فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / التطرف / عندما تسعى جبهة النصرة لأن تكون جماعة إرهابية “معتدلة”

عندما تسعى جبهة النصرة لأن تكون جماعة إرهابية “معتدلة”

al-Nusra Front Idlib
أحد مقاتلي جبهة النصرة يرفع علم الحركة أمام مبنى محافظة إدلب, شمال سوريا Photo Twitter

“حربنا ليست هي حرب ثأرية.. نحن لا نقاتل اليوم إلا من يرفع علينا السلاح… ديننا دين رحمة… نحن لسنا مجرمين قتلة.”

هذه الكلمات لم تصدر عن أحد مقاتلي الحرية المعتدلين، بل إنها في الحقيقة تصريحات صادرة عن أبو محمد الجولاني قائد جبهة النصرة، ذراع تنظيم القاعدة في سورية.

في مقابلة حصرية على قناة الجزيرة في 27 أيار (مايو) الماضي، ادعى الجولاني أن لا نية لجبهة النصرة باستهداف الغرب أو الأقليات في سورية، على الأقل في الوقت الراهن، وأن جماعته كانت معنية فقط بإسقاط نظام بشار الأسد.

لقد حملت تصريحات الجولاني تناقضاً صارخاً مع ما عرف عن أيديولوجية القاعدة المتمحورة حول استهداف الغرب والقتل الطائفي، وقد قرأ عدة من المراقبين خطاب الجولاني على أنه محاولة لتقديم النصرة كجماعة أكثر اعتدالاُ من تنظيم الدولة الإسلامية (داعش)، والتي وصفها خلال المقابلة بأنها “غير شرعية” واستنكر ممارساتها.

تأسست جبهة النصرة، التي تُفيد التقارير أنها مدعومة من قِبل قطر، في كانون الأول (يناير) من العام 2012، حيث وصلت أعداد مقاتلي الجبهة في منتصف عام 2014 حوالي 15,000 مقاتل. ووفقاً للجولاني، فإن 70% من رجال النصرة هم من السوريين، في حين أنّ ما تبقى منهم ينحدرون من مختلف بقاع العالم العربي، والاتحاد السوفياتي السابق، واستراليا. واليوم، باتت تشكل الجبهة جزءاً من تحالف لعدة فصائل مسلحة معارضة يحمل اسم “جيش الفتح.” وتشير تقارير عدة إلى أن السعودية وقطر وتركيا تشكل أكبر الداعمين لجيش الفتح الذي أحرز تقدماً كبيراً في الشمال السوري في شهري نيسان (أبريل) وأيار (مايو) الماضيين.

“لقد سعى الجولاني إلى تطمين المجتمع الدولي” يقول الخبير المصري بالجماعات الإسلامية أحمد بان. “لقد حاول الخروج بخطاب مختلف حول الأقليات الدينية وإقناع الجمهور أن النصرة مختلفة عن تنظيم الدولة الإسلامية.”

كما يرى عدد من الخبراء أن تصريحات الجولاني كانت جزءاً من حملة تلميع واسعة كانت جبهة النصرة قد أطلقتها في وقت سابق. “هذه الحملة ليست بالشيء الجديد، فقد بدأت قبل وقت طويل،” يقول المحلل السياسي السوري مهند فياض. “كان من فصول هذه الحملة دخول النصرة في تحالف جيش الفتح مع فصائل أكثر اعتدالاً، وتخفيف حظرها على التدخين وتوزيع الغذاء على الناس في بعض المناطق الخاضعة لسيطرتها، وقيامها علانية بمحاسبة أفرادها الذين يتعرضون للمدنيين، إضافة إلى المعاملة الحسنة التي قدموها لراهبات معلولا إلى حين تحريرهن بصفقة تبادل.”

لكن في العاشر من حزيران (يونيو) الجاري، أي بعد أقل من أسبوعين على بث مقابلة الجولاني، تورطت النصرة في مجزرة مروعة، إذ قام مقاتلوها بقتل 20 درزياً على الأقل رمياً بالرصاص في قرية قلب اللوزة القريبة من مدينة إدلب في الشمال السوري. ونقلت تقارير أن قيادياً في النصرة حاول مصادرة منزل يعود لرجل درزي قيل أنه موالٍ للنظام، وحين حاول أقاربه منع القيادي، أمر الأخير بإعدامهم.

التمكين

أثارت الحادثة كثيراً من الانتقادات لجبهة النصرة وفاقمت من انعدام الثقة بقياداتها. “أكد الجولاني في المقابلة أن النصرة تتبع للقاعدة وتتلقى أوامرها من الظواهري، ولقد رأينا سلوكيات القاعدة مع مسيحيي العراق ومع اليزيديين وسواهم من الاقليات قبل ظهور داعش حتى،” يقول الصحفي السوري إياد شربجي. “لا يمكن أن نثق بالجولاني لأنه غير صادق، وما يفعله هو عقيدة التمكين التي تؤمن بها السلفية الجهادية، وهي عملية خداع مرحلي ريثما تمتلك القوة لفرض ما تريد”.

وتكررت ذات الفكرة فيما يقوله المفكر السوري- الفلسطيني سلامة كيلة، الذي يفترض أن تصريحات الجولاني كانت مجرد تكتيك مرحلي. “ربما كان الهدف هنا هو فعل ما فعلته داعش، حين ’توافقت‘ مع قوى عراقية ضد النظام في العراق، وسارعت للسيطرة على مناطق واسعة غرب العراق لتعلن الخلافة، وتشرّد المسيحيين وتعتقل اليزيديين، وتمارس كل أشكال القتل.”

وعلى مدى الأشهر الماضية، تحدث عدد من المراقبين عن احتمال أن تكون واشنطن قد قدمت الدعم إلى جيش الفتح الذي يضم جبهة النصرة. ويفترض هؤلاء أن الولايات المتحدة لربما ابتلعت الطعم وتنظر حالياً في التعاون مع النصرة ضد داعش. لكن الموقف الرسمي للولايات المتحدة يبدو ـ على الأقل حتى الآن ـ ثابتاً حيال جماعة النصرة التي صنفتها واشنطن كجماعة إرهابية في العام 2012.

وفي تعليق للصحفيين على حادثة قرية قلب اللوزة، قال الناطق باسم الخارجية الأمريكية جيف راثكي: “ندين الهجوم الذي قامت به ‏جبهة النصرة‬ في العاشر من شهر حزيران (يونيو) الجاري على قرية درزية في محافظة إدلب‬، مما أدى بحسب التقارير الى مقتل 20 شخصاً. وعلى النقيض من الادعاءات الاخيرة لقائد جبهة النصرة المدعو الجولاني بأن جبهة النصرة لن تلحق الاذى بالأقليات الدينية، برهنت هذه المجموعة الارهابية ـ مرة اخرى ـ أنها ماضية بارتكاب مجموعة من الجرائم بحق الشعب السوري.”‬‬‬

لكن شربجي يعتقد أن واشنطن قد تمد يدها إلى النصرة في حال استشعرت الحاجة إلى ذلك، فيقول: “لقد سبق للولايات المتحدة أن تعاملت وفاوضت طالبان وهي تقصفها في ذات الوقت.” ويضيف: “البرغماتية الغربية وخصوصا الامريكية قدمت الكثير من الأمثلة عن ذلك، ليس أولها فضيحة إيران كونترا وليس آخرها تعاملها مخابراتياً مع نظام الأسد في الوقت الذي كانت تحاربه دبلوماسياً وتصنفه ضمن محور الشر والدول الداعمة للإرهاب. لذا، لا استبعد تعاون واشنطن مع النصرة مرحلياً في سبيل القضاء على داعش.”

وفي 13 حزيران (يونيو) الجاري، صرحت جبهة النصرة بأنها ستقوم بمحاكمة الأفراد الذين تورطوا في حادثة قلب اللوزة، وحاولت الجبهة في بيان على تويتر التخفيف من مخاوف الأقليات من حصول هجمات مماثلة أخرى، بقولها إن “ما وقع خطأ كبير وغير مبرر وتم بدون علم القيادة وبمخالفة واضحة لتوجيهات قيادة جبهة النصرة وأن كل من تورط في تلك الحادثة سيقدم لمحكمة شرعية.”
لكن جهود جبهة النصرة لإصلاح الموقف وإنقاذ صورتها ظلت تعتبر متأخرة وهزيلة. “صدور البيان المتأخر ربما يدل على انقسام في القيادة، وقد يكون ثمة تيار براغماتي في النصرة يحاول أن يبعد نفسه عن داعش والإرهاب،” يقول وائل السواح المدير التنفيذي لمنظمة اليوم التالي ومقرها اسطنبول. “ولكن هذا التيار ليس له قوام واضح، ولا يمكن الرهان عليه.”

على صفحات التواصل الاجتماعي، تحدث كثيرون عن أن تصريحات الجولاني الأخيرة ـ إلى جانب غيرها من تصرفات النصرة ـ قد تشكل بداية نحو رفض كامل في النهاية للإرهاب واندماج كامل في ثورة الشعب السوري من أجل الحرية. لكن يبدو من المبكر التبين فيما إذا كانت هذه هي الحال. “ستظل النصرة وشركاؤها منظمات دخيلة وإرهابية طالما حوت مقاتلين أجانب، ومادامت تعلن أن الدين لا المواطنة هو ما يجمع السوريين،” يقول السواح. “إذا شاءت النصرة، أو أي فصيل راديكالي مسلح، أن تتخلى عن برنامجها، وأن تشارك السوريين في بناء سوريا مدنية، وطنية، ديمقراطية، فذلك يستوجب منها إبعاد كل المقاتلين الأجانب وتبني برنامج يقوم على أساس حقوق الإنسان ويعتبر أن السوريين جميعهم متساوون أمام القانون، وأن السلطة تأتي من صندوق الانتخاب. عندها فقط، سيكونون أكثر من مرحب بهم.”

 

image_pdfimage_print

دعمكم عونٌ لنا

فَنَك هي مؤسسة إعلامية إلكترونية مستقلة، لا تمولها أي دولة أو مجموعات مصالح. تلتزم فَنَك بنشر تحليلاتٍ مبنية على الوقائع ومحايدة، إلى جانب التقارير المواضيعية حول الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا.
شهد الموقع نمواً سريعاً في نطاق وعمق المعلومات التي يُقدمها، واليوم، بات يُشكل مصدراً غنياً وقيماً للمعلومات عن 21 بلداً، من المغرب إلى عُمان ومن إيران إلى اليمن، باللغتين العربية والإنجليزية. حالياً، وصل عدد القراء إلى 6 ملايين سنوياً، والعدد آخذٌ بالإزدياد.
لضمان حيادية المعلومات على موقع فَنَك (وقائع وأحداث) ، تُنشر المقالات دون ذكر أسماء الكتّاب، مما يُتيح أيضاً لمراسلينا مساحة أكبر من الحرية عند التطرق إلى القضايا الحساسة أو المثيرة للجدل فى بلادهم. وإلى جانب ذلك، نتحرى حقائق جميع المعلومات الواردة في مقالاتنا قبل النشر لضمان دقة المعلومات، وحداثتها وحيادها.

استمرارية تشغيل مثل هذا الموقع الإلكتروني مُكلفة للغاية. بتبرعٍ صغيرٍ منك، يمكنك المساهمة في الحفاظ على حرية واستقلالية تغطيتنا.

Home / Extremism / Jabhat al-Nusra Tries to Look Like a Moderate Terrorist Group

Jabhat al-Nusra Tries to Look Like a Moderate Terrorist Group

al-Nusra Front Idlib
An al-Nusra fighter holds his group flag as he stands in front of the governorate building in Idlib province, north Syria. Photo Twitter

“Our war is not one of vengeance…. Our faith is one of compassion. We are not murderers. We fight only those who fight against us.”

These are not words of a moderate freedom fighter. They were, in fact, spoken by Abu Muhammad al-Golani, the leader of Jabhat al-Nusra, al-Qaeda’s Syrian affiliate.

During an exclusive interview with Qatar-based Al-Jazeera TV on 27 May 2015, Golani claimed that al-Nusra had no intention of targeting the West or religious minorities, at least for the time being, and was interested only in overthrowing the regime of President Bashar al-Assad.

The statement was in striking contrast with al-Qaeda’s ideology, which has long centred on targeting the West and on sectarian killings. Many observers have read Golani’s words as an attempt to present al-Nusra as a more moderate group than the Islamic State (IS), which he described in the interview as “illegitimate,” denouncing its practices.

Jabhat al-Nusra (al-Nusra Front), was established in January 2012. Reportedly supported by Qatar, Jabhat al-Nusra had about 15,000 fighters in mid-2014. Seventy percent of al-Nusra’s men are Syrians, according to Golani himself; he said that the rest came from all over the world, mainly from the Arab world, former Soviet states, and Australia. Today, the group has become part of an alliance of various armed opposition factions called Jaish al-Fateh (Army of Conquest). It is reported that Saudi Arabia, Qatar, and Turkey are the main supporters of Jaish al-Fateh, which, in April and May of 2015, made major advances in northern Syria.

“Golani was trying to reassure the international community,” says Ahmed Ban, an Egyptian expert on Islamic groups. “He sought to come up with a different discourse concerning the religious minorities and to convince the public that al-Nusra is different from IS.”

Several experts also believed that Golani’s statements were part of a broad-based public relations campaign begun earlier by al-Nusra. “This PR campaign is actually nothing new; it started a long time ago,” says Syrian political analyst Muhannad Fayyad. “al-Nusra entered the alliance of Jaish al-Fateh which brought it together with relatively moderate opposition groups, relaxed its ban on smoking and handed out food in the areas it controls; it also publicly punished its own fighters who harassed residents, and treated well Christian nuns whom it held until they were returned in a prisoner swap.”

On 10 June, shortly after that interview was aired, Nusra was involved in a terrible incident. The group’s fighters shot dead at least 20 civilians from the Druze minority in the northwestern village of Qalb al-Lawzeh. It was reported that one al-Nusra commander tried to confiscate a house belonging to a Druze man who was, he claimed, loyal to the Syrian government, and when the man’s relatives tried to stop the commander, he ordered their execution.

Tamkeen

The incident provoked much criticism against Jabhat al-Nusra and increased scepticism of its leadership. “Golani made it clear that Nusra is an affiliate of al-Qaeda, and we have seen the way al-Qaeda treated Christians and Yazidis in Iraq, before IS even existed,” Syrian columnist Eiad Sharbaji says. “Golani cannot be trusted. He is now applying a concept known in Jihadist Salafism as tamkeen, whereby jihadists temporarily tolerate their surroundings until they grow stronger and better able to enforce their views and show their real face.”

This opinion was shared by Syrian-Palestinian intellectual Salameh Keileh, who presumed Golani’s statements were a mere tactic. “Nusra might be trying to do what IS did in Iraq, fighting alongside other groups against the government until they gained ground. They then declared a caliphate in the areas in Western Iraq that, together, they had captured, displaced Christians, arrested Yazidis, and practised all kinds of killing.”

Over the past few months, observers have speculated that Washington might have provided support to Jaish al-Fateh, which includes Jabhat al-Nusra. They argue that the US might have swallowed the bait and is now considering cooperation with Nusra against IS. So far, however, the official US stance seems firmly in opposition to the group, which Washington designated in 2012 as a terrorist organization.

“We condemn the Nusra Front’s attack of June 10 against a Druze village in Idlib,” US State Department spokesperson Jeff Rathke told reporters, commenting on the Qalb al-Lawzeh incident. “Contrary to Nusra leader al-Golani’s recent claim that Nusra would not harm religious minorities, this terrorist group has shown once again that it continues to commit a range of crimes against the Syrian people.”

But Sharbaji still thinks that the United States might extend a hand to Nusra if it felt the need to do so. “The United States negotiated with Taliban leaders at the same time it was fighting them,” he says. “Washington is known for being pragmatic. Examples include the Iran-Contra scandal and its intelligence cooperation with the regime of Bashar al-Assad while waging a diplomatic war against him. Therefore, I cannot exclude the possibility that the US might cooperate with Nusra, at least temporarily, in order to get rid of IS.”

On 13 June, al-Nusra said it would prosecute the members involved in the killings in Qalb al-Lawzeh. In an official statement published on Twitter, al-Nusra sought to allay fears of further attacks on minorities, saying that some of its members acted “in clear violation of the leadership’s views.”

Nevertheless, al-Nusra’s efforts to repair its image seemed late and poorly executed. “The late response could indicate that there is a crack within the al-Nusra leadership,” says Wael Sawah, executive director of the Istanbul-based The Day After Association. “There might be a pragmatic current inside al-Nusra which is trying to distance the group from IS and terrorism. However, such a current is not clear and cannot be counted on.”

It has been argued on social media that Golani’s recent statements, in addition to other gestures by his group, may be a foundation for a later full rejection of terrorism and complete integration in the Syrian freedom revolution, but it remains to be seen whether such argument will prove correct. “al-Nusra and its partners will remain terrorist outsiders as long as they include foreign fighters and claim that religion, not citizenship, is what Syrians have in common,” says Sawah. “If al-Nusra, or any radical group, wants to be part of building a civil, national, democratic Syria, they need to exclude all foreign fighters and embrace a programme based on human rights and elections and view all Syrians as equal citizens before the law. Only then will they be widely welcomed.”

 

image_pdfimage_print