فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / مصر / المجتمع والإعلام والثقافة / المجتمع / الجريمة

الجريمة

في عهد مبارك، كانت مصر واحدة من البلدان التي سجلت أدنى معدلات للجريمة في العالم. حافظ الرئيس على أكبر قوى أمن داخلي على الإطلاق في المنطقة، حيث بلغ عددها حوالي مليون عنصر في أكثر من 12 جهاز أمن أو فرع أمني. حيث بلغ عدد شرطة مكافحة الشغب لوحدها، والمعروفة باسم قوات أمن الدولة (أعيدت تسميتها بـ “الأمن المركزي” بعد الثورة)، أكثر من 250,000 عنصر في جميع أنحاء مصر. وكان للانتشار الواضح لعناصر الأمن في جميع أنحاء البلاد تأثيراً مثبطاً للجرائم، فضلاً عن قمع المعارضة السياسية. كما اشتهرت الشرطة بممارسة التعذيب المنهجي وغير ذلك من الاعتداءات على المعتقلين والسجناء. ولهذا، أصبحت الشرطة والمؤسسات الأمنية الأخرى من بين أولى أهداف ملايين المصريين الذين ثاروا ضد مبارك. وبعد أقل من أربعة أيام من الاشتباكات الساخنة مع المحتجين، انهارت قوات الأمن وانسحبت.

سعى الحكام العسكريون الجدد إلى إعادة بناء وزارة الداخلية، ولكن انعدام الأمن لا يزال أكبر مشكلة منذ سقوط مبارك. يدين نشطاء في مجال حقوق الإنسان ضباط شرطة كانوا في إضراب غير معلن تعبيراً عن غضبهم بسبب تقديم حوالي 300 من زملائهم إلى المحاكمة بتهمة قتل المتظاهرين خلال احتجاجات 2011. كما تذمروا من فقدان الشرطة لاحترام المصريين الذي كانوا يتمتعون به منذ عقود. واتُّهِم وزير الداخلية السابق، حبيب العادلي، ببناء تحالف غير معلن مع بلطجية مدفوعين من الحكومة، والذين كان يستخدمهم خلال الانتخابات البرلمانية لمهاجمة معارضي الحكومة كي لا تظهر الدولة على أنها تشارك مباشرة في العنف. والآن، يُتهم هؤلاء البلطجية، الذين هم أساساً من الشباب الفقراء والعاطلين عن العمل وصغار المجرمين، بتنفيذ معظم الجرائم التي ارتكبت في مصر، وذلك لغياب الأمن.

معظم الجريمة المنظمة وجرائم العنف والسرقة في مصر ترتبط بالمخدرات. والأكثر شهرة بين المخدرات: الحشيش والبانغو (الماريجوانا) والمنتجات الصيدلانية القانونية والأفيون والهيروين. كما تنشأ بعض حوادث العنف، الموجهة بشكل رئيسي ضد المرأة، من قانون ‘الشرف’ العائلية.

عُرفت مصر بأمنها بالنسبة للأجانب. فعمليات خطف الرعايا الأجانب لأغراض سياسية أو تجارية ليست شائعة، والتزمت الحكومة بحمايتها للزوار والممتلكات الأجنبية. وكان أكبر تهديد للسياح هو هجمات المتطرفين الذين استهدفوا القطاع السياحي عمداً لإلحاق الضرر بالاقتصاد وتقويض النظام، كما كان الحال في تفجير المنتجعات في شبه جزيرة سيناء بين عامي 2003 و 2005.

لكن معدل سياحة وزيارات الأجانب انخفض بشكل حاد منذ ثورة 25 يناير. وخلال المظاهرات، أصبح الأجانب – على وجه التحديد، الصحفيون والأجانب المشاركون في المظاهرات – هدفاً لقوات الأمن. كما تعرض بعض الأجانب للمضايقة والاعتقال والترحيل. وخلال السنة ما بعد سقوط مبارك، تعرض بعض الصحفيين والمصورين الأجانب للمضايقة من قبل قوات الأمن والجيش أثناء تغطية المظاهرات أو الاعتصامات أو مسيرات الاحتجاج. علاوة على ذلك، بذلت الشرطة وقوات الأمن والجيش جهوداً لتصوير الثورة على أنها تأثرت بالمصالح الأجنبية، مما خلق جواً من رهاب الأجانب. بلغت هذه الجهود ذروتها في إعلان تلفزيوني يصور أجنبياً يتحدث العربية بطلاقة ويعمل كجاسوس، وينصح المشاهدين بتوخي الحذر من “أجانب كهؤلاء”. تعرض الإعلان إلى انتقادات شديدة داخل وخارج مصر، وتم رفعه من التلفزيون بعد وقت قصير من بثه.

خلق انسحاب قوات الشرطة والأمن من الشوارع بعد تنحي مبارك عدم استقرار أمني في البلاد. وشكّل انعدام الرقابة، حتى على حركة المرور، والانتشار المفاجئ للأسلحة النارية تحديات كبيرة للجيش الذي اضطر لتولي مسؤولية فرض الأمن على أساس يومي. وبالتالي، أدّى ارتفاع معدلات الجريمة، بالإضافة إلى شعور الناس المتزايد بالإرهاق من الثورة ومصالحها، إلى تمكين الشرطة وقوات الأمن، بعد وقت قصير من الانتخابات الرئاسية الأخيرة، من العودة إلى ممارسة الوحشية والقوة ذاتها، إن لم يكن أكثر.

دعمكم عونٌ لنا

فَنَك هي مؤسسة إعلامية إلكترونية مستقلة، لا تمولها أي دولة أو مجموعات مصالح. تلتزم فَنَك بنشر تحليلاتٍ مبنية على الوقائع ومحايدة، إلى جانب التقارير المواضيعية حول الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا.
شهد الموقع نمواً سريعاً في نطاق وعمق المعلومات التي يُقدمها، واليوم، بات يُشكل مصدراً غنياً وقيماً للمعلومات عن 21 بلداً، من المغرب إلى عُمان ومن إيران إلى اليمن، باللغتين العربية والإنجليزية. حالياً، وصل عدد القراء إلى 6 ملايين سنوياً، والعدد آخذٌ بالإزدياد.
لضمان حيادية المعلومات على موقع فَنَك (وقائع وأحداث) ، تُنشر المقالات دون ذكر أسماء الكتّاب، مما يُتيح أيضاً لمراسلينا مساحة أكبر من الحرية عند التطرق إلى القضايا الحساسة أو المثيرة للجدل فى بلادهم. وإلى جانب ذلك، نتحرى حقائق جميع المعلومات الواردة في مقالاتنا قبل النشر لضمان دقة المعلومات، وحداثتها وحيادها.

استمرارية تشغيل مثل هذا الموقع الإلكتروني مُكلفة للغاية. بتبرعٍ صغيرٍ منك، يمكنك المساهمة في الحفاظ على حرية واستقلالية تغطيتنا.

Fanack Home / Egypt / Society, Media & Culture / Society / Crime

Crimes in Egypt

Under Mubarak, Egypt had one of the lowest crime rates in the world. The President maintained one of the largest-ever internal security forces in the region, reaching nearly one million personnel in a more than a dozen security departments and branches. Anti-riot police alone, known as the State Security Forces (after the revolution renamed ‘Central Security’), had more than 250,000 soldiers throughout Egypt. The apparent omnipresence of security personnel throughout the country had a dampening effect on crime, as well as suppressing political opposition. The police had a reputation of practicing systematic torture and other abuse of detainees and prisoners. Thus, police and other security establishments were among the first to be targeted by the millions of Egyptians who revolted against Mubarak. After less than four days of heated clashes with protesters, the security forces collapsed and were withdrawn.

The new military rulers sought to rebuild the Interior Ministry, but the lack of security remains the largest problem since the Mubarak’s fall. Human-rights activists charge that police officers were on an undeclared strike because they were angry that nearly three hundred of their colleagues were put on trial for killing protesters during the 2011 protests. They have also complained that the police have lost the respect – and especially the fear – of Egyptians that they enjoyed for decades. The former Interior Minister, Habib al-Adli, was charged with building an undeclared alliance with government-paid thugs (baltagiya), whom he used during parliamentary elections to attack government opponents so that the state would not be seen to be involved directly in the violence. Those thugs, mainly poor, young, unemployed petty criminals, are now charged with carrying out most of the crimes committed in Egypt, due to the lack of security personnel.

Much organized crime, violent crime, and theft in Egypt is drug-related. The most popular drugs in Egypt are hashish, bango (marijuana), legal pharmaceutical products, opium, and heroin. Some incidents of violence, directed mainly against women, arise from family ‘honour’ codes.

Egypt has been known as safe for foreigners. Kidnappings of foreign nationals for political or commercial objectives have been uncommon, and the government has been committed to safeguarding visitors and foreign property. The greatest threat to tourists has been attacks by extremist militants, who targeted the tourist sector deliberately to damage the economy and undermine the regime, as was the case with the bombings of resorts in the Sinai Peninsula between 2003 and 2005.

Tourism and visits by foreigners have, however, dropped sharply since the revolution of 25 January. During the demonstrations, foreigners – specifically journalists and foreigners taking part in the demonstrations – became targets of the security forces. Some foreigners were harassed, arrested, and/or deported. Throughout the year following the fall of Mubarak, foreign reporters and photographers were harassed by security and army forces while covering demonstrations, sit-ins, or protest marches. Moreover, the police, security forces, and army made efforts to portray the revolution as influenced by foreign interests, thereby effectively creating an atmosphere of xenophobia. This reached its peak with a TV commercial portraying a foreigner speaking Arabic fluently who was revealed to be a spy. The audience was advised to beware of ‘such foreigners’. The commercial was heavily criticized inside and outside Egypt and was removed from television shortly after it aired.

The withdrawal of police and security forces from the street after Mubarak stepped down created an unstable security situation in the country. The lack of control, even in traffic, and the sudden spread of firearms posed great challenges for the army, which was forced to take on the responsibility of enforcing security on a daily basis. The resulting increase in crime not only added to people’s weariness with the revolution and its benefits but also enabled the police and security forces to return, soon after the recent presidential elections, more or less as they had left, with the same brutality and force.

image_pdfimage_print

We would like to ask you something …

Fanack is an independent media organisation, not funded by any state or any interest group, that distributes in the Middle East and the wider world unbiased analysis and background information, based on facts, about the Middle East and North Africa.

The website grew rapidly in breadth and depth and today forms a rich and valuable source of information on 21 countries, from Morocco to Oman and from Iran to Yemen, both in Arabic and English. We currently reach six million readers annually and growing fast.

In order to guarantee the impartiality of information on the Chronicle, articles are published without by-lines. This also allows correspondents to write more freely about sensitive or controversial issues in their country. All articles are fact-checked before publication to ensure that content is accurate, current and unbiased.

To run such a website is very expensive. With a small donation, you can make a huge impact. And it only takes a minute. Thank you.