فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / الشؤون الدولية / الميثاق العالمي للهجرة وإصلاح قوانين الهجرة في المغرب

الميثاق العالمي للهجرة وإصلاح قوانين الهجرة في المغرب

Morocco- Global Compact for Migration
صورة التقطت في 10 ديسمبر 2018، تُظهر صورة مظللة لمجموعة من المهاجرين، كجزءٍ من عرضٍ فني عرض في المؤتمر الدولي حول الميثاق العالمي للهجرة في مدينة مراكش المغربية. Photo AFP ©AFP ⁃ FADEL SENNA

تم اعتماد الميثاق العالمي للهجرة الآمنة والنظامية والمنتظمة في مدينة مراكش المغربية يومي 10 و11 ديسمبر 2018، مما يمثل حدثاً غاية في الأهمية في الدبلوماسية متعددة الأطراف. فقد كانت الحاجة الملحة لوضع الميثاق مدفوعةً بأعداد قياسية من الهجرة غير النظامية في السنوات الأخيرة.

وحالياً، يرتحل ما يقرب من 258 مليون شخص بعد أن تم اجتثاثهم من أرضهم بالقوة. ومنذ عام 2000، لقي ما لا يقل عن 60 ألف شخصٍ حتفهم أثناء عبورهم لأماكن أخرى بشكلٍ غير قانوني، إما عن طريق البحر أو البراري غير المأهولة بالسكان أو في مراكز الاحتجاز.

وبالتالي، يهدف الميثاق إلى بناء توافقٍ في الآراء حول كيفية حماية المهاجرين إلى جانب حماية سيادة البلاد. وشملت بعض الأهداف المتفق عليها مكافحة الأسباب الهيكلية للهجرة وتشجيع الخطاب العام المتأصل في الحقائق. ولعل أكثر الأهداف طموحاً هو تشجيع الجهود الدولية لإنقاذ الأرواح والعثور على المهاجرين المفقودين.

وعلى الرغم من هذا الإنجاز، إلا أن العديد من الحكومات اليمينية رفضت التوقيع على الميثاق، بما في ذلك الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية، والنمسا، وإيطاليا، بحجة أنه يقوّض السيادة ويسمح بالهجرة غير الشرعية.

ويقول مؤيدو الميثاق إن هذه الانتقادات تعكس سوء فهمٍ جوهري للميثاق العالمي للهجرة الآمنة والنظامية والمنتظمة. ويشيرون إلى أن الميثاق غير ملزم وطوعي، مما يعني أنه لا يمكن معاقبة البلدان التي تقوم بالتوقيع ثم تنتهك أهدافه.

من جهتها، أشادت المستشارة الألمانية أنجيلا ميركل باعتماد الميثاق، إذ صرّحت للصحافيين “إن هذا [الميثاق] لا يعدو كونه مجرد أساسٍ لتعاوننا الدولي.”

في حين كتب ريتشارد جوين، وهو زميل أقدم في مركز أبحاث السياسات التابع لجامعة الأمم المتحدة، أن آلية الميثاق العالمي للهجرة الآمنة والنظامية والمنتظمة يمكن أن تمهد الطريق لسياسةٍ أكثر تقدمية في المستقبل. وأضاف أنه بتقييم تاريخ الدبلوماسية متعددة الأطراف، يمكن الآن للنشطاء والحكومات الإشارة إلى الميثاق العالمي للهجرة الآمنة والنظامية والمنتظمة عند الضغط من أجل رد فعلٍ أكثر إنسانية لصالح المهاجرين.

وعلى الرغم من جميع التفاهمات التي تم التوصل إليها، إلا أن الميثاق العالمي للهجرة يُحافظ على قدسية اعتبارات حقوق الإنسان الأساسية للمهاجرين الذين، على خلاف اللاجئين، غير محميين بموجب القانون الدولي. فعلى سبيل المثال، كان الفريق الأوروبي يُقنع الدول التي تنتج أكبر عددٍ من المهاجرين بإعادة إدخال مواطنيها المرحلين. وأثار هذا الطلب نقاشاً أكبر حول ما إذا كان ينبغي تطبيق قاعدة عدم الإعادة القسرية على المهاجرين.

إن عدم الإعادة القسرية هو المبدأ الأساسي في القانون الدولي للاجئين، والذي ينص على أنه لا يمكن إعادة أي شخص إلى بلده الأصلي أو أي بلدٍ آخر قد يواجهون فيه خوفاً مبرراً من التعذيب أو الاضطهاد. وكحلٍ وسط، لا يتضمن الميثاق العالمي للهجرة، بشكلٍ صريح، عبارة “عدم الإعادة القسرية،” ولكنه ينص في الهدف 21 على “حظر الطرد الجماعي وحظر إعادة المهاجرين متى وجد خطر فعلي ومتوقع يهددهم بالقتل أو يعرضهم للتعذيب.”

وبالتالي، يُشير الهدف 21 إلى نجاحٍ كبير في إعادة تعريف المعايير الدولية تجاه الهجرة، رغم أن معظم المهاجرين لا يزالون يعانون من المعاملة غير الإنسانية في جميع أنحاء العالم.

ورغم ذلك، تحاول بعض البلدان النامية تنفيذ إصلاحاتٍ متواضعة على نظام الهجرة الخاص بها. ويعتبر المغرب، الذي استضاف مفاوضات الميثاق العالمي للهجرة، مثالاً بارزاً على ذلك.

Morocco- Global Compact for Migration
ناصر بوريطة (يمين) ووزير الشؤون الخارجية والتعاون الدولي في المغرب، ورئيسة الجمعية العامة للأمم المتحدة ماريا فرناندا اسبينوزا (يسار) وهما يقفان لالتقاط صورة لهما، بينما يدق بوريطة بالمطرقة خلال الحفل الختامي للميثاق العالمي للهجرة في مراكش في 11 ديسمبر، 2018. Photo AFP ©AFP ⁃ FADEL SENNA

ففي عام 2013، دعا الملك محمد السادس إلى إصلاح سياسة الهجرة في البلاد، بما في ذلك إنشاء مسار قانوني لتنظيم الأشخاص غير المسجلين. كما أضاف الملك أن المغرب اضطر إلى وضع قانونٍ للجوء وقانونٍ لمكافحة الاتجار بالبشر، مما يضع الدولة الشمال افريقية في مرتبةٍ متقدمة مقارنةً بجيرانها الإقليميين فيما يتعلق بسياسة الهجرة.

شكل قرار الملك انتصاراً لمنظمات المجتمع المدني والهجرة المغربية في البلاد، التي عملت غالبيتها على الضغط لسنوات لإنهاء الوحشية السياسية ضد المهاجرين واستغلال المهاجرين في سوق العمل غير الرسمي.

في حين كتبت كيلسي نورمان، وهي مرشحة لنيل شهادة الدكتوراه في قسم العلوم السياسية في جامعة كاليفورنيا، أنه ينبغي على وجه الخصوص الإشادة بالفضل إلى المنظمة غير الحكومية المحلية، مجموعة مناهضة العنصرية لمواكبة والدفاع عن الأجانب والمهاجرين، لدفاعها على القضية بالنيابة عن المهاجرين والأجانب منذ عام 2006.

ففي أغسطس 2013، أصدرت مجموعة مناهضة العنصرية لمواكبة والدفاع عن الأجانب والمهاجرين تقريراً نقدياً حول ممارسات الهجرة في المغرب. وعليه، قدم المجلس المغربي لحقوق الإنسان، في وقتٍ لاحق، ملخصاً للتقرير إلى المسؤولين الحكوميين. وفي الشهر التالي، أي في 9 سبتمبر، قدمت مجموعة مناهضة العنصرية لمواكبة والدفاع عن الأجانب والمهاجرين التقرير خلال منتدى دولي لحقوق الإنسان في جنيف، سويسرا. وفي اليوم التالي، أعلن الملك عن خطط ٍلتعديل نظام الهجرة في البلاد.

وفي هذا الصدد، كتبت نورمان، “خلصت مجموعة مناهضة العنصرية لمواكبة والدفاع عن الأجانب والمهاجرين وغيرها من [منظمات المجتمع المدني] إلى أن الدافع الرئيسي وراء إعلان الملك إجراء إصلاحاتٍ كان العار الدولي: المغرب يحتقر الإذلال على المسرح الدولي.”

وبحلول أوائل عام 2015، حصل أكثر من 16 ألف مهاجر على تصاريح إقامة، على الرغم من رفض طلب أكثر من 10 آلاف منهم. وبحسب ما ورد، أخبر العديد من المهاجرين منظمات المجتمع المدني أن النساء يحظون بفرصٍ أكبر في الحصول على تصريح إقامة من الرجال، مما أثار جدلاً واسعاً. ومع ذلك، كان إصدار تصاريح الإقامة تطوراً محموداً لأنه يوفر للمهاجرين التعليم المجاني والرعاية الصحية والحق في العمل.

ومع ذلك، تظل القوة المفرطة المستخدمة ضد المهاجرين الذين يحاولون الوصول إلى أوروبا مصدر قلقٍ كبير. فقبل ثلاثة أسابيع من تبني الميثاق العالمي للهجرة، انتقدت منظمة العفو الدولية المغرب لاعتقاله 5000 مهاجر من أفريقيا جنوب الصحراء في يوليو ونقلهم عبر حافلاتٍ إلى مناطق نائية قريبة من الحدود الجزائرية. كما قالت جماعات حقوق الإنسان المحلية إن الشرطة المغربية تستخدم بشكلٍ روتيني القوة المفرطة، والتي تسببت في وفاة اثنين من الجنسية المالية في أوائل عام 2018.

بيد أن خالد الزروالي، مدير الهجرة ومراقبة الحدود بوزارة الداخلية المغربية، أخبر الجزيرة أن مزاعم إساءة معاملة المهاجرين لا أساس لها من الصحة. ويصر على أن دورية الحدود تعمل في حدود القانون وأن السلطات قامت بتفكيك 130 شبكة تهريب على الأقل في عام 2018 وحده.

وقال الزروالي، “اعتدنا أن نكون بلد المنشأ، ثم أصبحنا بلد عبور. والآن، بفضل جهودنا، أصبحنا بلد مقصد.”

هناك جانبٌ من الحقيقة في دفاعه هذا، إلا أن المغرب يبقى نقطة عبورٍ رئيسية ومصدراً للمهاجرين. فقد دفع القمع ضد المتظاهرين في منطقة الريف بالعديد من المغاربة المهمشين إلى تقديم طلبات باللجوءٍ في إسبانيا. كما أن الحدود الموصدة في كلٍ من تركيا ولبنان جعلت المغرب أيضاً الخيار الأقل خطورة للأشخاص اليائسين الهاربين من أوطانهم.

ورغم إصرار المغرب على معاملته المهاجرين بإنسانية، يقول المهاجرون إنهم يعاملون مثل المجرمين. فقبل يومٍ واحد من اعتماد الميثاق العالمي للهجرة، أجرى مراسل من وكالة أسوشيتد برس مقابلاتٍ مع مهاجرين يقبعون في أحد المخيمات في الدار البيضاء، حيث ينتشر الجوع وسوء الصرف الصحي.

وبحسب ما ورد، فقد تم ضبط معظم الناس في المخيم وهم يحاولون الوصول إلى أوروبا. ويقول الكثير منهم إنهم يبحثون الآن عن عملٍ ما، حتى يتمكنوا من كسب ما يكفي من المال لتوظيف مهربٍ آخر.

وقال جاين جبراهيما، البالغ من العمر 22 عاماً، من السنغال لوكالة أسوشيتد برس، “الرحلة المحفوفة بالمخاطر لم تنتهي أبداً. [نحن نعيش في] خوفٍ مستمر. تمشي في الشارع، ويتم القبض عليك. تذهب إلى المسجد، ويتم القبض عليك. نحن نشعر بأننا مجرمون.”

© Copyright Notice

click on link to view the associated photo/image
©AFP ⁃ FADEL SENNA | ©AFP ⁃ FADEL SENNA

دعمكم عونٌ لنا

فَنَك هي مؤسسة إعلامية إلكترونية مستقلة، لا تمولها أي دولة أو مجموعات مصالح. تلتزم فَنَك بنشر تحليلاتٍ مبنية على الوقائع ومحايدة، إلى جانب التقارير المواضيعية حول الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا.
شهد الموقع نمواً سريعاً في نطاق وعمق المعلومات التي يُقدمها، واليوم، بات يُشكل مصدراً غنياً وقيماً للمعلومات عن 21 بلداً، من المغرب إلى عُمان ومن إيران إلى اليمن، باللغتين العربية والإنجليزية. حالياً، وصل عدد القراء إلى 6 ملايين سنوياً، والعدد آخذٌ بالإزدياد.
لضمان حيادية المعلومات على موقع فَنَك (وقائع وأحداث) ، تُنشر المقالات دون ذكر أسماء الكتّاب، مما يُتيح أيضاً لمراسلينا مساحة أكبر من الحرية عند التطرق إلى القضايا الحساسة أو المثيرة للجدل فى بلادهم. وإلى جانب ذلك، نتحرى حقائق جميع المعلومات الواردة في مقالاتنا قبل النشر لضمان دقة المعلومات، وحداثتها وحيادها.

استمرارية تشغيل مثل هذا الموقع الإلكتروني مُكلفة للغاية. بتبرعٍ صغيرٍ منك، يمكنك المساهمة في الحفاظ على حرية واستقلالية تغطيتنا.

Fanack Home / International Affairs / The Global Compact for Migration and Migration Reform in Morocco

The Global Compact for Migration and Migration Reform in Morocco

Morocco- Global Compact for Migration
A picture was taken on December 10, 2018, shows silhouettes of migrants, part of an art installation, at the grounds of the International Conference on Global Compact for Migration in the Moroccan city of Marrakech. Photo AFP

The Global Compact for Safe, Orderly and Regular Migration (GCM) was adopted in the Moroccan city of Marrakesh on 10 and 11 December 2018, representing a major milestone in multilateral diplomacy. The urgency to establish the pact was spurred by record numbers of unregulated migration in recent years.

Roughly 258 million people are currently on the move after being forcibly uprooted. Since the year 2000, at least 60,000 people have perished while crossing irregularly by sea, through uninhabitable landscapes or in detention centres.

The pact thus aims to build a consensus on how to protect migrants while protecting sovereignty. Some of the agreed objectives included combating the structural causes of migration and promoting a public discourse that is rooted in facts. Perhaps the most ambitious objective is encouraging international efforts to save lives and find missing migrants.

Despite the achievement, several right-wing governments shunned the compact, including the United States, Austria and Italy, arguing that it undermines sovereignty and permits illegal migration.

Supporters of the compact say that these criticisms reflect a fundamental misunderstanding of the GCM. They note that the compact is non-binding and voluntary, meaning countries that sign up and then violate its objectives cannot be penalized.

German Chancellor Angela Merkel hailed the adoption of the pact. “[The compact] is nothing less than the foundation of our international cooperation,” she told reporters.

Richard Gowen, a senior fellow at the United Nations University Centre for Policy Research, wrote that the GCM can pave the way for more progressive policy in the future. Assessing the history of multilateral diplomacy, he argued that activists and governments can now reference the GCM when lobbying for a more humane response to migrants.

For all its compromises, the GCM does enshrine basic human rights considerations for migrants, who unlike refugees are unprotected in international law. For instance, the European contingent was pushing countries that produce the most migrants to readmit their deported citizens. That demand ignited a larger debate around whether the rule of non-refoulement should be applied to migrants.

Non-refoulement is the central principle of international refugee law, which stipulates that nobody can be returned to their country of origin or any country where they have a well-founded fear of torture or persecution. As a compromise, the GCM does not explicitly include the words ‘non-refoulement’ but it does stipulate in Objective 21 ‘the prohibition of collective expulsion and of returning migrants when there is a real and foreseeable risk of death and torture’.

Objective 21 thus signals a breakthrough in redefining international norms toward migration, though most migrants continue to suffer from inhumane treatment across the globe.

Some developing countries are nonetheless trying to implement modest reforms to their immigration system. Morocco, which hosted negotiations for the GCM, is a notable example.

Morocco- Global Compact for Migration
Nasser Bourita (R), Morocco’s Minister of Foreign Affairs and International Cooperation and United Nations General Assembly President Maria Fernanda Espinosa (L) pose for a picture as the former pounds the gavel during the closing ceremony of the Global Compact for Migration in Marrakesh on December 11, 2018. Photo AFP

In 2013, King Mohammad VI called for reforms to the country’s migration policy, including establishing a legal pathway to regulate undocumented persons. The king also stipulated that Morocco had to design an asylum law and a law against human trafficking, putting the North African country ahead of its regional neighbours regarding immigration policy.

The king’s decision was a victory for Moroccan and migrant civil society organizations (CSOs) in the country, most of which lobbied for years to end policy brutality against migrants and the exploitation of migrants in the informal labour market.

Kelsey Norman, a doctoral candidate at the department of Political Science at California University, wrote that the local NGO Groupe antiraciste d’Accompagnement et de Defense des Etrangers et Migrants (GADEM) should be particularly credited with advocating on behalf of migrants and foreigners since 2006.

In August 2013, GADEM released a critical report on Morocco’s migration practices. A summary of the report was later presented by the Moroccan Human Rights Council (CNDH) to government officials. The following month, on 9 September, GADEM presented the report during an international forum for human rights in Geneva, Switzerland. The next day, the king announced plans to modify the country’s immigration system.

‘GADEM and other [CSOs] concluded that the primary motivation behind the king’s announcement of reform was international shaming: Morocco despises humiliation on the international stage,’ wrote Norman.

By early 2015, more than 16,000 migrants had received residence permits, although over 10,000 had their requests denied. Many migrants reportedly told CSOs that women were far more likely to receive a residence permit than men, sparking controversy. Nevertheless, the issuance of residence permits was a welcome development since it provides migrants with free education, health care and the right to work.

However, excessive force against migrants trying to reach Europe remains a major concern. Three weeks before the GCM was adopted, Amnesty International blasted Morocco for arresting 5,000 sub-Saharan African migrants in July and bussing them to remote areas close to the Algerian border. Local rights groups also said that Moroccan police routinely use excessive force, which caused the death of two Malians in early 2018.

But Khaled Zerouali, Morocco’s border control chief, told al-Jazeera that allegations of migrant abuse are unfounded. He insists that the border patrol is acting within the limits of the law and that the authorities broke up at least 130 smuggling networks in 2018 alone.

“We used to be a country of origin. Then we became a transit country. Now, because of our efforts, we have become a country of destination,” Zerouali said.

There is some truth to his assertion, but Morocco remains a major point of transit and source of migrants. The repression against Rif protestors has pushed many marginalized Moroccans to apply for asylum in Spain. Sealed borders in Turkey and Lebanon has also made Morocco the least dangerous option for desperate people fleeing their homelands.

Yet despite Morocco’s insistence that it treats migrants humanely, migrants say that they are treated like criminals. A day before the GCM was adopted, a reporter from Associated Press (AP) interviewed migrants languishing in a camp in Casablanca, where hunger and poor sanitation are rife.

Most people in the camp were reportedly caught trying to reach Europe. Many say they are now looking for work, so that they can earn enough money to hire another smuggler.

“The precarious journey is never over. [We live in] constant fear. You walk in the street, you get arrested. You go to the mosque, you are arrested. We feel like criminals,” Jiane Jbrahima, a 22-year-old from Senegal told AP.

image_pdfimage_print

We would like to ask you something …

Fanack is an independent media organisation, not funded by any state or any interest group, that distributes in the Middle East and the wider world unbiased analysis and background information, based on facts, about the Middle East and North Africa.

The website grew rapidly in breadth and depth and today forms a rich and valuable source of information on 21 countries, from Morocco to Oman and from Iran to Yemen, both in Arabic and English. We currently reach six million readers annually and growing fast.

In order to guarantee the impartiality of information on the Chronicle, articles are published without by-lines. This also allows correspondents to write more freely about sensitive or controversial issues in their country. All articles are fact-checked before publication to ensure that content is accurate, current and unbiased.

To run such a website is very expensive. With a small donation, you can make a huge impact. And it only takes a minute. Thank you.