فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / مصر / تاريخ مصر من الماضي الى الحاضر / مصر السيسي / البرلمان المصري لعام 2015: لا يتمتع بالشعبية

البرلمان المصري لعام 2015: لا يتمتع بالشعبية

A very low turnout in Egypt's parliamentary elections in December 2015 seems to indicate a growing frustration among the Egyptian population toward their political leadership
مصريون ينتظرون خارج أحد مراكز الاقتراع للتصويت خلال إعادة المرحلة الثانية من الانتخابات البرلمانية المصرية في القاهرة، مصر, 1 ديسمبر 2015. Photo Ahmed Gomaa Xinhua / eyevine

بعد احتجاجات واسعة النطاق ضد أول رئيس مصري منتخب بحرية، محمد مرسي، في يونيو 2013، عمد ائتلاف بقيادة عسكرية إلى عزله وتنصيب رئيس مؤقت في 3 يوليو 2013. وبعد الإعلان عن عزل الرئيس على شاشة التلفزيون الوطني، أعلن القائد العسكري آنذاك، عبد الفتاح السيسي، عن خارطة طريق ترسم المستقبل السياسي في البلاد بعد مرسي. وكانت الخطوة الثالثة والأخيرة من تلك الخطة، إجراء انتخاباتٍ برلمانية، بدأت المرحلة الأولى منها في 17 أكتوبر 2015.

كان الطريق نحو إجراء انتخاباتٍ برلمانية صعباً، حيث كان من المزمع عقدها في الفترة ما بين 17 مارس و7 مايو، إلا أنه تم تأجيلها بعد صدور حكم من المحكمة الدستورية العليا في الأسبوع الأول من شهر مارس لعدم دستورية اثنين من قوانين الانتخابات الرئيسية.

عدلت لجنة تشريعية هذين القانونين وفقاً لتوصيات المحكمة الدستورية العليا. تم إعادة رسم حدود الدوائر الانتخابية مع الأخذ بعين الاعتبار السكان في مختلف الدوائر الانتخابية في محافظات البلاد الثلاث عشرة، فضلاً عن السماح للمصريين ممن يحملون جنسيات مزدوجة خوض الانتخابات.

وتوقع الكثير من المحللين أنه، بعد قرار المحكمة الدستورية العليا، سيتم تأجيل الانتخابات حتى عام 2016، إلا أن الرئيس السيسي استعجل التصديق على التغييرات في يوليو. وفي 30 أغسطس، أعلنت اللجنة العليا للانتخابات، التي تتكون من سبعة قضاة، أن الانتخابات ستجري على مرحلتين، في 17 أكتوبر و22 نوفمبر.

هذا ويضم مجلس النواب 596 مقعداً، حيث يتم انتخاب ما مجموعه 75% من المقاعد من خلال نظام الترشيح الفردي، في حين يخصص 120 مقعداً للقوائم الحزبية، أما الـ28 مقعداً الأخيرة فيتم تعيينهم بشكل مباشر من الرئيس. وفي حال فوز مرشح بأكثر من 50% من الأصوات، يُنتخب للبرلمان، وخلافاً لذلك، يجتمع المرشحين اللذان حصلا على أكبر عدد من الأصوات في جولة إعادة. تم قبول ما مجموعه 5,420 من المرشحين المنفردين، وليس من قوائم الأحزاب، في الانتخابات البرلمانية لعام 2015.

ولم يسمح لأي من أعضاء جماعة الإخوان المسلمين، التي فازت بأغلبية المقاعد عام 2012 في البرلمان، بالترشح في الانتخابات، بسبب حظر الجماعة باعتبارها منظمة إرهابية.

وقبل الانتخابات، أطلقت الحكومة إلى جانب وسائل الإعلام الحكومية والخاصة، حملات ضخمة لحث الناخبين على التصويت في الانتخابات البرلمانية. كما صرح السيسي مراراً وتكراراً أنه لن يدعم أي قائمة في الانتخابات، إلا أنه دعا جميع الناخبين إلى التوحد في قائمة واحدة، واعداً إياهم بتقديم دعمه الكامل لهم.

إقبال ضعيف جدًا

ومع ذلك، عندما افتتحت مراكز الاقتراع في اليوم الأول، لم يكن هناك تقريباً أي من طوابير الانتظار الطويلة التي شهدتها الانتخابات البرلمانية السابقة في أواخر عام 2011 وأوائل عام 2012. ودفع الإقبال الضعيف السيسي إلى الخروج بخطابٍ متلفز في منتصف اليوم الأول للانتخابات، ليحث الشعب المصري على التصويت.

“أدعو جميع المصريين للنزول إلى لجان الاقتراع، والاحتشاد بقوة مرة أخرى، لتنفيذ استحقاقنا الأخير الذي توافقنا عليه.” “وأضاف “أدعو شباب مصر أن يكون في طليعة يوم الاقتراع، فشبابنا بحماسه وأخلاقه قادر على أن يحسم الأمر لصالح الوطن، أنتظر من شباب مصر أن يكون هو المحرك الأساسي لهذا العرس الديمقراطي.”

تمتاز مصر بمجتمعٍ فتي، حيث أن حوالي 62% من السكان تحت سن الـ30، إلا أن عدداً قليلاً من الشباب لبى دعوة الرئيس بالتصويت. إن عدم اهتمام جيل الشباب والتناقض الكبير لوقوفهم في طوابير لساعاتٍ طويلة للاقتراع في الانتخابات البرلمانية عام 2011 و2012، كانت التحذيرات الأهم لمدى خيبة الأمل التي يعاني منها جيل الشباب الذي كان المحرك الرئيسي لثورة 2011.

“لمَ أصوت؟” تساءل أحمد كمال، الناشط البالغ من العمر عشرين عاماً والذي ينتمي لحزب الدستور السياسي، الذي أعلن في وقتٍ مبكر مقاطعته للانتخابات لكونها غير دستورية، واحتجاجاً على الاعتقالات المستمرة للشباب من الثوار من قِبل النظام. “لن يُسمح لهذا البرلمان بتمثيل الثورة قط، إذ سيتكون من أشخاص يريدهم النظام. فكما أرى أن أياً من مؤيدي الثورة قد ترشح في هذه الانتخابات المضحكة في المقام الأول.”

لم يكن حزب الدستور الحزب الوحيد الذي قاطع الانتخابات، فقد أعلنت أحزاب أخرى، مثل حزب مصر القوية وحزب الوسط، عدم مشاركتها، متفقين على أن الانتخابات تجري في ظل غياب الديمقراطية وبأن البرلمان القادم ستتكون غالبيته من سياسي عهد مبارك.

وأشارت التقارير الأولية بعد اليوم الأول من التصويت أنّ الإقبال ضعيف للغاية، حيث بلغ أكثر من 2% بقليل. كما شن مذيعو البرامج الحوارية المحسبون على السيسي حملات غاضبة في برامجهم، وحثوا الناس على الخروج والتصويت من أجل الرئيس. كما دفع هذا أيضاً الحكومة إلى منح جميع العاملين في القطاع الحكومي يوم إجازة آخر. وتُشير الأرقام التي صرّحت عنها مصادر رسمية في نهاية اليوم الثاني إرتفاع نسبة التصويت إلى حوالي 16%، ولكن سرعان ما أصدرت اللجنة العليا للانتخابات أوامرلجميع وسائل الإعلام بعد التصريح عن أي أرقام، واعدة بالتصريح عن الأرقام الرسمية في مؤتمر صحفي.

وتم تعديل النسبة في وقتٍ لاحق لـ26,6%، إلا أن المراقبون أفادوا عن عدة حوادث تم فيها دفع أموالٍ للناخبين للتصويت لصالح مرشحين معينين، الأمر الذي قد أدى إلى ارتفاع نسبة الناخبين. واستناداً إلى تقارير تلفزيونية ومراكز الاقتراع الخالية، شكك العديد من الناس بدقة هذه الأرقام.

وقد شابت جولة إعادة المرحلة الأولى بالإنتخابات البرلمانية، التي جرت في 27-28 أكتوبر، المزيد من حالات شراء الأصوات، حيث ذكر أن الرشاوى تراوحت ما بين 7 دولارات إلى 87 دولار للصوت الواحد. دفع هذا بشكلٍ أساسي المزيد من الناس إلى المشاركة والتصويت لصالح ناخبيين معينيين. ووفقاً للأرقام الرسمية التي أصدرتها اللجنة العليا للانتخابات، وصلت نسبة المشاركة في الانتخابات 21%. كما ورد أن عشرين ناخباً فقط ظهروا في مركز اقتراع حي الدقي، الذي فتح أبوابه لمدة 12 ساعة.

ولكن يجادل بعض المعلقين، أن الاقبال المنخفض، قد يكون دلالة على فقدان الرئيس، الذي يحظى بشعبية واسعة، بعضاً من جاذبيته في خضم المشاكل المستمرة في البلاد، بدءاً من ارتفاع الأسعار إلى الفشل الاقتصادي.

ومن المتوقع أن يدعم البرلمان القادم السيسي بقوة، ويصادق تلقائياً على أكثر من 175 قانون مررها الرئيس خلال فترته الرئاسية، قبل انتخاب البرلمان. وشهدت الجولة الأولى فوزاً ساحقاً لقائمة “في حب مصر،” التي تتألف من عدة أحزاب سياسية تدعم النظام. بالإضافة إلى ذلك، فاز حزب النور، وهو حزب سلفي إسلامي أيّد الإطاحة بجماعة الإخوان المسلمين ويدعم النظام الجديد، بشكلٍ غير متوقع بعدد قليل من المقاعد، حيث لم يؤمّن سوى 11 مقعداً في جولة الإعادة، إذ خسر الحزب مقاعد في دوائر انتخابية كان يتمتع فيها سابقاً بقاعدة قوية.

جرت الجولة الثانية من الانتخابات في 22 و23 نوفمبر (حيث جرت انتخابات المصريين في الخارج قبل يوم واحد). شملت هذه المرحلة بقية المحافظات، بما في ذلك القاهرة، التي لم تشارك في المرحلة الأولى.

أعلنت الهيئة العليا للانتخابات إجمالي عدد الناخبين في هذه المرحلة بـ29,83%، وهي نسبة أعلى من العدد الإجمالي للمرحلة الأولى، ولكن القاهرة، التي تعد المدينة الأكثر اكتظاظاً بالسكان في مصر، حصلت على أدنى نسبة إقبال في البلاد والتي بلغت 19,96%. واكتسحت قائمة “في حب مصر” الانتخابات مرة أخرى، حيث فازت بجميع المقاعد المخصصة للقوائم. كما فاز المذيع التلفزيوني المثير للجدل، توفيق عكاشة، الذي لطالما عارض بشدة ثورة 2011، بالانتخابات في الجولة الأولى، حاصداً أصوات أكثر من أي مرشح آخر.

واستناداً إلى النتائج التي نُشرت، سيهيمن على البرلمان القادم كتلة قوية داعمة للسيسي، مما سيعزز مركزه بشكلٍ أقوى. وكان هناك بالفعل أقاويل بأن أول الأمور التي سيقوم بها البرلمان الجديد تعديل مواد الدستور لزيادة صلاحيات الرئيس. وبالإضافة إلى ذلك، فإن الإقبال المنخفض يُضعف البرلمان بشكلٍ أكبر في وجه الرئيس، الذي تمتع بإقبال ضخم خلال الإنتخابات الرئاسية، والتي فاز فيها بالأغلبية العظمى من الأصوات.

إقرأ المزيد

ملف فنك الشامل عن مصر يوفر لمحة شاملة عن هذه الدولة وتاريخها وثقاف...
اعتلى محمد حسني مبارك سدة الرئاسة في العام ذاته، إلى أن تم الإطاحة...
وعلى الرغم من التقلبات الكثيرة، بما في ذلك توليّ أربعة رؤساء سدة ا...

© Copyright Notice

Please contact us in case of omissions concerning copyright-protected work. The acquired copyright protected images used on/as featured image of this page are: Ahmed Gomaa Xinhua / eyevine ©Hollandse Hoogte | Ahmed Gomaa Xinhua / eyevine ©Hollandse Hoogte

الجهل يقود إلى الخوف، الخوف يقود إلى الكراهية، والكراهية تقود إلى العنف هذه هي المعادلة.
ابن رشد (١١٢٦ – ١١٩٨)

إن مؤسستنا منظمةٌ هولندية غير حكومية لا تسعى لتحقيق الأرباح. هذه المؤسسة يجري تمويلها بصورةٍ حصرية عبر أفرادٍ يشاركوننا الإيمان بضرورة نشر معلومات موثوقة وغير متحيزة عن منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا، محاكين بذلك المزاج الشعبي السائد في المنطقة ولنعبّر عن صوت أبناء المنطقة بما نقدمه من معلومات ناجعة وتتحلى بالمصداقية.

ولذلك، فإننا نقدّر عالياً ما تقدمه لنا من دعمٍ وسنحرص على أن يعكس هذا الدعم بطريقةٍ إيجابية على الصالح العام!

ملف التحديث الإقليمي COVID-19

احصل على آخر تحديث عن تفشي فيروس كورونا في الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا

تطورات فيروس كورونا

Fanack Home / Egypt / Past to Present / Sisi's Egypt / The Unpopular 2015 Egyptian Parliament

The Unpopular 2015 Egyptian Parliament

A very low turnout in Egypt's parliamentary elections in December 2015 seems to indicate a growing frustration among the Egyptian population toward their political leadership
Egyptians wait for voting outside a polling station during the runoff in the second phase of Egypt’s parliamentary election in Cairo, Egypt,1 December, 2015. Photo Ahmed Gomaa Xinhua / eyevine ©Hollandse Hoogte ⁃ Ahmed Gomaa Xinhua / eyevine

Following widespread protests against the first freely elected Egyptian president, Mohammed Morsi, in June 2013, a coalition led by the military removed him and installed an interim president on 3 July 2013. After announcing the ouster of the president on public television, then military chief Abdel Fattah el-Sisi announced a roadmap for the political future of the country after Morsi. The third and final step of that plan was parliamentary elections, whose first phase began on 17 October 2015.

The road to the parliamentary elections has been rough. They were originally planned to be held between 12 March and 7 May but were postponed due to the Supreme Constitutional Council ruling in the first week of March that two key election laws were unconstitutional.

A legislative committee amended these two laws according to the recommendations of the Supreme Constitutional Council. They redrew the electoral boundaries to take into account the populations in the different constituencies across the 13 governorates and allowed Egyptians with dual nationalities to run in the elections.

Many analysts expected that, after the ruling from the Supreme Constitutional Council, the elections would be delayed until 2016, but President el-Sisi pushed to ratify the changes in July. On 30 August, the Higher Election Committee, comprising of seven judges, announced that the elections would take place in two stages, on 17 October and 22 November.

The House of Representatives has 596 seats. A total of 75% of the seats are elected through the individual candidacy system and 120 seats are allotted to party lists. The final 28 seats are appointed directly by the president. If a candidate wins more than 50% of the votes, he is elected to the parliament; otherwise, the two candidates with the most votes meet in a run-off round. A total of 5,420 individual candidates and none from party lists were accepted in the 2015 parliament elections.

No members of the Muslim Brotherhood, which had won the most seats in the 2012 parliament, were allowed to run in the elections, because the group has been banned as a terrorist organization. Before the elections, the government and both state-owned and private media outlets launched large campaigns urging the electorate to get out and vote in the parliamentary elections. El-Sisi has also repeatedly said that he would back no list in the elections but urged all candidates to unite in one list, to which he promised to give his full support.

A Very Low Turnout

However, when the polling places opened on the first day, there were almost none of the long queues that had been seen in the previous parliamentary elections, in late 2011 and early 2012. The very low turnout prompted el-Sisi to deliver a televised speech at midday on the first day of elections, urging people to get out and vote.

“I call on all Egyptians to go to the polls and to rally strongly once again to complete the final stage of the political roadmap,” he said. “I am expecting Egyptian youth to be the driving force in this celebration of democracy.”

Egypt has a large population of young people, with about 62% of the population under 30 years of age, but few young people answered the president’s call to vote. The lack of interest from young people and the sharp contrast with how they had queued for hours for the parliamentary elections in 2011 and 2012 were the most significant warnings yet of how disillusioned were the young people who had been the drivers of the 2011 revolution.

“Why would I go to vote in the first place?” asks Ahmed Kamal, a 20-year-old activist from the Dostour political party, which early on announced it would boycott the elections for being unconstitutional and to protest the continued arrests of young revolutionaries by the regime. “This parliament will never be allowed to represent the revolution. It will be made up of the people the regime wants. I’d rather no one from the revolution ran in these farce elections in the first place.”

The Dostour party was not the only one to boycott the elections. Others, such as the Strong Egypt party and the Wasat party, also announced they would not take part, agreeing that the elections were taking place in the absence of of democracy and that the next parliament would have a majority of Mubarak-era politicians.

Initial reports after the first day of voting suggested an extremely low turnout, of little more than 2% of voters. Talk-show hosts who have been staunch supporters of el-Sisi launched angry campaigns through their programmes, urging people to get out and vote for the sake of the president. This also prompted the government to give all public workers the second day off. The numbers that were released at the end of the second day by official sources suggested an increase to around 16%, but the Higher Election Committee quickly issued orders to all media outlets not to release any numbers, promising to release official numbers in a press conference.

The percentage was later revised to 26.6%, but observers reported several incidents of people being paid to vote for certain candidates, which may have driven up the number of voters. Based on television reports and the empty polling places, many people question the accuracy of these numbers.

The run-off of the first stage of the elections, which took part on 27-28 October, was marred by even more vote buying, with bribes reported to range from $7 to $87 per vote. This was mainly to drive more people to take part and vote for specific candidates. The official numbers released by the High Elections Commission put turnout at 21%. One ballot station in the Dokki district reported that just 20 voters showed up during the 12 hours it was open.

But the low turnout, some commentators argued, might be a sign of the extremely popular president losing some of his appeal amidst continuing problems in the country, ranging from rising prices to the failing economy.

The next parliament is expected to support el-Sisi strongly and rubberstamp the more than 175 laws he passed during his presidency, before the parliament was elected. The first round saw a sweeping victory for the “For the Love of Egypt” list, which consists of several political parties that support the regime. Al-Nour party, the Salafi Islamist party that has supported the ouster of the Muslim Brotherhood and promotes the new regime, won an unexpectedly small number of seats, securing only 11 in the run-off elections. They lost seats in constituencies where they previously had a strong base.

The second phase of the elections took place on 22 and 23 November (one day earlier for expatriates). This phase covered the rest of the governorates, including Cairo, that had not taken part in the first phase.

The High Election Committee put the total number of voters in this phase at 29.83%, which is higher than the overall numbers from the first phase, but Cairo, which is the most populous city in Egypt, had one of the lowest turnouts in the country,19.96%. The “For the Love of Egypt” list swept the elections again, winning all list-based seats. Controversial TV mogul and host Tawfik Okasha, who has always strongly opposed the 2011 revolution, won the elections in the first round, claiming more votes than any other candidate.

Based on the results released, the next parliament will be dominated by a strong bloc backing el-Sisi, further strengthening his position. There has already been talk that one of the first things the new parliament will do is modify articles in the constitution to increase the powers of the president. Additionally, the low turnout weakens the parliament further vis-à-vis the president, who enjoyed a large turnout during the presidential elections, in which he won the vast majority of votes.

© Copyright Notice

click on link to view the associated photo/image
©Hollandse Hoogte ⁃ Ahmed Gomaa Xinhua / eyevine | ©Hollandse Hoogte ⁃ Ahmed Gomaa Xinhua / eyevine

We would like to ask you something …

Fanack is an independent media organisation, not funded by any state or any interest group, that distributes in the Middle East and the wider world unbiased analysis and background information, based on facts, about the Middle East and North Africa.

The website grew rapidly in breadth and depth and today forms a rich and valuable source of information on 21 countries, from Morocco to Oman and from Iran to Yemen, both in Arabic and English. We currently reach six million readers annually and growing fast.

In order to guarantee the impartiality of information on the Chronicle, articles are published without by-lines. This also allows correspondents to write more freely about sensitive or controversial issues in their country. All articles are fact-checked before publication to ensure that content is accurate, current and unbiased.

To run such a website is very expensive. With a small donation, you can make a huge impact. And it only takes a minute. Thank you.