فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / مصر / المجتمع والإعلام والثقافة / الثقافة / الأدب

الأدب

تمثال نجيب محفوظ في القاهرة
تمثال نجيب محفوظ في القاهرة

تعتبر مصر مهد الأدب العربي الحديث، وتضم العديد من دور النشر، بعضها يعود إلى أكثر من 100 سنة، مثل دار الهلال ودار البستاني ودار المعارف. وهي موطن الأدباء الكبار من أمثال توفيق الحكيم (1898-1987) الذي طوّر الدراما العربية؛ وطه حسين (1889-1973) الملقب بعميد الأدب العربي؛ ويوسف إدريس (1927-1991) الذي يعتبر سيد القصة القصيرة؛ ونجيب محفوظ (1911-2006) الروائي العربي الوحيد الذي حصل على جائزة نوبل للآداب.

الكتب منتشرة في كل مكان في مصر بأساليبها المتنوعة، من الطبيعية والتاريخية والرومانسية والواقعية الاجتماعية إلى الروايات الواقعية الخيالية والسياسية والفردانية والتصويرية. تعج القاهرة بالمكتبات الشهيرة، مثل مدبولي والشروق، وأكشاك بيع الكتب في الشوارع. تستضيف البلاد سنوياً إحدى أكبر معارض الكتب في العالم العربي، معرض القاهرة للكتاب، وفيها إحدى أقدم أسواق الكتب المستعملة: سور الأزبكية.

تعيق الأدب عدة عوامل: ارتفاع نسبة الأمية ورقابة وزارة الثقافة والأزهر. كان هناك محاولات كثيرة لعكس انخفاض نسبة القراءة، من برامج مكافحة الأمية إلى إحدى المشاريع القليلة ذات السمعة الجيدة التي قامت بها سيدة مصر الأولى السابقة، سوزان مبارك: “حملة القراءة للجميع”. كما ساعد إنشاء دور نشر مستقلة مستعدة لتحمل المزيد من الأعباء، وانتشار الإنترنت التي وفّرت صوتاً لكثيرين، على الحفاظ على سمعة مصر كبلد رائد في تطور الأدب في العالم العربي.

نجيب محفوظ

"نجيب
نجيب محفوظ

كان نجيب محفوظ (1911-2006) أول (والوحيد حتى الآن) أديب عربي فاز بجائزة نوبل في الآداب لعام 1988. فخلال حياته المهنية مدة 70 عاماً، نشر 34 رواية وأكثر من 350 قصة قصيرة وعشرات نصوص الأفلام وخمس مسرحيات. تُرجمت أعماله إلى أكثر من 40 لغة، والعديد منها إلى أفلام ناجحة في مصر والمكسيك.

تأثر محفوظ بمجموعة واسعة من الأساليب الأدبية، العربية والغربية على حد سواء. واستلهم من قراءة الروايات البوليسية الغربية والكلاسيكية الروسية وأعمال Proust و Kafka و Joyce الحديثة.

كتب محفوظ بأساليب متعددة، بدءً من الروايات التاريخية مثل “كفاح طيبة” (1944) إلى الروايات الطبيعية في خمسينات القرن العشرين، أهمها “ثلاثية القاهرة”. وفي رواياته الثلاثة “بين القصرين” و “قصر الشوق” و “السكرية”، التي كتبها في الحي الذي نشأ وترعرع فيه، يصور محفوظ حياة عائلة على مدى ثلاثة أجيال، من أوائل العشرينات حتى الخمسينات من القرن العشرين، حيث تمت الإطاحة بالملك فاروق. وفي ستينات القرن العشرين، اتبع محفوظ أسلوب الواقعية النقدية عندما كتب روايات مثل “اللص والكلاب” (1961) و “السمان والخريف” (1962) و “ميرامار” (1967). كما نشر العديد من الروايات بأسلوب رمزي، أشهرها “أولاد جبلاوي” والمعروفة أيضاً باسم “أولاد حارتنا”. نشر محفوظ هذه الرواية عام 1959، ولكن تم حظرها حتى عام 2006 لتصويره المجازي لـ “الله” والأديان السماوية الثلاث، اليهودية والمسيحية والإسلام. وواصل النشر بأساليب مختلفة حتى وفاته.

منعت كتبه في العديد من الدول العربية لعدة سنوات، رداً على دعمه الصريح لجهود السادات للتوصل إلى اتفاق سلام مع إسرائيل. تعرض محفوظ للتهديد من قبل متطرفين إسلاميين بسبب روايته “أولاد حارتنا”، وحظرها الأزهر الذي اعتبرها تجديفاً. ثم ازدادت الأمور سوءً عندما أدان علناً فتوى قتل الكاتب البريطاني سلمان رشدي التي صدرت في إيران، رغم أنه وجد في كتابه “آيات شيطانية” ما يهين الإسلام. عام 1994، وفي سن الـ 82، هوجم محفوظ وطُعن في رقبته خارج منزله في القاهرة. عانى محفوظ من تلف شديد في أعصاب في يده اليمنى، مما جعل الكتابة أمراً صعباً للغاية. وحُكم على الشاب المتطرف الذي حاول اغتيال محفوظ بالإعدام.

علاء الأسواني

علاء الأسواني
علاء الأسواني

نجم جديد سطع على الساحة الأدبية المصرية، وهو طبيب الأسنان علاء الأسواني (مواليد 1957) الذي تحول إلى أديب. فبعد كتابة أعمدة في الصحف المصرية عن الأدب والسياسة والقضايا الاجتماعية، والمشاركة في تأسيس حركة كفاية للتغيير قبل ثورة يناير، دخل الأسواني تجربة الكتابة الروائية. حققت روايته الثانية، عمارة يعقوبيان، نجاحاً بارزاً على نطاق واسع، على صعيد مصر وبقية العالم العربي؛ حتى بات الأسواني المؤلف العربي الأول الذي حطم الأرقام القياسيّة في بيع أكثر من مليون نسخة من كتاب واحد. وازدادت شهرته بعد ترجمة الرواية إلى 31 لغة. عام 2006، تم تعديل الكتاب ليكون فيلماً ناجحاً (2006) ومسلسلاً تلفزيونياً (2007).

في كانون الثاني/يناير 2007، نشر الأسواني رواية  “شيكاغو”، عن الجالية المصرية في مدينة أمريكية حيث تدرب هو نفسه كطبيب أسنان. ومنذ قيام الثورة، ركّز الأسواني أكثر على التحليل والنشاط السياسي.

كما ظهر في مصر العديد من الكاتبات البارزات، مثل الناشطة النسائية نوال السعداوي (مواليد 1931)؛ وكاتبة القصة القصيرة أليفة رفعت (1930-1996)؛ وميرال الطحاوي (1968) التي حازت على وسام نجيب محفوظ للآداب. تبذل الجامعة الأمريكية في القاهرة جهوداً كبيرة لترجمة الأعمال الأدبية للكتاب المصريين إلى اللغة الإنجليزية.

دعمكم عونٌ لنا

فَنَك هي مؤسسة إعلامية إلكترونية مستقلة، لا تمولها أي دولة أو مجموعات مصالح. تلتزم فَنَك بنشر تحليلاتٍ مبنية على الوقائع ومحايدة، إلى جانب التقارير المواضيعية حول الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا.
شهد الموقع نمواً سريعاً في نطاق وعمق المعلومات التي يُقدمها، واليوم، بات يُشكل مصدراً غنياً وقيماً للمعلومات عن 21 بلداً، من المغرب إلى عُمان ومن إيران إلى اليمن، باللغتين العربية والإنجليزية. حالياً، وصل عدد القراء إلى 6 ملايين سنوياً، والعدد آخذٌ بالإزدياد.
لضمان حيادية المعلومات على موقع فَنَك (وقائع وأحداث) ، تُنشر المقالات دون ذكر أسماء الكتّاب، مما يُتيح أيضاً لمراسلينا مساحة أكبر من الحرية عند التطرق إلى القضايا الحساسة أو المثيرة للجدل فى بلادهم. وإلى جانب ذلك، نتحرى حقائق جميع المعلومات الواردة في مقالاتنا قبل النشر لضمان دقة المعلومات، وحداثتها وحيادها.

استمرارية تشغيل مثل هذا الموقع الإلكتروني مُكلفة للغاية. بتبرعٍ صغيرٍ منك، يمكنك المساهمة في الحفاظ على حرية واستقلالية تغطيتنا.

Fanack Home / Egypt / Society, Media & Culture / Culture / Literature

Literature

Naguib Mafhouz’ statue in Cairo

Egypt is the birthplace of modern Arabic literature and boasts numerous publishing houses, some of them more than a hundred years old, such as Dar al-Hilal, Dar al-Bustani, and Dar al-Maarif. This is the home of such great authors as Tawfiq al-Hakim (1898-1987), who developed Arabic drama; Taha Hussein (1889-1973), nicknamed the Dean of Arabic literature; Yusuf Idris (1927-1991), who is considered to be the master of the Arabic short story; and Naguib Mahfouz (1911-2006), the only Arab novelist to win the Nobel Prize for Literature.

Written in styles that vary from the naturalistic, historical, romantic, and social realist to the magical realist, politically engaged, individualist, and graphic novels, books are everywhere in Egypt. Cairo is bustling with famous bookshops, such as Madbouli and al-Shorouk, libraries, and book stands on the streets. Annually, the country hosts one of the largest book fairs of the Arab world, the Cairo Book Fair, and has one of the oldest second-hand book markets, Sur al-Azbakeya.

Literature is, however, handicapped by several factors, including the high illiteracy rate and censorship by the Ministry of Culture and the religious institution of al-Azhar. Much has been done to reverse the decline in reading, from programmes to combat illiteracy to one of the few projects of good repute undertaken by Egypt’s former first lady, Suzanne Mubarak, the Reading-for-All Campaign. The establishment of independent publishing houses that are willing to take more risks, and the spread of the Internet, which has given a voice to many, help maintain Egypt’s reputation as the leader in literary development in the Arab world.

Naguib Mahfouz

Naguib Mahfouz

Naguib Mahfouz (1911-2006) was the first (and so far the only) Arabic-language writer to win the Nobel Prize in Literature, in 1988. During his career of seventy years, he published 34 novels, over 350 short stories, dozens of movie scripts, and five plays. His works have been translated into more than forty languages. Many of them have been made into successful films in Egypt, and several have been adapted into film in Mexico.

Mahfouz was influenced by a wide variety of literary styles, both Arab and Western. For inspiration he read Western detective stories, Russian classics, and modernist works of Proust, Kafka, and Joyce. Mahfouz tried his pen at many styles, starting with historical novels such as The Struggle of Thebes (1944) and moving in the 1950s to naturalistic novels, of which The Cairo Trilogy was the most important. In the three novels Palace Walk, Palace of Desire, and Sugar Street, set in the neighbourhood where he grew up, Mahfouz depicted the life of a family over three generations, from the early 20th century to the 1950s, when King Farouk was overthrown. In the 1960s he got into critical realism, with such novels as The Thief and the Dogs (1961), Quail and Autumn (1962), and Miramar (1967). He also published several novels in the symbolist style, the best known of which is Children of Gebelawi, also called Children of Our Alley. Mahfouz originally published this novel in 1959, but it was banned until 2006 for its allegorical portrayal of God and the three monotheistic faiths, Judaism, Christianity, and Islam. He continued to publish, in various styles, until his death.

For some years, his books were banned in many Arab countries in response to his outspoken support for Sadat’s efforts to reach a peace agreement with Israel. Mahfouz was threatened by Islamic extremists for his novel Children of Our Alley, which was considered blasphemous and was banned by al-Azhar. Matters got worse when he publicly condemned the Iranian death-fatwa against the British author Salman Rushdie, even though he found The Satanic Verses to be insulting to Islam. In 1994, at the age of 82, he was attacked and stabbed in the neck outside his house in Cairo. Mahfouz suffered severe nerve damage to his right hand, making writing extremely difficult. The young extremist who attempted to assassinate Mahfouz was sentenced to death and executed.

Alaa al-Aswany

Alaa al-Aswany

The new literary star on the Egyptian scene is dentist-turned-writer Alaa al-Aswany (born 1957). After writing columns in Egyptian newspapers on literature, politics, and social issues, co-founding the Kefaya movement for change prior to the January Revolution, al-Aswany tried his hand at novel writing. His second novel, The Yacoubian Building, was an instant hit and was so widely read in Egypt and the rest of the Arab world that al-Aswany is the first Arab author to have sold more than one million copies of a single book. His success grew after the novel was translated into 31 languages. In 2006, the book was adapted into a successful film (2006) and a television series (2007).

In January 2007, al-Aswany published Chicago, a novel about the Egyptian community in the American city where he himself was trained as a dentist. Since the revolution, al-Aswany has focused more on political analysis and activism.

Egypt also has several notable female writers, including the strident feminist activist Nawal al-Saadawi (born 1931), short-story writer Alifa Rifaat (1930-1996), and Miral al-Tahawy (1968), who won the Naguib Mahfouz Medal for Literature. The American University in Cairo Press makes great efforts to translate literary works of Egyptian authors into English.

We would like to ask you something …

Fanack is an independent media organisation, not funded by any state or any interest group, that distributes in the Middle East and the wider world unbiased analysis and background information, based on facts, about the Middle East and North Africa.

The website grew rapidly in breadth and depth and today forms a rich and valuable source of information on 21 countries, from Morocco to Oman and from Iran to Yemen, both in Arabic and English. We currently reach six million readers annually and growing fast.

In order to guarantee the impartiality of information on the Chronicle, articles are published without by-lines. This also allows correspondents to write more freely about sensitive or controversial issues in their country. All articles are fact-checked before publication to ensure that content is accurate, current and unbiased.

To run such a website is very expensive. With a small donation, you can make a huge impact. And it only takes a minute. Thank you.