فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / مصر / المجتمع والإعلام والثقافة / نظرة عامة على المشهد الإعلامي في مصر / الحكومة المصرية تبسط سيطرتها على وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي بقوانين الصحافة الجديدة

الحكومة المصرية تبسط سيطرتها على وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي بقوانين الصحافة الجديدة

Egypt- Abdel Fattah al-Sisi
الرئيس المصري عبد الفتاح السيسي Photo AFP

حذر الرئيس المصري، عبد الفتاح السيسي، خلال خطابٍ متلفز بُث في 22 يوليو 2018 في ذكرى ثورة عام 1952، من تعرض مصر لخطرٍ حقيقي يسعى لتدمير الدولة من الداخل. فقد ادعى أن “الشائعات” التي تنتشر على وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي قد تؤجج الاستياء، وتزعزع استقرار البلاد وتحرض على الكراهية ضد الحكومة. كما نوه إلى أنه خلال الأشهر الثلاث الماضية فقط تم رصد 21 ألف شائعة تهدف لزعزعة الاستقرار.

وبعد يومين، تم بث العديد من الإعلانات التلفزيونية التي تُحذر المواطنين من تصديق كل ما تتم قراءته على وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي، وذكرالإعلان “احصل على الأخبار من مصدر موثوق.”

وعلى ما يبدو، فأن هناك تغيرٌ في موقف الدولة تجاه وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي. ففي 16 يوليو، أقر البرلمان ثلاثة قوانين إعلامية وصحفية، التي تنتظر في الوقت الراهن مصادقة الرئيس عليها فحسب. ومن إحدى النقاط الأكثر إثارةً للجدل في التشريع الجديد هي اعتبار مستخدمي وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي ممن يملكون أكثر من 5000 متابع وسيلةً إعلامية، مما يجعلهم عرضة لتهمٍ مثل “نشر أخبار كاذبة” و”التحريض ضد الدولة.” ووصفت المدونة زنوبيا هذا التشريع بأنه “نهاية وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي بموجب القانون.”

فقد تم اتخاذ الخطوة الأولى نحو قوانين الإعلام الجديدة هذه في ديسمبر 2016 بإنشاء ثلاث هيئات جديدة تشرف على وسائل الإعلام، وهي المجلس الأعلى لتنظيم الإعلام، والهيئة الوطنية للصحافة وهيئة الإذاعة الوطنية. ومع ذلك، لم تقدم لجنة الإعلام في البرلمان، حتى يونيو 2018، القوانين الثلاثة جديدة التي تمت الموافقة عليها بعد شهر.

وقال رئيس اللجنة الإعلامية، أسامة هيكل، إن القوانين ستوفر “ضماناتٍ غير مسبوقة” لاستقلال وسائل الإعلام. وفي إحدى التغريدات، أشارت وزارة الخارجية إلى القوانين باعتبارها “انتصار لحرية التعبير.”

بيد أن الصحفيين لم يكونوا إيجابيين إلى هذا الحد، فقد وقّع عدة مئات من الأشخاص على بيانٍ على الإنترنت معربين عن رفضهم للقوانين، حيث انتقدوا على وجه التحديد الصلاحيات الواسعة الممنوحة للهيئات التنظيمية للإعلام، التي تتحكم في اختيار رؤساء وسائل الإعلام ورؤساء التحرير، والتي تتمتع بصلاحياتِ تعليق المنشورات أو البث، وإلغاء تراخيص وسائل الإعلام، ورصد وإزالة الحسابات الشخصية على وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي.

كما تم انتقاد العدد المنخفض من المقاعد للصحفيين في المجلس الأعلى لتنظيم الإعلام (اثنان من أصل تسعة). وعلاوة على ذلك، يتم تعيين رئيس المجلس الأعلى لتنظيم الإعلام مباشرةً من قبل الرئيس.

وقد أعرب مجلس الدولة، أعلى هيئة قضائية في مصر، عن قلقه بشأن دستورية القوانين، إلا أن هيكل رفض هذه المخاوف، مشيراً إلى أن “البرلمان لن يصدر قانوناً غير دستوري.”

كما أعربت المنظمات الدولية عن مخاوفها أيضاً، إذ قالت منظمة العفو الدولية إن هذه القوانين “ستمنح الدولة سيطرةً شبه كاملة على المطبوعات وعلى الإنترنت ووسائل الإعلام.”

إلى حدٍ ما، توفر القوانين مبرراتٍ قانونية إضافية للسياسة الحالية. ففي مايو، ألقي القبض على سلسلة من النشطاء البارزين بتهمة “نشر أخبار كاذبة” و”الانضمام إلى منظمة إرهابية.” ولم يكن معظم هؤلاء النشطاء منخرطين بشكلٍ مباشر في السياسة، إلا أنهم عبروا عن استيائهم من قيادات البلاد عبر مدونتهم أو عبر تويتر أو قناة يوتيوب. ولا يزال جميع المعتقلين الستة رهن الاحتجاز السابق للمحاكمة.

ربما تكون المشكلة الرئيسية في التشريع الجديد هي لغته الغامضة والمجال الذي يتركه هذا الأمر للتأويل من قبل السلطات المنفذة، وفقاً لرابطة حرية الفكر والتعبير. فقد صرحت هذه المنظمة غير الحكومية المصرية لحقوق الإنسان في تقريرها السنوي عن حرية الصحافة بأن بعض المواد “تسمح للسلطة الإدارية باستخدام سلطتها بشكلٍ تعسفي.”

فعلى سبيل المثال، تنص المادة 19 على أنه “يحظر على الصحيفة أو الوسيلة الإعلاميـة أو الموقع الإلكترونى ، نشرأو بث أخبار كاذبة أو ما يدعـــو أو يحرض على مخالفة القانون أو إلى العنف أو الكراهية ، أو ينطوي على تمييز بين المواطنين أو يدعو إلى العنصرية أو التعصر أو ضدّ طعناً فيعد الأفراد أو سباً أو قذفاً لهم أو إمتهانا للأديان السماوية أو للعقائد الدينية.” وأن بإمكان المجلس الأعلى لتنظيم الإعلام منع أو إغلاق الوسيلة الإعلامية التي تنتهك هذه اللوائح.

وكما هو منصوصٌ عليه في المادة 4، يُحظر – كما يمكن أن يؤدي إلى إغلاقٍ غير مسمى لوسيلة الإعلام المسيئة – “الإضرار بالأمن القومي” و”انتهاك أخلاقيات ومعايير مهنة الإعلام.” وتضيف المادة 5 “الطائفية” و”التحريض على المواد الإباحية” و”النشاط المعادي لمبادىء الديمقراطية” كأسباب لرفض أو إلغاء تراخيص، من بين أمورٍ أخرى، الوسيلة الإعلامية.

وقال حسن الأزهري، مدير الوحدة القانونية في رابطة حرية الفكر والتعبير، لفَنَك في رسالةِ إلكترونية: “ستعيد القوانين الجديدة صياغة المشهد الإعلامي بأكمله.” وأضاف “يشددون قبضة المجلس الأعلى لتنظيم الإعلام على إنشاء وأنشطة المواقع الإلكترونة والصحف.”

ويبدو الاستخدام التعسفي للسلطة لإغلاق وسيلة إعلامية ما أمرٌ واقع بالفعل. فمنذ مايو 2017، تم حظر أكثر من 500 موقع إلكتروني، بتهمة تهديد الأمن القومي أو نشر أخبارٍ كاذبة. وفي حين أن بعض هذه المواقع تنتمي إلى جماعاتٍ متشددة عنيفة أو جماعاتٍ متطرفة، مثل حركة حسم، فإن العديد منها مواقع إخبارية مستقلة ومنظماتٍ غير حكومية، محلية ودولية على حد سواء.

بالإضافة إلى ذلك، أقرت مصر قانوناً جديداً للجرائم الإلكترونية يتضمن عقوباتٍ على مزودي خدمات الإنترنت الذين يرفضون تنفيذ أوامر السلطات بحجب الموقع الإلكتروني.

وفي أوائل يوليو، استخدم المجلس الأعلى لتنظيم الإعلام سلطاته لفرض أمر بمنع النشر فيما يتعلق بقضية فسادٍ مزعوم في مستشفى سرطان خيري مشهور للأطفال. فقد كان هذا أول أمر بمنع النشر يصدر عن هيئةٍ غير قضائية. ووصفت رابطة حرية الفكر والتعبير أمر منع النشر بـ”المعيب قانونياً من العديد من النواحي،” إلا أنها أشارت إلى أن غموض التشريع الجديد وتفسيراته واسعة النطاق من قبل رئيس المجلس الأعلى سمح بحدوث أمر منع النشر هذا.

ومن الحالات الأخرى التي قد يلعب فيها التشريع الجديد دوراً واضحاً، ما حصل مع رئيس تحرير صحيفة “المصري اليوم” محمد صالح وثمانية صحفيين آخرين بسبب “نشر أخبار كاذبة.” فقد ذكرت الصحيفة المملوكة للقطاع الخاص عن عملية شراء للأصوات خلال الانتخابات الرئاسية التي جرت في مارس 2018، حيث قام المجلس الأعلى بتغريم الصحيفة مبلغ 150 ألف جنيه مصري (9 آلاف دولار) لنقلها الخبر. وعليه، تم إلقاء القبض على صالح والصحفيين إلا أنه أطلق سراحهم بكفالة في أبريل الماضي، ولا تزال القضية قيد التحقيق.

كما تم إطلاق سراح رئيس تحرير صحيفة أخرى، مصر العربية، بكفالة في يوليو بعد أن أمضى 3 أشهرٍ في السجن بتهمٍ مختلفة بما فيها “نشر أخبارٍ كاذبة” خلال الإنتخابات. إذ قال الأزهري، “إن القانون الجديد يفرض المزيد من القيود على المؤسسات والمواقع الإلكترونية… مما سيزيد من التحديات التي تواجه الصحفيين.”

فقد تعرضت حرية الصحافة بشكلٍ عام لضغوطٍ متزايدة في السنوات الأخيرة، حيث صنفت منظمة مراسلون بلا حدود مصر في المرتبة 161 من أصل 180 في مؤشرها العالمي لحرية الصحافة لعام 2018. وكتبت منظمة مراسلون بلا حدود في أحدث تحليلاتها “في مصر… أصبح الكفاح ضد الإرهاب سلاح النظام الأساسي للقضاء على الصحفيين. إن جميع وسائل الإعلام المستقلة والصحفيين يتعرضون لاحتمال توجيه تهمٍ بالإرهاب.”

وحالياً، يقبع ما لا يقل عن 30 صحفياً في السجون في مصر، وذلك بحسب منظمة مراسلون بلا حدود. أحد أشهر هؤلاء المصور الصحفي محمود أبو زيد، المعروف أيضاً باسم شوكان، المسجون منذ أغسطس 2013 ولا زال ينتظر صدور حكمٍ بحقه.

لا تزال الآثار الدقيقة للتشريعات الجديدة على وسائل الإعلام في مصر قيد النظر، لا سيما إذا ما أخذنا بعين الإعتبار المصطلحات التي تحتمل التأويل بشكلٍ فضفاض. وكما يقول الأزهري، “بعد موافقة [من الرئيس]، سيتم إصدار اللائحة التنفيذية، والتي ستوضح القواعد التفصيلية حول كيفية تنفيذ مواد القوانين.” ومع ذلك، لا تُبشر الظروف الحالية خيراً.

© Copyright Notice

Please contact us in case of omissions concerning copyright-protected work. The acquired copyright protected images used on/as featured image of this page are: Thibault Camus ©AFP | Thibault Camus ©AFP

Fanack Home / Egypt / Society, Media & Culture / Egypt’s Media Landscape: An Overview / Egyptian Government Expands Control to Social Media with New Press Laws

Egyptian Government Expands Control to Social Media with New Press Laws

Egypt- Abdel Fattah al-Sisi
Egyptian President Abdel-Fattah al-Sisi. Photo AFP

Egypt risks being destroyed from within, President Abdel Fattah al-Sisi said during a televised speech on 22 July 2018 to mark the 1952 revolution. He claimed that ‘rumours’ are being spread on social media that could fuel discontent, destabilize the country and incite hatred against the government. In the past three months alone, 21,000 of these harmful rumours have circulated, he said.

Two days later, several television adverts were broadcast, warning citizens not to believe everything they read on social media. ‘Get your news from a trusted source’, they cautioned.

There appears to be a trend in the state’s attitude towards social media. On 16 July 2018, parliament passed three new media and press laws, which now only have to be ratified by the president. One of the most controversial points of the new legislation is that it considers social media users with more than 5,000 followers as media, making them subject to charges such as ‘spreading false news’ and ‘inciting against the state’. Blogger Zeinobia described the legislation as ‘the end of social media by law’.

The first step towards these new media laws was taken in December 2016 with the creation of three new bodies overseeing the media, namely the Supreme Media Regulatory Council (SMRC), National Press Authority and National Broadcasting Authority. However, it was not until June 2018 that the parliament’s Media Committee submitted three new laws, which were approved a month later.

The head of the Media Committee, Osama Heikal, said that the laws would provide “unprecedented guarantees” for media independence. In a tweet, the Ministry of Foreign Affairs referred to the laws as a ‘victory for the freedom of expression’.

Journalists have not been quite so positive. Several hundred signed an online statement rejecting the laws, specifically criticizing the sweeping powers granted to the media regulatory bodies, which control the selection of media chairpersons and chief editors and can suspend publications or broadcasts, revoke media licenses, and monitor and remove personal social media accounts.

The low number of seats for journalists in the SMRC (two out of nine) has also been criticized. The head of the SMRC is appointed directly by the president.

The State Council, Egypt’s highest judicial body, has expressed concerns about the constitutionality of the laws, but Heikal rejected these concerns, stating that “parliament would not issue a law that is unconstitutional”.

International organizations have voiced their own concerns, with Amnesty International saying these laws ‘would give the state near-total control over print, online and broadcast media’.

To an extent, the laws provide further legal justification for existing policy. In May, a string of prominent activists were arrested for allegedly ‘spreading false news’ and ‘joining a terrorist organization’. Most of these activists were not directly involved in politics but had expressed discontent with the country’s leaderships via their blog, Twitter feed or YouTube channel. All six arrested are still in pre-trial detention.

Perhaps the main problem with the new legislation is its vague language and the room this leaves for interpretation by implementing authorities, according to the Association for Freedom of Thoughts and Expression (AFTE). This Egyptian rights NGO stated in its quarterly press freedom report that certain articles ‘allow the administrative authority to arbitrarily use its authority’.

For instance, Article 19 states that it is ‘prohibited for media to bring fake news, to incite breaking the law, to spread hatred, violence, racism and extremism or to attack monotheistic religions’, and that the SMRC can block or shut down media that violate these regulations.

As stipulated in Article 4, it is forbidden – and can result in the indefinite closure of the offending media – to ‘harm national security’ and ‘violate the ethics and standards of the media profession’. Article 5 adds ‘sectarianism’, ‘inciting pornography’ and ‘activity hostile to the principles of democracy’ as reasons for denying or revoking media licenses, among others.

“The new laws will reshape the entire media scene,” Hassan al-Azhary, director of AFTE’s legal unit, told Fanack Chronicle in an email. “They tighten the grip of the SMRC on the establishment and activities of websites and newspapers.”

Arbitrary use of the power to close down media already appears to be happening. Since May 2017, over 500 websites have been blocked, for allegedly threatening national security or spreading false news. While some of these websites belong to actual violent militant or extremist groups, like the Hasm movement, many are independent news websites and NGOs, both local and international.

In addition, Egypt passed a new cybercrime law, which includes penalties for internet providers that refuse to execute website block orders from the authorities.

In early July, the SMRC used its power to impose a gag order on a case of alleged corruption at a famous charity cancer hospital for children. It was the first gag order issued by a non-judicial body. AFTE  described the gag order as ‘legally flawed in many respects’ but pointed out that the vagueness of the new legislation and broad interpretation of it by the head of the Supreme Council allowed for this gag to happen.

Another case in which the new legislation could well play a part is that against former al-Masry al-Youm chief editor Mohamed Saleh and eight other journalists for ‘spreading false news’. The privately owned newspaper reported vote buying during the presidential elections in March 2018. The Supreme Council fined the paper EGP 150,000 ($9,000) for the coverage. Saleh and the journalists were arrested but released on bail in April. The case is still under investigation.

The chief editor of another publication, Masr al-Arabia, was released on bail in July after three months in prison on various charges including ‘spreading false news’ during the elections.

“The new law applies more restrictions on institutions and websites … which will increase challenges facing journalists,” al-Azhary said.

Press freedom in general has been under increased pressure in recent years. Reporters Without Borders (RSF) ranked Egypt 161 out of 180 in its 2018 World Press Freedom Index. ‘In Egypt … the fight against terrorism has become the regime’s key weapon for cracking down on journalists. All independent media and journalists are exposed to the possibility of terrorism charges,’ RSF wrote in its latest analysis.

At least 30 journalists are currently in jail in Egypt, according to RSF. One of the best known is photojournalist Mahmoud Abu Zeid, aka Shawkan, who has been in jail since August 2013 and is still awaiting a verdict.

The exact effects of the new legislation on the media in Egypt remain to be seen, especially considering the broad and loose terms used. “After approval [by the president], the executive regulations will be issued, which will clarify the detailed rules on how to execute the laws’ articles,” al-Azhary said. But the current circumstances do not bode well.

© Copyright Notice

Please contact us in case of omissions concerning copyright-protected work. The acquired copyright protected images used on/as featured image of this page are: Thibault Camus ©AFP | Thibault Camus ©AFP

"Ignorance leads to fear, fear leads to hatred, and hatred leads to violence.
This is the equation."

IBN RUSHD/AVERROES (1126 – 1198)

We are a Dutch not for profit organisation (NGO), financed solely by individuals who share our belief in the importance of publishing and disseminating reliable, unbiased information on the Middle East & North Africa region. To represent the voice of the region’s people, we carefully echo the region’s heartbeat by offering fact-checked and therefore credible information.

Your support is greatly appreciated and helpful!

COVID-19 UPDATE

Get the latest update on the Coronavirus outbreak in the Middle East and North Africa.

Regional Update