فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / مصر / المجتمع والإعلام والثقافة / الثقافة / المتاحف المصرية: تاريخٌ غني من الثقافة والفن

المتاحف المصرية: تاريخٌ غني من الثقافة والفن

King Tutankhamun
صورة التقطت في 28 نوفمبر 2017 تُظهر القناع الذهبي للملك توت عنخ آمون، المعروض في المتحف المصري في العاصمة القاهرة. Photo: MOHAMED EL-SHAHED / AFP ©AFP ⁃ MOHAMED EL-SHAHED

كان المصريون القدماء من أوائل شعوب العالم الذين عرفوا فكرة ومعنى “المتاحف” وأول من أنشأ المتاحف، حيث بدأ المصريون بوضع التماثيل والأعمال الفنية أمام معابدهم وقصورهم. كما اكتشف العديد من الأثريات التي وضحت أن المصريين القدماء قد عرفوا فن الترميم، وسجل ملك مصر رمسيس الثاني (1130 ق.م) أعماله في ترميم أثار أجداده وأعماله على قاعدة معبد الشمس. ومنذ تلك الأزمنة وحتى الآن اشتهرت مصر بثقافة المتاحف المنتشرة في طول البلاد وعرضها.

ووفق تقرير للجهاز المركزي للتعبئة العامة والاحصاء المصري، تحتوي مصر على 72 متحف موزعة بين 19 محافظة. ويُعتبر متحف الإسكندرية القومي هو أقدم تلك المتاحف، وقد أنشأه بطليموس الأول عام 280 قبل الميلاد، ويحمل تصميمه الطابع الإيطالي ويحتوي على 1800 قطعة فنية قديمة تعود إلى أربعة عصور هي: العصر اليوناني، والعصر الروماني، والعصر القبطي والعصر الإسلامي. وظل المتحف طوال قرون يتنقل من مالك إلى مالك ومن أسرة حكم إلى أخرى إلى أن استردته الدولة المصرية وقام بافتتاحه الرئيس السابق حسني مبارك عام 2003.

ويُعد من أشهر تحفه تمثال الإله سيرابيس والذي كان يُمثّل عند قُدماء المصريين إله الشّفاء، وجدارية السلطان قايتباي.

وفي العصر الحديث، كان أول مرسوم يهتم بالمتاحف ذلك الذي أصدره محمد علي باشا عام 1835، لحماية الآثار بعد شيوع تهريب الآثار إلى خارج مصر، وتلاه مرسوم من حفيده خديوي مصر محمد توفيق باشا عام 1881 بإنشاء وتشكيل لجنة حفظ الآثار وجردها وصيانتها. وبناءً على ذلك القرار تم إنشاء المتحف “اليوناني والروماني” بمدينة الإسكندرية 1895 على يد الخديوي عباس حلمي الثاني، وكان يضم 11 قاعة وقتها ثم تمت توسعته لتصل إلى 25 صالة عرض للتسع للآثار المكتشفة بعد ذلك. وأغلب محتوياته من آثار العصرين البطلمي والروماني وأشهر تلك الآثار تمثالي الاسكندر الأكبر ويوليوس قيصر.

هناك أيضاً 6 متاحف أخرى بمدينة الإسكندرية هي:

المتحف الغارق، وهو من أبرز معالم المدينة، وهو عبارة عن مدينة فرعونية إغريقية أغرقتها مياه البحر المتوسط حتى صارت في قاع الميناء الشرقي، ويتطلب لرؤية آثارها الغطس تحت الماء.

قصر المنتزه: وهو أحد القصور الملكية المصرية، والذي بناه الخديوي عباس حلمي الثاني عام 1892 داخل حدائق المنتزه.

متحف الأحياء المائية: ويحتوي على أسماك وحيوانات من البحرين الأبيض والمتوسط وأخرى من نهر النيل، عبارة عن أسماك محنطة ومتعلقات بحرية، وقد أُنشأ عام 1930 في عهد الملك فؤاد الأول، كما أنه يضم معهد لأبحاث الأحياء المائية.
متحف المجوهرات الملكية، أو ما يُعرف بـ “قصر المجوهرات،” وهو عبارة عن قصر شُيد عام 1919 لإحدى أميرات الأسرة العلوية الحاكمة تُسمى الأميرة فاطمة الزهراء. تحول إلى متحف عام 1986، ويضم 11500 قطعة من المجوهرات والمشغولات الذهبية والألماس وغيرها، تعود إلى الأسرة العلوية الحاكمة منذ حكم محمد علي باشا عام 1805 وحتى عهد فاروق الأول الذي انتهى عام 1952.

مجمع متاحف محمود سعيد: وهي عبارة عن ثلاثة متاحف يضمها قصر محمود سعيد، أحد رواد الفن التشكيلي في العصر الحديث إذ يضم المتحف الأول مقتنياته وأعماله، ويضم المتحف الثاني أعمال الفنانين الأخوين أدهم وسيف وانلي، والمتحف الثالث متحف الفن المصري الحديث والذي يضم أعمال رواد الفن المعاصرين.

متحف مكتبة الإسكندرية: وهو جزء من مكتبة الإسكندرية تم إنشاءه عام 2001 وتخصيصه كمتحف لبعض الآثار والمخطوطات والكتب النادرة تصل إلى قرابة 50 ألف مخطوطة و50 ألف وثيقة، بجانب متحف للرئيس الراحل أنور السادات يضُم مقتنياته وبانوراما عن حياته.

Cairo museum
إحدى التحف المعروضة في متحف الفن الإسلامي في القاهرة بعد إعادة افتتاحه أمام الجمهور في 19 يناير 2017، في القاهرة. Photo: MOHAMED EL-SHAHED / AFP ©AFP ⁃ MOHAMED EL-SHAHED

المتحف المصري

يُعتبر المتحف المصري واحداً من أهم وأضخم المتاحف في العالم وأهم المتاحف المصرية سواء بقيمته هو ذاته أو بمقتنياته الكثيرة والكبيرة القيمة. قام بتصميمه المعماري الفرنسي مارسيل دورنون ووضع حجر أساسه في الأول من أبريل عام 1897 في حضور الخديوي عباس حلمي الثاني، بالمنطقة الشمالية لميدان التحرير بوسط العاصمة القاهرة.

يحتوي المتحف على أكثر من 180 ألف قطعة آثار جُمع أغلبها من المجموعات الأثرية التي وجدت داخل المقابر الملكية من أُسر ما قبل التاريخ وعصر التأسيس وعصور الدولة القديمة والوسطى والحديثة والعصور المتأخرة، وعلى رأسها مجموعات وتماثيل ومقتنيات الملوك والملكات والأُسر الملكية منهم توت عنخ أمون وحتشبسوت وتحتمس الثالث ورمسيس الثاني، بالإضافة إلى العجلات الحربية والبرديات والحلي ومجموعة أخناتون وتمثالي أمنحتب الثالث وزوجته تي ومجموعة التمائم وأدوات الكتابة والزراعة، ثم مجموعة المومياوات الملكية التي تعرض في قاعة خاصة بها.

وبجانب المتحف المصري تضُم محافظة القاهرة 34 متحفاً آخرين، أهمهم المتحف القومي للحضارة المصرية

المتحف المصري الكبير

نظراً لكثرة الاكتشافات الأثرية وامتلاء المتحف المصري حتى لم يكد هناك مكان لتمثال أو أثر جديد، قررت الحكومة المصرية إنشاء متحف جديد على مساحة 117 فدان (قرابة نص مليون متر مربع) بالقرب من أهرامات الجيزة لاستيعاب الاكتشافات الجديدة ونقل بعض الآثار من المتحف المصري إليه. تم وضع حجر أساس المتحف المصري الكبير عام 2002 ومن المتوقع أن ينتهي العمل عليه في منتصف عام 2020. سيعرض المتحف قرابة 150 ألف قطعة أثرية و17 معمل ترميم الآثار، وقد أُنشئ المتحف بتعاون مصري ياباني، حيث قدمت اليابان دعماً مالياً على هيئة قروض مُيسرة بلغت 800 مليون دولار، بالإضافة إلى التعاون الفني في أعمال حفظ وترميم وتغليف ونقل القطع الأثرية، وكذلك الخبرات اليابانية في إدارة وتشغيل المتحف والمعارض وعمليات التنقيب والترميم.

متاحف المشاهير

متحف أم كلثوم

Umm Kulthum museum
مجموعة من المقتنيات الشخصية لأم كلثوم في متحف أم كلثوم في القاهرة. Photo: ANDREW BLACK / AFP ©AFP ⁃ ANDREW BLACK

نظراً للأهمية الفنية والتاريخية للمغنية المصرية الراحلة أم كلثوم والملقبة بـ”كوكب الشرق،” تم إنشاء متحف خاص بها، وفي منطقة الروضة المُطلة على نهر النيل وبأحد المباني المُلحقة بقصر المانسترلي التاريخي. تقرر إنشاء متحف خاص بسيدة الغناء العربي عام 1998 ليضُم مقتنياتها ويُبرز دورها التاريخي في إثراء الفن المصري والعربي.

وعلى أنغام أغانيها التي لا تنقطع داخل المكان، هناك خمس قاعات يمكن من خلالها التعرف على مسيرتها. فبجانب القاعة الرئيسية هناك قاعات السينما، والمكتبة السمعية البصرية، وقاعة البانوراما وقاعة الفيلم التسجيلي. وتضُم تلك القاعات أشهر فساتينها التي ارتدتها خلال أشهر حفلاتها.

كما يضُم المتحف عدد من المخطوطات النادرة لأهم القصائد التي غنتها بخط يد الشعراء أصحابها، بجانب الجرامافون أو جهاز الفون جراف الخاص بها ومصحفها المُغلف والمطعم بالصدف، وأول عقد لها مع الإذاعة المصرية عام 1934، وجواز سفرها الدبلوماسي، وعدد من المفكرات بخط يدها تعود لعام 1965، وخطابات الشكر الموجهة لها من الرئيسين جمال عبد الناصر وأنور السادات، بسبب تبرعها للمجهود الحربي خلال عامي 1955 و1973.

بالإضافة إلى ذلك، يعرض المتحف الأوسمة والنياشين التي حصلت عليها مثل قلادة النيل من الرئيس جمال عبد الناصر، ووسام الأرز الوطني من لبنان، ووسام الاستحقاق السوري، ووسام الكفاءة الفكرية من المغرب والامتياز الباكستاني وغيرها. كما تحتوي مكتبة المتحف على عشرات المجلدات من المجلات التي نشرت عنها من عام 1924 وحتى عام 2000، ورسائل الماجيستير والدكتوراه لدارسي الغناء حول العالم التي تحدثت عنها، بينما تعرض قاعة العرض فيلما تسجيلياً عنها يحتوي على مقتطفات من حياتها وأجزاء من أفلامها وحفلاتها مترجم باللغتين الإنجليزية والفرنسية.

في أرجاء مصر، هناك العشرات من المتاحف المنتشرة والتي تضم ملايين الآثار والمنحوتات التي تعود إلى العصور والحقب الزمنية التي مرت على مصر، بجانب متاحف أخرى متخصصة مثل المتحف الجيولوجي والمتحف الحربي ومتحف الشمع والمتحف الإسلامي والمتحف القبطي والمتحف الزراعي. فضلاً عن المتاحف الأخرى التي تخص شخصيات تاريخية مرت على مصر مثل الزعيم الراحل سعد زغلول ومصطفى كامل وجمال عبد الناصر والمطرب والممثل والملحن محمد عبد الوهاب، بجانب القصور الملكية والرئاسية التي تحولت إلى متاحف لاحقاً.

© Copyright Notice

click on link to view the associated photo/image
©AFP ⁃ MOHAMED EL-SHAHED | ©AFP ⁃ MOHAMED EL-SHAHED | ©AFP ⁃ ANDREW BLACK

دعمكم عونٌ لنا

فَنَك هي مؤسسة إعلامية إلكترونية مستقلة، لا تمولها أي دولة أو مجموعات مصالح. تلتزم فَنَك بنشر تحليلاتٍ مبنية على الوقائع ومحايدة، إلى جانب التقارير المواضيعية حول الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا.
شهد الموقع نمواً سريعاً في نطاق وعمق المعلومات التي يُقدمها، واليوم، بات يُشكل مصدراً غنياً وقيماً للمعلومات عن 21 بلداً، من المغرب إلى عُمان ومن إيران إلى اليمن، باللغتين العربية والإنجليزية. حالياً، وصل عدد القراء إلى 6 ملايين سنوياً، والعدد آخذٌ بالإزدياد.
لضمان حيادية المعلومات على موقع فَنَك (وقائع وأحداث) ، تُنشر المقالات دون ذكر أسماء الكتّاب، مما يُتيح أيضاً لمراسلينا مساحة أكبر من الحرية عند التطرق إلى القضايا الحساسة أو المثيرة للجدل فى بلادهم. وإلى جانب ذلك، نتحرى حقائق جميع المعلومات الواردة في مقالاتنا قبل النشر لضمان دقة المعلومات، وحداثتها وحيادها.

استمرارية تشغيل مثل هذا الموقع الإلكتروني مُكلفة للغاية. بتبرعٍ صغيرٍ منك، يمكنك المساهمة في الحفاظ على حرية واستقلالية تغطيتنا.

Fanack Home / Egypt / Society, Media & Culture / Culture / Egypt’s Museums Chart Rich History of Art and Culture

Egypt’s Museums Chart Rich History of Art and Culture

King Tutankhamun
A picture taken on November 28, 2017, shows Golden Mask of King Tutankhamun, on display at the Egyptian Museum in the capital Cairo. Photo: MOHAMED EL-SHAHED / AFP ©AFP ⁃ MOHAMED EL-SHAHED

The ancient Egyptians were one of the earliest people to understand the concept of ‘museums’ and the first to create them by placing statues and works of art in front of their temples and palaces. Many artefacts also show that the ancient Egyptians knew the art of restoration. King Ramses II (1130 BC) recorded the restoration of the works of his ancestors and his own works at the base of the Temple of the Sun. To this day, Egypt is known for its museums, which can be found throughout the country.

According to a report by the Central Authority for Public Mobilization and Statistics, Egypt has 72 museums in 19 governorates. The National Museum of Alexandria is the oldest, created by Ptolemy I in 280 BC. The design of the building is Italianate and contains 1,800 pieces of art from four periods: Greek, Roman, Coptic and Islamic. Over the centuries, ownership of the museum was passed to several kings and ruling families until it was taken over by the Egyptian state and inaugurated by former President Hosni Mubarak in 2003.

Some of the museum’s most famous artefacts are the statue of Serapis, the god of healing for the ancient Egyptians, and the mural of Sultan Qaitbay.

In the modern era, the first decree concerned with museums was issued by Muhammad Ali Pasha in 1835 to protect antiquities after their smuggling out of Egypt became widespread. This was followed by a decree by his grandson, Khedive Mohammed Tawfiq Pasha in 1881 to establish and form a committee for the preservation, inventory and maintenance of antiquities. Based on that decision, the Greek and Roman Museum was established in Alexandria in 1895 by Khedive Abbas Helmi II. It initially had 11 halls, which were expanded to 25 galleries for the artefacts discovered later. Most of the museum’s contents are from the Ptolemaic and Roman eras, the most famous of which are the statues of Alexander the Great and Julius Caesar.

There are six other museums in Alexandria:

The Underwater Museum is one of Alexandria’s most prominent landmarks. It is a Pharaonic Greek city that was flooded by the Mediterranean and now lies at the bottom of the East Port. Visitors have to dive underwater to see the museum’s antiquities.

The Park Palace is one of Egypt’s royal palaces, built in 1892 by Khedive Abbas Helmi II within the park gardens.

The Aquarium contains fish and (aquatic) animals from the Mediterranean Sea and Nile River, mummified fish and marine items. The aquarium was established in 1930 in the era of King Fouad I. It is also home to an aquaculture research institute.

The Royal Jewelry Museum, known as the ‘Palace of Jewels’, is a palace built in 1919 for Princess Fatima al-Zahra of the Alawite dynasty. It was converted into a museum in 1986, featuring 11,500 pieces of jewellery, gold artefacts, diamonds and other items belonging to the Alawite family that ruled from the era of Muhammad Ali Pasha in 1805 until the era of Farouk I, which ended in 1952.

The Mahmoud Saeed Museum Complex comprises three museums housed in the Palace of Mahmoud Saeed, one of the pioneers of modern fine art. The first museum holds collections and works by Saeed, the second museum features works by the artist brothers Adham and Saif Wanli, while the third museum, the Museum of Modern Egyptian Art, contains works by pioneers of contemporary art.

The Library of Alexandria Museum is part of the Library of Alexandria. It was established in 2001 and is dedicated to antiquities, manuscripts and rare books, numbering nearly 50,000 manuscripts and 50,000 documents. Also featured are the collections of the late President Anwar Sadat as well as a panorama of his life.

Cairo museum
An item is displayed at Cairo’s Museum of Islamic Art after it reopened to the public on January 19, 2017, in Cairo. Photo: MOHAMED EL-SHAHED / AFP ©AFP ⁃ MOHAMED EL-SHAHED

Egyptian Museum

The Egyptian Museum is considered one of the largest and most important museums in the world and the most important museum in the country, both for its cultural value and its many priceless collections. The building was designed by French architect Marcel Dornon and its foundation stone was laid on 1 April 1897 in the presence of Khedive Abbas Helmi II in the northern part of Tahrir Square in central Cairo.

The museum contains more than 180,000 antiquities gathered mostly from archaeological collections found inside the prehistoric royal tombs, the Foundation Era, the ancient, middle and modern states and later eras. The most prominent of the museum’s collections are statues and collectibles of kings, queens and royal families including Tutankhamun, Hatshepsut, Thutmose III and Ramses II, as well as war wheels, papyrus, ornaments, the Akhenaten Collection, the statues of Amenhotep III and his wife Tiye, a collection of amulets, writing and agriculture tools and royal mummies displayed in a special hall.

Besides the Egyptian Museum, the Governorate of Cairo has 34 other museums, the most important of which is the National Museum of Egyptian Civilization.

Grand Egyptian Museum

After the Egyptian Museum ran out of space, the government decided to build a new museum on a huge plot of nearly 50 hectares near the Giza pyramids to accommodate new archaeological discoveries and some of the pieces from the Egyptian Museum. The foundation stone of the Grand Egyptian Museum was laid in 2002 and construction is scheduled for completion in mid-2020. The collection will feature approximately 150,000 antiquities and 17 archaeological restoration plants. The museum was established with Egyptian-Japanese cooperation, in which Japan provided financial support in the form of facilitated loans amounting to $800 million, in addition to technical cooperation in the preservation, restoration, packaging and transportation of the antiquities.

Celebrity Museums

Umm Kulthum Museum

Umm Kulthum museum
A collection of Umm Kulthum’s personal belongings at Um Kalthoum museum in Cairo. Photo: ANDREW BLACK / AFP ©AFP ⁃ ANDREW BLACK

Due to the artistic and historical importance of the late Egyptian singer Umm Kulthum, nicknamed the ‘Star of the East’, a museum was dedicated to her in one of the buildings attached to the historic Manasterly Palace overlooking the Nile. Built in 1998, the Umm Kulthum Museum includes the singer’s belongings and highlights her role in enriching Egyptian and Arab art.

Against a soundtrack of her songs, five halls tell the story of her life and achievements. Besides the main hall, there is a cinema, audiovisual library, panorama hall and a documentary hall. These halls also display the dresses she wore for some of her most iconic performances.

Other items include rare manuscripts of the most important poems sung by Umm Kulthum, which were composed by her poet friends, in addition to her gramophone, her copy of the Koran with a hard cover decorated with shells, the first contract she signed with the Egyptian Radio Station in 1934, her diplomatic passport, a number of diaries dating back to 1965 and letters of thanks addressed to her by presidents Gamal Abdel Nasser and Anwar Sadat for her contribution to the war effort in 1955 and 1973.

Moreover, the museum displays the decorations the singer received, such as the Nile Medal awarded by Gamal Abdel Nasser, Lebanon’s National Order of the Cedar, the Syrian Order of Civil Merit, the Medal of Intellectual Competence from Morocco and the Pakistani Star of Excellence. The museum’s library contains dozens of magazines that featured Umm Kulthum between 1924 and 2000, alongside master’s and PhD dissertations written by singing students that mention her. The screening halls show a documentary about her life as well as clips from her films and concerts translated into English and French.

Across Egypt, dozens of museums contain millions of antiquities and sculptures dating back millennia as well as specialized museums such as the Geological Museum, the War Museum, the Wax Museum, the Islamic Museum, the Coptic Museum and the Agricultural Museum. This is in addition to museums dedicated to historical figures, such as the late leaders Saad Zaghloul, Mustafa Kamel and Gamal Abdel Nasser and singer, actor and composer Mohamed Abdel Wahab, as well as royal and presidential palaces that later became museums.

© Copyright Notice

click on link to view the associated photo/image
©AFP ⁃ MOHAMED EL-SHAHED | ©AFP ⁃ MOHAMED EL-SHAHED | ©AFP ⁃ MOHAMED EL-SHAHED | ©AFP ⁃ ANDREW BLACK

We would like to ask you something …

Fanack is an independent media organisation, not funded by any state or any interest group, that distributes in the Middle East and the wider world unbiased analysis and background information, based on facts, about the Middle East and North Africa.

The website grew rapidly in breadth and depth and today forms a rich and valuable source of information on 21 countries, from Morocco to Oman and from Iran to Yemen, both in Arabic and English. We currently reach six million readers annually and growing fast.

In order to guarantee the impartiality of information on the Chronicle, articles are published without by-lines. This also allows correspondents to write more freely about sensitive or controversial issues in their country. All articles are fact-checked before publication to ensure that content is accurate, current and unbiased.

To run such a website is very expensive. With a small donation, you can make a huge impact. And it only takes a minute. Thank you.