فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / قانون الأسرة و الأقليات / في البلدان التي مزقتها الحرب، تزايد حالات زواج الأطفال

في البلدان التي مزقتها الحرب، تزايد حالات زواج الأطفال

Specials- Child marriage
طفل يمني يحمل بندقية هجومية على كتفه يلتقط صورة جماعية مع عرسان آخرين يرتدون الزي التقليدي ويحملون أسلحة نارية أثناء حضورهم حفل زفاف جماعي في العاصمة صنعاء التي يسيطر عليها الحوثيون في 24 يناير 2019. Photo AFP ©AFP ⁃ Mohammed HUWAIS

لا يعتبر زواج الأطفال، وهو زواج الأطفال دون السن القانونية، وغالباً الفتيات، ظاهرةً جديدة، إلا أنه يتخذ منعطفاً خطيراً نحو الأسوأ لضحايا البلدان التي تواجه الحرب والفقر المدقع. فإلى جانب الأضرار القصيرة المدى التي تلحق بالعروس أو العريس القاصرين، يسبب زواج الأطفال أيضاً معاناةً طويلة الأجل، بما في ذلك الاغتصاب والحمل غير المرغوب فيه والافتقار إلى التعليم واستمرار الفقر في الأسرة.

فقد نشرت شراكة المنظمات المتعددة “فتيات لا عرائس” (Girls Not Brides)، وهي شبكة عالمية من المنظمات التي تعمل على إنهاء زواج الأطفال في جميع أنحاء العالم، في عام 2018 نتائج دراسةٍ عن زواج الأطفال في سوريا، البلد الذي دمرته الحرب منذ عام 2011. وعلى الرغم من أن 13% من النساء السوريات اللائي تتراوح أعمارهن بين 20 و25 عاماً كن متزوجاتٍ قبل بلوغهن سن 18 عاماً حتى قبل بدء النزاع، كشفت الدراسة أن زواج الأطفال يمثل مشكلةً متنامية للفتيات السوريات في مجتمعات اللاجئين في الأردن ولبنان والعراق وتركيا. ففي الأردن، على سبيل المثال، تظهر الأرقام زيادةً بمرور الوقت، من 12% من الزيجات المسجلة التي تضمنت فتاةً يقل عمرها عن 18 عام 2011 إلى 18% في عام 2012، و25% في عام 2013 و32% في أوائل عام 2014. أما في لبنان، فإن 41% من الشابات السوريات النازحات كن متزوجات قبل بلوغهن سن الـ18 عاماً، وبالنظر إلى أن العديد من الزيجات لم يتم تسجيلها، لربما تكون هذه الأرقام أعلى في الواقع.

تؤكد الدراسة على أن الآباء والأمهات، من خلال تزويجهم بناتهم في سنٍ مبكر، لا يفعلون ذلك بدافع القسوة، بل خوفاً من عدم قدرتهم على توفير حياة كريمة لهم وحمايتهم، معتقدين أن الزواج قد يحمي بناتهم من الأذى فضلاً عن كونه أيضاً يوفر لهن مستوى من الاستقرار المالي. ومع ذلك، فإن ما يحدث في كثيرٍ من الأحيان هو أن الفتيات الصغيرات يواجهن العديد من المصاعب بالزواج المبكر، بما في ذلك المضاعفات أثناء الحمل والولادة والعنف ومحدودية الفرص التعليمية والاقتصادية، فضلاً عن تمتعهنّ بحريةٍ أقل وعدم القدرة على التواصل مع أقرانهم من الأطفال. ومن المحتمل أن تؤثر هذه العواقب سلباً على جيلٍ كامل من الشباب السوريين الذين، نظراً لكونهم من سيعيدون بناء بلدهم في المستقبل، قد يميلون إلى تطبيع نظامٍ اجتماعي يسمح بزواج الأطفال والعنف الأسري.

وبحسب ما قالته هيذر بار، المدير المشارك لقسم حقوق المرأة في المنظمة الدولية هيومن رايتس ووتش، لنا في فَنَك: “من الصعب في كثيرٍ من الأحيان جمع بياناتٍ دقيقة عن زواج الأطفال، حتى في أوقات السلم، بسبب الفجوات في البيانات أو إخفاء زواج الأطفال بسبب عدم قانونيته.” وأضافت، “في سياق النزاع القائم في هذه البلدان الثلاثة، يعد جمع البيانات الدقيقة أكثر صعوبة. لكن شراكة ‘فتيات لا عرائس‘ وثقت زيادةً في عدد حالات زواج الأطفال بين الفتيات السوريات النازحات بسبب النزاع، كما تتوفر جميع الأسباب للإعتقاد بأن هذا النمط ينطبق أيضاً على اليمن وليبيا.”

child marriages
المصدر: Wikipedia and U.S. Department of State - Country Reports on Human Rights Practices. اضغط للتكبير. @Fanack.com

كما كشفت بعض الأبحاث التي شاركت فيها بار في هيومن رايتس ووتش أن النزاعات وانعدام الأمن، فضلاً عن الأزمات الأخرى مثل الكوارث الطبيعية، يمكن أن تزيد من خطر زواج الأطفال، وبحسب قولها، “خلال الأزمة، قد يكافح الآباء لإطعام وحماية أطفالهم. قد يرون في تزويج بناتهن – في وقتٍ أبكر مما عليه الأمر في وقت السلم- وسيلةً للتخفيف من عبئها وجعل رعاية الأطفال الباقين أكثر جدوى.” وتابعت القول، “قد ينظرون إلى الزواج، على نحو خاطىء، على أنه وسيلةٌ لحماية الابنة من المخاطر المرتبطة بالنزاع، بما في ذلك خطر العنف الجنسي. ببساطة، قد يكونوا متوترين وغير قادرين على تحمّل الأمر. وفي الثقافات التي ينطوي فيها الزواج على المال، مثل دفع المهر أو ‘ثمن للعروس،‘ قد يوفر زواج الأطفال لأولياء الأمور الذين أثقلهم النزاع مكسباً مالياً أو فرصةً لتجنب دفع المهر. يعتقد الكثير من أولياء الأمور، في مواجهة الخيارات الرهيبة التي يفرضها النزاع، أن الترتيب السريع لزواج ابنتهم هو الخيار الوحيد أو الأفضل لمحاولة حمايتها وبقية أفراد الأسرة.”

من الجدير بالذكر أيضاً إن زواج الأطفال موجود خارج مناطق النزاعات أيضاً، بما في ذلك في البلدان المتقدمة مثل الولايات المتحدة والمملكة المتحدة. لكن زواج الأطفال يحدث أكثر في البلدان الفقيرة غير المستقرة مثل النيجر وتشاد وبنجلاديش، في حين أن البلدان التي تعاني من الحرب ينخفض فيها المعدل عن 30%. وكما قالت لنا بار، “نحن نعلم أنه عندما تعاني الأسر من ضغوطٍ كبيرة بسبب عوامل مثل النزاع، يمكن أن يصبح زواج الأطفال آليةً للتكيف، خاصة في بيئةكان يتم فيها بالفعل زواج الأطفال.” وأضافت، “لهذا السبب فإن الصراع أو الأزمات الأخرى تجلب خطراً جدياً بزيادة معدلات زواج الأطفال.”

ووفقاً لهيومن رايتس ووتش، تتشابه قصص زواج الأطفال بشكلٍ ملحوظ من دولةٍ إلى أخرى، مع وجود حوافز مثل الأدوار التمييزية بين الجنسين، بما في ذلك التوقع في بعض الثقافات بأن الأبناء هم سند أبائهم في سن الشيخوخة بينما “تنتمي” الفتيات إلى عائلة الزوج؛ والافتقار إلى التعليم، الأمر الذي يدفع الفتيات إلى الخروج من المدرسة ويزيد من خطر زواجهن بسن مبكر؛ والفقر، بما في ذلك انعدام الأمن الغذائي؛ والجهود المبذولة للسيطرة على الحياة الجنسية للفتيات والإفتقار إلى التثقيف الجنسي الشامل ووسائل منع الحمل والإجهاض؛ والحوافز المالية، المدفوعة بممارسات المهر؛ والضغوط الاجتماعية.

لمواجهة هذا الوضع، دعت المنظمات الدولية مثل اليونيسف، علناً، إلى ضرورة مساعدة الأطفال، لا سيما بسبب “النزاعات في الجمهورية العربية السورية واليمن وتقلب الأوضاع في ليبيا وتزايد العنف في فلسطين، مما يعرض الأطفال لمخاطر شديدة، بما في ذلك الموت والتعرض للإصابة والنزوح، وكذلك التجنيد القسري في الجماعات المسلحة والزواج المبكر.” وفي اليمن على وجه التحديد، قالت منظمة العفو الدولية إن “النزاع الذي طال أمده أدى إلى تفاقم التمييز ضد النساء والفتيات وتركهن يتمتعن بحمايةٍ أقل من العنف الجنسي وغيره من أشكال العنف، بما في ذلك الزواج القسري.” ونشرت مجلة The New Humanitarian العديد من الشهادات حول زواج الأطفال في اليمن، بما في ذلك شهادة صفاء، التي تزوجت في سن الرابعة عشرة من عمرها، حيث قالت: “من المفترض أن تحتفل العروس بيوم زفافها، لكني كنت أبكي عندما اضطررت إلى مغادرة غرفة أمي، لأني علمت أني لن أستطيع تحقيق أحلامي. سيكون مستقبلي بين يدي زوجي وليس ملكي.”

لا يمكن إيجاد حلٍ لإنهاء هذه الظاهرة بالسرعة الكافية لإنقاذ الآلاف من الفتيات من مصيرٍ مؤسف. ومع ذلك، تتم معالجة هذا الموضوع حالياً من خلال أهداف الأمم المتحدة للتنمية المستدامة، حيث التزمت البلدان بهدف إنهاء جميع زواج الأطفال بحلول عام 2030. وكما تقول بار، “تعمل العديد من المنظمات، بما فيها تلك الموجودة في شبكة فتيات لا عرائس، على أرض الواقع، في كل دولة على حدة، لحث ومساعدة الحكومات على تحقيق هذا الهدف.” وأضافت، “كانت ردود فعل الحكومات متنوعة، فقد اتخذ البعض خطواتٍ مهمة، مثل إصلاح قوانينهم لجعل سن الزواج يتماشى مع القانون الدولي (الذي ينص على أن سن الزواج يجب أن يكون 18، دون استثناء)؛ بينما وضع آخرون خطط عملٍ وطنية لكيفية تحقيق هدف 2030. إلا أن بعض الحكومات كانت بطيئةً للغاية في منح الأولوية لهذه القضية أو تجاهلتها أو حتى صدت جهود الإصلاح. ففي البلدان التي تعاني صراعاً، قد يكون من الصعب على نحوٍ خاص إجبار الحكومات على الاهتمام بضرورة إنهاء زواج الأطفال.”

ففي البلدان التي تغمرها التحديات، مثل الحروب التي لا تدخر أي مدني، يمكن أن تبدو مكافحة زواج الأطفال للزعماء السياسيين مضيعةً للوقت والجهد بغض النظر عن الطرف الذي يمثلونه؛ خاصة عندما يحتاج البلد بأكمله إلى إعادة إعمارٍ واستقرار. لكن بدون حقوقٍ متساوية للفتيات والنساء وبيئةٍ أكثر أمناً للأطفال، لن يكون المستقبل مشرقاً لأي بلدٍ يسمح بزواج الأطفال.

© Copyright Notice

click on link to view the associated photo/image
©AFP ⁃ Mohammed HUWAIS

image_pdfimage_print

دعمكم عونٌ لنا

فَنَك هي مؤسسة إعلامية إلكترونية مستقلة، لا تمولها أي دولة أو مجموعات مصالح. تلتزم فَنَك بنشر تحليلاتٍ مبنية على الوقائع ومحايدة، إلى جانب التقارير المواضيعية حول الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا.
شهد الموقع نمواً سريعاً في نطاق وعمق المعلومات التي يُقدمها، واليوم، بات يُشكل مصدراً غنياً وقيماً للمعلومات عن 21 بلداً، من المغرب إلى عُمان ومن إيران إلى اليمن، باللغتين العربية والإنجليزية. حالياً، وصل عدد القراء إلى 6 ملايين سنوياً، والعدد آخذٌ بالإزدياد.
لضمان حيادية المعلومات على موقع فَنَك (وقائع وأحداث) ، تُنشر المقالات دون ذكر أسماء الكتّاب، مما يُتيح أيضاً لمراسلينا مساحة أكبر من الحرية عند التطرق إلى القضايا الحساسة أو المثيرة للجدل فى بلادهم. وإلى جانب ذلك، نتحرى حقائق جميع المعلومات الواردة في مقالاتنا قبل النشر لضمان دقة المعلومات، وحداثتها وحيادها.

استمرارية تشغيل مثل هذا الموقع الإلكتروني مُكلفة للغاية. بتبرعٍ صغيرٍ منك، يمكنك المساهمة في الحفاظ على حرية واستقلالية تغطيتنا.

Fanack Home / Family Law and Minorities / In War Torn countries, Child Marriages are on the Rise

In War Torn countries, Child Marriages are on the Rise

Specials- Child marriage
A Yemeni child carrying an assault rifle on his shoulder poses for a group picture with other grooms dressed in traditional attire and carrying firearms while attending a mass-wedding ceremony in the Huthi-controlled capital of Sanaa on January 24, 2019. Photo AFP

Child marriage, the act of marrying underage children, often girls, is not a new phenomenon, but takes a critical turn for the worst for victims from countries facing war and extreme poverty. In addition to the short-term damage it inflicts on the young bride or groom, child marriage is also the cause of longer-term suffering, including rape, unwanted pregnancies, lack of access to education and the continuation of poverty in the family.

The multi-organization partnership “Girls Not Brides,” a global network of organizations working to end child marriage around the world, published in 2018 the results of a study on child marriage in Syria, a country that has been devastated by war since 2011. Although 13% of Syrian women aged 20 to 25 were married before they turned 18 even before the conflict began, the study revealed that child marriage is a growing problem for Syrian girls in refugee communities in Jordan, Lebanon, Iraq and Turkey. In Jordan, for instance, figures show an increase over time, from 12% of registered marriages involved a girl under the age of 18 in 2011 to 18% in 2012, 25% in 2013 and 32% in early 2014. In Lebanon, 41 % of young displaced Syrian women were married before 18 and, given that many marriages are unregistered, these figures may in fact be much higher.

The study emphasizes the fact that parents, by marrying off their daughters early, are not doing so out of cruelty but rather out of fear that they will not be able to provide for and protect them, believing that marriage might protect their daughters from harm while also providing them with a level of financial stability. What often ends up happening, however, is that the young girls face numerous hardships with early marriage, including complications during pregnancy and childbirth, violence, limited educational and economic opportunities, as well as less freedom and the inability to socialize with children their own age. These consequences are likely to negatively impact an entire generation of younger Syrians who, given they will potentially be the ones to rebuild their country in the future, may be inclined to normalize a social system that allows child marriage and family violence.

“It is often difficult to gather accurate data on child marriage, even during times of peace, because of gaps in data or child marriages being concealed due to illegality,” Heather Barr, acting co-director of the Women’s Rights Division at the international organization Human Rights Watch (HRW), told Fanack. “In the context of conflict in these three countries, gathering accurate data is even more challenging. But Girls Not Brides has documented an increase in the number of child marriages among Syrian girls displaced by the conflict and there is every reason to believe that pattern also holds true for Yemen and Libya.”

Sources: Wikipedia and U.S. Department of State - Country Reports on Human Rights Practices. Click to enlarge. @Fanack.com

Some of the research Barr was involved in at HRW revealed that conflict and insecurity, as well as other crises such as natural disasters, can heighten the risk of child marriage. “In a crisis, parents may be struggling to feed and protect their children. They may see marrying a daughter off—earlier than they would have in peace time—as a way to reduce their burden and make it more feasible to care for their remaining children,” she said. “They may mistakenly view marriage as a way to protect a daughter from risks associated with the conflict, including the risk of sexual violence. They may simply be overwhelmed and unable to cope. And in cultures where a marriage involves a financial transaction, like the payment of dowry or “bride price”, a child marriage may offer a parent stressed by the conflict a financial gain or an opportunity to avoid having to pay a dowry themselves. Many parents, faced with the terrible choices imposed by a conflict, genuinely believe that swiftly arranging a marriage for their daughter is their only or best option to try to protect her and the rest of the family.”

Children marriage does exist outside of conflict, including in developed countries like the US and UK. But child marriage occurs the most in unstable, poor countries like Niger, Chad and Bangladesh, while countries at war fall below the rate of 30%. “We know that when families experience great stress due to factors such as a conflict, child marriage can become a coping mechanism, especially in an environment where child marriage already exists,” Barr told Fanack. “This is why conflict or other crises bring a serious risk of an increase in rates of child marriage.”

According to HRW, child marriage stories are remarkably similar from one country and region to the other, with drivers such as discriminatory gender roles, including the expectation in some cultures that sons should support parents in old age while daughters “belong” to their in-laws; lack of access to education, which drives girls out of school and increases the risk of them marrying young; poverty, including food insecurity; efforts to control girls’ sexuality and lack of access to comprehensive sex education, contraception and abortion; financial incentives, driven by dowry and “bride price” practices; and social pressures.

Facing this situation, international organizations such as UNICEF have publicly called for the need to help children, notably because of “the conflicts in the Syrian Arab Republic and Yemen, volatility in Libya and upsurges of violence in Palestine that are exposing children to extreme risks, including death, injury and displacement, as well as forced recruitment into armed groups and early marriage.” In Yemen specifically, Amnesty International said that “the protracted conflict has exacerbated discrimination against women and girls and left them with less protection from sexual and other violence, including forced marriage.” The New Humanitarian published several testimonies about child marriage in Yemen, including the one of Safa’a, married at 14, who said, “brides [are supposed to] celebrate on their wedding day. But I was crying when I had to leave my mother’s room, because I knew I couldn’t achieve my dreams. My future would be in my husband’s hands, not mine.”

A solution to end this phenomenon cannot come quickly enough to save thousands of girls from an unfortunate fate. It is a topic that is currently being addressed through the UN Sustainable Development Goals, where countries have committed to a target of ending all child marriage by 2030. “Many organizations, including those in the Girls Not Brides network, are working on the ground, country-by-country, to urge and help governments achieve that target,” Barr said. “The response from governments has been varied. Some have taken important steps, such as reforming their laws to bring the age of marriage in line with international law (which says that the age of marriage should be 18, with no exceptions); others have developed national action plans for how to achieve the 2030 target. But some governments have been very slow to prioritize this issue or have ignored it or even pushed back against efforts at reform. In countries experiencing conflict, it can be especially difficult to compel governments to pay attention to the need to end child marriage.”

In countries overwhelmed with challenges, such as wars that spare no civilian, combating child marriage can seem to political leaders like a waste of time and energy regardless of the party they represent; especially when an entire country needs to be rebuilt and stabilized. But without equal rights for girls and women and a safer environment for children, the future will not be bright for any country that allows child marriage.

image_pdfimage_print

We would like to ask you something …

Fanack is an independent media organisation, not funded by any state or any interest group, that distributes in the Middle East and the wider world unbiased analysis and background information, based on facts, about the Middle East and North Africa.

The website grew rapidly in breadth and depth and today forms a rich and valuable source of information on 21 countries, from Morocco to Oman and from Iran to Yemen, both in Arabic and English. We currently reach six million readers annually and growing fast.

In order to guarantee the impartiality of information on the Chronicle, articles are published without by-lines. This also allows correspondents to write more freely about sensitive or controversial issues in their country. All articles are fact-checked before publication to ensure that content is accurate, current and unbiased.

To run such a website is very expensive. With a small donation, you can make a huge impact. And it only takes a minute. Thank you.