فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / التطرف / النقاش المحتدم: هل ينبغي على الدول السماح بعودة مقاتلي داعش؟

النقاش المحتدم: هل ينبغي على الدول السماح بعودة مقاتلي داعش؟

Specials- IS fighters
المتهمان أيوب. ب (يمين) وإبراهيم الحاج. ب يغطيان وجوههما في المحكمة بوسط ألمانيا، قبل الإعلان عن الحكم، في 7 ديسمبر 2015. يُتهم المقاتلان السابقان في داعش اللذان عادا من سوريا بانضمامهما إلى جماعةٍ إرهابية. Photo AFP

بات مئات المقاتلين الأجانب من الدولة الإسلامية المعلنة ذاتياً، بالإضافة إلى زوجاتهم وأطفالهم، منذ مارس 2019 رهن الاحتجاز من قِبل قوات سوريا الديمقراطية بقيادة الأكراد، في سوريا. وعلاوةً على ذلك، بات غالبيتهم في مأزقٍ قانوني، ذلك أن البلدان التي هاجروا منها ترفض استقبالهم، مما يضع عبئاً غير مسبوق على قوات سوريا الديمقراطية.

فقد دعا الرئيس المشارك في مكتب العلاقات الخارجية في قوات سوريا الديمقراطية، عبد الكريم عمر، القوى العالمية إلى قبول مواطنيها. وقد أشار إلى أن معظم الدول تعتقد أنها يمكن أن تتخلى عن مواطنيها المحتجزين لدى قوات سوريا الديمقراطية في سوريا، الأمر الذي يعتبر، بحسب قوله، “خطأ كبيراً جداً”.

وأضاف المتحدث باسم قوات سوريا الديمقراطية، مصطفى بالي، أنه لا توجد بنية تحتية قانونية معترف بها في شمال سوريا، مما يجعل من المستحيل على معتقلي داعش الحصول على محاكمةٍ عادلة. ومع ذلك، أظهرت معظم الدول الأوروبية القليل من الرغبة السياسية لاستقبال جهادييها.

فقد قالت فرنسا إنها ستقبل عودة المقاتلين فقط بعد النظر بـ”كل حالة على حدتها.” كما تعهد ساجد جاويد، وزير الداخلية البريطاني، باتخاذ نهج أكثر تطرفاً من خلال منع أي مواطنٍ بريطاني قاتل مع الجماعات الإرهابية من العودة إلى البلاد. فموقفهم متجذرٌ في المخاوف من أن المواطنين الذين قاتلوا مع داعش قد اكتسبوا المهارات والعلاقات لشن هجماتٍ عند عودتهم.

يعدّ هذا أمراً مرعباً على وجه الخصوص للدول الأوروبية ذلك أنها قد لا تملك ما يكفي من الأدلة لتجريم كل عائد. لتجنب المخاطر، تختار البلدان تجريد مواطنيها من جنسيتهم، مما أثار ضجةً ونقاشاً بين النشطاء الحقوقيين وواضعي السياسات.

الحالة الأكثر بروزاً كانت لعروس داعش شميمة بيغوم، التي فرت للإنضمام إلى الخلافة المزعومة عندما كانت بعمر الـ15 عاماً فحسب. وعلى الرغم من أن بيغوم من أصولٍ بنغلاديشية، إلا أنها لا تملك أي جواز سفرٍ آخر غير البريطاني. إن قرار جاويد بتجريدها من الجنسية البريطانية تركها بلا جنسية بما يتعارض بشكلٍ صارخ مع القانون الدولي.

ومع ذلك، قال جاويد أن وليد بيغوم سيظل بريطانياً، إلا أنه سرعان ما توفي بعد فترةٍ قصيرة من الإعلان. وإلى جانب الآثار القانونية المترتبة على تجريد شخصٍ ما من جنسيته، يحذر المحللون من أن فعل ذلك سيساعد داعش على المدى الطويل.

فقد قالت كاثرين براون، محاضرة بارزة في الدراسات الإسلامية بجامعة برمنجهام البريطانية، لصحيفة التايم: “نجحت جماعاتٌ مثل الدولة الإسلامية بشكلٍ كبير في زرع البذور في أذهان الناس بأن الحكومات الغربية والمجتمعات الغربية لا تهتم بمواطنيها المسلمين.”

وأضافت براون أنه بانتهاك حقوق الإنسان وسيادة القانون، تساهم الدول التي تُجرّد الجهاديين العائدين من جنسياتهم في تغذية فكرة أن المسلمين مجرد حالة استثنائية في الغرب.

إلا أن ألمانيا تخالفهم الرأي. ففي 4 مارس، قالت إليونور بيترمان، المتحدثة باسم وزارة الداخلية الألمانية، أن الوزراء الألمان توصلوا إلى توافق في الآراء بتجريد جنسية أي مواطن يحمل جنسية مزدوجة ويشارك في عملياتٍ قتالية لجماعةٍ إرهابية في الخارج. ومع ذلك، لن يتم تطبيق القانون بأثرٍ رجعي، لذلك لا يمكن تطبيقه على أي مقاتلٍ ألماني مع داعش عالق في سوريا في الوقت الحالي. كما لجأت بلجيكا في السابق إلى نفس الاستراتيجية.

في حين قال نديم حوري، مدير برنامج الإرهاب ومكافحة الإرهاب في هيومن رايتس ووتش لفَنَك كرونيكل، أن تجريد الأسرى من جنسياتهم تصرفٌ يتسم بقصر النظر.

إذ قال إن أطفال مقاتلي داعش يشكلون أكبر عددٍ من الأشخاص الذين يقبعون في المخيمات في سوريا، وهم مهددون بأن يترعرعوا عديمي الجنسية ما لم يطالبون بالحصول على الجنسية. ويؤكد حوري أن الحل الوحيد هو أن تمنح الدول هؤلاء الأطفال الجنسية وأن يحاكم والديهم.

وأضاف حوري لفَنَك، “في غياب المحاكمة العادلة، نواجه بشكلٍ أساسي وضعاً يشبه معتقل غوانتانامو حيث سيتم احتجاز الأفراد دون محاكمة ودون احتمالية إطلاق سراحهم.”

وتابع القول، “هناك مخاوف من أن يتم نقل الأسرى من داعش إلى غوانتانامو، حيث توجد انتهاكاتٌ جسيمة لحقوق الإنسان. سيكون ذلك بمثابة فشلٍ كبير في الحرب ضد الإرهاب. وإن تم ذلك، سيكون غوانتانامو مكان حشد الجهاديين في المستقبل.”

بينما يقول خالد دياب، كاتب العمود في صحيفة العربي، إن تطبيق نظام الجنسية المزدوجة غير ديمقراطي بالفطرة. من وجهة نظره، ينبغي أن يضمن النظام القانوني العادل المساواة بين جميع المواطنين أمام القانون.

فقد كتب “تطبيق مبدأ إلغاء المواطنة فقط على المواطنين المتجنسين، والمواطنين ذوي الجنسية المزدوجة والمواطنين الذين يحق لهم (نظرياً) الحصول على الجنسية في مكانٍ آخر، من المسلمين على وجه الحصر تقريباً، تعبير عن التعصب الأعمى، وليس العدالة العمياء.”

وعلى الرغم من منطق دياب، فقد زعمت رئيسة الوزراء البريطانية تيريزا ماي من قبل أن المواطنة امتيازٌ وليست مجرد حق، وأن المواطنين مزدوجي الجنسية يمكن أن يفقدوا جنسيتهم البريطانية. ومع ذلك، إذا كانت المواطنة امتيازاً، يتساءل دياب، فما الذي فعله مواطنون أمثال تيريزا ماي للحصول عليها، غير أنهم ولدوا في البلاد؟ الجواب ببساطة: لا شيء.

ومرةً أخرى، إذا ما غيرت الحكومات نهجها، فإن استعادة رعاياها لا يزال مسعىً صعب، نظراً لأن تركيا لا تعترف بحزب الإتحاد الديمقراطي، الجناح السياسي لوحدات حماية الشعب الكردية التي تقود قوات سوريا الديمقراطية، وبالتالي لن يكون بمقدور المقاتلين الأسرى من داعش المرور عبر تركيا.

الخيار الآخر هو السفر عبر شمال العراق، حيث احتجزت روسيا مواطنيها الذين فروا للانضمام إلى الخلافة. ومع ذلك، يقول المسؤولون الأوروبيون إن السلطات العراقية تحجم عن السماح لأعداد كبيرة من أسرى داعش بدخول البلاد. ولربما يكون التعامل مع بشار الأسد الملاذ الأخير، إلا أن هذا من شأنه أن يمنح الديكتاتور الكثير من النفوذ أمام منافسيه الغربيين.

في الوقت الراهن، تكمن المشكلة الأكبر في الإرادة السياسية المحدودة لاستكشاف أي من هذه الطرق. يمكن أن يتمثل أحد الحلول في إنشاء محكمةٍ دولية على الأرض في سوريا أو العراق. فقد دعا رئيس وزراء بلجيكا، شارلز ميشيل، لهذا النهج. كما يجادل المسؤولون البلجيكيون أيضاً بأن الإعلان الأمريكي بترك عددٍ قليل من القوات في شمال شرق سوريا قد يجعل المحاكمات الدولية قابلة للتطبيق.

بيد أنه ينبغي إقناع الأسد وأردوغان، لأن لديهما أسباب واضحة للاعتراض على إنشاء محكمةٍ دولية في شمال شرق سوريا. وعلى الرغم من الفكرة، يصر حوري من منظمة هيومان رايتس ووتش على أن الحل الوحيد هو أن تتحمل جميع الدول، بما في ذلك الدول الغربية، المسؤولية عن رعاياها.

وبحسب ما قاله لنا في فَنَك، “نحن نتحدث عن رعايا 47 دولة، وعدد محدود للغاية من الدول، التي يمكننا الاعتماد عليها من جهة، الذين قبلوا بإعادة مقاتليهم.” وأضاف “أظهر شركاء التحالف [الذين قاتلوا داعش] أيضاً إرادة سياسية صفرية لاستعادة رعاياهم، ولا يمكنهم تحميل هذا العبء للسلطات المحلية.”

image_pdfimage_print

دعمكم عونٌ لنا

فَنَك هي مؤسسة إعلامية إلكترونية مستقلة، لا تمولها أي دولة أو مجموعات مصالح. تلتزم فَنَك بنشر تحليلاتٍ مبنية على الوقائع ومحايدة، إلى جانب التقارير المواضيعية حول الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا.
شهد الموقع نمواً سريعاً في نطاق وعمق المعلومات التي يُقدمها، واليوم، بات يُشكل مصدراً غنياً وقيماً للمعلومات عن 21 بلداً، من المغرب إلى عُمان ومن إيران إلى اليمن، باللغتين العربية والإنجليزية. حالياً، وصل عدد القراء إلى 6 ملايين سنوياً، والعدد آخذٌ بالإزدياد.
لضمان حيادية المعلومات على موقع فَنَك (وقائع وأحداث) ، تُنشر المقالات دون ذكر أسماء الكتّاب، مما يُتيح أيضاً لمراسلينا مساحة أكبر من الحرية عند التطرق إلى القضايا الحساسة أو المثيرة للجدل فى بلادهم. وإلى جانب ذلك، نتحرى حقائق جميع المعلومات الواردة في مقالاتنا قبل النشر لضمان دقة المعلومات، وحداثتها وحيادها.

استمرارية تشغيل مثل هذا الموقع الإلكتروني مُكلفة للغاية. بتبرعٍ صغيرٍ منك، يمكنك المساهمة في الحفاظ على حرية واستقلالية تغطيتنا.

Fanack Home / Extremism / The Great Debate: Should Countries Allow IS Fighters to Return?

The Great Debate: Should Countries Allow IS Fighters to Return?

Specials- IS fighters
Defendant Ayoub B (R) and Ebrahim Hadj B cover their faces at the court in central Germany, ahead of the announcement of the verdict, on December 7, 2015. The two former IS fighters returned from Syria are accused of being members of a terror group. Photo AFP

Hundreds of foreign fighters from the self-declared Islamic State group, as well as their wives and children, are as of March 2019 in the custody of the Kurdish-led Syrian Democratic Forces, or SDF, in Syria. And almost all of them are in legal limbo, since the countries they emigrated from refuse to take them back, putting an unprecedented burden on the SDF.

The co-Chair of Foreign Relations of the SDF, Abdulkarim Omar, has pleaded for world powers to readmit their nationals. He has noted that most countries appear to think they can just abandon their citizens in SDF custody in Syria, which, he says, is a ‘very big mistake.’

An SDF spokesman, Mustapha Bali, added that there is no recognized legal infrastructure in northern Syria, making it impossible for IS detainees to receive a fair a trial. However, most European countries have demonstrated little political will to retake their jihadists.

France said it will only take back fighters on a ‘case by case’ basis. Sajid Javid, the UK Home secretary, has vowed to take a more extreme approach by preventing any British national that fought with terrorist groups from returning to the country. Their position is rooted in fears that nationals who fought for IS may have acquired the skills and connections to launch attacks when they return.

This is particularly scary for Europeans states since they may not have enough evidence to incriminate every single returnee. To avoid the risk, countries are opting to strip their nationals of their citizenship, sparking uproar and debate among rights activists and policymakers.

British IS bride Shamima Begum, who fled to join the self-declared caliphate when she was just 15-years-old, is the most notable case. Although Begum’s is of Bangladesh origin, she doesn’t have another passport than her British one. Javid’s decision to revoke her British citizenship has thus left her stateless and effectively contravenes international law.

Javid nonetheless said that Begum’s baby would remain British, but it died soon after the announcement. Besides the legal implications of stripping someone of their citizenship, analysts warn that doing so helps IS in the long run.
“Groups like Islamic State have been incredibly successful at planting the seed in people’s minds that Western governments and Western societies do not care about their Muslim citizens,” Katherine Brown, a senior lecturer in Islamic Studies at Britain’s University of Birmingham, told Time.

Brown added that by violating human rights and the rule of law, countries that strip away citizenship from returning jihadists are aiding the notion that Muslims are a state of an exception in the West.

Germany disagrees. On March 4, Eleonore Petermann, spokeswoman for the German interior ministry, said that German ministers have reached a consensus to strip the nationality of any dual citizen that participates in combat operations for a terrorist group abroad. However, the law is not retroactive, so it cannot be applied to any German IS fighter who is stranded in Syria right now. Belgium has also previously re-sorted to the same strategy.

Nadim Houry, Human Rights Watch (HRW) director of terrorism and counter-terrorism, told Fanack Chronicle that stripping IS captives of their nationality is extremely short-sighted.

He said that children of IS fighters constitute the largest number of people languishing in camps in Syria, and risk growing up stateless unless they are claimed. The only solution, stresses Houry, is for countries to claim these children and put their parents on trial.

“In absence of a fair trail, we are basically left with a Guantanamo situation where people will be held without trial and no prospect of being released,” Houry told Fanack.

“There is even a risk that IS captives will be transferred to Guantanamo, where there are grave violations of human rights. That would be an epic failure in the fight against terrorism. If anything, Guantanamo is a rallying cry for future jihadists,” Houry added.

Khaled Diab, a columnist for Al Araby, further argues that installing a two-tiered citizenship system is inherently undemocratic. In his eyes, a just legal system should ensure the equality of all citizens before the law.

“Applying the principle of revocation of citizenship only to naturalised citizens, dual nationals and citizens who are (theoretically) entitled to citizenship elsewhere, who have been almost exclusively Muslims, is an expression of blind bigotry, not blind justice,” he writes.

Despite Diab’s logic, British Prime Minister Theresa May has previously claimed that citizenship is indeed a privilege, not a right, and that dual nationals can lose their British nationality. Yet if citizenship is a privilege, asks Diab, then what have citizens like Theresa May done to acquire it, besides being born in the country? The short answer is: nothing.

Then again, even if governments changed their approach, retrieving their nationals is still a tricky endeavour. Because Turkey does not recognize the Democratic Union Party (PYD), which is the political wing of the Kurdish People Protection Unit (YPG) that is leading the SDF, IS captives are unable to transit through Turkey.

The other option is travelling through northern Iraq, which is where Russia retained its citizens that fled to join the caliphate. However, European officials say that the Iraqi authorities are reluctant to let large numbers of IS captives enter the country. Dealing with Bashar Al Assad may be a last resort, but that would lend the dictator a lot of leverage over his western rivals.

For now, the biggest problem is that there is little political will to explore any of these avenues. One solution could be to establish an international tribunal on the ground in Syria or Iraq. The prime minister of Belgium, Charles Michel, has advocated for this approach. Belgian officials also argue that the U.S announcement to leave a few troops in northeast Syria could make international trials viable.

But Assad and Erdogan would need convincing, since they have clear reasons to object the creation of an international tribunal in Syria’s northeast. Despite the idea, Houry from HRW is adamant that the only solution is for all states, including western countries, to assume responsibility over their nationals.

“We are talking about nationals from 47 countries, and only a very limited number of countries, which we can count then on one hand, have taken their fighters back,” Houry told Fanack. “Coalition partners [that fought IS] have also shown zero political will to take back their nationals, and they just can’t push this burden on local authorities.”

image_pdfimage_print

We would like to ask you something …

Fanack is an independent media organisation, not funded by any state or any interest group, that distributes in the Middle East and the wider world unbiased analysis and background information, based on facts, about the Middle East and North Africa.

The website grew rapidly in breadth and depth and today forms a rich and valuable source of information on 21 countries, from Morocco to Oman and from Iran to Yemen, both in Arabic and English. We currently reach six million readers annually and growing fast.

In order to guarantee the impartiality of information on the Chronicle, articles are published without by-lines. This also allows correspondents to write more freely about sensitive or controversial issues in their country. All articles are fact-checked before publication to ensure that content is accurate, current and unbiased.

To run such a website is very expensive. With a small donation, you can make a huge impact. And it only takes a minute. Thank you.