فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / الشؤون الدولية / استمرار التسليح أم وقفه؟ قضية خاشقجي تدفع بتصرفات السعودية في اليمن إلى الواجهة

استمرار التسليح أم وقفه؟ قضية خاشقجي تدفع بتصرفات السعودية في اليمن إلى الواجهة

Specials- Saudi forces yemen
جنود موالون لقوات التحالف بقيادة السعودية يظهرون في ميناء عدن اليمني الجنوبي في 29 أكتوبر 2018. وصل السفير السعودي في اليمن إلى ميناء عدن الجنوبي للإشراف على إيصال مساعدات الوقود القادمة من السعودية. Photo AFP ©AFP ⁃ Saleh Al-OBEIDI

أثار اغتيال الصحفي السعودي جمال خاشقجي في 2 أكتوبر 2018 أثناء وجوده داخل القنصلية السعودية في اسطنبول العديد من ردود الفعل من المجتمع الدولي، خاصة فيما يتعلق بالمملكة العربية السعودية، التي يشتبه في أن سلطاتها أمرت بقتله. وفي طليعة ردود الفعل هذه هي كيفية التعامل مع صفقات الأسلحة مع المملكة.

شهدت الأشهر التي أعقبت مقتل خاشقجي العديد من التصريحات التي أدلى بها زعماء دوليون بشأن الآثار المترتبة على مقتله، بما في ذلك صفقات الأسلحة الخاصة بتلك البلدان مع المملكة العربية السعودية. فمنذ مارس 2015، قادت المملكة تدخلاً عسكرياً في اليمن ضد قوات الحوثي، التي يعتقد السعوديون أنهم مدعومون عسكرياً من قبل القوة الشيعية الإقليمية، إيران، عدوهم اللدود للسيطرة على المنطقة. أدت الحرب على اليمن إلى كارثةٍ إنسانية حتمية استنكرتها المنظمات الدولية بشدة.

فقد سلطت قضية خاشقجي الضوء على صراعٍ، كان حتى ذلك الحين، يتم تجاهله إلى حدٍ كبير من قبل وسائل الإعلام والسياسة الدولية، ونتيجةً لذلك دفع الأمر بالقادة السياسيين في جميع أنحاء العالم لاتخاذ موقفٍ بشأن العديد من القضايا المتعلقة بالحرب، بما في ذلك حقيقة أن المملكة العربية السعودية تشتري الأسلحة من العديد من الدول الغربية – وهي الأسلحة نفسها المستخدمة حالياً ضد المدنيين في اليمن.

ومنذ ذلك الحين أعلنت كل من فنلندا والدنمارك وألمانيا عن قرارها بوقف مبيعات الأسلحة إلى السعودية، حيث نوهت كل من ألمانيا والدنمارك إلى علاقة الأمر بمقتل خاشقجي، في حين قالت فنلندا في بيانٍ إن جزءاً كبيراً من قرارها يتعلق بالأزمة الإنسانية الجارية في اليمن. كما منعت ألمانيا 18 سعودياً متهماً بالتورط في قتل خاشقجي بالدخول إلى معظم أنحاء أوروبا. وقال وزير الخارجية الألماني هايكو ماس إن القرار تم تنسيقه عن كثب مع فرنسا، التي تعتبر جزءاً من منطقة شنغن، وبريطانيا، التي ليست كذلك، وأن دول الاتحاد الأوروبي الأخرى أعربت عن “دعمٍ كبير.”

فقد قال بنوا موراكيول، رئيس منظمة ASER، لنا في فَنَك، “حتى وإن كشفت قضية خاشقجي عن الطابع الحقيقي للقوة السعودية، فإن هذه المأساة لم تكن لتثير مسألة مبيعات الأسلحة إن لم يكن هناك أيضاً جرائم حرب يرتكبها التحالف الذي تقوده السعودية والإمارات العربية المتحدة.” وقد أدرج موراكيول البلدان الأكثر التزاماً بالدعم العسكري لنظام ولي العهد محمد بن سلمان، وهي كندا والولايات المتحدة الأمريكية وفرنسا والمملكة المتحدة وإيطاليا، في حين أن الدول المعارضة حالياً لصفقات الأسلحة هي ألمانيا وفنلندا والنرويج وهولندا.

وحتى الآن، لم توقف الولايات المتحدة صفقات الأسلحة الخاصة بها مع السعودية، حيث قال الرئيس ترمب إن الولايات المتحدة لن تفرض عقوباتٍ على السعودية أو تغيّر علاقاتها التجارية أو الاستراتيجية مع المملكة. وأوضح ترمب أن القرار اتخذ على الأقل جزئياً بسبب معارضة المملكة العربية السعودية التاريخية لإيران، وكرّر إدعاء إسرائيل بأن إيران هي “الراعي الأول للإرهاب في العالم.” يكمن وراء هذه التعليقات قرار المملكة بتخفيض أسعار النفط، كما غرّد الرئيس، بعد ساعاتٍ من رفضه إدانة المملكة العربية السعودية لقتل خاشقجي، “أسعار النفط تنخفض، عظيم! مثل خفض الضرائب الكبيرة لأمريكا والعالم، استمتعوا بسعر 54 دولاراً للبرميل بعدما كان 82 دولاراً. شكراً للسعودية، لكن دعونا نخفضها أكثر”.

ومع ذلك، لا يتفق معه جميع المسؤولين الأمريكيين: ففي 28 نوفمبر 2018، صوت مجلس الشيوخ الأمريكي (الكونجرس) بـ63 صوتاً مقابل 37 لصالح قرارٍ بوقف الدعم الأمريكي للسعودية في اليمن. يمثل التصويت جهداً لم يسبق له مثيل لسلطة الكونجرس لوضع حدٍ لسياسة اليمن التي بدأت في ظل إدارة أوباما دون إذنٍ من الكونجرس.

ورداً على ذلك، أعرب تيموثي ليندركينج، نائب مساعد وزير الخارجية الأميركي لشؤون الخليج، أثناء تحدثه في منتدى أمني إماراتي استضافته أبو ظبي في 9 ديسمبر، عن قلقه إزاء تصويت مجلس الشيوخ، إذ قال “من الواضح أن هناك ضغوطاً من الداخل… إما بالانسحاب من الصراع أو وقف مساندتنا للتحالف… وهو ما نعارضه بشدة من جانب الإدارة الأميركية. نؤمن حقاً أن دعم التحالف ضروري. إذا أوقفنا دعمنا فإن ذلك سيبعث برسالة خاطئة.” كما أكد ترمب دعمه لولي العهد في 12 ديسمبر، فالمملكة العربية السعودية هي أكبر مشترٍ للأسلحة الأمريكية، على الرغم من أن القيمة الفعلية لمبيعات الأسلحة الأمريكية للرياض منذ تسلم ترمب منصبه بلغت 14,5 مليار دولار، وفقاً لتقريرٍ صادر عن مركز السياسة الداخلية، الأمر الذي يختلف بشكلٍ كبير عن ادعاء ترمب بأن مبيعات الدفاع للنظام السعودي تبلغ 110 مليارات دولار.

وبالمثل، لم توقف المملكة المتحدة ولا فرنسا صفقات الأسلحة مع المملكة العربية السعودية. وفيما يتعلق بالأولى، قال أندرو سميث، المتحدث باسم حملة مناهضة تجارة الأسلحة، “مع تفاقم الأزمة، وحتى بعد مقتل جمال خاشقجي، من الواضح أن داوننج ستريت تهتم أكثر بتأمين مبيعات الأسلحة من تعزيز حقوق الإنسان.” وفي معرض سؤاله حول ما إذا كانت باريس ستستجيب لدعوة برلين لتعليق مبيعات الأسلحة، قال الناطق باسم وزارة الخارجية الفرنسية، أوليفيه جوفين إن سياسة فرنسا بشأن الرقابة على مبيعات السلاح صارمة وتستند إلى تحليل كل حالة على حدة من قبل لجنة وزارية. ففي عام 2017 وحده، تمت الموافقة على تراخيص فرنسية بلغت قيمتها 14,7 مليار يورو للسعودية.

في حين قال لنا في فَنَك طوني فورتن من المنظمة الفرنسية، مرصد التسلح، “جرت مناقشات غاية في الأهمية، لا سيما في فرنسا وإسبانيا، بشأن مسألة بيع الأسلحة التي يمكن استخدامها ضد المدنيين.” وأضاف “بشكلٍ عام، هل يمكننا الاستمرار في تغذية الدول بالأسلحة في حالة الحرب؟ كما أنشأت بعض البلدان فروعاً في الخارج، على سبيل المثال، في أبو ظبي والرياض. تعتمد الدول الأوروبية على دول الخليج. على سبيل المثال، تصدر فرنسا 60% من أنظمتها الدفاعية إلى الشرق الأوسط وتعتبر المملكة العربية السعودية ثاني أكبر زبائنها بعد الهند. كما تقوم المملكة المتحدة بنقل الكفاءات إلى جانب التقنيات، لذلك فإن المملكة العربية السعودية والإمارات قادرتان على شن الحرب لامتلاكهما الموارد والكفاءات الأكثر تقدماً. وبالتالي، شاركت هذه الدول في الحرب على اليمن. إن المسؤولية الأوروبية واضحة للغاية ولا يريدون أن يتم الكشف عن مسؤوليتهم هذه في وسائل الإعلام.”

حدد فورتن حركتين للحد من التسلح: “هناك بندٌ بعدم بيع الأسلحة إلى البلدان في حالة الحرب، ولكن لا يوجد سلطة خارجية لفرض العقوبات، لذا فإن الجدل الدائر حالياً يتعلق بكيفية تحديد المسؤولية وتنفيذ القواعد باستخدام العقوبات، أي بعبارةٍ أخرى، كيفية جعل الدول تحترم القوانين الدولية. هذه هي الحركة قصيرة المدى. أما على المدى الطويل، هناك حركة متزايدة تطالب بمزيدٍ من الاحترام لحقوق الإنسان، إلا أن هذا الأمر سيستغرق من 20 إلى 30 عاماً من أجل التأثير العملي على القوانين الدولية والوطنية. ينبغي أن يكون المجتمع المدني قادراً على صون قضايا حقوق الإنسان في المناقشات العامة والسياسية.”

وفي الوقت الحالي، نجحت المنظمات الدولية والمجتمع المدني في جذب الانتباه والتعبئة الاجتماعية والسياسية حول الحرب في اليمن، لكن إلى متى يمكن أن يستمر هذا الزخم؟ في غضون ذلك، وبحسب موراكيول، “تحتاج جميع الدول، مثل الشركات، إلى الاعتناء بصورتها لجذب المستثمرين والاستعداد للمستقبل على المدى المتوسط والقصير؛ هذا هو الحال بالنسبة لمحمد بن سلمان أيضاً.”

إذا ما أوقفت المزيد من الدول صفقات الأسلحة مع السعودية والإمارات، قد يضطر التحالف الذي تقوده السعودية إلى وقف حربه على اليمن – وذلك على أقل تقدير، لحفظ ماء الوجه والحفاظ على شراكته السياسية والتجارية في جميع أنحاء العالم. بيد أن بعض الدول، مثل الولايات المتحدة والمملكة المتحدة وفرنسا، تحتاج على ما يبدو إلى أكثر من أزمةٍ إنسانية وانتهاكاتٍ واضحة للقوانين الدولية، للاستجابة.

© Copyright Notice

click on link to view the associated photo/image
©AFP ⁃ Saleh Al-OBEIDI

دعمكم عونٌ لنا

فَنَك هي مؤسسة إعلامية إلكترونية مستقلة، لا تمولها أي دولة أو مجموعات مصالح. تلتزم فَنَك بنشر تحليلاتٍ مبنية على الوقائع ومحايدة، إلى جانب التقارير المواضيعية حول الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا.
شهد الموقع نمواً سريعاً في نطاق وعمق المعلومات التي يُقدمها، واليوم، بات يُشكل مصدراً غنياً وقيماً للمعلومات عن 21 بلداً، من المغرب إلى عُمان ومن إيران إلى اليمن، باللغتين العربية والإنجليزية. حالياً، وصل عدد القراء إلى 6 ملايين سنوياً، والعدد آخذٌ بالإزدياد.
لضمان حيادية المعلومات على موقع فَنَك (وقائع وأحداث) ، تُنشر المقالات دون ذكر أسماء الكتّاب، مما يُتيح أيضاً لمراسلينا مساحة أكبر من الحرية عند التطرق إلى القضايا الحساسة أو المثيرة للجدل فى بلادهم. وإلى جانب ذلك، نتحرى حقائق جميع المعلومات الواردة في مقالاتنا قبل النشر لضمان دقة المعلومات، وحداثتها وحيادها.

استمرارية تشغيل مثل هذا الموقع الإلكتروني مُكلفة للغاية. بتبرعٍ صغيرٍ منك، يمكنك المساهمة في الحفاظ على حرية واستقلالية تغطيتنا.

Fanack Home / International Affairs / Khashoggi Case Puts Saudi Actions in Yemen Front and Center

Khashoggi Case Puts Saudi Actions in Yemen Front and Center

Specials- Saudi forces yemen
Soldiers loyal to Saudi-led coalition forces are seen in the southern Yemeni port of Aden on October 29, 2018. Saudi ambassador to Yemen arrived in the southern Yemeni port of Aden to oversee an aid delivery of fuel from Saudi Arabia. Photo AFP

The assassination of Saudi journalist Jamal Khashoggi on 2 October 2018 while he was inside the Saudi consulate in Istanbul prompted a multitude of reactions from the international community, particularly regarding Saudi Arabia, whose authorities are suspected to have ordered the killing. At the forefront of these reactions is how to address arms deals with the kingdom.

The months following Khashoggi’s murder have seen numerous declarations by international leaders regarding the implications of his death, including those countries’ respective arms deals with Saudi Arabia. Since March 2015, the kingdom has led a military intervention in Yemen against the Houthi forces, who the Saudis believe are backed militarily by regional Shia power Iran, its enemy for control over the region. The war on Yemen has led to an unmitigated humanitarian disaster which has been vociferously denounced by international organizations.

Khashoggi’s case has shed light on a conflict that, until then, had been largely ignored by international media and politics and as a result has pushed political leaders all over the world to take a stand on several issues related to the war, including the fact that Saudi Arabia buys weapons from many Western countries – the very same weapons currently being used against civilians on Yemen.

Finland, Denmark and Germany have since announced a decision to halt weapons sales to Saudi Arabia; Germany and Denmark cited the killing of Khashoggi, while Finland said in a statement that much of its decision was related to the ongoing humanitarian crisis in Yemen. Germany has also  banned 18 Saudis suspected of involvement in the killing of Khashoggi from much of Europe. German Foreign Minister Heiko Maas said the decision had been closely coordinated with France, which is part of the Schengen zone, and Britain, which is not, and that other European Union (EU) states had expressed “great support.”

“Even if the Khashoggi case revealed the true nature of Saudi power, this tragedy wouldn’t have brought forth the question of arms sales if there weren’t also war crimes being perpetrated by the Saudi-and Emirati-led coalition,” Benoît Muracciole, president of ASER organization, told Fanack. He listed the countries most committed to military support for Crown Prince Mohammad Bin Salman‘s regime as Canada, the United States (US), France, the United Kingdom (UK) and Italy, and the ones currently opposed as Germany, Finland, Norway and The Netherlands.

The US has not halted its own arms deals yet, with President Trump saying the US would not be imposing sanctions on Saudi Arabia or changing its business or strategic relationship with the kingdom. Trump explained that decision was taken at least partly because of Saudi Arabia’s historic opposition to Iran, and repeated Israel’s claim that Iran was “the world’s leading sponsor of terror.” Behind these comments lay the decision by the kingdom to lower oil prices, as the President tweeted, hours after refusing to condemn Saudi Arabia for the murder of Khashoggi, “oil prices getting lower. Great! Like a big Tax Cut for America and the World. Enjoy! $54, was just $82. Thank you to Saudi Arabia, but let’s go lower!”

However, not all American officials agree: on 28 November 2018, the US Senate voted 63 to 37 for a resolution to halt US support to Saudi Arabia in Yemen. The vote represents an unprecedented effort to invoke Congressional authority to put a stop to a Yemen policy that began under the Obama administration without the authorization of Congress.

In reaction, speaking at the United Arab Emirates (UAE) security forum in Abu Dhabi, Deputy Assistant Secretary for Gulf Affairs Timothy Lenderking expressed on 9 December 2018 his concern over the Senate vote: “Obviously there are pressures in our system… to either withdraw from the conflict or discontinue our support for the coalition, which we are strongly opposed to on the administration side. We do believe that the support for the coalition is necessary. It sends a wrong message if we discontinue our support.” Trump also reiterated his support to the Crown Prince on 12 December 2018. Saudi Arabia is the top buyer of American weapons, although the actual value of US arms sales to Riyadh since Trump took office is $14.5 billion, according to a report by the Center for Internal Policy, which differs significantly from Trump’s claim that defence sales to the Saudi regime total $110bn.

Similarly, the UK and France did not halt their own arms deals with Saudi Arabia. With regards to the former, Andrew Smith of Campaign Against Arms Trade, said “as the crisis worsens, and even after the killing of Jamal Khashoggi, it is clear that Downing Street is more concerned with securing arms sales than promoting human rights.” And asked if Paris would heed Berlin’s call to suspend weapons sales, French Foreign Ministry Deputy Spokesman Olivier Gauvin said only that France’s arms sales control policy was strict and based on a case-by-case analysis by an inter-ministerial committee. In 2017 alone, French licenses potentially worth 14.7 billion euros to Saudi Arabia were approved.

“There have been important debates, notably in France and Spain, on the question of selling weapons that could be used against civilians,” Tony Fortin, in charge of studies at the French organization Observatoire des Armements (armaments observatory), told Fanack. “In general, can we keep on feeding countries at war with weapons? Some countries also set up subsidiaries abroad, for example, in Abu Dhabi and Riyadh. European countries are dependent on the Gulf countries. For example, France exports 60% of its defence systems to the Middle East and Saudi Arabia is its second client after India. The UK also transfers competencies on top of technologies, so Saudi Arabia and the Emirates are able to wage war based on the most advanced material and competencies. Here, these countries sort of co-built the war on Yemen. The European responsibility is very visible and they don’t want their responsibility to be revealed in the media.”

Fortin identified two movements on arms control: “There is a regulation on not selling to countries at war, but no external authority to establish sanctions, so the existing debate is on how to identify responsibility and implement the rules using sanctions, in other words, how to make countries respect international laws. That’s the short-term movement. In the long-term, there is a growing movement demanding more respect for human rights, but that is something that will take 20 to 30 years in order to have a practical impact on international and national laws. Civil society needs to be able to maintain the human rights questions in public and political debates.”

For now, international organizations and civil society have managed to attract attention and mobilize socially and politically on the Yemen war, but how long can this momentum last? In the meantime, according to Muracciole, “all countries, like companies, need to look after their image in order to attract investors and prepare for the future in the medium-and short-term; it is the case for Mohammad bin Salman too.”

If more countries were halting their weapons deals with Saudi Arabia and the Emirates, the Saudi-led coalition might be obliged to stop their war on Yemen – if nothing else, to save face as well as maintain their political and commercial partnerships worldwide. But some countries, like the US, UK and France, apparently need more than a humanitarian crisis and clear violations of international laws to react.

image_pdfimage_print

We would like to ask you something …

Fanack is an independent media organisation, not funded by any state or any interest group, that distributes in the Middle East and the wider world unbiased analysis and background information, based on facts, about the Middle East and North Africa.

The website grew rapidly in breadth and depth and today forms a rich and valuable source of information on 21 countries, from Morocco to Oman and from Iran to Yemen, both in Arabic and English. We currently reach six million readers annually and growing fast.

In order to guarantee the impartiality of information on the Chronicle, articles are published without by-lines. This also allows correspondents to write more freely about sensitive or controversial issues in their country. All articles are fact-checked before publication to ensure that content is accurate, current and unbiased.

To run such a website is very expensive. With a small donation, you can make a huge impact. And it only takes a minute. Thank you.