فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / مصر / المجتمع والإعلام والثقافة / المجتمع / التفاوت الإقليمي

التفاوت الإقليمي في مصر

القاهرة / Photo Shutterstock
القاهرة / Photo Shutterstock

لا تعتبر التحسينات في مؤشرات التنمية البشرية الوطنية، على النحو المحدد في تقارير برنامج الأمم المتحدة الإنمائي لعامي 2005 و 2008، نتيجة لأفضل المعايير التي تم تحقيقها إجمالاً، وإنما متابعة لأفراد المجتمع الذين كانوا أقل حظاً في السابق.

لا تزال المناطق الريفية أكثر تخلفاً بكثير من المناطق الحضرية. فأداء مصر العليا (الجنوب) ليس كمصر السفلى (الدلتا والمناطق الشمالية الأخرى). فعلى الرغم من أن الفروقات أصبحت أقل في العقد الماضي، لا تزال الفجوة كبيرة في مجالات التعليم والرعاية الصحية والوصول إلى المرافق الصحية والبطالة والفقر، وغيرها. على سبيل المثال، نسبة الأشخاص الذين ينفقون أقل من دولارين في اليوم هي 50% في المناطق الريفية في مصر العليا، مقارنة بـ 5% في المدن.

الوضع مقلق في مصر العليا بشكل خاص، وذلك بسبب تزايد الفقر بين الأفراد الذين تلقوا التعليم الأساسي، مقارنة مع أولئك الذين تعلموا القراءة والكتابة فقط. يمكن تفسير ذلك بتسارع النمو السكاني وتباطؤ خلق فرص العمل في الجنوب.

قرية نوبية في الصعيد / Photo Shutterstock
قرية نوبية في الصعيد / Photo Shutterstock

زاد إجمالي عدد السكان في المناطق الحضرية بنسبة 40% في السنوات العشر التي سبقت عام 2006، عندما بلغ عدد السكان 31 مليون نسمة. ففي المناطق الريفية، ارتفع عدد السكان على نحو كبير، بنسبة 64% من 1996 إلى 2006، وهو اليوم 42 مليون.

وفق مؤشر برنامج الأمم المتحدة الإنمائي للتنمية البشرية، تقع جميع المحافظات الخمس الأدنى مرتبة في مصر العليا، في حين تقع جميع المحافظات الخمس الأعلى مرتبة في مصر السفلى.

© Copyright Notice
Click on link to view the associated photo/image:
©Shutterstock ⁃ ChameleonsEye

دعمكم عونٌ لنا

فَنَك هي مؤسسة إعلامية إلكترونية مستقلة، لا تمولها أي دولة أو مجموعات مصالح. تلتزم فَنَك بنشر تحليلاتٍ مبنية على الوقائع ومحايدة، إلى جانب التقارير المواضيعية حول الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا.
شهد الموقع نمواً سريعاً في نطاق وعمق المعلومات التي يُقدمها، واليوم، بات يُشكل مصدراً غنياً وقيماً للمعلومات عن 21 بلداً، من المغرب إلى عُمان ومن إيران إلى اليمن، باللغتين العربية والإنجليزية. حالياً، وصل عدد القراء إلى 6 ملايين سنوياً، والعدد آخذٌ بالإزدياد.
لضمان حيادية المعلومات على موقع فَنَك (وقائع وأحداث) ، تُنشر المقالات دون ذكر أسماء الكتّاب، مما يُتيح أيضاً لمراسلينا مساحة أكبر من الحرية عند التطرق إلى القضايا الحساسة أو المثيرة للجدل فى بلادهم. وإلى جانب ذلك، نتحرى حقائق جميع المعلومات الواردة في مقالاتنا قبل النشر لضمان دقة المعلومات، وحداثتها وحيادها.

استمرارية تشغيل مثل هذا الموقع الإلكتروني مُكلفة للغاية. بتبرعٍ صغيرٍ منك، يمكنك المساهمة في الحفاظ على حرية واستقلالية تغطيتنا.

Fanack Home / Egypt / Society, Media & Culture / Society / Regional Disparity

Regional Disparity in Egypt

Improvements in the national human-development indicators, as defined by the UNDP in 2005 and 2008, are not so much the result of higher standards achieved overall, but of the catching-up of previously under-privileged parts of society.

Rural areas still lag significantly behind urban areas. Upper Egypt (the south) does not perform as well as Lower Egypt (the Delta and other northern regions). Although the differences have become smaller in the past decade, the gap is still large in areas such as education, health care, access to sanitation, unemployment, and poverty. For example, the proportion of people spending less than two USD a day is 50 percent in rural Upper Egypt compared to 5 percent in the cities.

The situation in Upper Egypt is particularly alarming because poverty is increasing among individuals who have had a basic education, compared to those who have learned only how to read and write. The explanation for this lies in the faster population growth and slower job creation in the south.

The total population in urban areas increased by 40 percent in the ten years leading up to 2006, when it numbered 31 million. In rural areas the total population increased significantly faster, by 64 percent from 1996 to 2006, and is currently put at 42 million.

The five lowest-ranking governorates, according to the UNDP Human Development Index, are all in Upper Egypt, while the five highest-ranking governorates are all in Lower Egypt.

Cairo / Photo Shutterstock
Nubian village in Upper Egypt / Photo Shutterstock

© Copyright Notice

click on link to view the associated photo/image
©Shutterstock ⁃ ChameleonsEye

We would like to ask you something …

Fanack is an independent media organisation, not funded by any state or any interest group, that distributes in the Middle East and the wider world unbiased analysis and background information, based on facts, about the Middle East and North Africa.

The website grew rapidly in breadth and depth and today forms a rich and valuable source of information on 21 countries, from Morocco to Oman and from Iran to Yemen, both in Arabic and English. We currently reach six million readers annually and growing fast.

In order to guarantee the impartiality of information on the Chronicle, articles are published without by-lines. This also allows correspondents to write more freely about sensitive or controversial issues in their country. All articles are fact-checked before publication to ensure that content is accurate, current and unbiased.

To run such a website is very expensive. With a small donation, you can make a huge impact. And it only takes a minute. Thank you.