فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / قطاع الطاقة في المملكة العربية السعودية

قطاع الطاقة في المملكة العربية السعودية


قطاع الطاقة في المملكة العربية السعودية

إيرادات النفط كنسبة مئوية من الناتج المحلي الإجمالي في أربعة بلدان من دول الخليج.
الشكل (2): إيرادات النفط كنسبة مئوية من الناتج المحلي الإجمالي في أربعة بلدان من دول الخليج.

في عام 1938، اكتشفت شركة ستاندرد أويل أوف كاليفورنيا (سوكال – اكسون اليوم) النفط في الدمام بالقرب من الظهران، ومقر ما يعرف اليوم بشركة أرامكو السعودية، شركة النفط الوطنية السعودية. تم تغيير اسم الشركة السعودية التابعة إلى الشركة العربية الأمريكية للزيت (أرامكو) في عام 1944، أي عندما انضمت شركات أمريكية إضافية إلى الاتحاد. ازدادت العلاقة تقارباً في السنوات المقبلة، مع اكتشافات جديدة (بما في ذلك أكبر حقول النفط في العالم، الغوّار، في عام 1948) واستمرار تدفق الثروة، أكثر من أي وقتٍ مضى، إلى الديوان الملكي.

بحلول عام 1950 تحققت التهديدات بالتأميم إلى جانب الاتجاهات القومية التي بدأت تجتاح المنطقة، ورداً على ذلك، وافق اتحاد أرامكو البدء بإعطاء الحكومة السعودية 50% من الأرباح. ومع ذلك، بدأت الحكومة السعودية تدريجياً السيطرة المباشرة على عمليات أرامكو، لتحصل بذلك على 25% من الشركة عام 1973، والتي تم رفعها إلى 73% في العام التالي. وقد حُفز ذلك جزئياً بسبب الصراع العربي الإسرائيلي، مع دعم الولايات المتحدة لدولة إسرائيل مما خلق أول خلاف حقيقي بين البلدين. وأيضاً في عام 1973 كشّرت أوبك لأول مرة عن أنيابها وخفضّ الانتاج مما تسبب برفع أسعار النفط بنسبة 70%، وقامت أوبك على وجه التحديد بحظر نفطي على الولايات المتحدة وهولندا لدعمهما إسرائيل.

وبالنسبة للمملكة العربية السعودية، باعتبارها أكبر دولة مصدرة للنفط في منظمة أوبك، عنى ذلك زيادة كبيرة في الإيرادات التي غيرت المملكة إلى الأبد. و تضاعفت عائدات تصدير النفط الصافي أكثر من أربع مرات منذ عام 1972 إلى 1978، من 19,3 مليار دولار إلى 85,1 مليار دولار، بالرغم من حقيقة أن زيادة الانتاج في البلاد ارتفعت بنسبة 38% فقط في الفترة نفسها.

قيدت المملكة العربية السعودية إنتاج النفط منذ حظر النفط عام 1973، إلا أن هذا كان في سياق إدارة الأسعار في منظمة أوبك، ولم يكن، على الأقل ظاهرياً، لأسباب سياسية. وهكذا، عندما كان الخلاف قائماً بشأن تشكيل منظمة أوبك ودولة إسرائيل، حافظت المملكة العربية السعودية على علاقات سياسية وثيقة مع الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية خلال سنوات الحرب الباردة. تم تأميم شركة أرامكو بالكامل عام 1980. وفي نوفمبر 1988، غيّر مرسوم ملكي اسمها رسمياً من الشركة العربية الأمريكية للزيت (أرامكو) إلى شركة الزيت العربية السعودية (أرامكو السعودية)، واستولت على إدارة وعمليات حقول النفط والغاز في المملكة العربية السعودية من أرامكو وشركائها.

واليوم، تغطي أنشطة شركة أرامكو السعودية كامل سلسلة إمدادات النفط والغاز، بما في ذلك الاستكشاف والإنتاج والتكرير والمواد الكيماوية والتوزيع والتسويق، وتعتبر إلى حدٍ بعيد الشركة الرائدة في انتاج النفط في أوبك. ويتم رصد نشاطات الشركة من قبل وزارة البترول والثروة المعدنية والمجلس الأعلى للبترول والمعادن.

تم إغلاق قطاع تدوير النفط أمام الاستثمار الأجنبي (باستثناء المتعاقدين الذين تستأجرهم أرامكو على أساس أجور الخدمات)، ولكن الحكومة سمحت لأربعة اتحادات أجنبية (في مشاريع مشتركة مع أرامكو) التنقيب عن النفط غير المصاحب للغاز الطبيعي في منطقة الربع الخالي أوائل عام 2000. وقُدرت قيمة أرامكو السعودية من قبل صحيفة فاينانشال تايمز إلى ما يصل إلى 10 تريليون دولار مما يجعلها أكثر الشركات قيمة في العالم.

شكّلت فترة ما بعد الحرب العالمية الثانية نقطة تحوّل في تاريخ البلاد، في حين شهد النصف الأخير من القرن العشرين تبؤ المملكة العربية السعودية موقعاً مركزياً في أسواق الطاقة العالمية.

الجهل يقود إلى الخوف، الخوف يقود إلى الكراهية، والكراهية تقود إلى العنف هذه هي المعادلة.
ابن رشد (١١٢٦ – ١١٩٨)

إن مؤسستنا منظمةٌ هولندية غير حكومية لا تسعى لتحقيق الأرباح. هذه المؤسسة يجري تمويلها بصورةٍ حصرية عبر أفرادٍ يشاركوننا الإيمان بضرورة نشر معلومات موثوقة وغير متحيزة عن منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا، محاكين بذلك المزاج الشعبي السائد في المنطقة ولنعبّر عن صوت أبناء المنطقة بما نقدمه من معلومات ناجعة وتتحلى بالمصداقية.

ولذلك، فإننا نقدّر عالياً ما تقدمه لنا من دعمٍ وسنحرص على أن يعكس هذا الدعم بطريقةٍ إيجابية على الصالح العام!

ملف التحديث الإقليمي COVID-19

احصل على آخر تحديث عن تفشي فيروس كورونا في الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا

تطورات فيروس كورونا

Fanack Home / Saudi Arabia’s Energy Sector in Context

Saudi Arabia’s Energy Sector in Context

Saudi Arabia’s Energy Sector in Context

Oil revenue as per cent of GDP in four Gulf countries.
Figure 2. Oil revenue as per cent of GDP in four Gulf countries.

In 1938, Standard Oil Company of California (Socal – today’s Exxon) struck oil in Dammam, near Dahran, the headquarters of what is today Saudi Aramco, the Saudi national oil company. The Saudi subsidiary was renamed Arabian American Oil Company (Aramco) in 1944, at about the time when additional American companies joined the consortium. The relationship grew closer in the next years, with new finds (including the world’s largest oilfield, Ghawar, in 1948) and ever-growing wealth flowing to the royal court.

By 1950 threats of nationalization were advanced in tandem with nationalist trends sweeping the region, and, in response, the Aramco consortium agreed to begin giving the Saudi government 50% of the profits. However, the Saudi government gradually began to gain direct control over Aramco’s operations, acquiring 25% of the company in 1973, which was increased to 60% the following year. This was spurred in part by the Israeli-Arab conflict, with US support for the state of Israel creating the first real rift between the countries. 1973 was also the year that OPEC first showed its teeth, slashing production and causing the price of oil to increase by 70%; OPEC specifically embargoed the United States and the Netherlands for assisting Israel.

For Saudi Arabia, as OPEC’s largest oil exporter, it meant a huge increase in revenues, which changed the Kingdom forever. Its net oil-export revenues (in real 2000 US dollars) more than quadrupled from 1972 to 1978, from $19.3 billion to $85.1 billion, despite the fact that the country’s output increased by only 38% in the same period.

Saudi Arabia has restricted oil output since the 1973 embargo, but this has been in the context of OPEC price management, and not, at least ostensibly, for political reasons. Thus, while differing in opinion about the formation of OPEC and the state of Israel, Saudi Arabia remained close to US policy through the cold war years. Aramco was fully nationalized in 1980. In November 1988, a royal decree changed its name formally from Arabian American Oil Company (Aramco) to Saudi Arabian Oil Company (Saudi Aramco) and took over the management and operations of Saudi Arabia’s oil and gas fields from Aramco and its partners.

Today, Saudi Aramco’s activities span the entire oil and gas supply chain, including exploration, production, refining, chemicals, distribution and marketing, and it is by far the leading oil producer in OPEC. The company’s activities are monitored by the Ministry of Petroleum and Mineral Resources and the Supreme Council for Petroleum and Minerals.

The upstream oil sector is closed to foreign investment (except for contractors that Aramco hires on a fee-for-service basis), but the government allowed four foreign consortia (in joint ventures with Aramco) to explore for non-associated natural gas in the Empty Quarter region early in 2000. Saudi Aramco’s value has been estimated by the Financial Times at up to $10 trillion, making it the world’s most valuable company.

The period after the Second World War marked a change in the country’s history, and the latter half of the 20th century saw the Kingdom assume a central position in global energy markets.

We would like to ask you something …

Fanack is an independent media organisation, not funded by any state or any interest group, that distributes in the Middle East and the wider world unbiased analysis and background information, based on facts, about the Middle East and North Africa.

The website grew rapidly in breadth and depth and today forms a rich and valuable source of information on 21 countries, from Morocco to Oman and from Iran to Yemen, both in Arabic and English. We currently reach six million readers annually and growing fast.

In order to guarantee the impartiality of information on the Chronicle, articles are published without by-lines. This also allows correspondents to write more freely about sensitive or controversial issues in their country. All articles are fact-checked before publication to ensure that content is accurate, current and unbiased.

To run such a website is very expensive. With a small donation, you can make a huge impact. And it only takes a minute. Thank you.