فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / قانون الأسرة و الأقليات / فكرةٌ غريبة: حقوق مجتمع الميم في تركيا

فكرةٌ غريبة: حقوق مجتمع الميم في تركيا

Specials- LGBT turkey
أحدى نشطاء حقوق مجتمع الميم تحمل علم قوس قزح بينما يشارك الناس بمسيرة في ١، يونيو ٢٠١٨، في اسطنبول بعد أن منعت السلطات التركية مسيرة الفخر السنوية للمرة الرابعة على التوالي. Photo AFP ©AFP ⁃ BULENT KILIC

مع قدمٍ واحدةٍ في أوروبا واعتبارها من قبل العديدين في الشرق الأوسط أكثر البلدان تحرراً وتقدماً في المنطقة، إلا أن تركيا تمتلك نزعةً غير ليبرالية متجذرةٍ بعمق. بيد أن هذه النزعة لا تقتصر على السياسة غير الليبرالية المتزايدة فحسب، بل تتجلى في المعتقدات الإجتماعية المتعصبة في النقاش الدائر حول مجتمع الميم (المثليين ومزدوج الجنس والمتحول والمتحيرين) وأحرار الجنس (الكوير).

في القرن الـ21، لا يزال قبول مجتمع الميم وحتى الأفراد غير المتغايرين يُمثل مشكلةً صعبة. وهذا على الرغم من أن اسطنبول تستضيف لربما ما يعدّ أكبر مسيرة فخرٍ للمثليين في الشرق الأوسط على مدى العديد من السنوات، فضلاً عن أن البلاط الإمبراطوري السابق في البلاد لطالما ارتبط بالميول الجنسية الغريبة.

في التاريخ

كانت بعض الفنون العثمانية تستعرض اشتهاء الجنس المماثل جهاراً، حيث كان الأشخاص المعنيون بمثل هذه الفنون ينحون جانباً أي أسئلةٍ تُطرح حول قيام مجتمعٍ مسلم بمثل هذه الممارسات. في الواقع، هناك سعي أكبر اليوم نحو التوثيق التاريخي لمثل هذه الممارسات الجنسية المغايرة في جميع أنحاء العالم. وبدوره، أدى القبول التاريخي للمثلية الجنسية داخل المجتمع العثماني إلى تغذية الشهوة الجنسية الأوروبية للغريزة الجنسية العثمانية، مما أدى كما هو متوقع إلى استقراء الإنحراف الواضح للمجتمع التركي. فقد كانت جماهير العصر الفيكتوري مصدومة باللاأخلاقية العلنية، بالرغم من حبهم لقراءة القصص المبالغ بها عن الحرملك العثماني وممارسة الجنس غير الشرعي آنذاك، (مثل راوية جون بنجامين بروكس “التركي الشهواني”).

في الواقع، قامت تركيا بنزع الصفة الجرمية عن الأفعال الجنسية المثلية في عام 1858، خلال عصر الإمبراطورية العثمانية، أي قبل كثير من البلدان التي عادةً ما تعتبر ليبراليةً اليوم. ومع ذلك، في حين أن الإمبراطورية العثمانية لم تكن بأي حالٍ من الأحوال جنةً متحررة، بعد قرنٍ فقط من تأسيس الجمهورية التركية، بات رهاب المثلية منتشرٌ على نطاق واسع.

في المجتمع

على الرغم من أن المثلية الجنسية قانونية في تركيا منذ عام 1923، إلا أن رهاب المثلية شائع، إذ ينبع من مزيجٍ من القيم الثقافية المحافظة، وكما يُقال، النزعة الرجولية العدوانية والاتجاهات المحافظة في الإسلام.

على الرغم من أن رهاب المثلية هذا يُستشعر به دون أدنى شكٍ في العديد من مجالات الحياة اليومية، إلا أنه يتصدر عناوين الصحف بشكلٍ متكرر عندما يتحول إلى أحد أشكال العنف. ففي بلد حيث تتم فيها الإشادة بالرجولة من قبل السياسيين والمواطنين على حد سواء، فمن غير المستغرب إلى حدٍ ما أن يصبح أولئك الذين يقوضون مفهوم الرجولة من مغايري الجنس أهدافاً. فقد كشف تقريرٌ للأمم المتحدة لعام 2016 كتبه نشطاء أتراك من مجتمع الميم عن 41 جريمة قتل لأشخاص من المثليات والمثليين ومزدوجي الميل الجنسي ومغايري الهوية الجنسية كنتيجةٍ لجرائم الكراهية بين عامي 2010 ومنتصف 2014.

وفي حين أن الدستور التركي لا يحظر المثلية الجنسية – وتم حذف بندٍ صريح عن رهاب المثلية بعد معركة قانونية – غالباً ما يتم استخدام القوانين المتعلقة بالأخلاق العامة وارتكاب الفاحشة لمراقبة مجتمع المثليين.

والمثير للدهشة أن الرئيس رجب طيب أردوغان دافع ذات مرةٍ عن حقوق مجتمع الميم. فقبل انتخابه رئيساً للوزراء في عام 2003، صرّح أنه “ينبغي أيضاً منح المثليين جنسياً الحماية القانونية لحقوقهم وحرياتهم.”

ومع ذلك، ومنذ ذلك الحين غيّر حزب العدالة والتنمية اتجاه موقفه من حماية حقوق الأقليات الجنسية. ففي عام 2013، صرح أردوغان أن المثلية الجنسية هو تفضيل جنسي يتعارض مع ثقافة الإسلام. فداخل المجتمع المسلم السُني، والمثل الثقافية المحافظة لحزب العدالة والتنمية، والتي تبدو الحكومة حريصة على نشرها وتطبيقها، يعتبر موقف المجتمع التركي العنيف تجاه مجتمع الميم أمراً أكثر منطقية.

لم يكن هناك مصطلح مرادفٌ للواط باللغة العربية والفارسية حتى العصر الحديث، ولا يوجد أي تحريمٍ صريحٍ للواط في القرآن. وبالرغم من ذلك، وكحال الأديان الأخرى، ينظر الإسلام إلى السلوك المثلي بطريقةٍ غير متسامحة. فلطالما كان الزعماء الدينيون في تركيا معارضين لأي تحركاتٍ لتعزيز حقوق الأقليات الجنسية، وحتى أن البعض حذروا من بعض السلوكيات (مثل حلق اللحية) باعتبارها تؤدي على الأرجح إلى المثلية الجنسية. كما أظهر سكان تركيا المحافظون اجتماعياً، سيما خارج المدن الكبرى، رغبةً أقل في تقبّل سلوك مجتمعات الميم. ولا يعدّ هذا أمراً مفاجئاً في ظل استمرار السنن المحافظة حول جرائم الشرف والضوابط الصارمة على حريات المرأة في معظم أنحاء البلاد.

في المؤسسات

علاوةً على ذلك، في حين أن المثلية الجنسية غير مجرمة بموجب القانون، لا يزال التمييز المؤسسي ضد هذه الفئة قائماً.

لا تزال الخدمة العسكرية تشكل علامةً فارقة في حياة الرجال الأتراك وهي إلزامية لجميع الذكور الأصحاء. ومع ذلك، يتم إعفاء الرجال المثليين إذا ما تمكنوا (وعلى استعدادِ) من تقديم “دليلٍ” على ميولهم الجنسية. وغالباً ما يُقدم هذا الدليل على شكل مقاطع فيديو أو صورٍ فوتوغرافية لهم أثناء مشاركتهم في أفعالٍ جنسية مثليّة. من جهتها، تحتفظ الدولة بهذه المواد، وبالتالي لا يعلم الرجال الذين قدموا الدليل ما إذا كان متاحاً للسلطات في وقتٍ لاحق، وهذا أمرٌ مرعب لأي شخص.

كما يحق لأصحاب العمل المطالبة برؤية البطاقة الخضراء التي يتم إصدارها للمجندين العسكريين المسرحين من الخدمة، بينما يُمنح المثليون بطاقات إعفاءٍ وردية اللون، مما يُسهل تعرضهم للمزيد من التمييز في وقتٍ لاحق من حياتهم. وعلاوةً على ذلك، أجبرت المؤسسات العامة، بما في ذلك الشرطة، موظفيها المثليين على الإستقالة (على الرغم من أن هذا يحدث أيضاً في القطاع الخاص). أولئك الذين يقعون ضحايا لمثل هذا الشكل من رهاب المثلية يعترفون بخوفهم من الاتهامات الاجتماعية والمهنية من زملائهم.

في الشارع

كان نشطاء حقوق مجتمع الميم هدفاً واضحاً لقمع حقوق المثليين الذي ترعاه الدولة.

فمنذ عام 2014، لم تسمح السلطات، أو فضت الشرطة، جميع مسيرات الفخر. وفي عام 2018، وللعام الرابع على التوالي في تاريخها البالغ 18 عاماً، منعت الشرطة وفضت مسيرة الفخر في إسطنبول. تمثل السبب الرسمي بعدم تقديم إخطارٍ رسمي والتهديد بمظاهراتٍ مضادة، على الرغم من أنه لم يبذل سوى القليل من الجهد لكبح جماح الجماعات اليمينية المتطرفة التي تستهدف مسيرات الفخر.

استخدمت قوات الأمن الغاز المسيل للدموع وخراطيم المياه وكرات رذاذ الفلفل لوقف المشاركين بالمسيرة والمحتفلين بها بعنف. أصبح هذا الاستخدام للقوة أمراً معتاداً عندما تشتبك السلطات مع المتظاهرين في شوارع تركيا، وكان والي إسطنبول قد رفض في السابق السماح بإجراء تحقيقٍ جنائي في سلوك الشرطة خلال هذه الحوادث العنيفة.

وعلى الرغم من كونه أقل عنفاً، إلا أنه في عام 2017 قام والي أنقرة بحظر دور السينما والأحداث الثقافية لمجتمع الميم، مما يفرض رقابةً أكثر تشدداً على هوية وثقافة المغاييرين جنسياً.

وعلى الرغم من ذلك، تعدّ تركيا واحدةً من الدول القليلة في الشرق الأوسط التي نظمت أو سمحت بمسيرة فخرٍ للمثليين، والأحداث الماضية جعلت من تركيا واحدةً من أكثر الدول الصديقة للمثليين في منطقةٍ تعاني من رهاب المثلية إلى حدٍ كبير. فقد جذبت هذه الفعاليات أشخاصاً من جميع أنحاء المنطقة ووسط آسيا. وعلى الرغم من القمع الواضح لحقوق المثليين في تركيا في السنوات الأخيرة، بالنسبة للكثيرين في الشرق الأوسط، لا تزال البلاد ملاذاً يمكنهم فيه التمتع بالحريات التي لا يمكن حتى تصوّرها في أوطانهم.

لوضع هذه الحريات في سياقٍ أوسع نطاقاً، فإنه وبالرغم من أن الجماعات المناصرة لمجتمع المثليين في أجزاء أخرى من العالم تكافح من أجلٍ حقوق متساوية فيما يتعلق بالزواج وتربية الأطفال، إلا أنه في تركيا، لا يزال هذا المجتمع يصارع من أجل الحقوق الأساسية.

© Copyright Notice

click on link to view the associated photo/image
©AFP ⁃ BULENT KILIC

دعمكم عونٌ لنا

فَنَك هي مؤسسة إعلامية إلكترونية مستقلة، لا تمولها أي دولة أو مجموعات مصالح. تلتزم فَنَك بنشر تحليلاتٍ مبنية على الوقائع ومحايدة، إلى جانب التقارير المواضيعية حول الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا.
شهد الموقع نمواً سريعاً في نطاق وعمق المعلومات التي يُقدمها، واليوم، بات يُشكل مصدراً غنياً وقيماً للمعلومات عن 21 بلداً، من المغرب إلى عُمان ومن إيران إلى اليمن، باللغتين العربية والإنجليزية. حالياً، وصل عدد القراء إلى 6 ملايين سنوياً، والعدد آخذٌ بالإزدياد.
لضمان حيادية المعلومات على موقع فَنَك (وقائع وأحداث) ، تُنشر المقالات دون ذكر أسماء الكتّاب، مما يُتيح أيضاً لمراسلينا مساحة أكبر من الحرية عند التطرق إلى القضايا الحساسة أو المثيرة للجدل فى بلادهم. وإلى جانب ذلك، نتحرى حقائق جميع المعلومات الواردة في مقالاتنا قبل النشر لضمان دقة المعلومات، وحداثتها وحيادها.

استمرارية تشغيل مثل هذا الموقع الإلكتروني مُكلفة للغاية. بتبرعٍ صغيرٍ منك، يمكنك المساهمة في الحفاظ على حرية واستقلالية تغطيتنا.

Fanack Home / Family Law and Minorities / A Queer Notion: LGBTQ Rights in Turkey

A Queer Notion: LGBTQ Rights in Turkey

Specials- LGBT turkey
LGBTQ rights activist carries a flag in rainbow colors as people take part in a march on July 1, 2018, in Istanbul, after Turkish authorities banned the annual Gay Pride Parade for the fourth year in a row. Photo AFP

With one foot in Europe and perceived by many in the Middle East as being the most liberal and forward-thinking country in the region, Turkey has a deeply illiberal streak. However, this streak is not just the increasingly illiberal politics but the socially illiberal beliefs that consume debate around homosexuality and lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender and queer (LGBTQ) rights.

Well into the 21st century, acceptance of the LGBTQ community and even non-heteronormative individuals remains a difficult issue. This is despite Istanbul hosting perhaps the Middle East’s largest gay pride parade for many years, and the country’s former imperial courts long having been associated with queer sexualities.

In history

Some Ottoman art was overtly homoerotic, with the exposed and erect members of the subjects putting to bed any question of this Muslim society doing away with such practices. Indeed, historical documentation of non-heteronormative sexual practices is much sought after today around the world. The historical acceptance of homosexuality within Ottoman society in turn fuelled a European fetishism of Ottoman eroticism, inevitably Orientalizing the apparent perversity of Turkish society. Victorian audiences were publicly scandalized by, but loved to read, exaggerated tales of Ottoman harems and sexual promiscuity (like John Benjamin Brookes’ The Lustful Turk).

In fact, Turkey decriminalized homosexual acts in 1858, during the Ottoman Empire, much earlier than many countries typically deemed liberal today. Even so, while the Ottoman Empire was by no means a liberal paradise, just a century after the Turkish Republic’s founding, homophobia is widespread.

In society

Even though homosexuality has been legal in Turkey since 1923, homophobia is common, stemming from a mix of conservative cultural values, an arguably toxic masculinity and conservative trends in Islam.

While this homophobia is no doubt felt in many spheres of daily life, it hits the headlines most frequently when it turns violent. In a country where masculinity is lauded by both politicians and citizens, it is little surprise that those undermining the heterosexual cismale ideal have become targets. A 2016 report for the United Nations written by Turkish LGBTQ activists highlighted 41 murders of lesbian, gay, bisexual or transgender people as a result of hate crimes between 2010 and mid-2014.

While the Turkish constitution does not ban homosexuality – and an explicitly homophobic clause was removed after a legal battle – statutes on public morality and obscenity are often used to police the gay community.

Surprisingly, President Recep Tayyip Erdogan once advocated LGBTQ rights. Before his election as prime minister in 2003, he declared that “homosexuals must also be given legal protection for their rights and freedoms”.

However, since then his Justice and Development Party (AKP), has reversed its stance on protecting rights for sexual minorities. In 2013, Erdogan stated that homosexuality was a sexual preference that was incompatible with Islam’s culture. Within the Sunni Muslim community, the AKP’s conservative cultural ideals, which the government appears keen to propagate and enforce, Turkish society’s violent stance towards the LGBTQ society makes even more sense.

There was no word for sodomy in Arabic or Persian until the modern era, and there is no explicit prohibition of sodomy in the Koran. Even so, like most religions, Islam takes an unkind view of homosexual behavior. Turkey’s religious leaders have been consistent opponents of any moves to strengthen sexual minority rights, and some have even warned against some behaviours (like shaving a beard) as potentially leading to homosexuality. Turkey’s socially conservative populations, especially outside major metropolitan areas, have shown little willingness to accept LGBTQ communities or behaviour. This is hardly surprising given the persistence of conservative norms around hon-our killings and strict controls on women’s freedoms in much of the country.

In institutions

Furthermore, while homosexuality may not illegal, institutional discrimination still exists.

Military service is still a milestone in the life of Turkish men and obligatory for all healthy males. However, gay men are exempt if they can (and are willing) to provide ‘evidence’ of their sexuality. This often takes the form of videos or photographs of them engaging in homosexual acts. These materials are not returned by the state, with the men who submitted them unable to know if authorities will later have access to them – a terrifying prospect for anyone.

Employers have the right to demand to see the green card issued to discharged military conscripts, whereas gay men are issued with pink exemption cards, facilitating further discrimination later in life. Furthermore, public institutions, including the police force, have forced out gay employees (although this also occurs in the private sector). Those who are victims of such homophobia profess to fearing social and professional recrimination from their colleagues.

In the street

LGBTQ rights activists have been an obvious target for state-sponsored repression of gay rights.

Since 2014, authorities have either not allowed, or police have broken up, all pride marches. In 2018, for the fourth consecutive year in its 18-year history, police banned and broke up Istanbul’s pride march. The official reason given was a lack of formal notification and the threat of counter-demonstrations, although little seems to have been done to curb the far-right groups targeting pride marches.

Security forces used tear gas, water cannons and pepper-ball bullets to violently stop marchers and party-goers. Such use of force has become typical when authorities clash with demonstrators on Turkey’s streets, and Istanbul’s governor has previously denied permission for a criminal investiga-tion into the conduct of the police during these violent incidents.

Although less violent, in 2017, the governor of Ankara banned LGBTQ cinema and cultural events, further censoring non-heterosexual identity and culture.

Even so, Turkey is one of the few countries in the Middle East to have ever organized or permitted a gay pride march, and past events marked Turkey as one of the most gay-friendly countries in a largely homophobic region. These events attracted people from across the region and Central Asia. Despite the apparent clampdown on gay rights in Turkey in recent years, for many in the Middle East, the country still remains a haven in which they can enjoy freedoms unthinkable in their home-lands.

To put these freedoms in a wider context, however, although LGBTQ groups in other parts of the world are fighting for equal rights to marry and have children, in Turkey, this community is still fighting for basic rights.

image_pdfimage_print

We would like to ask you something …

Fanack is an independent media organisation, not funded by any state or any interest group, that distributes in the Middle East and the wider world unbiased analysis and background information, based on facts, about the Middle East and North Africa.

The website grew rapidly in breadth and depth and today forms a rich and valuable source of information on 21 countries, from Morocco to Oman and from Iran to Yemen, both in Arabic and English. We currently reach six million readers annually and growing fast.

In order to guarantee the impartiality of information on the Chronicle, articles are published without by-lines. This also allows correspondents to write more freely about sensitive or controversial issues in their country. All articles are fact-checked before publication to ensure that content is accurate, current and unbiased.

To run such a website is very expensive. With a small donation, you can make a huge impact. And it only takes a minute. Thank you.