فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / مصر / من الماضي الى الحاضر / الاعتقال المفاجىء “رسالةٌ” لتراجع أبناء مبارك

الاعتقال المفاجىء “رسالةٌ” لتراجع أبناء مبارك

Egypt- Alaa and Gamal Mubarak
أبناء الرئيس المصري المخلوع حسني مبارك، علاء (يمين) وجمال خلف قفص المتهمين خلال إعادة محاكمتهم في أكاديمية الشرطة في القاهرة في 8 يونيو 2013. Photo AFP ©AFP ⁃ KHALED DESOUKI

أمرت محكمة جنايات القاهرة بالقبض على خمسة من رجال الأعمال البارزين في 15 سبتمبر 2018 فيما يتعلق بقضية اختلاسٍ يعود تاريخها إلى عام 2012. ومن بين المعتقلين علاء وجمال مبارك، أبناء الرئيس المصري السابق حسني مبارك. ويعتقد المعلقون أن ظهور جمال المتكرر على الساحة العامة لعب دوراً في الاعتقالات المفاجئة.

تم الإفراج عن المتهمين بكفالة في 20 سبتمبر، وحدد موعد الجلسة الأولى في 20 أكتوبر. واتهم الرجال بانتهاك قواعد سوق الأوراق المالية لتحقيق أرباح غير مشروعة تصل إلى 2 مليار جنيه مصري (111 مليون دولار) من خلال تعاملات أسهم البنك الوطني المصري.

ومن بين المعتقلين الآخرين عمرو القاضي، رئيس إدارة المخاطر في شركة القلعة للاستثمارات المالية؛ وحسن هيكل وياسر الملواني، الرئيسان السابقان لمجلس إدارة المجموعة المالية هيرمس القابضة.

ومن بين المتهمين الآخرين في القضية، أيمن فتحي سليمان، الرئيس السابق للبنك الوطني، وابنه أحمد نعيم بدر، المدير التنفيذي لشركة النعيم القابضة للاستثمار، وحسين الشربيني، المدير التنفيذي للشركة العربية الإفريقية للاستثمار.

منحت المحكمة المدعى عليهم خيار تسوية القضية مالياً وتجنب الحكم بالسجن، وذلك بحسب صحيفة البورصة المحلية المختصة بالأعمال. ويقال إن المتهمين منقسمون حول ما إذا كانوا سيقبلون بالتسوية أم لا. وجاءت هذه الاعتقالات بمثابة مفاجأة ذلك أن تقرير “لجنة خبراء” التي عينتها المحكمة قد أوصى بإسقاط معظم التهم في القضية.

وتكهنت بعض وسائل الإعلام بأن الاعتقالات ترتبط بالظهور المتكرر على الساحة العامة من قبل كل من علاء مبارك (57 عاماً) وجمال مبارك (54 عاماً) منذ أوائل عام 2017. وذكرت صحيفة سيدني هيرالد أن هذا الأمر أثار شائعاتٍ حول احتمال ترشح جمال للانتخابات الرئاسية عام 2018. وعلى الرغم من أن ذلك لم يحدث، واصل الأخوان مبارك العمل على بناء صورة عامة لهما، فعلى سبيل المثال، أصبح علاء أكثر نشاطاً على تويتر ويعلق بانتظام على الأخبار السياسية.

وقال أحد المحللين من المقاهرة لفَنَك شريطة عدم الكشف عن هويته، “بالتأكيد كان اعتقال الأخوين مرتبطٌ بالظهور الكبير لهما على الساحة العامة، وإلى الظهور العام واسع النطاق لأشخاص مقربين من آل مبارك.” وأضاف المحلل أن وجود علاء على وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي “يزعج” القيادة الحالية.

وبارتباطهم بعلاقات وثيقة مع نخبة رجال الأعمال، يرمز أبناء مبارك إلى نظام والدهم الفاسد في نظر الجمهور. فقد اعتُقلوا أول مرة بتهم عدة تتعلق بالفساد والكسب غير المشروع بعد الإطاحة بمبارك في عام 2011. وفي مايو 2014، حكم عليهم بالسجن لمدة ثلاث سنوات بتهمة اختلاس أموالٍ عامة بقيمة 125 مليون جنيه (7 ملايين دولار) فيما يعرف بقضية القصور الرئاسية. وتم إطلاق سراح الرجلين في أكتوبر 2015 بعد أن قضت المحكمة بأنهما أمضيا خلف القضبان المدة المحددة.

وفي 22 سبتمبر 2018، رفضت محكمة النقض طلباً من محامي الأخوين مبارك تسوية قضية القصور الرئاسية وإعادة حقوقهم السياسية. وبهذا الصدد قال المحلل، “يتمحور [الاعتقال] حول إرسال رسالة مفادها إما أن تشارك باللعبة وفقاً للقوانين الجديدة أو تبقى خارج اللعبة.”

فقد سبق وتم إرسال هذه الرسالة بطريقة غير مباشرة، ففي مايو، كتب ياسر رزق، رئيس جريدة أخبار اليوم المملوكة للدولة والمقرب من الرئيس عبد الفتاح السيسي، مقالة رأي تفيد بأن السيسي سيترشح لولاية ثالثة- بما يخالف الدستور- عام 2022، وحذر جمال من السعي خلف أي طموحاتٍ سياسية.

وفي برنامجٍ حواري، ألقى رزق باللوم على جمال في اندلاع ثورة 25 يناير 2011، حيث قال إنه لم يعاقب على “جرائمه السياسية،” واتهمه مرةً أخرى بأنه يمتلك طموحاتٍ رئاسية، وزعم أنه يجمعه اتفاقٌ مع جماعة الإخوان المسلمين المحظورة. انتقد علاء هذه الاتهامات بشدة على توتير، ووصفها “بالسطحية وفقر في التحليل.”

كان لهذه الاعتقالات رفيعة المستوى تأثيرٌ كبير على سوق الأسهم المصري، الذي سجل أكبر انخفاض منذ يناير 2017 يوم الأحد التالي للاعتقالات، لتصل إلى أدنى مستوى لها منذ فبراير 2018. فقد تأثرت المجموعة المالية هيرميس والقلعة القابضة بشكلٍ خاص، حيث تراجعت أسهمهم بنسبة 8,6% و6% على التوالي. وفي 19 سبتمبر، تراجع سوق الأسهم بشكلٍ أكبر، ليسجل أكبر انخفاض منذ منتصف عام 2016. يعتقد المحلل أن المتهمين الخمسة أطلق سراحهم بكفالة في اليوم التالي بسبب خسارة سوق الأسهم هذه.

إن مشكلة النظام الحالي مع عودة الشخصيات البارزة من نظام مبارك إلى الساحة العامة لها جذورٌ تاريخية. فقد أخبرنا تيموثي قلدس، الباحث في معهد التحرير لسياسات الشرق الأوسط، في فَنَك إن “السنوات الأخيرة من حكم مبارك شهدت توسع السلطة السياسية لنخبة رجال الأعمال التي كانت مرتبطة بالنظام ولا سيما أبناءه جمال وعلاء… ومن المرجح أن الجيش لم يعجبه ذلك.”

وعلاوة على ذلك، فإن خطط جمال لخلافة والده كرئيس، وتغيير الجمهورية إلى نظام التوريث للأبناء، قوبلت برفضٍ شديد ويعتقد أنها كانت أحد العوامل المؤدية إلى ثورة 25 يناير.

وعلاوةً على ذلك، لم تكن القوات المسلحة، التي كانت منذ الإطاحة بالنظام الملكي عام 1952 لاعباً رئيسياً في السياسة المصرية، راضيةً عن جمال، كونه رجلٌ من خارج المنظومة العسكرية، وعن طموحاته الرئاسية.

من جهته، وصف الباحث جيس فيربوسين، من جامعة لا تروب في أستراليا، بالتفصيل الاستياء المتزايد للجيش نحو نظام مبارك في أطروحته التي نشرها عام 2018 وحملت عنوان ضعف مبارك، مبيناً كيف أن هذا النظام كان يُفضل على نحوٍ متزايد نخبة رجال الأعمال – أي المقربين من جمال وعلاء – وقوات الأمن، بينما يقوم بتهميش القوات المسلحة كقوةٍ سياسية. وكتب قائلاً “بمساعدة جمال مبارك، تربعت نخبة رجال الأعمال في قلب نظام مبارك، حيث التقت مصالحهم المشتركة وأدت إلى ظهور دولة مصر الفاسدة.”

فقد تقلصت الميزانية المخصصة للجيش بشكلٍ كبير في ظل حكم مبارك، من 19,5% من الناتج المحلي الإجمالي في عام 1981 إلى 2,1% في عام 2010. ومن ناحيةٍ أخرى، ازداد حجم وميزانية الشرطة وأجهزة المخابرات، إذ كان تمثيل ضباط الشرطة أقوى بكثير في الحزب الوطني الديمقراطي التابع لمبارك من ضباط الجيش. وقال فيربوسن إن مبارك حول مصر فعلياً من “دولةٍ عسكرية إلى دولة بوليسية.”

أدى هذا في نهاية المطاف إلى تخلي الجيش عن مبارك عندما اندلعت الاحتجاجات ضد حكمه في عام 2011، بل شارك الجيش في الإطاحة به. وقال فيربوسن: “كانت فرصةً للتخلص من النظام الذي نسق السقوط المؤسسي للجيش، وذلك عملياً دون إطلاق رصاصةٍ واحدة.”

وتحت قيادة الرجل العسكري القوي، السيسي، استعاد الجيش موقعه المركزي في الدولة. فالعديد من المحافظين الجدد هم من العسكريين، كما ارتفعت واردات الأسلحة بشكلٍ كبير وتوسعت المصالح التجارية للجيش “بشكلٍ هائل،” على حد تعبير المحلل السابق. كما تصدرت مصر عناوين الصحف في السنوات الأخيرة بمشتريات عسكرية كبيرة ومكلفة، مثل الطائرات المقاتلة من طراز رافال من فرنسا والطائرات المقاتلة من طراز ميغ من روسيا.

وبحسب قلدس، “بالتأكيد، هناك الكثير من الأشخاص في الدائرة الداخلية للقيادة الحالية يعارضون محاولة عودة [أبناء مبارك] إلى الساحة العامة كممثلين سياسيين،” مضيفاً “ينبغي دوماً الأخذ بعين الاعتبار أن ادعاءات الفساد ضدهم ذات مصداقية.”

الأمر الأقل وضوحاً هو ما إذا كان أبناء مبارك ورجال الأعمال المقربين منهم يشكلون في الواقع تهديداً للقيادة الحالية. “على الأرجح لا،” هذا ما قاله المحلل، وتابع القول “ما الذي تبقى من جهاز المخابرات الموالي لمبارك؟”. ومع ذلك، يبدو أن هناك تهديداً متصوراً، نشأ عن السيسي الذي بات “مصاباً بجنون العظمة” بشكلٍ متزايد و”لا يثق بأحد بتاتاً” مع انخفاض شعبيته. فقد أظهرت حالاتٌ سابقة أن أي شخص لا يخضع بالكامل لمراقبة السيسى يعتبر تهديداً له، مع ظهور أمثلة واضحة على مرشحي الرئاسة الواعدين أمثال سامي عنان وأحمد شفيق.

ففي ظل هذا المناخ السياسي، باتت أصوات زمرة مبارك غير مرحبٍ بها.

© Copyright Notice

click on link to view the associated photo/image
©AFP ⁃ KHALED DESOUKI

دعمكم عونٌ لنا

فَنَك هي مؤسسة إعلامية إلكترونية مستقلة، لا تمولها أي دولة أو مجموعات مصالح. تلتزم فَنَك بنشر تحليلاتٍ مبنية على الوقائع ومحايدة، إلى جانب التقارير المواضيعية حول الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا.
شهد الموقع نمواً سريعاً في نطاق وعمق المعلومات التي يُقدمها، واليوم، بات يُشكل مصدراً غنياً وقيماً للمعلومات عن 21 بلداً، من المغرب إلى عُمان ومن إيران إلى اليمن، باللغتين العربية والإنجليزية. حالياً، وصل عدد القراء إلى 6 ملايين سنوياً، والعدد آخذٌ بالإزدياد.
لضمان حيادية المعلومات على موقع فَنَك (وقائع وأحداث) ، تُنشر المقالات دون ذكر أسماء الكتّاب، مما يُتيح أيضاً لمراسلينا مساحة أكبر من الحرية عند التطرق إلى القضايا الحساسة أو المثيرة للجدل فى بلادهم. وإلى جانب ذلك، نتحرى حقائق جميع المعلومات الواردة في مقالاتنا قبل النشر لضمان دقة المعلومات، وحداثتها وحيادها.

استمرارية تشغيل مثل هذا الموقع الإلكتروني مُكلفة للغاية. بتبرعٍ صغيرٍ منك، يمكنك المساهمة في الحفاظ على حرية واستقلالية تغطيتنا.

Fanack Home / Egypt / History of Egypt from Past to Present / Surprise Arrests a ‘Message’ for Mubarak’s Sons to Back Off

Surprise Arrests a ‘Message’ for Mubarak’s Sons to Back Off

Egypt- Alaa and Gamal Mubarak
The sons of ousted Egyptian president Hosni Mubarak, Alaa (R) and Gamal are seen behind the defendants’ cage during their retrial at the Police Academy in Cairo on June 8, 2013. Photo AFP

The Cairo Criminal Court ordered the arrest of five prominent businessmen on 15 September 2018 in connection with an embezzlement case dating back to 2012. Among those arrested were Alaa and Gamal Mubarak, the sons of former Egyptian president Hosni Mubarak. Commentators believe Gamal’s frequent public appearances played a role in the surprise arrests.

The defendants were released on bail on 20 September 2018, and the first hearing has been schedule for 20 October 2018. The men are accused of violating stock market rules to make unlawful profits amounting to EGP 2 billion ($111 million) from the sale of al-Watany Bank of Egypt.

The other men arrested are Amr el-Kady, head of risk management at the investment company Qalaa Holdings; and Hassan Heikal and Yasser el-Mallawany, former co-CEOs of investment bank EFG Hermes.

Other defendants in the case include Ayman Fathy Suleiman, former head of al-Watany Bank, and his son, Ahmed Naeem Badr, managing director of Naeem Holding for Investment; and Hussein el-Sherbiny, managing director of the Arab African Investment Holding.

The court gave the defendants the option to settle the case financially and avoid a prison sentence, according to the local business newspaper Alborsa. The defendants are reportedly divided over whether or not to settle.

The arrests came as a surprise since a report by an ‘expert committee’ appointed by the court had recommended that most charges in the case be dropped.

Some media have speculated that the arrests are related to the frequent and high-profile public appearances by Alaa (57) and Gamal (54) Mubarak since early 2017. The Sydney Herald reported that this stoked rumours of a possible presidential run by Gamal in 2018. Although that did not happen, the brothers continued to build a public image. Alaa, for instance, became active on Twitter, regularly commenting on political news.

“Most definitely their arrest was related to the higher profile of the brothers, and to the more widespread re-emerging public profile of people close to the Mubaraks,” a Cairo-based analyst told Fanack on condition of anonymity. Alaa’s social media presence also “irks” the current leadership, the analyst said.

With close links to the business elite, Mubarak’s sons symbolize their father’s corrupt regime in the eyes of the public. They were first arrested on several charges of corruption and illicit gain shortly after Mubarak’s overthrow in 2011. In May 2014, they were handed a three-year prison sentence for embezzling public funds worth EGP 125 million ($7 million) allocated to maintain presidential palaces. The two men were released in October 2015 after the court ruled that they had served the requisite time.

On 22 September 2018, the Court of Cassation rejected a request from the brothers’ lawyer to resolve the presidential palaces case and reinstate their political rights. “[The arrest] is very much about sending a message: play by the new rules or don’t play at all,” the analyst said.

That message has arguably been sent before in a subtler way. In May, Yasser Rizq, chairman of the state-owned newspaper al-Akhbar al-Youm and alleged confidant of President Abdel Fattah al-Sisi, penned an opinion piece stating that al-Sisi would run for a – currently unconstitutional – third term in 2022, and warned Gamal from pursuing any political ambitions.

In a talk show, Rizq also blamed Gamal for the outbreak of the 25 January Revolution in 2011, argued that he had not been punished for his “political crimes”, accused him again of having presidential ambitions, and claimed that he had a pact with the outlawed Muslim Brotherhood.

Alaa lashed out against these allegations on Twitter, describing them as ‘poor and superficial analysis’.

The high profile of those arrested had a strong effect on the Egyptian stock market, which recorded the largest drop since January 2017 on the Sunday after the arrests, hitting its lowest level since February 2018. EFG Hermes and Qalaa Holdings were hit particularly hard, with their stock down 8.6 per cent and 6 per cent respectively. On 19 September 2018, the stock market fell even further, marking the largest drop since mid-2016.

The analyst believes that the five defendants were released on bail a day later because of this stock market loss.

The current regime’s issue with the Mubaraks’ emerging profile is historically rooted. “The last years of Mubarak’s rule witnessed the expansion of political power of a business elite that was tied to the regime and in particular to his sons Gamal and Alaa … and it’s likely the army didn’t appreciate that,” Timothy Kaldas, non-resident fellow at the Tahrir Institute for Middle East Policy, told Fanack chronicle.

Moreover, plans for Gamal to succeed his father as president, changing the republic into a birth-line succession system, met with strong resistance that is believed to have been one of the factors leading to the 25 January Revolution.

Furthermore, the armed forces, which since the overthrow of the monarchy in 1952 have been a key player in Egyptian politics, were not happy with Gamal, a non-military man, and his presidential ambitions.

Researcher Gijs Verbossen from La Trobe University in Australia, described in detail the growing resentment of the army towards the Mubarak regime in his 2018 dissertation Mubarak’s weakness, showing how this regime increasingly favoured the business elite – consisting of Gamal and Alaa’s cronies – and the security forces, while marginalizing the armed forces as a political power. ‘With the help of Gamal Mubarak, the business elite seated itself at the core of the Mubarak regime, where their mutual interests converged and resulted in Egypt’s kleptocratic state,’ he wrote.

The budget allocated for the army shrunk significantly under Mubarak’s rule, from an estimated 19.5 per cent of GDP in 1981 to 2.1 per cent in 2010. On the other hand, the budget and size of the police and intelligence services increased, and police officers had a far stronger representation in Mubarak’s National Democratic Party than army officers. Mubarak effectively transformed Egypt from ‘a military state into a police state’, Verbossen noted.

This eventually led the army to abandon Mubarak when protests against his rule broke out in 2011, and it even participated in his ouster. ‘It was a chance to dispense with the regime that orchestrated [the army’s] institutional downfall, practically without firing a shot,’ according to Verbossen.

Under the leadership of military strongman al-Sisi, the army has regained its central position in the state. Many new governors are military men, weapons imports have increased sharply and the army’s business interests are expanding “tremendously”, in the words of the previously quoted analyst. Egypt has made headlines in recent years with large and expensive military purchases, such as Rafale fighter jets from France and MIG fighter jets from Russia.

“There are certainly a lot of people in the inner circle of the current leadership that would take issue with [the Mubarak sons] trying to emerge as political actors,” Kaldas said, while adding, “It should be kept in mind the allegations of corruption against them are credible.”

What is less clear is whether the Mubarak sons and their business cronies actually pose a threat to the current leadership. “Probably not,” the analyst said. “What is left of the intelligence service loyal to Mubarak?” However, there seems to be a perceived threat, stemming from al-Sisi growing “increasingly paranoid” and “untrusting” as his popularity declines. Previous cases have shown that anyone not fully under al-Sisi’s watch is considered a threat, with clear examples being the presidential hopefuls Sami Anan and Ahmed Shafiq.

In this political climate, there is no space for a vocal Mubarak clique.

Further Reading

Fanack’s Egypt country file provides a comprehensive overview about Egypt, its history, politics, culture, economy and...
Between 1981 and 2011, Muhammad Hosni Mubarak was the president of Egypt. A popular revolution overthrew Mubarak in 2011...
Hosni Mubarak, a former Air Force general, continued on the path Sadat had laid out. The struggle against radical Islami...

© Copyright Notice

Please contact us in case of omissions concerning copyright-protected work. The acquired copyright protected images used on/as featured image of this page are: KHALED DESOUKI ©AFP | KHALED DESOUKI ©AFP

COVID-19 UPDATE

Get the latest update on the Coronavirus outbreak in the Middle East and North Africa.

Regional Update

"Ignorance leads to fear, fear leads to hatred, and hatred leads to violence.
This is the equation."

IBN RUSHD/AVERROES (1126 – 1198)

We are a Dutch not for profit organisation (NGO), financed solely by individuals who share our belief in the importance of publishing and disseminating reliable, unbiased information on the Middle East & North Africa region. To represent the voice of the region’s people, we carefully echo the region’s heartbeat by offering fact-checked and therefore credible information.

Your support is greatly appreciated and helpful!