فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / قانون الأسرة و الأقليات / في الأردن، حبس النساء يعزز سلطة وصاية الذكور

في الأردن، حبس النساء يعزز سلطة وصاية الذكور

Amnesty International
Photo: Amnesty International / Flickr ©Flickr ⁃ Amnesty International

يوثق تقرير أصدرته منظمة العفو الدولية لحقوق الإنسان في أكتوبر 2019 واقع وصاية الذكور في الأردن التي منحت الرجال السلطة على النساء في مختلف جوانب الحياة، بما في ذلك النشاط الجنسي والإنجاب. وقد أدى ذلك إلى احتجاز النساء وحتى فصلهن عن أطفالهن. وقد بينت الإصلاحات الأولية إرادةً سياسية لتحسين حماية حقوق المرأة، التي يقول النشطاء إنه يجب ممارستها في الحال.

يشتمل التقرير الذي حمل عنوان “سجن النساء وانتزاع الأطفال: الرقابة الشرطية على الجنس والزواج والحمل في الأردن،” 121 مقابلة مع الضحايا وجماعات المجتمع المدني والمسؤولين، بالإضافة إلى لمحة عامة عن القانون الأردني والسياسات وأحكام المحاكم، التي تقدم لمحة سريعة عن الانتهاكات التي واجهتها النساء.

فالسجن بتهمة الزنا، ممارسة الجنس خارج إطار الزواج، يُفرض على كلٍ من النساء والرجال. وفي بعض الحالات، ترافق إدارة حماية الأسرة في مديرية الأمن العام، أي الشرطة، المرأة إلى المستشفى لإجراء “فحص العذرية” بناءً على طلب ولي الأمر أو أحد الأقارب.

وفي حالاتٍ أخرى تم احتجاز نساء غير متزوجات وحوامل إلى حين وضع حملهنّ لمنعهنّ من إجراء عملية إجهاض، الذي يعتبر جريمة جنائية في الأردن.

وغالباً ما يتم أخذ أطفال النساء غير المتزوجات، الذين يُشار إليهم عادةً بـ”الأطفال غير الشرعيين،” ليتم وضعهم في دور رعاية تابعة للدولة دون إذن الأم.

كما أن الخوف من الاعتقال وانتزاع أطفالهن دفع ببعض النساء إلى الإنجاب سراً في المنزل. ومع ذلك، لا تزال التحديات الماثلة أمام هؤلاء الأمهات كبيرة، بما في ذلك عدم قدرتهن على تسجيل ولادة أطفالهن أو مواجهة النبذ الاجتماعي.

وتم أيضاً سجن النساء بتهمة “الغياب،” أي تغيب المرأة عن المنزل دون إذن ولي الأمر. بعض هؤلاء الأوصياء الذكور اشتكوا إلى الشرطة، مشتبهين في أن المرأة هربت مع رجل، على الرغم من أن هذا لم يكن صحيحاً في بعض الحالات.

من حيث الأرقام، وجدت منظمة العفو الدولية أدلةً على مئات الحالات. فالنظام قادر على الانتصار لأن الصلاحيات الممنوحة للرجال منصوص عليها في القانون وتدعمها تدابير قسرية من قبل السلطات.

فقد وصفت لورين آرونز، الباحثة الرئيسية في التقرير، لفَنَك الإطار الذي يمكّن سلطة الأوصياء الذكور على النساء. ففي قانون الأحوال الشخصية، على سبيل المثال، تنص إحدى المواد على ضرورة موافقة ولي الأمر على الزواج، مما يسمح للوصي بمنع اختيار المرأة لشريكها مع تحديد من هو الوصي من الذكور: الأب أو الأخ أو العم أو غيره من الأقارب الذكور.

كما أن سلطة الوصي الذكر منصوصٌ عليها في قانون العقوبات، حيث يمكن رفع قضية بتهمة الزنا إذا اشتكى الزوج أو إذا تقدم ولي الأمر بشكوى. وقالت آرونز: “يتمتع الأوصياء الذكور بهذه القدرة على إقامة دعاوى قضائية ضد النساء، لكن لا يوجد ما يعادلها ضد الرجال.”

علاوةً على ذلك، في الدستور الطبي، تحتاج المرأة إلى موافقة ولي أمرها على الإجهاض، إذا كانت صحتها معرضة للخطر من الحمل. توجد أمثلة قانونية أخرى، ولكن في بعض الحالات، تُمارس السلطة من خلال الممارسة وليس السياسة، مما يزيد من القوة الممنوحة للأوصياء الذكور. ويشمل ذلك المحافظين (الحكام الإداريين) الذين يضعون النساء رهن الاحتجاز الإداري لغيابهم، الذي يعدّ إساءة استخدامٍ لقانون منع الجريمة المثير للجدل لعام 1954 الذي يسمح للسلطات باحتجاز الأفراد دون تهمة أو محاكمة ولمدة طويلة من الزمن.

شملت بعض الحالات النساء اللواتي يرغبن في الزواج ولكن لا يمكنهن إيجاد شيخ لإتمام الزواج لأن المرأة ليس لديها وصي ذكر. يستشهد تقرير منظمة العفو الدولية بحالة “علا،” التي دون أوصياء ذكور، حملت بطفلٍ خارج إطار الزواج وعند الولادة، اتصل موظفو المستشفى بالشرطة، حيث اقتيدت إلى سجن الجويدة النسائي في العاصمة عمان، ولم توجه لها أي تهمة ولا تعرف متى سيتم إطلاق سراحها.

إمرأة أخرى تم إلقاء القبض عليها بسبب تغيبها. بعد اصطحابها إلى مركز الشرطة، وبحسب قولها للباحثين “قام ضابطا الشرطة بضربي وطلب أحدهما من الآخر إحضار خرطوم ماء قائلاً ‘خلينا نربيها.‘ اقتادوني إلى مكتب نائب المحافظ [الذي تم التحفظ على موقعه]، الذي قال أني سأذهب إلى سجن جويدة إلى أن يأتي أبي ويكفلني…”

وغالباً ما يكون شرط إطلاق سراح النساء عودتهن إلى المنزل ويحدث هذا فحسب في حال قام أحد أفراد الأسرة من الذكور بتكفيلهنّ.

كما ذكرت رسالة إلى منظمة العفو الدولية من مكتب رئيس الوزراء، بتاريخ 14 أكتوبر 2019، أن هناك 149 امرأة رهن الاعتقال الإداري حالياً، 85 منهن تم احتجازهن لأكثر من عام بسبب الزنا (إلى جانب عدد مماثل من الرجال). كما ذكر التقرير، “لا توجد حالة تم فيها القبض على النساء لتغيبهن عن المنزل دون إذن ولي الأمر، ما لم يقترن ذلك بشكوى تتعلق بارتكاب جريمة أو جنحة.”

غير أن وثائق منظمة العفو الدولية وعمل المحامين الأردنيين أشارت إلى أن الاحتجاز بتهمة الغياب، الذي غالباً ما يكون بناءً على طلب ولي الأمر.

كما أن هناك شكاوى أخرى وردت تحمل في طياتها الكثير من التناقض إذ يتم احتجاز النساء في بعض الأحيان لسلامتهن لأنه يُعتقد أنه في حال امتلك أحد أفراد الأسرة دافعاً كافياً للإبلاغ عن تغيب إحدى إقاربه من الفتيات، يُعتقد أيضاً أنه يمكن أن يلحق الضرر بهنّ. فقد سبق وتم توثيق حالات احتجاز وقائي لنساء في سجن الجويدة في حال كنّ عرضة لخطر جرائم الشرف.

وقالت آرونز: “هذا التبرير لم يكن مقبولاً أبداً،” لأنه وفقاً للقانون الدولي، فإن الاحتجاز الوقائي يمثل انتهاكاً لحقوق الشخص إلا في حالة وجود معايير معينة، على سبيل المثال عندما يوافق الفرد على ذلك.” وأضافت أنه بات من الصعب أكثر فهم ذلك منذ افتتاح دار آمنة لإيواء النساء، حيث يمكن وضع النساء بدلاً من البقاء في السجن رهن الاعتقال الإداري.

وعلى الرغم من الصورة الكئيبة عموماً، أشارت آرون إلى أن دار آمنة هي واحدة من عدد من الخطوات الإيجابية التي تم اتخاذها في أعقاب الدعوة المستمرة من قبل منظمات المجتمع المدني، بما في ذلك منظمة “مجموعة القانون من أجل حقوق الإنسان” (ميزان)، التي افتتحت المأوى مع وزارة التنمية الاجتماعية في يوليو 2018.

وعلاوةً على ذلك، يعتبر إلغاء المادة 308 من قانون العقوبات الذي يُتيح للمغتصب التهرب من العقوبة بالزواج من الضحية إصلاحٌ آخر مرحب به.

تعدّ دار آمنة خطوةً متقدمة بعيداً عن السجن، إذ تقدم للنزيلات هناك الرعاية الصحية والسكن والتدريب المهني وغيرها من الخدمات بالإضافة إلى دعم الحلول طويلة الأمد ليتمكنّ من مغادرة المنشأة. كما يُسمح للنساء برعاية أطفالهنّ معهنّ حتى سن السادسة، كما قامت وزارة التنمية الاجتماعية، وفقاً لتقرير منظمة العفو الدولية، بجمع اثنتين من الأمهات في الملجأ مع أطفالهن.

وعلى الرغم من أن تعليمات الملجأ واضحة، إلا أنه وفقاً لآرون لا تحترم هذه التعليمات دوماً. فعلى سبيل المثال، لا يسمح دوماً للنساء بمغادرة الملجأ بالرغم من أن بروتوكول الملجأ ينص على ذلك. كما أنه من غير الواضح ما إذ كانت النساء غير المتزوجات سيتمكن من الاحتفاظ بأطفالهن بمجرد المغادرة.

ومع ذلك، فإن الدلائل على وجود إرادة سياسية أكبر لحماية حقوق المرأة آخذة في الظهور، ففي منتصف سبتمبر 2019، تم إيواء 75 امرأة في دار آمنة، 44 منهن غادرن.

في الوقت الحالي، لا تزال العديد من القوانين تتطلب إصلاحاً، بما في ذلك قانون الأحوال الشخصية، الذي تعتبره الأمم المتحدة تشريعاً شديد التمييز.

وقالت هبة مرايف، مديرة المكتب الإقليمي للشرق الأوسط وشمال أفريقيا في منظمة العفو الدولية: “يجب على الحكومة الأردنية أن تعالج، على وجه السرعة، هذه الانتهاكات المشينة التي تناضل المنظمات النسائية الوطنية ضدها منذ عقود، بدءاً من الاستخدام المفرط للاحتجاز من قبل الحكام الإداريين (المحافظين) للمحافظات، وصولاً إلى نظام الوصاية التمييزي للذكور الذي يسمح بالقبض على النساء البالغات بسبب مغادرتهن المنزل من دون إذن.”

© Copyright Notice

click on link to view the associated photo/image
©Flickr ⁃ Amnesty International

دعمكم عونٌ لنا

فَنَك هي مؤسسة إعلامية إلكترونية مستقلة، لا تمولها أي دولة أو مجموعات مصالح. تلتزم فَنَك بنشر تحليلاتٍ مبنية على الوقائع ومحايدة، إلى جانب التقارير المواضيعية حول الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا.
شهد الموقع نمواً سريعاً في نطاق وعمق المعلومات التي يُقدمها، واليوم، بات يُشكل مصدراً غنياً وقيماً للمعلومات عن 21 بلداً، من المغرب إلى عُمان ومن إيران إلى اليمن، باللغتين العربية والإنجليزية. حالياً، وصل عدد القراء إلى 6 ملايين سنوياً، والعدد آخذٌ بالإزدياد.
لضمان حيادية المعلومات على موقع فَنَك (وقائع وأحداث) ، تُنشر المقالات دون ذكر أسماء الكتّاب، مما يُتيح أيضاً لمراسلينا مساحة أكبر من الحرية عند التطرق إلى القضايا الحساسة أو المثيرة للجدل فى بلادهم. وإلى جانب ذلك، نتحرى حقائق جميع المعلومات الواردة في مقالاتنا قبل النشر لضمان دقة المعلومات، وحداثتها وحيادها.

استمرارية تشغيل مثل هذا الموقع الإلكتروني مُكلفة للغاية. بتبرعٍ صغيرٍ منك، يمكنك المساهمة في الحفاظ على حرية واستقلالية تغطيتنا.

Fanack Home / Family Law and Minorities / In Jordan, Policing of Women Places Power with Male Guardians

In Jordan, Policing of Women Places Power with Male Guardians

Amnesty International
Photo: Amnesty International / Flickr ©Flickr ⁃ Amnesty International

A report released in October 2019 by human rights group Amnesty International documents the reality of male guardianship in Jordan that has given men power over women in various facets of life, including sexual activity and reproduction. This has resulted in women being detained and even separated from their children. Initial reforms have indicated political will for better protection of women’s rights, and campaigners say it must be exercised now.

The report, titled Imprisoned Women, Stolen Children: Policing Sex, Marriage and Pregnancy in Jordan, includes 121 interviews with victims, civil society groups and officials as well as an overview of Jordanian law, policies and court rulings, providing a snapshot of the violations encountered by women.

Imprisonment for zina – sex outside of marriage – is a charge levied against both women and men. In some cases, the Family Protection Department of the Public Security Directorate, i.e. the police, accompanied women to hospital for a ‘virginity test’ to be administered, at the request of a male guardian or relative.

In other cases, unmarried women found to be pregnant were detained for the remainder of their pregnancy, in order to stop them accessing an abortion, which is prohibited in Jordan.

Often referred to as ‘illegal babies’, the children of unmarried women are often taken into state care without seeking the mother’s permission.

The risk of both being detained and separated from their children has forced some women to have clandestine home births. Yet the challenges ahead for these mothers are still sizeable, including not being able to register the birth or facing social ostracization.

Women have also been imprisoned for ‘absence’, as leaving home without the permission of a male guardian is not allowed. Some of these male guardians complained to the police, suspecting the woman had run off with a man, even though this was untrue in some instances.

In terms of numbers, Amnesty International found evidence of hundreds of cases. The system is able to prevail as the powers afforded to men are both enshrined in law and assisted by coercive measures by the authorities.

Lauren Aarons, the lead researcher on the report, described to Fanack the framework that enables male guardians’ power over women. Within the Personal Status Law, for example, one article sets out that male guardian consent is needed for marriage, allowing the guardian to block a woman’s choice of partner while also setting out who a male guardian is: a father, brother, uncle or other close male relative.

Male guardian power is also established in the penal code, where zina can be prosecuted if a spouse complains or if a male guardian complains. “Male guardians have this power to initiate prosecutions of women but there’s no sort of equivalent for men,” said Aarons.

Furthermore, in the medical constitution, a woman needs the consent of a male guardian to have an abortion, if her health is at risk from the pregnancy. Other legal examples exist, but in some instances, power is exerted through practice rather than policy, further increasing the power given to male guardians. This includes provincial governors putting women in administrative detention for absence, a misuse of the controversial Crime Prevention Law of 1954 that allows authorities to detain individuals without charge or trial and for long periods of time.

Some cases involve women who wish to marry but cannot get a sheikh to conduct the marriage because the woman does not have a male guardian. The Amnesty International report cites the case of ‘Ola’. Without parental guardians, she had a child out of wedlock and on giving birth, hospital staff called the police. Taken to Juweidah women’s prison in the capital Amman, she was not charged with a crime and did not know when she would be released.

Another woman was arrested for absence. After being taken to a police station, she told researchers, “The two police officers there beat me. One told another to get a hose to beat me with. He said, ‘Let’s educate her.’ I was taken to the governor’s deputy in [location withheld]. He said I would go to Juweidah prison until my father bails me out….”

The condition for release is often that the women return home and may only occur if they are bailed out by a male family member.

A letter to Amnesty International from the prime minister’s office, dated 14 October 2019, stated that there were 149 women currently in administrative detention, 85 of whom had been detained for over a year for zina (along with a similar number of men). It also stated, ‘There is no case where women have been apprehended for being absent from home without their guardian’s permission, unless this is combined with a complaint about committing a crime or an offence.’

Amnesty International’s documentation and the work of Jordanian lawyers, however, indicated detention was ordered for absence, often solely at the request of the guardian.

An additional and contradictory claim was that women were sometimes detained for their own safety because if family members were motivated enough to report their female relatives’ absence, they believed they could also harm them. Women have been previously documented to be held in protective custody in Juweidah prison when they are at risk of honour killings.

“That justification has never been acceptable,” said Aarons, “because according to international law, protective custody is a violation of a person’s rights except when certain criteria are present, for example when the individual has consented.” She added that it is even harder to understand since the opening of the Dar Amneh shelter, where women can be taken instead of remaining in prison in administrative detention.

Despite the generally dismal picture, Aarons noted that Dar Amneh is one of a number of positive steps that have been taken following persistent advocacy by civil society organizations, including Mizan for Law, which opened the shelter with the Ministry of Social Development in July 2018.

The scrapping of Article 308 of the penal code that allowed rapists to evade punishment if they married their victims was another welcome reform.

Dar Amneh is an improvement from prison, and women residing there are provided with health care, housing, job training and other services as well as support for longer term solutions so they can leave the facility. They are also allowed to keep children up to the age of six with them, and the Ministry of Social Development, according to the Amnesty International report, reunited two mothers at the shelter with their children.

Despite clear operating instructions from the shelter, however, Aarons said they are not always respected. For instance, women are not always allowed to leave the shelter despite the facility’s protocol saying they can. It is also unclear if unmarried women will be able to remain with their children once they do leave.

However, signs of greater political will to protect women’s rights are emerging. As of mid-September 2019, a total of 75 women have been housed at Dar Amneh, 44 of whom have now left.

For now, many laws remain requiring reform, including the Personal Status Law, regarded by the United Nations as a highly discriminatory piece of legislation .

“The Jordanian government should urgently address these shameful violations that national women’s organizations have been battling for decades,” said Heba Morayef, Amnesty International’s regional director for the Middle East and North Africa, “starting with the zealous use of detention powers by provincial governors, and the discriminatory male guardianship system that allows adult women to be arrested for leaving home without permission.”

© Copyright Notice

click on link to view the associated photo/image
©Flickr ⁃ Amnesty International | ©Flickr ⁃ Amnesty International

We would like to ask you something …

Fanack is an independent media organisation, not funded by any state or any interest group, that distributes in the Middle East and the wider world unbiased analysis and background information, based on facts, about the Middle East and North Africa.

The website grew rapidly in breadth and depth and today forms a rich and valuable source of information on 21 countries, from Morocco to Oman and from Iran to Yemen, both in Arabic and English. We currently reach six million readers annually and growing fast.

In order to guarantee the impartiality of information on the Chronicle, articles are published without by-lines. This also allows correspondents to write more freely about sensitive or controversial issues in their country. All articles are fact-checked before publication to ensure that content is accurate, current and unbiased.

To run such a website is very expensive. With a small donation, you can make a huge impact. And it only takes a minute. Thank you.