فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / مصر / تاريخ مصر من الماضي الى الحاضر / مصر السيسي / هل يفقد السيسي السيطرة على مصر؟

هل يفقد السيسي السيطرة على مصر؟

egypt-past-to-present-sisis-egypt-falling-image-propest-against-sisi-fanack-HH1024px
مصريون يحتجون على قرار الحكومة المصرية نقل سيادة الجزيرتين المتنازع عليهما في البحر الأحمر إلى المملكة العربية السعودية أمام نقابة الصحفيين في القاهرة، مصر، 15 أبريل 2016. Photo Ahmed Gomaa Xinhua / eyevine ©Hollandse Hoogte ⁃ Ahmed Gomaa Xinhua / eyevine

بينما كان يحتفل الرئيس عبد الفتاح السيسي بعامه الثاني على ولايته في يونيو 2016، بعد أن أطاح بسلفه محمد مرسي في انقلابٍ عسكري مدعومٍ من الشعب، كان الجو العام في مصر يزداد مرارة، حيث فقد الكثير من الناس ثقتهم بالزعيم الذي رُحب به قبل وقتٍ قصير فحسب كمنقذٍ للبلاد.

عندما تولى السيسي السُلطة في مايو 2014، تركت الاضطرابات السياسية وسوء إدارة حكم الإخوان المسلمين الاقتصاد في حالٍ يرثى لها. وعد السيسي بإنشاء مشاريع عملاقة، بدءاً من التوسع الكبير لقناة السويس وإصلاح البُنية التحتية، ومع ذلك، فشلت هذه المشاريع في تحقيق النمو الاقتصادي الموعود. بل على العكس من ذلك، تسببت الهجمات الإرهابية التي ضربت القطاع السياحي، الذي يعدّ أحد المصادر الرئيسية للدخل في البلاد، بتعطله تقريباً.

الاقتصاد المتداعي، وارتفاع التضخم، والإنخفاض الحاد في سعر صرف الجنيه المصري، تسبب بارتفاع الأسعار بسرعةٍ كبيرة، حيث تفاقمت أوضاع الطبقة الفقيرة سوءاً، إذ باتت العديد من الأسر اليوم تكافح لتغطية نفقاتهم، كما أن انخفاض احتياطي العملات الأجنبية يعمل على تباطأ النمو الاقتصادي بدرجةٍ أكبر. فضلاً عن ذلك، تعاني العديد من الشركات للعثور على العملة الأجنبية لإتمام صفقاتها الدولية، مما يخلق سوقاً سوداء مزدهرة للدولار الأمريكي.

وعلى صعيدٍ آخر، فقد بلغ معدل البطالة في بداية عام 2016 ما نسبته 12,7%، وارتفع إلى أكثر من 25% بين الشباب. وأصبحت دعوات السيسي إلى التقشف، وهو ما يكرره تقريباً في معظم خطاباته، تُثير الغضب اليوم. فقد أخبرنا أحد المهندسين الشباب في مقابلةٍ مع Fanack شريطة عدم الكشف عن هويته “يواصل التحدث بأنه سيجعل البلاد دولةً عظيمة إلا أنّ شيئاً لم يتغير، لا أمل في هذا البلد والخيار الوحيد اليوم هو مغادرتها.” ومن الجدير بالذكر أنّ هذا الشعور شائعٌ على نطاقٍ واسع. ويُضيف مهندسٌ شابٌ آخر يعمل كمدير مشروعٍ في شركة متعددة الجنسيات بينما يرتشف الشاي الأخضر في أحد المقاهي المنتشرة في القاهرة “كنت أصدقه عندما قال أنّ الأمور ستتحسن بعد حكم الإخوان. واليوم، أصاب بالجنون عندما تقول والدتي أنها لا تزال معجبةً به عندما يتحدث وأنها تؤمن بمقدرته على إصلاح الأمور.”

العديد من الشباب الآخرين كانوا أكثر صراحةً في انتقاداتهم وسخروا من الرئيس علناً على وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي. يتناقض هذا بشكلٍ صارخ مع صورته المبجلةٍ فوق النقد قبل عامٍ واحدٍ فقط. فعلى سبيل المثال، عندما حضر افتتاح أحد مشاريع التنمية في إحدى ضواحي القاهرة في فبراير 2016، سار موكبه على سجادةٍ حمراء لعدة كيلومترات، فرشت خصيصاً له، مما أثار موجة من الإنتقادات من قِبل النشطاء على موقعي فيبسوك وتويتر. وعندما حث في إحدى المقابلات المتلفزة الشباب المصري على التبرع بالمال “لمساعدة مصر،” وقال أنه مستعدٌ لبيع نفسه من إجل مصر إذا ما اقتضت الضرورة ذلك، عرض شابٌ مصري مُقيم في الولايات المتحدة السيسي للبيع على موقع إيباي الشهير في محاكاةٍ ساخرة للوضع.

ومع ذلك، جاء أكبر تحدٍ لصورة السيسي خلال زيارة الملك السعودي سلمان لمصر في أبريل 2016، عندما أعلنت الحكومة المصرية نقل سيادتها للجزيرتين المتنازع عليهما في البحر الأحمر إلى الدولة الخليجية. هذا القرار، والسرية التي أحاطت به، أثار غضب الشباب المصري الذي اتهم السيسي “ببيع الأرضي المصرية للحصول على أموال المساعدات،” ووصفوه بشتى النعوت من عميل إلى خائن.

وعندما دافعت الحكومة عن موقفها- الإصرار على أن الجزيرتين غير المأهولتين بالسكان، تيران وصنافير، سعوديتان منذ الأزل- سيلٌ من مشاراكات وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي شبّهت السيسي بـ”عوّاد،” فلاحٌ مصري باع أرضه ليأكل، مما جلب العار له ولعائلته.

وفي نفس الشهر، خرج الآلاف إلى الشوارع في أول تظاهرةٍ واسعة النطاق دون قيادة الإخوان المسلمين منذ أكثر من عام. وما أن رددوا شعار الانتفاضة الشعبية لعام 2011 “الشعب يريد إسقاط النظام،” اعتقلت قوات الأمن أكثر من 200 منهم، إلا أنهم فشلوا في منع الحركة من وضع الرئيس على مفترق طرقٍ لأول مرة في تاريخه.

وفي يناير الماضي، أي قبل الذكرى السنوية الخامسة لثورة 2011 التي أطاحت بالرئيس المستبد منذ فترة طويلة، حسني مبارك، شددت الحكومة إجراءاتها الأمنية لإحباط أي احتجاجات. فقد شنت قوات الشرطة حملةً على النشطاء، واعتقلت العديد منهم بينما كانوا يحتشدون في مقاهي وسط البلد، وأغلقت قوات مكافحة الشغب غالبية نقاط التجمع.

وعلاوة على ذلك، ألقي القبض على مجموعة من فناني الشوارع الذين نشروا أشرطة فيديو على يوتيوب يسخرون فيها من السيسي في أوائل شهر مايو، بتهمة محاولة إسقاط الدولة، مما يدل على مدى التعصب الذي أصبح ينتهجه النظام الحاكم تجاه أي معارضة. وفي يوليو، أكد تقرير جديد صادر عن منظمة العفو الدولية تزايد أعداد حالات الاختفاء القسري لترهيب المعارضين.

وقبل الذكرى الثانية لولاية السيسي، أجرى المركز المصري لبحوث الرأي العام (بصيرة)، وهو مركزٌ خاصٌ مستقل غير حزبي، استطلاعاً للرأي لقياس الشعور العام تجاه الرجل الذي كانت صوره في الماضي تُزين الكعك والمجوهرات.

ووفقا للنتائج، فقد انخفضت النسبة المئوية للأشخاص الراضين عن أداء الرئيس من بين أكثر من 90% في الذكرى السنوية الأولى له إلى 79%. وعلاوة على ذلك، فإن النسبة أقل بين الشباب وخريجي الجامعات، حيث تتراوح ما بين 71% و73% على التوالي.

وعلى الرغم من الإنخفاض الكبير في النسب، إلا أنها غير كافية لتشكل أي تهديدٍ حقيقي للسيسي، الذي لا يزال يمتلك قبضةً قويةً على البلاد. ومع ذلك، فمن الواضح أنّ شهر عسل الرئيس في البلاد قد شارف على نهايته.

إقرأ المزيد

شكلت مياه نهر النيل والأراضي الزراعية الخصبة، إلى جانب المخزون ال...
اعتلى محمد حسني مبارك سدة الرئاسة في العام ذاته، إلى أن تم الإطاحة...
يبدو أن قبضة السيسي الحديدية على البلاد أمرٌ واقع، فهو يتمتع بدعم ...

© Copyright Notice
Click on link to view the associated photo/image:
©Hollandse Hoogte ⁃ Ahmed Gomaa Xinhua / eyevine | ©Hollandse Hoogte ⁃ Ahmed Gomaa Xinhua / eyevine

دعمكم عونٌ لنا

فَنَك هي مؤسسة إعلامية إلكترونية مستقلة، لا تمولها أي دولة أو مجموعات مصالح. تلتزم فَنَك بنشر تحليلاتٍ مبنية على الوقائع ومحايدة، إلى جانب التقارير المواضيعية حول الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا.
شهد الموقع نمواً سريعاً في نطاق وعمق المعلومات التي يُقدمها، واليوم، بات يُشكل مصدراً غنياً وقيماً للمعلومات عن 21 بلداً، من المغرب إلى عُمان ومن إيران إلى اليمن، باللغتين العربية والإنجليزية. حالياً، وصل عدد القراء إلى 6 ملايين سنوياً، والعدد آخذٌ بالإزدياد.
لضمان حيادية المعلومات على موقع فَنَك (وقائع وأحداث) ، تُنشر المقالات دون ذكر أسماء الكتّاب، مما يُتيح أيضاً لمراسلينا مساحة أكبر من الحرية عند التطرق إلى القضايا الحساسة أو المثيرة للجدل فى بلادهم. وإلى جانب ذلك، نتحرى حقائق جميع المعلومات الواردة في مقالاتنا قبل النشر لضمان دقة المعلومات، وحداثتها وحيادها.

استمرارية تشغيل مثل هذا الموقع الإلكتروني مُكلفة للغاية. بتبرعٍ صغيرٍ منك، يمكنك المساهمة في الحفاظ على حرية واستقلالية تغطيتنا.

Fanack Home / Egypt / Past to Present / Sisi's Egypt / Is el-Sisi Losing His Grip on Egypt?

Is el-Sisi Losing His Grip on Egypt?

protests against the Egyptian government
People protest against the Egyptian government’s decision to transfer sovereignty of two contested islands in the Red Sea to Saudi Arabia, in front of the Journalists Syndicate in Cairo, Egypt, 15 April 2016. Photo Ahmed Gomaa Xinhua / eyevine ©Hollandse Hoogte ⁃ Ahmed Gomaa Xinhua / eyevine

As President Abdel Fattah el-Sisi celebrated his second year in office in June 2016, after a popularly-backed military coup removed his predecessor Mohamad Morsi, the atmosphere in Egypt was growing increasingly bitter, with many people losing faith in the leader who shortly before had been hailed as the country’s saviour.

When el-Sisi came to power in May 2014, political turmoil and mismanagement by the ruling Muslim Brotherhood had left the economy in tatters. He promised mega projects, starting with a major expansion of the Suez Canal and an infrastructure overhaul. However, these have failed to bring about the promised economic growth. On the contrary, terrorist attacks have brought tourism, one of the country’s main sources of income, to an almost complete halt.

A battered economy, rising inflation and a sharp devaluation of the Egyptian pound have sent prices skyrocketing, with the poorer populations hit the hardest. Many families now struggle to make ends meet, and falling foreign currency reserves have slowed economic growth further. Many businesses struggle to find the foreign currency needed to fulfill their international deals, creating a thriving black market for the US dollar.

Unemployment at the start of 2016 had reached 12.7 per cent, rising to over 25% among the youth. El-Sisi’s calls for austerity, which he reiterates in almost every speech, now elicits anger. “He talks and talks about how great he’ll make the country but nothing changes, there’s no hope in this country and the only option left now is to leave,” a young engineer told Fanack on condition of anonymity. This sentiment is widespread. “I used to believe him when he said things would be better after the Muslim Brotherhood,” said another young engineer who works as a project manager in a multinational company as he sipped green tea in one of Cairo’s many coffee shops. “Now, it drives me crazy when my mother says she still admires him when he speaks and believes he will fix things.”

Many other young people have been more vocal in their criticism and have ridiculed the president publicly on social media. This contrasts sharply with his untouchable image only a year ago. When he attended the inauguration of a development project in a Cairo suburb in February 2016, arriving in a motorcade that travelled along several kilometres of red carpet, he was lambasted on Facebook and Twitter by activists. When in one of his televised speeches he urged young people to donate money to his charity to “help Egypt” and said he would sell himself for the sake of the country if necessary, a young Egyptian in the US created a listing on the popular e-commerce website eBay putting el-Sisi on sale as a spoof.

However, the biggest challenge to el-Sisi’s image came during a visit by Saudi Arabia’s King Salman in April 2016, when the Egyptian government announced it was transferring sovereignty of two contested islands in the Red Sea to the Gulf state. The decision, and the secrecy with which it was made, angered young people, who accused el-Sisi of “selling Egyptian land for aid money” and called him everything from an agent to a traitor.

When the government defended its position – insisting that the two uninhabited islands, Tiran and Sanafir, had been Saudi Arabian all along – a flood of social media posts likened el-Sisi to ‘Awaad‘, a proverbial Egyptian farmer who sold his land to eat, an act that brought shame to himself and his family.

The same month, thousands of people took to the streets in the first large-scale, non-Muslim-Brotherhood-led protests in over a year. As they chanted the popular motto of the 2011 revolution, “The people demand the fall of the regime”, security forces arrested over 200 of them, but failed to stop the movement from putting the president in its crosshair for the first time.

In January, before the fifth anniversary of the 2011 revolution that toppled long-time autocrat Hosni Mubarak, the government tightened security to discourage any protests. Police forces clamped down on activists, arresting many of them as they gathered in downtown coffee shops, and police in riot gear blocked most of the gathering places.

A group of street performers who posted videos on YouTube mocking el-Sisi were arrested in early May, accused of trying to overturn to state, signalling how intolerant the ruling regime has become of any dissent. In July, a new report by human rights organization Amnesty International highlighted the increasing number of forced disappearances to intimidate opponents.

Prior to the president’s second anniversary, the Egyptian Center for Public Opinion Research (Baseera), an independent, non-partisan private entity, conducted a survey to gauge public sentiment towards the man whose face had once adorned cupcakes and jewellery.

According to the results, the percentage of people who are satisfied with the president’s performance has dropped from over 90% at his first anniversary to 79%. Furthermore, the percentage is lower among young people and university graduates, at 71% and 73% respectively.

While the drop is significant, it is not enough to pose any real threat to el-Sisi, who continues to have a strong grip on the country. It is clear, however, that the president’s honeymoon period is coming to an end.

© Copyright Notice

click on link to view the associated photo/image
©Hollandse Hoogte ⁃ Ahmed Gomaa Xinhua / eyevine | ©Hollandse Hoogte ⁃ Ahmed Gomaa Xinhua / eyevine

We would like to ask you something …

Fanack is an independent media organisation, not funded by any state or any interest group, that distributes in the Middle East and the wider world unbiased analysis and background information, based on facts, about the Middle East and North Africa.

The website grew rapidly in breadth and depth and today forms a rich and valuable source of information on 21 countries, from Morocco to Oman and from Iran to Yemen, both in Arabic and English. We currently reach six million readers annually and growing fast.

In order to guarantee the impartiality of information on the Chronicle, articles are published without by-lines. This also allows correspondents to write more freely about sensitive or controversial issues in their country. All articles are fact-checked before publication to ensure that content is accurate, current and unbiased.

To run such a website is very expensive. With a small donation, you can make a huge impact. And it only takes a minute. Thank you.