فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / مصر / المجتمع والإعلام والثقافة / المجتمع / التحضر

التحضر في مصر

القاهرة / Photo Shutterstock
القاهرة / Photo Shutterstock

يُعتَبَر شمال البلاد (حيث معظم المدن الكبرى والنشاط الاقتصادي) أكثر ازدهاراً من الجنوب. مما يؤدي إلى هجرة كبيرة من أرياف الجنوب إلى المناطق الحضرية في الشمال، وخاصة القاهرة. يعيش 42,6٪ من السكان في المناطق الحضرية، وهي نفس النسبة قبل عشر سنوات. ومن مجموع السكان، يعيش 11% (7,8 مليون) في القاهرة، و 9% (6,3 مليون) في الجيزة، و 6% (4,1 مليون) في الإسكندرية.

في محاولة لتخفيف الضغط عن المناطق الحضرية، شجعت الحكومة الهجرة إلى الأراضي المستصلحة في الصحراء. ألا أنّ هذه الاستراتيجية لم تثبت نجاحاً كبيراً لأن الأراضي الزراعية المروية حديثاً بحاجة إلى قدر كبير من الاستثمارات المالية من المزارعين وغير جذابة بسبب بعد موقعها.

بشكل عام، لا يزال معظم الناس ينتقلون من الأرياف إلى المناطق الحضرية، وليس العكس. ورغم ارتفاع معدلات البطالة ونقص المساكن في المدن، لا يزال الشباب يعتقدون أنّ البيئة الحضرية توفر المزيد من فرص العمل. أحرزت الحكومات الأخيرة تقدماً من حيث تأمين المناطق الريفية بمزيد من الكهرباء والمياه الصالحة للشرب والطرق. ولكن العقبة الرئيسية التي تواجه تنمية المناطق الريفية تبقى في انعدام فرص العمل، مما دفع بالكثيرين (الشباب بشكل رئيسي) من تلك المناطق للهجرة إلى المدن الأكبر.

هناك ظاهرة حديثة تتمثل بما يُسَمى بالمدن التابعة. ورغم تطوير العديد منها في عهد أنور السادات لإيجاد حلول للاكتظاظ في عاصمة البلاد، إلا أنها ازدادت على نحو غير اعتيادي خلال السنوات الأخيرة من نظام مبارك. كما تم بيع الأراضي الصحراوية غير المستخدمة لرجال الأعمال الأثرياء الذين طوّروا المدن التابعة الجديدة. وهذه تختلف كثيراً عن تلك التي بنيت في عهد السادات من حيث تطويرها خصيصاً لعائلات الطبقتين الوسطى والعليا الوسطى. تركت هذه العائلات المدينة تدريجياً سعياً وراء الهواء النقي والرفاهية في أجواء مراقبة ومسيجة توفر موارد أكثر مما يحتاجه السكان. ومع انتقال أكثر من مليون نسمة في السنة الأخيرة من حكم مبارك، أصبحت القاهرة مدينة الفقراء المهمشين أكثر فأكثر، مما زاد عدد الأحياء الفقيرة والجريمة. ويعتقد أن عزل الفقراء ساهم في تفشي الشعور بالسخط، مما أدى إلى ثورة 25 يناير. انتقلت الشركات والاستثمارات إلى خارج المدينة، مما خلق فراغاً في العاصمة. وعلاوة على ذلك، توفر هذه المستوطنات في أراضي صحراوية الكماليات، كالمتنزهات والحدائق وأحواض السباحة، مما يتسبب بنقص في المياه والكهرباء.

دعمكم عونٌ لنا

فَنَك هي مؤسسة إعلامية إلكترونية مستقلة، لا تمولها أي دولة أو مجموعات مصالح. تلتزم فَنَك بنشر تحليلاتٍ مبنية على الوقائع ومحايدة، إلى جانب التقارير المواضيعية حول الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا.
شهد الموقع نمواً سريعاً في نطاق وعمق المعلومات التي يُقدمها، واليوم، بات يُشكل مصدراً غنياً وقيماً للمعلومات عن 21 بلداً، من المغرب إلى عُمان ومن إيران إلى اليمن، باللغتين العربية والإنجليزية. حالياً، وصل عدد القراء إلى 6 ملايين سنوياً، والعدد آخذٌ بالإزدياد.
لضمان حيادية المعلومات على موقع فَنَك (وقائع وأحداث) ، تُنشر المقالات دون ذكر أسماء الكتّاب، مما يُتيح أيضاً لمراسلينا مساحة أكبر من الحرية عند التطرق إلى القضايا الحساسة أو المثيرة للجدل فى بلادهم. وإلى جانب ذلك، نتحرى حقائق جميع المعلومات الواردة في مقالاتنا قبل النشر لضمان دقة المعلومات، وحداثتها وحيادها.

استمرارية تشغيل مثل هذا الموقع الإلكتروني مُكلفة للغاية. بتبرعٍ صغيرٍ منك، يمكنك المساهمة في الحفاظ على حرية واستقلالية تغطيتنا.

Fanack Home / Egypt / Society, Media & Culture / Society / Urbanization

Urbanization in Egypt

Cairo / Photo Shutterstock

The north of Egypt, where the major cities are located and most economic activity takes place, is generally more prosperous than the south. This leads to substantial migration from the rural south to urban areas in the north, particularly Cairo. Overall, 42.6 percent of the population lives in urban areas, the same proportion as ten years ago. Out of the total population, 11 percent (7.8 million) live in Cairo, 9 percent (6.3 million) in its sister-city Giza, and 6 percent (4.1 million) in Alexandria.

In attempting to relieve the pressure on urban areas, the government has encouraged migration to reclaimed lands in the desert. This strategy has not proven very successful, because the newly irrigated agricultural lands need a great deal of financial investment from farmers and tend to be unattractive because of their remote location.

In general, more people still move from rural land to urban areas than the other way round. Despite high unemployment and lack of housing in the cities, young people still believe the urban environment provides more opportunities. Recent governments have made progress in providing rural areas with more electricity, drinking water, and roads, but the main obstacle facing the development of rural areas remains the lack of job opportunities, pushing many (mainly young men) in those areas to migrate to larger cities.

A recent phenomenon is that of the so-called satellite cities. Although several were developed under the rule of Anwar Sadat, in order to find solutions to the overpopulation of the country’s capital, they increased prodigiously during the last years of Mubarak’s regime. Unused desert land was sold to wealthy businessmen who developed the new satellite cities. These differ greatly from those built during the Sadat era, in that they are developed exclusively for middle- and upper-middle-class families. These families have gradually left the city seeking clean air and luxury in gated, controlled environments that offer more resources than the inhabitants need or can sustain. As more than 1 million had already moved by the last year of Mubarak’s rule, Cairo became more and more the city of the marginalized poor, and slums and crime increased. It is speculated that this segregation of the poor contributed to the pervasive sense of discontent leading up to the revolution of 25 January. Businesses and investments have also moved outside the city, creating a void in the capital. Moreover, as these settlements are located on desert land but offer such luxuries as parks, gardens, and pools, they are steadily creating shortages of water and power.

image_pdfimage_print

We would like to ask you something …

Fanack is an independent media organisation, not funded by any state or any interest group, that distributes in the Middle East and the wider world unbiased analysis and background information, based on facts, about the Middle East and North Africa.

The website grew rapidly in breadth and depth and today forms a rich and valuable source of information on 21 countries, from Morocco to Oman and from Iran to Yemen, both in Arabic and English. We currently reach six million readers annually and growing fast.

In order to guarantee the impartiality of information on the Chronicle, articles are published without by-lines. This also allows correspondents to write more freely about sensitive or controversial issues in their country. All articles are fact-checked before publication to ensure that content is accurate, current and unbiased.

To run such a website is very expensive. With a small donation, you can make a huge impact. And it only takes a minute. Thank you.