فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / الطاقة في قطر

الطاقة في قطر

Qatar- Ras Laffan
صورة تُظهر مدينة رأس لفان الصناعية، الموقع الرئيسي في قطر لإنتاج الغاز الطبيعي المسال والغاز المسال، والذي تديره شركة قطر للبترول، شمال العاصمة الدوحة ، 6 فبراير 2017. Photo AFP

المحتويات

النفط
الغاز الطبيعي
الكهرباء

تتمتع إمارة قطر (المعروفة رسمياً بدولة قطر) بأعلى إيراداتٍ للفرد الواحد من المحروقات في العالم وهي أكبر مُصدّر للغاز الطبيعي المسال في العالم. من المرجح أن يستمر اعتماد قطر على النفط والغاز الطبيعي في المستقبل المنظور. تتجاوز احتياطيات الغاز الطبيعي المؤكدة 25 تريليون متر مكعب – 13% من الإجمالي العالمي، ومن بين البلدان، تمتلك قطر ثالث أكبر احتياطي في العالم. تتجاوز احتياطيات النفط المؤكدة 25 مليار برميل، مما يسمح للإنتاج بالاستمرار بمستوياته الحالية لنحو 56 عاماً. على الرغم من هيمنة النفط والغاز الطبيعي، حققت قطر مكاسب كبيرة في تعزيز القطاعات غير النفطية، مثل الصناعات التحويلية والبناء والخدمات المالية، مما أدى إلى ارتفاع الناتج المحلي الإجمالي غير النفطي في السنوات الأخيرة إلى ما يزيد قليلاً عن نصف الإجمالي. تشير التقديرات إلى أن حوالي 85% من إيرادات الصادرات القطرية تأتي من النفط والغاز.

قطر دولة صغيرة تبلغ مساحتها 118686 كيلومتراً مربعاً، ولكن العديد من مواردها بحرية، بما في ذلك معظم حصتها من أكبر حقول الغاز الطبيعي المعروفة في العالم، حقل غاز الشمال (انظر الخريطة أدناه). قطر ملكية غير دستورية تحكمها أسرة آل ثاني، ويحكمها الأمير تميم بن حمد آل ثاني، بينما عبد الله بن ناصر بن خليفة آل ثاني، أحد أعضاء الأسرة الحاكمة، هو رئيس الوزراء ووزير الداخلية. ويتقلّد سعد شريدة الكعبي منصب وزير الطاقة والصناعة والرئيس التنفيذي لشركة قطر للبترول. قطر عضو في منظمة الدول المصدرة للنفط (أوبك) وفي مجلس التعاون الخليجي.

تم حل النزاعات الحدودية مع البحرين والمملكة العربية السعودية في عام 2001، وكانت هناك خططٌ لبناء جسر بين قطر والبحرين. ومع ذلك، في عام 2017 ، قطعت كتلةٌ بقيادة السعودية العلاقات الدبلوماسية مع قطر وفرضت حصاراً برياً وجوياً عليها. اتهمت دول الحصار، بما في ذلك البحرين، قطر بدعم الإرهاب وأصدرت قائمة من المطالب التي يجب الوفاء بها لرفع الحصار.

إضغط للتكبير. @Fanack.com

وكان من بينها إغلاق قناة الجزيرة، وخفض العلاقات مع إيران، وإغلاق قاعدة تركية في قطر. وعليه، نفت قطر هذا الاتهام ورفضت المطالب قائلة إن المساس بسيادتها خطٌ أحمر. وفي عام 2014، وقعت تركيا وقطر عقداً عسكرياً لتنسيقٍ دفاعي أوسع ضد الأعداء المشتركين. تشير الاتفاقية أيضاً إلى أن قطر يمكنها إنشاء قاعدة عسكرية في تركيا إذا لزم الأمر. تم الانتهاء من إنشاء قاعدة عسكرية تركية في قطر خلال عامين، واليوم، واليوم في عام 2019، يتمركز أكثر من 3000 جندي تركي في قطر.

غالبية سكان قطر هم من غير المواطنين. وعلى الرغم من صعوبة الحصول على أرقامٍ دقيقة، يُعتقد عموماً أن الوافدين يشكلون ما نسبته 88% من إجمالي عدد السكان البالغ 2,2 مليون نسمة. وكحال دول الخليج الأخرى، تعتمد قطر على العمالة الوافدة في الكثير من الصناعات الهيدروكربونية والبناء، بما في ذلك البنية التحتية لنهائيات كأس العالم عام 2022، وكذلك العمالة اليدوية الأساسية.

وضعت أول خطة للتقطير في عام 1962، بموجب قانون العمل القطري رقم 3، الذي ينص على إعطاء المواطنين القطريين الأولوية لشغل الوظائف الشاغرة في القوى العاملة. ومع ذلك، في عام 2000، بدأت سياسة التقطير الأوسع نطاقاً تطبق لتقليل أعداد المغتربين في القوى العاملة وزيادة فرص المواطنين القطريين في المناصب الحرجة، لا سيما في قطاع الطاقة. تم تقديم هذه السياسة جزئياً لأن الحكومة بدأت بالنظر إلى المغتربين على أنهم يشكلون خطراً على الأمن القومي بدلاً من كونهم يُشكلون منفعةً اقتصادية. ونتيجةً لذلك، قررت إصلاح النظام التعليمي. وبموجب خطة الإصلاح هذه، ركز صانعو السياسات على تطوير النظام التعليمي متجاهلين الهيكل الاجتماعي للمجتمع الذي يرتبط بالجنس. تتعلق الانتقادات العامة للسياسة بشكلٍ أساسي بعدم وجود نهجٍ عملي ومعايير ثقافية مما نتج عنه تمييز بين الجنسين في أقسام جامعية ومهنٍ معينة. السبب الثاني الذي تم أخذه بعين الإعتبار في ظل التجاهل الثقافي هو عدم رغبة المرأة القطرية بالعمل لساعاتٍ طويلة بعيداً عن أسرهنّ والعمل في بيئاتٍ مختلطة. ووفقاً لبرنامج تقييم الطلاب الدوليين، فإن مستوى كفاءة الطلاب في العلوم منخفضٌ بشكلٍ مثير للقلق. وبالمثل، فإن العديد من الخريجين لا يتمتعون بمستوى كافٍ من إتقان اللغة الإنجليزية للعمل بفعالية في بيئة العمل، وهذا يعني أنهم يكافحون لإيجاد أو إكمال الدورات التدريبية التي ستحقق أهداف القوى العاملة الوطنية. بالإضافة إلى ذلك، يختار العديد من الطلاب العلوم الاجتماعية بدلاً من المواد التقنية اللازمة في الصناعات الرئيسية في البلاد.

النفط

تُقدر احتياطيات قطر المؤكدة من النفط الخام بنحو 25,5 مليار برميل في تقرير شركة بريتش بتروليوم الإحصائي للطاقة العالمية (اعتباراً من يونيو 2018)، وهو رقمٌ يضعها في المرتبة التاسعة بين دول أوبك وفي المرتبة الـ13 في العالم. يحتل إنتاج قطر من النفط الخام والمكثفات المرتبة الـ17 في العالم، حيث يتم تصدير معظم إنتاج البلاد. وعلى عكس بعض دول أوبك الأخرى، لم ترفع قطر تقديراتها للاحتياطي الرسمي عندما أعيد تقييم الحصص في منتصف الثمانينات للحصول على مخصصاتٍ مربحة. ومع ذلك، فقد تم رفع هذه التقديرات بشكلٍ كبير في الأعوام 2000 و2001 و2003، ربما لأن الأرقام تشمل المكثفات و/أو بعض سوائل الغاز الطبيعي، وفقاً لإدارة معلومات الطاقة الأمريكية.

في عام 2017، بلغ متوسط إنتاج قطر من النفط 1,916,000 برميل يومياً، وفقاً لشركة بريتش بتروليوم. كما بلغ إنتاج النفط الخام في عام 2017 وحده حوالي 1,500,000 برميل يومياً، وفقاً لمنصة واي تشارتس، على الرغم من أن أرقام أوبك أظهرت انخفاضاً نسبياً في الإنتاج لأن أوبك غالباً ما تشير إلى أرقامٍ أقل من المحللين المستقلين حتى لا تشير إلى انتهاكاتٍ كبيرة لحصص أوبك.

تم استغلال حقل دخان البري الرئيسي في قطر لأول مرة في عام 1949، حيث تبلغ طاقته الإنتاجية 335 ألف برميل يومياً. تم اكتشاف النفط في البحر عام 1960 وبدأ استخراجه تجارياً في عام 1964 في حقل العد الشرقي. أكبر حقل بحري هو الشاهين، وهو حقلٌ مصاحب للغاز محاط بالكامل بحقل غاز الشمال غير المصاحب للنفط. يتم تشغيل حقل الشاهين من قبل شركة ميرسك أويل في اتفاقية لتقاسم الإنتاج مع شركة قطر للبترول.

إضغط للتكبير. @Fanack.com

يبلغ الإنتاج حوالي 330 ألف برميل يومياً. يتم إنتاج كميات أخرى من النفط من الحقول البحرية الأصغر، مثل ميدان محزم وبو الحنين، التي تقع في الشمال الشرقي من المياه الإقليمية لقطر (انظر الخريطة أدناه). تستثمر شركتا ميرسك وقطر للبترول في تقنيات استخراج النفط المحسنة للحفاظ على الإنتاج وربما توسيعه. قامت قطر، في بعض الأحيان، بتعديل الإنتاج قليلاً وفقاً لاتفاقيات أوبك، على الرغم من أنها تجاوزت حصتها في السنوات الأخيرة.

تمتلك قطر شبكة خطوط أنابيب واسعة النطاق تربط حقولها النفطية بمرافق المعالجة في جزيرة حالول ومحطة التصدير في أم سعيد (مسيعيد). يتم نقل النفط الخام الذي لا يتم تصديره عبر الأنابيب إلى مصفاة مسيعيد بطاقة تبلغ 137,000 برميل في اليوم. يشتمل جزء من البنية التحتية للمصفاة على وحدة فصل المكثفات، لكن بسبب الكمية الكبيرة من المكثفات المنتجة من حقول الغاز الطبيعي في قطر، قررت قطر غاز بناء مصفاة لفصل المكثفات في راس لفان، التي تم تشغيلها في سبتمبر 2009. تبلغ طاقة المعالجة في المصفاة 146 ألف برميل في اليوم. ومع ذلك، بسبب وفرة سوق التكرير التي عززها الركود الاقتصادي العالمي، فقد تم تنفيذ مشاريع لإضافة مصفاة تكثيف ثانية بحجم متساوٍ في راس لفان وتم وضع مصفاة جديدة بطاقة 250 ألف برميل يومياً في مسيعيد (سيطلق عليها اسم الشاهين) على قائمة الإنتظار. كان من المقرر أن تقوم مصفاة الشاهين بتكرير كمياتٍ إضافية من النفط الخام الثقيل من التوسع المخطط له في حقل الشاهين. أصبحت شركة توتال الفرنسية وقطر للبترول شريكتين في حقل الشاهين من خلال شركة نفط الشمال في يونيو 2016. تقوم شركة نفط الشمال بتشغيل حقل الشاهين.

نما استهلاك قطر من النفط بشكلٍ كبير خلال العقدين الأخيرين وهو مرتفع للغاية للفرد الواحد. ووفقاً لتقرير سوق النفط للوكالة الدولية للطاقة، ارتفع استهلاك غاز البترول المسال بين عامي 2010 و2015، أي ما مجموعه خمس سنوات، من 512,000 طن إلى 869,000 طن سنوياً، وارتفع استهلاك البنزين في السيارات من 1,110,000 طن إلى 1,734,000 طن، وزاد استهلاك الديزل بنسبة 50% تقريباً إلى 2,430,000 طن. هذا لا يعكس فحسب النمو الاقتصادي القوي في قطر، بل أيضاً الاستخدام المتزايد لغاز البترول المسال (المعروف أيضاً باسم البروبان) في منشآت البتروكيماويات.

الغاز الطبيعي

تمتلك قطر أكبر حقل للغاز الطبيعي غير المصاحب في العالم وأكبر طاقة تصديرية للغاز الطبيعي المسال في العالم. إن حقل الغاز الطبيعي هذا، حقل الشمال، يقع في الأساس في البحر ويعبر جزءٌ منه الحدود البحرية القطرية الإيرانية (يُعرف القسم الإيراني باسم حقل بارس الجنوبي). قُدّر إجمالي احتياطيات الغاز في قطر بحوالي 24,90 تريليون متر مكعب من قبل شركة بريتيش بتروليوم في يونيو 2018، ويحتل المرتبة الثالثة في العالم.

كانت قطر أكبر منتجٍ للغاز الطبيعي المسال في العالم في عاميّ 2017 و2018، مع عدم وجود نموٍ في الإنتاج، وكذلك أكبر مُصدّر للغاز الطبيعي المسال، حيث تم تصدير 78,7 مليون طن في عام 2018 (25% من الإمدادات العالمية). وفي عام 2018، أعلنت الحكومة عن خططٍ لتوسيع الطاقة الإنتاجية للغاز الطبيعي المسال من 77 مليون طن إلى 110 مليون طن سنوياً بحلول عام 2024. ووفقاً لمجلة النفط والغاز، فإن التوسع سيزيد الإنتاج إلى حوالي 32 مليون طن سنوياً من الغاز الطبيعي المسال، و4000 طن يومياً من الإيثان، و260 ألف برميل يومياً من المكثفات، و11 ألف طن يومياً من غاز البترول المسال وحوالي 20 طناً يومياً من الهيليوم النقي.

لوضع هذا في المنظور الصحيح، تمتلك الإمارة الصغيرة احتياطيات أكبر من الغاز الطبيعي أكبر من الولايات المتحدة وكندا مجتمعتين. وتمتلك إيران فحسب، الجارة الضخمة لدولة قطر عبر الخليج، احتياطيات أكبر من الغاز الطبيعي في الشرق الأوسط. وعلى الصعيد العالمي، تعد روسيا الدولة الوحيدة التي تمتلك احتياطيات أكبر من إيران.

تم تطوير حقل غاز الشمال من قبل إتحادين للشركات، قطر غاز وراس غاز، لتصدير الغاز الطبيعي المسال بالإضافة إلى اتحاد ثالث، الخليج غاز، للسوق المحلية. تعتبر شركة قطر للبترول المساهم الأكبر في جميع هذه الشركات، مع ملكية أجنبية كبيرة وشركة نفط دولية واحدة كمشغل. من بين المشغلين توتال وإكسون موبيل ورويال داتش شل وكونوكو فيليبس. الشركات التجارية اليابانية ميتسو وماروبيني تمتلك أيضاً أسهماً صغيرة في بعض المشاريع. راس غاز هي مشروع مشترك 70/30 بين قطر للبترول وإكسون موبيل؛ حيث أن مشروعاً مشتركاً مماثل بين هاتين الشركتين يدير شركة الخليج غاز. تخطط قطر للبترول زيادة القدرة الإنتاجية في القطاع الجنوبي من حقل غاز الشمال، ووفقاً للرئيس التنفيذي لشركة قطر للبترول، الكعبي، سيزيد المشروع إنتاج حقل الشمال بنسبة 10%، مضيفاً نحو 400 ألف برميل من المكافىء النفطي.

تأتي الغالبية العظمى من الإنتاج القطري من حقل غاز الشمال، على الرغم من أن بعض الحقول الأصغر تسهم في حجم الإنتاج أيضاً. تنتج قطر الآن ما يزيد عن 419 مليون متر مكعب يومياً أو 153 مليار متر مكعب سنوياً من حقل غاز الشمال. تعتبر هذه زيادة كبيرة منذ عام 2008، عندما كان الإنتاج يبلغ حوالي 91 مليار متر مكعب، وأكثر من ضعف إنتاج عام 2006. وكما ذكر أعلاه، يتم إنتاج عدد من سوائل الغاز الطبيعي (أي البروبان والبيوتان والإيثان) والمكثفات من حقل غاز الشمال . يشمل ذلك حوالي 150 ألف برميل يومياً من سوائل الغاز الطبيعي و90 ألف برميل يومياً من المكثفات في عام 2009، على الرغم من أنه مع الانتهاء من المراحل الإضافية لشركتي راس غاز وقطر غاز، بالإضافة إلى مصفاة التكثيف في راس لفان (انظر أعلاه)، فإن رقم إنتاج المكثفات أعلى بكثير الآن . وفي عام 2017، بلغ إجمالي استهلاك الغاز الطبيعي في الإمارة 47,4 مليار متر مكعب. تستخدم قطر الغاز في إنتاج الطاقة الكهربائية والبتروكيماويات والاستخدامات الصناعية الأخرى.

تمتلك قطر أيضاً قدراتٍ كبيرة في تحويل الغاز إلى سوائل (GTL)، حيث تنتج بشكلٍ أساسي الديزل النقي للغاية من الميثان. لا يخضع إنتاج تحويل الغاز إلى سوائل لحصص إنتاج أوبك، على الرغم من أنه ينافس النفط الخام بشكلٍ غير مباشر بمعنى أن نفس المنتجات يتم تشكيلها (معظمها من وقود الديزل والكيروسين/ ووقود الطائرات النفاثة). تمتلك الإمارة مصنعاً ضخماً لتحويل الغاز إلى سوائل، مصنع أوريكس، وهو قيد الإنتاج حالياً. بدأ تشغيل قطاري مصنع اللؤلؤة في عام 2011. ينتج أوريكس، وهو مشروع مشترك بين قطر للبترول (51%) وشركة ساسول من جنوب إفريقيا (49%)، حوالي 30 ألف برميل يومياً من نواتج التقطير المتوسطة. منشأة أوريكس في راس لفان مزودة بـ 8,495 متر مكعب يومياً من الميثان الخفيف- الغاز الغني من الحقل الشمالي، ويمكن أن تنتج 34 ألف برميل يومياً من السوائل، بما في ذلك 24 ألف برميل من وقود الديزل السائل، و9000 برميل من النفتا و1000 برميل من الغاز النفطي المسال. لقد أثبتت أوريكس أن تحويل الغاز إلى سوائل يمكن أن يكون مشروعاً صناعياً مربحاً في ظل أسعار النفط والغاز في السنوات القليلة الماضية، إلا أنه تم إدراج أوريكس في الميزانية لتحقيق التوازن حتى وإن كانت أسعار النفط منخفضة إلى حدٍ ما. هناك مخاوف من أن تكاليف بدء التشغيل الضخمة لمصنع اللؤلؤة (حوالي 20 مليار دولار)، بالإضافة إلى ارتفاع الطلب من المشترين بسبب نقص عقود الغاز طويلة الأجل في السنوات الخمس الماضية، يمكن أن يشكل تحدياً للربحية. هذه من بين الأسباب التي دفعت شركة إكسون موبيل إلى إلغاء مشروعها المشترك الذي تبلغ إنتاجيته 154 ألف برميل يومياً مع شركة بالم جي تي إل. على صعيدٍ نتصل، يعدّ اللؤلؤة مشروعاً مشتركاً بين قطر للبترول وشل، وستنتج قطاراتها مجتمعة 140 ألف برميل يومياً.

وفي الوقت نفسه، تهدف قطر أيضاً إلى حماية حصتها من الغاز الطبيعي المسال في السوق العالمية. تريد قطر أيضاً استغلال احتياطياتها قبل أن يتناقص الطلب على الغاز الطبيعي المسال، حيث أعلنت أن قطارات الغاز الطبيعي المسال الجديدة من المتوقع أن تكتمل في عام 2019-2020. ولا تزال اليابان والصين وكوريا الجنوبية والهند من بين كبار مستوردي الغاز الطبيعي المسال من قطر، على الرغم من أن الريادة القطرية في إمدادات الغاز الطبيعي المسال قد واجهت تحدياتٍ في السنوات الأخيرة من قبل القادمين الجدد مثل أستراليا والولايات المتحدة، وخاصة في أسواق آسيا والمحيط الهادىء. المنافسة المتزايدة هي السبب الرئيسي لخطط التوسع في حقل غاز الشمال.

مع وجود الكثير من الغاز المكرّس للغاز الطبيعي المسال وتحويل الغاز إلى سوائل، يبدو أن قطر لن تُصدّر كمياتٍ إضافية من الغاز الطبيعي عبر الأنابيب إلى جيرانها في المستقبل القريب. وعلى عكس قطر، تحتاج بعض الدول الأخرى في المنطقة، مثل الكويت والبحرين والإمارات العربية المتحدة وعُمان، إلى استيراد الغاز. يربط مشروع غاز دولفين قطر بالإمارات العربية المتحدة وسلطنة عمان عبر خط أنابيب تحت البحر. وفي عام 2017، استوردت كل من عُمان والإمارات 20 مليار متر مكعب لكل منهما من الغاز من قطر عبر هذا الخط. تبلغ سعة خط الأنابيب من راس لفان إلى منطقة الطويلة في الإمارات 90 مليون متر مكعب في اليوم، لكن لا توجد خطط لزيادة الصادرات عبر هذا المسار.

الكهرباء

بلغت طاقة توليد الكهرباء في قطر حوالي8,800 ميجاواط في عام 2017، وفقاً لتقارير الدولة. تدير المؤسسة العامة القطرية للكهرباء والماء هذا القطاع، وهي شركة حكومية تحتكر النقل والتوزيع. حلت محل وزارة حكومية في عام 2000 وشرعت في بيع أصول توليدها لشركة الكهرباء والماء القطرية (QEWC). تمتلك شركة الكهرباء والماء القطرية، وهي شركة تمت خصخصتها جزئياً ، غالبية طاقة التوليد في قطر، رغم أن هناك الآن منتجين مستقلين للمياه والطاقة. بالإضافة إلى ذلك، تتولى شركة الكهرباء والماء القطرية مشاريع التوليد بالاشتراك مع المستثمرين من القطاع الخاص.

يتم دمج العديد من محطات توليد الطاقة في قطر مع مرافق تحلية المياه، على سبيل المثال شركة راس لفان للطاقة (RLPC)، وهي مشروع مشترك بين شركة كهرباء ومياه دبي (80%)، وقطر للبترول (10%) ومؤسسة الخليج للاستثمار التابعة لمجلس التعاون الخليجي (10%). كان لدى شركة راس لفان للطاقة مجمع بلغت تكلفته 720 مليون دولار وتم بناؤه في راس لفان بواسطة إنيل باور الإيطالية بسعة 1500 ميجاواط و303 مليون لتر من المياه يومياً.

كما هو مذكورٌ على موقع الشركة الإلكتروني، تعد شركة الكهرباء والماء القطرية ثاني أكبر شركة في مجال توليد الطاقة وتحلية المياه في الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا. وهي المورد الرئيسي للكهرباء والمياه المحلاة في قطر، بحصة سوقية تبلغ 62% للكهرباء و79% للمياه. توّلد الشركة 5,4 ميجاواط من الكهرباء وتنتج 1,173 مليون لتر من المياه يومياً. قامت بتحديث طاقتها الإنتاجية من محطتي راس أبو فنطاس (أ /ب) ومحطتي الوجبة والسيلية التابعة. كما تلعب أيضاً دوراً رئيسياً في مرافق الخدمات الأخرى مثل مشروع قطر للطاقة، الذي ينتج 1,025 ميجاواط. وتملك شركة الكهرباء والماء القطرية 55% من أسهم شركة قطر للطاقة وحصة تبلغ نسبتها 45% في منشأة راس قرطاس، أكبر مشروع للطاقة والمياه في قطر حتى الآن. تبلغ طاقة إنتاج راس قرطاس 2,730 ميجاواط. تزوّد قطر للبترول مشاريع الطاقة بالغاز الطبيعي.

تعمل جميع محطات توليد الطاقة في قطر تقريباً بالغاز، وهو ما يمثل حصة كبيرة من استهلاك الغاز الطبيعي. يتم توفير الكهرباء مجاناً للمستهلكين من المواطنين القطريين، بحدٍ أقصى معيّن في السنة. يستهلك قطاع الطاقة أكثر من 11 مليون متر مكعب من الغاز يومياً، وسيزداد هذا مع القدرة الإنتاجية الجديدة. ينمو الطلب على الكهرباء أيضاً، ويرجع ذلك جزئياً كونها مجانية إلى حدٍ معين. توسعت شبكة النقل إلى حدٍ كبير للتعامل مع الطاقة الإضافية. وشمل التوسع في شبكة المرحلة الثامنة الأخيرة 3,5 مليار دولار في العقود. بلغ إجمالي استهلاك الكهرباء في قطر 43 تيراواط ساعي عام 2017. فقد ازداد عدد عملاء الكهرباء أيضاً، من 132,429 في عام 1998 إلى 191,476 في عام 2007 ووصل إلى 350,000 في عام 2016.

في يوليو 2009، ربطت كل من قطر والبحرين والكويت والسعودية شبكات الكهرباء الخاصة بهم ببعضها البعض. في قطر، بلغ إنتاج الكهرباء في نهاية عام 2013، 8,755 ميجاواط، في ارتفاعٍ من 4,032 ميجاواط في عام 2008. وكان من المتوقع أن يصل هذا إلى 10,170 ميجاواط بحلول نهاية عام 2017، وذلك بفضل التوسع الكبير في شبكة النقل. ووفقاً للسجلات الرسمية، أنشأت قطر للبترول وشركة الكهرباء والماء القطرية شركة مشتركة، سراج للطاقة، لتوليد الطاقة الشمسية، حيث تمتلك شركة قطر للبترول نسبة 40% وتمتلك وشركة الكهرباء والماء القطرية 60% في الشركة. تهدف الشركة إلى تنويع مصادر إنتاج الطاقة وزيادة الاعتماد على المصادر البديلة للطاقة. تم تخصيص أرض في الخرسعة للمشروع، الذي من المقرر أن ينتج ما بين 500 إلى 1000 ميجاواط باستخدام تكنولوجيا الطاقة الشمسية الضوئية.

image_pdfimage_print

دعمكم عونٌ لنا

فَنَك هي مؤسسة إعلامية إلكترونية مستقلة، لا تمولها أي دولة أو مجموعات مصالح. تلتزم فَنَك بنشر تحليلاتٍ مبنية على الوقائع ومحايدة، إلى جانب التقارير المواضيعية حول الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا.
شهد الموقع نمواً سريعاً في نطاق وعمق المعلومات التي يُقدمها، واليوم، بات يُشكل مصدراً غنياً وقيماً للمعلومات عن 21 بلداً، من المغرب إلى عُمان ومن إيران إلى اليمن، باللغتين العربية والإنجليزية. حالياً، وصل عدد القراء إلى 6 ملايين سنوياً، والعدد آخذٌ بالإزدياد.
لضمان حيادية المعلومات على موقع فَنَك (وقائع وأحداث) ، تُنشر المقالات دون ذكر أسماء الكتّاب، مما يُتيح أيضاً لمراسلينا مساحة أكبر من الحرية عند التطرق إلى القضايا الحساسة أو المثيرة للجدل فى بلادهم. وإلى جانب ذلك، نتحرى حقائق جميع المعلومات الواردة في مقالاتنا قبل النشر لضمان دقة المعلومات، وحداثتها وحيادها.

استمرارية تشغيل مثل هذا الموقع الإلكتروني مُكلفة للغاية. بتبرعٍ صغيرٍ منك، يمكنك المساهمة في الحفاظ على حرية واستقلالية تغطيتنا.

Fanack Home / Qatar’s Energy

Qatar’s Energy

Qatar- Ras Laffan
A picture shows the Ras Laffan Industrial City, Qatar’s principal site for the production of liquefied natural gas and gas-to-liquid, administrated by Qatar Petroleum, north of the capital Doha, on February 6, 2017. Photo AFP

Contents

Oil
Natural gas
Electricity

The Gulf emirate of Qatar (officially the State of Qatar) has the highest per capita hydrocarbon revenues in the world and is the world’s largest exporter of liquefied natural gas (LNG). Qatar’s reliance on oil and natural gas is likely to persist for the foreseeable future. Proven natural gas reserves exceed 25 trillion cubic metres (TCM) – 13 per cent of the world total and, among countries, third largest in the world. Proven oil reserves exceed 25 billion barrels (bbbl), allowing production to continue at current levels for about 56 years.

Despite the dominance of oil and natural gas, Qatar has made significant gains in strengthening non-oil sectors, such as manufacturing, construction and financial services, resulting in rising non-oil GDP in recent years to just over half of the total. It is estimated that roughly 85 per cent of Qatar’s export earnings come from oil and gas.

Qatar is a small country at 11,586 km2, but many of its resources are offshore, including most of its share of the world’s largest known natural gas field, the North Field (see map below). Qatar is a non-constitutional monarchy ruled by the al-Thani family, of which Tamim bin Hamad al-Thani is the emir and Abdullah bin Nasser bin Khalifa al-Thani, a member of the ruling family, is prime minister and interior minister. Saad Sherida al-Kaabi is minister of energy and industry and chief executive officer (CEO) of state oil company Qatar Petroleum.

Qatar is a member of the Organization of the Petroleum Exporting Countries (OPEC) and of the Gulf Cooperation Council (GCC).

Click to enlarge. @Fanack.com

Border disputes with Bahrain and Saudi Arabia were resolved in 2001, and there were plans to build a causeway between Qatar and Bahrain. However, in 2017, a Saudi-led bloc severed diplomatic ties with Qatar and imposed a sea, land and air blockade. The blockading countries, which included Bahrain, accused Qatar of supporting terrorism and issued a list of demands that had to be met for the blockade to be lifted. Among them was the closure of the al-Jazeera broadcasting company, the scaling down of relations with Iran and the closure of a Turkish base in Qatar. Qatar denied the accusation and rejected the demands, saying that its sovereignty is a red line. In 2014, Turkey and Qatar signed a military contract for broader defence coordination against common enemies. The agreement also indicates that Qatar may set up a military base in Turkey if necessary. A Turkish military base in Qatar was completed in two years, and in 2019 more than 3,000 Turkish soldiers are stationed in Qatar.

The majority of Qatar’s residents are non-citizen expatriates. Although precise figures are difficult to come by, it is generally thought that expatriates make up 88 per cent of the total population of 2.7 million. Like the other Gulf countries, Qatar relies on expatriate labour for much of its hydrocarbon and construction industries, including the infrastructure for the 2022 FIFA World Cup, as well as for basic manual labour.

The first Qatarization scheme was formulated in 1962, with Qatari Labor Law No. 3, which stipulated that Qatari nationals are to be given first priority for filling vacant positions in the workforce. However, in 2000, the broadest Qatarization policy started to apply to decrease the number of expatriates in its labour force and increase opportunities for Qatari nationals in critical positions, particularly in energy sector. The policy was introduced in part because the government started to see the expatriates as a national security risk rather than an economic benefit. As a result, it decided to reform the education system. Under this reform plan, policymakers concentrated on developing the education system while disregarded gender related social structure of the society. General criticisms of the policy mainly relate to the lack of a practical approach and cultural norms that result in gender discrimination for females in certain university departments and professions. Second reason that counted under cultural disregards, Qatari Women are unwilling to work long hours away from their families and work in mixed-gender environments. According to the Program of International Student Assessment, the level of students’ science proficiency is worryingly low. Similarly, many graduates have an insufficient level of English to operate effectively in a working environment. This means they struggle to find or complete training courses that will achieve the national labour force targets. In addition, many students choose social sciences rather than the technical subjects needed in the country’s main industries.

Oil

Qatar’s proven crude oil reserves are estimated at 25.2 bbbl by the BP Statistical Review of World Energy (as of June 2018), a figure that puts it ninth among OPEC countries and 13th in the world. Qatar’s crude oil and lease condensate production ranks 17th in the world, with most of the country’s production exported. Unlike some other OPEC countries, Qatar did not raise its official reserve estimates when quotas were re-evaluated in the mid-1980s to gain an advantageous allocation. However, these estimates were raised dramatically in 2000, 2001 and 2003, possibly because the figures include condensates and/or some natural gas liquids, according to U.S. Energy Information Administration.

In 2017, Qatar’s oil production averaged 1,916,000 barrels per day (bpd) according to the BP. Crude oil production in 2017 alone averaged about 1,500,000 bpd (barrels per day), according to the YCharts, though OPEC numbers showed somewhat lower production since OPEC often reports lower numbers than independent analysts in order not to indicate large violations of OPEC quotas.

Qatar’s mainstay onshore field, Dukhan, was first exploited in 1949 and has a production capacity of 335,000 bpd. Oil was discovered offshore in 1960 and began to be commercially extracted in 1964 at the Idd el-Shargi field. The largest offshore field is al-Shaheen, which is an associated field entirely surrounded by the non-associated North Field.

Click to enlarge. @Fanack.com

Al-Shaheen is operated by Maersk Oil in a production-sharing agreement with Qatar Petroleum. Production is about 330,000 bpd. Other oil production is from smaller offshore fields, such as Maydan Mahzam and Bul Hanine, which are located in the north-east of Qatar’s territorial waters (see map below). Maersk and Qatar Petroleum are investing in enhanced oil recovery techniques to maintain, and possibly expand, production. Qatar has, at times, also modified production slightly in accordance with OPEC agreements, though it has exceeded its quota in recent years.

Qatar has an extensive pipeline network connecting its oilfields to processing facilities at Halul Island and the export terminal at Umm Said. Crude oil that is not exported is piped to the Messaied Oil Refinery, with a capacity of 137,000 bpd. Part of the refinery’s infrastructure includes a condensate splitter, but because of the large amount of condensates produced from Qatar’s natural gas fields, Qatargas decided to build a condensate refinery at Ras Laffan, which came online in September 2009. This refinery has a processing capacity of 146,000 bpd. However, because of a glut in the refining market that was accentuated by the global economic recession, projects to add a second condensate refinery of equal size at Ras Laffan and a new 250,000 bpd refinery at Messaied (to be called al-Shaheen) have been put on hold. The al-Shaheen refinery was to refine additional volumes of heavy crude oil from a planned capacity expansion at the al-Shaheen field. France’s Total and Qatar Petroleum became the partners of the al-Shaheen field through North Oil Company in June 2016. North Oil Company has been operating he al-Shaheen field.

Qatar’s oil consumption has grown considerably in the last two decades and is very high per capita. According to the International Energy Agency’s Oil Market Report, between 2010 and 2015, In total five years, liquified petroleum gas consumption increased from 512,000 tons to 869,000 tons per year, motor gasoline consumption increased from 1,110,000 tons to 1,734,000 tons, and diesel consumption rose nearly 50 percent to 2,430,000 tons. This reflects not only Qatar’s strong economic growth but increasing usage of liquefied petroleum gas (also known as propane) in petrochemical facilities.

Natural gas

Qatar has both the largest non-associated natural gas field in the world and the greatest LNG export capacity in the world. This natural gas field, the North Field, is mainly offshore and part of it crosses the Qatar-Iran maritime boundary (the Iranian section is known as South Pars). re The total gas reserves of Qatar wasestimated at 24.90 trillion cubic meters (tcm) by BP as at June 2018, are ranked third in the world.

Qatar was the world’s largest LNG producer in both 2017 and 2018, with no production growth, as well as the biggest LNG exporter, with 78.7 million tons exported in 2018 (25 per cent of the global supply). In 2018, the government announced plans to expand LNG production capacity from 77 million tons to 110 million tons a year by 2024. According to Oil and Gas Journal J the expansion will increase production by about 32 million tons per year of LNG, 4,000 tons per day of ethane, 260,000 bpd of condensate, 11,000 tons per day of liquified petroleum gas and about 20 tons per day of pure helium.

To put this in perspective, the small emirate has larger natural gas reserves than the United States and Canada combined. Only Qatar’s huge neighbour across the Gulf, Iran, has larger natural gas reserves in the Middle East. Globally, Russia is the only country with larger reserves than Iran.

The North Field has been developed by two consortia, Qatargas and RasGas, for LNG exports, as well as by a third consortium, al-Khaleej Gas, for the local market. All of these companies have Qatar Petroleum as the majority shareholder, with significant foreign ownership and one international oil company as the operator. Operators include Total, ExxonMobil, Royal Dutch Shell and ConocoPhillips. Japanese trading companies Mitsui and Marubeni also have small shares in some projects. RasGas is a 70/30 joint venture between Qatar Petroleum and ExxonMobil; a similar joint venture between these two companies runs al-Khaleej Gas. Qatar Petroleum is planning to increase the capacity in the southern sector of the North Field. According to Qatar Petroleum CEO al-Kaabi, the project would increase the North Field’s production by 10 per cent, adding about 400,000 bpd of oil equivalent.

The vast majority of Qatar’s production comes from the North Field, although some smaller fields contribute production volumes as well. Qatar is now producing in excess of 419 million cubic metres (MCM) per day or 153 billion cubic metres (BCM) per annum from the North Field. This is a sizeable increase since 2008, when production was about 91 BCM, and more than double the production of 2006. As noted above, a number of natural gas liquids (i.e. propane, butane and ethane) and condensates are produced from the North Field. This includes about 150,000 bpd of natural gas liquids and 90,000 bpd of condensates in 2009, though with the completion of additional phases by RasGas and Qatargas, as well as the condensate refinery at Ras Laffan (see above), the condensate figure is significantly higher now. In 2017, consumption of natural gas in the emirate totalled 47.4 BCM. Qatar uses the gas for electric power, petrochemicals and other industrial uses.

Qatar also has a large gas-to-liquids (GTL) capability, creating mainly ultra-pure diesel from methane. Production of GTLs is not subject to OPEC production quotas, although it competes with crude oil indirectly in the sense that the same products are formed (mostly diesel and kerosene/jet fuel). The emirate has one large GTL plant, Oryx, currently in production. The Pearl plant’s two trains came online in 2011. Oryx, a joint venture between Qatar Petroleum (51 per cent) and Sasol of South Africa (49 per cent), produces about 30,000 bpd of middle distillates. Oryx’s Ras Laffan facility is supplied with 8,495 cubic metres per day of lean methane-rich gas from the North Field and can produce 34,000 bpd of liquids, including 24,000 barrels of GTL diesel, 9,000 barrels of naphtha and 1,000 barrels of liquefied petroleum gas. Oryx has proven that GTLs could be a profitable industrial venture at the oil and gas prices of the past few years, but Oryx was budgeted to break even at fairly low oil prices. There is concern that the much larger start-up costs of Pearl (approximately $20 billion), as well as rising demands from buyers to shorten long-term gas contracts in the last five years, could present a challenge to profitability. These are among the reasons that ExxonMobil cancelled its planned 154,000 bpd Palm GTL joint venture. Pearl is a joint venture between Qatar Petroleum and Shell, and its trains will combine to produce 140,000 bpd.

Meanwhile, Qatar is also aiming to protect its LNG share in the world market. Qatar also wants to exploit its reserves before LNG demand decreases, announcing new LNG trains that are expected to be complete in 2019-2020. Japan, China, South Korea and India remain among Qatar’s top LNG importers, although Qatar’s leadership in LNG supply has been challenged in recent years by newcomers such as Australia and the United States, especially in Asia-Pacific markets. Increasing competition is the main reason for the North Field expansion plans.

With so much gas committed to LNG and GTL, it seems that Qatar will not be exporting additional volumes of piped natural gas to its neighbours in the near future. Unlike Qatar, some other countries in the region, such as Kuwait, Bahrain, the United Arab Emirates (UAE) and Oman, need to import gas. The Dolphin Project connects Qatar to the UAE and Oman via an undersea pipeline. In 2017, Oman and the UAE each imported 20 BCM of gas from Qatar via this pipeline. The pipeline from Ras Laffan to Taweelah in the UAE has a capacity of 90 MCM per day, but there are no plans to increase exports via this route.

Electricity

Qatar had an electricity generation capacity of approximately 8,800 megawatts (MW) in 2017, according to state reports. The sector is run by the Qatar General Electricity and Water Corporation, a government transmission and distribution monopoly. It replaced a government ministry in 2000 and proceeded to sell off its generation assets to the Qatar Electricity and Water Company (QEWC). The QEWC, a partially privatized company, owns the majority of Qatar’s generation capacity, though there are now independent water and power producers. In addition, the QEWC undertakes generation projects jointly with private investors.

Many of Qatar’s power plants are combined with desalinization facilities, for example the Ras Laffan Power Company (RLPC), a joint venture between the QEWC (80 per cent), Qatar Petroleum (10 per cent) and the GCC’s Gulf Investment Corp (10 percent). The RLPC had a $720 million complex built at Ras Laffan by Enelpower of Italy with a capacity of 1,500 MW and 303 million litres of water per day.

As stated on the company’s website, the QEWC is the second largest company in the field of power generation and water desalination in the Middle East and North Africa. It is the main supplier of electricity and desalinated water in Qatar, with a market share of 62 per cent for electricity and 79 per cent for water. The company generates 5.4 MW of electricity and produces 1,173 million litres of water per day. It has upgraded its output capacity from Ras Abu Fontas power stations (A and B) and the satellite stations of al-Wajbah and al-Sailiyah. It also plays a major role in other utility facilities such as the Qatar Power project, which produces 1,025 MW. The QEWC has a 55 per cent shareholding in Qatar Power and a 45 per cent stake in the Ras Girtas facility, Qatar’s biggest power and water project to date. Ras Girtas has an output capacity of 2,730 MW. Qatar Petroleum provides the power projects with natural gas.

Nearly all of Qatar’s power is gas fired, accounting for a large share of natural gas consumption. Electricity is provided for free to individual Qatari customers who are citizens, up to a certain amount per year. The power sector consumes more than 11 mcm of gas per day, and this will grow along with the new capacity. Electricity demand is also growing, in part because it is free up to a certain amount. The transmission network has expanded greatly to handle the additional power. The recent Phase VIII network expansion involved $3.5 billion in contracts. Qatar’s total electricity consumption was around 43 terawatt hours in 2017r The number of electricity customers has increased as well, from 132,429 in 1998 to 191,476 in 2007 and reaching 350,000 in 2016.

In July 2009, Qatar, Bahrain, Kuwait and Saudi Arabia linked their electricity grids. In Qatar, the production of electricity at the end of 2013 reached 8,755 MW, up from 4,032 MW in 2008. This was expected to reach 10,170 MW by the end of 2017, thanks to a significant expansion in the transmission network. According to official records, Qatar Petroleum and the QEWC established a joint venture company, Siraj Energy, to generate solar power, with Qatar Petroleum holding 40 per cent and the QEWC holding 60 per cent in the company. The company aims to diversify the sources of energy production and increase reliance on alternative sources. Land has been allocated in Kharsaah for the project, which is set to produce 500 to 1,000 MW with photovoltaic solar technology.

image_pdfimage_print

We would like to ask you something …

Fanack is an independent media organisation, not funded by any state or any interest group, that distributes in the Middle East and the wider world unbiased analysis and background information, based on facts, about the Middle East and North Africa.

The website grew rapidly in breadth and depth and today forms a rich and valuable source of information on 21 countries, from Morocco to Oman and from Iran to Yemen, both in Arabic and English. We currently reach six million readers annually and growing fast.

In order to guarantee the impartiality of information on the Chronicle, articles are published without by-lines. This also allows correspondents to write more freely about sensitive or controversial issues in their country. All articles are fact-checked before publication to ensure that content is accurate, current and unbiased.

To run such a website is very expensive. With a small donation, you can make a huge impact. And it only takes a minute. Thank you.