فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / مصر / من الماضي الى الحاضر / خوف المعارضة من أن تدفع السياسات القمعية مصر نحو “الإنفجار”

خوف المعارضة من أن تدفع السياسات القمعية مصر نحو “الإنفجار”

Egypt- Egyptian military
مركبات عسكرية مصرية تقف خارج معهد الشرطة بالقرب من سجن طرة في القاهرة. Photo AFP ©AFP ⁃ MOHAMED ELSHAHED

مرةً أخرى، أظهر اعتقال ثمانية سياسيين ونشطاء يساريين في يونيو 2019 أن الدولة المصرية لن تسمح بأي حشدٍ للمعارضة ضد حكمها القمعي المتزايد.

فقد تمت الموافقة على التعديلات الدستورية، التي منحت الرئيس عبد الفتاح السيسي سلطاتٍ واسعة على القضاء فضلاً عن السماح له بالبقاء في منصبه حتى عام 2030، في استفتاءٍ أجريّ في أبريل. كما أجبرت أحزاب المعارضة العلمانية على إعادة التفكير في دورها- المهمش إلى حدٍ كبير- على الصعيد السياسي، فقد دعا تكتل 25-30، الذي يتكون من 16 برلماني مستقل لا يصادقون فحسب على قرارات النظام، الحركة المدنية الديمقراطية الليبرالية للانضمام إليهم وتشكيل جبهة واحدة. “نحن عند مفترق طرق،” قال النائب أحمد الطنطاوي في وثيقةٍ أرسلت إلى الأحزاب، فإما “إحياء وإنقاذ المسار السياسي” أو يكون ذلك سبباً في “حالة إحباط تدفع الناس للإنصراف والبحث عن مساراتٍ أخرى للتغيير.” كما حثّ المعارضة على الاتحاد والدفع من أجل “المسار السياسي الصحيح” لأن “الأمة لا تستطيع تحمل تكاليف المسارات الأخرى.”

وقال ممدوح حبشي، عضو حزب التحالف الشعبي الاشتراكي، لفَنَك: “تلقى رئيس حزبنا وعدة نواب مكالماتٍ هاتفية من الأمن القومي يحذرونهم من التجمع”. ومع ذلك، وافق أعضاء حزب التحالف الشعبي الاشتراكي على المضي قدماً. وقال حبشي “لقد عقدنا اجتماعاً في 19 يونيو مع أحزاب الحركة المدنية الديمقراطية وقررنا الاستمرار.” وفي 24 يونيو، عقد اجتماعٌ لمتابعة آخر التطورات والذي جمع سياسيين وناشطين والعديد من النواب وقرروا تشكيل “تحالف الأمل،” بهدف الترشح في الانتخابات البرلمانية المقررة لعام 2020. “هذا هو الأمل في إمكانية إحداث التغيير سلمياً. جميع المصريين تقريباً فقدوا هذا الأمل،” بحسب تعبير حبشي.

وبعد ساعاتٍ قليلة من الاجتماع، وفي الساعات الأولى من يوم 25 يونيو، تم اعتقال ثلاثة من المشاركين: زياد العليمي، محام وعضو في الحزب الديمقراطي الاجتماعي المصري، وهشام فؤاد، صحفي وعضو في حركة الإشتراكيين الثوريين، وحسام مؤنس، عضو حزب الكرامة الشعبي الناصري.

كما تم القبض على رجل الأعمال وصاحب سلسلة مكتبة ألف عمر الشنيطي وأربعة نشطاء آخرين أقل شهرة. وقال المحامي مالك عدلي لـفَنَك، أنه لمدة يومين كان من من غير المعلوم مكان احتجاز المعتقلين، إلى أن تم احتجازهم في سجن طرة الشهير في القاهرة. تشمل الاتهامات نشر أخبار كاذبة و”الانضمام إلى منظمة إرهابية لتحقيق أهدافها” – وهي تهمٌ غامضة يتم توجيهها عادةً إلى المعتقلين السياسيين.

تمثل موجة الاعتقالات الفصل التالي في سلسلةٍ من التدابير القمعية التي اتخذتها دولةٌ ترفض التسامح بشكلٍ متزايد مع أي روايةٍ أخرى غير رواياتها. ففي مايو 2018، تم اعتقال العديد من الناشطين البارزين والمدونين والسياسيين، إلى أن تم الإفراج المشروط عن أحدهم، المدون وائل عباس، في ديسمبر 2018، إلا أنه يتعين عليه تقديم تقرير إلى قسم الشرطة المحلي مرتين في الأسبوع.

في أغسطس من ذلك العام، تم اعتقال سبعة أشخاص آخرين، من بينهم زعيم حزب الكرامة، والدبلوماسي السابق معصوم مرزوق، الذي كان قد دعا إلى إجراء استفتاءٍ على القيادة السياسية والدعوة للاحتجاج في ميدان التحرير. لم يُفرج عنه من السجن إلا في مايو 2019. يعتقد الكثيرون أن الاعتقالات كانت محاولة لإسكات المعارضة المحتملة للتغييرات الدستورية. ومع اقتراب موعد الانتخابات البرلمانية، يبدو أن لدى السلطات سبباً جديداً لقمع المعارضة.

بيد أنه يبدو أن قبضة السيسي الحديدية على البلاد أمرٌ واقع، فهو يتمتع بدعم الأجهزة الأمنية التي تسيطر على وسائل الإعلام؛ كما أن كامل البرلمان تقريباً يقف في صفه؛ ومنذ التعديلات الدستورية، يسيطر بحكم الأمر الواقع على القضاء. من الصعب تخيل كيف سيشكل العدد القليل المتبقي من السياسيين والناشطين المعارضين تهديداً للنظام، إذ أوضح لنا حبشي في هذا الصدد بقوله “يجب أن يكون الجميع على نفس الخط،” وأضاف “[في النهاية]، هدف كل ديكتاتورية هو منع أي نقاش.”

فقد كان ذلك واضحاً خلال الانتخابات الرئاسية في عام 2018، حتى أن المنافسين المحتملين المقربين من النظام، مثل الجنرال سامي عنان والوزير السابق في عهد مبارك أحمد شفيق، مُنعوا من الترشح باستخدام أساليب الترهيب أو الاعتقال. وفي حين أن السيسي كان يمكن أن يضمن الفوز حتى مع خوض المرشحين الآخرين للانتخابات، إلا أنه يبدو أن الدولة اعتبرت أن أي نوعٍ من النقاش السياسي الذي كان يمكن أن يخرج من سباقٍ رئاسي حقيقي ينطوي على مخاطرة كبيرة. بدلاً من ذلك، اختارت عرضاً فردياً بمرشح معارضة من أشد مؤيدي السيسي الذي لم يشكل تهديداً كبيراً.

حتى وإن كانت المعارضة تنبثق من شخصياتٍ من عهد مبارك، التي يميل النظام الحالي بشكلٍ عام إلى تفضيلها بشكلٍ أكبر من جماعة الإخوان المسلمين الإرهابية، كما يُطلقون عليها، إلا أن الدولة ملتزمة بسياسة عدم التسامح بالمطلق. ففي سبتمبر 2018، قُبض على ابنيّ مبارك، كرد فعلٍ واضح على ظهورهما المتزايد على الساحة الشعبية وتغريداتهما السياسية. وفي يوليو 2019، تم إلقاء القبض على مالك صفحة “آسفين يا ريس،” التي تضم منشوراتٍ تشيد بالرئيس السابق، بتهمة نشر أخبار كاذبة.

هناك الكثير لتتم مناقشته في مصر، فقد مرت البلاد بأزمةٍ اقتصادية حادة وإصلاحاتٍ اقتصادية تالية كجزءٍ من صفقة قرض لصندوق النقد الدولي. تهدف الإصلاحات إلى حل القضايا على مستوى الاقتصاد الكلي، ولكن مستويات الفقر آخذة في الارتفاع، إذ أن حوالي 60% من المصريين إما فقراء أو معرضون لخطر الفقر، كما أن معدلات عدم المساواة آخذةٌ في التزايد، بحسب أرقام البنك الدولي. وعلاوةً على ذلك، تستمر أسعار الوقود والكهرباء في الارتفاع بشكلٍ دوري، مما يزيد العبء على الأسر التي تعاني بالفعل من ضغوطات. كما سيواصل ارتفاع معدلات الإنجاب زيادة الضغوطات على سوق العمل وأنظمة التعليم والرعاية الصحية في المستقبل المنظور.

ومن الواضح أن الدولة تخشى تجدد الاضطرابات الاجتماعية، إذ يتم حظر مئات المواقع التي تنتقد الحكومة بطريقةٍ أو بأخرى في مصر. وفي أي حدثٍ ينطوي على درجة عالية من الخطورة، سواء كانت مباراة لكرة القدم في الدوري المصري أو ذكرى ثورة 25 يناير 2011 أو وفاة الرئيس السابق محمد مرسي في 17 يونيو 2019، قامت الشرطة بتعزيز الأمن حول ميدان التحرير وإجبار جميع مقاهي وسط البلد على إغلاق أبوابها. بل إن التغطية الإعلامية لوفاة مرسي كانت تخضع لسيطرةٍ مُحكمة من قِبل الدولة، التي وزعت مقالاتٍ محددة ونصوص النشرات التلفزيونية التي لم تشر إلى تولي مرسي للرئاسة. وعلى صعيدٍ متصل، منح قانون الصحافة الجديد الذي تم التصديق عليه في وقتٍ سابق من هذا العام الهيئات التنظيمية سلطةً واسعة النطاق على وسائل الإعلام ومستخدمي وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي الذين تم تصنيف وجود أكثر من 5000 متابع على صفحاتهم باعتبارهم وسائل إعلامية، مما يعرض المستخدمين الأفراد لخطر الملاحقة القضائية لانتهاك معايير وسائل الإعلام.

وكما يقول حبشي، “هذا النوع من النظام غير مستدام، سيؤدي إلى الانفجار،” وتابع القول “يرى الناس أن الانتخابات مزورة؛ يتركهم هذا دون أمل. إننا نعتبر أنفسنا [أحزاب المعارضة العلمانية] حماةً للسلام، أكثر من النظام.”

كما أعرب محمد أنور السادات، النائب السابق والمشارك في تحالف الأمل، عن مخاوف مماثلة، إذ قال “لا أرى أي سياسة.” وأضاف “إذا ما كانوا حكماء، فيجب عليهم الانفتاح وإفساح المجال [للمعارضة لممارسة السياسة والتعبير عن آرائهم].”

ومع ذلك، يقبع السخط الشعبي تحت السطح، فعلى سبيل المثال عندما تسبب حادث القطار في وسط القاهرة في مقتل 25 شخصاً في مارس 2019، سرعان ما بدأ وسم “راجعين التحرير” بالإنتشار كالنار في الهشيم على تويتر. وعلاوةً على ذلك، تطلب الأمر حملةً دعائية شاملة وشراء واسع النطاق للأصوات للوصول إلى نسبة إقبال بلغت 44% فقط (وهي نسبة عالية غير واقعية بحد ذاتها) في الاستفتاء على الدستور. وعلى الرغم من العقوبات الشديدة على الاحتجاج غير القانوني، خرج بعض الناس إلى الشوارع للاحتجاج على ارتفاع أسعار تذاكر المترو في عام 2018، ومرةً أخرى بعد تحطم القطار في وقتٍ سابق من هذا العام.

تركز الحكومة على نقطةٍ أساسية واحدة، ألا وهي أنها تجلب الاستقرار والأمن، وهو أمرٌ نجحت فيه نسبياً مقارنة بالسنوات العنيفة أثناء الثورة وبعدها مباشرة، “مكافحة الإرهاب حق من حقوق الإنسان،” كُتب على لافتة رفعت بجوار شارعٍ رئيسي في القاهرة. وبالنسبة للعديد من المصريين، فإن الوضع الأمني الذي شهد تحسناً هو في الواقع سبب دعمهم للسيسي، بعد أن فقدوا الأمل في أن الإسلاميين وأحزاب المعارضة العلمانية أو حتى انتفاضةً شعبية جديدة يمكن أن تغير الأمور للأفضل. ومع ذلك، ازدادت هجمات تنظيم الدولة الإسلامية في شمال سيناء في النصف الأول من عام 2019، على الرغم من الهجوم العسكري الكبير الذي شُنّ العام الماضي.

وفي هذا السياق أشارت الإيكونوميست إلى أن انهيار مصر ليس سيناريو خيالي، وستكون عواقبه كارثية. ومع ذلك، تثير المجلة شكوكاً جدية حول ما إذا كان السيسي، مع سياسته المتمثلة في زيادة القمع السياسي، هو الشخص المناسب لتجنب مثل هذا الانهيار.

© Copyright Notice

click on link to view the associated photo/image
©AFP ⁃ MOHAMED ELSHAHED

دعمكم عونٌ لنا

فَنَك هي مؤسسة إعلامية إلكترونية مستقلة، لا تمولها أي دولة أو مجموعات مصالح. تلتزم فَنَك بنشر تحليلاتٍ مبنية على الوقائع ومحايدة، إلى جانب التقارير المواضيعية حول الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا.
شهد الموقع نمواً سريعاً في نطاق وعمق المعلومات التي يُقدمها، واليوم، بات يُشكل مصدراً غنياً وقيماً للمعلومات عن 21 بلداً، من المغرب إلى عُمان ومن إيران إلى اليمن، باللغتين العربية والإنجليزية. حالياً، وصل عدد القراء إلى 6 ملايين سنوياً، والعدد آخذٌ بالإزدياد.
لضمان حيادية المعلومات على موقع فَنَك (وقائع وأحداث) ، تُنشر المقالات دون ذكر أسماء الكتّاب، مما يُتيح أيضاً لمراسلينا مساحة أكبر من الحرية عند التطرق إلى القضايا الحساسة أو المثيرة للجدل فى بلادهم. وإلى جانب ذلك، نتحرى حقائق جميع المعلومات الواردة في مقالاتنا قبل النشر لضمان دقة المعلومات، وحداثتها وحيادها.

استمرارية تشغيل مثل هذا الموقع الإلكتروني مُكلفة للغاية. بتبرعٍ صغيرٍ منك، يمكنك المساهمة في الحفاظ على حرية واستقلالية تغطيتنا.

Fanack Home / Egypt / Past to Present / Opposition Fears Repressive Policies Will Push Egypt Towards ‘Explosion’

Opposition Fears Repressive Policies Will Push Egypt Towards ‘Explosion’

Egypt- Egyptian military
Egyptian military tanks are positioned outside the police institute near Cairo’s Turah prison. Photo AFP ©AFP ⁃ MOHAMED ELSHAHED

The arrest of eight leftist politicians and activists in June 2019 once again showed that the Egyptian state will not allow any mobilization of the opposition against its increasingly repressive rule.

Constitutional amendments, granting President Abdel Fattah al-Sisi sweeping powers over the judiciary and allowing him to stay in office until 2030, were approved in a referendum in April. It forced secular opposition parties to rethink their – already highly marginalized – role in the political sphere. The 25-30 Alliance, consisting of 16 independents not merely rubberstamping regime decisions, called upon the liberal Civil Democratic Movement (CDM) to join them and form one front. “We are at a crossroads,” Member of Parliament (MP) Ahmed Tantawi said in a document sent to the parties, to either “revive and rescue the political path” or resort to a “state of frustration that would push people towards other means of change”. He urged the opposition to unite and push for the “correct political path” as “the nation cannot afford the cost of other paths.”

“Our party leader and several MPs received phone calls from the national security warning them not to come together,” Mamdouh Habashi, a member of the Socialist Popular Alliance Party (SPAP), told Fanack. Still, SPAP members agreed to move forward. “We had a meeting on 19 June with the CDM parties and decided to go on,” Habashi said. On 24 June, politicians, activists and several MPs had a follow-up meeting and decided to form a ‘coalition of hope’, with the aim of running in the parliamentary elections planned for 2020.“This is the hope that change can be achieved peacefully. Almost all Egyptians lost this hope,” Habashi said.

A few hours after the meeting, in the early hours of 25 June, three of the participants were arrested: Ziad el-Elaimy, a lawyer and member of the Egyptian Socialist Democratic Party, Hisham Fouad, a journalist and member of the Revolutionary Socialists, and Hossam Moanis, a member of the Nasserist Karama party.

Also arrested were businessman and owner of the Alef bookstore chain Omar al-Shenetly and four other less prominent activists. For two days it was unclear where the detainees were being held, lawyer Malek Adly told Fanack, until they were located in the notorious Tora Prison in Cairo. Charges include spreading false news and ‘joining a terrorist organization in achieving its goals’ – rather vague charges that are typically brought against political detainees.

The wave of arrests represents the next chapter in a series of repressive measures by a state that is increasingly intolerant of any other narrative than its own. In May 2018, several high-profile activists, bloggers and politicians were arrested. One of them, blogger Wael Abbas, was conditionally released in December 2018 but has to report to the local police station twice a week.

In August that year, seven more people were arrested, among them the leader of the Karama party and former diplomat Masoom Marzouk. He had called for a referendum on the political leadership and a protest in Tahrir Square. He was released from prison only in May 2019. Many believed the arrests were an attempt to pre-emptively silence potential opposition to the constitutional changes. With the parliamentary elections ahead, the authorities appear to have a new reason to keep the opposition down.

Al-Sisi’s firm grip on the country seems a fait accompli. He has the support of the security bodies, which control the media; the parliament is almost entirely on his side; and since the constitutional amendments, he de facto controls the judiciary. It is hard to imagine how the few opposition politicians and activists left would pose a threat to the regime. “Everybody needs to be on the same line,” Habashi explained. “[Ultimately], the goal of every dictatorship is to forbid any discussion.”

This was apparent during the presidential elections in 2018. Even potential contenders close to the regime, like army general Sami Anan and former Mubarak-era minister Ahmed Shafiq, were barred from running through intimidation or arrest. While al-Sisi would arguably have secured a victory even with these other candidates running, the state apparently considered any sort of political debate that would have come out of an actual presidential race as too risky. Instead, it opted for a one-man show with a counter candidate who is a staunch al-Sisi supporter and posed little threat.

Even if opposition comes from Mubarak-era figures, to which the current regime is generally much more favourably inclined than the so-called terrorist Muslim Brotherhood, the state takes a zero-tolerance line. In September 2018, Mubarak’s two sons were arrested, in an apparent response to their heightened public profile and political tweets. In July 2019, the administrator of the Facebook page ‘I am sorry, Mubarak’, featuring posts praising the former president, was arrested on charges of spreading false news.

There is a lot up for discussion in Egypt. The country has been through a severe economic crisis and subsequent economic reforms as part of an International Monetary Fund loan deal. The reforms aim to resolve issues at the macroeconomic level, but poverty levels are rising. Some 60 per cent of Egyptians are either poor or vulnerable and inequality is on the rise, according to World Bank figures. Fuel and electricity prices continue to be raised periodically, putting an extra burden on already stretched households. Persistently high birth rates will keep pressuring the labour market and education and health-care systems in the foreseeable future.

Clearly, the state fears renewed social unrest. Hundreds of websites critical of the government in one way or another are blocked in Egypt. At any high-risk event, whether it is a football match in the Egyptian league, the anniversary of 2011’s 25 January Revolution or the death of former president Mohamed Morsi on 17 June 2019, the police steps up security around Tahrir Square and all cafes in downtown are ordered to close. Media coverage of Morsi’s death was tightly controlled by the state, which distributed prescribed articles and TV bulletins that did not make any mention of Morsi having been president. A new press law ratified earlier this year granted regulatory bodies far-reaching authority over media outlets and classified social media users with over 5,000 followers as media, putting individual users at higher risk of prosecution for violating media standards.

“This kind of system is not sustainable, it leads to explosion,” Habashi believes. “People see elections are faked; it leaves them without hope. We see ourselves [the secular opposition parties] as protectors of peace, more so than the regime.”

Mohamed Anwar el-Sadat, former MP and participant in the coalition of hope discussions, voiced similar concerns. “I don’t see any politics,” he said. “If they are wise, they should open up and give space [for the opposition to practice politics and express their views].”

Discontent lingers below the surface. When a train accident in central Cairo killed 25 people in March 2019, the hashtag ‘we are returning to Tahrir’ quickly began trending on Twitter. It took an all-out propaganda campaign and widespread vote-buying to reach a mere 44 per cent turnout (which according to some is unrealistically high in itself) in the constitutional referendum. Despite severe punishments for illegal protesting, some people took to the streets to protest metro ticket price increases in 2018, and again after the train crash earlier this year.

The government’s main selling point is that it brings stability and security, something at which it has been relatively successful compared to the violent years during and directly after the revolution. ‘Fighting terrorism is a human right’, a banner next to a major thoroughfare in Cairo reads. For many Egyptians, the improved security situation is indeed a reason to put their support behind al-Sisi, having lost hope that either Islamists and secular opposition parties or a new popular uprising could change things for the better. Nevertheless, Islamic State attacks in North Sinai surged in the first half of 2019, despite a major army offensive launched last year.

As The Economist noted, Egypt’s collapse is not an unrealistic scenario, the consequences of which would be catastrophic. However, the magazine raises serious doubts about whether al-Sisi, with his policy of increasing political repression, is the right person to avoid such a collapse.

© Copyright Notice

click on link to view the associated photo/image
©AFP ⁃ MOHAMED ELSHAHED | ©AFP ⁃ MOHAMED ELSHAHED

We would like to ask you something …

Fanack is an independent media organisation, not funded by any state or any interest group, that distributes in the Middle East and the wider world unbiased analysis and background information, based on facts, about the Middle East and North Africa.

The website grew rapidly in breadth and depth and today forms a rich and valuable source of information on 21 countries, from Morocco to Oman and from Iran to Yemen, both in Arabic and English. We currently reach six million readers annually and growing fast.

In order to guarantee the impartiality of information on the Chronicle, articles are published without by-lines. This also allows correspondents to write more freely about sensitive or controversial issues in their country. All articles are fact-checked before publication to ensure that content is accurate, current and unbiased.

To run such a website is very expensive. With a small donation, you can make a huge impact. And it only takes a minute. Thank you.