تبرع
وقائع الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا
ابحث في fanack.com
Please enter search keyword.

الحروب الأهلية في السودان

الحروب الأهلية في السودان
تظهر الصورة التي تم التقاطها في أبريل 2004 أفرادًا من الجيش الشعبي لتحرير السودان المتمرد في الجنوب AFP PHOTO/Julie FLINT

الحرب الأهلية في دارفور

تقع منطقة دارفور في غرب السودان، قرب حدودها مع ليبيا وتشاد وجمهورية إفريقيا الوسطى. وقد أدّى الصراع الدموي في المنطقة إلى وفاة الآلاف من الناس وتشريد أكثر من مليونيّ شخص. وقد وُصف ذلك بأنه أسوأ أزمة إنسانية في العالم وأُطلق عليه الإبادة الجماعية، وغالباً ما تتم مقارنته بالإبادة الجماعية في رواندا، فقد قُتل ما يقدر بنحو 300,000 شخص في هذا النزاع منذ عام 2003. ومنذ ذلك الوقت، يتعرض سكان تلك المناطق لهجوم متكرر من قبل القوات الحكومية والميليشيات الموالية للحكومة، الجنجويد، والجماعات المتمردة. كما أنّ هناك أيضاً معارك متكررة بين القبائل.

:للمزيد من المعلومات عن الحرب الأهلية في دارفور، إضغط هنا

الحرب الأهلية في الجنوب

أسس المصريون في عام 1874 محافظة الإقليم الاستوائي، حيث كثّف تجار الرقيق العرب نشاطهم، مستهدفين الأسواق المحلية والخارجية. تضررت المجتمعات المحلية بشدة؛ حيث إنّ ذكرى هذا الاستغلال ستبقى إلى أمد الآمدين.

ومنذ عام 1922 وحتى عام 1947 (عندما تمّ التخلي عن هذه السياسة)، طبّق البريطانيون إدارةً منفصلة في جنوب السودان. وتمّ تجاهل التنمية الاجتماعية والاقتصادية في المنطقة، باستثناء بعض الخدمات الاجتماعية التي تقدمها البعثات التبشيرية المسيحية.

عارض الجنوبيون السياسة الجديدة، خوفاً من أن تجلب الهيمنة الشمالية وعودة العبودية، ممّا سيعرض حقوقهم الثقافية والسياسية للخطر. عبّر مؤتمر جوبا عام 1947 عن هذه المخاوف، إلّا أنّه لم يصدر أيّ قرارٍ بشأن الوحدة، على الرغم من التأكيدات اللاحقة الكاذبة لخلاف ذلك.

تأكدت مبررات مخاوف الجنوبيين من الهيمنة الشمالية في المفاوضات حول حق تقرير المصير في السودان في أوائل الخمسينيات. استبعد القوميون الشماليون، الجنوبيين من هذه المفاوضات، وخرقوا وعود ما قبل الاستقلال بإنشاء نظام اتحادي. وبعد اتفاق الحكم الذاتي في فبراير 1953، بدا أنّ زعماء الشمال تراجعوا عن التزامتهم بالفيدرالية. سرعان ما أدّى هذا إلى تطور الصراع المسلح الانفصالي. بدأت الحركة في عام 1955، قبل بضع أشهر من الاستقلال، عندما تمرّد فيلق الاستوائية في توريت.

:للمزيد من المعلومات عن الحرب الأهلية في الجنوب، إضغط هنا

Donate
Chronicle of the Middle East and North Africa

Civil Wars in Sudan

Civil Wars in Sudan
Members of the southern-based rebel Sudan People’s Liberation Army (SPLA), (Photo by JULIE FLINT / AFP)

Civil war in Darfur

The Darfur region lies in western Sudan, near its borders with Libya, Chad, and the Central African Republic. The bloody conflict in the region has led to the deaths of thousands of people and the displacement of more than two million. This has been described as the world’s worst humanitarian crisis and has been called genocide, often being compared to the genocide in Rwanda. An estimated 300,000 people have been killed in this conflict since 2003. Since then, people have repeatedly come under attack by government troops, pro-government militia, the Janjaweed, and rebel groups. There are also frequent fights between tribes.

For more on the War in Darfur, visit the page below:

Civil war in the south

The Egyptians established the province of Equatoria in 1874, where Arab slave traders intensified their activity, targeting local and foreign markets. The local communities were seriously harmed; the memory of that exploitation would be long lasting.

From 1922 to 1947 (when the policy was abandoned), the British operated a separate administration in southern Sudan. The social and economic development of the region was ignored, except for some social services provided by Christian missionaries.

The Southerners opposed the new policy, fearing it would bring northern domination and the return of slavery, and that it would put their cultural and political rights at risk. The Juba Conference of 1947 gave voice to these fears, but it issued no decision on unity, despite later false assertions to the contrary.

Southern fears of northern domination proved well-founded at the negotiations on self-determination of Sudan in the early 1950s. The Northern nationalists excluded the Southerners from those negotiations and breached pre-independence promises to create a federal system. After the February 1953 self-rule agreement, it appeared that Northern leaders retreated from their commitments to federalism. This soon led to the development of the secessionist armed struggle. The movement began in 1955, a few months before independence when the Equatoria Corps in Torit mutinied.

For more on the War in the south, visit the page below: