فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / مصر / حقوق الإنسان في مصر / مصر: لا مزيد من الأوهام حول ولاية السيسي الثانية بعد موجةٍ جديدة من الاعتقالات

مصر: لا مزيد من الأوهام حول ولاية السيسي الثانية بعد موجةٍ جديدة من الاعتقالات

Egypt- Arrests Egypt
مصورون صحفيون مصريون يرفعون كاميراتهم خلال مظاهرةٍ خارج مقر النقابة في القاهرة يوم 3 مايو 2016 بمناسبة اليوم العالمي لحرية الصحافة. Photo AFP

كان شهر مايو من عام 2018، وحتى بالمقارنة بسجل مصر المضطرب في مجال حقوق الإنسان على مدى السنوات الماضية، شهراً سيئاً على وجه الخصوص بالنسبة للنشطاء وغيرهم من الأصوات الناقدة في البلاد.

فقد تم اعتقال ما لا يقل عن ستة شخصياتٍ بارزة، خمسة منهم من منازلهم. وعلاوة على ذلك، زُعم أيضاً صدور حكمٍ على الباحث المتخصص في سيناء، اسماعيل الإسكندراني، بالسجن لعشر سنوات في 22 مايو من قِبل محكمةٍ عسكرية بتهمة نشر أخبار كاذبة والانضمام إلى منظمة محظورة.

يعدّ هذا تذكيراً صارخاً بأنه حتى بعد إعادة انتخاب الرئيس عبد الفتاح السيسي في مارس 2018، يخطط النظام لمواصلة سياساته القمعية ضد أي شكلٍ من أشكال المعارضة وعملية القضاء على أي مساحة للنقاش والنقد.

كما تم اعتقال المدون الساخر شادي أبو زيد من منزله يوم 6 مايو، وبدايةً، لم يُعرف مكان وجوده، ولكن في 8 مايو، وجهت له تهم نشر أخبارٍ كاذبة واعتُقل 15 يوماً على ذمة التحقيق. وفي وقت كتابة هذا التقرير، لم يكن من الواضح ما إذا كان قد تم تجديد احتجازه السابق للمحاكمة رسمياً.

اشتهر أبو زيد بمزاحه مع الشرطة عندما وزع عليهم بالوناتٍ مصنوعة من أوقيةٍ ذكرية في 25 يناير 2016، الذي صادف الذكرى السنوية الخامسة للثورة وعيد الشرطة. ومنذ ذلك الحين، واجه تهديداتٍ من ضباط الشرطة، التي قدّم بها هو وعائلته شكاوى قانونية. كما استقال من عمله في البرنامج الساخر أبلة فاهيتا بعد تعرضه لضغوطاتٍ بسبب مزحته، بالرغم من مواصلته تقديم برنامجٍ على شبكة الإنترنت يتضمن مقابلاتٍ من الشارع.

وفي 11 مايو، اقتادت الشرطة أمل فتحي من منزلها برفقة زوجها محمد لطفي وابنهما البالغ من العمر عامين، اللذان أفرج عنهما بعد بضع ساعات. وقبل يومين من اعتقالها، نشرت فتحي مقطع فيديو على فيسبوك يندد بالتحرش الجنسي في مصر ويذكر أن ضباط الشرطة جزءٌ من المشكلة. وهي أيضاً قيد الإعتقال الإحتياطي رهن المحاكمة في انتظار التحقيق وذلك بتهمة الانضمام إلى جماعة إرهابية واستخدام الإنترنت للدعوة إلى ارتكاب أعمالٍ إرهابية، ونشر أخبارٍ كاذبة وشائعاتٍ لتعطيل الأمن العام والإضرار بالمصالح الوطنية.

فقد ذكرت الصحافة الموالية للحكومة أنها عضوٌ في حركة الشباب المحظورة، 6 أبريل، في حين قال زوجها لطفي أنه ليس لها أي نشاطٍ سياسي يُذكر.

وبعد عدة أيام، أي في 15 مايو، ألقي القبض على شادي الغزالي حرب واحتُجز لمدة 15 يوماً. ويعتبر شادي أحد قادة الشباب خلال ثورة 25 يناير 2011، وكان يرأس حزب الدستور إلى حين استقالته في عام 2013. وتشمل الاتهامات الموجه له الانضمام إلى جماعة محظورة تهدف إلى تعطيل مؤسسات الدولة، ونشر أخبارٍ كاذبة وتقويض الثقة في الدولة .

وفي 18 مايو، قُبض على المحامي والقيادي النقابي هيثم محمدين. وقال المسؤولون إنه ينتمي إلى منظمة الاشتراكيين الثوريين ويجري التحقيق معه بشأن تورطه مع جماعة محظورة، والتحريض على المشاركة في الاحتجاجات ضد رفع أسعار تذاكر المترو والمشاركة فيها. ومن الجدير بالذكر أنه قد تم توقيف محمدين عدة مراتٍ من قبل، لدعوته للاحتجاج على نقل مُلكية جزيرتين في البحر الأحمر إلى المملكة العربية السعودية في عام 2016 ونشر الأكاذيب حول الجيش في عام 2013.

الشخص الخامس الذي تم توقيفه هو المدون الحائز على جوائز وائل عباس، الذي تعرض منزله لهجومٍ فجر 23 مايو. آنذاك، نشر على صفحته على الفيسبوك “أنا بيتقبض عليا.” وتم توجيه تهم مماثلة له، والمتمثلة في نشر أخبارٍ كاذبة والانضمام إلى منظمة غير قانونية. فقد كان لدى عباس مدونة انتقد فيها عنف الشرطة والفساد، وكان من الناشطين بالفعل خلال العقد الأول من القرن الماضي في ظل حكم الرئيس السابق حسني مبارك، حيث تم احتجازه عدة مرات خلال السنوات الماضية.

وفي وقت كتابة هذا المقال، كان حازم عبد العظيم هو الأخير في سلسلة اعتقالات النشطاء البارزين. فقد تم اقتياده من منزله في 26 مايو. وتتضمن الاتهامات– مرةً أخرى- نشر أخبار كاذبة والانضمام إلى منظمة محظورة. وعبد العظيم هو وزيرٌ سابق في عهد مبارك وكان شخصية رئيسية في حملة السيسي الانتخابية عام 2014. وفي وقتٍ لاحق أعرب عن أسفه لمشاركته ووصفها على تويتر بـ”أكبر خطيئة،” وأصبح من أشد منتقدي النظام. وكتب في واحدة من آخر تغريداته في 18 مايو:

” الظلم يزيد .والظالم يزداد ظلماً. وشباب بيتحبس يومياً… وشباب بيستشهد في سيناء… والفاشل يزداد فشلاً وتجبراً وغروراً واستهزاءاً بالشعب. والمنافقين يزدادوا نفاقاً .والنظام يزداد بطشاً وقمعاً استراحة واجبة من السياسة لفترة. الواحد قرف وزهق. ما بقاش فيه حاجة تتقال. لله الامر.”

ولم ينشر بعدها أي تغريدة برسالةٍ سياسية، ولكن على ما يبدو دون جدوى.

ومؤخراً، لم يكن أي من هؤلاء المعتقلين نشطاء فعلياً على وجه الخصوص في المشهد السياسي، إذ بالكاد عبروا عن انتقادهم من خلال قنوات وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي، إلا أنهم كانوا جميعاً، بشكلٍ أو بآخر، من الوجوه المعارضة خلال أو في مرحلة ما بعد الثورة.

ويعتقد مصدرٌ مقرب من القضية أن الاعتقالات ما هي إلا وسيلة لجعل هؤلاء النشطاء يدفعون ثمن نشاطهم السابق. ففي حالة أبو زيد، يتعلق الأمر بمزاحه ببالونات الواقي الذكري التي وزعها على الشرطة في عام 2016؛ أما محمدين والغزالي، فالأمر له علاقة بأدوارهما السياسية في أعقاب الثورة. وقد يكون اعتقال أمل فتحي مرتبطًا بعمل زوجها محمد لطفي، وهو محامٍ في مجال حقوق الإنسان ومؤسس اللجنة المصرية للحقوق والحريات. وقال لطفي لصحيفة ديلي بيست: “لم يجدوا طريقة لتخويفي، لذا استخدموا زوجتي ليتمكنوا من ذلك.”

ووفقاً لوسائل الإعلام المحلية، فإن فتحي جزءٌ من نفس قضية أبو زيد والغزالي والمدون محمد رضوان، الذي قُبض عليه في 6 أبريل. فقد اعتقل عباس مع اثنين من الصحفيين ومحامٍ في وقتٍ سابق من هذا العام.

وتعود قضية الباحث والصحفي المختص بسيناء، الإسكندراني، إلى نوفمبر 2015، عندما تم اعتقاله في مطار الغردقة بالقاهرة، إذ كان قد انتقد عمليات الجيش في شمال ووسط سيناء، حيث تقاتل مصر تمرداً عنيفاً لتنظيم الدولة الإسلامية منذ عام 2013. وتشهد المنطقة إغلاقاً أمنياً كاملاً ويمنع وصول الصحفيين أو المراقبين المستقلين. وعلاوة على ذلك، يُسيطر الجيش بصرامة على تدفق المعلومات القادمة من المنطقة.

وفي وقتٍ لاحق، نفى المتحدث باسم الجيش في تصريحٍ لمراسلون بلا حدود أن الإسكندراني لم يصدر بحقه حكمٌ بالسجن لعشر سنوات، مضيفًا المزيد من الغموض حول مصير الباحث.

وعلى أي حال، تُظهر موجة الاعتقالات خلال الأسابيع الماضية أن نظام السيسي يخطط لمواصلة المسار الذي اختاره منذ توليه منصبه في عام 2013: سحق المعارضة والقضاء تدريجياً على أي مساحة للمعارضة العلنية.

image_pdfimage_print

Fanack Home / Egypt / Human Rights in Egypt / No Illusions about Al-Sisi’s Second Term after new Wave of Arrests in Egypt

No Illusions about Al-Sisi’s Second Term after new Wave of Arrests in Egypt

Egypt- Arrests Egypt
Egyptian photojournalists raise their cameras during a demonstration outside the Syndicate headquarters in Cairo on May 3, 2016, on the occasion of World Press Freedom Day. Photo AFP

Even compared to Egypt’s troublesome human rights record over the past years, May 2018 has been a particular bad month for activists and other critical voices alike.

Six prominent figures have been arrested since the beginning of the month, five of them from their homes. Moreover, a researcher specialised in Sinai, Ismail Iskandarani, was handed down a 10-year prison sentence by a military court over ‘spreading false news’ and joining a ‘banned organisation’ on 22 May 2018.

It is a stark reminder that after the re-election of President Abdel Fattah Al-Sisi in March 2018 the regime is all but planning to continue its repressive policies against any form of opposition and the process of closing down any space for debate and criticism.

Satirical blogger Shady Abu Zeid was arrested from his home on 6 May 2018. His whereabouts were at first unknown, but on 8 May 2018 the prosecution levelled charges on him over ‘spreading false news’ and ordered him 15 days in detention pending investigations. At the time of writing it was unclear whether his pre-trial detention has yet been officially renewed.

Abu Zeid is known from a prank fooling the police by handing them as balloons-inflated condoms at 25 January 2016, which marked both the fifth anniversary of the revolution and national police day. Ever since, Abu Zeid has faced threats from police personnel, against which he and his family had filed a legal complaint. Also, he resigned from his work for satirical show Abla Fahita due to the pressure he faced after the prank, and continued to make an online programme featuring street interviews.

On Friday night 11 May Amal Fathy was taken by the police from her home, together with her husband Mohamed Lotfy and two year-old son, who were both released a few hours later. Fathy had two days before her arrest posted a video on Facebook lashing out against sexual harassment in Egypt, not shying away from naming harassment of police personnel themselves. She is also in pre-trial detention pending investigations, on charges of “joining a terrorist group and using the Internet to call for terrorist acts and spreading false news and rumours to disrupt public security and harm national interests”.

Pro-state press have framed her as being a member of the banned youth movement ‘6 April’, while her husband Lotfy said she is not particularly political.

Several days later, on 15 May 2018, Shady ElGhazaly Harb was arrested and detained for 15 days under investigations over ‘fake news’ and ‘joining a terrorist organisation’. ElGhazali was one of the youth leaders during the 25 January Revolution. He had been a leader of the Al-Dostour Party until his resignation in 2013. His charges include joining a banned group, aiming to disrupt state institutions, spreading false news and undermining trust in the Egyptian state.

Again a few days later, on 18 May, lawyer and union leader Haitham Mohamedeen was arrested. Officials said he belonged to the Revolutionary Socialists, and is investigated over involvement with a banned group and inciting and taking part in illegal protests, in reference to the protests that broke out against the metro ticket price increase. Mohamedeen has been arrested several times before, on calling for protests against the Red Sea islands transfer to Saudi Arabia in 2016 and over ‘spreading lies about the military’ in 2013.

The fifth to be arrested was award-winning blogger Wael Abbas, whose house was raided around dawn on 23 May 2018. “I’m being arrested,” he posted himself on Facebook. Similar charges, – ‘publishing false news’ and ‘joining a illegal organisation’ – have been levelled against him. Abbas had a blog on which he criticised police violence and corruption, and was already active during the 2000s under former president Hosni Mubarak. He has been detained several times over the past years.

At the time of writing Hazem Abdelazim was the latest in the string of arrests of prominent activists. He was taken from his home on Saturday 26 May 2018, accusations would include – again – spreading false news, joining a banned organisation and inciting against the state. Abdelazim is a former minister from the Mubarak-era, and was an important figure in the 2014 elections campaign of Al-Sisi. Later he regretted his involvement, calling it ‘his biggest sin’ on his Twitter page and became a strong critic of the regime. One of his last tweets on 18 May read:

“The injustice increases. The tyrant becomes more unjust. Some youth are arrested daily… and some being martyred daily in Sinai… The system becomes more violent and oppressive. I will take a must-needed break from politics. I’m bored and disgusted. There is nothing to be said anymore. It’s in God’s hands.”

Since then he did not send a tweet with a political message, but as it turned out to no avail.

None of the arrestees had recently been particularly active in the political scene, merely voicing criticism through social media channels, but all had in one way or another been prominent faces of opposition during or after the revolution. A source close to the case therefore believes that the arrests are a way to make them pay for past actions. In the case of Shady Abu Zeid that would be the condom prank he pulled on the police back in 2016, for Mohamedeen and ElGhazaly their political roles following the revolution. Amal Fathy’s arrest may be related to the work of her husband, Mohamed Lotfy, who is a human rights lawyer and founder of Egyptian Commission for Rights and Freedoms. “They could not find a way to intimidate me, so they used my wife to give them a way in,” Lotfy told The Daily Beast.

Fathy is according to local media part of the same case as Abu Zeid, ElGhazaly, and blogger Mohamed Radwan who was arrested on 6 April. Abbas is in a case with two journalists and one lawyer arrested earlier this year.

The case of Sinai-researcher and journalist Iskandarani dates back to November 2015, when he was arrested at Hurghada airport. He had reported critically on the army’s operations in North and Central Sinai, where Egypt is battling a fierce Islamic State insurgency in since 2013. The area has been in complete lockdown with no access for journalists or independent observers. The army strictly controls the flow of information coming out of the conflict area.

The army spokesperson later denied in a statement to Reporters Without Borders the 10-year sentence of Iskandarani, only adding more confusion to the researcher’s fate.

In any case, the wave of arrests over the past weeks shows that the regime of Al-Sisi is planning to follow the path it has chosen since his takeover in 2013: Crushing opposition and gradually closing any space for public dissent.

image_pdfimage_print

We would like to ask you something …

Fanack is an independent media organisation, not funded by any state or any interest group, that distributes in the Middle East and the wider world unbiased analysis and background information, based on facts, about the Middle East and North Africa.

The website grew rapidly in breadth and depth and today forms a rich and valuable source of information on 21 countries, from Morocco to Oman and from Iran to Yemen, both in Arabic and English. We currently reach six million readers annually and growing fast.

In order to guarantee the impartiality of information on the Chronicle, articles are published without by-lines. This also allows correspondents to write more freely about sensitive or controversial issues in their country. All articles are fact-checked before publication to ensure that content is accurate, current and unbiased.

To run such a website is very expensive. With a small donation, you can make a huge impact. And it only takes a minute. Thank you.