فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / قانون الأسرة و الأقليات / مجتمع المثليين في الأردن: غير مجرّم بموجب القانون؛ موصومٌ بالعار

مجتمع المثليين في الأردن: غير مجرّم بموجب القانون؛ موصومٌ بالعار

Specials- LGBT jordan
علم المثليين في الأردن. Photo Wikipedia

يعتبر الأردن واحداً من ثلاث دولٍ أخرى في منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا، إلى جانب البحرين والعراق، التي لا يعدّ فيها النشاط المثلي غير شرعي. هذا هو الحال منذ أن تخلت الدولة عن قانون العقوبات الصادر أيام الإنتداب البريطاني، واعتمدت قانون عقوباتٍ خاص بها في عام 1951. ومع ذلك، لا يزال الشذوذ الجنسي غير مقبول اجتماعياً.

إن حقيقة أن الشذوذ الجنسي غير مجرّم بموجب القانون لا يجعل من الأردن دولةً صديقة للمثليين. وفقًا لإيودالديكس، لا توجد أي حماية قانونية لصون أفراد المجتمع المثلي من التعرض للتمييز فيما يتعلق بالسكن أو العمل أو في مجالاتٍ أخرى، وبالتالي قد يتعرضون للمضايقات دون القدرة على مقاضاة المسيئن لهم. ومع ذلك، يمكنهم الانضمام إلى الجيش ولكن لا يسمح لهم بالزواج.

فقد قالت نائلة غوشال، الباحثة في حقوق المثليين/المثليات، مزدوجي/مزدوجات التوجه الجنسي، ومتغيري/متغيرات النوع الاجتماع في هيومن رايتس ووتش، لنا في فَنَك: “لا يخشى الناس القانون، بل يتعلق الأمر أكثر بالرفض الذي يمكن أن يأتي من الأسرة، والوصمة الاجتماعية.” وأضافت “يصف الأشخاص المثليين جنسياً مجتمعهم بأنه تقليدي جداً ويجدون أن الحصول على قبولٍ من أسرهم وأصدقائهم هو أكبر تحدٍ لهم.”

فقد قال موسى الشديدي، كاتب عربي يعرّف نفسه على أنه “حر الجنس،” وهو مصطلحٌ عام يشير للأقليات الجنسية من غير المغايرين، فضلاً عن كونه من مؤيدي النسوية المتداخلة، “الوضع في الأردن لا يختلف كثيراً عن باقي بلدان المنطقة على ما أعتقد، أو على الأقل حسب خبرتي والمعلومات التي أحصل عليها من الأشخاص الذين ألتقي بهم. يفقد الأشخاص الامتيازات عندما يتم تحديد أنهم مثليين لأنه مجتمع أبوي، ولكنه أيضاً أمر مرتبط بنوع الجنس والطبقة الاجتماعية في الغالب. ليس لدينا منزل آمن في المنطقة. يمكن للأغنياء أن يدبروا أمورهم بدون أسرهم، والبعض الآخر خائفون جداً من الاعتراف بمثليتهم. على الأقل، من ما أعرفه وما أسمعه، لم يقتل أحد لكونه شاذ في الأردن.”

في عام 2018، نشرت هيومن رايتس ووتش تقريراً بعنوان “لست وحدك،” الذي تضمن مجموعة من القصص من مجتمع المثليين في منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال أفريقيا. وبحسب نائلة “كان الغرض من هذه الشهادات هو الوصول إلى الأشخاص المثليين، الذين غالباً ما يخشون عدم وجود مجتمعٍ يربطهم، وأيضاً ليظهروا للآخرين أن هذا موجود، وأن هؤلاء الأشخاص شخصيات حساسة يمكن اعتبارهم بشراً ولديهم أشياء مثيرة للتعبير عنها.”

وتابعت القول “آمل أن يساعد هذا الأمر في الأردن. على الأقل هناك مساحة من الحرية للشواذ هناك، وذلك في المشهد الفني بشكل خاص لأن بإمكانهم نشر رسائلهم دون الحاجة لفرضها على الأشخاص، ولديهم مجلة تحمل عنوان My Kali. من الإيجابي وجود مساحة كهذه. بالتأكيد، يمكن استخدام قوانين الأفعال الفاضحة ضد مجتمع المثليين، إلا أن هذا ليس الحال في الأردن.”

ظهر خالد عبد الهادي، رئيس تحرير My.Kali والمدير الإبداعي، في فيديو “لست وحدك.” وهو يعرّف المجلة على أنها منشور لأحرار الجنس والنسوية، تأسست في عام 2007 لخلق مساحة للتعبير، إذ قال لنا في فَنَك “غالباً ما ينظر إلينا على أننا مجلة مثيرة للجدل، ولم نلقى قبولاً لدى الناشطين المثليين حتى عام 2015، عندما بدأنا نتحدث عن أشياء مهمة، مثل النوع الاجتماعي والنسوية، ونطور المحتوى الخاص بنا بدلاً من مجرد مظهره.”

وأضاف “أصبحنا مرجعاً ومحبوبين بسبب محتوى أقوى وأكثر دقة. تحاول العديد من[وسائل الإعلام الأردنية] تشويه صورتنا أو تعميم محتوىنا أكثر من اللازم، أو حتى استخدامه لصرف انتباه الناس عن الأعمال السياسية الهامة. لكننا تعلمنا كيفية الرد دون استهداف وسائل الإعلام من خلال التصريحات. نحن لا نغذي هذه النيران، لأنه إذا ما تم وصفنا بـ”الإباحية،” يمكن للأشخاص التحقق من ذلك ورؤية أنه غير صحيح. الآن، غالباً ما يرسل الأشخاص محتوى مجلتنا إلى أفراد العائلة والأصدقاء من أجل بدء أي حوار أو حتى التحقق من ردود فعلهم تجاه المثلية الجنسية.”

كما يعتقد عبد الهادي أن الوضع قد تطور بشكل إيجابي لمجتمع المثليين الأردني منذ عام 2007، لا سيما فيما يتعلق بالمفردات المستخدمة لوصفه، إذ قال “كانت وسائل الإعلام تصفنا بـ”عبدة الشيطان،” و”المنحرفون،” ولكنهم اليوم باتوا يستخدمون “الشواذ جنسياً” وهي إشارة جيدة.” وتابع القول “هناك أيضاً تمثيل أكثر في وسائل الإعلام، هم أقل خوفاً أو حرجاً للحديث عنه. وأيضاً، هناك موارد متعددة متاحة حول هذا الموضوع، وهو أمرٌ صحي على ما أعتقد، وليس مجلتنا فحسب.”

على سبيل المثال، لا تترد My.Kali في استكشاف تأثير الدين على تصور ما هو “طبيعي،” إلى جانب فضح أسطورة السلطة الأبوية، وصولاً إلى وضع صورة رجلٍ متحول على الغلاف.

يدل هذا على أن مناقشة قضية المثليين يتم في الفضاء العام في الأردن، على الرغم من كونه نقاشاً لا يزال أكثر قبولاً بين طبقات المجتمع العليا. ومع ذلك، ينبغي وضع تدابير حمايتهم من التمييز في إطارها المناسب لينعم مجتمع المثليين/المثليات، مزدوجي/مزدوجات التوجه الجنسي، ومتغيري/متغيرات النوع الاجتماع بالأمان الحقيقي.

image_pdfimage_print

دعمكم عونٌ لنا

فَنَك هي مؤسسة إعلامية إلكترونية مستقلة، لا تمولها أي دولة أو مجموعات مصالح. تلتزم فَنَك بنشر تحليلاتٍ مبنية على الوقائع ومحايدة، إلى جانب التقارير المواضيعية حول الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا.
شهد الموقع نمواً سريعاً في نطاق وعمق المعلومات التي يُقدمها، واليوم، بات يُشكل مصدراً غنياً وقيماً للمعلومات عن 21 بلداً، من المغرب إلى عُمان ومن إيران إلى اليمن، باللغتين العربية والإنجليزية. حالياً، وصل عدد القراء إلى 6 ملايين سنوياً، والعدد آخذٌ بالإزدياد.
لضمان حيادية المعلومات على موقع فَنَك (وقائع وأحداث) ، تُنشر المقالات دون ذكر أسماء الكتّاب، مما يُتيح أيضاً لمراسلينا مساحة أكبر من الحرية عند التطرق إلى القضايا الحساسة أو المثيرة للجدل فى بلادهم. وإلى جانب ذلك، نتحرى حقائق جميع المعلومات الواردة في مقالاتنا قبل النشر لضمان دقة المعلومات، وحداثتها وحيادها.

استمرارية تشغيل مثل هذا الموقع الإلكتروني مُكلفة للغاية. بتبرعٍ صغيرٍ منك، يمكنك المساهمة في الحفاظ على حرية واستقلالية تغطيتنا.

Fanack Home / Family Law and Minorities / In Jordan, the LGBTQ+ Community Is Not Criminalized But Still Stigmatized

In Jordan, the LGBTQ+ Community Is Not Criminalized But Still Stigmatized

Specials- LGBT jordan
Jordanian LGBT pride banner. Photo Wikipedia

Jordan is one of only three countries in the MENA region, alongside Bahrain and Iraq, where same-sex activity is not illegal. This has been the case since the country abandoned the British Mandate Criminal Code Ordinance and adopted its own Penal Code in 1951. However, homosexuality is still not accepted socially.

The fact that homosexuality is not illegal does not make Jordan a gay-friendly country. According to Equaldex, no legal protections exist to protect LGBTQ+ people from being discriminated against for housing, employment or in other arenas, so they can be harassed without being able to sue. They can join the army but not get married.

“People do not fear the law, it’s more about the rejection that can come from the family, and social stigma,” Neela Ghoshal, Human Rights Watch (HRW) senior researcher on LGBT rights, told Fanack. “LGBT people describe their society as being very traditional and find that obtaining acceptance from their family and friends is their biggest challenge.”

Musa al-Shadeedi, an Arab writer who defines himself as queer, an umbrella term for sexual and gender minorities who are not heterosexual or cisgender, and an intersectional feminist, said, “The situation in Jordan is not so different from the rest of the region I guess, or at least according to my experience and the information people I meet provide me with. People lose privileges when they are identified as gay because it’s a patriarchal society, but it’s also really connected to gender and mostly class. We have no safe house in the region. Rich people can manage without their family, the others are very scared to be outed. At least, from what I know and what I hear, no one has been killed for being gay in Jordan.”

In 2018, HRW published a report called No longer alone, a collection of stories from the MENA’s LGBT community. “The purpose of the testimonies was to reach out to LGBT people, who often fear they don’t have a community to relate to, and also show to others that this exists, that these people are sympathetic characters who can be seen as human and have interesting things to say,” Ghoshal told Fanack.

“I hope it helped in Jordan. At least there is a space for gay people there, in the art scene notably because they can spread messages without having to preach it to people, and they have the magazine My.Kali. It is positive to have a space like this. Of course, moral indecency laws could be used against the LGBT community, but it’s not the case in Jordan.”

Khalid Abdel-Hadi, My.Kali’s editor-in-chief and creative director, appeared in No longer alone. He defines the magazine as a queer and feminist publication, established in 2007 to create a space for expression. “We are often perceived as a controversial publication, which wasn’t liked by gay activists until 2015, when we started to talk about important things, like gender and feminism, and develop our content instead of just the look of it,” Abdel-Hadi told Fanack.

“We became referenced and liked because of stronger and more nuanced content. A lot [of Jordanian media] try to demonize us or generalize our content too much, or even use it to divert people’s attention from important political actions. But we learned how to answer without targeting media through statements. We don’t feed the fire, because if we are described as ‘pornographic’, people can check and see it’s not true. Now, our content is often used for people to send to family members and friends in order to start the conversation or check what their reaction would be to homosexuality.”

He thinks the situation has evolved positively for Jordan’s LGBT community since 2007, notably with regards to the vocabulary used to describe it. “The media were saying ‘devil worshipers’, then ‘perverts’ and now they use more ‘homosexuals’, which is a good sign,” he said. “There is also more representation in the media, they are less scared or embarrassed to talk about it. Also, there are multiple resources available on the matter, which is healthy I think, and not just our magazine.”

For example, My.Kali does not shy away from exploring the impact of religion on the perception of what is ‘normal’, from debunking the patriarchal myth of honour to putting a trans man on the cover.

All of this signifies that the LGBT discussion is in the public sphere in Jordan, although it may be a discussion that is still more accepted in the higher social classes. However, protection from discrimination needs to be put in place in order for the LGBTQ+ community to feel truly safe.

We would like to ask you something …

Fanack is an independent media organisation, not funded by any state or any interest group, that distributes in the Middle East and the wider world unbiased analysis and background information, based on facts, about the Middle East and North Africa.

The website grew rapidly in breadth and depth and today forms a rich and valuable source of information on 21 countries, from Morocco to Oman and from Iran to Yemen, both in Arabic and English. We currently reach six million readers annually and growing fast.

In order to guarantee the impartiality of information on the Chronicle, articles are published without by-lines. This also allows correspondents to write more freely about sensitive or controversial issues in their country. All articles are fact-checked before publication to ensure that content is accurate, current and unbiased.

To run such a website is very expensive. With a small donation, you can make a huge impact. And it only takes a minute. Thank you.