فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / مصر / المجتمع والإعلام والثقافة / الثقافة / الأدب / مع تزايد حظر كتبهم، الكتّاب في مصر تحت التهديد

مع تزايد حظر كتبهم، الكتّاب في مصر تحت التهديد

Egypt- Book market egypt
بائع يرتب كتباً في سوق الكتب التاريخي، سور الأزبكية، في وسط القاهرة في 16 يناير 2019. Photo AFP ©AFP ⁃ Mohamed el-Shahed

يزداد وضع الكتّاب المصريين صعوبة، حيث أن الكثيرين منهم في المنفى أو حتى يواجهون عقوبة السجن في الديار. أصبح التعبير عن الآراء النقدية أو المتعارضة حول السياسة أو الأخلاق أو الدين خطاً أحمر، واليوم، يخشى كثيرٌ من الكتاب نشر أي شيءٍ على الإطلاق.

فقد تمت مقاضاة الروائي المصري علاء الأسواني في مارس 2019 في محكمةٍ عسكرية بتهمة إهانة الرئيس والجيش والقضاء والتحريض على النظام. ويبدو أن السبب المباشر للدعوى هو أحد مقالاتٍ الأسواني الأسبوعية للمنفذ الألماني دويتشه فيله، حيث انتقد بشدة انخراط الجيش المصري في السياسة.

كمت يبدو أن رواية الأسواني الأخيرة “جمهورية كأن ،” لعبت دوراً. ووصف مقدم البرامج التلفزيوني نشأت الديهي الرواية في برنامجه بأنها “غير مهذبة” وتعارض “أخلاق الناس” وقال إنها أدت إلى توجيه اتهاماتٍ ضد المؤلف. تم حظر الكتاب في مصر وطبعه في النهاية ناشر لبناني. وبحسب ما قاله الأسواني لنا في فَنَك، “شعر ناشري المصري بخوفٍ كبير.”

وأضاف “تعرضت للهجوم في وسائل الإعلام بسبب الرواية ،” وتابع “تدور أحداثها أثناء الثورة [وتتحدث] حول الأشخاص الذين قتلهم السلطات وفحوصات العذرية.” كما تحدث أعضاء البرلمان ضد الرواية، قائلين إنها تتبع “أجندة غربية.”

يُقيم الأسواني الآن في الولايات المتحدة، حيث يقول إن العمل أصبح مستحيلاً بالنسبة له في مصر. وبصرف النظر عن روايته، تم حظر ندوة شهرية اعتاد تقديمها في عام 2015، إذ قال “لا أعتقد أنني سأعود إلى مصر في أي وقتٍ قريب.” وأضاف “يمكن تعديل قرار محكمة عسكرية من قبل الرئيس ووزارة الدفاع ، لذلك لا توجد عملية قضائية حقيقية يمكن الفوز بها.”

الأسواني ليس استثناءً عندما يتعلق الأمر بالكتاب المعرضين للتهديد في مصر. يعيش أحمد ناجي أيضاً في المنفى اختياري فرض عليه في الولايات المتحدة. ففي عام 2016، حُكم عليه بالسجن لمدة عامين بسبب انتهاكه الحياء العام بعد نشر مقطعٍ مثير في إحدى رواياته في مجلة ثقافية.

فقد قال لنا ناجي، “يخشى العديد من الكتاب النشر [في مصر]. أعرف كتّاباً يحاولون اليوم نشر كتبهم في لبنان وحتى الخليج.”

الحملة الحكومية على الكتب أوسع من مجرد عددٍ قليل من الكتاب المحددين. فقد تمت مداهمة سلسلة مكتبات الكرامة في عام 2016 وتم إغلاقها فيما بعد.كما تمت مداهمة دار ميريت للنشر في عام 2015 ومرةً أخرى في أواخر عام 2017. كما أجبرت مكتبة البلد على الإغلاق في عام 2017.

وعلاوةً على ذلك، تمت مداهمة العديد من فروع مكتبة ألف بسبب علاقات المالك المزعومة مع جماعة الإخوان المسلمين، وبحسب ما قاله ناجي، “ألف الآن تحت سيطرة صحيفة الأخبار الحكومية. كان لديها في السابق 20 فرعاً والآن لديها فقط خمسة أو ستة. كل شهر يتم إغلاق أحد الفروع.”

كما ينبغي على كتّاب القصص غير الخيالية أيضاً توخي الحذر. ففي أكتوبر 2018، تم احتجاز الخبير الاقتصادي عبد الخالق فاروق، مؤلف كتاب “هل مصر بلد فقير حقاً” وناشره بتهمة نشر أخبارٍ كاذبة. ويقول الكتاب أن الفقر في مصر يرجع إلى سياسات الحكومة السيئة والفساد. تم إطلاق سراح فاروق وناشره بعد أيامٍ قليلة؛ ومع ذلك لم نتمكن من التواصل معه للتعليق على ما إذا كانت القضية لا تزال قائمةً وما إذا كان كتابه قد تم حظره رسمياً.

وبصرف النظر عن السياسة والأخلاق، يمكن أن يكون المساس بالدين حقل ألغامٍ آخر للكتاب. فقد تلقى كرم صابر عقوبة بالسجن لمدة خمس سنوات في عام 2013 بتهمة ازدراء الدين والتشهير بسبب روايته “أين الله،” التي يروي فيها حياة المزارعين الفقراء في صعيد مصر.

وبغض النظر عن الحكم الصادر بحقه بالسجن، يعتقد ناجي أن هذه الحملة المنهجية على عالم الكتابة لم تبدأ إلا في عام 2018. “وقبل ذلك، كان يتم النظر إلى كل حالة على حدتها،” على حد قوله.

وبحسب ناجي، اتخذت الأمور منحى أسوأ خلال حفل توقيع كتاب الشاعر جلال البحيري في معرض القاهرة للكتاب في عام 2018 لمجموعةٍ من قصائده تحمل عنواناً ساخراً للجيش. كانت المجموعة تحمل عنوان “خير نسوان الأرض،” في إشارةٍ واضحة إلى وصف للجيش المصري الموجود في أحد الأحاديث أو الأقوال المنسوبة إلى النبي محمد على أنهم “خير أجناد الأرض.” حكم على البحيري بالسجن ثلاث سنوات أمام محكمةٍ عسكرية في يوليو 2018.

ويقول ناجي، “منذ ذلك الحين، تم حظر العديد من الكتب.” وأوضح، “قبل ذلك، كان يمكنك بسهولة طلب الترقيم الدولي الموحد للكتب (ISBN ). أما الآن فأنت بحاجة إلى شهادة مفادها أن الكتاب لا يتضمن أي شيءٍ ضد مؤسسات الدولة، وكذلك جميع التفاصيل عن الكاتب. بعد الحصول على الترقيم الدولي الموحد للكتب، يحتاجون إلى نسخ من الكتاب لإرسالها إلى المخابرات العامة والأمن القومي.”

وعلاوةً على ذلك، نظمت نسخة معرض القاهرة الدولي للكتاب لعام 2019 في ضاحية التجمع الخامس البعيدة “ليكون بمقدورهم السيطرة عليه،” كما يعتقد ناجي. وأضاف أنه طُلب من الناشرين أن يرسلوا مسبقاً العناوين التي يريدون عرضها.

وقال ناجي: “لا يخاف السيسي من [الظروف] الاقتصادية أو الإرهاب، بل من الكتب.” وتابع القول، “[الرئيس السابق] مبارك سمح برواية أخرى [معارضة لرواية الدولة المهيمنة] وهم [الحكومة الحالية] لا يريدون أن تندلع [الثورة] مرةً أخرى. لذا الآن يريدون السيطرة على جميع وسائل الإعلام والمحادثات والتلفزيون والصحف والكتب. هم يريدون السيطرة على من له تأثيرٌ على الجمهور ومن لا يملك ذلك. والكتب تتمتع بالقوة. يمكنها تغيير الرأي العام.”

وبالنسبة إلى ناجي، فإن تقليد الأدبي المصري الذي أدى إلى ظهور كتّاب أسطوريين – مثل نجيب محفوظ الحائز على جائزة نوبل وبهاء طاهر- من بين العديد من الآخرين- قد تلاشى إلى حدٍ كبير اليوم.

ولكن لا يتفق الجميع مع ذلك. لا يزال هناك العديد من الكتّاب الشباب الطموحين الذين يعملون على ظهورهم لأول مرة داخل مصر. “حتى في ظل النازيين، وستالين والأسد نجح الروائيون في صنع أعمالٍ خلاقة للغاية. لذا، يمكنك أن تفعل ذلك في ظل السيسي أيضاً،” هذا ما قاله كاتبٌ ناشط طلب عدم الكشف عن هويته.

ومع ذلك، فهو يعترف بالتحديات، وكما يقول، “لدى جميع الكتاب الجدد شيء واحد مشترك: يحاولون تجنب التحدث عن أي شيء سياسي بشكلٍ صريح. وسأفعل نفس الشيء.” كما إنه حذرٌ أيضاً بشأن المحتوى الجنسي، إذ قال “أكتب مشاهد جنسية بحرية [في المسودة الأولى]، لكن ربما بعد التحرير سأعيد التفكير في مشاهد معينة.”

وقال الكاتب الشاب إن بعض الكتاب يتمتعون حالياً بنجاحٍ كبير في مصر، مثل يوسف زيدان وأحمد مراد، لكنهم “من أشد مؤيدي السيسي.” وكلاهما معروف بدعمه العلني للنظام والرئيس السيسي، بل إن زيدان قدم حجةً على شاشة التلفزيون لعدم كتابته عن السياسة. وبحسب ناجي “[الدولة] تريد السيطرة على ما يصبح أكثر الكتب مبيعاً وما هو غير ذلك.”

ومع ذلك، يأبى الكاتب الشاب أن يفقد الأمل. “يمكنني الكتابة، بغض النظر عن الوضع السياسي. تمت كتابة كتبٍ من السجن.” بحسب قوله، “ككتاب نتحلى بالمرونة، خاصة عندما يتعلق الأمر بالخيال.”

© Copyright Notice

click on link to view the associated photo/image
©AFP ⁃ Mohamed el-Shahed

دعمكم عونٌ لنا

فَنَك هي مؤسسة إعلامية إلكترونية مستقلة، لا تمولها أي دولة أو مجموعات مصالح. تلتزم فَنَك بنشر تحليلاتٍ مبنية على الوقائع ومحايدة، إلى جانب التقارير المواضيعية حول الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا.
شهد الموقع نمواً سريعاً في نطاق وعمق المعلومات التي يُقدمها، واليوم، بات يُشكل مصدراً غنياً وقيماً للمعلومات عن 21 بلداً، من المغرب إلى عُمان ومن إيران إلى اليمن، باللغتين العربية والإنجليزية. حالياً، وصل عدد القراء إلى 6 ملايين سنوياً، والعدد آخذٌ بالإزدياد.
لضمان حيادية المعلومات على موقع فَنَك (وقائع وأحداث) ، تُنشر المقالات دون ذكر أسماء الكتّاب، مما يُتيح أيضاً لمراسلينا مساحة أكبر من الحرية عند التطرق إلى القضايا الحساسة أو المثيرة للجدل فى بلادهم. وإلى جانب ذلك، نتحرى حقائق جميع المعلومات الواردة في مقالاتنا قبل النشر لضمان دقة المعلومات، وحداثتها وحيادها.

استمرارية تشغيل مثل هذا الموقع الإلكتروني مُكلفة للغاية. بتبرعٍ صغيرٍ منك، يمكنك المساهمة في الحفاظ على حرية واستقلالية تغطيتنا.

Fanack Home / Egypt / Society, Media & Culture / Culture / Literature / With Their Books Increasingly Banned, Writers in Egypt Under Threat

With Their Books Increasingly Banned, Writers in Egypt Under Threat

Egypt- Book market egypt
A seller arranges books at Cairo’s historical Azbakeya book market at downtown in Cairo on January 16, 2019. Photo AFP ©AFP ⁃ Mohamed el-Shahed

The situation for Egyptian writers is growing increasingly difficult, with many in exile or even facing imprisonment at home. Voicing critical or alternative views on politics, morality or religion has become a red line and many writers are now afraid to publish at all.

The Egyptian novelist Alaa al-Aswany was sued in March 2019 in a military court for insulting the president, army and judiciary and inciting against the regime. The direct cause of the lawsuit appeared to be one of Aswany’s weekly op-eds for the German outlet Deutsche Welle, in which he firmly criticised the Egyptian army’s involvement in politics.

Aswany’s latest novel–‘The Republic, As If – also seemed to have played a role. TV presenter Nashaat Al-Dihy described the novel in his show as “impolite” and against the “morality of the people” and said it led to the accusations against the author. The book has been banned in Egypt and was eventually printed by a Lebanese publisher. “My Egyptian publisher was very scared,” Aswany told Fanack.

“I was attacked in the media for this novel,” he added. “It takes place during the revolution [and talks] about people being killed by the authorities and virginity tests.” Members of Parliament also spoke out against the novel, saying it follows a “western agenda.”

Aswany now resides in the United States, as he says work has been made impossible for him in Egypt. Aside his novel, a monthly seminar he used to give was banned in 2015. “I don’t think I will travel back to Egypt anytime soon,” he said. “A military court’s ruling can be amended by the president and ministry of defence, so there is no true judicial process to be won.”

Aswany is not an exception when it comes to writers under threat in Egypt. Ahmed Naji also lives in self-imposed exile in the United States. In 2016, he was sentenced to two years in prison for violating public modesty after an erotic passage in one of his novels was published in a cultural magazine.

“Many writers are afraid to publish [in Egypt]. I know writers now trying instead to publish in Lebanon and even the Gulf,” Naji told Fanack.

The government crackdown on books is wider than just a few specific writers. The Al-Karama library chain was raided in 2016 and subsequently closed down. Dar Merit publishing house was raided in 2015 and again in late 2017. El Balad bookstore was also forced to close in 2017.

Several Alef bookstore branches were raided over alleged ties of the owner to the Muslim Brotherhood. “Alef is now under control of [state-owned newspaper] Al-Akhbar Al-Youm. It used to have 20 branches and now it only has five or six. Every month one closes,” Naji said.

Non-fiction writers have to be careful as well. In October 2018, economist Abdel-Khalek Farouk, author of the book “Is Egypt really a poor country,” and his publisher were detained over publishing false news. The book argues that poverty in Egypt is due to bad government policies and corruption. Farouk and his publisher were released a few days later; he was not available for comment on whether the case is still open and if his book has been officially banned.

Aside from politics and morality, touching upon religion can be another minefield for writers. Karam Saber received a five-year prison sentence in 2013 on charges of contempt of religion and defamation over his novel “Where is God”, in which he narrates the lives of poor farmers in Upper Egypt.

Regardless of his own prison sentence, Naji believes that this systematic crackdown on the industry started only in 2018. “Before that, it was case by case,” he said.

According to Naji, things took a turn for the worse with the book signing of poet Galal El-Beheiry at the Cairo book fair in 2018 for a collection of his poems with a title deemed sarcastic of the army. The collection was titled, “The finest women [niswan] on earth,” in an apparent reference to a description of the Egyptian army found in one of the Hadiths, or sayings, attributed to the Prophet Muhammad as “the finest soldiers on earth.” El-Beheiry was sentenced to three years in prison by a military court in July 2018.

“Since then, many more books have been banned,” Naji said. “Before, you could easily ask for an ISBN number. Now you need a testimony that the book doesn’t include anything against state institutions, as well as all the details of the writer. After you get the ISBN number, they need copies of the book to be sent to the general intelligence and national security,” Naji explained.

Moreover, the Cairo book fair edition of 2019 was held in the far-away suburb of Tagammo al-Khamis “to be able to control it,” Naji thinks. Publishers were asked to send in advance the titles they wanted to put on display, he added.

Sisi is not afraid of the economic [conditions] or of terrorism, but of books,” Naji said. “[Former president] Mubarak allowed another narrative [opposed to the dominant state narrative] and they [the current government] don’t want [the revolution] to happen again. So now they want to control all media, talks, TV, newspapers and books. They want to control who has influence over the public and who does not. And books are powerful; they can change public opinion.”

For Naji, the Egyptian literary tradition that has brought forth legendary writers–such as Nobel Prize winner Naguib Mahfouz and Bahaa Taher, among many others–has now largely faded.

But not everyone agrees. There are still many young aspiring writers working on their debuts inside Egypt. “Even under the Nazis, Stalin and Assad novelists have managed to do very creative work. So, you can do it under Sisi as well,” said a budding writer on the condition of anonymity.

He does, however, acknowledge the challenges. “All new writers have one thing in common: they try to avoid talking about anything explicitly political. And I will do the same.” He is also cautious about erotic content. “I’m writing sex scenes freely [in the first draft], but perhaps after editing I’ll rethink certain scenes.”

Some writers do currently enjoy major success in Egypt, such as Youssef Zidane and Ahmed Mourad, but “they are very much pro-Sisi,” the young writer said. Both are known for publicly supporting the regime and President Sisi and Zidane even made a case on television for not writing about politics. “[The state] wants to control what becomes a bestseller and what doesn’t,” Naji said.

The young writer nevertheless refuses to lose hope. “I can write, no matter what the political situation. Books have been written from prison,” he said. “As writers we are flexible, especially when it comes to fiction.”

© Copyright Notice

click on link to view the associated photo/image
©AFP ⁃ Mohamed el-Shahed | ©AFP ⁃ Mohamed el-Shahed

We would like to ask you something …

Fanack is an independent media organisation, not funded by any state or any interest group, that distributes in the Middle East and the wider world unbiased analysis and background information, based on facts, about the Middle East and North Africa.

The website grew rapidly in breadth and depth and today forms a rich and valuable source of information on 21 countries, from Morocco to Oman and from Iran to Yemen, both in Arabic and English. We currently reach six million readers annually and growing fast.

In order to guarantee the impartiality of information on the Chronicle, articles are published without by-lines. This also allows correspondents to write more freely about sensitive or controversial issues in their country. All articles are fact-checked before publication to ensure that content is accurate, current and unbiased.

To run such a website is very expensive. With a small donation, you can make a huge impact. And it only takes a minute. Thank you.