فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / الشؤون الدولية / هل تصمد الأونروا في وجه انتكاسةٍ أخرى؟

هل تصمد الأونروا في وجه انتكاسةٍ أخرى؟

Specials- UNRWA
طلاب فلسطينيون يرفعون شارة النصر فوق علم الأمم المتحدة خلال احتجاجٍ في إحدى مدارس الأونروا في مخيم العروب للاجئين بالقرب من الخليل في الضفة الغربية المحتلة في 5 سبتمبر 2018. Photo: HAZEM BADER / AFP ©AFP ⁃ HAZEM BADER

تعرضت وكالة الأمم المتحدة لإغاثة وتشغيل اللاجئين الفلسطينيين في الشرق الأدنى (الأونروا)، وهي وكالة تابعة للأمم المتحدة تقدم الخدمات الأساسية والإغاثة للفلسطينيين المهجرين، لإنتكاسةٍ علنية أخرى بعد أن أوقفت عدة دولٍ تمويلها بعد “فضيحة” عرضتها وسائل الإعلام . ففي عام 2018، خفضت الولايات المتحدة تمويلها لوكالة الأمم المتحدة بشكلٍ كبير بالفعل، ثم أوقفتها بالكامل في ميزانية عام 2019. فقد أصبحت الأونروا، التي تعثرت في الماضي بسبب الخلافات، اليوم تواجه خطراً حقيقياً، إذ يعتقد منتقدوها أنه يجب إغلاقها، بينما يقول آخرون إن توجيه اللوم لوكالة اللاجئين شأنٌ سياسي. قد تؤدي خسارة التمويل إلى إعاقة الخدمات الأساسية لملايين الفلسطينيين الذين يعتمدون عليها، وبالتالي، يثير هذا مسألة ما إذا كان للأونروا أن تتحمل انتكاسةً أخرى.

كانت بلجيكا الدولة الثالثة في صيف عام 2019 التي تعلّق تمويلها لوكالة الأمم المتحدة لإغاثة وتشغيل اللاجئين الفلسطينيين في الشرق الأدنى، والتي يشار إليها غالباً باسم الأونروا. جاء هذا القرار بعد أن اتهم تقرير أخلاقي تم تسريبه القيادة العليا داخل الوكالة بسوء السلوك وإساءة استخدام السلطة.

فقد وصف وزير التنمية البلجيكي هذه المزاعم بأنها “غير مقبولة” في حال صح الخبر، واتبع قرار سويسرا وهولندا المستقل بحجب الموارد حتى يتم الانتهاء من التحقيق المستمر، ونشر النتائج واتخاذ تدابير بشأنها.

تم تسريب محتويات التقرير إلى قناة الجزيرة، حيث قامت المؤسسة الإعلامية ومقرها الدوحة بنشر مقتطفاتٍ منه في يوليو.

يتضمن التقرير مزاعم بـ”سلوك جنسي غير لائق ومحاباة، وتمييز وغيرها من ممارسات استغلال السلطة لمنافع شخصية وقمع المخالفين بالرأي تحقيقاً لأهداف شخصية،” كما ركز التقرير على مجموعة صغيرة من كبار مسؤولي الوكالة الذين تمت الإشارة إليهم بـ”الدائرة الداخلية.”

ادعى التقرير أنه منذ قرار الولايات المتحدة بوقف تمويل الوكالة في عام 2018، توطدت سلطة اتخاذ القرار بين هذه الدائرة الداخلية وأدت إلى تصاعد “تدهور الإدارة” و”انهيار كبير في هيكل المساءلة المنتظم.” وتشمل الادعاءات تهمة إقامة علاقاتٍ غير لائقة، الأمر الذي أدى إلى تعييناتٍ في مناصب عليا عبر عملياتٍ تفتقر للشفافية، إلى جانب رحلات السفر المتكررة جداً.

كما خلص التقرير السري المكون من 10 صفحات، والذي تم تسريبه من مكتب الأخلاقيات في الوكالة، إلى أن بعض الأفراد يشكلون “خطراً هائلاً على سمعة الأمم المتحدة” وأنه “يجب النظر بعناية في إقالتهم فوراً.”

من جهته، رفض المفوض العام بيير كرينبول، محور الادعاءات، توصيف الأونروا وقيادتها في التقرير، رغم أنه لا يمكن إبداء مزيدٍ من التعليقات على محتويات التقارير إلى حين الانتهاء من التحقيق.

من الجدير بالذكر أن الأونروا تأسست في عام 1949 بعد أن تم تهجير أكثر من 700 ألف فلسطيني من أرضهم لإقامة دولة إسرائيل في عام 1948. وتشمل خدماتها التعليم، والمرافق الصحية، وشبكات الأمان، والبنية التحتية، فضلاً عن التمويل الصغير والاستجابة لحالات الطوارىء. تقدم الأونروا حالياً المساعدة لـ5,4 مليون لاجىء فلسطيني في الأراضي الفلسطينية المحتلة ولبنان والأردن وسوريا. في حين بدأت بتفويضٍ مؤقت لمساعدة وإيواء اللاجئين الفلسطينيين المنفيين إلى حين التوصل “لحلٍ عادل لقضية اللاجئين الفلسطينيين،” بيد أنه تم تجديد هذا التفويض منذ ذلك الحين باستمرار من قبل الجمعية العامة للأمم المتحدة في ظل عدم التوصل لقرارٍ عادل حتى الآن. ستنتهي ولايتها الحالية في يونيو 2020.

وطوال فترة عملها، جادل النقاد بضرورة تفكيك الأونروا. أحد الأسباب التي أشاروا إليها في كثيرٍ من الأحيان هي أن الأمم المتحدة لديها وكالة أخرى للاجئين، أي المفوضية السامية للأمم المتحدة لشؤون اللاجئين. السبب الآخر سياسيٌ على نحوٍ أكبر.

وبحسب ما قاله لنا في فَنَك هادي عمرو، محلل سياسات الشرق الأوسط الذي شغل منصب نائب المبعوث الخاص للمفاوضات الإسرائيلية الفلسطينية في ظل وزير الخارجية الأمريكي جون كيري: “إن عمل المنظمة لعقود هو إنجازٌ سياسي فلسطيني، مما يعكس إجماعاً دولياً على أن اللاجئين الفلسطينيين فئة مختلفة عن اللاجئين الآخرين.”

غالباً ما يكون وجود الوكالة مرتبطاً بمبدأ “حق العودة،” الذي يجادل آخرون أنه قائم بوجود الأونروا أو عدمه، والذي يقتضي أن لكل فردٍ حقٌ مصون في العودة إلى وطنه، حيث يعتبر ذلك نص قرار الأمم المتحدة رقم 194.

ومع ذلك، عندما قامت الإدارة الأمريكية، في عهد الرئيس دونالد ترمب، بقطع تمويلها للأونروا في عام 2018، تم تفسير ذلك على أنها خطوة صريحة لمحاولة إقصاء قضية العودة من طاولة المفاوضات.

يتابع عمرو: “هناك عناصر من اليمين الإسرائيلي المتطرف أمثال نتنياهو واليمين الأكثر تطرفاً، ممن يحبون التذمر من الأونروا وينتقدونها.” ولكن كما هو الحال مع أي منظمة بيروقراطية كبيرة، ستواجه الوكالة مشاكلها دوماً، كما يقول.

ومع ذلك، فإن طبيعة الإدعاءات التي كشف عنها التقرير الذي تم تسريبه لم تظهر من قبل، وقد وصف تقييم أجرته شبكة أداء المنظمات المتعددة الأطراف، الأونروا بأنها “منظمة تدار بشكلٍ جيد وتقدم خدماتها.”

ومع ذلك، تحملت الأونروا حصتها من الجدل، ويشمل ذلك استخدام مبانيها لتخزين وإطلاق الصواريخ من قبل حماس خلال حرب عام 2014 في غزة، التي نأت الأونروا بنفسها عنه.

ونظراً لأن الولايات المتحدة كانت أكبر المانحين للوكالة، حيث ساهمت بثلث كامل ميزانيتها، فقد تسبب تعليق هذه المساعدات في أزمة تمويلٍ العام الماضي. ساعدت جهات مانحة أخرى على سد الفجوة التي خلفها العجز الأمريكي، لكن العجز في تمويل الأونروا لا يزال يبلغ 161 مليون دولار لهذا العام، من إجمالي متطلبات الميزانية البالغة 1,2 مليار دولار، وفقاً لما ذكرته تمارا الرفاعي، المتحدثة باسم الأونروا.

وتبلغ مساهمة بلجيكا المتبقية 5,9 مليون دولار، بينما تحجب هولندا 14,5 مليون دولار، في حين أن جميع المساهمات الأخرى كانت تأتِ من هنا وهناك. وفي الوقت نفسه، تم تأكيد مساهماتٍ إضافية، بما في ذلك مليون دولار من حكومة الصين، كما رفعت الهند مساهمتها من 1,25 مليون دولار في عام 2016 إلى 5 ملايين دولار في الفترة 2018/2019. وعلاوةً على ذلك، أعلنت دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة عن المساهمة بمبلغ 50 مليون دولار للوكالة.

من جهتها، تقول الدكتورة آن عرفان، المؤرخة بكلية لندن للاقتصاد والمتخصصة في تاريخ الأونروا، إن المزيد من الدول غير الغربية تدعم الآن الوكالة، بما في ذلك روسيا واليابان، وبحسب قولها “الأمر الأكثر إثارة للاهتمام هو أن دول الخليج العربية قدمت التمويل على نحوٍ متزايد للأونروا في السنوات الأخيرة، بعد تاريخ طويلٍ من رفض التبرع لصندوقها العام لأسباب سياسية.” وكما توضح عرفان، كان منطقهم هو أن الدول الغربية خلقت أزمة اللاجئين الفلسطينيين، وبالتالي ينبغي أن تتحمل مسؤولة تمويل الأونروا.

وبالتالي، فإن التأثير المالي لقرار الدول الأوروبية لا يزال ضعيفاً، بيد أنه لا يزال ينطوي على “رسالةٍ سياسية،” كما قالت الرفاعي لفَنَك. وأضافت: “نحن بصفتنا وكالة، كنا نأمل حقاً أن ينتظروا نتائج التحقيق قبل اتخاذ أي إجراء. لأننا نميز حقاً بين الادعاءات والنتائج. والآن، ما زلنا في مرحلة الإدعاءات.”

وفوق كل هذا، تحتاج الأونروا إلى 1,2 مليار دولار لإكمال ولايتها.

كما شددت الرفاعي بقولها: “نريد من الدول الأعضاء في الأمم المتحدة التصويت لاستمرار ولايتنا هذا الخريف. وهذا ما نركز عليه بشدة الآن.”

إن الآثار المترتبة على عدم تمويل الأونروا على نحوٍ ملائم يمكن أن تضر بحياة ملايين اللاجئين، من بينهم الآلاف من الأطفال والشباب.

وقالت عرفان: “اضطرت الأونروا بالفعل إلى إجراء تخفيضات كبيرة في الخدمات في السنوات الأخيرة.” وتابعت، “من المرجح أن يؤدي فقدان التمويل من ثلاث دولٍ إلى مزيدٍ من التخفيضات، بما في ذلك الخدمات الأساسية.”

وأضافت الرفاعي “إن لم نتمكن من فتح المدارس في الوقت المناسب خلال ثلاثة أسابيع، سيكون مصير نصف مليون طفل ومراهق الشارع…هذه مشكلة أمنية كبيرة.”

بينما قال عمرو مستذكراً من تجربته كدبلوماسي يعمل في المنطقة، “سيقول لك الجيش الإسرائيلي ‘الحمد لله على وجود الأونروا،‘ فهي توفر [خدماتٍ منقذة للحياة] للشعب الفلسطيني… هذا أحد أشكال الحد من التوترات السياسية، كما أنه يجعل البيئة العامة أكثر صحة وأقل تقلباً.” وأضاف، “إذا لم تكن الأونروا موجودة، فستضطر إلى ابتكارها لتصبح موجودة.”

ومع ذلك، دعت إدارة ترمب إلى نقل مسؤولية خدمات الأونروا إلى البلدان المضيفة وتفكيك الوكالة.

وتقول عرفان إن الفضيحة الحالية يمكن أن تسبب نوعاً من الأضرار التي ستلحق بسمعة الوكالة والتي قد تغذي مهمة ترمب.

كما انتقد وزير الخارجية السويسري إجنازيو كاسيس الوكالة علانية، واصفاً إياها بأنها “جزء من المشكلة” في الشرق الأوسط، مما غذى الأمل “غير الواقعي” بعودة الفلسطينيين.

وعليه، من المحتمل أن يشهد الاجتماع في سبتمبر تصويتاً ضد تجديد ولاية الوكالة، لكن كما أشار أحد صحفيي هآرتس، قد تشعر دولٌ أخرى أيضاً بالضغط لاتباع نفس النهج.

وبالتالي، فإن الأزمة التي تصيب الأونروا ليست مجرد أزمة تمويل أو سوء سلوك، إلا أنها مرتبطة بمواقف تجاه وجودها بسبب ارتباطها الرمزي بحق العودة. لا يزال الدعم العالمي للوكالة كبيراً، ولكن خطر الضغوط الإسرائيلية والأمريكية لضمان إنهاء ولايتها يلوح في الأفق، وقد يكون لهذا آثار خطيرة على من يستفيدون من خدماتها.

© Copyright Notice

click on link to view the associated photo/image
©AFP ⁃ HAZEM BADER

دعمكم عونٌ لنا

فَنَك هي مؤسسة إعلامية إلكترونية مستقلة، لا تمولها أي دولة أو مجموعات مصالح. تلتزم فَنَك بنشر تحليلاتٍ مبنية على الوقائع ومحايدة، إلى جانب التقارير المواضيعية حول الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا.
شهد الموقع نمواً سريعاً في نطاق وعمق المعلومات التي يُقدمها، واليوم، بات يُشكل مصدراً غنياً وقيماً للمعلومات عن 21 بلداً، من المغرب إلى عُمان ومن إيران إلى اليمن، باللغتين العربية والإنجليزية. حالياً، وصل عدد القراء إلى 6 ملايين سنوياً، والعدد آخذٌ بالإزدياد.
لضمان حيادية المعلومات على موقع فَنَك (وقائع وأحداث) ، تُنشر المقالات دون ذكر أسماء الكتّاب، مما يُتيح أيضاً لمراسلينا مساحة أكبر من الحرية عند التطرق إلى القضايا الحساسة أو المثيرة للجدل فى بلادهم. وإلى جانب ذلك، نتحرى حقائق جميع المعلومات الواردة في مقالاتنا قبل النشر لضمان دقة المعلومات، وحداثتها وحيادها.

استمرارية تشغيل مثل هذا الموقع الإلكتروني مُكلفة للغاية. بتبرعٍ صغيرٍ منك، يمكنك المساهمة في الحفاظ على حرية واستقلالية تغطيتنا.

Fanack Home / International Affairs / Can UNRWA Withstand Another Blow?

Can UNRWA Withstand Another Blow?

Specials- UNRWA
Palestinian schoolchildren raise the victory gesture over a UN flag during a protest at UNRWA school in the Arroub refugee camp near Hebron in the occupied West Bank on September 5, 2018. Photo: HAZEM BADER / AFP ©AFP ⁃ HAZEM BADER

The UN Relief and Works Agency for Palestine Refugees in the Near East (UNRWA), the UN agency that provides essential services and relief to displaced Palestinians, has been hit by yet another public blow after several countries suspended funding following a media-exposed ‘scandal.’ In 2018, the US already massively reduced its funding of the UN body, then cut it to zero in the 2019 budget. Dogged by controversy in the past, the UNRWA is now in real danger. Its critics believe it should be shut down, while others says censure of the refugee body is political. Lost funding can potentially hinder fundamental services for the millions of Palestinians who rely on it. It is prompting the question of whether UNRWA can harbour another blow.

Belgium was the third country in summer 2019 to suspend funding to the UN Relief and Works Agency for Palestine Refugees in the Near East, often referred to by its acronym UNRWA. The decision came after a leaked ethics report accused senior leadership within the agency of misconduct and abuse of power.

Belgium’s Minister of Development called the allegations “unacceptable” if true, and followed Switzerland and the Netherlands’‘ independent decision to withhold resources until an ongoing investigation has been concluded, findings have been released and measures decided upon.

Contents of the report were leaked to Al Jazeera, from which the Doha-based media organisation published extracts in July.

They included allegations of “misconduct, nepotism, retaliation, discrimination and other abuses of authority, for personal gain, to suppress legitimate dissent, and to otherwise achieve their personal objectives,” and was focused on a small group among senior UNRWA leadership that was referred to as an “inner-circle.”

The report claimed that since the US’ decision to defund the agency in 2018, decision-making power has consolidated among this inner-circle and has led to an escalation in “management decline” and “a significant breakdown of the regular accountability structure.” Allegations include the charge of inappropriate relationships having developed, that led to senior appointments via opaque processes, as well as excessive travel.

The 10-page confidential report, leaked from the agency’s ethics office, also concluded that certain individuals pose “an enormous risk to the reputation of the UN” and that “their immediate removal should be carefully considered.”

Commissioner-General Pierre Krähenbühl, at the center of allegations, has rejected the characterisation of UNRWA and its leadership in the report ,although no further comments can be made on the reports’ contents until the investigation has concluded.

UNRWA was set up in 1949 after more than 700,000 Palestinians were uprooted as a result of the establishment of Israel in 1948. Its services include schooling, health facilities, safety nets, infrastructure as well as micro-financing and emergency response. It currently provides help to 5.4 million Palestinians refugees in the occupied Palestinian territories, Lebanon, Jordan and Syria. While it began with a temporary mandate to aid and shelter exiled Palestinian refugees until there is a “just resolution of the question of the Palestine refugees,” it has since then been continually renewed by the UN General Assembly as no just resolution has yet been found. Its current mandate will expire in June 2020.

Throughout its operation, critics have argued that UNRWA should be dismantled. One reason they often cite is that the UN has another refugee agency, the UNHCR. Another reason is more political.

“The organization’s decades of existence is a Palestinian political achievement, reflecting an international consensus that Palestinian refugees are in a different category than other refugees,” said Hady Amr, a Middle East policy analyst who served as deputy special envoy for Israeli-Palestinian negotiations under Secretary of State John Kerry, speaking to Fanack Chronicle.

The existence of the body is often equivocated with the principle of the “right of return,” which others argue would exist with or without UNRWA’s existence, and which dictates that everyone has an inviolable right to return to their homeland. It is the subject of UN resolution 194.

However, when the US administration, under President Donald Trump, cut its funding to UNRWA in 2018, it was interpreted as a blunt move to try to eliminate the issue of return from the negotiating table.

Amr continues: “There are elements of far-right Israelis from Netanyahu and further to the right, who love to complain about UNWRA and criticise it.” But as with any large bureaucratic organisation, the agency will always have its problems, he says.

Yet allegations of the nature revealed by the leaked report have not surfaced before and an assessment by the Multilateral Organisation Performance Network has described UNRWA as a “well-managed organisation that delivers.”

Nevertheless, UNRWA has endured its share of controversy. This includes the use of its premises to store and launch rockets by Hamas during the 2014 war in Gaza, which UNRWA distanced itself from.

As the US was the agency’s biggest donor, contributing a third of its entire budget, the suspension of this aid caused a funding crisis last year. Other donors helped to bridge the gap left by America’s deficit, but the shortfall in UNRWA’s funding remains at $161 million for the year, out of a total budget requirement of $1.2 billion, according to Tamara Al-Rifai, the UNRWA spokesperson.

Belgium’s remaining contribution is $5.9 million, while the Netherlands is withholding $14.5 million. All other contributions have been dispersed. In tandem, additional contributions have been confirmed, including $1 million from the government of China. India has also ramped up its contribution from $1.25 million in 2016 to $5 million in the 2018 /2019 period. The UAE has also announced a $50 million contribution to the agency.

Dr. Anne Irfan, a historian from the London School of Economics who researches UNRWA, says more non-Western states are now supporting the agency, including Russia and Japan. “Most interestingly,” says Irfan, “Gulf Arab states have increasingly provided funding to UNRWA in recent years, following a long history of refusing to donate to its General Fund on political grounds.” As Irfan explains, their rationale was that Western states created the Palestinian refugee crisis, so they should be responsible for financing UNRWA.

The fiscal impact of the European countries’ decision therefore remains low but it still sends a “political message,” Al-Rifai told Fanack Chronicle. “We as an agency, really hoped that they would wait for the results of the investigation before taking action. Because we really distinguish between allegations and findings. And right now, we’re still in allegations phase.” Above all, UNRWA needs $1.2 billion to fulfil its mandate.

“We need UN member states to vote for the continuation of our mandate this fall. And this is what we’re very focused on right now,” stressed Al-Rifai.

The implications of UNRWA not being funded properly are potentially detrimental to the lives of millions of refugees, among them thousands of children and young people.

“UNRWA has already had to make drastic service cuts in recent years,” said Irfan. “The loss of funding from three states is likely to result in further cuts, including in essential services.”

“If we’re not able to open the schools in time in three weeks, there’s half a million children and teenagers who will be on the street,” said Al-Rifai. “That’s a big security issue.”

“The Israeli military will basically tell you ‘thank God for UNRWA,’ they’re providing [life-saving services] for the Palestinian people… that kind of lower the political temperature, and make the overall environment healthier and less volatile,” said Amr, recalling from his experience as a diplomat working on the region. “If UNRWA didn’t exist, you would have to invent it to exist.”

The Trump administration has nevertheless advocated for transferring the responsibility of UNRWA’s services to host countries and dismantling the agency.

Irfan says the current scandal could do the kind of reputational damage that may fuel Trump’s mission.

Swiss Foreign Minister Ignazio Cassis has also publicly criticised the organisation, calling it “part of the problem” in the Middle East, fuelling “unrealistic” hope of Palestinian return.

The meeting in September is therefore likely to see America vote against renewal of the mandate, but as a Haaretz journalist noted, other countries may also feel pressured to follow suit.

The crisis hitting UNRWA is therefore not just a crisis of funding or misconduct, but is connected to attitudes towards its existence due to its symbolic affiliation with the right of return. Global support for the organisation still remains high but the risk of Israeli and US pressure securing the severance of its mandate looms nearby, and this could have serious effects on those who use its services.

© Copyright Notice

click on link to view the associated photo/image
©AFP ⁃ HAZEM BADER | ©AFP ⁃ HAZEM BADER

We would like to ask you something …

Fanack is an independent media organisation, not funded by any state or any interest group, that distributes in the Middle East and the wider world unbiased analysis and background information, based on facts, about the Middle East and North Africa.

The website grew rapidly in breadth and depth and today forms a rich and valuable source of information on 21 countries, from Morocco to Oman and from Iran to Yemen, both in Arabic and English. We currently reach six million readers annually and growing fast.

In order to guarantee the impartiality of information on the Chronicle, articles are published without by-lines. This also allows correspondents to write more freely about sensitive or controversial issues in their country. All articles are fact-checked before publication to ensure that content is accurate, current and unbiased.

To run such a website is very expensive. With a small donation, you can make a huge impact. And it only takes a minute. Thank you.