فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / مصر / من الماضي الى الحاضر / مصر تمهد الطريق لإعادة انتخاب الرئيس السيسي بسلاسة

مصر تمهد الطريق لإعادة انتخاب الرئيس السيسي بسلاسة

بحلول يناير 2018، سيكون قد مضى على انتخاب الجنرال عبد الفتاح السيسي كرئيسٍ لجمهورية مصر أربع سنوات، بعد فوزه الساحق بنسبة 96% من الأصوات على منافسه الوحيد، حامدين صباحي.

ووفقاً للدستور، تمتد فترة الحكم الرئاسية لأربع سنوات، مما يعني أن ربيع العام الجاري الموعد المقرر لإجراء الإنتخابات الرئاسية. ويبدو أن السيسي، الذي يمتلك قضبةً حديديةً على البلاد، بما فيها على قوات الأمن ووسائل الإعلام، لا يخشى الكثير. ومع ذلك، يُثير المشهد الإنتخابي قلق النظام.

ففي أغسطس الماضي 2017، اقترح أحد أعضاء البرلمان مشروع قانونٍ لتعديل الدستور وتمديد فترة الرئاسة إلى ست سنوات، مما يؤجل الانتخابات، على نحوٍ فعال، لعامين آخرين. وقال محللٌ فضل عدم الكشف عن اسمه ل Fanack أن المقترح الذي واجه معارضةً واسعة النطاق حتى من أشد مؤيدي النظام، إن “قرار إجراء الإنتخابات قد تم اتخاذه.” وأضاف “إن الحجة الشرعية أمرٌ محوري للسيسي. وبغض النظر عن مدى كون الإنتخابات مصطنعة، إلا أن الاختيار غاية في الأهمية.”

بيد أن النظام يبدو حريصاً على منع سباقٍ إنتخابي عادل، إذ قال لنا المحلل “السيسي مذعورٌ من فقدان الدعم.” ويبدو أن شعبيته، التي وصلت أوجها عند انتخابه عام 2014، قد تضاءلت منذ ذلك الحين.

فقد سبق وقال الخبير العسكري صفوت الزيات لنا في Fanack  “كان هناك توقعات ووعود كبيرة بعد الاستيلاء العسكري في عام 2013 بأنه سيتم القضاء على الإرهاب في سيناء في غضون أسابيع. مضت أربع سنوات إلى الآن، ولا يزال الإرهاب قائماً بشكلٍ يومي تقريباً.”

كما فرضت الإصلاحات الاقتصادية الصعبة عبئاً ثقيلاً على المصريين، مما أدى إلى انخفاض الإقتدار والدخل إلى النصف بعد أن أدى تعويم الجنيه المصري إلى ارتفاع معدل التضخم السنوي بما يزيد عن 30%.

وعليه، أعرب الأشخاص الذين شعروا بوطأة هذه الإصلاحات عن استيائهم من السيسي. وقال المحلل “من المستغرب أنه بالرغم من مدى تشديد النظام، إلا أن الناس لا يزالون يتحدثون بالسياسة في الأماكن العامة. يعزز هذا من ذعر السيسي.”

ويعتبر أحمد شفيق أهم المنافسيين على الكرسي الرئاسي حتى الآن، إذ يُعتقد أن رئيس الوزراء الأسبق يمتلك القدرة على حشد التأييد. ففي انتخابات عام 2012 الحرة وذات المصداقية، حصد 12,5 مليون صوت، أي في المرتبة الثانية فحسب خلف المرشح الإسلامي محمد مرسي. كما أنه عسكري سابق، والذي خلافاً للسيسي يمتلك خبرةً قتالية فعلية، وأحد رجالات حسني مبارك، كما يرتبط بعلاقاتٍ مع نخبة رجال الأعمال فضلاً عن قدرته على استقطاب الدعم من المجتمع القبطي في البلاد، “إنه رجلٌ متعدد المواهب،” كما يقول المحلل.

ومع ذلك، من دون تقربه من وسائل الإعلام وحصوله على الدعم من الأجهزة الأمنية، التي ترتبط ارتباطاً وثيقاً بالسيسي، فمن غير المضمون حصول شفيق على فرصةٍ حقيقيةٍ بالفوز.

Egypt- Election in Egypt
Photo AFP ©AFP

ومع ذلك، يبدو أن النظام يرى فيه تهديداً كبيراً ليتركه وشأنه. ففي أعقاب إعلان شفيق نيته الترشح للانتخابات الرئاسية من منزله في الإمارات العربية المتحدة، مُنع بدايةً من السفر ليرّحل بعدها إلى مصر. وبمجرد وصوله، اختفى عن الأنظار ليومٍ واحد، إذ صرحت ابنته لوسائل الإعلام عن تعذر الوصول إليه وخوفهم من اعتقاله. ومع ذلك، مساء اليوم ذاته، ظهر شفيق في برنامجٍ حواري، إذ قال أنه لم يتعرض للاختطاف وما زال ينظر في أمر ترشحه للانتخابات، في تراجعٍ واضح عن إعلانه السابق.

وهو يُقيم منذ ذلك الحين في فندق الماريوت في القاهرة، وهو فندقٌ له صلات وثيقة بالأجهزة الأمنية منذ ما عُرف بـ”خلية الماريوت،” ضد صحفيين، أجنبي ومصري، من قناة الجزيرة عام 2014. ويبدو أن شفيق يخضع للإقامة الجبرية بحكم الأمر الواقع في الفندق، وعندما حاول صحفيون من رويترز الاقتراب منه هناك في أوائل ديسمبر 2017 لإجراء مقابلةٍ معه، تم إيقافهم من قِبل ضباط شرطة بالزي المدني.

فقد صرح شفيق في العاشر من ديسمبر 2017 أنه سيعلن عن موقفه النهائي من الترشح للانتخابات في “غضون أيام.” وحتى وقت كتابة هذا المقال، لم يحدث ذلك بعد. وعلاوة على ذلك، فقد تم اعتقال العديد من أنصاره، الأمر الذي أدانه شفيق عبر تغريداتٍ على تويتر.

وقال المعلق السياسي مجدي عبد الهاني ل Fanack  “أعتقد أن النظام أصبح غير مطمئنٍ بشكلٍ لا يصدق، إذ بات لا يمكنه حتى التسامح مع مظاهر المعارضة لاستكمال “الديكور الديمقراطي.”

ومن بين المرشحين الواعدين للرئاسة، المحامي الحقوقي خالد علي، الذي ترشح في انتخابات عام 2012 وحصد المركز السابع، إلا أنه حصد مكانةً بارزة بين عامي 2016 و2017 بصفته المحامي الرئيسي للقضية التي رُفعت ضد القرار الذي حظي بمعارضةٍ واسعة النطاق بتسليم جزيرتي البحر الأحمر للسعودية. أعلن خالد علي ترشحه في نوفمبر الماضي 2017 ويجد له قاعدةً من المؤيدين بين جماعة المعارضة من اليساريين ومؤيدي ثورة 2011. وفي أعقاب إعلانه ترشحه، اقتحمت قوات الأمن أحد المطابع وصادرت المواد الدعائية لحملة علي.

وعلاوة على ذلك، حُكم عليه بالسجن لمدة ثلاثة أشهر بتهمة “انتهاكه الآداب العامة،” وذلك بعد أن رفع إصبعه خارج المحكمة فيما اعتبر تصرفاً غير ملائم. أطلق سراحه بعدها بكفالة واستأنف الحكم. وفي حال إدانته في قضية الاستئناف، سيتم منعه من الترشح لمنصب الرئيس وفقاً لقانون الانتخابات المصري. وعليه، وصفت منظمة العفو الدولية الحكم بكونه “ذو دوافع سياسية.”

2017ويعتبر العقيد أحمد قنصوة الشخص الثالث الذي أعلن عزمه تحدي السيسي، حيث أعلن عن نيته الترشح للانتخابات الرئاسية عبر فيديو على الإنترنت في أواخر نوفمبر.

أعتقل قنصوة بعد ذلك بوقتٍ قصير وقدم للمحاكمة أمام محكمة عسكرية، إذ لا يُسمح للعسكريين بدخول المعترك السياسي علناً. يدعيّ قنصوة استقالته من الجيش، إلا أن حقيقة ارتدائه للزي العسكري أثناء إعلانه الترشح كانت نقطة قوية ضده. وفي منتصف ديسمبر 2017، حكم عليه بالسجن لمدة ست سنوات بتهمة انتهاك القواعد العسكرية.

كما أرجأ أنور السادات، المرشح المحتمل الرابع وأحد نواب البرلمان وابن شقيق الرئيس الراحل الذي يحمل نفس اسمه، إعلان ترشحه بعد رد الفعل العنيف الذي واجهه المرشحون الآخرون، وفقاً لما ذكره لإحدى وسائل الإعلام المحلية في 25  2017ديسمبر.

وفي حين لا يزال المنافسون المحتملون يواجهون تحدياتٍ مختلفة، لم يترشح السيسي بعد بشكلٍ رسمي، على الرغم من عدم وجود شكوكٍ حول ترشحه المحتمل. فقد أطلق مجموعة من السياسيين في سبتمبر الماضي 2017 حملةً لجمع التواقيع لدعم إعادة انتخابه. حظيت الحملة بدعمٍ علني من قِبل شريحة كبيرة من المشاهير، وبحلول 24 ديسمبر 2017، حملت العريضة 12 مليون توقيع.

ومنذ منتصف نوفمبر 2017، ظهرت لافتات ضخمة تحمل صورة السيسي في شوارع القاهرة، والتي رافقتها عبارة “كلنا معاك من أجل مصر.” وحتى قبل أن يصبح مرشحاً رسمياً، فإن حملة إعادة انتخاب السيسي جاريةٌ على قدمٍ وساق بالفعل.

© Copyright Notice

click on link to view the associated photo/image
©AFP ⁃ MARWAN NAAMANI | ©AFP

image_pdfimage_print

دعمكم عونٌ لنا

فَنَك هي مؤسسة إعلامية إلكترونية مستقلة، لا تمولها أي دولة أو مجموعات مصالح. تلتزم فَنَك بنشر تحليلاتٍ مبنية على الوقائع ومحايدة، إلى جانب التقارير المواضيعية حول الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا.
شهد الموقع نمواً سريعاً في نطاق وعمق المعلومات التي يُقدمها، واليوم، بات يُشكل مصدراً غنياً وقيماً للمعلومات عن 21 بلداً، من المغرب إلى عُمان ومن إيران إلى اليمن، باللغتين العربية والإنجليزية. حالياً، وصل عدد القراء إلى 6 ملايين سنوياً، والعدد آخذٌ بالإزدياد.
لضمان حيادية المعلومات على موقع فَنَك (وقائع وأحداث) ، تُنشر المقالات دون ذكر أسماء الكتّاب، مما يُتيح أيضاً لمراسلينا مساحة أكبر من الحرية عند التطرق إلى القضايا الحساسة أو المثيرة للجدل فى بلادهم. وإلى جانب ذلك، نتحرى حقائق جميع المعلومات الواردة في مقالاتنا قبل النشر لضمان دقة المعلومات، وحداثتها وحيادها.

استمرارية تشغيل مثل هذا الموقع الإلكتروني مُكلفة للغاية. بتبرعٍ صغيرٍ منك، يمكنك المساهمة في الحفاظ على حرية واستقلالية تغطيتنا.

Fanack Home / Egypt / Past to Present / Egypt Paves the Way for Smooth Re-election of President al-Sisi

Egypt Paves the Way for Smooth Re-election of President al-Sisi

In June 2018, it will be four years since General Abdel Fattah al-Sisi was elected president of Egypt, with a landslide victory of 96 per cent of the votes over his only competition, Hamdeen al-Sabbahi.

According to the constitution, a presidential term is four years, which means presidential elections are due this spring. Having established a firm grip on the country, including the security forces and media, al-Sisi seems to have little to fear. Nevertheless, the prospect of elections is making the regime nervous.

In August 2017, an MP proposed a draft law to amend the constitution and extend the presidential term to six years, effectively delaying elections for another two years. Confronted with widespread opposition to such a proposal, even from staunch regime supporters, “the decision has been made to hold elections,” an analyst who preferred to remain anonymous told Fanack Chronicle. “The legitimacy argument is central for al-Sisi. No matter how forced [elections would be], choosing is important.”

Even so, the regime seems keen to prevent a fair race. “Al-Sisi is paranoid about losing support,” the analyst said. His popularity, which was at its height around the time of his election in 2014, seems to have waned since.

“There were great expectations and promises after the military takeover in 2013 that terrorism in Sinai would be eradicated in weeks. We are four years on and terrorism takes place almost daily,” military expert Safwat Zayat previously told Fanack Chronicle.

Tough economic reforms have also put a heavy burden on Egyptians, cutting wealth and incomes in half after the currency devaluation led to an annual inflation rate of over 30 per cent.

People who have felt the brunt of these reforms have expressed their discontent with al-Sisi. “It is surprising that despite how closed the system is, people still talk about politics in public. And this re-enforces [al-Sisi’s] paranoia,” the analyst said.

The most important presidential challenger to have emerged so far is Ahmed Shafiq. The former prime minister, he is believed to have the ability to garner support. In open and credible elections in 2012, he won 12.5 million votes, just behind Islamist candidate Mohamed Morsi. He is a former military man – who contrary to al-Sisi has actual combat experience – is part of the Hosni Mubarak clique, has ties with the business elite and would be able to draw support from the Coptic community as well. “He is a man of many trades,” the analyst said.

However, without media access and backing from the security apparatus, which is closely tied to al-Sisi, it is doubtful whether Shafiq would stand a real chance.

Egypt- election in Egypt-
Photo AFP

Nonetheless, the regime seems to consider him too big a threat to be left alone. Soon after Shafiq announced his intention to run for president from his home in the United Arab Emirates, he was first barred from travelling and later deported to Egypt. Upon arrival, he disappeared off the radar for a day. His daughters told media they could not reach him and feared his arrest. However, the same evening, Shafiq appeared on a talk show. He had not been kidnapped and is still considering his election bid, he said, a significant step down from his earlier announcement.

He has since been staying in the Marriot in Cairo, a hotel with close links to the security apparatus since the ‘Marriot cell case’ against foreign and Egyptian al-Jazeera journalists in 2014. Shafiq seems to be de facto under house arrest in the hotel. When Reuters’ journalists tried to approach him there in early December 2017 for an interview, police in plainclothes stopped them.

Shafiq said on 10 December 2017 he would announce his final stance on the elections “within days”. At the time of writing, this had yet to happen. Several of his supporters have also been arrested, which Shafiq condemned on Twitter.

“I think the regime has become so incredibly insecure. It cannot tolerate even a semblance of opposition to complete the ‘democratic décor’,” political commentator Magdi Abdelhani told Fanack Chronicle.

Another presidential hopeful is rights lawyer Khaled Ali. He ran in the 2012 elections, in which he came seventh, and gained prominence in 2016 and 2017 as the main lawyer in the case against the unpopular handover of two Red Sea islands to Saudi Arabia. He announced his bid in November 2017 and finds his support base among leftist, pro-2011 revolution, opposition group. In the follow-up to the announcement, security forces raided a printing press and seized materials for Ali’s campaign.

Moreover, he has been handed a three-month prison sentence for ‘violating public decency’, after making a hand gesture outside court deemed inappropriate. He was subsequently released on bail and appealed the verdict. If convicted in the appeal case, he will be barred from running for president as per Egyptian election law.

Amnesty International described the sentence as ‘politically motivated’. Colonel Ahmed Konsowa is the third person who intended to challenge al-Sisi, announcing his bid for the presidency in an online video in late November 2017.

Konsowa was arrested soon afterwards and brought to trial at a military court. Military men are not allowed to engage in politics publicly. Konsowa claims he has resigned from the army, but the fact that he was wearing his uniform when he made the announcement worked strongly against him. In mid-December 2017, he was sentenced to six years in prison for violating military rules.

A fourth possible candidate, Anwar Sadat, an MP and nephew of the late president of the same name, postponed announcing his candidacy following the backlash the other candidates had faced, he told local media on 25 December 2017.

While possible competitors continue to face various challenges, al-Sisi himself is yet to make his candidature official, although there is little doubt he will run. A group of politicians started a campaign in September 2017 to collect signatures in support of his re-election. The campaign has been openly supported by a large number of celebrities, and by 24 December 2017, the petition had 12 million signatures.

Since mid-November 2017, numerous banners have appeared in Cairo bearing a large portrait of al-Sisi and reading, ‘We all stand with you for the sake of Egypt’. Without being an official candidate, al-Sisi’s re-election campaign is already in full swing.

image_pdfimage_print