فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / التطرف / الجدل الداخلي حول هزيمة الدولة الإسلامية في العراق وسوريا

الجدل الداخلي حول هزيمة الدولة الإسلامية في العراق وسوريا

Specials- Baghouz
تُظهر هذه الصور التي التقطت في 24 مارس 2019، علم جماعة داعش الممزق ملقى على الأرض في قرية الباغوز في محافظة دير الزور بشرق سوريا بالقرب من الحدود العراقية. Photo AFP ©AFP ⁃ GIUSEPPE CACACE

تؤكد معظم تحليلات الهزيمة العسكرية للدولة الإسلامية في العراق وسوريا في عام 2019 على أن الجماعة ستستمر في الوجود كتمردٍ ينفذُ عملياتٍ مثل شن هجمات الكر والفر وزرع عبواتٍ ناسفة بدائية وتنفيذ عمليات اغتيال. وفي حين أن هذه نقطة مشروعة على الرغم من أن حجم “الولادة من جديد” يميل إلى المبالغة، فإن السؤال الأكثر إثارةً للاهتمام هو كيف كان رد فعل الاتجاهات الفكرية المختلفة التي ظهرت من الجماعة على هذه الهزيمة.

يمكن تحديد ثلاث اتجاهات: الاتجاه “الإصلاحي/ المنشق” الذي يؤمن أن “المتطرفين” اكتسبوا نفوذاً كبيراً داخل تنظيم الدولة “داعش،” وأنصار “التوجه الغالب” الذين يتبعون إلى حدٍ ما خطوط الدعاية والإعلان الرسمية لداعش، والاتجاه “المتطرف” الذي يؤمن أن داعش انحرفت عن مواقفها المتشددة من خلال تقديم تنازلاتٍ للاتجاه “الإصلاحي/ المنشق.”

من بين هذه الاتجاهات المختلفة، يكون رد فعل “التوجه الغالب” على هزيمة الجماعة هو الأسهل تفسيراً. كما أنه الأقل إثارةً للاهتمام لأنه يتبع نفس الخط الذي تتبعه الكثير من التحليلات التقليدية: أي التأكيد على أن داعش “باقية،” وأن خسارة الأرض لا تعني النهاية الحقيقية للخلافة. هذا هو الخط الذي روجت له دعاية داعش لبعض الوقت.

الأكثر إثارةً للاهتمام هي ردود الفعل في المعسكرات “الإصلاحية/ المنشقة” و”المتطرفة.” كما اتضح، وقبل إعلان قوات سوريا الديمقراطية المدعومة من الولايات المتحدة في مارس 2019 الاستيلاء على آخر مناطق الباغوز في شرق سوريا من داعش، حيث تم إصدار كتابٍ مطول على الإنترنت بعنوان “كفوا الأيادي عن بيعة البغدادي،” الذي كتبه العضو السابق في داعش أبو محمد الهاشمي. فقد سبق له أن كتب النصيحة الهاشمية في صيف 2017 موجهةً إلى زعيم داعش أبو بكر البغدادي بينما كان لا يزال مع الجماعة في شرق سوريا. يعكس كتاب الهاشمي الجديد كيف أن الخسائر المستمرة لأعمال داعش والإجراءات الداخلية أسفرت عن ظهور معارضةٍ صريحة للبغدادي ضمن الاتجاه “الإصلاحي/ المنشق.”

عنوان كتاب الهاشمي هو تلاعبٌ بعنوان كتابٍ سابق سمي “مدّوا الأيادي لبيعة البغدادي،” الذي كتبه رجل الدين والباحث في داعش، تركي بن علي. ومن المفارقات أن بن علي يعتبراً نجماً في الاتجاه “الإصلاحي/ المنشق،” لأنه انتقد ما رأى أنه تحرك داعش نحو “التطرف” قبل وفاته في غارةٍ جوية شنتها قوات التحالف في عام 2017.

على الرغم من ذلك، يؤكد الهاشمي أن عمله لا يقصد به معارضة بن علي، بل يعكس ذروة المسار الذي كان بن علي سيتخذه. كما يوضح أيضاً أنه لا يعتقد أن داعش كانت تجربة سيئة بالمجمل. فعلى سبيل المثال، ينسب إلى الجماعة إحياءها لفهم الخلافة الإسلامية وإقامة الحدود على الجرائم الخطيرة التي تعتبر تجاوزاً لحدود الله. ويؤكد أن تحالفاً هائلاً من البلدان اتحد ضد داعش، وعلى هذا النحو لم يُمنح المشروع الوقت المناسب لتطويره بالكامل.

ومع ذلك، لا تنتقص هذه المحاذير من نقطة الهاشمي الرئيسية، وهي أن البغدادي وقيادة داعش قد شوهوا تراث أبو مصعب الزرقاوي وأبو عمر البغدادي، حيث كان الأخير زعيم داعش في العراق من 2007-2010، وعلى هذا النحو كان سلف أبو بكر البغدادي المباشر. كما يدين الهاشمي أبو بكر البغدادي وقيادة داعش على سلوكهم القمعي والاستبدادي، وخاصة سجن وقتل علماء حقيقيين حاولوا تقديم المشورة لهم. وبقدر ما كان لداعش جوانب إيجابية في ذلك، كانت هذه نتيجة عمل المؤمنين “الصادقين” والمجاهدين الذين، مثل الهاشمي، تم خداعهم في الاعتقاد بأن أبو بكر البغدادي كان خليفةً حقيقي. وإذا ما ظل أي من هؤلاء الأشخاص في داعش، فإن الهاشمي يحثهم على التمرد ضد البغدادي والجماعة، بحجة أن حاكماً قمعياً مثله لا يحق له أن يُطاع. وبالمثل، يحث خباب الجزراوي، العضو السابق في داعش من أصلٍ سعودي والذي كتب مقدمة عمل الهاشمي الجديد، أعضاء داعش الصالحين في مناطق خارج العراق وسوريا على التمرد ضد قادتهم إذا ما كانوا لا يزالون موالين للبغدادي.

أما بالنسبة للاتجاه “المتطرف،” المنفذ الأساسي المتبقي هو قناة النذير العريان على تطبيق تيلغرام، وهي أداة بثٍ للرسائل الرقمية. ويبدو أن القناة الأخرى، وحرض المؤمنين، غير نشطة في الوقت الحاضر. ومثل الهاشمي، لم تمتنع قناة النذير العريان من التعليق على الأحداث التي أدت إلى خسارة داعش النهائية للأراضي في سوريا. وفي تعليقٍ في أواخر ديسمبر 2018، أدانت قيادة داعش لاضطهادها “الموحدين” الحقيقيين في الوقت الذي اعتقدت فيه أن بإمكانها الاعتماد على الأفراد ذوي النوايا الطيبة الذين سيدينون الجماعة طواعيةً لفرارها إلى أراضي قوات سوريا الديمقراطية.

ومع ذلك، أسفرت المعركة الأخيرة في الباغوز عن تحولٍ مثير للاهتمام في رواية النذير العريان. ففي مقال نُشر في مارس 2019، انتهزت القناة الفرصة لإلقاء الضوء على الاتجاه “الإصلاحي/ المنشق،” بحجة أن روايتهم عن تمتع “المتطرفين” بنفوذٍ كبير أمرٌ مثيرٌ للسخرية في ضوء التنازلات التي قدمتها لهم قيادة داعش. في الواقع، تقول قناة النذير العريان، إن هؤلاء “الإصلاحيين/ المنشقين” كانوا عملاء مزروعين، وقد أثبتوا نفاقهم من خلال الفرار إلى محافظة إدلب في غرب سوريا وإلى تركيا بعد إدانتهم في السابق لبعض “المتطرفين” لفرارهم من اضطهاد داعش. أما فيما يتعلق بقتل “الأعضاء البارزين” من الاتجاه “الإصلاحي/المنشق،” كان ذلك بسبب أعمال الخيانة وليس بسبب آرائهم الفكرية.

في هذه الأثناء، يدعي النذير العريان أن قيادة داعش تخلت عن أتباعه، تاركين أولئك الذين يلتزمون بالعقيدة الحقيقية والمتهمين بـ”التطرف” والخيانة لتحمل مسؤولية الدفاع عن ما تبقى منها وعن شؤونها في الباغوز. المسار الصحيح للأعضاء الباقين هو إدراك طبيعة أولئك الذين تخلوا عنهم وإبداء الندم على الانحراف الإيديولوجي (الجهمية، على حد تعبير النذير العريان) الذي سقطت فيه داعش.

وعلى أرض الواقع، فإن أكبر التداعيات المحتملة لهذه النقاشات حول هزيمة داعش هي إمكانية ظهور جماعاتٍ متنافسة تخلف داعش. ومع ذلك، فمن غير المرجح أن يحدث هذا في الوقت الحالي. أولاً، فقد تمثل إرثٌ مهم لداعش بتدمير خصومه في العراق وسوريا. كما أنه من غير الواضح كيف سيبدو هذا المنافس وكيف سيجعل رؤيته أكثر جاذبية للمجندين المحتملين.

هناك أيضاً مسألة مدى وعي مناصري داعش في جميع أنحاء العالم بالنزاعات الداخلية التي اندلعت أساساً في العراق وسوريا ودوائر التيلغرام الصغيرة نسبياً عبر الإنترنت. عندما حدث الانقسام، كما هو الحال في غرب إفريقيا، تم ذلك في سياقٍ شهد مشاكل داخلية طويلة الأمد قبل تعهد الولاء لداعش. وفي هذه الحالة، كان “تطرف” وغرابة أبي بكر شكاو، وهو شخصية جذابة تجمع حولها أتباعٌ لتشكيل الجماعة التي قادها في الأصل، على خلافٍ مع داعش التابعة لغرب أفريقيا. وفي الوقت الحالي، بالكاد هناك أي أدلةٍ على تكرار هذه الظروف في أماكن أخرى خارج العراق وسوريا.

© Copyright Notice

click on link to view the associated photo/image
©AFP ⁃ GIUSEPPE CACACE

دعمكم عونٌ لنا

فَنَك هي مؤسسة إعلامية إلكترونية مستقلة، لا تمولها أي دولة أو مجموعات مصالح. تلتزم فَنَك بنشر تحليلاتٍ مبنية على الوقائع ومحايدة، إلى جانب التقارير المواضيعية حول الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا.
شهد الموقع نمواً سريعاً في نطاق وعمق المعلومات التي يُقدمها، واليوم، بات يُشكل مصدراً غنياً وقيماً للمعلومات عن 21 بلداً، من المغرب إلى عُمان ومن إيران إلى اليمن، باللغتين العربية والإنجليزية. حالياً، وصل عدد القراء إلى 6 ملايين سنوياً، والعدد آخذٌ بالإزدياد.
لضمان حيادية المعلومات على موقع فَنَك (وقائع وأحداث) ، تُنشر المقالات دون ذكر أسماء الكتّاب، مما يُتيح أيضاً لمراسلينا مساحة أكبر من الحرية عند التطرق إلى القضايا الحساسة أو المثيرة للجدل فى بلادهم. وإلى جانب ذلك، نتحرى حقائق جميع المعلومات الواردة في مقالاتنا قبل النشر لضمان دقة المعلومات، وحداثتها وحيادها.

استمرارية تشغيل مثل هذا الموقع الإلكتروني مُكلفة للغاية. بتبرعٍ صغيرٍ منك، يمكنك المساهمة في الحفاظ على حرية واستقلالية تغطيتنا.

Fanack Home / Extremism / The Internal Debate on the Islamic State’s Defeat in Iraq and Syria

The Internal Debate on the Islamic State’s Defeat in Iraq and Syria

Specials- Baghouz
This picture taken on March 24, 2019, shows a discarded Islamic State (IS) group flag lying on the ground in the village of Baghouz in Syria’s eastern Deir Ezzor province near the Iraqi border. Photo AFP ©AFP ⁃ GIUSEPPE CACACE

Most of the analysis of the military defeat of Islamic State in Iraq and Syria (IS) in 2019 emphasizes that the group will continue to exist as an insurgency, conducting operations like hit-and-run attacks, planting improvised explosive devices and carrying out assassinations. While that is a legitimate point even though the extent of ‘resurgence’ tends to be exaggerated, a more interesting question is how differing ideological trends that have emerged from the group have reacted to this defeat.

Three trends can be identified: a ‘reformist/dissident’ trend that believes ‘extremists’ gained too much influence inside IS, ‘mainstream’ supporters who more or less follow IS’ official media and propaganda lines and the ‘extremist’ trend that believes IS has deviated from its hardline positions by making concessions to the ‘reformist/dissident’ trend.

Of these different trends, the ‘mainstream’ reaction to the group’s defeat is the easiest to explain. It is also the least interesting since it follows the same line as much conventional analysis: that is, stressing that IS will ‘remain’ (Arabic: baqiya), and that the loss of territory does not mean the true end of the caliphate. This is a line that IS’ propaganda has promoted for some time.

Much more intriguing are the reactions in the ‘reformist/dissident’ and ‘extremist’ camps. As it turns out, just before the US-backed Syrian Democratic Forces (SDF) announced in March 2019 the capture of the last areas of al-Baghuz in eastern Syria from IS, a lengthy book was released online called Keep back the hands from allegiance to al-Baghdadi, written by former IS member Abu Muhammad al-Hashimi. He previously wrote Hashimi’s Advice in summer 2017 addressed to IS leader Abu Bakr al-Baghdadi while he was still with the group in eastern Syria. Al-Hashimi’s new book reflects on how IS’ continual losses and internal actions have resulted in the emergence of outright opposition to al-Baghdadi within the ‘reformist/dissident’ trend.

The title of al-Hashimi’s book is a play on the title of an earlier work called Stretch forth the hands to pledge allegiance to al-Baghdadi, written by IS cleric and scholar Turki Binali. Ironically, Binali is considered a luminary of the ‘reformist/dissident’ trend because he critiqued what he saw as IS’ move toward ‘extremism’ prior to his death in a coalition air strike in 2017.

Even so, al-Hashimi emphasizes that his work is not intended to be in opposition to Binali, but rather reflects the culmination of the course Binali would have taken. He also makes clear that he does not think IS was an entirely bad experience. For example, he credits the group for having revived the understanding of the Islamic caliphate and implementing hudud punishments for serious crimes considered to be against the rights of God. He stresses that a huge coalition of countries was aligned against IS, and as such the project was not given the proper time to develop fully.

However, these caveats do not detract from al-Hashimi’s main point, which is that al-Baghdadi and the IS leadership have distorted the legacy of Abu Musab al-Zarqawi and Abu Omar al-Baghdadi, the latter of whom was head of ISIS in Iraq from 2007-2010, and as such was Abu Bakr al-Baghdadi’s immediate predecessor. Al-Hashimi condemns Abu Bakr al-Baghdadi and the IS leadership for their oppressive and tyrannical behaviour, especially the imprisonment and killing of true scholars who tried to advise them. In so far as IS had positive aspects to it, these were the result of the work of ‘honest’ believers and mujahideen who, like al-Hashimi, were duped into thinking that Abu Bakr al-Baghdadi was actually the caliph. If any such people remain in IS, al-Hashimi urges them to revolt against al-Baghdadi and the group, arguing that an oppressive ruler like him has no right to be obeyed. Similarly, Khabab al-Jazrawi, a former IS member of Saudi origin who wrote the introduction to al-Hashimi’s new work, urges righteous IS members in areas outside Iraq and Syria to revolt against their leaders if they are still loyal to al-Baghdadi.

From the ‘extremist’ end of the spectrum, the primary remaining outlet is the al-Nadhir al-Uryan channel on Telegram, a digital message broadcasting tool. The other channel, And Rouse the Believers, seems to be inactive at present. Like al-Hashimi, al-Nadhir al-Uryan has not refrained from commenting on the events that led to IS’ final loss of territory in Syria. In a commentary in late December 2018, it condemned the IS leadership for persecuting the true ‘monotheists’ while thinking it could rely on soft-hearted individuals who would willingly denounce the group for fleeing to SDF territory.

However, the final fight in al-Baghuz resulted in an interesting shift in al-Nadhir al-Uryan’s narrative. In an essay released in March 2019, it took the opportunity to lambast the ‘reformist/dissident’ trend, arguing that their narrative of ‘extremists’ wielding too much influence is ridiculous in light of the concessions that the IS leadership made to them. In reality, al-Nadhir al-Uryan argues, these ‘reformists/dissidents’ were planted agents, and they have proven their hypocrisy by fleeing to Idlib province in western Syria and to Turkey after previously condemning some ‘extremists’ for fleeing IS’ persecution. In so far as ‘luminaries’ of the ‘reformist/dissident’ trend were killed, it was for acts of treason and not for their ideological views.

Meanwhile, al-Nadhir al-Uryan claims that the IS leadership abandoned its followers, leaving those adhering to the true creed and those accused of ‘extremism’ and betrayal to assume responsibility for defending what remained of it and its affairs in al-Baghuz. The proper course for remaining members is to realize the nature of those who abandoned them and repent the ideological deviation (jahmism, in al-Nadhir al-Uryan’s words) that IS has fallen into.

On the ground, the biggest potential implication of these debates around IS’ defeat is the possibility for rival successor groups to emerge. Nonetheless, it is unlikely this will actually occur for the time being. First, an important legacy of IS has been its destruction of rivals in Iraq and Syria. It is also unclear what such a rival would look like and how it would make its vision more appealing to potential recruits.

There is also the issue of how aware IS supporters around the world really are of the internal disputes that have primarily played out in Iraq and Syria and relatively small Telegram circles online. Where a split has occurred, as in West Africa, this was in a context in which there were long-standing internal problems prior to the allegiance pledge to IS. In this case, the ‘extremism’ and eccentricity of Abu Bakr Shekau, a charismatic figure around whom followers congregated to form the group he originally led, was at odds with IS’ official West Africa affiliate. For now, little evidence has emerged of these conditions being replicated elsewhere beyond Iraq and Syria.

© Copyright Notice

click on link to view the associated photo/image
©AFP ⁃ GIUSEPPE CACACE | ©AFP ⁃ GIUSEPPE CACACE

We would like to ask you something …

Fanack is an independent media organisation, not funded by any state or any interest group, that distributes in the Middle East and the wider world unbiased analysis and background information, based on facts, about the Middle East and North Africa.

The website grew rapidly in breadth and depth and today forms a rich and valuable source of information on 21 countries, from Morocco to Oman and from Iran to Yemen, both in Arabic and English. We currently reach six million readers annually and growing fast.

In order to guarantee the impartiality of information on the Chronicle, articles are published without by-lines. This also allows correspondents to write more freely about sensitive or controversial issues in their country. All articles are fact-checked before publication to ensure that content is accurate, current and unbiased.

To run such a website is very expensive. With a small donation, you can make a huge impact. And it only takes a minute. Thank you.