فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / مصر / المجتمع والإعلام والثقافة / الثقافة / المأكولات

المأكولات المصرية

الكُشَري
الكُشَري

المأكولات المصرية بسيطة نسبياً، وإنما لذيذة. والعديد من الأطباق تشبه تلك التي في جميع أنحاء شرق البحر الأبيض المتوسط والشرق الأوسط.

دون شك، الخبز هو المادة الأكثر أهمية في غذاء المصريين؛ ويتم تناوله مع كافة الوجبات تقريباً. فليس من المستغرب استخدام اللفظة المصرية العامية “العيش” لـ “الخبز” و “الحياة” على حد سواء. فالملايين من الناس يحصلون على حصتهم اليومية من الخبز من المخابز المدعومة من الحكومة. يتم توزيع الخبز المستدير والمسطّح من خلال نوافذ بقضبان حديدية مقابل 25 – 50 قرش لكل رغيف، أي أقل من 0,01 دولار.

الأجبان

في الغالب، تستخدم الجبنة البلدية في تحضير السندويش، وهي على نوعين: الجبنة البيضاء، وهي جبنة بيضاء طرية مختلفة الملوحة؛ والجبنة الرومي، وهي صفراء قاسية وحادة الطعم.

الخضروات

مع ارتفاع أسعار اللحوم والدجاج باطراد في السنوات الأخيرة، يتناول العديد من المصريين الخضروات بشكل رئيسي. لحسن الحظ، يزوّد دلتا النيل البلاد بالخضروات الطازجة كثيرة العصارة وطيبة المذاق على مدار السنة. غالباً ما يتم طهي الخضراوات، مثل الباميا والفاصولياء وأنواع مختلفة من الكوسا، في صلصة الطماطم المكثفة. تشمل الأطباق الشعبية المصرية: الفول المدمس (فول مدمس مهروس، غالباً ما يؤكل على الفطور) والملوخية (حساء أخضر مصنوع من الملوخية المفرومة والثوم والكزبرة) والكُشَري (عدس بني، معكرونة، أرز، حمص، وصلصة طماطم حارة). و “المَحشي” طبق آخر مشهور، عبارة عن خضروات مثل ورق العنب والملفوف والفلفل الأخضر والباذنجان والكوسا والطماطم (البندورة) التي يتم حشوها بالأرز الحار المخلوط مع الأعشاب الخضراء الطازجة، مثل الكزبرة والبقدونس والشبت، ونادراً ما تخلط مع اللحم المفروم. وتتوفر محلات الفلافل (الطعمية) في كل زاوية شارع.

اللحوم والدواجن والأسماك

يتم تحضير لحوم البقر والخروف والجاموس والماعز بطرق مختلفة. وتكون مشوية على الفحم على أسياخ بعد تقطيعها إلى قطع (كباب)، أو فرمها (كفتة)؛ وإما تقطّع طولياً (شاورما) وتُلف في الخبز البلدي (خبز كبير ومدور يشبه خبز الصاج) مع الطماطم والخضار المخلل والطحينة؛ أو تطهى ببطء مع يخنة الخضروات.

بما أن الدجاج هو أرخص اللحوم، فهو أكثرها استهلاكاً؛ ويتم تناوله إمّا مطبوخاً أو مشوياً أو مقلياً أو كالشاورما.

كما يستمتع معظم المصريين بتناول الأسماك والمحار، والتي تأتي من البحر الأبيض المتوسط والبحر الأحمر ونهر النيل وبحيرة ناصر.

الحلويات

في الواقع، لا يمكن أن تكون الحلويات المصرية إلا حلوة جداً. فغالباً ما تكون المعجنات والحلويات مشبعة بشراب السكر (القَطْر). ومن الحلويات: البقلاوة (عجينة الفيلو مع العسل والمكسرات)، والقطايف (فطائر محشوة بالكريما أو المكسرات)، والكنافة (معجنات مصنوعة من خيوط رقيقة من العجين محشوة بالجبن الأبيض)، والفطير (فطائر محشوة بأي مادة من البيض إلى المشمش)، والأكثر شعبية البسبوسة (عجينة مصنوعة من السميد ومشبعة بشراب السكر ومزينة بالمكسرات). وتشمل حلوى البودينج: حلويات الأرز بالحليب/اللبن، والمهلبيّة (نشاء الذرة)، والبِليلة (بودنج الحليب الساخن مع القمح الكامل، وتؤكل في كثير من الأحيان كوجبة إفطار)، وعاشورا (بودينغ القمح مع المكسرات والزبيب وماء الورد، وتؤكل يوم عاشوراء)، وأم علي (حلوى مصنوعة من المعجنات الرقيقة والمكسرات وزبيب منقوع في الحليب).

القهوة والشاي

تلعب المقاهي دوراً هاماً في المجتمع المصري، فهي ليست مجرد مكان لتناول المشروبات. غالباً ما يرتاد المقاهي الرجال على نحو متكرر للالتقاء بأصدقائهم والاسترخاء، وترك المنزل للنساء. كما يقوم البعض بالأعمال التجارية من المقاهي: فالعديد من السباكين والنجارين المستقلين، وغيرهم من المهنيين، يتواجدون في المقهى، حيث يسهل على عملائهم الوصول إليهم. فهناك تبرم الاتفاقات وتعقد الصفقات التجارية وتسوى الخلافات.

كما تخدم سلاسل المقاهي الأجنبية، مثل Starbucks الأمريكية وكوستا البريطانية، نفس الأغراض، وتوفر للنساء فرصة إدارة أعمالهم. ومع توفير خدمة الواي فاي المجانية، تجذب هذه المقاهي الأجنبية زبائن أكثر تنوعاً.

رغم قدوم هذه المقاهي الجديدة، تتوفر المقاهي التقليدية بكثرة وتكون مكتظة بالزبائن. فالقهوة التركية والشاي الثقيل هي المشروبات الأكثر رواجاً فيها. يتم تحضير القهوة التركية بغلي مسحوق حبوب القهوة العربية في الماء مع السكر، مع حبوب الهيل أحياناً. وعند طلب فنجان قهوة، يحدد الزيون كمية السكر التي يريدها: زيادة (حلوة جداً)، مزبوط (معتدل)، عالريحة (حلو قليل)، سادة (سوداء).

في حين يختلف مذاق القهوة من شخص لآخر، يفضل معظم المصريين تناول الشاي شديد الحلاوة. غالباً ما يقدم كوب الشاي في جميع المناسبات، ولا يجوز رفضه. وقد يكون عبارة عن كوب من الماء الساخن مع ظرف من شاي ليبتون، ولكن الشاي الحقيقي هو مشروب ثقيل مصنوع من الماء المغلي مع أوراق الشاي المحلّي.

© Copyright Notice

Please contact us in case of omissions concerning copyright-protected work. The acquired copyright protected images used on/as featured image of this page are: Dina Said ©WIKIMEDIA COMMONS

ملف التحديث الإقليمي COVID-19

احصل على آخر تحديث عن تفشي فيروس كورونا في الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا

تطورات فيروس كورونا

الجهل يقود إلى الخوف، الخوف يقود إلى الكراهية، والكراهية تقود إلى العنف هذه هي المعادلة.
ابن رشد (١١٢٦ – ١١٩٨)

إن مؤسستنا منظمةٌ هولندية غير حكومية لا تسعى لتحقيق الأرباح. هذه المؤسسة يجري تمويلها بصورةٍ حصرية عبر أفرادٍ يشاركوننا الإيمان بضرورة نشر معلومات موثوقة وغير متحيزة عن منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا، محاكين بذلك المزاج الشعبي السائد في المنطقة ولنعبّر عن صوت أبناء المنطقة بما نقدمه من معلومات ناجعة وتتحلى بالمصداقية.

ولذلك، فإننا نقدّر عالياً ما تقدمه لنا من دعمٍ وسنحرص على أن يعكس هذا الدعم بطريقةٍ إيجابية على الصالح العام!

Fanack Home / Egypt / Society, Media & Culture / Culture / Food

Egyptian Food

Kushari
Kushari

Egyptian cooking is relatively simple but tasty. Many dishes are similar to the food found throughout the eastern Mediterranean and the Middle East.

Bread

Bread is, without a doubt, the most important item of the Egyptian diet; it is eaten with almost all meals. No wonder there is one colloquial Egyptian Arabic word, eish, for both ‘bread’ and ‘life’. Millions of people get their daily ration of bread from government-subsidized bakeries. The round flat breads are distributed through a barred window for 25 to 50 piasters each, less than USD 0.01.

Cheese

A native cheese called gibnehis used mostly for sandwiches and comes in two varieties, gibneh beida, a soft white cheese of variable saltiness, and gibneh Rumi, a sharp, hard, yellow cheese.

Vegetables

As the price of meat and chicken has risen steadily in recent years, many Egyptians eat mainly vegetables. Fortunately, the Nile Delta provides the country with fresh, juicy, and tasty vegetables all year round. Vegetables such as okra, beans, and various types of squash, are typically cooked in a thick tomato sauce. Popular Egyptian dishes include ful medames (mashed fava beans, often eaten for breakfast), molokheya (a green soup made from the finely chopped mallow leaves, garlic, and coriander), and kushari (brown lentils, macaroni, rice, chickpeas, and a spicy tomato sauce). Another famous dish is mahshi, made with vegetables such as grape leaves, cabbage leaves, green peppers, aubergines, courgettes, and tomatoes that are stuffed with spicy rice mixed with fresh green herbs, such as coriander, parsley, and dill, and rarely mixed with minced meat. Falafel, or tameeya, is available on every street corner.

Meat, poultry, fish

Beef, lamb, buffalo, and goat meat is prepared in various ways. Skewered and grilled on charcoal, either in chunks (kebab) or minced and rolled (kofta); shredded (shawerma) and stuffed into baladi bread (large, flat, rounded, pita-like bread) with tomatoes, pickled vegetables, and tahini sauce; or slow cooked in a vegetable stew.

Because chicken is cheaper than other meats, much more of it is consumed, grilled, cooked, fried, or as shoarma.

Most Egyptians also enjoy fish and shellfish, which comes from the Mediterranean, the Red Sea, the Nile, and Lake Nasser.

Desserts

Egyptian desserts really cannot be too sweet. Pastries and puddings are usually drenched in sugar syrup. Among the pastries is baklava (filo dough, honey, and nuts), atayef (small dumplings stuffed with cream or nuts), konafa (a pastry made of thin strings of dough stuffed with white cheese), fateer (pancakes stuffed with anything from eggs to apricots), and, one of the most popular, basbousa (semolina pastry soaked in sugar syrup and topped with nuts). Puddings include ruz bi-laban (rice pudding), mehalabeya (corn-starch pudding), bileela (a hot-milk pudding with whole wheat, often eaten for breakfast), ashura (a wheat pudding with nuts, raisins, and rose water that is eaten on the holy day of Ashura), and Umm Ali (a pudding made of thin pastry, nuts, and raisins soaked in milk).

Coffee and tea

Not simply a place to go for a beverage, coffee houses play an important role in Egyptian society. It is mainly men who frequent coffee houses to meet and relax with their friends, leaving the home to the women. People also run their businesses from coffee houses: Many independent plumbers, carpenters, and other professionals will be at the coffee house, where they can be reached by customers. Business deals will be closed, agreements made, and disagreements settled.

Even the foreign coffee chains, such as the American Starbucks and the British Costa Coffee, serve the same purposes and also provide women an opportunity to run their businesses. As they offer Wi-Fi, these foreign chains also tend to attract a more diverse clientele.

Despite these newcomers, traditional coffee and tea houses are still as plentiful as they are crowded. Here, Turkish coffee and strong tea are the prevalent drinks. Turkish coffee is made by boiling a mixture of very finely ground Arabica coffee beans, water, sugar, and sometimes cardamom seeds. When ordering a cup, one states the amount of sugar desired: ziyada (very sweet), mazbut (just right), ariha (very slightly sweetened), or sada (black).

While tastes in coffee vary, most Egyptians prefer their tea as sweet as possible. A cup of shai is offered in almost any situation and should not be declined. This often means just a glass of hot water with a Lipton teabag in it, but a true shai is a strong brew made from boiling water and local tea leaves together in the kettle.

© Copyright Notice

Please contact us in case of omissions concerning copyright-protected work. The acquired copyright protected images used on/as featured image of this page are: Dina Said ©WIKIMEDIA COMMONS

COVID-19 UPDATE

Get the latest update on the Coronavirus outbreak in the Middle East and North Africa.

Regional Update

"Ignorance leads to fear, fear leads to hatred, and hatred leads to violence.
This is the equation."

IBN RUSHD/AVERROES (1126 – 1198)

We are a Dutch not for profit organisation (NGO), financed solely by individuals who share our belief in the importance of publishing and disseminating reliable, unbiased information on the Middle East & North Africa region. To represent the voice of the region’s people, we carefully echo the region’s heartbeat by offering fact-checked and therefore credible information.

Your support is greatly appreciated and helpful!