فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / التطرف / ما بعد البغدادي: تنظيم الدولة مفكك أم لا زال خطره قائماً؟

ما بعد البغدادي: تنظيم الدولة مفكك أم لا زال خطره قائماً؟

Abu Bakr al-Baghdadi
تظهر الصورة التي التقطت في 28 أكتوبر 2019، الفنان السوري عزيز الأسمر (يمين) وهو يقف مع أقاربه بالقرب من لوحة جدارية رسمها في بلدة بنش في محافظة إدلب الشمالية الغربية، والتي تصور الرئيس الأمريكي دونالد ترمب وهو يُخرج “مسرحية” قتل زعيم تنظيم الدولة الإسلامية “داعش،” أبو بكر البغدادي في سوريا. Photo: Muhammad HAJ KADOUR / AFP ©AFP ⁃ Muhammad HAJ KADOUR

قُتل زعيم تنظيم الدولة الإسلامية “داعش” في غارةٍ شنتها القوات الأمريكية في 27 أكتوبر 2019. ومنذ ذلك الحين أكد الخبر من قِبل التنظيم نفسه وأعلن عن زعيمٍ جديد.

تمت الإشادة بالتطورات باعتبارها تقدماً إضافياً نحو تضييق الخناق على الجماعة التي نشرت الرعب في العراق وسوريا وخارجها. ومع ذلك، يحذر المحللون والمسؤولون من الرضا عن النفس، إذ يصفون العوامل المختلفة التي يمكن أن تؤثر على مسار الجماعة من هنا.

فقد كان أبو بكر البغدادي، المعروف أيضاً باسم أبو بكر البغدادي القرشي، “الخليفة” المعلن ذاتياً من قِبل داعش، التي سيطرت على مساحاتٍ شاسعة من العراق وسوريا بين عامي 2014 و2017. ومنذ ذلك الحين فقدت الجماعة الكثير من قوتها وأراضيها بفضل الجهود التي بذلتها القوات الأمريكية في سوريا بدعم من قوات سوريا الديمقراطية التي يقودها الأكراد وفي العراق من قبل الجيش والميليشيات التي تدعمها إيران.

قُتل زعيم داعش سيىء السمعة خلال غارة على مجمع في شمال غرب سوريا. وفي وصفه للحظات التي سبقت وفاته، قال قائد القيادة المركزية الأمريكية، الجنرال كينيث ماكنزي، إن البغدادي “زحف إلى حفرة مع طفلين صغيرين وفجر نفسه بينما ظل من كان معه على الأرض.”

كان البغدادي متوارياً عن الأنظار منذ خمس سنوات قبل وفاته، وبالرغم من استبداله بالفعل، إلا أن تأثيره على الكيانات الإرهابية العالمية لم يُنسى من قِبل المحللين. فقد قال مايكل نايتس من معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى إن خلفية البغدادي كعالمٍ إسلامي عراقي المولد تعني أنه احتُضن من قِبل كلٍ من العناصر المتطرفة والقوميين العراقيين الذين خدموا في جهاز أمن حزب البعث بزعامة صدام حسين. كما قام بإضفاء اللامركزية على الجماعة، مما ضمن طول عمرها وتمكينها من العمل من دونه أو أي قائد آخر.

أما خليفة البغدادي، أبو ابراهيم الهاشمي القرشي، فهو ضابطٌ سابقٌ بالجيش البعثي، إلا أن القليل يُعرف عنه حتى الآن.

بينما قال إتش إيه هيلر، الزميل المشارك الأقدم في مؤسسة كارنيغي للسلام الدولي، إن اختيار اسم القرشي هو إشارةٌ لقبيلة النبي محمد لتظهر داعش لأتباعها أنها تحترم هذا التقليد.

كما خسر التنظيم أيضاً المتحدث باسمه، أبو حسن المهاجر، في غارةٍ جوية بعد يوم من مقتل البغدادي. وقد حل محله أبو حمزة القرشي. وسرعان ما تولى القرشي مهمته على أكمل وجه، إذ أصدر تسجيلاً جديداً على موقع الجماعة، محذراً من أن التنظيم لم يمت بموت زعيمه. وقال “ألا تدركون أن الدولة اليوم ليست فقط على عتبة أوروبا وفي وسط إفريقيا، إنها باقية وتتمدد من الشرق إلى الغرب.”

واعترف ماكينزي أن القوات الأمريكية “لم تتوهم” أن التنظيم سيزول، إذ صرح “قد تكون أفعالهم مفككة بعض الشيء، وسيكونون خطرين، نشتبه بأنهم سيحاولون القيام بشكل ما من أشكال الهجمات الانتقامية. ونحن مستعدون تماما لذلك”.

وتشير التقارير إلى أن موت البغدادي من المحتمل أن يتسبب في انشقاق داعش، وقد يحتاج الزعيم الجديد إلى العمل على تآزر الجماعة مرة أخرى.

فمنذ خسارتها في سوريا، نفذت الجماعة حرب عصابات بدلاً من الإستيلاء على الأراضي من خلال هجمات واسعة النطاق، إلا أن رسالة البغدادي الأخيرة ذكرت أن العمليات اليومية لا تزال تحدث وأن الولايات المتحدة كانت تخسر في أماكن أخرى مثل أفغانستان. إن فرع الدولة الإسلامية في أفغانستان، المعروف باسم “ولاية خراسان الإسلامية،” آخذٌ بالنمو وتسبب في مقتل أكثر من ألف مدني، مستهدفاً الأقليات في البلاد، بيد أنه يفتقر إلى الدعم من خصمه الرئيسي، طالبان. ويقال إن الجماعة تفتقر إلى القوة أيضاً في البلدان الأخرى التي توجد بها مثل نيجيريا وليبيا ومصر.

لكن في العراق، أشار تقريرٌ صدر عن البنتاغون في أغسطس إلى أن “مراكز القيادة والسيطرة” لا تزال قائمة وأنها كانت تعاود الظهور في سوريا. كما أن الجماعة لا تزال تبذل جهوداً مكثفة، ودولية، لتجنيد المقاتلين عبر وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي.

وعلاوةً على ذلك، لا تزال المظالم التي منحت داعش موطىء قدمٍ في العراق قائمة، فعلى سبيل المثال، لا يزال حوالي 300 ألف من السكان بلا مأوى، كما أن السياسيين المحليين يجهضون جهود إعادة الإعمار طمعاً بالرشاوي. فقد أسفرت الاحتجاجات الجماهيرية ضد الفساد وسوء الإدارة عن مقتل 250 مدنياً في أكتوبر الماضي، كما أصيب المئات بجروحٍ بينما تتأرجح البلاد مجدداً على شفا عدم الاستقرار.

ومع ذلك، لا يرى مستشار الحكومة العراقية السابق روبرت تولاست أن داعش ستعود لنشاطها في العراق على المدى القريب، إذ يسود العداء المحلي ضد التنظيم خاصة بين رجال القبائل الذين مارسوا العقاب الجماعي على المجتمعات التي يُعتقد أنها ساعدتهم.

يوافق مايكل نايتس على أنه على المدى القصير، انتهى تنظيم داعش، لكنه يخشى أن يظهر من جديد بين أطفال أعضاء الجماعة، سواء المحليين أو الأجانب. فالكثير من هؤلاء الشباب محتجزون الآن في ما يسمى بمخيمات اللاجئين مثل الهول في سوريا، التي يقول المعلقون إنها أرض خصبة للمتطرفين في المستقبل.

فقد واجه المخيم المكتظ عدداً من المشكلات في السيطرة على سكانه. وبعد انسحاب القوات الأمريكية من المنطقة، أصبح الوضع في المخيم وسقوطه المحتمل أكثر خطورة.

وقبل موته، قيل إن البغدادي صرح إنه يريد استهداف المعسكرات والسجون التي تحتجز السوريين والعراقيين النازحين، الأمر الذي قد يجعل المخيمات عرضة للخطر، كما قال راسل ترافرز، القائم بأعمال مدير المركز الوطني لمكافحة الإرهاب، في حديثه أمام لجنة الكونغرس.

وبحسب ما قاله مايكل والتز، وهو نائب جمهوري ومقاتل سابق في القوات الخاصة لسلاح المشاة الأمريكي إن وجود القوات الأمريكية في المنطقة كان أمراً ضرورياً للقبض على البغدادي، إذ قال “يجب علينا منع داعش من العودة بالبقاء ضمن القوة الهجومية.”

وفي عام 2018، قدرت الأمم المتحدة أن ما يصل إلى 30 ألف مقاتل من داعش لا زالوا نشطين في سوريا والعراق. واليوم، قال ترافرز، هناك أكثر من 18 ألف مقاتل أحرار يبحثون عن التوجيه لإعادة توحيد صفوفهم. فقد تم بالفعل استغلال الفراغ الأمني الذي خلفه غزو تركيا لسوريا في أوائل شهر أكتوبر وانسحاب الولايات المتحدة من خلال اقتحام السجون، حيث نجحت محاولتان من كل أربع محاولات في سوريا في شهر واحد. وفي 11 أكتوبر، فر خمسة أشخاص من مركز احتجاز في القامشلي بينما فر 850 شخص من مخيم عين عيسى في 13 أكتوبر.

ومع ذلك، دون خليفته، قد يفقد تنظيم الدولة الإسلامية الكثير من جاذبيته، وفقاً للينا خطيب، رئيسة برنامج الشرق الأوسط وشمال أفريقيا في تشاتام هاوس، والتي سيحاول التنظيم التعويض عنها باستخدام “حكايا الانتقام” للحث على دعمه .

قد يؤدي هذا إلى هجمات انتهازية على المدى القصير لإثبات أهمية الجماعة، كما قد يمنح الغزو التركي أيضاً فرصة الاستفادة من جهود إحياءها.

في نهاية المطاف، سواء كانت داعش ستستعيد السمعة التي تمتعت بها يوماً ما بكونها جماعة لا يستهان بها موضع نقاشٍ مفتوح، ففكر داعش لا يزال يأسر الكثيرين، ولا بد أن يتحلى العالم باليقظة الدائمة.

© Copyright Notice

click on link to view the associated photo/image
©AFP ⁃ Muhammad HAJ KADOUR

دعمكم عونٌ لنا

فَنَك هي مؤسسة إعلامية إلكترونية مستقلة، لا تمولها أي دولة أو مجموعات مصالح. تلتزم فَنَك بنشر تحليلاتٍ مبنية على الوقائع ومحايدة، إلى جانب التقارير المواضيعية حول الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا.
شهد الموقع نمواً سريعاً في نطاق وعمق المعلومات التي يُقدمها، واليوم، بات يُشكل مصدراً غنياً وقيماً للمعلومات عن 21 بلداً، من المغرب إلى عُمان ومن إيران إلى اليمن، باللغتين العربية والإنجليزية. حالياً، وصل عدد القراء إلى 6 ملايين سنوياً، والعدد آخذٌ بالإزدياد.
لضمان حيادية المعلومات على موقع فَنَك (وقائع وأحداث) ، تُنشر المقالات دون ذكر أسماء الكتّاب، مما يُتيح أيضاً لمراسلينا مساحة أكبر من الحرية عند التطرق إلى القضايا الحساسة أو المثيرة للجدل فى بلادهم. وإلى جانب ذلك، نتحرى حقائق جميع المعلومات الواردة في مقالاتنا قبل النشر لضمان دقة المعلومات، وحداثتها وحيادها.

استمرارية تشغيل مثل هذا الموقع الإلكتروني مُكلفة للغاية. بتبرعٍ صغيرٍ منك، يمكنك المساهمة في الحفاظ على حرية واستقلالية تغطيتنا.

Fanack Home / Extremism / Islamic State Without al-Baghdadi: Disjointed or as Dangerous as Ever?

Islamic State Without al-Baghdadi: Disjointed or as Dangerous as Ever?

Abu Bakr al-Baghdadi
A picture taken on October 28, 2019, shows Syrian artist Aziz al-Asmar (C) posing with relatives near a mural he painted in the town of Binnish in the northwestern Idlib province, depicting US President Donald Trump directing the “play” of killing Islamic State (IS) group’s leader Abu Bakr al-Baghdadi in Syria. Photo: Muhammad HAJ KADOUR / AFP ©AFP ⁃ Muhammad HAJ KADOUR

The leader of jihadist group Islamic State (IS) was killed in a raid by US forces on 27 October 2019. The news has since been confirmed by IS itself and a new leader announced.

The development was praised as further progress towards wearing down the group that has spread terror in Iraq and Syria and beyond. Yet analysts and officials warn against complacency, describing the various factors that could influence the group’s trajectory from here.

Abu Bakr al-Baghdadi, also known as Abu Bakr al-Baghdadi al-Qurayshi, was the self-declared ‘caliph’ of ISIS, which controlled large swathes of Iraq and Syria between 2014 and 2017. It has since lost much of its power and territory thanks to efforts in Syria by US forces backed by the Kurdish-led Syrian Democratic Forces (SDF) and in Iraq by the army and Iran-supported militias.

The notorious IS leader was killed during a raid on his compound in north-western Syria. Describing the moments leading up to his death, the head of US Central Command, General Kenneth McKenzie, said that al-Baghdadi “crawled into a hole with two small children and blew himself up while his people stayed on the ground”.

Al-Baghdadi had been in hiding for five years prior to his demise. Already replaced, his influence on the global terror outfit has not been lost on analysts. Michael Knights of the Washington Institute for Near East Policy said that al-Baghdadi’s background as an Iraqi-born Islamic scholar meant he was received by both radical elements and Iraqi nationalists who served in Saddam Hussein’s Baath party security apparatus. He also decentralized the organization, ensuring its longevity and enabling it to function without him or any other commander-in-chief.

Al-Baghdadi’s replacement, Abu Ibrahim al-Hashimi al-Qurayshi, is a former Baathist army officer, but little else is known about him.

HA Hellyer, a senior associate fellow at the Carnegie Endowment for International Peace, said the name Qurayshi would have been picked to suggest descent from Prophet Muhammad’s tribe and show followers it is respecting the tradition.

IS also lost its spokesperson, Abu Hasan al-Muhajir, in an air strike a day after al-Baghdadi was killed. He has been replaced by Abu Hamza al-Qarshi. Al-Qarshi was quick to assume his role, issuing a new recording on the group’s website, warning the group had not been killed with its former leader. “Do you not realize that the State today is not only on the doorstep of Europe and in the centre of Africa, it is staying and expanding from the east to the west,” he said.

McKenzie acknowledged that US security forces were under “no illusions” the group was going away, stating, “Their actions may be a little disjointed. They will be dangerous. We expect they will try some sort of retribution attack. We’re postured and prepared for that.”

Reports suggest al-Baghdadi’s death is likely to cause IS to splinter, and the new leader may need to synergize the group again.

Since losing in Syria, the group has conducted guerrilla attacks rather than claiming territory through large-scale offensives, but al-Baghdadi’s last message stated that daily operations were still taking place and that the US was losing elsewhere such as in Afghanistan. Known as the Islamic State of Khorasan Province (ISKP), Afghanistan’s branch of the outfit has been on the rise and has caused over a thousand civilian deaths, targeting minorities in the country. But it lacks support from its main rival, the Taliban. The group is also said to lack strength in other countries in which it operates such as Nigeria, Libya and Egypt.

In Iraq, however, a Pentagon report published in August noted that a stable ‘command and control node’ remained and was resurging in Syria. It also retains an intensive and international effort to recruit fighters through social media.

Moreover, the grievances that first gave IS a foothold in Iraq still exist. Some 300,000 residents are still homeless, for instance, and reconstruction efforts are frustrated by local politicians who hold out for kickbacks. Mass protests against corruption and mismanagement resulted in 250 civilian deaths in October, with hundreds more injured as the country once again teeters on the brink of instability.

However, former Iraqi government adviser Robert Tollast does not see IS resurging in Iraq in the immediate term, with local animosity prevailing against it particularly among tribesmen who have administered collective punishment of communities thought to have helped them.

Michael Knights agrees that in the short-term IS is finished, but fears it could re-emerge among the children of the group’s members, both local and foreign. Many of these youngsters are now confined in so-called refugee camps like al-Hol in Syria, which commentators say is a breeding ground for future radicals.

The overcrowded camp has encountered a number of problems controlling its residents. Following the withdrawal of US troops from the region, the situation in the camp and its potential fallout has become even more precarious.

Before his death, al-Baghdadi reportedly said he wanted to target camps and prisons holding displaced Syrians and Iraqis, which could make the camps vulnerable, said Russell Travers, acting director of the National Counterterrorism Center, speaking to a congressional committee.

Having US forces in the region was crucial to capturing al-Baghdadi, according to Michael Waltz, a Republican lawmaker and former Army Green Beret. “We must keep IS from returning by staying on offence,” he said.

The United Nations estimated in 2018 that up to 30,000 IS fighters were still active in Syria and Iraq. Now, Travers said, there are more than 18,000 fighters on the loose looking for a direction to regroup. The security vacuum left by Turkey’s invasion of Syria in early October and the US withdrawal has already been exploited through prison breaks, with two out of every four attempts in Syria being successful in one month. On 11 October, five people fled a detention centre in Qamishli and 850 escaped the Ain Issa camp on 13 October.

Without its caliphate, however, IS may have lost much of its appeal, according to Lina Khatib, head of the Middle East and North Africa Programme at Chatham House, which it is trying to compensate for by using “narratives of revenge” to induce support.

This may lead to opportunistic attacks in the short term to prove the group’s relevance. The Turkish invasion may also give it a chance to capitalize on its revival efforts.

Ultimately, whether IS will regain the formidable reputation it once had is an open question. Its ideology is still attractive to many, and the world will have to remain vigilant.

© Copyright Notice

click on link to view the associated photo/image
©AFP ⁃ Muhammad HAJ KADOUR | ©AFP ⁃ Muhammad HAJ KADOUR

We would like to ask you something …

Fanack is an independent media organisation, not funded by any state or any interest group, that distributes in the Middle East and the wider world unbiased analysis and background information, based on facts, about the Middle East and North Africa.

The website grew rapidly in breadth and depth and today forms a rich and valuable source of information on 21 countries, from Morocco to Oman and from Iran to Yemen, both in Arabic and English. We currently reach six million readers annually and growing fast.

In order to guarantee the impartiality of information on the Chronicle, articles are published without by-lines. This also allows correspondents to write more freely about sensitive or controversial issues in their country. All articles are fact-checked before publication to ensure that content is accurate, current and unbiased.

To run such a website is very expensive. With a small donation, you can make a huge impact. And it only takes a minute. Thank you.