فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / مصر / السكان في مصر / مصر: برامج تنظيم السكان تكتسب زخماً

مصر: برامج تنظيم السكان تكتسب زخماً

Population of egypt
Aصورة التقطت في 12 ديسمبر 2017، تظهر مشهداً عاماً لمنطقة العتبة المتاخمة لوسط القاهرة في مصر. Photo: MOHAMED EL-SHAHED / AFP

من المتوقع أن يصل عدد سكان مصر إلى 100 مليون في بداية عام 2020، بالرغم من أن الرقم في عام 2013، وصل إلى 86 مليون. كما تشير التقديرات إلى أن عدد السكان سيزداد إلى 120 مليوناً في عام 2030 و150 مليوناً في عام 2050. علاوةً على ذلك، فإن أكثر من نصف السكان تقل أعمارهم عن 25 عاماً. وعليه، بدأت البرامج الحكومية التي أدخلت في عام 2018 للحد من النمو السكاني بالتزايد. وعلى الرغم من الطريق الطويل الذي ينتظرها، إلا أن الأرقام الأخيرة الصادرة عن صندوق الأمم المتحدة للسكان تشير إلى وجود سببٍ يدعو إلى التفاؤل الحذر.

مع عيش الغالبية العظمى من المصريين في القطاع الخصب على طول نهر النيل وتنامي سوق العمل بالفعل لاستيعاب الشباب الذين يدخلون إلى القوى العاملة، يفرض النمو السكاني عبئاً هائلاً على الخدمات الحكومية مثل مياه الشرب النظيفة والصرف الصحي والتعليم والرعاية الصحية، وذلك في ظل الكميات المحدودة بالفعل من المياه والأراضي الصالحة للزراعة.

وبين عامي 2011 و2016، ارتفع عدد الأطفال في المدارس الابتدائية بنسبة 40%، مما أدى إلى ازدحام الفصول الدراسية وحضور الأطفال إلى المدارس للتقدم للامتحانات فحسب. علاوةً على ذلك، فإن نصيب الفرد من المياه يقل بالفعل عن الحد الأدنى الدولي، وتُصنف البلاد كأكبر مستوردٍ للقمح في العالم.

وبحسب الخبراء، لا ينبغي أن يتجاوز النمو السكاني ثلث النمو الاقتصادي بحدٍ أقصى منعاً لتدهور مستويات المعيشة. ومع أن تدابير التقشف الشديدة التي اتخذت منذ عام 2016 كجزء من صفقة قرض صندوق البنك الدولي بقيمة 12 مليار دولار قد أدت إلى نمو اقتصادي أعلى بنسبة 5,5%، إلا أن هذا لا يكفي لمواكبة النمو السكاني البالغ حوالي 2% سنوياً .

في واقع الأمر، تشهد مستويات المعيشة تدهوراً، إذ أظهر استطلاع للرأي أجراه الجهاز المركزي للتعبئة العامة والإحصاء في مصر في يوليو 2019 أن 32,5% من المصريين كانوا يعيشون تحت خط الفقر في عام 2018، في ارتفاعٍ ملحوظ من ما نسبته 27,8% في عام 2015. كما حدد الجهاز خط الفقر بـ737 جنيه شهرياً للفرد الواحد، أي ما يعادل تقريباً 1,50 دولار في اليوم.

كما أقر الرئيس عبد الفتاح السيسي في عام 2017 بأن كبح النمو السكاني يمثل إحدى الأولويات، ووصفه بأنه “تهديد كبير مثل الإرهاب.” ومنذ ذلك الحين، تم إدخال العديد من البرامج، بهدف خلق الوعي حول مزايا الأسر الصغيرة ووسائل منع الحمل، فضلاً عن توفير الحوافز المالية لإنجاب عدد أقل من الأطفال.

من جهتها، أعلنت وزارة التضامن الاجتماعي عن حملة ” اتنين كفاية” في عام 2017، التي تشجع الناس على الحد من حجم الأسرة. وتتمثل الرسالة الرئيسية في أن تحديد النسل يمكن أن ينتشل الناس من الفقر، بيد أن هذا ليس بالأمر السهل، ذلك أن الفقر يمكن أن يكون محركاً مهماً لإنجاب المزيد من الأطفال. يتم إرسال الأطفال، وخاصة في الأحياء الفقيرة في صعيد مصر والقاهرة ، للعمل في الأراضي أو في ورش العمل في سنٍ مبكرة ويمثلون مصدر دخل إضافي مهم للعائلات الفقيرة.

تشتمل الحملة أيضاً على نشر لوحاتٍ إعلانية في الشوارع، وتوفير وسائل منع الحمل الرخيصة وإنشاء عيادات في الأحياء، إلى جانب العيادات المتنقلة للمناطق النائية.

مبادرة أخرى هي برنامج مصر لتنظيم الأسرة، الذي يمتد لخمس سنوات، والذي أطلقته وزارة الصحة عام 2018 بالتعاون مع الوكالة الأمريكية للتنمية الدولية. ويشمل التثقيف في مجال الصحة الإنجابية للعاملين في المجال الطبي وحملات نشر الملصقات والإعلانات التلفزيونية والعيادات التي توفر معلومات حول تنظيم الأسرة ودعمه.

بالإضافة إلى ذلك، ستقوم الوزارة بتوزيع خدمات منع الحمل والصحة الإنجابية المجانية عبر المدن والقرى المحيطة في ديسمبر 2019 كجزء من الحملة التي يمولها الاتحاد الأوروبي، والتي حملت شعار “حقك تنظمي.”

ففي أواخر نوفمبر 2018، أعلن رئيس الوزراء مصطفى مدبولي أن الدعم النقدي للمصريين الأكثر فقراً لن يغطي الأسر التي تتجاوز الطفل الثاني. ومن غير الواضح بعد ما إذا كانت هذه الخطة قد تم تنفيذها بالفعل.

تعدّ مشاركة المنظمات الدولية وخاصة الاتحاد الأوروبي جلية: فمصر المكتظة بالسكان والفقراء يمكن أن تصبح مصدراً رئيسياً للهجرة، التي تريد الدول الأوروبية تجنبها. ففي عام 2016 على سبيل المثال، انقلب قاربٌ يحمل مصريين في الغالب قبالة الساحل بالقرب من الإسكندرية. وعليه، تم إغلاق حدود مصر بحزمٍ منذ ذلك الحين، ولكن لا يزال هناك احتمالٌ بحصول هجرة جماعية ضخمة.

ومع ذلك، تشير أحدث أرقام صندوق الأمم المتحدة للسكان إلى وجود سببٍ يدعو إلى التفاؤل الحذر. ففي عام 2018، انخفض معدل الخصوبة لأول مرة منذ عام 2010 إلى 3,1، إذ بلغ معدل الخصوبة في العام السابق 3,4 وفي عام 2014 وصل إلى 3,5.

تعتقد نهلة عبد التواب، مديرة مكتب مجلس السكان الدولي في مصر، أن هذا مرتبط بزيادة الوعي، إذ قالت لفَنَك: “أعتقد أن حملة [اتنين كفاية] ساعدت في تذكير العامة بمشكلة السكان، لأن وسائل الإعلام قد توقفت عن مناقشتها منذ عدة سنوات.” وأضافت “كما يتطرق الرئيس السيسي مراراً وتكراراً لمشكلة النمو السكاني السريع، وبالتالي ربما زاد الوعي العام.”

ومع ذلك، أضافت إنه لم يكن هناك تقييم لحملتي “اتنين كفاية” و”برنامج مصر لتنظيم الأسرة،” وبالتالي فإن البيانات الثابتة لإثبات فعاليتها غير متوفرة بعد.

يعتقد بعض الخبراء أن الحملات الحالية بحد ذاتها غير كافية، بحجة أن التثقيف الجنسي السليم في المدارس ضروري لتغيير عقلية عميقة الجذور بين العديد من المصريين بأن إنجاب المزيد من الأطفال، بطبيعته، أفضل.

“رأينا الكثير من الأزواج الذين يقولون أنهم لا يفضلون استخدام وسائل تنظيم الأسرة إلى أن ينجبوا ما يكفي من الأطفال [طفل واحد على الأقل]،” على حد تعبير عبد التواب.

بالعادة، تعدّ معدلات الخصوبة أعلى في صعيد مصر، لكن دراسة صندوق الأمم المتحدة للسكان أظهرت أن المعدلات انخفضت على وجه الخصوص في هذه المنطقة. ومن ناحيةٍ أخرى، في القاهرة والإسكندرية، ارتفعت معدلات الخصوبة. من هنا، تركز مبادرة برنامج مصر لتنظيم الأسرة على أكبر مدينتين في مصر بالإضافة إلى صعيد مصر، الذي بالرغم من الانخفاض الذي يشهده لا يزال يضم أكبر عددٍ من المواليد الجدد.

وبحسب عبد التواب، تشير الأبحاث إلى أن العقوبات المالية التي اقترحها مدبولي “ليست أفضل أسلوب لتشجيع الأسر على خفض الخصوبة.” بل ستكون زيادة الوعي بمخاطر الحمل المتعدد والمتقارب وتحسين جودة وكمية خدمات تنظيم الأسرة المتاحة أكثر فعالية. كما تدعو إلى تمكين المرأة اجتماعياً واقتصادياً “ليكون لديهن مجالات أخرى لإثبات قيمتهن.”

تهدف الحكومة إلى خفض معدل الخصوبة إلى 2,4 بحلول عام 2030. وبالتالي، ستُظهر السنوات القادمة ما إذا كانت الحملات تحقق النتائج المرجوة.

© Copyright Notice

Please contact us in case of omissions concerning copyright-protected work. The acquired copyright protected images used on/as featured image of this page are: MOHAMED EL-SHAHED ©AFP | MOHAMED EL-SHAHED ©AFP

ملف التحديث الإقليمي COVID-19

احصل على آخر تحديث عن تفشي فيروس كورونا في الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا

تطورات فيروس كورونا

الجهل يقود إلى الخوف، الخوف يقود إلى الكراهية، والكراهية تقود إلى العنف هذه هي المعادلة.
ابن رشد (١١٢٦ – ١١٩٨)

إن مؤسستنا منظمةٌ هولندية غير حكومية لا تسعى لتحقيق الأرباح. هذه المؤسسة يجري تمويلها بصورةٍ حصرية عبر أفرادٍ يشاركوننا الإيمان بضرورة نشر معلومات موثوقة وغير متحيزة عن منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا، محاكين بذلك المزاج الشعبي السائد في المنطقة ولنعبّر عن صوت أبناء المنطقة بما نقدمه من معلومات ناجعة وتتحلى بالمصداقية.

ولذلك، فإننا نقدّر عالياً ما تقدمه لنا من دعمٍ وسنحرص على أن يعكس هذا الدعم بطريقةٍ إيجابية على الصالح العام!

Fanack Home / Egypt / Population of Egypt / In Egypt, Population Control Programmes Gain Momentum

In Egypt, Population Control Programmes Gain Momentum

Population of egypt
A picture taken on December 12, 2017, shows an elevated view of al-Attaba district on the edge of downtown Cairo, Egypt. Photo: MOHAMED EL-SHAHED / AFP

Egypt’s population is set to hit 100 million around the start of 2020. In 2013, this was 86 million. Projections estimate the population will grow to 120 million in 2030 and 150 million in 2050. Moreover, over half of the population is under 25. Government programmes introduced in 2018 to stem population growth have started to take off. Although there is still a long way to go, recent figures released by the United Nations Population Fund (UNFPA) suggest there is reason from cautious optimism.

With the vast majority of Egyptians living in a fertile strip along the Nile and a labour market already stretched to absorb youth entering the workforce, population growth is putting tremendous strain on government services such as clean drinking water, sanitation, education and health care as well as already limited amounts of water and arable land.

Between 2011 and 2016, the number of children in primary schools rose by 40 per cent, leading to overcrowded classrooms and children only coming to school for exams. The water share per capita is already below the international minimum, and the country ranks as the world’s largest wheat importer.

According to experts, population growth can be a maximum one third of economic growth for living standards not to deteriorate. Yet while drastic austerity measures taken since 2016 as part of a $12 billion loan deal with the International Monetary Fund have led to higher economic growth of 5.5 per cent, this is not enough to keep pace with the population growth of around 2 per cent a year.

Indeed, living standards have been deteriorating. A survey released by Egypt’s Central Agency for Public Mobilization and Statistics (CAPMAS) in July 2019 showed that 32.5 per cent of Egyptians lived below the poverty line in 2018, up from 27.8 per cent in 2015. The poverty line CAPMAS follows stands at 737 Egyptian pounds per month, roughly equal to $1.50 a day.

President Abdel Fattah al-Sisi acknowledged in 2017 that curbing population growth is a priority, describing it as a “threat as big as terrorism”. Several programmes have since been introduced, aimed at creating awareness about the benefits of smaller families and contraception as well as providing financial incentives to have fewer children.

The Ministry of Social Solidarity announced the ‘Two is enough’ campaign in 2017, which encourages people to limit family size. The main message is that birth control can lift people out of poverty. This is not an easy sell, as poverty can be an important driver for having more children. Children, especially in Upper Egypt and Cairo’s slums, are sent to work on the land or in workshops at a young age and represent an important extra source of income for poor families.

The campaign also includes billboards, the provision of cheap birth control and setting up neighbourhood clinics and mobile clinics for remote areas.

Another initiative is the five-year Egypt Family Planning Programme (EFFP), launched by the Ministry of Health in 2018 in cooperation with USAID. It encompasses reproductive health education for medical workers, poster campaigns, television advertisements and clinics providing information about and support for family planning.

In addition, the ministry will distribute free contraception and reproductive health services across peripheral cities and villages in December 2019 as part of the European Union-funded campaign ‘Your right to plan’.

In late November 2018, Prime Minister Mostafa Madbouly announced that cash support for poorer Egyptians would not reimburse families beyond the second child. It is unclear whether this plan has actually been implemented.

The involvement of international organizations and in particular the European Union is clear: an overpopulated, impoverished Egypt could well become a major source of migration, which European countries want to avoid. In 2016, a boat carrying mostly Egyptians capsized off the coast near Alexandria. Egypt’s borders have been firmly closed since, but the potential for a large exodus remains.

However, the latest UNFPA numbers suggest there is reason for cautious optimism. In 2018, the fertility rate declined for the first time since 2010 to 3.1. The year before, the fertility rate was 3.4 and in 2014 it was 3.5.

Nahla Abdel-Tawab, Egypt director of the Population Council, believes this is related to greater awareness. “I would assume that the [Two is enough] campaign has helped remind the public of the population problem, as the media had stopped discussing it for several years,” she told Fanack. “Also, President al-Sisi frequently talks about the rapid population growth and hence public awareness has probably increased.”

However, she added that there has not been an evaluation of Two is enough or EFFP, so hard data to prove their effectiveness is not yet available.

Some experts believe the current campaigns do not go far enough, arguing that proper sex education at schools is necessary to change a deep-rooted mentality among many Egyptians that having more children is by definition better.

“We have seen many couples saying that they do not prefer to use family planning until they have had enough children [i.e. at least one son],” Abdel-Tawab said.

Fertility rates are traditionally highest in Upper Egypt, but the UNFPA study shows that especially in this area it has declined. In Cairo and Alexandria, on the other hand, fertility has increased. Hence, the EFFP focuses on Egypt’s two largest cities in addition to Upper Egypt, which despite the decline still has the highest number of newborns.

According to Abdel-Tawab, research suggests that financial sanctions proposed by Madbouly “are not the best way to encourage families to lower fertility”. Raising awareness about the risks of multiple and closely spaced pregnancies and improving the quality and quantity of family planning services available would be more effective. She also advocates empowering women socially and economically “so they have other venues to prove their worth”.

The government aims to reduce the fertility rate to 2.4 by 2030. The coming years will show whether the campaigns are delivering the much-needed results.

© Copyright Notice

Please contact us in case of omissions concerning copyright-protected work. The acquired copyright protected images used on/as featured image of this page are: MOHAMED EL-SHAHED ©AFP | MOHAMED EL-SHAHED ©AFP

COVID-19 UPDATE

Get the latest update on the Coronavirus outbreak in the Middle East and North Africa.

Regional Update

"Ignorance leads to fear, fear leads to hatred, and hatred leads to violence.
This is the equation."

IBN RUSHD/AVERROES (1126 – 1198)

We are a Dutch not for profit organisation (NGO), financed solely by individuals who share our belief in the importance of publishing and disseminating reliable, unbiased information on the Middle East & North Africa region. To represent the voice of the region’s people, we carefully echo the region’s heartbeat by offering fact-checked and therefore credible information.

Your support is greatly appreciated and helpful!