فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / قانون الأسرة و الأقليات / تونس: الجيل الجديد من مبادرات المرأة تُعيد تشكيل النسوية

تونس: الجيل الجديد من مبادرات المرأة تُعيد تشكيل النسوية

Feminism tunisia
نساء تونسيات يرددن شعارات ويلوحن بأعلامهن الوطنية خلال مظاهرة بمناسبة يوم المرأة التونسي في العاصمة تونس. Photo: FETHI BELAID / AFP

إنهاء الاستعمار أو تقاطع أشكال التمييز أو الشمولية: بصرف النظر عن التسمية، إلا أن جيلاً جديداً من المبادرات النسائية التونسية يعيد تشكيل النموذج الأولي للحركة النسائية التونسية.

منذ أواخر الخمسينيات، منحت الإصلاحات الرائدة للمساواة بين الجنسين تونس سمعة كونها مناصرة حقوق المرأة. يرجع الفضل في هذه السمعة إلى حدٍ كبير إلى “الأب” الحامي للنسوية في البلاد، حبيب بورقيبة، أول رئيسٍ بعد الاستقلال، الذي منح حقوقاً للمرأة مثل الحق في رفض تعدد الزوجات، والشروع في الطلاق، والخضوع لعمليات الإجهاض المجانية وكذلك التصويت وتولي منصبٍ منتخب.

مع ذلك، يرفض عددٍ متنامي من نشطاء مجتمع الميم (مثليي الجنس ومزدوجي التوجه الجنسي والمتحولين جنسياً) أن يتم تأطيرهم فيما يرونه تقييداً لهم ضمن طليعة الحركة النسوية في تونس: شكل من أشكال النسخة الإقليمية لنموذج أوروبا الغربية للنسوية.

على سبيل المثال، عبرت الفيلسوفة والكاتبة سمية المستيري عن رأي مختلف المحللين الآخرين في المنطقة، ودعت إلى “إنهاء استعمار” الحركة النسوية، الأمر الذي تسميه “فشلاً.” من وجه نظرها، لدى النسويات التونسيات جهلاً بتداعيات العلاقات الاستعمارية وفجوات القوة بين النساء. بينما يجادل نقاد نسويون آخرون بأن أكبر الحركات النسائية هي “نسخٌ ولصق استعلائي للنموذج المتجانس الذي تروج له الدولة للمرأة التونسية.”

واجهت هذه الأفكار جيلاً جديداً من المبادرات، ولا سيما فلقطنا (سئمنا)، التي حققت نجاحاً سريعاً بعد تنظيم عرضٍ مفاجىء لجذب الانتباه إلى العنف ضد المرأة. من جهتها، تصف أمل بنت نادية، أحد المبادرين، المجموعة بأنها “غير سياسية وشاملة وغير هرمية. كما أنها آمنة أيضاً للنساء المتحولات جنسياً اللواتي يعانين من التمييز المزدوج.”

وعلى عكس ذلك، حظر بورقيبة، الذي أصبح أيقونة وطنية لحقوق المرأة، الحركات النسائية بخلاف تلك التي ينتمي إليها الحزب الحاكم. تستذكر بشرى بلحاج حميدة بالقول، “سمح لنا خلف بورقيبة، بن علي، بالعمل لأنا كنا ضمن الحلف المعادي للإسلاميين، لكن هذا انتهى بمجرد أن أظهرنا أننا لسنا دمى.” تعدّ المحامية وعضوة اللجنة التنفيذية السابقة لحزب نداء تونس الليبرالي، بشرى بلحاج حميدة، أحد مؤسسي ومن أوائل رؤوساء الجمعية التونسية للنساء الديمقراطيات. كما كانت رئيسة لجنة الحريات والمساواة الفردية التي أسستها الدولة.

تجسد الجمعية التونسية للنساء الديمقراطيات، إلى جانب العديد من المنظمات النسائية الأخرى، تاريخ تونس النسوي. وتصف بلحاج حميدة الأجواء تحت حكم بن علي بـ”الشديدة،” إذ قالت: “ظللنا تحت الأنظار، وتم التنصت علينا وما إلى ذلك. تفاوتت مساحة المناورة من حالة إلى أخرى.” وتابعت، “لكن بشكل عملي، عندما واجهت بعض النساء مشاكل، كان يتم إحالتهن إلينا، تصاحبهم عبارة ‘هذا هو عمل الجمعية التونسية للنساء الديمقراطيات‘.”

تعدّ هذه من النقاط الحساسة للجمعية التونسية للنساء الديمقراطيات، إذ غالباً ما يتهم النقاد أقدم المنظمات النسوية بأنها من اختيار الأحزاب الحاكمة اللاحقة، بينما كان السياسيون يلعبون بشكلٍ استراتيجي على “بطاقة المرأة.” وغالباً ما يُنظر إلى نسوية دولة بورقيبة على أنها ذات نهجٍ “أبوي” حيث كانت الحركة النسائية جزءاً إلزامياً من مشروع البناء في الدولة مع دور داعمٍ فقط للمنظمات النسائية التابعة للأحزاب.

“حسناً، أصبح هذا الزمن من الماضي بالنسبة لنا،” بحسب قول المحامية وعضو مجلس الإدارة في الجميعة التونسية للنساء الديمقراطيات، هالة بن سالم، لنا في فَنَك. وأضافت، “طالما يعزز وضع النساء، فلا مانع لدي. استقلالنا غير قابل للشك.”

إلا أن الناشطة أمل غير مقتنعة بذلك، إذ تقول من وجهة نظرها “إنها واجهة زائفة.” وتضيف “خذ، على سبيل المثال، بند التكافؤ في قوانين الانتخابات، والذي يتطلب 50% من النساء و50% من الرجال في قوائم الانتخابات. فكرة جميلة، لكن كم عدد البرلمانيات اللواتي نعرفهن؟” فوجهة نظرها صحيحة. فبين عامي 2014 و2019، انخفض عدد النساء في البرلمان من 36% إلى 21%.

بينما أشارت بلحاج حميدة بالقول، “الحاجز الزجاجي المرئي التقليدي: تعتبر النساء ناخبات قويات إلا أنهن ليسوا قادة أقوياء (محتملين).”

في أعقاب ثورات 2011، أعاد الصعود الهائل لمنظمات المساواة بين الجنسين تشكيل المجتمع المدني في تونس. وفي هذا الصدد، قالت بن سالم “مع دخول منظمات مجتمع الميم، تحول جدول الأعمال النسوي إلى قضايا مثل السلامة في الفضاء العام والاستقلال المادي.”

كما تُشير بلحاج حميدة أيضاً إلى تغيرٍ في النمط وأسلوب العمل،” إذ قالت تعد المبادرات الجديدة أكثر نشاطاً وتلقائية بشكلٍ عام، وأقل اهتماماً،” معربة عن أسفها “لعدم وجود توافق متبادل.”

من جهتها، أكدت بن سالم أن الجميعة التونسية للنساء الديمقراطيات لا تزال معاصرة. “تقدمنا مع مرور الوقت بالطبع. ومع ذلك، فإن محاربة النظام الأبوي ما زالت في مقدمة وجوهر الحركة النسوية.”

فقد وصفت الجميعة التونسية للنساء الديمقراطيات بأنها “منظمة علمانية مستقلة لجميع النساء.” ومع ذلك، كما ذكرت أمل، فإن شبكات الجيل الجديد مثل فلقطنا هي على الأقل رد فعلٍ على الطريقة التي شُكل فيها المجتمع المدني بعد 2011.

“لقد شعرنا بالحاجة إلى بنية أكثر حرية وشمولاً،” أوضحت أمل، مرددة التأكيد العالمي على تقاطع أشكال التمييز (إدراك التجارب المختلفة وتأثير علاقات القوى) ومشكلة المطالبة العالمية للجمعية التونسية للنساء الديمقراطيات ومعاصريها. وبحسب قولها، “لا أستطيع التحدث عن نساء أخريات. فلم يسبق أن كنت مكان إمرأة متحولة جنسياً على سبيل المثال،” معبرة عن الانتقاد أن “النسوية السائدة” تعيد إنتاج الصور النمطية وتتجاهل التنوع بين النساء.

إن مثل هذه الحجج، وفقاً للجمعية التونسية للنساء الديمقراطيات، مجرد دليل على نجاح النظام الأبوي. وقالت بن سالم “إنها مغالطة،” وتابعت “النسويات اللواتي يزعمن إنهاء الاستعمار هن في معظم الأحيان نساء مسلمات ينكرن تعرضهن للقمع.”

في الوقت نفسه، تطور نمزذج بورقيبة النسوي إلى واحدٍ من أكثرها رواجاً وتميزاً في تونس.

لكن بالنسبة لأمل، فإن “شعار استثناء المرأة التونسية يستخدم في الوقت الحاضر كسلاح.” وأضافت، “الرجال يطلقون علينا اسم النسوية المتطرفة ويجادلون بأن المرأة التونسية تتمتع بحقوق أكثر من غيرها من النساء العربيات وينبغي أن نكون سعيدات بذلك. لكنا نرفض أن نقارن أنفسنا بالنساء في أماكن أخرى.”

وعلى النقيض من ذلك، تحمل الجمعية التونسية للنساء الديمقراطيات لقب رائدة حقوق النساء بكل فخر. وكما تقول بن سالم، “لا تزال تونس أفضل بلدٍ عربي للنساء.”

وللحفاظ على استقلالها، تتجنب مبادرة فلقطنا وغيرها من مبادرات الجيل الجديد التمويل من الحكومات الأخرى. وبحسب قول أمل، “يصعب إرضاؤنا جداً.” وتابعت القول “نبني شبكاتٍ مع منظماتٍ تمارس ضغوطاً على بلدانها لتغيير توازن القوى بين أوروبا وتونس.”

واليوم، تُرسم ملامح أجندة النسوية التونسية من قبل حركة أنا زادة (#أنا أيضاً)، التي ظهرت بعد أن نشرت طالبة تبلغ من العمر 19 عاماً صوراً على الفيسبوك يزعم أنها تظهر سياسي تونسي يستمني في سيارته خارج مدرستها الثانوية. وعلى حد تعبير أمل، “طفح الكيل. لقد حان الوقت لكسر الصمت إزاء التحرش الجنسي والاعتداء الجنسي على نطاقٍ واسع. أصبح التحيز الجنساني طبيعي في مجتمعنا.”

تحولت النسوية في القرن الحادي والعشرين إلى معركة متعددة الأوجه. يشارك نشطاء مجتمع الميم التونسيون في صراع ثلاثي الأطوار: ضد الأبوية، والنموذج “الغربي المهيمن” و”الهويات المبنية مسبقاً.” وبلا شك باتت أكثر وضوحاً من أي وقتٍ مضى.

إقرأ المزيد

قانون الأسرة و الأقليات
وبعد نيل الاستقلال عام 1956م، اتبعت تونس أجندة اجتماعية تقدمية وسعت...
أصبح مفهوم حقوق الإنسان معروفاً ومصطلحاً مقبولاً يتم تداوله على ن...

© Copyright Notice

Please contact us in case of omissions concerning copyright-protected work. The acquired copyright protected images used on/as featured image of this page are: FETHI BELAID ©AFP | FETHI BELAID ©AFP

Fanack Home / Family Law and Minorities / In Tunisia, New Generation of Women’s Initiatives Reshaping Feminism

In Tunisia, New Generation of Women’s Initiatives Reshaping Feminism

Feminism tunisia
Tunisian women chant slogans and wave their national flags during a demonstration to mark Tunisia’s Women’s Day in the capital Tunis. Photo: FETHI BELAID / AFP

Decolonization, intersectionality or inclusivity: whatever the label, a new generation of Tunisian women’s initiatives is reshaping the first prototype of Tunisian feminism.

Since the late 1950s, pioneering gender-equality reforms have given Tunisia the reputation of being a women rights champion. This reputation is largely thanks to the country’s archetypal ‘father’ of feminism, Habib Bourguiba, the first post-independence president, who granted women rights such as the right to refuse polygamy, to initiate divorce, to undergo free abortions as well as to vote and hold elected office.

However, a growing group of LGBTQ+ activists refuse to be trapped in what they see as the straitjacket of Tunisia as a feminist vanguard: a sort of regional version of the West European (feminist) model.

Philosopher and writer Soumaya Mestiri, for instance, voicing the opinion of various other analysts in the region, advocates the ‘decolonization’ of the feminist movement, which she calls “a failure”. In her eyes, Tunisian feminists have a blind spot for the repercussions of colonial relations and power gaps between women. Other feminist critics argue that the largest women’s movements are ‘paternalistically copy-pasting the state-promoted homogeneous model of the “Tunisian woman”.’

These ideas have been given a face by a new generation of initiatives, notably Falgatna (‘we are fed up’), which became an instant hit after organizing a flash mob to draw attention to violence against women. Amal Bintnadia, one of the initiators, describes the group as “non-political, inclusive and non-hierarchical. Also safe for transgender women who suffer double discrimination”.

Counterintuitively, Bourguiba, who became a national women’s rights icon, outlawed feminist movements other than those of the ruling party. “Bourguiba’s successor Ben Ali allowed us to work because he took us fo r an anti-Islamist ally, but this was over as soon as we demonstrated we were not his puppets,” Bochra Bel Haj Hmida remembers. A lawyer and former prime minister of the liberal Nidaa Tounes party, Bel Haj Hmida is a co-founder and one of the first presidents of the Tunisian Association of Democratic Women (ATFD). She was also president of the state-initiated Individual Freedoms and Equality Committee.

The ATFD, alongside several other women’s organizations, embodies Tunisia’s feminist history. Bel Haj Hmida describes the atmosphere under Ben Ali as “intense”. “We were kept in check, eavesdropped on etc. The room for manoeuvre varied from case to case,” she said. “But pragmatically, sometimes when women were in trouble, they were referred to us, with the words ‘That’s what the ATFD is for’.”

This is a sore spot for the ATFD. Critics often accuse the oldest feminist organizations of being co-opted by subsequent ruling parties, while politicians strategically played the ‘women card’. Bourguiba’s state feminism is today often viewed as a ‘paternalistic’ approach wherein feminism was a compulsory part of the nation’s construction project with only a supporting role for party-affiliated women’s organizations.

“Well, that time is way behind us,” Hela Ben Salem, a lawyer and member of the ATFD board, told Fanack, somewhat vexed. “As long as it reinforces the position of women, I don’t mind. Our autonomy is beyond question.”

Bintnadia from Falgatna is not convinced. “All window dressing,” in her view. “Take, for instance, the parity clause in the election bills, which requires 50 per cent women and 50 per cent men on the election lists. Nice idea, but how many female MPs do we actually know?” She has a point. Between 2014 and 2019, the number of female members of parliament dropped from 36 per cent to 21 per cent.

“The classical glass ceiling: women are regarded as powerful voters but not as (potential) powerful leaders,” Bel Haj Hmida noted.

In the wake of the 2011 uprisings, the exponential rise of gender-equality organizations has reshaped Tunisia’s civil society. “With the entry of LGBTQ+ organizations, the feminist agenda has shifted to issues such as safety in the public space and physical autonomy,” Ben Salem said.

Bel Haj Hmida also points to a change of style and modus operandi. “New initiatives are generally more energetic and spontaneous, less studious,” she said while regretting “the lack of mutual alignment”.

For her part, Ben Salem asserted that the ATFD is still up to date. “We moved with the times, of course. Yet combatting the patriarchy is still front and centre of the feminist movement,” she said.

She described the ATFD as a “secular and autonomous organization for all women.” However, as stated by Bintnadia, new-generation networks such as Falgatna are at least partly a reaction to the way the post-2011 civil society took shape.

“We felt a need for a looser and more inclusive structure,” she explained, echoing the global emphasis on intersectionality (recognizing different experiences and the impact of power relations) and problematizing the universality claim of the ATFD and its contemporaries. “I can’t speak for other women. I have never walked in the shoes of a transgender woman, by way of illustration,” Bintnadia said, voicing the criticism that ‘mainstream feminists’ are reproducing stereotypes and ignoring the diversity among women.

Such arguments are, according to the ATFD, merely proof of patriarchy’s success. “It’s a fallacy,” Ben Salem said. “The ‘so-called’ decolonization feminists are most of the time Islamic women who deny being oppressed.”

Meanwhile, Bourguiba’s feminist model has developed into one of Tunisia’s unique selling points. For Bintnadia, however, the ‘Tunisian woman exception emblem’ is nowadays used as a weapon. “Men call us feminazi and argue that Tunisian women have more rights than other Arab women and should be happy with that. But we refuse to compare ourselves with women elsewhere.”

The ATFD, by contrast, wears the title of women’s rights pioneer with more pride. “Tunisia is still the best Arab country for women,” according to Ben Salem.

To maintain their independence, Falgatna and other new-generation initiatives avoid funding from other governments. “We are very picky,” Bintnadia said. “We build networks with organizations that put pressure on their own countries to change the power balance between Europe and Tunisia.”

Today, the Tunisian feminist agenda is set by the #EnaZeda (#MeToo) movement, which emerged after a 19-year-old female student posted images on Facebook allegedly showing a Tunisian politician masturbating in his car outside her high school. “Enough is enough. It’s time to break the silence on the widespread sexual harassment and abuse. Sexism has become thoroughly normalized in our society,” Bintnadia said.

Feminism in the 21st century has morphed into a multifaceted battle. Tunisian LGBTQ+ activists are engaged in a threefold struggle: against the patriarchy, the dominant ‘Western model’ and ‘constructed identities’. They are undeniably more visible than ever.


Further Reading

Family Law and Minorities
After its independence in 1956, Tunisia followed a progressive social agenda. The country sought developing its economy ...
The concept of human rights has become a well-known and widely accepted term to use. An overview of human rights in Tuni...

© Copyright Notice

Please contact us in case of omissions concerning copyright-protected work. The acquired copyright protected images used on/as featured image of this page are: FETHI BELAID ©AFP | FETHI BELAID ©AFP

COVID-19 UPDATE

Get the latest update on the Coronavirus outbreak in the Middle East and North Africa.

Regional Update

"Ignorance leads to fear, fear leads to hatred, and hatred leads to violence.
This is the equation."

IBN RUSHD/AVERROES (1126 – 1198)

We are a Dutch not for profit organisation (NGO), financed solely by individuals who share our belief in the importance of publishing and disseminating reliable, unbiased information on the Middle East & North Africa region. To represent the voice of the region’s people, we carefully echo the region’s heartbeat by offering fact-checked and therefore credible information.

Your support is greatly appreciated and helpful!