فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / قانون الأسرة و الأقليات / على الرغم من العواقب، نساء مصر يتحدثنّ ضد التحرش

على الرغم من العواقب، نساء مصر يتحدثنّ ضد التحرش

Specials- Sexual harassment egypt
ناشط مصري يرسم لوحة غرافيتي تظهر عبارة “لا للتحرش،” على جدارٍ خارج القصر الرئاسي في القاهرة في 14 ديسمبر 2012. Photo: PATRICK BAZ / AFP ©AFP ⁃ PATRICK BAZ

في الدقيقة 62 من المباراة التي جمعت بين مصر وجنوب أفريقيا في 6 يوليو 2019 في منافسات كأس افريقيا، دخل اللاعب المصري عمرو وردة الميدان. هتف الجمهور في استاد القاهرة، تماماً كما فعلوا مع كل لاعبٍ مصري. ومع ذلك، لم يكن وردة مجرد لاعبٍ مصري فحسب.

ففي الأيام التي سبقت المباراة، عانى وردة من تشويه سمعته بسبب مزاعم التحرش الجنسي عندما كشفت عارضة الأزياء المصرية البريطانية التي تتخذ من دبي مقراً لها، ميرهان كيلر، عن العديد من الرسائل الصريحة والتخويفية التي تلقتها من وردة؛ حيث حذت العديد من النساء الأخريات حذوها بروايتهم نفس القصص.

بمجرد أن انتشرت الرسائل على الملأ، تم إيقاف وردة من اللعب مع المنتخب، بيد أنه وفي غضون أقل من 24 ساعة، وبعد أن ناشد النجم العالمي وزميل وردة في المنتخب المصري، اللاعب محمد صلاح، منح وردة “فرصة ثانية” عبر تغريدةٍ على تويتر، فضلاً عن نشر وردة فيديو يعتذر فيه لأسرته ولزملائه في المنتخب- دون أن يعتذر للضحايا- تمت إعادته إلى صفوف المنتخب. واجه صلاح، الذي كان قد أيّد حقوق المرأة في العالم العربي قبل بضعة أشهرٍ فحسب، انتقاداً لتعبيره عن دعمه لوردة لاستخدامه مصطلح “فرصة ثانية،” نظراً لتجاوزات وردة السابقة.

في ذلك اليوم في الملعب، كانت الجماهير مهتمةً بأداء المنتخب المصري المتوسط على أرض الملعب أكثر من اهتمامهم بسجل وردة بالتحرش. وعلاوةً على ذلك، في الأيام التي تلت هزيمة مصر المؤلمة، أصبحت كيلر ضحيةً لحملة تشويه على الإنترنت متهمة إياها بتشتيت انتباه اللاعبين بتهمها العلنية ضد وردة، وبالتالي التسبب في خسارة المنتخب.

تعتقد نفيسة الصباغ، وهي صحفية متخصصة في قضايا المرأة، أن المصريين الذين يهتفون لوردة على الرغم من اتهامات كيلر هو نتيجة “لاضطرابٍ اجتماعي حاد.” كما أوضحت أن سلوك وردة متجذرٌ في المجتمع المصري، وغالبية الأشخاص يرفضون النظر في المرآة والاعتراف بدورهم في هذه الظاهرة، إذ قالت لنا في فَنَك: “النساء يخلقن هذه الثقافة أيضاً: يُعدنّ تدوير [يخلدنّ] الاضطهاد لأنهن لا يردن أن يكنّ وحدهن [في مواجهته].”

ففي الفترة ما بين عامي 2018-2019، أفصحت عدد من النساء المصريات عن قصص تعرضهن للتحرش الجنسي، اللواتي ربما شجعتهنّ حركة #MeToo (وأنا كمان) التي تركز على تمكين الإناث. ومع ذلك، في معظم الحالات، كما هو الحال مع كيلر ووردة ، واجهت النساء عواقب سلبية أكثر بكثير من المتحرش المزعوم.

ففي أغسطس 2018، نشرت امرأة مصرية تدعى منة جبران فيديو لرجلٍ في الشارع يطلب منها الخروج لتناول القهوة. أوضحت لاحقاً أن الرجل كان يتبعها وهي تمشي ولم يتراجع إلا عندما بدأت في تصويره. فجر رد فعل المصريين على فيديو جبران نقاشاً حاداً: هل كان الرجل يضايقها فعلاً؟ هل بالغت جبران برد فعلها؟ هل كانت مسؤولة عن الحادث بسبب طريقة لبسها؟

إن مثل هذا التحرش في الشوارع مستوطنٌ في مصر. ففي حين أن الحكومة أصدرت قانوناً يجرم التحرش، إلا أن الوضع لم يتحسن بشكلٍ ملحوظ. ففي استطلاع أجرته وكالة أنباء تومسون رويترز في عام 2017، احتلت القاهرة المرتبة الأكثر خطورة على النساء في العالم. وفي هذا الصدد قالت الصباغ: “إن حماية النساء في الشارع ليست [ولكن يجب أن تكون] جزءاً من المعتقدات الأساسية [لقيم] للشرطة، لأنهن [النساء] أيضاً جزءٌ من هذا المجتمع.” ومع ذلك، فهي لا تزال متفائلة وتعتقد أن القانون الجديد هو خطوة أولى إيجابية، إذ أضافت “تدرك الدولة أن التحرش يضرها سياسياً واقتصادياً، ذلك أنه يُبعد السياح على سبيل المثال.”

وفي نهاية المطاف، أصبح الرجل رمزاً بسبب جملته الشهيرة المبتذلة، بينما قالت جبران إنها فقدت إحدى وظائفها بسبب الحادث، وشعرت بأنها مجبرة على إغلاق حسابها على الفيسبوك، وعانت من تشويه السمعة المتكرر على الإنترنت. حاولت فَنَك الاتصال بها، إلا أننا لم نتلق أي رد. عادت للظهور على الشبكة العنكبوتية وتعمل اليوم في مجال الفنون المرئية.

وبحسب ما كتبته المدونة المصرية زنوبيا، “لم تعد منة الضحية بل الجانية والعاهرة الباحثة عن الشهرة، في حين أصبح الرجل شخصيةً مشهورة ومن المؤثرين الآن.” وأضافت “العديد من الفتيات كنّ مكان منة، بل أسوأ، إلا أنهنّ لم يبلغن السلطات خوفاً من ردود فعل المجتمع.”

وبعد أسابيع من فيديو جبران، رفعت الصحفية مي الشامي دعوى قضائية تتهم رئيس تحريرها في صحيفة اليوم السابع المؤيدة للنظام، دندراوي الهواري، بالتحرش. وعليه، سرعان ما ألمحت صحيفة اليوم السابع وغيرها من وسائل الإعلام الموالية للدولة إلى علاقاتٍ تربط بين الشامي والإخوان المسلمين، حيث صاغت اتهاماتها بالتحرش بدوافع سياسية. أسقطت المحكمة القضية بسبب نقص الأدلة؛ فقد كانت كلمته ضد كلمتها. وفي النهاية تمت إقالة الشامي بينما بقي الهواري على رأس عمله.

وفي قضية تحرشٍ أخرى ظهرت ضمن صفوف حزب المعارضة العيش والحرية في أكتوبر 2017، كانت النتيجة مختلفة. فقد استقال المتهمان، المحاميان خالد علي ومحمود بلال، من مناصبهما في الحزب والمركز المصري للحقوق الاقتصادية والاجتماعية غير الحكومي.

في بعض الحالات، تكون عواقب التحدث علناً مبالغٌ بها، فبعد تعرضها للتحرش في الشارع، نشرت أمل فتحي شريط فيديو على موقع فيبسوك تتهم فيه الحكومة بعدم حماية النساء. انتشر الفيديو كالنار في الهشيم وبالتالي ألقي القُبض على فتحي وحُكم عليها بالسجن لمدة عامين بتهمة “نشر أخبار كاذبة بنية الإضرار بالدولة.” كما تعرضت سائحة لبنانية عبرت بغضبٍ عن تعرضها للتحرش على الفيسبوك في مصر لمصيرٍ مماثل. فقد تم القبض عليها في مايو 2018 وحُكم عليها بالسجن لمدة ثماني سنوات بتهمة “إهانة المصريين.” أُطلق سراحها في نهاية المطاف بعد بضعة أشهر وتم ترحيلها إلى لبنان بعد أن عدل القاضي الحكم الصادر ضدها. وفي كلتا الحالتين، أوضحت الصباغ، “عندما تشعر الدولة بالإهانة، يكون لهذا أولوية على محاربة التحرش الفعلي.”

من جهته أعلن الرئيس عبد الفتاح السيسي في شهر مارس عن عددٍ من التوجيهات لدعم تحرير المرأة، بما في ذلك مشروع لصياغة تشريع آخر بشأن حماية المرأة من العنف “الجسدي والعاطفي.” وفي عام 2017، فند السيسي ما توصل إليه تقرير توماس رويترز من أن القاهرة كانت أسوأ مدينة بالنسبة للنساء، لكنه أقر بأن التحرش الجنسي يمثل مشكلة، حيث أخبر المصريين “على المرأة أن تحظى بالتقدير.”

بالإضافة إلى ذلك، قال الأزهر، أعلى سلطة إسلامية في مصر، في أغسطس 2018، إن التحرش الجنسي لا يمكن تبريره بطريقة ارتداء الفتاة لملابسها وهو في الواقع محظور في الإسلام في جميع الأوقات.

أما القضية الأخيرة التي أثارت جدلاً فهي تتعلق باحتجاز فتاةٍ تبلغ من العمر 15 عاماً، أميرة، بسبب قتلها سائق حافلة صغيرة كان يحاول اغتصابها. ووفقاً للتحقيقات الأولية، تم إغراء أميرة بعد أن نصب لها حبيبها والعديد من أصدقائه فخاً، إلا أنها تمكنت من الاستحواذ على سكينٍ من الشخص الذي حاول اغتصابها وطعنته عدة مرات. نتيجةً لذلك، وجهت لها تهمة القتل.

على الرغم من أن النساء، عموماً، يواجهن ردود أفعال سلبية عندما يعلنّ عن قصص التحرش، إلا أن الصباغ ترى جانباً إيجابياً، إذ تقول “المناقشات على الإنترنت تجعل الناس الذين لا يفكرون عادة في [التحرش] يتحدثون عنه.” كما تعتقد أن العملية قد بدأت، ونتيجةً لذلك، فإن المجتمع يتغير. وأضافت “الجيل الشاب يرفض مواصلة [الحفاظ] على الوضع الحالي. كل حالة تظهر في وسائل الإعلام تثير النقاش، ويدعم المزيد والمزيد من الناس قضية [النساء].”

تشمل مبادرات تعزيز هذا التقدم، مبادرة خريطة التحرش (Harassmap)، التي تهدف إلى تمكين الناس من الوقوف ضد التحرش، وقصتها (HerStory)، حيث أن المبادرة الأخيرة مدعومة من هيئة الأمم المتحدة للمرأة وتهدف إلى “إنتاج ونشر المعرفة حول قضايا المساواة بين الجنسين وحياة النساء والفتيات وإسهاماتهن في المنطقة العربية.” من الطرق التي تريد قصتها تحقيق ذلك هي بإنشاء صفحات على موسوعة ويكيبيديا حول النساء في العالم العربي.

فقد قال القائمون على قصتها في تصريحٍ لفَنَك، “يمكن أن تكون ويكيبيديا أداةً مفيدة في تطوير المعرفة حول المرأة وإنجازات المرأة وعدم المساواة بين الجنسين،” موضحين أنه اعتباراً من يناير 2018، كانت 4,2% فقط من جميع مقالات ويكيبيديا العربية مرتبطة بالمرأة، في حين أن المعدل العالمي يبلغ 15%.

وبعد قضية عمرو وردة، عمدت قصتها إلى تحديث صفحته على ويكيبيديا بالمعلومات المتاحة للجمهور حول قضايا التحرش ضده. “شعرنا أنه تم غض النظر عن القضية وسيتم نسيانها. شعرنا بعدم وجود عدالة للضحايا الذين فقدوا المزيد من خصوصيتهم، و[واجهوا] زيادة في المضايقات عبر الإنترنت، بما في ذلك التخويف والتهديدات، وفقدوا وظائفهم أو علاقاتهم داخل أسرهم،” بحسب قولهم في قصتها.

وكحال الصباغ، يعتقد القائمون على قصتها أن التغيير قادم لا محالة، “عندما نشرنا عن التغييرات التي أدرجت على صفحة وردة على موسوعة ويكيبيديا، تلقينا الكثير من الرسائل و[كلمات] التشجيع. علينا أن نحافظ على قوة قصننا لتبقى حية لنتمكن من المضي قدماً وتحقيق ممارساتٍ أفضل [في القضايا المستقبلية].”

© Copyright Notice

click on link to view the associated photo/image
©AFP ⁃ PATRICK BAZ

دعمكم عونٌ لنا

فَنَك هي مؤسسة إعلامية إلكترونية مستقلة، لا تمولها أي دولة أو مجموعات مصالح. تلتزم فَنَك بنشر تحليلاتٍ مبنية على الوقائع ومحايدة، إلى جانب التقارير المواضيعية حول الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا.
شهد الموقع نمواً سريعاً في نطاق وعمق المعلومات التي يُقدمها، واليوم، بات يُشكل مصدراً غنياً وقيماً للمعلومات عن 21 بلداً، من المغرب إلى عُمان ومن إيران إلى اليمن، باللغتين العربية والإنجليزية. حالياً، وصل عدد القراء إلى 6 ملايين سنوياً، والعدد آخذٌ بالإزدياد.
لضمان حيادية المعلومات على موقع فَنَك (وقائع وأحداث) ، تُنشر المقالات دون ذكر أسماء الكتّاب، مما يُتيح أيضاً لمراسلينا مساحة أكبر من الحرية عند التطرق إلى القضايا الحساسة أو المثيرة للجدل فى بلادهم. وإلى جانب ذلك، نتحرى حقائق جميع المعلومات الواردة في مقالاتنا قبل النشر لضمان دقة المعلومات، وحداثتها وحيادها.

استمرارية تشغيل مثل هذا الموقع الإلكتروني مُكلفة للغاية. بتبرعٍ صغيرٍ منك، يمكنك المساهمة في الحفاظ على حرية واستقلالية تغطيتنا.

Fanack Home / Family Law and Minorities / Despite the Consequences, Women Speak Up Against Harassment in Egypt

Despite the Consequences, Women Speak Up Against Harassment in Egypt

Specials- Sexual harassment egypt
An Egyptian activist draws graffiti depicting a woman and reading in Arabic: “No to Sexual Harassment” on a wall outside the presidential palace in Cairo on December 14, 2012. Photo: PATRICK BAZ / AFP ©AFP ⁃ PATRICK BAZ

At minute 62 of the Africa Cup match between Egypt and South Africa on 6 July 2019, Egyptian player Amr Warda entered the field. The audience in the Cairo stadium cheered, just as they did with every Egyptian player. Warda, however, was not just any Egyptian player.

In the days before the match, Warda was discredited over allegations of sexual harassment when the Dubai-based, Egyptian-British model Merhan Keller disclosed several sexually explicit and intimidating messages she had received from Warda; several other women followed suit with similar stories.

Once the messages became public, Warda was suspended from the team. However, less then 24 hours later, after global star and fellow Egyptian player Mohamed Salah pleaded on Twitter for Warda to be given a “second chance” and Warda himself posted a video apologising to his family and team members–but not the victims– he was reinstated. Salah, who had spoken out in support of women’s rights in the Arab world only a few months earlier, faced criticism for expressing support for Warda and especially for his use of the term “second chance,” given Warda’s multiple earlier transgressions.

That day in the stadium, however, the audience cared more about Egypt’s mediocre performance on the field than Warda’s harassment record. Moreover, in the days after Egypt’s painful defeat, Keller became the victim of an online smear campaign accusing her of distracting the players with her public accusations against Warda and therefore being at fault for the team’s loss.

Nafisa El-Sabbagh, a journalist specialising in women issues, believes Egyptians cheering for Warda despite Keller’s accusations is the result of a “severe social disorder.” Warda’s behaviour is deeply rooted in Egyptian society, she explains, and most people do not want to look in the mirror and see their own part in this phenomenon. “Women also create this culture: they recycle [perpetuate] oppression as they do not want to be alone [in facing it],” she told Fanack.

From 2018-2019, a number of Egyptian women came out with stories of being sexually harassed, perhaps encouraged by the female-empowerment-focused #MeToo movement. However, in most cases, just as with Keller and Warda, the women faced far more negative consequences than the alleged harasser.

In August 2018, an Egyptian woman named Menna Gubran posted a video of a man on the street asking her out for coffee. She later explained that the man had been following her as she was walking and only backed away when she started filming him. Egyptians reacted to Gubran’s video with a heated debate: was the man actually harassing her? Was Gubran overreacting? Was she herself to blame for the incident because of the way she was dressed?

Such street harassment is endemic in Egypt. While the government has passed a law criminalizing harassment, the situation has not visibly improved. In a Thomson Reuters poll in 2017, Cairo was ranked the world’s most dangerous megacity for women. “Protecting women in the street is not [but should be] part of the basic beliefs [values] of the police, as they [the women] are also part of this society,” El-Sabbagh said. Still, she remains hopeful and believes the new law is a positive first step. “The state is aware that harassment is harmful both politically and economically, as it pushes tourists away, for example.”

In the end, the man on the street gained cult figure-status as a result of his tacky pickup line, while Gubran said she lost one of her jobs over the incident, felt forced to close her Facebook account, and faced repeated online shaming. Fanack attempted to contact her but received no response. She is now back online and works as a visual artist.

“Menna is no longer the victim but rather the victimizer, the whore and the fame seeker, while the man is a celebrity and influencer now,” Egyptian blogger Zeinobia wrote. “Many girls have been in Menna’s position and, even worse, will not report it to the authorities for fear of social backlash,” she added.

Weeks after Gubran’s video, journalist Mai El-Shamy filed a lawsuit accusing her chief editor at the pro-regime newspaper Youm7, Dandrawy El-Hawary, of harassment. Youm7 and other pro-state media were quick to insinuate links between El-Shamy and the Muslim Brotherhood, framing her harassment accusations as politically motivated. The court dropped the case over a lack of evidence; it was his word against hers. El-Shamy was fired; El-Hawary remains in his position.

In another harassment case that surfaced within the ranks of the opposition party Bread and Freedom in October 2017, the outcome was different. The accused, lawyers Khaled Ali and Mahmoud Belal, resigned from their positions in the party and the non-governmental Egyptian Centre for Economic and Social Rights.

In some cases, the consequences of speaking out are more extreme. After also being harassed in the street, Amal Fathy posted a video on Facebook in which she accused the government of not protecting women. The post went viral and Fathy was subsequently arrested and sentenced to two years in prison for “spreading false news with the intention of harming the state.” A Lebanese tourist who ranted on Facebook about being harassed in Egypt suffered a similar fate. She was arrested in May 2018 and sentenced to prison for eight years for “insulting Egyptians.” She was eventually released a few months later and deported back to Lebanon after a judge amended her sentence. About both cases, El-Sabbagh explained, “when the state feels insulted, that takes priority over combatting the actual harassment.”

President Abdel Fattah Al-Sisi announced in March a number of directives in support of women’s emancipation, including one to draft further legislation on the protection of women from “physical and emotional” violence. In 2017, Al-Sisi refuted the Thomas Reuters report’s conclusion that Cairo was the worst city for women, but acknowledged sexual harassment is a problem, telling Egyptians “the woman has to be appreciated.”

In addition, Egypt’s highest Islamic authority, Al-Azhar, said in August 2018 that sexual harassment cannot be justified by how a girl dresses and is in fact prohibited in Islam at all times.

The latest case stirring a debate is the detention of a 15-year old girl, Amira, over killing a minibus driver who was trying to rape her. According to the preliminary investigations, Amira was lured into a trap by her boyfriend and several of his friends. She managed to take the knife from her assaulter and stabbed him multiple times. As a result, she has been accused of murder.

Despite women generally facing negative reactions when they go public with harassment stories, El-Sabbagh sees a positive side. “Online discussions make people who do not usually think about [harassment] talk about it.” She believes a process has been set in motion and, as a result, society is changing. “The young generation refuses to continue [maintain] the current situation. Every case that appears in the media stirs discussion, and more and more people are supporting the [women’s] cause.”

Initiatives to enhance this progress include Harassmap, which aims to empower people to stand up against harassment, and HerStory. The latter is supported by UN Women and aims “to produce and disseminate knowledge about gender equality issues and women and girls’ lives and contributions in the Arab region.” One of the ways HerStory wants to achieve this is by creating Wikipedia pages on women in the Arab world.

“Wikipedia can be a useful vessel in advancing knowledge about women, women’s achievements, and gender inequalities,” HerStory said in a statement to Fanack, explaining that, as of January 2018, only 4.2% of all Arabic Wikipedia articles were related to women, while globally the rate is 15%.

Following Amr Warda’s case, HerStory moved to update his Wikipedia page with the publicly available information on the harassment cases against him. “We felt that the case was being swept under the rug and would be forgotten. We felt there was no justice for the victims who lost even more of their privacy, [faced] an increase in online harassment, including intimidation and threats, and lost their jobs or relationships within their families,” HerStory said.

Like El-Sabbagh, HerStory believes change is happening. “When we posted about the changes in Warda’s Wikipedia page, we received so many messages and [words of] encouragement. We need to keep our stories vivid and live[ly] to be able to proceed with better practices [in future cases].”

© Copyright Notice

click on link to view the associated photo/image
©AFP ⁃ PATRICK BAZ | ©AFP ⁃ PATRICK BAZ

We would like to ask you something …

Fanack is an independent media organisation, not funded by any state or any interest group, that distributes in the Middle East and the wider world unbiased analysis and background information, based on facts, about the Middle East and North Africa.

The website grew rapidly in breadth and depth and today forms a rich and valuable source of information on 21 countries, from Morocco to Oman and from Iran to Yemen, both in Arabic and English. We currently reach six million readers annually and growing fast.

In order to guarantee the impartiality of information on the Chronicle, articles are published without by-lines. This also allows correspondents to write more freely about sensitive or controversial issues in their country. All articles are fact-checked before publication to ensure that content is accurate, current and unbiased.

To run such a website is very expensive. With a small donation, you can make a huge impact. And it only takes a minute. Thank you.