فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / الشؤون الدولية / الاتحاد الأوروبي يجد وسيلةً للتجارة مع إيران؛ إليكم ما تحتاجون لمعرفته

الاتحاد الأوروبي يجد وسيلةً للتجارة مع إيران؛ إليكم ما تحتاجون لمعرفته

Specials- EU iran trade
عباس أراغشي ، النائب السياسي في وزارة الخارجية الإيرانية ، والممثل الدائم لإيران لدى الأمم المتحدة كاظم غريب عبادي (يمين) يصلان للتحدث إلى وسائل الإعلام بعد اجتماع اللجنة المشتركة لخطة العمل الشاملة المشتركة (JCPOA) ) حضرته E3 + 2 (الصين ، فرنسا ، ألمانيا ، روسيا ، المملكة المتحدة) وإيران في 28 يوليو 2019 في فيينا ، النمسا. Photo: ALEX HALADA / AFP ©AFP ⁃ ALEX HALADA

أعلن الإتحاد الأوروبي، في 20 يونيو 2019، عن بدء آلية “إينستكس،” وهي آلية مالية لمساعدة الكيانات على التعامل التجاري مع إيران بالرغم من العقوبات الأمريكية. تهدف هذه الخطوة، التي حثت على اتخاذها كل من المملكة المتحدة وألمانيا وفرنسا، إلى تحفيز إيران على الإلتزام بخطة العمل الشاملة المشتركة الموقعة عام 2015، والمعروفة باسم الإتفاق النووي.

فقد أوضح وزير الخارجية الألماني، هايكو ماس، لإذاعة صوت ألمانيا (دويتشه فيله)، أن إمكانية إجراء تعاملاتٍ تجارية مع إيران كان شرطاً مُسبقاً لشركاء خطة العمل الشاملة المشتركة لـ”الوفاء بالالتزامات التي تعهدنا بها من أجل مطالبة إيران بعدم بدء تخصيب اليورانيوم عسكرياً.”

ومنذ ذلك الحين، أعربت روسيا عن اهتمامها بالتنسيق مع الكتلة حول آلية إينستكس رغم تدهور العلاقات بين بروكسل وموسكو.

إذاً، ما هي إينستكس؟ إينستكس (INSTEX)- هي اختصار لـ(Instrument in Support of Trade Exchanges) أي أداة دعم الأنشطة التجارية- وهي في جورها خط إعتماد بملايين اليورو سيسمح للشركات بالتعامل التجاري مع إيران. ومع ذلك، هناك عدة مستويات لهذا الأمر.

أولاً، ستكون إينستكس بمثابة “درعٍ دبلوماسي” لتبادل السلع ذلك أن النظام معتمدٌ من قبل حكومات الاتحاد الأوروبي: الحكومات الراعية الثلاث هم لاعبون أساسيون ومسؤولون رفيعو المستوى – وكيل وزارة الخارجية البريطانية الدائم للشؤون الخارجية سايمون ماكدونالد، ورئيس الدائرة الاقتصادية في وزارة الخارجية الألمانية ميغيل بيرغر، والأمين العام لوزارة الخارجية الفرنسية والشؤون الخارجية موريس غوردو مونتاني – هم أعضاء مجلس الإدارة، مما يجعل من الصعب دبلوماسياً، من الناحية النظرية، على الولايات المتحدة الضغط على الشركات من هذه البلدان لأن النظام مدعوم من قبل حكوماتهم.

بالإضافة إلى ذلك، ستعمل الآلية برئاسة المصرفي الألماني بير فيشر المدير السابق لكومرتس بنك، بينما سترأس المملكة المتحدة المجلس الإشرافي.

ثانياً، لن تحدث التحويلات مباشرة بين الشركات الأوروبية والإيرانية. تقوم إينستكس بتنسيق المدفوعات بحيث يتم دفع اليورو المقصود به شراء سلع من إيران إلى شركة أخرى التي من المقرر أن تستلمها مقابل البضائع التي تبيعها إلى إيران. تفعل الشركات الإيرانية ذاته بعملتها من خلال معهد التجارة والتمويل الخاص (STFI)، الذي يكرر نظام إينستكس، وبالتالي لا يحتاج الريال الإيراني إلى دخول الاتحاد الأوروبي ولا يحتاج اليورو إلى العبور إلى إيران. يتم استخدام دفتر حسابات افتراضي لإدارة الأرصدة.
توجد حماية إضافية، ألا وهي أن إينستكس ستركز مبدئياً فحسب على السلع الإنسانية مثل المنتجات الصيدلانية والأجهزة الطبية والمواد الغذائية التي تقع خارج نطاق العقوبات.

فقد كان الإتفاق النووي غير مستقرٍ منذ أن أعلن الرئيس الأمريكي دونالد ترمب انسحاب الولايات المتحدة أحادي الجانب العام الماضي من الإتفاق، وأعاد فرض عقوباتٍ على قطاع تصدير النفط الإيراني وهدد الشركات بعقوباتٍ صارمة في حال تعاملت مع الجمهورية الإسلامية.

وبينما قالت أوروبا والوكالة الدولية للطاقة الذرية إن الإتفاق يقلل فعلياً من قدرات إيران النووية، إلا أن الولايات المتحدة عارضت ذلك. في الواقع، في الأول من يوليو، تجاوزت طهران الحد البالغ 300 كيلوجرام من مخزونها من اليورانيوم المخصب كما هو منصوص عليه في الاتفاق. جادلت إيران بأنها لم تخرق الإتفاق، حيث يحق لها اتخاذ خطواتٍ رداً على تراجع الولايات المتحدة.

وعليه، سعى الزعماء الأوروبيون إلى إيجاد سبلٌ للحفاظ على خطة العمل الشاملة المشتركة دون تدخل الولايات المتحدة على الرغم من هدف الإتفاق المتمثل في تقليل العقوبات على البلاد. ظهرت الفكرة وراء إينستكس لأول مرة في يناير 2019، عندما تم توجيه أصابع الإتهام لنظام سويفت للمدفوعات الدولية، ومقره بروكسل، باعتباره وسيلةً محتملة للإلتفاف على العقوبات في التجارة الدولية بين الدول الأخرى وإيران. كان من الممكن أن يكون لإجراءات الولايات المتحدة ضد نظام سويفت آثارٌ على المدفوعات العالمية، مما دفع سويفت إلى الامتثال للعقوبات وتعليق التعامل مع بعض البنوك الإيرانية. وبسبب عدم وجود أداة لتسهيل المدفوعات إلى إيران، ولدت فكرة إينستكس.

وعلى الرغم من وجود عددٍ قليل نسبياً من البضائع في الوقت الحالي ضمن نظام إينستكس، إلا أن فيديريكا موغريني، الممثلة العليا للاتحاد الأوروبي للشؤون الخارجية والسياسة الأمنية، كانت قد أوضحت أن نطاق وعضوية الآلية يمكن أن تتوسع في المستقبل ويمكن أن تشمل روسيا. وفي الوقت الحالي، هناك عشر دولٍ من دول الاتحاد الأوروبي من بين الأعضاء ويمتد خط الاعتماد ليشمل عدة ملايين يورو فقط، في حين بلغت قيمة التجارة بين الاتحاد الأوروبي وإيران 20 مليار يورو سنوياً. لذلك، هناك بعض الشكوك في أن الآلية ستكون حلاً مناسباً للمشقة التي تُكبدها العقوبات.

علاوةً على ذلك، قد تظهر مشاكل أخرى في حال كان هناك اختلالاتٌ في حسابات إينستكس ما بين الواردات والصادرات، إذ أن هذا قد يعني أنه ينبغي على الشركات انتظار المدفوعات.

بيد أن الحقيقة الواضحة هي أن قطاع النفط هو المتضرر الأكبر في عالم التجارة الإيرانية، وتحتاج إيران إلى عائدات مبيعات النفط لاستخدام هذه الآلية. فيما يتعلق بهذه النقطة بالذات قد يكون انخراط كلٍ من روسيا وربما الصين أمراُ مثيراً للاهتمام لأنهما ترغبان في الحصول على نفط إيران.

ومع ذلك، بالنسبة للشركات التي تستخدم في تعاملاتها التجارية نظام إينستكس، يصر دبلوماسيون أوروبيون على أن المخاطر أقل. ورداً على ذلك، قالت الولايات المتحدة إنها تتابع “عن كثب” التقارير المتعلقة بآلية التداول ولن تستبعد إمكانية وجود “عواقب وخيمة” على الأنشطة التي تتحايل على العقوبات الأمريكية، بما في ذلك عدم القدرة على الوصول إلى النظام المالي الأمريكي والقدرة على إجراء تعاملاتٍ تجارية مع الولايات المتحدة أو الشركات الأمريكية.

ومع ذلك، أوضحت واشنطن أنها لا تعتقد أنه سيكون هناك طلبٌ كبير على الآلية. وقال براين هوك، الممثل الخاص للولايات المتحدة لإيران: “إذا ما تم منح أي شركة خيار ممارسة الأعمال التجارية في الولايات المتحدة أو في إيران، ستختار الولايات المتحدة في كل مرة.”

يجادل محللون آخرون بأن الآلية قد تجبر الولايات المتحدة على إعادة تقييم موقفها من خطة العمل الشاملة المشتركة، بالنظر إلى أن أكبر ثلاث اقتصادات في أوروبا تشارك في هذا المخطط.

وبحسب ما قاله نايسان رافاتي، المحلل الإيراني في مجموعة الأزمات الدولية، لفَنَك، “لن تكون حلاً سحرياً للمشاكل الاقتصادية في إيران، لكن السؤال المطروح هو ما إذا من الممكن إدماجها في قناةٍ مهمة بدرجة كافية، مالياً ودبلوماسياً، للحفاظ على الإتفاق من نشوب نزاعٍ أكبر.”

باعتبارها خطوة تم المضي بها قدماً بالرغم من العقوبات، فإن زيادة انضمام الأعضاء من خارج الإتحاد الأوروبي قد يزيد من عزلة الولايات المتحدة ويشكك في نفوذها العالمي.

ومع ذلك، لاحظ المجلس الأطلسي أن إينستكس، على الرغم من كونها برئاسة دبلوماسيين رفيعي المستوى، لا يبدو أنها تضم خبراء ماليين ذوي صلة، مما يثير تساؤلاتٍ حول ما إذا كانت الآلية حلاً سياسياً عوضاً عن كونها حلاً اقتصادياً، الأمر الذي قد تفهمه إيران بأن الاتحاد الأوروبي لا يأخذ التزاماتها بموجب خطة العمل الشاملة المشتركة على محمل الجد.

في الوقت نفسه، ينتمي جميع أعضاء معهد التجارة والتمويل الخاص المعينين إلى القطاع المصرفي الإيراني، بيد أن لا أحد منهم من كبار المسؤولين كحال نظرائهم الأوروبيين. وقد يشير ذلك أيضاً إلى افتقار إيران بالثقة في الآلية كحلٍ اقتصادي شرعي.

وعلى صعيدٍ متصل، استولى فيلق الحرس الثوري الإيراني على الناقلة البريطانية ستينا إمبيرو وأفراد طاقمها البالغ عددهم 23 شخصاً في الخليج في 19 يوليو، وذلك رداً على استفزاز المملكة المتحدة باحتجازها ناقلة نفطٍ إيرانية قبالة جبل طارق لمنعها من نقل النفط إلى سوريا، التي تشير بعض التقارير إلى خضوعها لضغوطٍ من الولايات المتحدة. حافظ الاتحاد الأوروبي على صمته إلى حدٍ ما بشأن هذه القضية، كما أن بريطانيا تخوض صراعاً آخر لخروجها من الاتحاد الأوروبي دون اتفاقٍ في ظل رئيس الوزراء البريطاني المعيّن حديثاً بوريس جونسون. في حين تظل هذه القضايا في منأى عن إينستكس، إلا أن تطبيق الآلية وعضويتها ونطاقها وبقائها يمكن أن يكون حقل ألغامٍ دبلوماسي في البيئة الجغرافية السياسية الحالية.

© Copyright Notice

click on link to view the associated photo/image
©AFP ⁃ ALEX HALADA

دعمكم عونٌ لنا

فَنَك هي مؤسسة إعلامية إلكترونية مستقلة، لا تمولها أي دولة أو مجموعات مصالح. تلتزم فَنَك بنشر تحليلاتٍ مبنية على الوقائع ومحايدة، إلى جانب التقارير المواضيعية حول الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا.
شهد الموقع نمواً سريعاً في نطاق وعمق المعلومات التي يُقدمها، واليوم، بات يُشكل مصدراً غنياً وقيماً للمعلومات عن 21 بلداً، من المغرب إلى عُمان ومن إيران إلى اليمن، باللغتين العربية والإنجليزية. حالياً، وصل عدد القراء إلى 6 ملايين سنوياً، والعدد آخذٌ بالإزدياد.
لضمان حيادية المعلومات على موقع فَنَك (وقائع وأحداث) ، تُنشر المقالات دون ذكر أسماء الكتّاب، مما يُتيح أيضاً لمراسلينا مساحة أكبر من الحرية عند التطرق إلى القضايا الحساسة أو المثيرة للجدل فى بلادهم. وإلى جانب ذلك، نتحرى حقائق جميع المعلومات الواردة في مقالاتنا قبل النشر لضمان دقة المعلومات، وحداثتها وحيادها.

استمرارية تشغيل مثل هذا الموقع الإلكتروني مُكلفة للغاية. بتبرعٍ صغيرٍ منك، يمكنك المساهمة في الحفاظ على حرية واستقلالية تغطيتنا.

Fanack Home / International Affairs / The EU Has Figured Out a Way to Trade with Iran. Here’s What You Need to Know

The EU Has Figured Out a Way to Trade with Iran. Here’s What You Need to Know

Specials- EU iran trade
Abbas Araghchi, political deputy at the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of Iran, and Iran’s Permanent Representative to the United Nations Kazem Gharib Abadi (R) arrive to speak to the media after the meeting of the Joint Commission of the Joint Comprehensive Plan of Action (JCPOA) attended by the E3+2 (China, France, Germany, Russia, United Kingdom) and Iran on July 28, 2019 in Vienna, Austria. Photo: ALEX HALADA / AFP ©AFP ⁃ ALEX HALADA

On 20 June 2019, the European Union (EU) announced the start of INSTEX, a mechanism to help entities trade with Iran despite American sanctions. The move, instigated by the United Kingdom (UK), Germany and France, aims to incentivize Iran to stay in the 2015 Joint Comprehensive Plan of Action (JCPOA), otherwise known as the nuclear deal.

As German Foreign Minister Heiko Maas explained to Deutsche Welle, the ability to do business with Europe was a precondition for JCPOA partners to “meet the obligations we entered into in order to demand from Iran that it doesn’t begin military uranium enrichment”.

Russia has since expressed interest in coordinating with the bloc on INSTEX despite deteriorating relations between Brussels and Moscow.

So, what is INSTEX? INSTEX – Instrument in Support of Trade Exchanges – is in essence a multimillion-euro credit line that will allow companies to trade with Iran. There are several layers to this.

Firstly, INSTEX will act as a ‘diplomatic shield’ for the exchange of goods as the system is endorsed by EU governments: the three sponsoring governments are major players and high-level officials – UK Permanent Under-Secretary of State for Foreign Affairs Simon McDonald, head of the Economic Department at the German Foreign Office Miguel Berger and Secretary-General of the French Ministry of Europe and Foreign Affairs Maurice Gourdault-Montagne – sit on its governing council, which should make it diplomatically difficult, in theory, for the US to pressure companies from these countries because the system is backed by their own government.

In addition, the mechanism will operate from Paris under the management of Per Fischer, formerly of Commerzbank. The UK will head the supervisory board.

Secondly, transfers do not happen directly between European and Iranian businesses. INSTEX coordinates payments so that euros intended to buy goods from Iran are actually paid to another company due to receive payment for goods it sells to Iran. Iranian companies do the same thing in their currency through the Special Trade and Finance Institute (STFI), which replicates the INSTEX system, so Iranian rials do not need to enter the EU and euros do not need to cross into Iran. A virtual ledger is used to manage the balance.

A further safeguard is in place, namely that INSTEX will initially only focus on humanitarian-type goods such as pharmaceutical products, medical devices and food, which fall outside the sanctions.

The nuclear deal has been on precarious ground since US President Donald Trump unilaterally withdrew last year, reimposed sanctions on Iran’s oil export sector and threatened companies with stiff penalties should they deal with the Islamic Republic.

While Europe and the International Atomic Energy Agency have said the deal is effectively curbing Iran’s nuclear capabilities, the US has disputed this. Indeed, on 1 July, Tehran surpassed the 300kg limit on its enriched uranium stockpile as set out in the agreement. Iran argued it is not in breach as it is entitled to take reversible steps in response to the US reneging.

European leaders have sought ways to keep the JCPOA intact without US involvement despite the deal’s aim of minimizing sanctions on the country. The idea behind INSTEX first emerged in January 2019, when Brussels-based international payments system SWIFT was fingered as a potential sanctions-breaker in international trade between other states and Iran. US action against SWIFT could have had implications for global payments, leading SWIFT to comply with the sanctions and suspend access to certain Iranian banks. Lacking an instrument through which to facilitate payments to Iran, the idea for INSTEX was born.

While relatively few goods are currently in INSTEX’s sights, Federica Mogherini, High Representative of the EU for Foreign Affairs and Security Policy, indicated that the scope and membership of the mechanism could expand in the future and could include Russia. At present, ten EU states are members and the credit line extends to just several million euros, whereas EU-Iran trade had been worth €20 billion annually. There is, therefore, some scepticism that the mechanism will be an adequate solution to the hardship incurred by the sanctions.

Other issues could arise if there are imbalances in the INSTEX ledger between imports and exports as this could mean companies have to wait for payments.

The fact also remains that oil is the biggest area where Iranian trade has been hurt, and Iran needs the revenue from oil sales to use the mechanism. This is where Russia’s and possibly China‘s involvement could be interesting as they both want Iran’s oil.

Still, for companies that do trade through INSTEX, EU diplomats insist the stakes are lower. In response, the US said it was ‘closely following’ reports on the trading mechanism and would not exclude the possibility of ‘severe consequences’ for activities that circumvent US sanctions, including a loss of access to the US financial system and the ability to do business with the US or US companies.

However, Washington made it clear that it does not believe there will be significant demand for the mechanism. “If a corporation is given the choice between doing business in the United States or doing business in Iran, it’s going to choose the United States every time,” said Brian Hook, US Special Representative for Iran.

Other analysts argue that the mechanism may force the US may reassess its position on the JCPOA, considering the three biggest economies in Europe are involved in the scheme.

“It’s not going to be a silver bullet for Iran’s economic problems,” Naysan Rafati, Crisis Group’s Iran Analyst, told Fanack, “but the question is whether it can be built up into a significant enough conduit, financially as well as diplomatically, to keep the agreement from fraying further.”

As a step that has gone ahead despite harsh sanctions, increasing membership outside the EU could leave the US isolated and bring into question its global influence.

However, the Atlantic Council observed that INSTEX, despite being headed by high-level diplomats, does not appear to involve relevant financial experts, begging the question as to whether the mechanism is a political solution rather than an economic one, which may signal to Iran that the EU is not taking its commitments under the JCPOA seriously.

At the same time, the STFI’s appointed members all come from the Iranian banking sector, but none are high-ranking officials like their European counterparts. This may also indicate Iran’s lack of confidence in the mechanism as a legitimate economic solution.

In the background, the Islamic Revolutionary Guard Corps captured the British tanker Stena Impero and its 23 crew members in the Gulf on 19 July, provoked by the UK detaining an Iranian tanker off Gibraltar to stop it taking oil to Syria, which some reports indicate followed pressure from the US. The EU has remained fairly silent on the matter, and Britain is contending with a possible no-deal Brexit under newly appointed prime minister Boris Johnson. While these issues remain separate from INSTEX, the mechanism’s application, membership, scope and survival could prove to be a diplomatic minefield in the current geopolitical environment.

© Copyright Notice

click on link to view the associated photo/image
©AFP ⁃ ALEX HALADA

We would like to ask you something …

Fanack is an independent media organisation, not funded by any state or any interest group, that distributes in the Middle East and the wider world unbiased analysis and background information, based on facts, about the Middle East and North Africa.

The website grew rapidly in breadth and depth and today forms a rich and valuable source of information on 21 countries, from Morocco to Oman and from Iran to Yemen, both in Arabic and English. We currently reach six million readers annually and growing fast.

In order to guarantee the impartiality of information on the Chronicle, articles are published without by-lines. This also allows correspondents to write more freely about sensitive or controversial issues in their country. All articles are fact-checked before publication to ensure that content is accurate, current and unbiased.

To run such a website is very expensive. With a small donation, you can make a huge impact. And it only takes a minute. Thank you.