الصفحة الرئيسية / مصر

مصر

Egypt- Fuel prices in Egypt
سائق سيارة أجرة مصري يقف في الطابور لتعبئة خزان سيارته بالبنزين في محطة وقود في القاهرة. أعلنت مصر عن زيادة حادة في أسعار الوقود بعد أن خفضت الحكومة الدعم في ظل برنامج الإصلاح الذي فرضه صندوق النقد الدولي بشروطٍ صعبة. Photo AFP

المحتويات

النفط
الغاز الطبيعي
الفخم
الكهرباء

المقدمة

تعتبر جمهورية مصر العربية الأكثر اكتظاظاً بالسكان من بين البلدان العربية والأكثر اكتظاظاً بالسكان في منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا. وتمتلك مصر اقتصاداً كبيراً ومتنوعاً إلى حدٍ ما، حيث تلعب الطاقة دوراً هاماً فيه. ونظراً لضخامة عدد السكان (96 مليون نسمة)، لعبت صادرات الطاقة دوراً صغيراً نسبياً في الاقتصاد مقارنةً بدول الخليج العربي. وبالرغم من كونها مُصدّراً صافياً للطاقة قبل ثورة عام 2011، إلا أن مصر اعتمدت على واردات النفط السخية من الخليج منذ عام 2013 وبدأت في استيراد الغاز الطبيعي المسال لتلبية الطلب عام 2015. ومع ذلك، سمحت الاكتشافات الجديدة والكبيرة للغاز منذ عام 2015 لمصر بخفض واردات الغاز الطبيعي المسال في عام 2017، وأنعشت الآمال بأن تصبح مصر مُصدّراً صافياً للغاز مرةً أخرى اعتباراً من عام 2019.

يعتبر استهلاك الطاقة المحلي كبيراً (ومدعوماً)، بالرغم من أن نصيب الفرد أقل من بعض الدول الأغنى المصدرة للنفط في المنطقة، فضلاً عن كون معدلات تزويد الكهرباء الأعلى في أفريقيا. وبفضل موقعها بين البحر الأبيض المتوسط والبحر الأحمر، وسيطرتها على قناة السويس، تلعب مصر أيضاً دوراً غاية في الأهمية في نقل الطاقة. فقد نُقل حوالي 2,92 مليون برميل يومياً من النفط (الخام ومنتجاته) عبر قناة السويس في عام 2012، و42,4 مليار متر مكعب من الغاز الطبيعي المسال. شكلّ ذلك ما نسبته 7% من إجمالي التجارة البحرية للنفط، و13% من الغاز الطبيعي المسال المتداول في جميع أنحاء العالم.

الشكل (1): خريطة مصر. إضغط للتكبير. @ Fanack

ويسمح خط أنابيب سوميد، الذي تبلغ سعته 2,5 مليون برميل يومياً، بنقل النفط الخام من خليج السويس في البحر الأحمر إلى البحر الأبيض المتوسط بواسطة السفن الكبيرة جداً التي تمر عبر قناة السويس. وتمثل رسوم العبور من القناة وخط الأنابيب مصدراً هاماً من مصادر الإيرادات للحكومة.

وقد شهدت مصر اضطراباتٍ كبيرة منذ عام 2011، حيث اضطر الرئيس حسني مبارك، الذي حكم لفترةٍ طويلة، إلى التنحي بسبب المظاهرات الشعبية التي كانت جزءاً من انتفاضات الربيع العربي، والاضطرابات السياسية اللاحقة التي توجت بالإطاحة بالإخوان المسلمين من قبل اللواء في الجيش والرئيس الحالي عبد الفتاح السيسي. ولم تعاني مصر من أضرار بالبنية التحتية للطاقة التي تعاني منها ليبيا واليمن ودول أخرى، إلا أن خط الغاز العربي الذي يغذي في النهاية خط أنابيب إلى إسرائيل تعرض لهجماتٍ عدة مرات من قبل الجماعات الجهادية في شبه جزيرة سيناء، مما ألحق الضرر بصادرات مصر.

النفط

وفقاً لتقديرات مجلة النفط والغاز في يناير 2015، تبلغ احتياطيات النفط المؤكدة في مصر 4,4 مليار برميل. يعتبر هذا قليلاً مقارنةً بمنتجي النفط الأكبر من الخليج وشمال افريقيا، إلا أنها لا تزال كبيرة جداً وفقاً للمعايير العالمية.

ويأتي إنتاج النفط المصري من خمسة حقول رئيسية هي: في المقام الأول، خليج السويس ودلتا النيل، ولكن أيضاً من الصحراء الغربية، والصحراء الشرقية والبحر المتوسط. يُستخرج غالبية الإنتاج من الحقول الناضجة، والصغيرة نسبياً، التي ترتبط بنظم إنتاج إقليمية أكبر. وبشكلٍ عام، شهد الإنتاج إنخفاضاً في العقود الماضية. إلا أنه في عام 2016، بلغ الإنتاج 544,000 برميل في اليوم، مقارنةً بـ530,000 برميل يومياً عام 2011، وفقاً لأرقام منظمة أوبك.

وتعد الهيئة المصرية العامة للبترول (EGPC) الجهة الحكومية المكلفة بإدارة أنشطة المنبع بما في ذلك البنية التحتية والترخيص والإنتاج. وتلعب شرکات النفط الوطنیة والدولیة دوراً ھاماً في قطاع صناعات المنبع في مصر علی أساس مشارکة الإنتاج مع الهيئة المصرية العامة للبترول. يتم تقسيم قطاع الطاقة إلى ثلاث شركات قابضة بالإضافة إلى الهيئة المصرية العامة للبترول والهيئة المصرية العامة للثروة المعدنية (EMRA): المصرية القابضة للغازات الطبيعية (EGAS)، والمصرية القابضة للبتروكيماويات (ECHEM)، وجنوب الوادي المصرية القابضة للبترول (GANOPE).

وعلى مدى عدة سنوات، كانت التطورات الجديدة في قطاعي صناعات المنبع للنفط (والغاز) بطيئة، ذلك أن شركات النفط العالمية علقّت استثماراتها في إنتظار دفع الحكومة ديونها المتأخرة التي تجاوزت في عام 2014 ما قيمته 6 مليارات دولار. ومنذ أن تم تعويم الجنيه المصري في نوفمبر 2016، وتحسّن السيولة في البلاد بفضل القروض الدولية التي وصلت إلى مليارات الدولارات، تمكنت مصر من البدء في سداد ديونها لهذه الشركات، مما أدى إلى زيادة الاستثمارات. وقال وزير البترول طارق الملا لوكالة رويترز للأنباء إن ديون شركات النفط قد انخفضت إلى 2,3 مليار دولار في أكتوبر 2017، وفي السنة المالية 2016-2017، زادت الاستثمارات النفطية إلى 8,1 مليار دولار، بزيادة من 6,6 مليار دولار.

إن عرض الهيئة المصرية العامة للبترول متنوع، على الرغم من أنّ أكبر المنصات النفطية الوحيدة المحتملة تأتي من الصحراء الغربية كثيرة الإنتاج، التي تمتاز عن باقي المناطق بكونها منطقة تطور مستمر، مع اكتشافات كبيرة جديدة متواصلة حتى الآن. ومع تحول مصر إلى مستورد صافي للنفط الخام، تغيّر منطق إصدار مجموعات التراخيص وجذب الاستثمارات من زيادة استحواذ الحكومة إلى أقصى حدٍ ممكن على أعمال التصدير الناجحة، إلى منطقٍ يُقيّد التكلفة الحكومية لدعم الوقود المستورد قدر الإمكان. وقد حفزت الاكتشافات ذات النطاق الأصغر الحكومة بشكلٍ أكبر على رفع وتيرة جولات الترخيص والمكافئات.

أما فيما يتعلق بقطاع صناعات المصب، يدل إرتفاع الاستهلاك الذي يُعزى جزئياً إلى عدد السكان الهائل والمتزايد في مصر (96 مليون نسمة، الذي يعدّ أكبر عددٍ للسكان في منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا)، فضلاً عن استمرار وجود الإعانات، على أن البلاد كان مستورداً (صغيراً) للنفط في وقتٍ ما منذ عام 2008.

وكجزءٍ من الإصلاحات التي كانت جزءاً من شرط الحصول على قرضٍ بقيمة 12 مليار دولار الذي وافق عليه صندوق النقد الدولي في نوفمبر 2016، بدأت مصر في خفض الإعانات وإزالتها تدريجياً، وبخاصة على الوقود والكهرباء. فعلى سبيل المثال، فإن تكلفة 50 لتراً من البنزين- أي ما يعادل تقريباً خزان كامل لمركبة متوسطة- والتي كانت تبلغ تكلفته في عام 2013 حوالي 80 جنيهاً، تبلغ اليوم 250 جنيهاً. وقد خفضت هذه الإصلاحات من فاتورة دعم الوقود بنحو النصف تقريباً عن عام 2011، ولكن في السنة المالية 2017-2018 ستبلغ فاتورة الدعم 8 مليارات دولار.

وقد قدر إجمالي استهلاك المنتجات البترولية بنحو 797 ألف برميل يومياً في عام 2014. وبفضل زيادة الإنتاج المحلي، تأمل مصر في خفض واردات الوقود إلى 10% فقط من استهلاكها بحلول عام 2019.

تمتلك مصر كمية كبيرة من الطاقة التكريرية، التي تبلغ 726 ألف برميل يومياً من النفط الخام في تسع مصافي. ومع ذلك، بلغ إجمالي إنتاج المنتجات المكررة 547,800 برميل يومياً في عام 2013، وفقاً لكتاب حقائق العالم الصادر عن وكالة المخابرات المركزية. أكبرها مصفاة تكرير مسطرد في القاهرة، بطاقة إنتاجية تبلغ 142,000 برميل يومياً. وتعمل مصر على تطوير قدراتها التكريرية الحالية وبناء مصافي جديدة. وتقوم الشركة المصرية لتكرير البترول بتطوير مصفاة جديدة بطاقة إنتاجية تبلغ 85,000 برميل يومياً، والتي من المقرر البدء في تشغيلها عام 2018، وذلك بعد تأجيل الموعد الأولي لعام 2016. ويجري حالياً تطوير لمصفاة ميدور في الاسكندرية لزيادة طاقتها الإنتاجية من 115,000 برميل يومياً إلى 175,000 برميل يومياً. وقد مرت مصفاة أسيوط أيضاً بعدة مراحل للتطوير، ومن المقرر أن تبدأ الإنتاج في عام 2020.

الغاز الطبيعي

كان لاكتشافات الغاز الضخمة منذ عام 2015، أبرزها حقل ظَهر “العملاق” في البحر الأبيض المتوسط، تأثيرا كبيرا على آمال مصر المالية والاقتصادية. ففي العقد الماضي، زادت مصر إنتاج الغاز الطبيعي المسال بشكلٍ كبير فضلاً عن بناء محطات الغاز الطبيعي المسال للتصدير. وأدت الاضطرابات عام 2011 وما أعقبها من أزمة اقتصادية إلى تعطيل خطط التصدير هذه وأجبرت مصر على استيراد شحنات الغاز الطبيعي المسال المكلفة، مما فرض ضغطاً إضافياً على مواردها المالية. وقد غيرت اكتشافات حقول الغاز الجديدة المعادلة، إذ بدأت مصر في الحدّ من استيراد الغاز الطبيعي المسال وتأمل في مساواة الدخل والمصاريف بحلول أوائل عام 2019. وفي السنوات التالية، تطمح في البدء بالتصدير مرةً أخرى.

تم الإعلان عن اكتشاف حقل ظَهر، الذي يتم تطويره من قِبل شركة إيني الإيطالية، في أغسطس 2015. ومن المتوقع أن يبدأ إنتاج الحقل بحلول نهاية عام 2017، ويُقدر مخزونه بـ850 مليار متر مكعب من الغاز.

ومن المشاريع الرئيسية الأخرى مشروع تطوير شركة بريتش بتروليوم (بي بي) لحقل غاز أتول في منطقة امتياز شمال دمياط البحري في شرق دلتا النيل بالبحر المتوسط. وتُشير التقديرات إلى أن مخزون الحقل يُقدر بـ42 مليون متر مكعب من الغاز الطبيعي و31 مليون برميل من المكثفات، ومن المتوقع أن يبدأ الإنتاج في عام 2018. كما بدأت شركة بي بي إنتاجها في حقول غرب دلتا النيل حيث تقوم بتطوير ما يقدر بنحو 140 مليون متر مكعب من الغاز و55 مليون برميل من المكثفات.

وعلاوة على ذلك، حققت شركة بي بي ثالث اكتشافٍ هام في منطقة امتياز شمال دمياط البحري في مارس 2017. وتشمل التطورات الأخرى اكتشاف شركة شل ما يقدر بنحو 14 مليار متر مكعب من الغاز في الصحراء الغربية في أغسطس 2016؛ واكتشافات إيني في عامي 2015 و2016 في منطقة حقل نوروس التي تقدر بحوالي 60-70 مليون متر مكعب.

وتقدر احتياطيات مصر من الغاز الطبيعي بـ2,19 مليار متر مكعب، وهو رابع أكبر احتياطي في افريقيا بعد نيجيريا والجزائر والموزمبيق. وهي أقل بكثير من بلدان الخليج العربي، باستثناء الكويت والبحرين، إلا أنها ازدادت بشكلٍ كبير على مدى السنوات العشرين الماضية نتيجة تطوير احتياطيات الغاز الطبيعي في دلتا النيل، بالإضافة إلى الحقول البحرية في البحر الأبيض المتوسط بما في ذلك في المياه العميقة.

ويبدو أن تحسن الوضع المالي في البلاد شجع الشركات على التنقيب عن الغاز والنفط في مصر. وفي ديسمبر 2016، قُبلت ست عطاءات قيمتها 200 مليون دولار، في حين وقّعت في أغسطس 2017 صفقات للتنقيب قيمتها 160 مليون دولار لحقول الصحراء الغربية مع شركات شل وأبيكس وأباتشي وميرلون.

وتماماً كحال قطاع النفط، فإن الهيئة المصرية العامة للبترول هي الهيئة الحكومية المكلفة بإدارة أنشطة المنبع بما في ذلك البنية التحتية والترخيص والإنتاج. وتقوم المصرية القابضة للغازات الطبيعية بتعزيز القطاع إلى جانب وضع استراتيجية التطوير. وتعمل كل من الهيئة المصرية العامة للبترول والمصرية القابضة للغازات الطبيعية مع الشركات الخاصة في ظل شراكات المشاريع المشتركة.

وقد استخدمت مصر في الغالب اتفاقات تقاسم الإنتاج من أجل الاستثمار الأجنبي. وفي عام 2017، وافقت الحكومة على قانون جديد للغاز الطبيعي، وإنشاء هيئة تنظيمية للغاز وخصخصة سوق الغاز من أجل جذب المزيد من الاستثمارات.

وتُستخدم غالبية الغاز الطبيعي في مصر لتوليد الكهرباء، بينما تذهب ثاني أكبر حصة لقطاع الصناعة /البتروكيماويات. وبحلول منتصف عام 2016، أنتجت مصر حوالي 110 مليون متر مكعب يومياً واستوردت 30 مليون متر مكعب يومياً.

وفي عام 2010، صدرت مصر أكثر من 15 مليار متر مكعب من الغاز عبر خط الأنابيب إلى الأردن واثنين من مرافق تسييل الغاز الطبيعي المسال ومرافق التصدير. فقد كان أول مرفق لتصدير الغاز الطبيعي المسال هو قطار شركة الغاز المصرية الإسبانية- سيجاس المنفرد (شركة يونيون فينوسا، والمصرية القابضة للغازات الطبيعية، والهيئة المصرية العامة للبترول) في دمياط على البحر الأبيض المتوسط. بدأ العمل في ديسمبر 2004، وتبلغ طاقته 5,5 مليون طن سنوياً.

الشكل (2): إنتاج واستهلاك الغاز الطبيعي في مصر. إضغط للتكبير. @ Fanack

وتملك الشركة المصرية للغاز الطبيعي المسال (المصرية القابضة للغازات الطبيعية، والهيئة المصرية العامة للبترول، والبريطانية للغاز، وبتروناس الماليزية، والفرنسية للغاز) في مدينة إدكو على البحر الأبيض المتوسط قطارين، بدأ أولهما العمل في سبتمبر 2005، وتبلغ طاقتهما التصديرية 3,6 مليون طن سنوياً لكلٍ منهما.

واليوم، بما أن مصر تستورد الغاز بدلاً من تصديره، فقد استأجرت وحدتين عائمتين للتخزين وإعادة التغويز (FSRUs) لتحويل الغاز الطبيعي المسال المستورد من السائل إلى غاز.

تعرض خط الغاز العربي لهجماتٍ عدة مرات في عام 2011 و2012 من قِبل الجماعات الجهادية، أبرزها أنصار بيت المقدس، التي أعلنت ولائها في وقتٍ لاحق لتنظيم الدولة الإسلامية. وفي أعقاب إغلاق خط الأنابيب في عام 2012، رفعت إسرائيل قضية تحكيمٍ دولية ضد مصر، مما أدى إلى تغريمها ملياري دولار لصالح اسرائيل نتيجة فشلها في الإلتزام باتفاقية التصدير.

ومع ذلك، قد يكون لإسرائيل ومصر مصلحة مشتركة في علاقات الغاز، إذ تهدف إسرائيل إلى تصدير الغاز الطبيعي من حقل ليفياثان البحري الرئيسي، إلا أنها تفتقر إلى مرافق التصدير. فقد وردت العديد من التقارير حول إمكانية أن تصبح مصر مركزاً إقليمياً للطاقة، ليتم إعادة تصدير الغاز من إسرائيل وقبرص عبر محطاتها للغاز الطبيعي المسال.

الفحم

تمتلك مصر منجماً صغيراً للفحم، منجم فحم المغارة في شبه جزيرة سيناء. وتُشير التقارير إلى أن الإنتاج يبلغ حوالي 360 ألف طن سنوياً (بالرغم من أن مصادر أخرى تُظهر أرقاماً أقل من ذلك بكثير). ويساهم الإنتاج من منجم فحم المغارة، الذي هو ليس من فحم الكوك، في مزيج مع الفحم المعدني المستورد الذي يستخدم في العمليات الصناعية.

وفي عام 2014، تم تعديل القوانين للسماح باستخدام الفحم في المصانع، وخاصة في صناعات الأسمنت والصلب وفي محطات توليد الكهرباء، وذلك استجابةً لنقص هيكلي في الطاقة في ذروة أشهر الصيف. وقد بدأت شركات الأسمنت الكبيرة مثل لافارج وإيتاليشمنتي منذ ذلك الحين باستخدام الفحم لتشغيل مصانعها في مصر. ونتيجةً لذلك، تستورد البلاد حاليا 6 ملايين طن من الفحم سنوياً، وفقاً لتقارير وسائل الاعلام. وفي عام 2010، بلغ استهلاك الفحم ما يزيد قليلاً على 900 ألف طن، التي استخدمت آنذاك في المقام الأول في مجمع مصنع الحديد والصلب بحلوان.

وقد وقعت مصر عدة مذكرات لبناء محطات لتوليد الكهرباء تعمل بالفحم، حيث قال مسؤولون إن البلاد تخطط لتوليد ما تتراوح نسبته بين 25-30% من الكهرباء من الفحم. غير أن وضع هذه المشاريع لا يزال غير واضح. وفي أكتوبر 2017، أجلّت وزارة الكهرباء والطاقة تقديم العطاءات لإنشاء محطة الحمراوين المخطط لها والبالغة تكلفتها 8 مليارات دولار على البحر الأحمر، على الرغم من أنها تسعى إلى توقيع العقود بحلول أواخر عام 2018 واستكمال المحطة في عام 2025. كما تعطلت أيضاً خطط إنشاء محطة أخرى تعمل على الفحم في جنوب سيناء بسبب خلافاتٍ حول أسعار شراء الطاقة بين الوزارة والمقاول، وهي شركة النويس الإماراتية.

الكهرباء

تعتبر مصر ثالث أكبر مستهلك للكهرباء في الشرق الأوسط، بعد المملكة العربية السعودية وإيران (ولا يشمل ذلك تركيا). كما تمتلك أيضاً أعلى نسبة وصل كهربائي للمنازل في أفريقيا، بل تتفوق أيضاً على جنوب افريقيا. وفي مايو 2015، وصلت قدرة توليد الكهرباء إلى 31,45 جيجاواط، وهي زيادة كبيرة مقارنةً بـ23,5 جيجاواط عام 2009. يتم توليد حوالي 70% من الكهرباء بواسطة الغاز الطبيعي، و9,5% من الطاقة الكهرومائية من سد أسوان العالي، في المقام الأول، والباقي من النفط، وكمية صغيرة من الطاقة الشمسية وطاقة الرياح المتجددة.

وفي صيف 2013 و2014، شهدت مصر انقطاعات حادة في الكهرباء عندما تجاوز الاستهلاك الإنتاج. ورداً على ذلك، وضعت الحكومة خطة لإضافة قدرة توليد تبلغ 30 جيجاواط بحلول عام 2020. وفي عام 2015، وقعت الحكومة صفقة بقيمة 8 مليارات يورو مع شركة سيمنز لبناء ثلاث محطات لتوليد الكهرباء تعمل بالدورة المركبة باستخدام الغاز الطبيعي بطاقة إنتاجية تبلغ 4,8 جيجاواط لكل منهما. وتم وصل أول محطة بالشبكة في أوائل عام 2017، وبحلول مايو 2018، من المقرر أن يكتمل عمل محطات توليد الكهرباء الثلاث، مما يزيد من قدرة مصر الإجمالية بنسبة 45%.

وزارة الكهرباء والطاقة (MoEE) هي الجهة الرئيسية للدولة المسؤولة عن قطاع الكهرباء. كما تقوم عدد من السلطات والشركات التابعة للدولة بتقديم التقارير لوزارة الكهرباء والطاقة بما فيها الشركة المصرية القابضة للكهرباء (EEHC)، وهيئة تنمية واستخدام الطاقة الجديدة والمتجددة (NREA)، وهيئة كهرباء الريف، وهيئة مشاريع الطاقة الكهرومائية، ووكالات الطاقة النووية. وبدورها، تمتلك الشركة المصرية القابضة للكهرباء شركات توليد رئيسية مثل شركة القاهرة لإنتاج الكهرباء (CEPC). وحالياً، تم فصل الشركة المصرية القابضة للكهرباء إلا أنها تعمل كشركة قابضة خاضعة لسيطرة محكمة، حيث تمارس الشركة القابضة نفوذاً كبيراً على شركاتها التابعة في المسائل المالية والحوكمة. ولا يزال لدى الشركة المصرية القابضة للكهرباء صلات قوية مع الحكومة، من خلال الإعانات، وتسهيل تمويل الاستثمار، وأسعار الوقود، وتنظيم تعرفة الكهرباء.

وهناك خطط لتوسيع استخدام الطاقة الشمسية وطاقة الرياح في مصر. فقد أبرمت الشركة المصرية القابضة للكهرباء اتفاقية مع شركة سولار ميلنيوم وشركة أوراسكوم كونستركشن لبناء أول محطة للطاقة الشمسية الحرارية في الكريمات في عام 2010. بدأ تشغيل المحطة في يونيو 2011 وتبلغ طاقتها الإنتاجية 140 ميجاواط وطاقة سنوية تبلغ 852 جيجاواط/ساعي.

وفي عام 2015، بدأت هيئة تنمية واستخدام الطاقة الجديدة والمتجددة مشروعاً كبيراً للطاقة الشمسية في بنبان، شمال أسوان، يتكون من 41 محطة بسعة إجمالية تبلغ 1,8 جيجاواط. ومن المقرر الانتهاء من المشروع في عام 2018. وعلى الرغم من كونه أحد أكبر مجمعات الطاقة الشمسية في العالم، إلا أن تنفيذ مشاريع الطاقة الشمسية في مصر تواجه تحديات. وفي عام 2016، فشل مخطط كبير للطاقة الشمسية وذلك وفقاً للتعرفة حسب التغذية والذي تضمن مشاركة أكثر من 40 شركة، فشلاً ذريعاً بعد أن أجرت الحكومة تغييراتٍ في اللحظة الأخيرة على اتفاق شراء الطاقة، مما اضطر الشركات إلى الانسحاب. كما يواجه مخطط آخر للتعرفة حسب التغذية مسائل تتعلق بالخلافات حول العقود. ونظراً لصعوبات التعامل مع الحكومة، تستهدف بعض الشركات السوق خارج الشبكة، إلا أن هذا لا يشكل سوى مشاريع الطاقة الشمسية ذات النطاق الضيق.

وتعتبر ظروف توليد الكهرباء بواسطة طاقة الرياح جيدة على وجه الخصوص على طول ساحل البحر الأحمر. وتشمل حدائق الرياح في مصر على الزعفرانة، جنوب العين السخنة على خليج السويس، بقدرة 545 ميجاواط. وهناك مشروع آخر تبلغ قدرته 540 ميجاواط قيد الإنشاء في نفس المنطقة، في حين لا يزال هناك مشاريع مختلفة قيد الإعداد بطاقة توليد تبلغ 1,000 ميجاواط.

كما تعمل مصر على تطوير الطاقة النووية. ففي نوفمبر 2015، وقعت عقداً مع مؤسسة روساتوم الحكومية الروسية للطاقة النووية لبناء محطة نووية بقدرة 1,2 جيجاواط في مركز الضبعة، في محافظة مطروح على ساحل البحر الأبيض المتوسط. ووفقاً للاتفاق، ستقدم روسيا قرضاً بقيمة 25 مليار دولار لتمويل المحطة، التي سيتعين على مصر سداده على مدى 35 عاماً. وذكرت التقارير أن إنجاز المحطة سيتم في بداية عام 2022، غير أنه في أواخر عام 2017، لم يتم حتى استكمال عقود بناء المحطة بعد، وبالتالي، تبدو احتمالية الانتهاء من بناء المحطة في الفترة ما بين عامي 2025 و2030 أكثر واقعية.

كما تعتزم مصر إقامة شبكة ربط للكهرباء مع المملكة العربية السعودية تحت البحر الأحمر، والتي سيبدأ تشغيلها عام 2019. وسيكون ذلك مفيداً بالنظر إلى أنّ ذروة الطلب غالباً ما تكون في فترة الظهيرة في المملكة العربية السعودية بينما في مصر، في فترة المساء. وقد عرضت مصر مناقصةً للشركات للتنافس على الكابلات والمحولات، ولكن تم تأجيل القرار مراراً وتكراراً. وتمتلك مصر شبكة ربط بالفعل مع الأردن وثم إلى سوريا وتركيا، وكذلك مع ليبيا إلى الغرب. وقد صدّرت مصر نحو 900 مليون كيلوواط/ ساعي (صافي) في عام 2008.

image_pdfimage_print

Fanack Home / Egypt

Egypt

Egypt- Fuel prices in Egypt
An Egyptian taxi driver queues up to have his tank filled at a petrol station in Cairo. Egypt announced a new sharp increase in fuel prices as it slashed government subsidies in a tough IMF-backed reform programme. Photo AFP

Contents

Oil
Natural Gas
Coal
Electricity

Introduction

The Arab Republic of Egypt is the most populous Arabic-speaking country and the most populous country in the Middle East and North Africa (MENA) region. It has a large and fairly diversified economy, in which energy plays an important role. Given the huge population (96 million), energy exports have played a relatively small part in the economy compared to the countries of the Persian Gulf. Although it was a net energy exporter before the 2011 revolution, Egypt has relied on generous petroleum imports from the Gulf since 2013 and started to import liquefied natural gas (LNG) to meet demand in 2015. However, new and major gas discoveries since 2015 have allowed Egypt to limit LNG imports in 2017, and have raised hopes that Egypt will become a net gas exporter again from 2019.

Domestic energy consumption is substantial (and subsidized), although lower per capita than some of the richer oil-exporting states in the region, and the electrification rate is the highest in Africa.

Thanks to its location between the Mediterranean and the Red Sea, and its control of the Suez Canal, Egypt also plays an important role in energy transport.

Figure 1. Map of Egypt. Click to enlarge. @Fanack

About 2.97 million barrels per day (mb/d) of petroleum (crude and products) transited the Suez Canal in 2012, and 42.5 billion cubic meters (bcm) of LNG. This accounted for 7 per cent of total seaborne trade of petroleum and 13 per cent of LNG traded worldwide. The Sumed Pipeline, which has a capacity of 2.5 mb/d, allows crude oil to transit from the Red Sea’s Gulf of Suez to the Mediterranean from ships too large to go through the Suez Canal. Transit fees on the canal and pipeline are an important source of revenue for the government.

Egypt has experienced great upheaval since 2011, with long-time president Hosni Mubarak forced out by public demonstrations that were part of the Arab Spring uprisings, and subsequent political unrest that culminated in the overthrow of the Muslim Brotherhood by army general and current president Abdel Fattah al-Sisi. Egypt has not suffered the energy infrastructure damage that Libya, Yemen and other countries have, but the Arab Gas Pipeline that eventually feeds into a connector pipeline to Israel has been attacked numerous times by jihadist groups in the Sinai Peninsula, harming Egypt’s exports.

Oil

According to the Oil and Gas Journal’s January 2015 estimate, Egypt’s proven oil reserves stand at 4.4 billion barrels. This is small compared to the largest Gulf and North African producers but still quite large by global standards.

Egyptian oil production comes from five main areas: primarily the Gulf of Suez and the Nile Delta but also the Western Desert, the Eastern Desert and the Mediterranean Sea. Most production is derived from mature, relatively small fields that are connected to larger regional production systems. Production has been mostly declining in the past decades. In 2016, production stood at 544,000 barrels per day (bpd), up from 530,000 bpd in 2011, according to OPEC figures.

The Egyptian General Petroleum Corporation (EGPC) is the state entity charged with managing upstream activities including infrastructure, licencing and production. International and foreign national oil companies play a significant role in Egypt’s upstream sector on a production-sharing basis with EGPC. The energy sector is broken up into three holding companies in addition to EGPC and the Egyptian Mineral Resource Authority (EMRA): the Egyptian Natural Gas Holding Company (EGAS), the Egyptian Petrochemicals Holding Company (ECHEM) and Ganoub el Wadi Petroleum Holding Company (GANOPE).

For several years, new developments in the upstream petroleum (and gas) sectors have been slow as international oil companies were holding back investments in anticipation of the government paying its arrears, which in 2014 exceeded $6 billion. Since the Egyptian pound (EGP) was floated in November 2016, and the country’s liquidity improved thanks to international loans that ran into the billions, Egypt has been able to start repaying these companies, which have subsequently increased investments. Oil company debts have been reduced to $2.3 billion as of October 2017, and in the 2016-2017 fiscal year, oil investments have increased to $8.1 billion, up from $6.6 billion, Petroleum Minister Tarek al-Molla told the news agency Reuters.

The EGPC offer is diverse, although the largest single contingent of blocks comes from the prolific Western Desert, which stands out from the other areas as a continued growth region, with significant new discoveries still being made. With Egypt becoming a net importer of crude, the logic of licencing rounds and attracting investment has changed from maximizing the government take of a successful export business to one restricting the government cost of subsidizing imported fuels as much as possible. The smaller scale of discoveries has further incentivized the government to raise the frequency of licencing rounds and awards.

With regards to the downstream sector, the rise in consumption that is due in part to Egypt’s enormous and rising population (at 96 million by far the largest in the MENA region), as well as the continuing presence of subsidies, has meant that the country has been a (small) net importer of oil since sometime in 2008.

As part of the reforms that were a condition of the $12 billion loan approved by the International Monetary Fund (IMF) in November 2016, Egypt has started to reduce and phase out subsidies, particularly on fuel and electricity. For example, 50 litres of gasoline – roughly a full tank for an average vehicle – that in 2013 cost about EGP 80, now costs EGP 250, These reforms have decreased the fuel subsidy bill by almost half from 2011, but in the 2017-2018 fiscal year subsidies will still amount to $8 billion.

Total consumption of petroleum products was estimated at 797,000 bpd in 2014. Aided by increased domestic production, Egypt hopes to cut fuel imports to only 10 per cent of its consumption by 2019.

Egypt has a large amount of refining capacity, at 726,000 bpd crude oil throughput at nine refineries. However, total production of refined products reached 547,800 bpd in 2013, according to the CIA World Factbook. The largest is the Mostorod refinery in Cairo, with a capacity of 142,000 bpd. Egypt has been upgrading its existing refinery capacity and building new ones. The Egyptian Refinery Company is developing a new refinery with a capacity of 85,000 bpd, which is planned to start operation in 2018, after the initial completion date of 2016 was delayed. An upgrade of the Midor refinery in Alexandria from 115,000 bpd to 175,000 bpd is in progress. The Assiut refinery has also gone through several phases of upgrades and is set to start production in 2020.

Natural Gas

Major gas discoveries since 2015, most notably the ‘supergiant’ Zohr field in the Mediterranean, have had a major impact on Egypt’s financial and economic prospects. In the previous decade, Egypt greatly increased LNG production and built LNG terminals for export. The 2011 upheaval and subsequent economic crisis disrupted these export plans and forced Egypt to import expensive LNG shipments, putting an additional strain on its financial resources. The new gas discoveries have changed the equation. Egypt has started to limit the import of LNG and hopes to break even by early 2019. In the years beyond, it aspires to start exporting again.

The discovery of Zohr, which is being developed by Italy’s Eni company, was announced in August 2015. The field is expected to start producing by the end of 2017 and could hold up to 850 billion cubic metres (BCM) of gas.

Another major project is BP’s development of the Atoll field in the North Damietta Offshore Concession in the offshore East Nile Delta. It is estimated to hold 42 million cubic metres (MCM) of natural and 31 million barrels of condensates, and is projected to start production in 2018. BP has also started production in the West Nile Delta, where it is developing an estimated 140 MCM of gas and 55 million barrels of condensates.

Furthermore, BP made its third significant discovery in the North Damietta Offshore Concession in March 2017. Other developments include Shell’s discovery of an estimated 14 BCM of gas in the Western Desert in August 2016; and Eni’s discoveries in 2015 and 2016 in the Nooros field area of an estimated 60-70 MCM.

Egypt’s proven natural gas reserves are estimated at 2.19 TCM, the fourth largest in Africa after Nigeria, Algeria and Mozambique. These are significantly smaller than the countries of the Persian Gulf, with the exception of Kuwait and, of course, Bahrain, but they have greatly increased over the past 20 years as a result of the development of natural gas reserves in the Nile Delta as well as offshore in the Mediterranean including in deep water.

The improved financial situation in the country appears to have encouraged companies to explore for gas and oil in Egypt. In December 2016, six bids worth $200 million were accepted, while in August 2017 exploration deals worth a total of $160 million for fields in the Western Desert with Shell, Apex, Apache and Merlon were signed.

As in the oil sector, EGPC is the state entity charged with managing upstream activities including infrastructure, licencing and production. The promotion of the sector along with the development strategy is managed by EGAS. Both EGPC and EGAS work with private companies in joint venture partnerships.

Egypt has mostly used production-sharing agreements for foreign investment. In 2017, the government approved a new Natural Gas Act, setting up a gas regulatory body and privatizing the gas market in order to attract more investments.

The majority of natural gas in Egypt is used for electricity generation, with the next largest share for industry/petrochemicals. As per mid-2016, Egypt produced around 110 MCM per day and imported a further 30 MCM per day.

In 2010, Egypt still exported over 15 BCM, through the pipeline to Jordan and two LNG liquefaction and export facilities. The first LNG export facility to open was the single-train SEGAS (Unión Fenosa, EGAS, EGPC), at Damietta on the Mediterranean. It came online in December 2004 and has a capacity of 5.5 million tonnes per year.

Figure 2: Natural gas production and consumption in Egypt. Click to enlarge. @Fanack

Egyptian LNG (EGAS, EGPC, BG Group, Petronas and Gaz de France) at Idku on the Mediterranean has two trains, the first of which came online in September 2005, that have an export capacity of 3.6 million tonnes per year each.

Now that Egypt is importing instead of exporting, it rents two floating storage and regasification units (FSRUs) to convert imported LNG from liquid into gas.

The Arab Gas Pipeline was attacked multiple times in 2011 and 2012 by jihadist groups, most notably Ansar Beit al-Maqdis, which later pledged alliance to the Islamic State group. Following the pipeline’s closure in 2012, Israel brought an international arbitration case against Egypt, resulting in a $2 billion fine for the latter as a result of its failure to uphold its export agreement.

However, Israel and Egypt may have a mutual interest in gas relations. Israel aims to export natural gas from its major offshore Leviathan field but lacks export facilities. There has been a lot of talk about Egypt becoming a regional energy hub, re-exporting gas from Israel and Cyprus through its LNG terminals.

Coal

Egypt has one small coal mine, the Maghara mine in the Sinai Peninsula. Production is reported to be around 360,000 tonnes per year (although some sources show far lower figures). Production at Maghara, which is non-coking, contributes to a blend with imported metallurgical coal and is used for industrial processes.

In 2014, laws were amended to allow the use of coal in factories, in particular in the cement and steel industries and in power plants, in response to a structural shortage of power in the peak summer months. Large cement companies such as Lafarge and Italicementi have since started using coal to run their factories in Egypt. As a result, the country now imports 6 million tonnes of coal per year, according to media reports. In 2010, coal consumption stood at a little over 900,000 tonnes, then primarily used in the Helwan steel factory complex.

Egypt has signed several memoranda to build coal-fired power plants, with officials saying the country plans to generate 25-30 per cent of its electricity from coal. However, the status of these projects is unclear. In October 2017, the Ministry of Electricity and Energy delayed bidding for the construction of the planned $8 billion Hamrawein plant on the Red Sea, even though it aims to sign contracts by late 2018 and complete the plant in 2025. Another planned coal plant in South Sinai is also at an impasse over power purchase prices between the ministry and the contractor, the United Arab Emirates’ al-Nowais.

Electricity

Egypt is the third-largest consumer of electricity in the Middle East, after Saudi Arabia and Iran (not including Turkey). It also has the highest percentage of household access to electricity in Africa, above even South Africa. In May 2015, electricity generation capacity reached 31.45 gigawatts (GW), a significant increase compared to 23.5 GW in 2009. Some 70 per cent is fuelled by natural gas, 9.5 per cent by hydropower primarily from the Aswan High Dam and the remainder from petroleum and a small amount of renewable solar and wind power.

In the summer of 2013 and 2014, Egypt experienced severe blackouts when consumption exceeded production. In response, the government drew up a plan to add 30 GW of capacity by 2020. In 2015, the government signed a €8 billion deal with Siemens to build three natural gas-fired combined-cycle power plants with a capacity of 4.8 GW each. The first plant was connected to the grid in early 2017, and by May 2018 all three power plants are due to be completed, increasing Egypt’s total capacity by 45 per cent.

The Ministry of Electricity and Energy (MoEE) is the principal state entity in the electricity sector. A number of authorities and state-owned companies report to the MoEE including the Egyptian Electricity Holding Company (EEHC), New and Renewable Energy Agency (NREA), Rural Electrification Authority, Hydropower Projects Authority and nuclear energy agencies. EEHC in turn owns major generating companies such as the Cairo Electricity Production Company (CEPC). EEHC has been unbundled but operates as a tightly controlled holding company, with the holding company exerting significant influence over its subsidiaries in financial and governance matters. EEHC still has strong links to the government, through subsidies, facilitation of investment financing, fuel prices and electricity tariff regulation.

There are plans to expand solar and wind power in Egypt. The EEHC entered into an agreement with Solar Millenium and Orascom Construction to build the first solar thermal power plant at al-Kuraymat in 2010. The plant started operation in June 2011 and has an installed capacity of 140 MW and a yearly energy of 852 gigawatt-hours (GWh).

In 2015, NREA started a large solar project in Benban, north of Aswan, consisting of 41 plants with a total capacity of 1.8 GW. The project is due for completion in 2018. Despite this being one of the largest solar power parks in the world, the implementation of solar power in Egypt has faced challenges. In 2016, a larger solar power feed-in tariff (FiT) scheme with over 40 companies involved largely failed after the government made last-minute changes to the power purchase agreement, forcing companies to withdraw. A second FiT scheme is also facing issues over contract disagreements. Due to the difficulties of dealing with the government, some companies target the off-grid market, but this constitutes only smaller scale solar projects.

Conditions for wind power are particular good along the Red Sea coast. Wind parks in Egypt include the 545 MW Zafarana, south of Ain Sokhna on the Gulf of Suez. Another 540 MW project is under construction in the same area, while a further 1,000 MW in different projects are still in the pipeline.

Egypt is also working on developing nuclear power. In November 2015, it signed an agreement with Russia’s Rosatom to build a 1.2 GW nuclear power plant in Dabaa, in the Matrhouh governorate on the Mediterranean coast. According to the agreement, Russia will provide a $25 billion loan to finance the plant, which Egypt will have to repay over a period of 35 years. The completion date was at first reported to be 2022. However, in late 2017 the contracts for the plant construction had not yet been finalized, so a completion date between 2025 and 2030 seems more realistic.

Egypt is planning to construct an electricity linkage with Saudi Arabia underneath the Red Sea, to be operational in 2019. This would be advantageous given that peak demand is often at noon in Saudi Arabia but in the evening in Egypt. Egypt has submitted a tender for companies to compete for cables and transformers, but a decision has repeatedly been delayed. Egypt already has a link to Jordan and onward to Syria and Turkey as well as with Libya to the west. Egypt exported about 900 million kWh (net) in 2008.

image_pdfimage_print

We would like to ask you something …

Fanack is an independent media organisation, not funded by any state or any interest group, that distributes in the Middle East and the wider world unbiased analysis and background information, based on facts, about the Middle East and North Africa.

The website grew rapidly in breadth and depth and today forms a rich and valuable source of information on 21 countries, from Morocco to Oman and from Iran to Yemen, both in Arabic and English. We currently reach six million readers annually and growing fast.

In order to guarantee the impartiality of information on the Chronicle, articles are published without by-lines. This also allows correspondents to write more freely about sensitive or controversial issues in their country. All articles are fact-checked before publication to ensure that content is accurate, current and unbiased.

To run such a website is very expensive. With a small donation, you can make a huge impact. And it only takes a minute. Thank you.