فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / الشؤون الدولية / تركيا وروسيا تنشران مرتزقة سوريين في الحروب الأجنبية

تركيا وروسيا تنشران مرتزقة سوريين في الحروب الأجنبية

Syrian fighters
مقاتلون من المعارضة السورية المدعومة من تركيا خلال عرض عسكري بمناسبة تخريج دفعة جديدة من الطلاب الذي حضره مسؤولون من المعارضة المدعومة من تركيا، في معسكر بمنطقة عفرين بريف حلب الشمالي الذي تسيطر عليه المعارضة، في 20 سبتمبر 2020. Photo: Bakr ALKASEM / AFP

مات ناشد

تُجند كل من تركيا وروسيا مرتزقةً من طرفي الصراع السوري المجمد لتعزيز أجنداتهما الخارجية.

بشكلٍ عام، نشأ هؤلاء المقاتلون دون الحصول على التعليم الأساسي بسبب الحرب الأهلية التي استمرت تسع سنوات ودمرت وطنهم، وفي الوقت الراهن، تعاني سوريا من أزمة ماليةٍ حادة تفاقمت مع انهيار الاقتصاد اللبناني. وعليه، يحاول الشباب السوري إعالة أسرهم من خلال استثمار المهارة الوحيدة التي حصلوا عليها من الحرب: القتال في المعارك. نتيجةً لذلك، يقوم المرتزقة السوريون بتغيير طبيعة الصراعات في الشرق الأوسط وخارجه.

بالنسبة لتركيا وروسيا، يعدّ نشر المقاتلين السوريين مشروعاً محدود المخاطر، إذ تحول هذه الاستراتيجية دون إرسال كلا البلدين قواتهما إلى أراضٍ بعيدة، مما يمكّن أنقرة وموسكو من التهرب من الضغط المحلي في حال انحرفت الحرب على مسارها. وتوضح الحسابات عديمة الرحمة أن كلاً من تركيا وروسيا – من أكثر القوى الإمبريالية نشاطاً في الشرق الأوسط اليوم – لا تُلقيان بالاً بحياة السوريين.

فلا عجب إذن أن ليبيا كانت أولى ساحات اختبار نشر المرتزقة السوريين. فمنذ 2019 باتت ليبيا تعيش حرباً شاملة بالوكالة حيث تستغل القوى الأجنبية أو تتجاهل الإنقسامات المحلية لحماية مصالحها بموارد البلاد.

في الأشهر الثلاثة الأولى من عام 2020، نشرت أنقرة ما بين 3500 و3800 مرتزق سوري مدفوع الأجر، بحسب البنتاغون. تم تجنيد المقاتلين من الجيش الوطني السوري، جيشٌ بالوكالة أنشأته تركيا في عام 2016. فقد تمثلت مهام الجيش الوطني السوري سابقاً بإبعاد تنظيم الدولة الإسلامية “داعش” من الحدود الجنوبية لتركيا، وكذلك مهاجمة الدولة الكردية في الشمال والشمال الشرقي من سوريا. بيد أنه في يناير 2020، تم نشرهم لحماية حكومة طرابلس في ليبيا مع وعدٍ بتلقي 2000 دولار شهرياً. في الواقع، تم تبديد نصف رواتبهم من قبل القادة الجشعين الذين يتحكمون في الرواتب.

المال يستحق المخاطرة بالنسبة للعديد من السوريين، بل إن تركيا جملّت الصفقة في حال مقتل أحد المقاتلين. وبحسب تقارير إخبارية، وعدت الأسر بتعويضٍ قدره 100 ألف دولار.

وبالنسبة للسوريين، استغلت تركيا رغبتهم الوحيدة في إخراج أسرهم من براثن الفقر المدقع. آنذاك، كانت أنقرة في حاجةٍ ماسة لوقف سقوط طرابلس لحماية طموحاتها البحرية، وفي نهاية المطاف، وقعت حكومة طرابلس وتركيا مؤخراً مذكرة تفاهم لترسيم الحدود البحرية للتنقيب عن الغاز في البحر المتوسط المزدحم. أثارت هذه الخطوة غضب جيران تركيا ذلك أنها تتقاطع مع الحدود البحرية المتنازع عليها التي طالبوا بها لأنفسهم.

في غضون ذلك، كانت القوات الموالية لقائد شرق ليبيا خليفة حفتر على وشك الاستيلاء على العاصمة، وعليه، استعان حفتر بمرتزقة من شركة الأمن الروسية الخاصة مجموعة فاغنر، وكذلك مقاتلين تشاديين وسودانيين. في مايو2020، ظهرت تقارير تفيد بأن حفتر كان يعتمد أيضاً على المرتزقة السوريين.

Russian soldiers syria
جندي روسي (يسار) وجندي سوري يقفان بالقرب من مدخل أحد الكهوف والأنفاق التي يُقال إن مقاتلين مناهضين للحكومة استخدموها في محافظة حماة في 25 سبتمبر 2019. Photo: Maxime POPOV / AFP

فقد أفادت رويترز أن متعاقداً عسكرياً خاصاً من مجموعة فاغنر كان يعمل تحت إشراف الجيش الروسي لتجنيد سوريين من ميليشيات بشار الأسد. كما أشارت إليزابيث تسوركوف، الباحثة الإسرائيلية في شؤون المرتزقة السوريين، إلى أن هذه القوات تشمل الفيلق الخامس، والفرقة 25 مهام خاصة (المعروفة سابقاً باسم قوات النمر)، ولواء القدس، ووحدة صيادي داعش. كما تم تجنيد أعضاء من قوات الدفاع الوطني السوري في مجموعة فاغنر وانتشارهم للقتال لصالح حفتر.

لكن بينما انتصر مقاتلو الأسد في الحرب في بلادهم، إلا أنهم أدركوا أنهم يخوضون معركةً خاسرة في ليبيا. وبحلول يونيو 2020، أدى استخدام الطائرات المسيّرة التركية والمرتزقة السوريين إلى قلب الطاولة على حفتر وإنقاذ حكومة طرابلس.

شجع نجاح تركيا في ليبيا الرئيس رجب طيب أردوغان على استخدام الطائرات المسيّرة والمرتزقة السوريين لتأمين النفوذ السياسي في النزاعات الطويلة الأخرى، وبالطبع يتمثل أحدث مثالٍ بالصراع المستمر بين أذربيجان وأرمينيا حول منطقة ناغورني- قرة باغ المتنازع عليها.

ففي أوائل أكتوبر2020، قالت مصادر داخل الجيش الوطني السوري إنه تم تجنيد حوالي 1500 سوري للقتال في المنطقة الجبلية على الجانب الأذري، الحليف التقليدي لتركيا. وقال المقاتلون إنهم حصلوا على تدريبٍ في مدينة غازي عنتاب بجنوب تركيا، ليتم نقلهم بعد ذلك إلى أنقرة قبل مغادرتهم إلى أذربيجان.

من جهتها، ذكرت صحيفة آسيا تايمز أن المرتزقة وعائلاتهم تلقوا أوامر بالتزام الصمت، مما منع معظمهم من الإدلاء بأي تصريحات. وبحسب ما ورد أبلغت بعض العائلات أنها ستخسر تعويضاتها المالية في حال تحدثهم إلى الصحافة.

ومع ذلك، وعلى الرغم من الوعد بدفع راتب قدره 1500 دولار بالليرة التركية، يندم العديد من السوريين على انضمامهم للقتال. فقد أدى الصراع الدموي بالفعل إلى مقتل أكثر من 55 من المرتزقة السوريين، الذين سبق وتم إخبارهم بأنهم سيحرسون المنشآت النفطية ولن يتم إرسالهم إلى خطوط القتال الأمامية. وقع السوريون تحت هذا الافتراض منذ أن تم تجنيدهم من قبل شركات الواجهة التركية، التي تمتلك عقود نفط وغاز في أذربيجان. ولكن مع مقتل المزيد من السوريين، بدأ المُجنِدون بإخبار السوريين أن الخطوط الأمامية في ناغورني- قرة باغ قد “استقرت” وأن الحرب باتت أقل فتكاً مما كانت عليه قبل أسابيع قليلة.

حاول القادة السوريون تبرير وجود مقاتليهم في ليبيا والقوقاز، بحجة أن الجيش الوطني السوري ملزم بمحاربة الهيمنة الروسية في جميع أنحاء العالم. كان ذلك دفاع النقيب عبد السلام عبد الرزاق الذي يعيش في ريف إدلب السوري، الذي قال للمونيتور إن المرتزقة السوريين يجبرون روسيا على توجيه بوصلة مصالحها إلى أماكن أخرى، وبالتالي منعها من ارتكاب المزيد من الجرائم في سوريا.

الاستسلام لهذا المنطق هو آلية للتأقلم مع الوضع بالنسبة للعديد من السوريين. فبعد سنواتٍ من القتال في حرب اجتذبت قوى أجنبية – التي تدخلت جميعها لتأمين مصالحها بدلاً من حماية أرواح السوريين – يبحث العديد من الثوار والمتمردين السابقين عن أي منطقٍ لتبرير القتال في الأراضي البعيدة.

في النهاية، تبقى الحقيقة المرة هي أن السوريين ما هم إلا بيادق في الصراع الجغرافي السياسي الأكبر بين روسيا وتركيا.

إقرأ المزيد

دفع هذا العداء واسع النطاق أردوغان، الذي كان يطلق على اللاجئين سا...
تقول الحكومة التركية أنّ البلاد ببساطة لا تستطيع التعامل مع تدفقٍ...
تقدم فَنَك لمحة عامة عن أثر الصراع بين تركيا واليونان للسيطرة على ...

© Copyright Notice

Please contact us in case of omissions concerning copyright-protected work. The acquired copyright protected images used on/as featured image of this page are: Bakr ALKASEM ©AFP | Bakr ALKASEM ©AFP | Maxime POPOV ©AFP

الجهل يقود إلى الخوف، الخوف يقود إلى الكراهية، والكراهية تقود إلى العنف هذه هي المعادلة.
ابن رشد (١١٢٦ – ١١٩٨)

إن مؤسستنا منظمةٌ هولندية غير حكومية لا تسعى لتحقيق الأرباح. هذه المؤسسة يجري تمويلها بصورةٍ حصرية عبر أفرادٍ يشاركوننا الإيمان بضرورة نشر معلومات موثوقة وغير متحيزة عن منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا، محاكين بذلك المزاج الشعبي السائد في المنطقة ولنعبّر عن صوت أبناء المنطقة بما نقدمه من معلومات ناجعة وتتحلى بالمصداقية.

ولذلك، فإننا نقدّر عالياً ما تقدمه لنا من دعمٍ وسنحرص على أن يعكس هذا الدعم بطريقةٍ إيجابية على الصالح العام!

Fanack Home / International Affairs / Turkey and Russia Deploy Syrians to Foreign Wars

Turkey and Russia Deploy Syrians to Foreign Wars

Syrian fighters
Turkish-backed Syrian rebel fighters during a military parade marking the graduation of a new batch of cadets and attended by officials from the Turkey-backed opposition, at a camp in the Afrin region in the rebel-held northern countryside of Aleppo province, on September 20, 2020. Photo: Bakr ALKASEM / AFP

By: Mat Nashed

Turkey and Russia are recruiting mercenaries from both sides of Syria’s frozen conflict to advance their respective foreign policy agendas.

These fighters have generally grown up without acquiring basic education due to the nine-year civil war that destroyed their homeland. Now Syria is suffering from an acute financial crisis that has been exacerbated with the collapse of the Lebanese economy. Young Syrian men are thus trying to support their families by monetizing the only skill they obtained from the war: fighting in battle. As a result, Syrian mercenaries are changing the complexion of conflicts in the Middle East and beyond.

For Turkey and Russia, deploying Syrian fighters is a low-risk endeavour. The strategy prevents both countries from sending their own troops to faraway lands, enabling Ankara and Moscow to evade domestic pressure if the war goes awry. The callous calculation illustrates that both Turkey and Russia — two of the most active imperial powers in the Middle East today – have zero regard for Syrian lives.

No wonder, then, that Libya was the first testing ground to deploy Syrian mercenaries. Since 2019, Libya has developed into an all-out proxy war, where foreign powers either exploit or ignore local fractures to safeguard their resource interests.

In the first three months of 2020, Ankara deployed between 3,500 and 3,800 paid Syrian mercenaries, according to the Pentagon. Fighters were recruited from the Syrian National Army (SNA), a proxy force that Turkey created in 2016. The SNA was previously used to route the Islamic State (IS) from Turkey’s southern border, as well as attack the Kurdish statelet in northern and northeastern Syria. But in January 2020, they were deployed to safeguard the Tripoli government in Libya with the promise of receiving $2,000 a month. In reality, half their salaries were squandered off by greedy commanders who control the payroll.

The money was worth the risk for many Syrians. Turkey even sweetened the deal in case a fighter was killed. According to news reports, families were promised $100,000 in compensation.

For Syrians, their lone desire to drag their families out of abject poverty was exploited by Turkey. At the time, Ankara desperately needed to stop the fall of Tripoli to protect its maritime ambitions. After all, the Tripoli government and Turkey had recently inked a Memorandum of Understanding to demarcate maritime boundaries for gas exploration in the crowded Mediterranean. The move infuriated Turkey’s neighbours since it cut through contested maritime boundaries they claimed for themselves.

Meanwhile, forces loyal to Libya’s eastern commander Khalifa Haftar were on the cusp of seizing the capital. Haftar was aided with mercenaries from the private Russian security company Wagner Group, as well as Chadian and Sudanese fighters. In May 2020, reports surfaced that Haftar was also relying on Syrian mercenaries.

Russian soldiers syria
A Russian (L) and Syrian soldier stand near the entrance of a cave and tunnel system reportedly used by anti-government fighters in Hama province on September 25, 2019. Photo: Maxime POPOV / AFP

Reuters reported that a private military contractor from the Wagner Group was working under the supervision of the Russian army to recruit Syrians from pro-Bashar Al-Assad militias. Elizabeth Tsurkov, an Israeli specialist on Syrian mercenaries, noted that these forces include the 5th Corps, Division 25 (formerly known as Tiger Forces), the Quds Brigade, and a force called the IS Hunters. Members from the Syrian National Defense force were also recruited into the Wagner Group and deployed to fight for Haftar.

But while pro-Assad fighters had won the war back home, they realized they were fighting a losing battle in Libya. By June 2020, the use of Turkish drones and Syrian mercenaries reversed Haftar’s gains and rescued the Tripoli based government.

Turkey’s success in Libya encouraged President Recep Tayyip Erdogan to use drones and Syrian mercenaries to secure political leverage in other protracted conflicts. The latest example, of course, is the ongoing bout between Azerbaijan and Armenia over the disputed region of Nagorno-Karabakh.

In early October 2020, sources within the SNA said that some 1,500 Syrians have been recruited to fight in the mountainous region on the side of Azerbaijan, a traditional ally of Turkey. The fighters said that they were trained in the southern Turkish city of Gaziantep. They were then taken to Ankara, before departing to Azerbaijan.

Asia Times reported that the mercenaries and their families were given a gag order, keeping most of them from going on the record. Some families were reportedly told that they would lose financial compensation if they spoke to the press.

Yet despite the promise of a $1,500 salary, paid in Turkish lira, many Syrians are regretting that they signed up to fight. The bloody conflict has already killed more than 55 Syrian mercenaries, most of whom were told that they would be guarding oil facilities and not be sent to the frontlines. Syrians were under this assumption since they were being recruited by Turkish-front companies, which have oil and gas contracts in Azerbaijan. But as more Syrians died, recruiters began telling Syrians that the frontlines in Nagorno-Karabakh have ‘stabilized’ and that the war is less deadly than it was a few weeks ago.

Syrian commanders have tried to justify the presence of their fighters in Libya and the Caucasus, arguing that the SNA has an obligation to combat Russian hegemony across the globe. That was the defense of Capt. Abdul Salam Abdul Razzaq, who lives in the countryside of the Syrian enclave of Idlib. He told Al-Monitor that Syrian mercenaries are forcing Russia to direct its interests elsewhere, thus keeping it from committing more crimes in Syria.

Succumbing to this reasoning is a coping mechanism for many Syrians. After years of fighting in a war that drew in foreign powers – all of whom interfered to secure their interests rather than protect Syrian lives – many former revolutionaries and rebels are searching for any logic to justify fighting in faraway lands.

The bitter truth is that Syrians are pawns in the larger geo-political struggle between Russia and Turkey.

Further reading

This widespread hostility prompted Erdogan to undertake a drastic policy shift. Some measures aim to decrease the visibi...
The Turkish government says that the country simply can’t deal with a new influx of refugees. Turkey already hosts a s...
Fanack presents an overview of the impact of the conflict between Turkey and Greece to control gas discoveries in the Me...

© Copyright Notice

Please contact us in case of omissions concerning copyright-protected work. The acquired copyright protected images used on/as featured image of this page are: Bakr ALKASEM ©AFP | Bakr ALKASEM ©AFP | Maxime POPOV ©AFP



"The heritage of knowledge is more valuable than gold."
Yahya ibn Abi Kathir (769-848)

We are a Dutch not for profit organisation (NGO), financed solely by individuals who share our belief in the importance of publishing and disseminating reliable, unbiased information on the Middle East & North Africa region. To represent the voice of the region’s people, we carefully echo the region’s heartbeat by offering fact-checked and therefore credible information.

Your support is greatly appreciated and helpful!