فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / الشؤون الدولية / بايدن يستعيد السياسة التقليدية الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

بايدن يستعيد السياسة التقليدية الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

Joe Biden
الرئيس الأمريكي المنتخب جو بايدن يتحدث إلى دبلوماسيين خارجيين، وخبراء دفاع واستخبارات لمناقشة الاستعدادات في الوكالات ذات الصلة خلال اجتماع بالفيديو في ديلاوير في 17 نوفمبر 2020. Photo: JIM WATSON / AFP

بقلم مات ناشد

سيرث الرئيس الأمريكي المنتخب جو بايدن المسؤولية عن تأمين المصالح الأمريكية في شرق أوسطٍ بُليّ بالانقسامات والاضطرابات. وعليه، ستكون مهمة إصلاح الضرر الذي ألحقته أعوامٌ من إدارة أوباما وترمب – إدارتان أساءتا إلى سمعة واشنطن في العالم العربي – شاقةً للغاية.

ففي ظل إدارة أوباما، حيث شغل بايدن منصب نائب الرئيس، فشل العالم العربي في إيقاف سفك الدماء في سوريا ومعاقبة مصر على الإنزلاق مجدداً إلى الحكم الاستبدادي. بينما انسحب ترمب، من جهته، من الإتفاق النووي مع إيران وشجع الصدع في العلاقات بين دول الخليج محرّضاً كلاً من الإمارات العربية المتحدة والمملكة العربية السعودية ضد قطر.

تتمثل مهمة بايدن بإعادة الثقة بالقيادة الأمريكية، بيد أن سيرته الذاتية تُثير القلق في أوساط التقدميين في العالم العربي. بالمحصلة، سبق وأيّد بايدن غزو العراق عام 2003 مما أدى إلى تقسيم البلاد فعلياً، وغذى أسس الإرهاب، وسهّل الهيمنة الإيرانية على البلاد. واليوم، يبدو أن بايدن تبنى شعار التقدميين الأمريكيين بتعهده إنهاء “الحروب إلى الأبد.”

بيد أن النزاعات في الشرق الأوسط ستستمر بغض النظر عما إذا لعبت الولايات المتحدة دوراً محورياً في التوسط في النزاعات أم لا. ومع ذلك، أهداف بايدن واضحة: سيسعى إلى استعادة الدبلوماسية مع إيران، وتهدئة التوترات بين حلفاء أمريكا المتنافسين، وإعادة تركيا إلى دائرة نفوذ الناتو.

ستكون الوساطة في نسخةٍ جديدة من الإتفاق النووي الإيراني على رأس قائمة أولويات بايدن. فقد أدت استراتيجية ترمب بممارسة أكبر قدر من الضغط على إيران بزيادة عدم الثقة الإيرانية بواشنطن، فضلاً عن معاقبة المدنيين الإيرانيين الذي يكافحون حالياً في خضم جائحة فيروس كورونا.

وعليه، لن تكون استعادة ثقة طهران أمراً سهلاً، إلا أن بايدن يمكنه البدء ببعض إيماءات حسن النية بإزالة العراقيل التي تمنع إيران من شراء الإمدادات الطبية لمكافحة جائحة فيروس كورونا. علاوةً على ذلك، قد يقنع تخفيف العقوبات على بعض كبار المسؤولين الإيرانيين طهران بالعودة إلى طاولة المفاوضات بحسن نية.

ومن الجدير بالذكر أن لا السعودية ولا الإمارات سترحبان بمثل هذه الخطوات، إذ يخشى البلدان من إبرام إتفاقٍ نووي جديد يُسفر عن تخفيف العقوبات المفروضة على إيران. لا يعد خوفهم هذا غير مبررٍ بالكامل ذلك أن طهران قد تستخدم مواردها المالية لمضاعفة دعمها لوكلائها من الميليشيات مثل حزب الله في لبنان والحوثيين في اليمن. فعلى سبيل المثال، جاء إتفاق أوباما النووي مع إيران على حساب المدنيين السوريين. ومع ذلك، لم تتسبب سياسة ترمب بممارسة “أقصى قدر من الضغط” سوى بإثارة عداوة وبغضاء إيران مما دفع طهران إلى استخدام وكلائها لتعطيل المصالح الأمريكية في جميع أنحاء العالم العربي.

وعلى صعيدٍ آخر، تعهد بايدن بمحاسبة ولي العهد السعودي محمد بن سلمان على الاغتيال الوحشي لصحفي صحيفة واشنطن بوست جمال خاشقجي. ومع ذلك، ليس من المؤكد ما إذا كان بإمكان الولايات المتحدة الظفر بأي شكلٍ من أشكال تنازلات حقوق الإنسان من محمد بن سلمان، فالمملكة العربية السعودية ما تزال تعتمد على حماية الولايات المتحدة كدولةٍ عميلة، إذ تعلم جيداً عدم امتلاكها القوة العسكرية اللازمة لتأمين حدودها من عدوها إيران. بالرغم من ذلك، لا ينبغي للمراقبين توقع أن يطرأ تغيير جذري على العلاقة السعودية / الأمريكية، باستثناء ما يتعلق بالحرب على اليمن، إذ تعهد بايدن بإنهاء دعم الحملة الجوية العنيفة التي تشنها المملكة العربية السعودية والتي تسببت في كارثةٍ إنسانية في اليمن.

تُثير هذه الوعود، المتمحورة حول حقوق الإنسان، مخاوف الإمارات العربية المتحدة. فزعيم الإمارات العربية المتحدة الفعلي، ولي عهد أبو ظبي محمد بن زايد، تنتابه الريبة تجاه أي خطابٍ يدعم التعددية وحرية التعبير على وجه الخصوص ذلك أنه يعتبره أرضاً خصبة لازدهار الاسلام السياسي. التهديد المتصور والخوف الهستيري من الإسلام السياسي هو منبت النموذج الاستبدادي الذي تبنته الإمارات في الداخل ودعمته في الخارج.

ولتجنب الإصلاحات السياسية، ستواصل الإمارات العربية المتحدة تعزيز صورتها كدولةٍ متسامحة وتقدمية في منطقة ينتشر فيها التطرف الديني. ففي الآونة الأخيرة، رفعت الإمارات الحظر المفروض على احتساء الكحول، وأنهت العقوبات المتساهلة بخصوص التحرش الجنسي وجرائم “الشرف.” وبالرغم من أن جماعات حقوق الإنسان ستشيد بالإصلاحات الأخيرة، إلا أن هذا لا ينبغي أن يأتي على حساب التغاضي عن القمع السياسي في الإمارات أو طموحاتها الإمبريالية.

ففي نهاية المطاف، تتجاوز الإمارات العربية المتحدة قدراتها بالاستثمار بسخاء بأنظمتها الدفاعية، إذ كان هذا الدافع المحرك وراء إبرام محمد بن زايد “اتفاق سلام” مع إسرائيل، ظناً منه أن بمقدوره شراء طائرات إف- 35، الطائرات المقاتلة الأكثر تطوراً في العالم، من إدارة ترمب. وعليه، وقعت إسرائيل على مضض على صفقة المقايضة، إلا أن مستشاراً لبايدن أشار ضمنياً إلى أن الإدارة القادمة قد توقف الصفقة.

وفي هذا الصدد، قال توني بلينكن، الذي عمل تحت إدارة عام 2008 كنائب مستشار الأمن القومي، للصحفيين الإسرائيليين: “حرصت إدارة أوباما وبايدن على أن تكون طائرتنا المقاتلة الأكثر تقدماً متاحة لإسرائيل، ولإسرائيل فقط في الشرق الأوسط.”

“وأضاف، “التقارير التي تفيد بأن إدارة (ترمب) التزمت بتقديم هذه الطائرات إلى دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة هو أمر ننظر إليه بعنايةٍ فائقة، لنتأكد من الحفاظ على (التفوق العسكري النوعي) ومن المهم جداً أن يلعب الكونغرس دوراً في هذا.”

لن تكون الإمارات العربية المتحدة سعيدةً إذا ما ألغت الولايات المتحدة بيع طائرات إف-35، مما سيضمن تقويض اتفاق السلام مع إسرائيل. ومع ذلك، يأمل الفلسطينيون بأن تتمكن إدارة بايدن على الأقل من دفع إسرائيل نحو إمكانية حل الدولتين، فضلاً عن استرجاع المساعدات المالية لوكالة غوث اللاجئين الفلسطينيين (الأونروا). وبالتأكيد سيكون تحقيق الأمل الأخير أسهل بكثيرٍ من سابقه. وبكلا الحالتين، لا تتملك الأوهام من الشباب الفلسطيني بإنهاء إسرائيل احتلالها العسكري العنيف خلال فترة جلوس بايدن في منصبه.

وعلى صعيدٍ آخر، سيكون كبح جماح التوسع الإمبراطوري للرئيس التركي رجب طيب أردوغان آخر الأولويات على أجندة بايدن. وعلى عكس الإمارات العربية المتحدة، فإن سلوك تركيا ذو طابعٍ عملي وليس عقائدي. تريد أنقرة بشكل خاصٍ توسيع المنطقة الاقتصادية الخالصة في البحر المتوسط المزدحم، مما سيزيد من احتمالات العثور على الغاز الطبيعي والتنقيب عنه. وبعد انتخاب إرسين تتار، القومي التركي المدعوم من أنقرة، رئيساً لشمال قبرص في أكتوبر 2020، يخشى المراقبون من إمكانية تقسيم قبرص.

تقوّض طموحات تركيا في شرق المتوسط مصالح حلفاء حلف شمال الأطلسي مثل اليونان وفرنسا. وفي عهد بايدن، ستنظر واشنطن بعين من الريبة تجاه الخصومة الإقليمية بين أنقرة وموسكو، فضلاً عن تعاونهما. فعلى سبيل المثال، يواصل انخراط كلٍ منهما في ليبيا تعقيد آفاق السلام في الدولة الغنية بالنفط في شمال أفريقيا. كما تعرض أردوغان لانتقاداتٍ شديدة في واشنطن لشرائه منظومة الدفاع الجوي الروسية المتطورة إس-400 – التي تشكل تهديداً لطائرات الناتو المقاتلة من طراز إف-35.

من جهته، لم يُنمّق بايدن كلماته تجاه أردوغان، ففي عام 2019، وصفه بـ”المستبد” ووعد باتخاذ موقفٍ حازم ضده في حال توليه الرئاسة. ومع ذلك، لن تقدم واشنطن على خطوةٍ تتسم بالخطورة لإبعاد تركيا عن فلك حلف الناتو، إذ يعتقد المحللون أن هذا لن يُسفر سوى عن إضعاف حلف الناتو وتعزيز التقارب بين أنقرة وموسكو.

وبالتالي، يتوجب على أردوغان توقع إدانة قاسية وإجراءاتٍ عقابية محدودة من واشنطن في غضون السنوات الأربع القادمة. عوضاً عن ذلك، سيحاول بايدن استنفاذ جميع القنوات الدبلوماسية لإرضاء تركيا ودعم الناتو من خلال القيادة الأمريكية.

نهاية القول، سيكون هذا مسعىً صعباً إلا أنه غايةٌ في الأهمية.

إقرأ المزيد

جهود إدارة أوباما لتشجيع حلفائها العرب تحمّل عبء أكبر في تعزيز ال...
إن تورط ترمب- الأكثر عدوانية تجاه أعداء الولايات المتحدة، والأكثر...
انت إستراتيجية أوباما بتجنب التدخل العسكري المباشر في الصراعات ف...

© Copyright Notice

Please contact us in case of omissions concerning copyright-protected work. The acquired copyright protected images used on/as featured image of this page are: JIM WATSON ©AFP | JIM WATSON ©AFP

الجهل يقود إلى الخوف، الخوف يقود إلى الكراهية، والكراهية تقود إلى العنف هذه هي المعادلة.
ابن رشد (١١٢٦ – ١١٩٨)

إن مؤسستنا منظمةٌ هولندية غير حكومية لا تسعى لتحقيق الأرباح. هذه المؤسسة يجري تمويلها بصورةٍ حصرية عبر أفرادٍ يشاركوننا الإيمان بضرورة نشر معلومات موثوقة وغير متحيزة عن منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا، محاكين بذلك المزاج الشعبي السائد في المنطقة ولنعبّر عن صوت أبناء المنطقة بما نقدمه من معلومات ناجعة وتتحلى بالمصداقية.

ولذلك، فإننا نقدّر عالياً ما تقدمه لنا من دعمٍ وسنحرص على أن يعكس هذا الدعم بطريقةٍ إيجابية على الصالح العام!

Fanack Home / International Affairs / Biden to Restore Traditional U.S Policy in the Middle East

Biden to Restore Traditional U.S Policy in the Middle East

Joe Biden
US President-elect Joe Biden speaks with outside diplomatic, intelligence, and defense experts to discuss readiness at the relevant agencies during a video meeting in Delaware on November 17, 2020. Photo: JIM WATSON / AFP

By: Mat Nashed

U.S President-elect Joe Biden will inherit responsibility for securing U.S interests in a divided and tumultuous Middle East. The task to repair the damage of the Obama and Trump years – two administrations that hurt Washington’s reputation in the Arab world – could prove too daunting.

Under the Obama administration, where Biden served as Vice President, the Arab world failed to stop the bloodshed in Syria and to penalize Egypt for sliding back into authoritarianism. Trump, for his part, pulled out of a nuclear deal with Iran and encouraged a rift in the Gulf that pitted the United Arab Emirates (UAE) and Saudi Arabia against Qatar.

Biden must restore trust in U.S leadership. However, his own resume raises concern among progressives in the Arab world. Biden, after all, endorsed the 2003 invasion of Iraq which effectively fragmented the country, nurtured the grounds for terrorism, and facilitated Iranian hegemony over the country. Now Biden seems to have adopted the slogan of U.S progressives by vowing to end ‘forever wars.”

But conflicts in the Middle East will continue regardless if the U.S assumes a central role in mediating disputes, or not. Biden’s objectives are nonetheless clear: He’ll seek to restore diplomacy with Iran, assuage tensions between America’s competing allies, and bring Turkey back under the sphere of NATO’s influence.

Brokering a new version of the Iran nuclear deal will be Biden’s largest priority. Trump’s maximum pressure strategy merely hardened Iran’s distrust of Washington and punished Iranian civilians, especially as the population struggled to combat the covid-19 virus.

Winning back Tehran’s trust won’t be easy, yet Biden can start with a few goodwill gestures such as removing impediments that prevent Iran from buying medical supplies to combat Covid-19. Easing sanctions on some of Iran’s senior officials could also persuade Tehran to return to the negotiating table in good faith.

Neither Saudi Arabia nor the UAE will welcome these moves. Both countries fear a new nuclear deal that results in sanctions relief for Iran. The fear isn’t completely unfounded since Tehran could use its financial resources to double down on support for its militia proxies such as Lebanon’s Hezbollah and Yemen’s Houthis. Obama’s nuclear deal with Iran, for instance, was inked at the expense of Syrian civilians.  Nevertheless, Trump’s ‘maximum pressure’ policy only antagonized Iran, prompting Tehran to use its proxies to disrupt U.S interests across the Arab world.

Biden has also vowed to hold Saudi Arabia’s powerful Crown Prince, Mohamad bin Salman (MBS), accountable for the brutal assassination of Washington Post journalist Jamal Khashoggi. It’s uncertain if the U.S can obtain any type of human rights concessions from MBS. However, the Saudi kingdom still relies on U.S protection as a client state, knowing full well that it doesn’t have the military power to secure its borders from its nemesis Iran. That said, observers shouldn’t expect the Saudi/American relationship to fundamentally change, except regarding the war on Yemen. Biden has vowed to end support for Saudi Arabia’s violent aerial campaign that has created a humanitarian disaster.

Such vows, centered around human rights, makes the UAE uneasy. The de-facto leader of the Emirates, Abu Dhabi Crown Prince Mohamad bin Zayed (MBZ), is particularly weary of any discourse that supports pluralism and free expression since he views them as channels for political Islam to flourish. The perceived threat and hysterical fear of political Islam is at the root of the authoritarian model that the UAE has adopted at home and supported abroad.

To avoid political reforms, the Emirates will continue reinforcing its image as a tolerant and progressive nation in a region where religious extremism is rife. Most recently, the Emirates removed bans on alcohol and ended lenient punishments for sexual harassment and ‘honor’ killings. The latter reform should be applauded by human rights groups, but not at the cost of condoning political repression in the UAE or its imperial ambitions.

The Emirates, after all, are punching beyond their weight by investing handsomely in defense systems. That was MBZ’s motivation to ink a ‘peace-deal’ with Israel, believing he could then acquire F-35s – the most advanced fighter jet in the world – from the Trump administration. Israel reluctantly signed off on the quid-pro-quo, yet an advisor for Biden has implied that the incoming administration could block the transaction.

“The Obama-Biden administration made sure that our most advanced fighter plane would be available to Israel, but only to Israel in the Middle East,” said Tony Blinken, who served under the 2008 administration as a deputy national security advisor, to Israeli reporters.

“Reports that the [Trump] administration has committed to provide these planes to the UAE is something we would look at very, very carefully, and make sure that the (Qualitative Military Edge) is preserved and it’s very important that Congress play a role,” he added.

The UAE won’t be happy if the U.S cancels the sale of F-35s, which would guarantee the unraveling of the peace-deal with Israel. However, Palestinians hope that a Biden administration can at least push Israel to safeguard the possibility of a two-state solution, while restoring aid to the Palestinian relief agency UNRWA. The latter will surely be easier to achieve than the former. Either way, Palestinian youth are under no illusions that Israel will end its violent military occupation during Biden’s time in office.

The last priority on Biden’s agenda will be to reign in the imperial aggression of Turkey’s President Recep Tayyip Erdogan. Unlike the UAE, Turkey’s behaviour is pragmatic, not ideological. Ankara particularly wants a broadened Exclusive Economic Zone (EEZ) in the crowded Mediterranean, which would increase its odds of finding and drilling for natural gas. And after Ersin Tatar, a Turkish nationalist backed by Ankara, was elected as President in Northern Cyprus last month, observers fear that Cyprus could be partitioned.

Turkey’s ambitions in the eastern Mediterranean undermines the interests of fellow NATO allies such as Greece and France. Under Biden, Washington would also be weary of the regional rivalry – and cooperation – between Ankara and Moscow. Their respective involvement in Libya, for instance, continues to complicate prospects for peace in the oil rich North African nation. Erdogan also came under heavy criticism in Washington for purchasing Russian S-400s – a sophisticate air defense system that poses a threat to NATO’s F-35 fighter jets.

Biden, for his part, has not minced his words about Erdogan. In 2019, he called him an ‘autocrat’ and promised to take a forceful stance against him if he became President. But Washington would do nothing so risky as to kick Turkey out of NATO. Analysts believe that would only weaken NATO and prompt a rapprochement between Ankara and Moscow.

Erdogan should thus anticipate harsh condemnation and little punitive action from Washington over the next four years. Biden will instead try to exhaust every diplomatic channel to appease Turkey and shore up NATO through American leadership.

That’ll be a difficult but necessary endeavour.

Further reading

The Obama administration’s effort to encourage its Arab allies to carry a bigger burden in promoting peace in the Midd...
More aggressive to US enemies, arguably more erratic with US allies and with the financial benefit to the US at the cent...
Obama’s strategy of avoiding direct military engagement in conflicts in the Middle East was a departure from his prede...

© Copyright Notice

Please contact us in case of omissions concerning copyright-protected work. The acquired copyright protected images used on/as featured image of this page are: JIM WATSON ©AFP | JIM WATSON ©AFP



"The heritage of knowledge is more valuable than gold."
Yahya ibn Abi Kathir (769-848)

We are a Dutch not for profit organisation (NGO), financed solely by individuals who share our belief in the importance of publishing and disseminating reliable, unbiased information on the Middle East & North Africa region. To represent the voice of the region’s people, we carefully echo the region’s heartbeat by offering fact-checked and therefore credible information.

Your support is greatly appreciated and helpful!