فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / قانون الأسرة و الأقليات / مصر تواصل الحملة على مجتمع المثليين بدعمٍ شعبي

مصر تواصل الحملة على مجتمع المثليين بدعمٍ شعبي

Specials- Homosexuality
Photo: Flickr ©Flickr

تصاعد ما بدأ كحملةٍ إعلاميةٍ عنيفة بسبب التلويح بعلم قوس قزح خلال حفلٍ موسيقي أقيم في القاهرة في 22 سبتمبر 2017، ليتحول إلى حملةٍ ضد مجتمع المثليين في مصر واعتقال 16 رجلاً بتهم “الفجور.”

حُكم على المتهمين المثليين الـ16 بالسجن ثلاث سنوات في أواخر نوفمبر 2017، إلا أنه تم الإفراج عنهم في وقتٍ لاحق بكفالة في انتظار الاستئناف.

وتعتبر هذه الاعتقالات الأخيرة في سلسلة اعتقالاتٍ طالت آخرين بتهمٍ تتراوح ما بين “اعتياد ممارسة الفجور” إلى “الترويج للانحراف الجنسي” منذ حفل فرقة مشروع ليلى اللبنانية. ويتفاخر المغني الرئيسي بالفرقة، حامد سنو، بكونه مثلي الجنس، كما تم رفع علم قوس قزح، المرتبط بحقوق المثليين، لبرهةٍ قصيرة في الحفل.

التقطت وسائل الإعلام صوراً للعلم، وسرعان ما أطلق عليه “حفل المثليين،” حيث تحدث العديد من المعلقين عن مؤامرةٍ غربية لنشر المثلية الجنسية، التي يُنظر إليها حصراً باعتبارها ظاهرة غربية تدمر القيم المصرية.

وفي برنامجٍ حواري يحظى بشعية كبيرة، وصف متحدثٌ باسم نقابة الموسيقيين، وهي هيئة تمثل المهن الموسيقية، انتشار المثلية الجنسية بأنها تهديدٌ أكبر من تهديد الدولة الإسلامية. وفي برنامجٍ تلفزيوني آخر، طرد مقدم البرنامج أحد ضيوفه لدفاعه عن الملوحين بالعلم.

وقال أحد أفراد مجتمع المثليين في مصر لفَنك شريطة عدم الكشف عن اسمه “المجتمع بأكمله معادٍ للمثلية.”

ووفقاً للمبادرة المصرية للحقوق الشخصية (EIPR)، صعدّت الشرطة منذ عام 2013 “من حملتها التي تستهدف أولئك الأشخاص الذين تختلف غريزتهم الجنسية أو ممارساتهم الجنسية، الفعلية أو المتصورة، عن تلك التي تعتبر معيارية في المجتمع المصري.”

وذكر تقرير المبادرة الذي نُشر في 22 نوفمبر 2017 أيضاً “ارتفاع المتوسط السنوي لعدد المقبوض عليهم والمُحالين إلى المحاكمة في مثل هذه القضايا منذ الربع الأخير لسنة 2013 إلى نحو خمسة أضعاف، مقارنة بسنوات طويلة سابقة.” ووصل عدد الذين ألقي القبض عليهم في الفترة ما بين سبتمبر 2013 وأبريل 2017 إلى 232 شخصاً.

ويورد التقرير تفاصيل الاستراتيجيات المختلفة التي تتبعها الإدارة العامة لحماية الآداب في وزارة الداخلية للقيام بعمليات الاعتقال، أولها، استخدام مواقع وتطبيقات المواعدة المخصصة للمثليين للإيقاع بالمثليين أو من يُظن بهم المثلية.

فقد توقف المثلي الذي قمنا بمقابلته عن استخدام تطبيق المواعدة لبعض الوقت بعد الحفل الموسيقي وبات يتوخى المزيد من الحذر، إذ قال “تصبح أكثر حرصاً عن تتحدث إلى أحدهم، أو عندما تلتقي به.” وأضاف “كما تشعر بالقلق على أصدقائك من المجتمع.”

أما الاستراتيجية الثانية التي ذكرتها المبادرة المصرية للحقوق الشخصية هي ترحيل الأجانب الذين يُظن بهم المثلية؛ وثالثهما “خلق فضائح جنسية كبرى تحظى بتغطية إعلامية استثنائية.”

ففي عام 2014، على سبيل المثال، اقتحمت الشرطة حماماً في القاهرة، حيث زعم أن المثليين يجتمعون هناك، ترافقهم مقدمة البرامج منى العراقي وطاقمها، في ما أصبح يعرف باسم “قضية حمام رمسيس.” تم اعتقال العشرات، على الرغم من تبرئة جميع المدعى عليهم في نهاية المطاف.

ففي المجتمع المصري الديني والمحافظ للغاية، يعتبر الشذوذ الجنسي، على نطاقٍ واسع، معصيةً لله. ووفقاً لمركز أبحاث بيو، فإن 95% من المصريين يرفضون المثلية الجنسية.

ويدعم آسر عمار، وهو مهندس مصري في أوائل الأربعينيات من عمره، حملة الشرطة، إذ قال “لا أحب أن تنتشر هذه الأفكار والأيديولوجيات وأنماط الحياة وأن تصبح طبيعية في مصر،” مضيفا أن نشر المثلية “سيطبّع قبول هذه الأفكار التي تعارض المبادىء الدينية والقيم المجتمعية، مما سيؤثر سلباً على الأجيال الجديدة.”

وقد ساعدت التغطية الإعلامية المروجة للأخبار المثيرة لـ”فضائح” المثليين على إثارة المشاعر المعادية للمثليين، والتي تستخدمها الشرطة لصالحها. وقالت داليا عبد الحميد، رئيسة برنامج المساواة بين الجنسين في المبادرة المصرية للحقوق الشخصية لفنك: “يستفيدون من الرفض الاجتماعي [للمثلية الجنسية].” وأضافت “هناك نوع من الهيمنة الأخلاقية [في مصر].”

كما أخبرنا المثلي الذي أجرينا معه مقابلتنا أن الشرطة أيضاً استفادت من الأمر بطريقةٍ أخرى، إذ قال “إن القبض على المثليين وسيلةٌ للشرطة لتعزيز سمعتهم. إنها دعاية جيدة، فهذا يظهر أنهم أكثر رجولية.”

ففي قضية حمام رمسيس، شعر الناس إلى حدٍ ما بأن الشرطة تعدت على خصوصية المتواجدين في الحمام، الذين من المفترض أن يكونوا عراة، مما أدى إلى انتقاد الشرطة ومقدمة البرامج، منى العراقي، على وجه الخصوص. واعتبرت عبد الحميد أن مكان رفع علم قوس قزح “غير خاص” و”إعلانٌ عن الهوية،” مما أدى إلى “ضجة إعلامية ناجحة.”

ووفقاً للمثلي الذي أجرينا معه مقابلتنا، فإن موجة الاعتقالات الأخيرة يمكن تفسيرها باعتبارها فرصةً سانحة، إذ قال “[الحملة على المثليين] ورقة رابحة يمكن الزج بها في أي وقت تريده [الحكومة] لإبعاد أنظار الشعب عن المشاكل الكبيرة مثل ارتفاع التضخم والفشل الأمني،” في إشارةٍ منه إلى الهجمات الإرهابية الأخيرة.

تتفق معه عبد الحميد، إذ قالت “إن الاستراتيجية تنطوي على تشتيت الانتباه عن الأزمات الأخرى.” كما ترى أيضاً أنماطا مماثلة في قضايا أخرى تتضمن قضايا الأخلاق العامة، مثل القيام مؤخراً باعتقال مغنية بسبب فيديو غنائي تتضمن مشاهد جنسية صريحة، وإصدار حكم على مقدمة البرامج التي ناقشت قضية الأم العزباء في برنامجها. وأضافت عبد الحميد “لاحظنا أن [الدولة] تستخدم هذا النوع من القضايا الأخلاقية العامة وكأنها كبيرة وذات أهمية.”

وكثيراً ما ترتبط الأحكام الصادرة في مثل هذه القضايا بالفجور أو التعرض للأخلاق والآداب العامة أو الدعارة، ذلك أن القانون المصري لا يجرم الشذوذ الجنسي صراحةً.

ولربما يتغير هذا قريباً، ففي أعقاب حادثة التلويح بالعلم، اقترح 67 نائباً في البرلمان مشروع قانونٍ يحظر إقامة علاقات جنسية مثلية، وكذلك القيام بالترويج للمثلية الجنسية أو التحريض عليها أو عرض رموز أو شعارات لمجتمع المثليين، أو إنتاجها أو ترويجها أو بيعها أو تسويقها.

وقالت منظمة العفو الدولية فى بيانٍ لها “إذا ما أقر مشروع القانون، فسيفاقم من العزلة الاجتماعية والانتهاكات التي يتعرض لها الأشخاص بسبب ميولهم الجنسية الفعلية أو المتصورة.”

وعلى الرغم من أنّ المثلي الذي قابلناه يعتقد أن العديد من أولئك الذين اعتقلوا مؤخراً سيتم الإفراج عنهم بمجرد أن تختفي حدة التسليط الإعلامي على قضيتهم، إلا أنه غير متفائلٍ بالمستقبل. “بالنظر إلى العالم، نرى أن جميع البلدان تتقدم، أو تحاول التقدم على الأقل، المزيد من المساواة والإنصاف للأقليات. أما هنا، فنحن نتراجع.”

ومع ذلك، أخبرنا أنه يجد بعض العزاء في الأحداث الأخيرة، إذ قال “الأمور تتحرك على الأقل، وعندما تتراجع إلى الخلف، نمتلك فرصةً أكبر بالحصول على اللجوء في الخارج.”

© Copyright Notice

click on link to view the associated photo/image
©Flickr | ©Flickr

دعمكم عونٌ لنا

فَنَك هي مؤسسة إعلامية إلكترونية مستقلة، لا تمولها أي دولة أو مجموعات مصالح. تلتزم فَنَك بنشر تحليلاتٍ مبنية على الوقائع ومحايدة، إلى جانب التقارير المواضيعية حول الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا.
شهد الموقع نمواً سريعاً في نطاق وعمق المعلومات التي يُقدمها، واليوم، بات يُشكل مصدراً غنياً وقيماً للمعلومات عن 21 بلداً، من المغرب إلى عُمان ومن إيران إلى اليمن، باللغتين العربية والإنجليزية. حالياً، وصل عدد القراء إلى 6 ملايين سنوياً، والعدد آخذٌ بالإزدياد.
لضمان حيادية المعلومات على موقع فَنَك (وقائع وأحداث) ، تُنشر المقالات دون ذكر أسماء الكتّاب، مما يُتيح أيضاً لمراسلينا مساحة أكبر من الحرية عند التطرق إلى القضايا الحساسة أو المثيرة للجدل فى بلادهم. وإلى جانب ذلك، نتحرى حقائق جميع المعلومات الواردة في مقالاتنا قبل النشر لضمان دقة المعلومات، وحداثتها وحيادها.

استمرارية تشغيل مثل هذا الموقع الإلكتروني مُكلفة للغاية. بتبرعٍ صغيرٍ منك، يمكنك المساهمة في الحفاظ على حرية واستقلالية تغطيتنا.

Fanack Home / Family Law and Minorities / Crackdown on Egypt’s LGBT Community Continues, with Popular Support

Crackdown on Egypt’s LGBT Community Continues, with Popular Support

Specials- Homosexuality
Photo: Flickr

What started with a media outcry over the waving of a rainbow flag during a concert in Cairo on 22 September 2017 has escalated into a crackdown on Egypt’s LGBT community and the arrest of 16 men on ‘debauchery’ charges.

The 16 alleged homosexuals were sentenced to three years in prison in late November 2017 but were subsequently released on bail pending their appeal.

They are the latest in a string of arrests on charges ranging from ‘the habitual practice of debauchery’ to ‘promoting sexual deviancy’ since the concert by the Lebanese band Mashrou’ Leila. The lead singer of the band, Hamed Sinno, is openly gay and a rainbow flag, associated with LGBT rights, was briefly raised during the event.

Media picked up images of the flag and quickly dubbed the concert ‘the gay party’. Multiple commentators spoke of a Western conspiracy to spread homosexuality, which is seen as an exclusively Western phenomenon and damaging to Egyptian values.

In a popular talk show, a spokesperson for the Music Syndicate, a body representing the musical professions, described the spread of homosexuality as a bigger threat than Islamic State. In another TV programme, the presenter kicked out one of his guests for defending the flag wavers.

“The whole society is homophobic,” a member of Egypt’s LGBT community told Fanack Chronicle on condition of anonymity.

According to the Egyptian Initiative for Personal Rights (EIPR), since 2013 the police have ‘escalated a targeted crackdown on people whose sexualities or sexual practices, actual or perceived, differ from those considered normative in Egyptian society’.

‘The average number of persons arrested and referred to trial in these cases has increased five-fold since the last quarter of 2013, in comparison with previous years,’ the EIPR stated in a report published on 22 November 2017. A total of 232 people have been arrested between September 2013 and April 2017.

The report details various strategies used by the Ministry of Interior’s General Directorate for Protecting Public Morality to make arrests.

The first is the use of dating sites and apps to entrap LGBT people or those perceived as such. The LGBT interviewee stopped using data apps for a while in the wake of the concert and is now extra cautious. “You are more careful about who you are talking too, and who you are meeting,” he said. “And you’re worried about your friends in the community.”

The second strategy the EIPR identified is the deportation of foreigners who are perceived to be gay; the third is ‘the creation of major sex scandals that receive exceptional media attention’.

In 2014, for example, police raided a bathhouse in Cairo where gays allegedly gathered, accompanied by television presenter Mona al-Iraqi and her film crew, in what has become known as the ‘Ramses bathhouse case’. Dozens were arrested, although all the defendants were eventually acquitted.

In Egypt’s deeply religious and conservative society, homosexuality is widely regarded as a sin. According to the Pew Research Center, 95 per cent of Egyptians reject homosexuality.

Asser Ammar, an Egyptian engineer in his early 40s, supports the police campaign. “I don’t like such ideas, ideologies and lifestyles to be spread and [become] normal in Egypt,” he told Fanack Chronicle, adding that spreading homosexuality “would normalize the acceptance of these ideas [that are] against religious principles and community values, which will negatively affect the new generations”.

Sensationalist media coverage of gay ‘scandals’ has served to fuel anti-gay sentiment, which the police are using to their benefit. “They capitalize on the social rejection [of homosexuality],” Dalia Abdel Hameed, the head of EIPR’s gender programme, told Fanack Chronicle. “There is a hegemonic kind of morality [in Egypt].”

The police benefit in another way as well, the LGBT interviewee said. “Arresting homosexuals is a way for the police to boost their reputation. It’s good publicity, it shows them to be more masculine.”

In the bathhouse case, people felt to a certain extent that the police invaded the privacy of the bathers, who were after all supposed to be naked, which led to criticism of the police and TV presenter al-Iraqi in particular. The act of raising the rainbow flag, on the other hand, was considered “not private” and a “declaration of identity”, Abdel Hameed explained, and led to a more “effective media outcry”.

According to the LGBT interviewee, the recent wave of arrests could be interpreted as a window of opportunity. “[The LGBT crackdown] is a wild card to play whenever [the government] needs to draw public attention away from big problems, such as the high inflation and security failure,” he said, referring to recent terrorist attacks.

Abdel Hameed agreed. “The strategy involves distracting attention from other crises.” She sees similar patterns in other cases that involve public morality, such as the recent arrest of a singer over a sexually explicit video clip, and the sentencing of a TV presenter who discussed single motherhood on her show. “We are noticing that [the state] uses these kind of public morality cases as if they are big and important,” Abdel Hameed said.

Sentences handed down in these cases are often related to debauchery, public indecency or prostitution, as Egyptian law does not explicitly criminalize homosexuality.

This may soon change. In the wake of the flag-waving incident, 67 MPs proposed a draft bill to outlaw same-sex relationships, promoting homosexuality, promoting or advertising LGBT gatherings and displaying, promoting, selling or producing LGBT symbols.

‘If passed, this law would further entrench stigma and abuse against people based on their perceived sexual orientation,’ Amnesty International said in a statement.

Although the LGBT interviewee believes that many of those recently arrested will be released once the media attention has died down, he is not optimistic about the future. “Looking at the world, everywhere countries are moving towards, or at least attempting to move towards, more equality and equity for minorities. Here, it is going backwards.”

However, he said he can find some solace in recent events. “At least things are moving, and when they move backwards, we have a higher chance of getting asylum abroad.”

image_pdfimage_print

We would like to ask you something …

Fanack is an independent media organisation, not funded by any state or any interest group, that distributes in the Middle East and the wider world unbiased analysis and background information, based on facts, about the Middle East and North Africa.

The website grew rapidly in breadth and depth and today forms a rich and valuable source of information on 21 countries, from Morocco to Oman and from Iran to Yemen, both in Arabic and English. We currently reach six million readers annually and growing fast.

In order to guarantee the impartiality of information on the Chronicle, articles are published without by-lines. This also allows correspondents to write more freely about sensitive or controversial issues in their country. All articles are fact-checked before publication to ensure that content is accurate, current and unbiased.

To run such a website is very expensive. With a small donation, you can make a huge impact. And it only takes a minute. Thank you.