فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / التطرف / تبعات داعش: النساء والأطفال غير المرغوبين

تبعات داعش: النساء والأطفال غير المرغوبين

IS women
امرأة أجنبية تحمل طفلها في مخيم الهول في سوريا، 28 مارس 2019. Photo: Delil SOULEIMAN / AFP ©AFP ⁃ Delil SOULEIMAN

ربما يكون التنظيم المتطرف، تنظيم الدولة الإسلامية “داعش،” قد مُني بالهزيمة عموماً، وذلك بعد خسارته معظم أراضيه في العراق وسوريا خلال هجوم عام 2018 الذي قادته الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية، فضلاً عن خسارة زعيمه أبو بكر البغدادي في عمليةٍ عسكريةٍ أمريكية في أكتوبر 2019، ومع ذلك، لا يزال المجتمع الدولي يرفض معالجة قضية الأشخاص الذين خلفهم التنظيم؛ حوالي 3000 امرأة و7000 طفل من دولٍ أخرى غير العراق وسوريا محتجزون في معسكر الهول في شمال شرق سوريا، وذلك بحسب الأكراد المسؤولين عن حماية المخيم ومنظمة هيومن رايتس ووتش.

ظهر تنظيم داعش في عام 2014، ليحرز تقدماً سريعاً في جميع أنحاء العراق وسوريا فضلاً عن تأسيس ما يسمى بـ”الخلافة.”كما بات التنظيم معروفاً بعمليات الاختطاف وقطع رؤوس الجنود والمدنيين المحليين والأجانب، بما في ذلك الصحفيين والعاملين في المنظمات غير الحكومية، إلى جانب الهجمات الإرهابية. جند داعش أتباعه وجنوده من البلدان العربية غالباً ولكن أيضاً من خارج العالم العربي. كما يُقدر أن نحو 41000 شخصاً من أجزاء أخرى من العالم تركوا منازلهم للانضمام إلى التنظيم – ثلثهم تقريباً من أوروبا، بما في ذلك القوقاز، إذ اصطحب بعضهم أطفالهم بينما أنجب آخرون أطفالاً هناك.

كما انتقلت أكثر من 550 امرأة من الغرب إلى سوريا والعراق للانضمام إلى داعش؛ رقمٌ لا مثيل له من قبل لأي جماعة جهادية أخرى. ووفقاً لبحث نشرته الجمعية الدولية لعلم الإجرام في عام 2018، “سافرت العديد من النساء إما مع أسرهن لدعم أزواجهن الجهاديين الذين قرروا الانضمام إلى داعش كمقاتلين أجانب، أو كزوجاتٍ جدد مع أزواج تعرفوا عليهم عبر الإنترنت، وذلك لتجنب السفر لوحدهن والوصول إلى الأراضي الخاضعة لسيطرة داعش دون زواج. بينما سافرت أخريات مع أقاربهن، أو مع مجموعة من الصديقات، سواء برفقة أطفالهن أو وحدهن… في معظم الحالات، كانوا من نسل مهاجرين مسلمين، ولكن كان هناك أيضاً عدد كبير من معتنقي الإسلام.”

مع مرور الوقت، أنجبت العديد من هؤلاء النساء أطفالاً، ولدوا في العراق أو سوريا ولكن بوضعٍ قانوني غير واضح، وهم الآن محتجزون في الغالب في المخيمات، في انتظار ما سيحدث معهم. فقد اعادت روسيا والمملكة العربية السعودية والمغرب بعض مواطنيها، بينما أعادت الولايات المتحدة ثماني نساء وأطفال، بينما ليس لدى المملكة المتحدة أي خطة لإعادة أي شخصٍ، من مقاتلين أو عائلاتهم، في حين اعادت فرنسا بعض الأيتام. ويبدو أن تونس تماطل في مساعدة مواطنيها العالقين، على الرغم من أن تونس تدعي أنها تولي “أهمية خاصة” لقضايا الأطفال المحتجزين كجزء من “إيمانها الراسخ بحقوق الإنسان،” إلا أنها ساعدت حتى الآن في إعادة ثلاثة فقط من هؤلاء الأطفال إلى وطنهم من ليبيا.

كما أعلنت هولندا، في اجتماع الجمعية العامة للأمم المتحدة هذا العام، عن رغبتها في محاكمة مقاتلي داعش، حيث صرّح وزير الخارجية ستيف بلوك، “بالنظر إلى التأثير العالمي الذي أحدثته داعش والعدد الكبير من البلدان المعنية بشكل مباشر أو غير مباشر، ليس لدينا خيار آخر سوى معالجة هذه القضية معاً. تريد هولندا العمل مع العراق ودول أخرى على الخطوات التي يمكن اتخاذها على المستوى الوطني والإقليمي والدولي… وبمجرد توفر الأدلة التي نحتاجها، سيكون الوقت قد حان للخطوات التالية: الإدعاء والمحاكمة. لا يمكن أن تكون هناك عدالة ما لم يُقدم هؤلاء الأفراد إلى المحاكمة. وكحال أمل كلوني، التي تشارك عن كثب في هذه المبادرة، نريد أن نرى المذنبين بارتكاب جرائم الحرب والإبادة الجماعية في قفص الاتهام. لكن في الوقت الحالي، تم إغلاق الطريق المؤدي إلى المحكمة الجنائية الدولية في لاهاي، لأن مجلس الأمن التابع للأمم المتحدة يعرقل هذا الخيار، كما أن العراق وسوريا ليسا طرفين في المحكمة الجنائية الدولية.”

يتم اعتقال حوالي 20 ألف مقاتل من داعش في العراق، منهم حوالي 1000 من 50 دولة مختلفة. فقد انتقدت جماعات حقوق الإنسان المحاكم العراقية لقيامها بإصدار عقوبات بالإعدام – وهي العقوبة التي تُفرض عادة على من تثبت إدانتهم بالانضمام إلى داعش – بناءً على الاعترافات بدلاً من الأدلة المادية، وهي ممارسة مقلقة في بلد تُستخدم فيه القوة بشكل متكرر أثناء التحقيقات. وفي العراق أيضاً، يُعامل الأطفال المشتبه في انتمائهم إلى تنظيم الدولة الإسلامية كمجرمين، إذ غالباً ما يعذّبهم ضباط الأمن لانتزاع اعترافاتٍ منهم، بغض النظر عن تورطهم الفعلي، وتحاكمهم المحاكم ويُحكم عليهم بالسجن كإرهابيين.

“يمكنك التعميم والقول إنه في جميع الدول الغربية التي أجريت بحوثاً بها، فإن عامة الناس وكذلك معظم الطبقة السياسية يعارضون بشدة عودة النساء اللائي تزوجن وسافرن إلى العراق أو سوريا مع أزواجهن الذين انضموا إلى داعش أو الذين يعتقدون أنهم انضموا إلى داعش بأنفسهم كأفراد،” بحسب قول بلقيس والي، باحثة أولى في قسم الشرق الأوسط وشمال أفريقيا مختصّة في شؤون العراق، لفَنَك.

وأضافت، “فيما يتعلق بالأطفال، تسعد العديد من الدول عموماً باستعادة الأيتام، ولكن عندما يتعلق الأمر بالأطفال المحتجزين في العراق أو شمال شرق سوريا، فقد رأيت أن العديد من الدول الغربية لا ترغب في إعادتهم إلى ديارهم، لأنهم قلقون من أنه بموجب القانون، قد يُطلب منهم أيضاً إعادة أمهاتهم، وفي هذه الحالات يتركون الأطفال في بعض الأحيان. وفي العراق، حيث حُكم على بعض النساء بالإعدام أو بالسجن المؤبد، كانت الدول أكثر استعداداً لإعادة الأطفال إلى وطنهم.”

هذا هو الحال بالنسبة لفرنسا وبلجيكا، اللتان استقبلتا أطفالاً توفي أباؤهم المتطرفين فحسب، إذ أن معظمهم من الأيتام، لكن بعضهم نقلهم آباؤهم إلى العراق أو سوريا، وقُتلوا هناك بينما ظلت أمهاتهم في أوروبا. كما اتخذت المملكة المتحدة موقفاً أكثر صرامة، فقد قررت الحكومة أنه لن يُسمح لأطفال عناصر داعش البريطانيين العالقين في سوريا بالعودة. وخلص ساجيد جاويد، وزير الداخلية البريطاني السابق، إلى أنه بعد إعادة النظر في الأمر، سيكون من الخطر للغاية إرسال مسؤولين بريطانيين لاسترداد الأطفال من سوريا، على الرغم من أن المخيمات يزورها بانتظام عمال الإغاثة البريطانيون والصحفيون.

مسألة الخطر هي موضوع متكرر في خطابات السياسيين، حيث تظهر مخاوف بشأن إعادة الأفراد الذين قد يؤمنون بالدعاية الإرهابية أو قاتلوا من أجل داعش. “كل ما يمكننا قوله هو أنه في حال لم يُشتبه بقيام أحدهم بارتكاب جريمة، فلا يمكن احتجازه كسجين؛ وإذا كانوا مشتبه بهم، فيجب التحقيق معهم، بحسب قول بلقيس والي، التي أضافت “وعندما يتعلق الأمر بالأطفال الذين لم يرتكبوا أي جريمة، فينبغي منحهم أي فرصة تسنح للعودة إلى ديارهم والعودة إلى الحياة الطبيعية، ويجب ألا يعاقبوا على أي شيء قد فعله آباؤهم.”

وفي الوقت نفسه، تحاول البوسنة إعادة دمج حوالي 30 امرأة و70 طفلاً، على الرغم من أنها تواجه العديد من التحديات أثناء ذلك، مثل كيفية تأكيد هويات الأطفال المولودين في سوريا لمواطنين بوسنيين، وكيفية رعاية معتنقي عقيدة داعش السابقين، وما إذا كان يجب مقاضاة النساء العائدات. أما في ألمانيا، أخبرت محكمة في برلين وزارة الخارجية أنه يجب إعادة ثلاثة أطفال ألمان مع أمهاتم الألمانيات المنتميات إلى داعش من مخيم للاجئين السوريين، مشيرةً إلى التزام الدولة بحماية المواطنين في الخارج.

وفي أستراليا، تتركز المخاوف حول سلامة إرجاع المواطنين أثناء صراعٍ قائم، إذ تدهور الوضع الأمني في شمال شرق سوريا منذ أعلن الرئيس الأمريكي دونالد ترمب انسحاب القوات الأمريكية، مما مهد الطريق لغزو تركي في أكتوبر 2019. كما استفادت بعض الدول الأوروبية من وقفٍ لإطلاق النار استمر خمسة أيام في منتصف أكتوبر لإعادة مواطنيهم، لكن الحكومة الأسترالية حافظت على موقفها من أنها لن تخاطر بحياة مواطنٍ أسترالي واحد لإعادة أي مواطن، وأن عودتهم قد تشكل خطراً على المجتمع.

وعلى صعيدٍ متصل، اقترحت مجموعة مكونة من 36 امرأة وطفل من داعش يعيشون في مخيم الهول رسمياً أنه يمكن وضعهم تحت أوامر تقييدية لمكافحة الإرهاب لدى عودتهم إلى ديارهم. وبالنسبة لأولئك الذين تقطعت بهم السبل في شمال شرق سوريا، أصبح البقاء على قيد الحياة أكثر صعوبةً من ذي قبل، فعلى سبيل المثال، غادرت امرأتان هولنديتان وأطفالهما الثلاثة المخيم ووصلوا إلى السفارة الهولندية في أنقرة في 30 أكتوبر، وطلبوا إعادتهم إلى وطنهم، لكن يبدو أن الحكومة لا ترغب في ذلك.

وفي هذا السياق، أوضحت بلقيس والي “فيما يتعلق بالقانون الدولي، لا يوجد مبدأ قانوني دولي يتطلب من الدولة إعادة مواطنيها.” وأضافت “لكن بموجب القانون الدولي، لا يُسمح للدول بإبعاد مواطنيها في حال عودتهم إلى ديارهم.”

© Copyright Notice

click on link to view the associated photo/image
©AFP ⁃ Delil SOULEIMAN

دعمكم عونٌ لنا

فَنَك هي مؤسسة إعلامية إلكترونية مستقلة، لا تمولها أي دولة أو مجموعات مصالح. تلتزم فَنَك بنشر تحليلاتٍ مبنية على الوقائع ومحايدة، إلى جانب التقارير المواضيعية حول الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا.
شهد الموقع نمواً سريعاً في نطاق وعمق المعلومات التي يُقدمها، واليوم، بات يُشكل مصدراً غنياً وقيماً للمعلومات عن 21 بلداً، من المغرب إلى عُمان ومن إيران إلى اليمن، باللغتين العربية والإنجليزية. حالياً، وصل عدد القراء إلى 6 ملايين سنوياً، والعدد آخذٌ بالإزدياد.
لضمان حيادية المعلومات على موقع فَنَك (وقائع وأحداث) ، تُنشر المقالات دون ذكر أسماء الكتّاب، مما يُتيح أيضاً لمراسلينا مساحة أكبر من الحرية عند التطرق إلى القضايا الحساسة أو المثيرة للجدل فى بلادهم. وإلى جانب ذلك، نتحرى حقائق جميع المعلومات الواردة في مقالاتنا قبل النشر لضمان دقة المعلومات، وحداثتها وحيادها.

استمرارية تشغيل مثل هذا الموقع الإلكتروني مُكلفة للغاية. بتبرعٍ صغيرٍ منك، يمكنك المساهمة في الحفاظ على حرية واستقلالية تغطيتنا.

Fanack Home / Extremism / IS Fallout: The Women and Children No One Wants

IS Fallout: The Women and Children No One Wants

IS women
A foreign woman with a child at al-Hol camp. March 28, 2019. Photo: Delil SOULEIMAN / AFP ©AFP ⁃ Delil SOULEIMAN

The extremist organization Islamic State (IS) may have been mostly defeated, ceding most of its territory in Iraq and Syria during the 2018 offensive led by the United States (US) and losing its  leader Abu Bakr al-Baghdadi during a US operation in October 2019. However, the international community is still refusing to deal with the people left behind. About 3,000 women and 7,000 children from countries other than Iraq and Syria are being held at al-Hol camp in north-east Syria, according to the Kurds guarding the camp and Human Rights Watch.

IS emerged in 2014, advancing rapidly across Iraq and Syria and founding a so-called ‘caliphate’. It became known for kidnappings and filmed beheadings of local and foreign soldiers and civilians, including journalists and NGO workers, and terrorist attacks. It recruited its followers and soldiers mostly in Arab countries but also abroad. An estimated 41,000 people from other parts of the world left their homes to join the group – about a third of them from Europe, including the Caucasus. Some took children with them and others had children there.

More than 550 Western women moved to Syria and Iraq to join IS, a number unmatched by any other jihadist group. According to a 2018 paper published by the International Society of Criminology, ‘Many women travelled either with their families in support of their jihadi husbands who had decided to join IS as foreign fighters, or as newlyweds with husbands they had found on the internet, to avoid travelling unaccompanied and arriving in IS-controlled territory unmarried. Others travelled with relatives, with a group of female friends, only with children or alone. … In most cases, they are descendants of Muslim immigrants, but there is also a significant number of converts.’

With time, many of these women had children, born in Iraq or Syria but with an unclear status. They are now mostly held in camps, waiting to see what will happen of them. Russia, Saudi Arabia and Morocco have taken some of their citizens back, while the US has repatriated eight women and children. The United Kingdom has no plan to repatriate anyone, fighters or their families, whereas France has taken a few orphans back. Tunisia seems to be stalling on helping its stranded citizens. Although claiming to attach ‘special importance’ to the cases of detained children as part of its ‘firm belief in human rights’, so far Tunisia has helped bring only three of these children home from Libya.

The Netherlands, at this year’s United Nations General Assembly, announced it wanted to put on trial IS fighters, with the Minister of Foreign Affairs Stef Blok saying, “Given the global impact that IS has had and the large number of countries directly or indirectly involved, we have no other choice than to tackle this issue together. The Netherlands wants to work with Iraq and other countries on steps that can be taken at national, regional and international level. … As soon as we have the evidence we need, it will be time for the next steps: prosecution and trial. There can be no justice unless these individuals are brought to trial. Like Amal Clooney, who is closely involved in this initiative, we want to see those guilty of war crimes and genocide in the dock. For the time being, however, the route to the International Criminal Court in The Hague is closed off, since the UN Security Council is blocking this option, and Iraq and Syria are not parties to the ICC.”

Around 20,000 IS fighters are detained in Iraq, of which around 1,000 are from 50 different countries. Human rights groups have criticized Iraq’s courts for handing down death penalties – the sentence usually given to those found guilty of joining IS – based on confessions rather than material evidence, a worrying practice in a country where force is frequently used during investigations. Also in Iraq, children suspected of IS affiliation are treated as criminals. Security officers often torture them to elicit confessions, regardless of their actual involvement, and courts prosecute and sentence them to prison as terrorists.

“You can generalize and say that in all the Western countries that I’ve looked at, the general population as well as most of the political class are very much against the return of women who either married and travelled to Iraq or Syria with husbands that joined IS or who they think joined IS themselves as individuals,” Belkis Wille, a senior Iraq researcher for Human Rights Watch, told Fanack.

“With regards to children, many countries are generally happy to take orphans back, but when it comes to children who are in prison in Iraq or north-east Syria, I’ve seen many Western countries not wanting to take them home. Because they’re concerned that by law, they might also be required to bring their mothers back, and so in those cases sometimes they left the children. In Iraq, where some women have been sentenced to death or life in prison, they have been more willing to repatriate the children home.”

This is the case for France and Belgium, which have only received children whose extremist parents were dead. Most are orphans but some were taken to Iraq or Syria by their fathers, who were killed there while their mothers remained in Europe. The UK has taken a stricter stance, the government deciding that children of British IS members stranded in Syria will not be allowed to return. Sajid Javid, the former home secretary, concluded after a review that it would be too dangerous to send officials to retrieve the children from Syria, despite the camps being regularly visited by British aid workers and journalists.

The question of danger is a recurring theme in politicians’ speeches, as there are concerns about repatriating individuals who might believe in terrorist propaganda or have fought for IS. “All we can say is that if someone is not suspected of having committed a crime, then they cannot be held as a prisoner; if they are suspected then they should be investigated for that,” Wille said. “And when it comes to children who are not said to having committed any crime, they should be given every opportunity to go home and return to a normal life, and they shouldn’t be punished for anything their parents might have done.”

Bosnia, meanwhile, is trying to reintegrate about 30 women and 70 children, although it faces several challenges in doing so, such as how to confirm the identities of Syrian-born children of Bosnian citizens, how to care for the former IS followers and whether to prosecute the women who are returning. In Germany, a Berlin court told the Foreign Ministry that three German children along with their German IS mother must be brought back from a Syrian refugee camp, citing state obligation to protect citizens abroad.

In Australia, concerns centre around the safety of retrieving citizens during an active conflict. The security situation in north-east Syria has deteriorated since President Donald Trump announced the withdrawal of US troops, paving the way for a Turkish invasion in October 2019. Some European nations took advantage of a five-day ceasefire in mid-October to repatriate their citizens, but the Australian government has maintained its position that it will not risk a single Australian life to retrieve any citizens, and that their return could pose a risk to the community.

A group of 36 IS women and children living in al-Hol camp have formally suggested they could be placed under restrictive anti-terrorism control orders on their return home. For those stranded in north-east Syria, simply surviving is becoming harder and harder. For example, two Dutch women and their three children left the camp and approached the Ankara-based Dutch embassy on 30 October, asking to be repatriated, which the government seems unwilling to do.

“In terms of international law, there is no international legal principal that requires a country to repatriate their nationals,” Wille explained. “But under international law, countries are not allowed to turn away people who are their nationals if they make it home.”

© Copyright Notice

click on link to view the associated photo/image
©AFP ⁃ Delil SOULEIMAN | ©AFP ⁃ Delil SOULEIMAN

We would like to ask you something …

Fanack is an independent media organisation, not funded by any state or any interest group, that distributes in the Middle East and the wider world unbiased analysis and background information, based on facts, about the Middle East and North Africa.

The website grew rapidly in breadth and depth and today forms a rich and valuable source of information on 21 countries, from Morocco to Oman and from Iran to Yemen, both in Arabic and English. We currently reach six million readers annually and growing fast.

In order to guarantee the impartiality of information on the Chronicle, articles are published without by-lines. This also allows correspondents to write more freely about sensitive or controversial issues in their country. All articles are fact-checked before publication to ensure that content is accurate, current and unbiased.

To run such a website is very expensive. With a small donation, you can make a huge impact. And it only takes a minute. Thank you.