عن منصبه، أُجرِيَت الانتخابات البرلمانية في 28 تشرين الثاني/نوفمبر و (الجولة الثانية) في 5 كانون الأول/ديسمبر 2010، وتميزت بالتزوير واسع النطاق؛ فاز الحزب الوطني الديمقراطي (الحاكم) بـ 96% تقريباً من المقاعد. اتفق المراقبون على أن هذه الانتخابات كانت الأسوأ في عهد مبارك وكان القصد منها أساساً تمهيد الطريق لابنه جمال. فلم تفز جماعة الإخوان المسلمين، التي فازت قبل خمس سنوات فقط بـ 88 مقعداً من أصل 444، بأي مقعد في الجولة الأولى من انتخابات تشرين الثاني/نوفمبر 2010، ولا أي من جماعات المعارضة.

Hosni Mubarak
حسني مبارك في السبعينيات ©AFP

Vice-President Hosni Mubarak and President Anwar al-Sadat
نائب الرئيس حسني مبارك والرئيس أنور السادات قبل لحظات من اغتيال السادات أثناء استعراضٍ عسكري في عام ١٩٨١

President Mubarak and US President Ronald Reagan in Washington
الرئيس مبارك والرئيس الأمريكي رونالد ريغان في واشنطن ©AFP ⁃ GENE FORTE

President Mubarak and Indian Prime Minister Indira Gandhi
الرئيس مبارك ورئيسة الوزراء الهندية أنديرا غاندي ©AFP ⁃ Ramesh Pande

President Mubarak with US President George W. Bush
الرئيس مبارك والرئيس الأمريكي جورج دبليو بوش ©AFP ⁃ MANDEL NGAN

 President Mubarak with US President Barack Obama
الرئيس مبارك والرئيس الأمريكي باراك أوباما ©AFP ⁃ CHRIS KLEPONIS

إقرأ المزيد

ملف فنك الشامل عن مصر يوفر لمحة شاملة عن هذه الدولة وتاريخها وثقاف...
اعتلى محمد حسني مبارك سدة الرئاسة في العام ذاته، إلى أن تم الإطاحة...
وفي 2 يونيو 2012، وجدت المحكمة مبارك ووزير داخليته، حبيب العادلي، مذ...

© Copyright Notice

Please contact us in case of omissions concerning copyright-protected work. The acquired copyright protected images used on/as featured image of this page are: ©Hollandse Hoogte | ©Hollandse Hoogte | ©AFP | ©AFP | GENE FORTE ©AFP | Ramesh Pande ©AFP | MANDEL NGAN ©AFP | CHRIS KLEPONIS ©AFP

الجهل يقود إلى الخوف، الخوف يقود إلى الكراهية، والكراهية تقود إلى العنف هذه هي المعادلة.
ابن رشد (١١٢٦ – ١١٩٨)

إن مؤسستنا منظمةٌ هولندية غير حكومية لا تسعى لتحقيق الأرباح. هذه المؤسسة يجري تمويلها بصورةٍ حصرية عبر أفرادٍ يشاركوننا الإيمان بضرورة نشر معلومات موثوقة وغير متحيزة عن منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا، محاكين بذلك المزاج الشعبي السائد في المنطقة ولنعبّر عن صوت أبناء المنطقة بما نقدمه من معلومات ناجعة وتتحلى بالمصداقية.

ولذلك، فإننا نقدّر عالياً ما تقدمه لنا من دعمٍ وسنحرص على أن يعكس هذا الدعم بطريقةٍ إيجابية على الصالح العام!

ملف التحديث الإقليمي COVID-19

احصل على آخر تحديث عن تفشي فيروس كورونا في الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا

تطورات فيروس كورونا

Fanack Home / Egypt / History of Egypt from Past to Present / Mubarak’s Egypt (1981-2011)

Mubarak’s Egypt (1981-2011)

Mubarak Egypt
Photo HH

Sadat’s vice-president, Hosni Mubarak (born 1928), a former Air Force general, continued on the path that Sadat had laid out. The struggle against radical Islamists characterized his presidency. Immediately after the assassination of Sadat, a state of emergency was declared (which remained in force until 2012).

Mubarak’s internal security

Internal security was the constant preoccupation of Mubarak’s reign. In the 1990s, security forces fought an insurgency of Islamic militants, led by al-Jamaa al-Islamiya and the Islamic Jihad, two competing movements aiming to overthrow the regime and install an Islamic state. More than a thousand people were killed, more than 10,000 were wounded, and thousands were detained. Years of uneasy calm followed, but in 2004, 2005, and 2006, new terrorist attacks on tourist resorts in the Sinai Peninsula violently disturbed the nation’s sense of security.

Mubarak’s economy

Mubarak inherited an economy that was in the doldrums. Economic growth could not keep pace with population growth. Hampered by an enormous, obstructive bureaucracy, rampant corruption, incompetent government, and fierce international competition, Egypt found itself lagging. Public services such as education, health care, and housing collapsed under the weight of demand and mismanagement. Disparities between the poor masses and the rich elite grew further. In July 2004, a new economic team was brought into the government through the efforts of Mubarak’s second son Gamal, giving rise to speculation that he was the heir apparent. Pro-business reforms were announced, and investment since rose, but the benefits did not trickle down to the poor masses.

Mubarak’s diplomacy

Diplomatically, Mubarak focused his efforts on restoring relations with other Arab countries, and he managed to regain some stature in the Arab world while preserving a cold peace with Israel. Egypt was readmitted into the Arab League in 1990, and its headquarters returned to Cairo. The relationship with the United States strengthened until it was strained by the American invasion of Iraq in 2003 and American demands for democratization in Egypt. These demands which were largely abandoned after the American campaign in Iraq got bogged down. Meanwhile, Egypt has never ceased to play the role of intermediary in the Israeli-Palestinian conflict.

Mubarak’s politics

During the latter years of the Mubarak presidency the political scene entered a state of suspense. On 7 September 2005, Egypt held its first multi-candidate presidential elections. Mubarak won overwhelmingly, although officially only 23 percent of the electorate voted. Two months later, in November and December, parliamentary elections were held in three stages. During the campaigns, there was unprecedented criticism of the regime and the president. For the first time, the outlawed Muslim Brotherhood was allowed to protest on the streets and chant its slogan ‘Islam is the Solution’. The Islamists were permitted to participate in the elections on the condition that they were nominated as independent candidates. Although the National Democratic Party (NDP), the official government party, still won a majority in Parliament, the Muslim Brothers won 88 of the contested 444 seats (nearly 20 percent), a fivefold increase.

After that, the regime clamped down. The runner-up in the presidential elections, Ayman Nour (born 1964), was imprisoned, and the Muslim Brothers were subjected to on-going arrests. Only two months before he was forced out of office, Mubarak held his last parliamentary elections on 28 November and (second round) 5 December 2010. These elections were marked by massive rigging, and the ruling National Democratic Party (NDP) won nearly 96 percent of seats. Observers agreed that these elections were the worst under Mubarak and were intended mainly to prepare the ground for his son, Gamal, to take over. The Muslim Brotherhood, which only five years earlier had won 88 of the 444 seats, won not a single seat in the first round of the November 2010 elections, nor did any of the opposition groups.

Hosni Mubarak in the 1970
Hosni Mubarak in the 1970s

Vice-President Hosni Mubarak and President Anwar al-Sadat
Vice-President Hosni Mubarak and President Anwar al-Sadat, moments before Sadat’s assassination during a military parade in 1981

President Mubarak and US President Ronald Reagan in Washington
President Mubarak and US President Ronald Reagan in Washington

President Mubarak and Indian Prime Minister Indira Gandhi
President Mubarak and Indian Prime Minister Indira Gandhi

President Mubarak with US President George W. Bush
President Mubarak with US President George W. Bush

 President Mubarak with US President Barack Obama
President Mubarak with US President Barack Obama

Further Reading

Fanack’s Egypt country file provides a comprehensive overview about Egypt, its history, politics, culture, economy and...
Egypt has been a cradle of many civilizations and kingdoms. This country has the oldest recorded history in the world. T...
On 2 June 2012, the court found Mubarak and his interior minister, Habib al-Adly, guilty of involvement in the killing o...

© Copyright Notice

Please contact us in case of omissions concerning copyright-protected work. The acquired copyright protected images used on/as featured image of this page are: ©Hollandse Hoogte | ©Hollandse Hoogte | ©AFP | ©AFP | GENE FORTE ©AFP | Ramesh Pande ©AFP | MANDEL NGAN ©AFP | CHRIS KLEPONIS ©AFP



"The heritage of knowledge is more valuable than gold."
Yahya ibn Abi Kathir (769-848)

We are a Dutch not for profit organisation (NGO), financed solely by individuals who share our belief in the importance of publishing and disseminating reliable, unbiased information on the Middle East & North Africa region. To represent the voice of the region’s people, we carefully echo the region’s heartbeat by offering fact-checked and therefore credible information.

Your support is greatly appreciated and helpful!