فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / الشؤون الدولية / تجاوز الإنقسامات: جامعة الدول العربية والاتحاد الأوروبي يجتمعان في قمة الصحراء الأولى

تجاوز الإنقسامات: جامعة الدول العربية والاتحاد الأوروبي يجتمعان في قمة الصحراء الأولى

Specials- Arab league eu
(الصف الأول، من اليسار) رئيس المجلس الأوروبي دونالد توسك، والرئيس المصري عبد الفتاح السيسي، والعاهل السعودي سلمان، ورئيس المفوضية الأوروبية جان كلود يونكر، يقفون لالتقاط صورة خلال أول قمة مشتركة بين الاتحاد الأوروبي وجامعة الدول العربية في مركز المؤتمرات الدولي في منتجع شرم الشيخ المصري على البحر الأحمر، في 24 فبراير 2019. Photo AFP

اتفقت جامعة الدول العربية والاتحاد الأوروبي على تعزيز التعاون بينهما في القمة الأولى التي عقدت بين الكتلتين في شرم الشيخ، وهي منتجع صحراوي في مصر. وعليه، احتلت الهجرة غير النظامية ومكافحة الإرهاب مكانة ذات أهمية على جدول أعمال الحدث الذي استمر ليومين، والذي بدأ في 24 فبراير 2019.

لطالما سعت فيديريكا موغريني، رئيسة السياسة الخارجية بالاتحاد الأوروبي، إلى تعزيز العلاقات مع جامعة الدول العربية، والتي يُعتقد أنها جزء مهم من إرثها. كما رحب الرئيس المصري عبد الفتاح السيسي بالقمة، الذي يأمل دون أدنى شك في أن المحادثات مع أوروبا سترفع مكانة مصر في العالم العربي.

وعلى الرغم من مظاهر الوحدة، لم يتفق أي من الطرفين على بيان القمة الختامي. كما فشل وزراء خارجية الاتحاد الأوروبي وجامعة الدول العربية في الاتفاق على نصٍ بعد أن اعترضت هنغاريا على قسمٍ خاص بالهجرة.

ستكون الوثيقة، بمجرد الموافقة عليها، بمثابة مخططٍ لكيفية تعاون كلا الجانبين لتخفيف حدة النزاعات في سوريا واليمن. وهذا أمر مستبعدٌ حدوثه، بفضل مختلف الرجال الأقوياء الذين يقوضون التعاون المتعدد الأطراف. ومع ذلك، اعتبر أن القمة حققت نجاحاً لمجرد جمعها الكثير من رؤساء الدول تحت سقفٍ واحد.

وقال حسام زكي، مساعد الأمين العام لجامعة الدول العربية، لموقع المونيتور، وهو موقع إخباري إقليمي على الإنترنت: “إن حقيقة انعقاد القمة كان بحد ذاته ناجحاً.” وأضاف “إن إتاحة الفرصة لكل هؤلاء القادة للتحدث مع بعضهم البعض يزيد من فرص التفاهم. وهذا بحد ذاته إنجاز للقاء الأول من نوعه.”

ومن بين أبرز الغائبين عن القمة كان ولي العهد السعودي، محمد بن سلمان، الذي سلطت عليه الأضواء بشكلٍ مكثف في أعقاب عملية القتل الوحشي للصحفي السعودي جمال خاشقجي في إسطنبول في أكتوبر الماضي. كما تغيب الرئيس السوداني عمر البشير، المطلوب من قبل المحكمة الجنائية الدولية عن جرائم ارتكبت في دارفور ويواجه الآن احتجاجاتٍ جماهيرية في الداخل. وعلاوةً على ذلك، لم يحضر بشار الأسد من سوريا أيضاً، بالرغم من التحضيرات لعودته إلى أحضان الجامعة العربية.

على المدى البعيد، يأمل الاتحاد الأوروبي في حث خفر السواحل المصريين على نقل المهاجرين الذين يغادرون ليبيا وإعادتهم إلى البر الأفريقي. وكما هو حال اتفاقية إعادة القبول الموقعة مع رجب طيب أردوغان في تركيا، يعتمد السيسي على إضفاء الشرعية على حكمه على الرغم من سجله المروع في مجال حقوق الإنسان.

خير شاهدٍ على ذلك هو شعار القمة الذي حمل عنوان “الاستثمار في الاستقرار.” فقد سبق وأن عبر السيسي عن مشاعر مماثلة لتبرير التعديلات الدستورية المقترحة التي من شأنها أن تسمح له بالبقاء في السلطة لمدة 15 سنة أخرى. تقول جماعات حقوقية ومحللون إن مصر ستصبح دكتاتورية بشكلٍ رسمي إذا ما تم اعتماد التعديلات. ومع ذلك، لا يبدو أن هذا يهم الاتحاد الأوروبي.

ويقول مروان قبلان، وهو باحثٌ سوري في المركز العربي للبحوث والدراسات السياسية ومقره الدوحة، إن أوروبا لا تزال تحاول معالجة تداعيات الهجرة بدلاً من الأسباب.

وقال لقناة الجزيرة: “على الرغم من الاعتراف بوجود صلة بين الاستبداد والإرهاب، إلا أن [دول الاتحاد الأوروبي] لا تبدو مستعدة لاتخاذ خطوة جريئة ودعم التحول الديمقراطي في المنطقة.” وأضاف “على العكس من ذلك، يبدو أنهم على استعدادٍ لدعم المستبدين العرب حتى يتمكنوا من مساعدتهم على تأمين حدودهم وإغلاقها في وجه اللاجئين.”

بينما قالت دولٌ عربية أخرى إنها تحجم عن توقيع اتفاقيات إعادة القبول مع أوروبا. كما رفضت جامعة الدول العربية أي اقتراحٍ لإنشاء معسكراتٍ على أراضيها لمعالجة أمور المهاجرين الفارين من القمع والفقر في أفريقيا جنوب الصحراء الكبرى.

كما أن الانقسامات داخل الاتحاد الأوروبي تعيق التعاون في مجال الهجرة، فبينما ترفض كل من المجر وبولندا بالكامل ميثاق الهجرة العالمي واحتمال قبول اللاجئين، تقول دولٌ أخرى مثل إيطاليا إنها ترغب في إعادة توزيع اللاجئين في أرجاء دول الاتحاد الأوروبي.

وهناك أيضاً انقساماتٌ في المعسكر العربي، إذ أن العديد من القادة العرب لديهم مشكلة مع قطر، التي أرسلت مندوبين على مستوى منخفض إلى القمة. فقد قطعت كل من المملكة العربية السعودية والبحرين والإمارات العربية المتحدة ومصر علاقاتها الدبلوماسية مع الإمارة الصغيرة في يونيو 2017، متهمةً إياها بدعم الإرهاب.

أما القضية الوحيدة التي اتفق عليها الجميع هو مصير فلسطين. وقالت موغريني إن كلا الكتلتين تدعمان حل الدولتين وأن تكون القدس عاصمةً مشتركة. ومع ذلك، كتبت شهيرة أمين، كاتبة العمود في المونيتور، أن سجل مصر المتدهور في مجال حقوق الإنسان كان “القضية الكبرى التي يتم تجاهلها.”

فقبل أيامٍ فحسب من انعقاد القمة، أعدمت مصر تسعة أشخاص أدينوا بقتل المدعي العام هشام بركات في عام 2015. وقالت جماعات حقوق الإنسان إن المحاكمات كانت جائرة للغاية وأن اعترافات المتهمين انتُزعت تحت وطأة التعذيب. وكان هذا هو الحال أيضاً بالنسبة لستة رجال تم شنقهم في عام 2014، بعد إدانتهم بقتل نجل قاضٍ وقتل ضابط شرطة قبل عام.

وفي تقريرها العالمي لعام 2019، أضافت هيومن رايتس ووتش أن الشرطة المصرية تشتهر باستخدام التعذيب والاختفاء القسري لإسكات المعارضة السياسية. وخلص التقرير إلى أن أزمة حقوق الإنسان في مصر هي الأسوأ منذ عقود.

ولكن يبدو أن الاتحاد الأوروبي مستعدٌ للتغاضي عن قمع السيسي لتعزيز مصالحه في الشرق الأوسط، ومع ذلك، كشف تجاذب لأطراف الحديث بين السيسي ورئيس المجلس الأوروبي دونالد توسك التوترات بين الكتلتين.

فقد قال السيسي لمراسلٍ أوروبي بعد أن سُئل عن انتهاكات حقوق الإنسان في مصر،” لن تعلمونا إنسانيتنا وقيمنا وأخلاقياتنا.” وأضاف السيسي “الأولوية بالنسبة للدول الأوروبية هي منح شعبها الرفاهية، بينما تتمثل أولويتنا في حماية دولنا ومنعها من الإنهيار.”

أثارت إجابته تصفيقاً حاراً عم الأرجاء من قبل الصحفيين المحليين، المعرضين جميعاً لخطر الزج بالسجن إذا ما انتقدوا حاكم مصر. ورداً على ذلك، علق توسك قائلاً: “أنا أقدر تماماً حماس الإعلام الذي أعربوا عنه، من المستحيل أن نحصل على مثل رد الفعل هذا في أوروبا، أهنئك على هذا.”

وعلى الرغم من التقدم والتراجع، اتفقت الكتلتان على عقد قمةٍ أخرى في عام 2022، لوضع خطة أكثر واقعية للتعاون بينهما.

image_pdfimage_print

دعمكم عونٌ لنا

فَنَك هي مؤسسة إعلامية إلكترونية مستقلة، لا تمولها أي دولة أو مجموعات مصالح. تلتزم فَنَك بنشر تحليلاتٍ مبنية على الوقائع ومحايدة، إلى جانب التقارير المواضيعية حول الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا.
شهد الموقع نمواً سريعاً في نطاق وعمق المعلومات التي يُقدمها، واليوم، بات يُشكل مصدراً غنياً وقيماً للمعلومات عن 21 بلداً، من المغرب إلى عُمان ومن إيران إلى اليمن، باللغتين العربية والإنجليزية. حالياً، وصل عدد القراء إلى 6 ملايين سنوياً، والعدد آخذٌ بالإزدياد.
لضمان حيادية المعلومات على موقع فَنَك (وقائع وأحداث) ، تُنشر المقالات دون ذكر أسماء الكتّاب، مما يُتيح أيضاً لمراسلينا مساحة أكبر من الحرية عند التطرق إلى القضايا الحساسة أو المثيرة للجدل فى بلادهم. وإلى جانب ذلك، نتحرى حقائق جميع المعلومات الواردة في مقالاتنا قبل النشر لضمان دقة المعلومات، وحداثتها وحيادها.

استمرارية تشغيل مثل هذا الموقع الإلكتروني مُكلفة للغاية. بتبرعٍ صغيرٍ منك، يمكنك المساهمة في الحفاظ على حرية واستقلالية تغطيتنا.

Fanack Home / International Affairs / Traversing Divisions: Arab League and EU Meet in First Desert Summit

Traversing Divisions: Arab League and EU Meet in First Desert Summit

Specials- Arab league eu
(1st row, from L) European Council President Donald Tusk, Egyptian President Abdel Fattah al-Sisi, King Salman of Saudi Arabia and President of the European Commission Jean-Claude Juncker pose for a family picture during the first joint European Union and Arab League summit at the International Congress Centre in the Egyptian Red Sea resort of Sharm el-Sheikh, on February 24, 2019. Photo AFP

The Arab League and European Union (EU) agreed to strengthen cooperation in the first summit held between the two blocs in Sharm al-Sheikh, a desert resort town in Egypt. Irregular migration and counterterrorism featured high on the agenda of the two-day event, which began on 24 February 2019.

Federica Mogherini, the EU’s foreign policy chief, has long pushed for stronger ties with the Arab League, which she is believed to consider an important part of her legacy. Egyptian President Abdel Fattah al-Sisi also welcomed the summit, no doubt hoping that talks with Europe will elevate Egypt’s stature in the Arab world.

Despite the display of unity, neither side could agree on a final summit statement. EU and Arab League foreign ministers also failed to agree on a text after Hungary objected to a section on migration.

The document, once approved, will be the blueprint for how both sides can cooperate to mitigate the conflicts in Syria and Yemen. It is a tall order, thanks to the various strongmen who are undermining multilateral cooperation. Nevertheless, the summit was deemed a success for simply bringing so many heads of state together in one place.

“The fact that the summit was held was in itself a success,” said Hossam Zaki, assistant secretary general of the Arab League, to al-Monitor, a regional news website. “To offer all those leaders the opportunity to talk to each other increases the chances of understanding. That in itself is an achievement for a first gathering of its kind.”

Notably absent was Saudi Crown Prince Mohammed bin Salman, who has been under intense scrutiny following the brutal killing of Saudi journalist Jamal Khashoggi in Istanbul last October. Also absent was Sudanese President Omar al-Bashir, who is wanted by the International Criminal Court for crimes committed in Darfur and now faces mass protests at home. Bashar al-Assad of Syria was not present either, although his return into the Arab fold has started.

In the long run, the EU hopes to get Egyptian coastguards to pick up migrants leaving Libya and return them to the African mainland. Much like the readmission agreement signed with Turkey’s Recep Tayyip Erdogan, al-Sisi is banking on his rule being legitimized despite his appalling human rights record.

Most telling was the summit’s slogan, ‘Investing in Stability.” Al-Sisi has preached a similar sentiment to justify proposed constitutional amendments that would allow him to stay in power for another 15 years. Rights groups and analysts say that Egypt would officially become a dictatorship if the amendments are adopted. That does not seem to concern the EU.

Marwan Kabalan, a Syrian researcher at the Doha-based Arab Center for Research and Policy Studies, argued that Europe is still trying to address the consequences of migration rather than the causes.

“Despite admitting a link between despotism and terrorism, [EU states] do not seem willing to take the bold step and support democratic transition in the region,” he told al-Jazeera. “On the contrary, they seem willing to support Arab autocrats so that they can help them secure their borders and seal them in the face of refugees.”

Other Arab states said they are reluctant to sign readmission agreements with Europe. The Arab League has also rejected any proposal to establish camps on its soil to process migrants fleeing repression and poverty in sub-Saharan Africa.

Divisions within the EU is further hindering cooperation on migration. While Hungary and Poland completely reject the Global Migration Pact and the prospect of taking refugees, other states like Italy say they want refugees to be redistributed across the EU.

Divisions in the Arab camp also exist. Many Arab leaders have an issue with Qatar, which sent low-level delegates to the summit. Saudi Arabia, Bahrain, the United Arab Emirates and Egypt all severed diplomatic ties with the tiny emirate in June 2017, accusing it of supporting terrorism.

The one topic everyone seemed to agree on is the fate of Palestine. Mogherini said that both blocs support a two-state solution with Jerusalem as a shared capital. That said, al-Monitor columnist Shahira Amin wrote that Egypt’s deteriorating human rights record was the ‘elephant in the room’.

Just days before the summit, Egypt executed nine people who were convicted of murdering prosecutor Hisham Barakat in 2015. Rights groups said that the trials were grossly unfair and that the defendants’ confessions were extracted under torture. That was allegedly also the case for six men who were hung in 2014, after they were convicted of killing a judge’s son and murdering a police officer a year earlier.

In its 2019 global report, Human Rights Watch added that Egyptian police are notorious for using torture and forced disappearances to silence political dissent. The report concluded that Egypt’s human rights crisis is the worst in decades.

But the EU seems willing to overlook al-Sisi’s repression to further its interests in the Middle East. An exchange between al-Sisi and European Council President Donald Tusk nonetheless exposed tensions between the two blocs.

“You are not going to lecture us about humanity. You must respect our values and ethics,” al-Sisi told a European reporter, after being asked about rights abuses in Egypt. “The priority for European nations is to give people prosperity. Our priority is to safeguard our nations and prevent them from collapsing.”

His answer elicited loud applause from local journalists, all of whom risk prison if they criticize Egypt’s ruler. In response, Tusk remarked, “I really appreciate how enthusiastic your media are. It’s impossible in Europe to get such a reaction. Congratulations.”

Despite the back and forth, the two blocs agreed to hold another summit in 2022 to hash out a more concrete plan for cooperation.

image_pdfimage_print

We would like to ask you something …

Fanack is an independent media organisation, not funded by any state or any interest group, that distributes in the Middle East and the wider world unbiased analysis and background information, based on facts, about the Middle East and North Africa.

The website grew rapidly in breadth and depth and today forms a rich and valuable source of information on 21 countries, from Morocco to Oman and from Iran to Yemen, both in Arabic and English. We currently reach six million readers annually and growing fast.

In order to guarantee the impartiality of information on the Chronicle, articles are published without by-lines. This also allows correspondents to write more freely about sensitive or controversial issues in their country. All articles are fact-checked before publication to ensure that content is accurate, current and unbiased.

To run such a website is very expensive. With a small donation, you can make a huge impact. And it only takes a minute. Thank you.