فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / عشرة أخطاء تاريخية في مسلسل «الجاسوس» إيلي كوهين

عشرة أخطاء تاريخية في مسلسل «الجاسوس» إيلي كوهين

Eli Cohen
البناء الذي سكن فيه ايلي كوهين في حي ابو رمانة في دمشق (الشرق الاوسط) Photo: Asharq al-Awsat. ©Asharq al-Awsat

قدم المسلسل معلومات «متخيلة» عن دور حافظ الأسد وأمين الحافظ وميشيل عفلق

الشرق الأوسط، 19 سبتمبر 2019.

بقلم: إبراهيم حميدي

بعيداً من سعي مسلسل «الجاسوس» الذي تعرضه شبكة «نيتفلكس» عن الجاسوس الإسرائيلي إيلي كوهين المعروف باسم «كامل ثابت أمين»، إلى تكريس الصورة البطولية لـجهاز الاستخبارات الإسرائيلي (موساد) مقابل صورة نمطية مليئة بالخيانة والفساد والتآمر عن الطبقة السياسية السورية، فإن الحلقات الست للمسلسل تضمنت الكثير من الأخطاء التاريخية والسياسية… وإهانات اجتماعية.

صحيح أن «نيتفلكس» أشارت إلى أن «الجاسوس» ليس وثيقة تاريخية بل استند إلى الكتاب الفرنسي «الجاسوس الذي جاء من إسرائيل» وأخرجه الإسرائيلي جدعون راف من بطولة الممثل الساخر ساشا بارون كوهين الذي اشتهر بسلسلة «بورات»، لكنه تحول إلى «وثيقة تاريخية» عن تجربة كوهين من وجهة نظر إسرائيلية، مقابل غياب الرواية السورية باستثناء بعض المقالات والكتب ومقابلات كان بينها واحدة مع القاضي صلاح الضللي الذي حكم على كوهين بالإعدام في 1965. وبحسب مؤرخين وكتاب سوريين، يمكن الحديث عن عشرة أخطاء تاريخية في «الجاسوس»، هي:

الأول، الرئيس أمين الحافظ: أظهر المسلسل علاقة خاصة بين كوهين والحافظ تعود إلى فترة عمل الأخير ملحقاً عسكرياً في السفارة السورية في بوينس آيرس في الأرجنتين. لكن الحافظ نفسه نفى ذلك في مقابلة تلفزيونية في عام 2001. إذ أنه لم يصل إلى هناك حتى عام 1962. أي بعد سفر كوهين إلى دمشق وأضاف أنه تعرف على كوهين بعد اعتقاله بداية 1965. رواية الصداقة ظهرت في صحف مصرية لانتقاد أمين الحافظ في مشاحنات سياسية. لكنها نقلت في دمشق وتل أبيب لإظهار أهمية كوهين عشية إعدامه، بحسب خبير سوري.

تم عرض لقاءات علنية بينهما في الأرجنتين ثم في دمشق. لكن ليست هناك وثيقة أو صورة تدل على اجتماعات علنية بين كوهين والحافظ الذي كان ذهب إلى العراق ثم عاد بوساطة إلى دمشق قبل أن يتوفى قبل بضع سنوات.

الثاني، حافظ الأسد وأمين الحافظ: حافظ الأسد لم يكن فريقاً كما ظهر في صورته في مكتب الموساد. كان ضابطاً في مصر ثم تحول إلى منصب مدني بعد الانفصال عن مصر.

لم يتسلم أمين الحافظ السلطة بعد 8 مارس (آذار) 1963. بل عُيّن وزيراً للداخلية في حكومة صلاح الدين البيطار. أما رئاسة مجلس قيادة الثورة، فقد ذهبت للفريق لؤي الأتاسي حتى صيف ذلك العام. وبعدها تسلم الحافظ رئاسة المجلس الرئاسي، وليس رئاسة الجمهورية. والحافظ لم يكن موجوداً في دمشق في 8 مارس ولا علاقة له بالمطلق بالسيطرة على مبنى الأركان العامة في دمشق، كما جاء في «الجاسوس».

الثالث، ميشيل عفلق: لم يجتمع كوهين بعفلق، ولم يعطِه قوائم بشخصيات مثل رئيس الحكومة خالد العظم لدعوتها إلى سهرة في 8 مارس. في تلك الليلة، كان خالد العظم موجوداً في منزل الطبيب مدني الخيمي وليس في دار كوهين الذي لم يزره قط في حياته. إضافة إلى أنه لا علم لعفلق بتحركات الجيش في انقلاب 8 مارس، بحسب الخبراء.

الرابع، اللواء عبد الكريم زهر الدين: رئيس الأركان في عهد الانفصال، لم يدخل منزل كوهين. من دخل المنزل هو ابن أخيه، الضابط الاحتياط معذي زهر الدين. كان صديقاً لكوهين، لكنه سُرح من الجيش يوم 8 مارس وتولى منصب في وزارة هامشية. كان يجتمع مع كوهين، إما في دار الأخير أو في مقهى الكمال وسط دمشق، وقد تم اعتقاله والحكم عليه بالسجن خمس سنوات عام 1965.

الخامس، الضابط معذي زهر الدين والجبهة: أخذ الضابط معذي كوهين إلى خطوط الجبهة السورية في عام 1962، وقيل أنه حصل على معلومات عسكرية كان لها تأثير في نكسة 5 يونيو (حزيران) 1967. ولكن الفارق بين زيارة الجبهة وهزيمة الحرب هو خمس سنوات، مما طرح سؤالاً عن أهمية «المعلومات القيمة» التي حصل عليها كوهين نهاية عام 1962 …في نكسة عام 1967.

يذكر أن جميع ضباط الجبهة نقلوا أو سرحوا، وتغيرت كل الحيثيات العسكرية مراراً، بعد 8 مارس 1963 ولاحقاً بعد حركة 23 فبراير (شباط) 1966. وقال خبير غربي أمس: «مهمة كوهين لم تكن لنقل معلومات عن الجبهة، بل لملاحقة الضباط النازيين المقيمين في دمشق ومتابعة أوضاع يهود دمشق».

السادس، نائب وزير الدفاع: أشار المسلسل إلى أن كوهين رشح لمنصب «نائب وزير دفاع» في الحكومة. أولاً، هذا المنصب لم يكن موجوداً في حينها وقد استحدث بعد عام 1970. ثانياً، لأن هذا المنصب هو حكر على العسكر ولا يمكن لمدني أن يتسلمه.

السابع، اللواء أحمد السويداني. أصبح لاحقاً رئيساً لأركان الجيش السوري. لكن لم يكن مديراً لأمن أمين الحافظ في الأرجنتين، وقصة دخول كوهين إلى مكتب الحافظ وتصويره لمستندات سرية خيالية وبوليسية. وأفاد خبير: «السويداني شكك في كوهين من اليوم الأول، وكان له دور محوري في اعتقاله والكشف عن هويته مطلع عام 1965».

الثامن، الإعدام: ظهر الدمشقي ماجد شيخ الأرض يرفع القبعة لكوهين، حزناً واحتراماً، لحظة إعدامه في ساحة المرجة عام 1965. ويقول مؤرخ: «شيخ الأرض، كما هو معروف جيداً وكما ظهر في العمل، كان أحد ضحايا إيلي كوهين، تعرف عليه على متن باخرة متجهة من أوروبا إلى بيروت عام 1962».

كان كوهين تقرب من شيخ الأرض ودخل معه سوريا عبر لبنان بصفته مستثمراً مغترباً يدعى «كامل أمين ثابت». وخدع شيخ الأرض بهذا الرجل، وقام بمساعدة كوهين على استئجار شقة مفروشة بشارع أبو رمانة بدمشق، تعود ملكيتها لرجل يدعى هيثم قطب، وهو موظف في بنك سوريا المركزي، بحسب معلومات تاريخية. وأضاف الخبير: «العلاقة بين كوهين وشيخ الأرض توقفت عند هذا الحد: أولاً، لأن الأخير كان لا يملك أي معلومات تفيد الجاسوس، كونه بعيداً عن عالم السياسة، وتحديداً بعد 8 مارس عام 1963. ثانياً، تحدث أمام كوهين عن إعجابه بهتلر، مما خلق فتوراً فورياً بينهما منذ عام 1962».

شيخ الأرض لم يحضر الإعدام ولم يرفع قبعته احتراماً للجاسوس، لأنه كان معتقلاً في سجن قلعة دمشق يومها، ومحكوم بالسجن المؤبد. نقل لاحقاً إلى سجن تدمر، وتوفي داخل زنزانته بعد سنوات وقيل إنه انتحر.

كما أن زوجة أمين الحافظ، لم ترتعش حزناً على كوهين يوم إعدامه لأنها لم تكن موجودة في ساحة الإعدام أصلاً، لا هي ولا أمين الحافظ ولا ماجد شيخ الأرض. يضاف إلى ذلك، تلك الصورة المبتذلة التي قدمها المسلسل عن علاقة جنسية بين زوجة الحافظ وكوهين في السفارة السورية في الأرجنتين، أمام أعين زوجها ورضاه.

التاسع، اختراق المجتمع وسهرات المجون: أظهر العمل أن كوهين اخترق المجتمع السوري وصادق شخصيات نافذة. بحسب محاضر التحقيق، التي أذيعت وكان بحضور المحامي الفرنسي جاك مرسييه، فإن أصدقاء كوهين من رجالات الصف الثاني والثالث فقط، لأنه تحاشى شخصيات الصف الأول، خوفاً من فضح هويته.

أحدهم كان الصحافي جورج سيف، الذي أعطاه بطاقة صحافية وعرفه على مساعد ملاح جوي في مطار دمشق يدعى إيلي ألماظ. حكم سيف بعشر سنوات أشغال شاقة، وحكم ألماظ بالسجن ستة أشهر. أما بقية الأصدقاء، فمنهم موظف في وزارة الشؤون البلدية، وآخر موظف في وزارة السياحة، والثالث ابن صحافي، كان يريد أن يزوج كوهين، أو «كامل أمين ثابت»، من شقيقة زوجته، بحسب مؤرخين. واقتربت فتيات من كوهين بهدف الزواج لا أكثر، كونه طرح نفسه على أنه مغترب ثري وأعزب. وجميعهن تمت تبرئتهن أمام المحكمة المخصصة.

كان اللواء صلاح الضللي رئيس المحكمة قال لي في حديث صحافي في 22 مارس 2004. إن كوهين لم يكن سوى «جاسوس عادي». وأضاف: «كان مدفوناً بعد إعدامه في كهف على طريق الديماس لكن بعد فترة أخذت الرفات ودفنت في مكان آخر غير معروف» وأن أغلب من يعرف أين دفن «تسرح من الجيش أو ذهب أو ترك منصبه».

العاشر، حي أبو رمانة والسفارات: أظهر المسلسل «حي أبو رمانة» الدمشقي كأنه ميدان طلعت حرب في القاهرة. كما أشار إلى أن ضابطاً روسياً ساهم في الكشف عنه، لكن هناك أربع روايات عن الكشف عن الجاسوس: ضابط روسي، السفارة الهندية في دمشق التي سجلت ترددات لرسائل مشفرة، الاستخبارات المصرية، اللواء سويداني.

© Copyright Notice
Click on link to view the associated photo/image:
©Asharq al-Awsat | ©Asharq al-Awsat

دعمكم عونٌ لنا

فَنَك هي مؤسسة إعلامية إلكترونية مستقلة، لا تمولها أي دولة أو مجموعات مصالح. تلتزم فَنَك بنشر تحليلاتٍ مبنية على الوقائع ومحايدة، إلى جانب التقارير المواضيعية حول الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا.
شهد الموقع نمواً سريعاً في نطاق وعمق المعلومات التي يُقدمها، واليوم، بات يُشكل مصدراً غنياً وقيماً للمعلومات عن 21 بلداً، من المغرب إلى عُمان ومن إيران إلى اليمن، باللغتين العربية والإنجليزية. حالياً، وصل عدد القراء إلى 6 ملايين سنوياً، والعدد آخذٌ بالإزدياد.
لضمان حيادية المعلومات على موقع فَنَك (وقائع وأحداث) ، تُنشر المقالات دون ذكر أسماء الكتّاب، مما يُتيح أيضاً لمراسلينا مساحة أكبر من الحرية عند التطرق إلى القضايا الحساسة أو المثيرة للجدل فى بلادهم. وإلى جانب ذلك، نتحرى حقائق جميع المعلومات الواردة في مقالاتنا قبل النشر لضمان دقة المعلومات، وحداثتها وحيادها.

استمرارية تشغيل مثل هذا الموقع الإلكتروني مُكلفة للغاية. بتبرعٍ صغيرٍ منك، يمكنك المساهمة في الحفاظ على حرية واستقلالية تغطيتنا.

  • تحدياتٌ كثيرة تعزّز من صعوبة فرض حظر السلاح في ليبيا

    يقتضي حدوث هدنة مستقرة في ليبيا لإرساء نظام كفء وفعَّال لحظر الأسلحة. ومن المستبعد أن يشهد الشعب الليبي – المستفيد النهائي – أي تحسن في القريب العاجل. إذ أدَّت سنوات من التدخل الدولي إلى وجود العديد من الدول التي تملك مصالح راسخة في ليبيا، ولا أحد على استعداد لتحمل الخسائر حالياً.
  • الشرق الأوسط أكثر اضطراباً من أي وقتٍ مضى

    مع كلّ أسف، قد تزداد هذه التطورات سوءاً حتى ظهور جيلٍ جديد من القادة يحاول بجدّية الالتزام بحلّ هذه النزاعات بطريقةٍ إنسانية وعادلة لضمان دوام الاستقرار.
  • آن الأوان لإنهاء نظام المحاصصة الطائفية مع استمرار الاحتجاجات

    تحتاج مؤسسات تقاسم السلطة إلى تفكيك ما يعيشه لبنان من حالة تفسيرٍ ضيّقة للنص. وتمثّل هذه الاحتجاجات لحظة مفصلية لبدء حوارٍ وطني عن كيفية توسيع أسس احتواء الجميع في الحياة السياسية اللبنانية. المحتجون استطاعوا حتى هذه اللحظة التضامن مع بعضهم البعض، متجاوزين بذلك حدود الطائفية والطبقية والجندرية وهو ما كان مستحيلاً في السابق. وقد يكون هذا التضامن طريق العبور إلى مستقبل ما بعد طائفي، سواءً أكان ذلك بنظامٍ يكفل تقاسم السلطة أو بدونه.

Fanack Home / Ten Factual Errors in Netflix Series on Israeli Spy Eli Cohen

Ten Factual Errors in Netflix Series on Israeli Spy Eli Cohen

Eli Cohen
Building where Israel spy Eli Cohen lived in the Abu Rummaneh neighbourhood in Damascus, Syria. Photo: Asharq al-Awsat. ©Asharq al-Awsat

Role of Hafez al-Assad, Amin al-Hafez and Michel Aflaq was ‘fiction’

Asharq al-Awsat, 19 September 2019.

By: Ibrahim Hamidi 

The Spy series, released on Netflix on 6 September 2019, purports to tell the true story of Israeli spy Eli Cohen, who infiltrated the Syrian government in the 1960s.

Although Netflix noted that the series, which was directed by Gideon Raff and stars British comedian Sacha Baron Cohen, is not a factual retelling of events but a dramatization based on a French book entitled The Spy Who Came From Israel, the series includes several factual errors that some Arab viewers have found insulting. Moreover, the series focuses on Cohen’s experience from an Israeli point of view, almost entirely omitting the Syrian version of the story, with the exception of references to some articles, books and interviews, including one with Judge Salah al-Dalali, who sentenced Cohen to death in 1965.

Syrian political and historical experts have identified ten major errors in the series:

1 – President Amin al-Hafez: The series depicts a special relationship between Cohen and al-Hafez when the latter served as Syria’s military attaché in the Syrian embassy in Buenos Aries, Argentina. However, no evidence exists to support the claim, and al-Hafez himself denied the relationship in a television interview in 2001. He explained that he was in Argentina in 1962, long after Cohen arrived in Damascus, and said he only met Cohen after his arrest in early 1965.

Nevertheless, the supposed friendship was picked up by the Egyptian dailies at the time as part of a campaign against al-Hafez amid political tensions between the two countries. According to a Syrian expert, the narrative was also promoted in Damascus and Tel Aviv to highlight Cohen’s significance on the eve of his execution.

2 – Hafez al-Assad and Amin al-Hafez: Hafez al-Assad was not a lieutenant general, as the series shows. He was an officer deployed in Egypt before assuming a civil position after Syria was separated from Egypt in 1961.

Neither did al-Hafez come to power during the coup on 8 March 1963. He was appointed interior minister in Salah al-Din al-Bitar’s government. Lieutenant General Luay al-Atassi assumed the presidency of the Revolutionary Command Council until the summer of that year. After that, al-Hafez was appointed president of the Council but not of the Syrian Republic. He was not in Damascus on 8 March, and he had nothing to do with the takeover of the general staff in the capital, as the series claims.

3 – Michel Aflaq: Aflaq, a Syrian philosopher and Arab nationalist, never met Cohen and did not give him a list of people to invite to the 8 March soiree at Cohen’s house, including Prime Minister Khalid al-Azm. That evening, al-Azm was at the house of doctor Madani al-Khaimi. According to experts, Aflaq was not privy to the army’s activities during the 8 March coup anyway.

4 – Major General Abd al-Karim Zahreddine was the army chief of staff when Syria split from Egypt. He never set foot in Cohen’s house although his nephew, reservist Madhi Zahreddine, did. Madhi Zahreddine was released from the army on the day of the coup on 8 March. He later assumed a position in an insignificant ministry. He used to meet with Cohen at his house or at the al-Kamal cafe in central Damascus. He was arrested and sentenced to five years in prison in 1965.

5 – Madhi Zahreddine and the battlefront: Zahreddine escorted Cohen to the Syrian battlefront with Israel in 1962. It was claimed by the series that the spy obtained military intelligence during this visit that was vital to Israel’s victory in the Six Day War in 1967. However, there is a five-year gap between the two events, raising questions about exactly how vital Cohen’s intelligence was.

Moreover, all officers deployed at the front were discharged or transferred, and military positions were repeatedly changed after 8 March 1963 and again after the 23 February movement in 1966. According to a Western expert, “Cohen’s mission was not to gather information about the front but crack down on Nazi officers who were staying in Damascus. He was also tasked with following up on the conditions of Jews in the Syrian capital.”

6 – Deputy defence minister: The series claims that Cohen was considered for deputy defence minister in the Syrian government, a position that was only introduced in 1970, five years after his death. Moreover, the position is restricted to military personnel and cannot be occupied by a civilian.

7 – Major General Ahmed Suweidani: Suweidani later became chief of staff in Syria, but he was not the head of al-Hafez’s security in Argentina. The scene in the series where Cohen secretly enters al-Hafez’s office and takes photographs of classified documents is pure fiction. An expert revealed, “Suweidani was suspicious of Cohen from day one. He played a central role in exposing and arresting him in 1965.”

8 – Cohen’s execution: The series shows Majed Sheikh al-Ard doffing his hat to Cohen out of sorrow and respect the moment he was hanged in Damascus in 1965. A historian said, “It is well known, as the series showed, that Sheikh al-Ard was one of [Cohen’s] victims. He met Cohen in 1962 on board a ship that was sailing from Europe to Beirut.”

Cohen ingratiated himself with Sheikh al-Ard and entered Syria with him through Lebanon, posing as an expatriate investor and using the alias Kamil Amin Thabit. Sheikh al-Ard helped Cohen rent a furnished apartment in the Abu Rummaneh neighbourhood in Damascus. The apartment was owned by Haitham Qotb, an employee at the Central Bank of Syria, according to historical information. The historian added, “The relationship between the two men did not go any further as Sheikh al-Ard had no information of use to the spy and because he was away from politics, particularly after the 8 March 1963 coup. Moreover, Sheikh al-Ard once spoke about his admiration of Adolf Hitler, which immediately caused the relationship between him and Cohen to weaken after 1962.”

Sheikh al-Ard did not witness Cohen’s execution and so did not doff his hat to the spy. He was serving a life sentence in Qalat Dimashq Prison in Damascus at the time. He was later transferred to the Palmyra Prison where he reportedly killed himself in his cell.

Neither did al-Hafez or his wife attend the execution. So, the story about al-Hafez’s wife trembling from sorrow on the day of the execution is untrue. Another – and controversial – fabrication was the supposed sexual relationship between Cohen and al-Hafez’s wife at the Syrian embassy in Argentina, allegedly with al-Hafez’s approval.

9 – Infiltration of Syrian society: The series claims that Cohen infiltrated Syrian society and befriended influential figures. According to the minutes of investigation in the presence of French lawyer Jacques Mercier, Cohen only made friends with people lower down the social ladder, avoiding top-ranking officials out of fear of being exposed. One of them was journalist George Seif, who issued Cohen with a press card and introduced him to a pilot assistant at Damascus airport called Elie al-Madh. Seif was later sentenced to ten years of hard labour and al-Madh to six months in prison for assisting Cohen.

Cohen’s other friends included two employees at the Ministry of Municipal Affairs and the Ministry of Tourism and the son of a journalist, who wanted Cohen to marry his sister-in-law, according to historians. A number of young women befriended Cohen, who presented himself as a wealthy, single expatriate, with the hope of marrying him. All the women were subsequently cleared of betrayal charges.

Judge Salah al-Dalali told the author of this article in a press interview in 2004 that Cohen was “just an ordinary spy”, adding: “He was buried in a cave on the al-Dimas road after execution. Later, his remains were dug up and buried in an undisclosed location.” He noted that “most of those who knew the location of the burial were either dismissed from the army or quit their positions”.

10 – Abu Rummaneh neighbourhood: The series depicts Abu Rummaneh, the location of many foreign embassies in Damascus, as similar to Talaat Harb Square in Cairo, Egypt. It also claims that a Russian officer helped to expose Cohen. However, there are four versions of how the spy was exposed: by the Russian officer, by the Indian embassy, which detected nearby radio interference, by the Egyptian intelligence and by Suweidani.

© Copyright Notice

click on link to view the associated photo/image
©Asharq al-Awsat | ©Asharq al-Awsat

We would like to ask you something …

Fanack is an independent media organisation, not funded by any state or any interest group, that distributes in the Middle East and the wider world unbiased analysis and background information, based on facts, about the Middle East and North Africa.

The website grew rapidly in breadth and depth and today forms a rich and valuable source of information on 21 countries, from Morocco to Oman and from Iran to Yemen, both in Arabic and English. We currently reach six million readers annually and growing fast.

In order to guarantee the impartiality of information on the Chronicle, articles are published without by-lines. This also allows correspondents to write more freely about sensitive or controversial issues in their country. All articles are fact-checked before publication to ensure that content is accurate, current and unbiased.

To run such a website is very expensive. With a small donation, you can make a huge impact. And it only takes a minute. Thank you.

  • Egypt: when the rivers run dry

    As debt continues to pile up, the pressure on the poor will continue to rise, as the government continues to cut social spending. This will reduce the level of effective local demand, leading to greater pressure on the private sector.
  • Domestic Violence in the Middle East

    It is necessary not only to enact but also to enforce legislation that criminalizes all forms of violence against women, including marital rape. Laws should be followed up with plans for specific national action.
  • Why Syrian refugees have no negative effects on Jordan’s labour market

    Providing legal work opportunities to refugees is not detrimental to the native job market. The inflow of foreign aid to Jordan to assist with some of the needs of refugees, as well as the conditions of the Jordan Compact, which included aid and trade concessions and employment support for Jordanians, may have played an important role in creating labour demand for Jordanians. So it is vital to ensure sufficient resources and public services are in place to support refugees and the host economy.