الصفحة الرئيسية / التطرف / أسباب تنامي وصعود تنظيم الدولة في العراق

أسباب تنامي وصعود تنظيم الدولة في العراق

Iraqi sunnis protest against the Maliki government in Anbar province
العراقيون السنة يتظاهرون ضد حكومة المالكي في محافظة الأنبار

ي عام 2003، غزت الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية العراق رداً على هجمات الحادي عشر من سبتمبر 2011. آنذاك، اعتبر تزايد التهديد العراقي باحتمالية حيازته أسلحة الدمار الشامل، إلى جانب المحاولات المزعومة لايجاد حلقة وصل بين الرئيس العراقي صدام حسين وإرهابيّ القاعدة، والتي تعدّ مزاعم أبعد ما تكون عن الحقيقة، الشرارة التي أباحت الغزو الأمريكي. في حين يعدّ قرار بول برايمر- حاكم سلطة الائتلاف المؤقتة، أحد أهم أسباب صعود أسهم “تنظيم الدولة” في الوقت الحالي، الذي اقتضى توزيع المناصب الحكومية وفقاً لقوة مختلف الطوائف. شكّل الشيعة السواد الأعظم بنسبة 60% وبالتالي حصلوا على نسبة 60% من الحكومة إلى جانب العديد من المناصب الهامة. وفي هذا السياق، استخدم الشيعة سلطتهم الجديدة لتهميش الأقلية السُنية التي هيمنت على العراق في عهد صدام حسين.

بدايات تنظيم القاعدة في العراق وأصول الدولة الإسلامية

تتلمذ زعيم “تنظيم الدولة” أبو بكر البغدادي، على يدّ الأردني أبو مصعب الزرقاوي، الإسم الحركي لأحمد فاضل نزال الخلايلة. سافر الزرقاوي إلى أفغانستان للإنضمام إلى صفوف المقاتلين في حربهم ضد غزو الاتحاد السوفياتي عام 1989، ولكن السوفيات كانوا قد غادروا بالفعل وقت وصوله. عاد بعدها إلى الأردن، حيث أعتقل ووجهت له تهمة التآمر لقلب نظام الحكم الملكي. تأثر في السجن بأفكار السفلي المتطرف، أبو محمد المقدسي. في صيف 2003، انتقل للعيش في المناطق السُنية في العراق، حيث أسس خلية جهادية في الفلوجة. أصبح الزرقاوي، الذي ذاع سيطه، زعيم تنظيم القاعدة في العراق، الذي أصبح فيما بعد “تنظيم الدولة الإسلامية في العراق”. كان مسؤولاً عن عدة عمليات خطف وقطعٍ للرؤوس، وأعلن “حرباً شاملة” على الشيعة في العراق، مخالفاً بذلك رغبات زعيم القاعدة أسامة بن لادن. كان الزرقاوي مسؤولاً عن العديد من الهجمات الدموية على الشيعة وغيرها من الأهداف، إلى أنّ أعلنّ عن مقتله على يدّ القوات الأمريكية في 7 يونيو 2006. تمردت القبائل السُنية في العراق في أواخر العام ذاته، ضد تنظيم القاعدة في عقر داره، محافظة الأنبار، وبمساندة قوات الاحتلال الأمريكي، بدأت “مليشيات الصحوة” بتقويض ومحاربة نفوذ القاعدة في المنطقة. ومع ذلك، لم يُمنى متطرفوا القاعدة بالهزيمة، وتواصلت الهجمات ولكن على نطاقٍ أضيق. وفي عام 2010، تولى القائد الحالي “للدولة الإسلامية” أبو بكر البغدادي، زعامة تنظيم القاعدة في العراق، أو كما كان يُعرف آنذاك “الدولة الإسلامية في العراق”.

تهميش السنة

نصحت السلطات الأمريكية الحكومة العراقية، التي يُسيطر عليها الشيعة بقيادة رئيس الوزراء نوري المالكي، الاستمرار في دفع الأموال لآلآف أفرد “مليشيات الصحوة” بعد قمعهم تنظيم القاعدة، أو دمجهم في الجيش أو الشرطة، إلا أّنّ المالكي أعلن رفضه القاطع لذلك. لم يكن نظامه يُلقي أي بالٍ سوى لجمهوره من الغالبية الشيعية، حيث كانت أفضل الوظائف تُمنح للمواطنين الشيعة، في حين ارتفعت نسب العاطلين عن العمل بين السُنة. فضلاً عن ذلك، تعاظمت أحكام الإعدام بحق المواطنين السُنة، فيما اعتبرته المنظمات الدولية لحقوق الإنسان أحكاماً جماعية جائرة بمحاكمات غير عادلة، عقاباً على الهجمات الإرهابية التي عادت لتنتشر كالنار في الهشيم مجدداً. وصف السنة بأنهم إرهابيون وشعروا بالتهميش من قِبل الشيعة، وبدأ يُنظر إليهم بصفتهم مضطهدين. شكّل هذا التطور أهمية كبيرة بالنسبة لجماعات المتطرفين السُنية، مثل “الدولة الإسلامية في العراق”. ووفقاً لصحيفة نيويورك تايمز “يكمن جانب كبير من نجاح تنظيم داعش في السيطرة على المناطق السنية في التلاعب الماهر بالديناميات القبلية. فقد صور التنظيم نفسه مدافعاً عن أهل السنة الذين، ولسنوات طويلة، تعرضوا لسوء معاملة ممنهج من جانب الحكومة ذات الغالبية الشيعية. كما جاء التنظيم بالأموال والسلاح إلى زعماء العشائر وللمقاتلين، بل أعطاهم مساحة من الحكم الذاتي طالما ظلوا على ولائهم للتنظيم”.

ومن الجدير بالذكر أيضاً انسياق آلاف العراقيين إلى أرخبيل السجون الأمريكية أو العراقية بسبب جرائم حقيقية أو من محض الخيال، حيث لقي القبض على آلاف الأفراد الذين احتجزوا دون محاكمة، ومن بينهم أبو بكر البغدادي. ووفقاً لصحيفة بوسطن غلوب، تصفهم بعض المصادر في السجون “بالجامعات الجهادية”.

وفي تقريرٍ لصحيفة واشنطن بوست، يمثل معتقل بوكا على سبيل المثال، الذي كان يضم حتى رحيل الجيش الأمريكي عام 2011، مائة ألف معتقل، الفصل الأول في تاريخ الدولة الإسلامية: “العديد من قادة التنظيم، بمن فيهم أبو بكر البغدادي سجنوا هناك وربما أيضاً التقوا ببعضهم هناك. ووفقاً لمسؤولين سابقين في السجن ومحللين وجنود، استطاع معتقل بوكا توفير بيئة فريدة تتيح تواطؤ السجناء مع بعضهم البعض وتحولهم نحو التطرف، ويعدّ بوكا حجر الأساس لتطور أكثر القوى الجهادية الحالية قوةً”.

شجّع تمرّد السُنة، إذا صح التعبير، في سوريا ضد بشار الأسد، الرئيس العلوي (إحدى الطوائف الشيعية)، الذي انطلقت شرارته في عام 2011، السُنة في العراق على الإنتفاض. وفي ضوء ذلك، قرر البغدادي توسيع نفوذ “الدولة الإسلامية” لتشمل سوريا. وفي أبريل 2013، أعلن عن تشكيل “الدولة الإسلامية في العراق وبلاد الشام” أو “داعش”، وبلاد الشام هي سوريا الكبرى أو بلاد المشرق، والتي تضم أيضاً الأردن ولبنان واسرائيل وفلسطين. وبالتالي سيّطر تنظيم “داعش” على مساحات شاسعة من شمال وشرق سوريا.

في يناير 2014، استفاد البغدادي و”داعش” من الغضب المتزايد لأهل السنة في العراق بسبب استمرار تهميشهم في ظل حكومة المالكي، مما أسفر عن بسط سيطرة التنظيم على كلٍ من الفلوجة والرمادي في محافظة الأنبار، في حين لم يتمتع الجيش العراقي بالقدرة على إقصائه. وفي يونيو 2014، تمكنت “داعش” من السيطرة على الموصل، إحدى المدن التي تقع شمال العراق وتضم حوال مليوني نسمة. شهدّ ذلك هروب أفراد الجيش العراقي، فضلاً عن ذبح أي فرد يقع في أيدي مسلحيّ “داعش”. وأصبحت صور الفيديو لعمليات قطع الرؤوس والإعدامات الجماعية، بروباغندا دعائية بإمتياز، استخدمها التنظيم كسلاح ذو حدين لتخويف الأعداء من جهة، ولتجنيد المزيد من الجهاديين من جميع أنحاء العالم من جهةٍ أخرى. تم تغيير اسم التنظيم من “الدولة الإسلامية في العراق والشام” إلى “الدولة الإسلامية” ونصبّ البغدادي نفسه خليفةً للمسلمين حيث بات يُعرف اليوم بأمير المؤمنين إبراهيم الخليفة.

 

image_pdfimage_print

Home / Extremism / What led to the rise of IS in Iraq?

What led to the rise of IS in Iraq?

Iraqi sunnis protest against the Maliki government in Anbar province
Iraqi sunnis protest against the Maliki government in Anbar province

In 2003 the US invaded Iraq in response to the attacks of 11 September 2001. The threat of Iraq’s possible possession of weapons of mass destruction and alleged attempts to create a link between Iraqi President Saddam Hussein and al-Qaeda terrorists— both of which were untrue—were the reasons given for the invasion. An important cause of the later rise of the Islamic State was the decision of the new American governor, Paul Bremer, to distribute governmental positions according to the proportional division of the various sects. Shiites formed a majority of 60 percent, so they were given 60 percent of government and other important positions. They used their new power to marginalize the Sunni minority that had dominated Iraq under Saddam Hussein.

The beginnings of al-Qaeda in Iraq and the origins of the Islamic State

The most important predecessor of Islamic State leader Abu Bakr al-Baghdadi was the Jordanian Abu Musab al-Zarqawi, whose proper name was Ahmad Fadel Nazal al-Khalayleh. Al-Zarqawi went to fight the Soviet Union in Afghanistan in 1989, but when he arrived, the Soviets were already departing. He returned to Jordan, where he was accused of plotting to overthrow the monarchy. In jail, he was influenced by the extremist thinker Abu Mohamed al-Maqdisi. In the summer of 2003 he went to the Sunni regions of Iraq, where he established a terrorist cell in Fallujah. Al-Zarqawi became infamous as the leader of al-Qaeda in Iraq, which later became the Islamic State in Iraq. He was responsible for several kidnappings and beheadings, and he declared “all-out war” on Shiites in Iraq, against the wishes of al-Qaeda-leader Osama bin Laden. Al-Zarqawi was responsible for many bloody attacks on Shiites and other targets, until American troops killed him on 7 June 2006, in Baquba. Sunni tribes in 2006 revolted against al-Qaeda in Iraq in its heartland, Anbar Province, and, with the support of the American occupation army, these so-called Sahwa militias beat back al-Qaeda. The extremists were not defeated, however, and attacks continued on a smaller scale. In 2010 the present leader of the Islamic State, Abu Bakr al-Baghdadi, became the leader of al-Qaeda in Iraq, or the Islamic State in Iraq, as it also came to be known.

The marginalisation of Sunnis

American authorities advised the Shiite-dominated government of Prime Minister Nouri al-Maliki to continue paying the tens of thousands of members of the Sahwa militias after the suppression of al-Qaeda or to incorporate them into the army or police, but Maliki refused. His regime cared only for its constituency, the Shiite majority. Shiite citizens got the best jobs, while the masses of the unemployed were dominated by Sunnis. Sunnis also predominated in death row after being sentenced—in what were considered by international human-rights organizations to be grossly unfair trials—for the terrorist attacks that were growing in number again. Sunnis were branded as terrorists and felt marginalized by Shiites, whom they began to consider oppressors. This development played into the hands of Sunni extremist groups such as Islamic State in Iraq.

“Much of the Islamic State’s success at holding Sunni areas comes from its deft manipulation of tribal dynamics,” the New York Times wrote. “Portraying itself as a defender of Sunnis who for years have been abused by Iraq’s Shiite-majority government, the Islamic State has offered cash and arms to tribal leaders and fighters, often allowing them local autonomy as long as they remain loyal.”

Many thousands of Iraqis were swept into an archipelago of US or Iraqi prisons for offenses, real or imagined. Thousands were arrested and held without trial, among them Abu Bakr al-Baghdadi. Accounts from the prisons describe them as “Jihadi universities,” wrote the Boston Globe.

Camp Bucca, for instance—where, until the departure of the US army in 2011, 100,000 detainees were held—represents, according to the Washington Post, an opening chapter in the history of the Islamic State: “many of its leaders, including Abu Bakr al-Baghdadi, were incarcerated and probably met there. According to former prison commanders, analysts and soldiers, Camp Bucca provided a unique setting for both prisoner radicalization and inmate collaboration—and was formative in the development of today’s most potent jihadist force.”

The mainly Sunni insurrection in Syria against Bashar al-Assad, the Alawite (a Shiite sect) president, that began in 2011, encouraged Sunnis to revolt in Iraq. Abu Bakr al-Baghdadi of the Islamic State in Iraq decided to extend his organization to Syria. In April 2013 he announced the formation of the Islamic State in Iraq and al-Sham (ISIS); al-Sham is greater Syria or the Levant, which encompasses also Jordan, Lebanon, Israel, and Palestine. IS conquered a large area in northern and eastern Syria.

In January 2014 al-Baghdadi and IS profited from the ever-growing anger of Sunnis in Iraq about their marginalization under the government of Maliki to conquer Fallujah and Ramadi in Anbar, and the Iraqi army was unable to evict them. In June, IS conquered even Mosul, a city of about two million in northern Iraq. The Iraqi army fled, and anyone who fell into the hands of IS was slaughtered. Video images of beheadings and mass executions became a powerful propaganda weapon for intimidating enemies and recruiting jihadists from throughout the world. IS became the Islamic State (IS), and a caliphate was announced, with al-Baghdadi as the caliph Ibrahim.

image_pdfimage_print