فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / الشؤون الدولية / أسعار النفط العالمية عرضة للخطر في أعقاب الهجمات على أرامكو السعودية

أسعار النفط العالمية عرضة للخطر في أعقاب الهجمات على أرامكو السعودية

Aramco oil company
موظفون من شركة أرامكو للنفط يقفون بالقرب من منشأةٍ تضررت بشدة في محطة خريص لتكرير النفط في المملكة العربية السعودية في 20 سبتمبر 2019. Photo: Fayez Nureldine / AFP ©AFP ⁃ Fayez Nureldine

منذ الهجوم على منشأة النفط السعودية الرئيسية في 14 سبتمبر 2019، تسبب تأرجح الأسعار في أسواق النفط في حدوث ارتباكٍ بين المشترين والمستثمرين.

فقد انخفض سعر النفط بأكثر من 2,6% في 25 سبتمبر، بعد أن أعلنت المملكة العربية السعودية أن إنتاج النفط سيعود إلى طبيعته في الأسبوع التالي على الرغم من الأضرار التي لحقت بالمنشأة.

صدر هذا الإعلان بعد تقارير متضاربة في اليوم السابق مفادها أن استئناف الإنتاج الطبيعي سيتغرق شهوراً.

فقد أصاب الهجوم المتتالي بالطائرات المُسيّرة والقذائف محطة بقيق وحقل خريص في المنطقة الشرقية، حيث أعلن المتمردون الحوثيون في اليمن مسئوليتهم عن الهجوم، بيد أن الولايات المتحدة، إلى جانب كلٍ من فرنسا وألمانيا والمملكة المتحدة، ألقت باللوم على إيران.

منذ ذلك الحين، تصاعدت التوترات في الشرق الأوسط، فضلاً عن زيادة البنتاغون إنتشار قواته الصغيرة دعماً للدفاعات السعودية.

ومن الجدير بالذكر أن مُلكية المنشأة النفطية تعود لشركة الطاقة المملوكة للدولة، أرامكو السعودية، التي تُمثل حوالي 5% من إنتاج العالم من النفط.

وقال لودوفيك ليروي من المعهد الفرنسي للبترول “يرجع معظم التقلب المفاجىء إلى مخاوف السوق التي قد تكون منطقية إلى حدٍ ما.”

وأضاف “على سبيل المثال، تغريدة من الرئيس الأمريكي دونالد ترمب أو تصريح ما من المسؤولين السعوديين، حتى وإن لم يكن واقعياً، قد يكون كافياً لرفع الأسعار بعدة دولارات.”

يعد استقرار الأسعار غاية في الأهمية للاقتصاد العالمي وخاصة المستثمرين من أجل التنبؤ بدقةٍ بالتكاليف. وبكل تأكيد، تؤثر أسعار النفط على الأعمال التجارية.

وبحسب ما ورد، كانت أرامكو السعودية تمتلك 50 مليون برميل من احتياطي النفط المخزّن قبل الهجوم وما مجموعه 80 مليون برميل من النفط القابل للاستخدام وغير القابل للاستخدام في الموانىء العالمية.

فالشركة تحرص على الحفاظ على مستويات التصدير حتى وإن توجب عليها الاعتماد على الاحتياطيات. ومع ذلك، قد تضحي بالمنتجات التصديرية وتخفض التكرير لتوفير النفط الخام. وبحسب ما ورد أيضاً ستستأنف الإنتاج في حقول النفط البحرية وتطلب من العملاء أخذ أصناف مختلفة من النفط الخام.

وأشار ليروي إلى أن “المسؤولين السعوديين يتواصلون بسرعة كبيرة لطمأنة السوق و[خاصة] أسواق آسيا، أكبر عميل سعودي للنفط الخام.”

فقد كان الحد من العرض استراتيجيةً رئيسية لمنظمة الدول المصدرة للنفط (أوبك) للحفاظ على أسعار النفط من الانخفاض، كما ارتفعت أسعار خام برنت بنسبة 18% هذا العام.

ومع الاحتياطيات الحالية للمملكة وكذلك الاحتياطيات من الدول الأعضاء في الوكالة الدولية للطاقة، فإن الخط الرسمي هو كفاية الإمدادات لضمان استمرارية السوق.

في حين قال أحد المصادر لوكالة رويترز للأنباء إن المملكة العربية السعودية استعادت بالفعل أكثر من 75% من إنتاج النفط الخام المفقود.

بينما قال ليروي إن الشعور بالريبة حول هذا البيان أمرٌ مفهوم بالنظر إلى أن المستوردين مثل الصين يحصلون على أصناف مختلفة من النفط الخام – المتوسط بدلاً من الخفيف – وأن أوقات انتظار ناقلات النفط العملاقة أو ناقلات النفط الخام الكبيرة جداً في تزايد.

ومع حاجة المحطة إلى ما يصل إلى 1,8 مليار دولار لإصلاحها، ومع الأخذ بعين الاعتبار صور الأقمار الصناعية والصور التي يتم تداولها على وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي، قدر ليروي أن الأمر سيستغرق ثمانية أشهر لاستئناف مستويات الإنتاج إلى سابق عهدها قبل الهجوم.

وقال “من وجهة نظري، يمكننا بالتأكيد إثارة بعض المخاوف بشأن صحة البيانات الرسمية وقدرة المملكة على الوفاء بعقود التوريد،” مضيفاً أن هناك شكوكاً حول قدرة الدولة النفطية على تلبية الطلب المحلي.

وقبل الهجوم، لم يكن هناك أي مشاكل بالإمدادات، ولهذا السبب لم تُثر القضايا التي تؤثر على الدول الأخرى المنتجة للنفط – الأزمة الاقتصادية والسياسية في فنزويلا، والحرب في ليبيا، والعقوبات الأمريكية ضد صادرات النفط من إيران – مخاوف فيما يتعلق بالإمدادات. ومع ذلك، تغير هذا الآن.

كما تأثرت أسعار النفط أيضاً بضعف نمو منطقة اليورو وبيانات التصنيع المتباطىء.

وبحسب ما يقوله ستيفن برينوك من شركة بي في إم: “عادت علاوة المخاطر الجيوسياسية مع الانتقام وعادت التنمية المرتبطة بجانب العرض مرةً أخرى إلى دائرة الضوء.”

وأضاف “في حين كانت منشآت النفط السعودية تحترق، كانت احتمالية حدوث انقطاعٍ جديد في نيجيريا وليبيا وفنزويلا تواصل هيمنتها على السوق.”

ومع تقلب أسعار النفط، هناك في نهاية المطاف رابحون وخاسرون، فقد كانت الهند وتركيا من بين أكثر الدول تأثراً بارتفاع أسعار النفط وتناقص العرض، إذ تستورد الهند، التي تعتمد بشدة على النفط ولم تحقق مكاسب كفاءة استخدام الطاقة التي شوهدت في بلدان أخرى، أكثر من 80% من نفطها.

تركيا أيضاً مستوردٌ كبير، حيث تستورد حوالي 85% من نفطها. إن تأثير كل زيادة بنسبة 10% في سعر النفط من شأنه أن يزيد من العجز في الحساب الجاري للبلدان بمقدار نصف في المائة.

من ناحيةٍ أخرى، ستكون روسيا مستفيداً واضحاً من ارتفاع أسعار النفط، حيث يتحسن رصيدها بنسبة 1,2% من الناتج المحلي الإجمالي لكل زيادة في الأسعار بنسبة 10%. في حين أن انخفاض أسعار النفط سيكون له تأثير معاكس.

وفي النهاية، سيتأثر دخل المملكة العربية السعودية. وعلاوةً على ذلك، فإن أي تعزيز للاكتتاب العام الأولي المقترح لأسهم أرامكو السعودية، والذي يمثل أداة التمويل الرئيسية لرؤية المملكة 2030 للمساعدة في تنويع اقتصاد البلاد بعيداً عن النفط، بات معلقاً الآن.

تبلغ مخزونات النفط في حالات الطوارىء من الدول الأعضاء في الوكالة الدولية للطاقة 1,55 مليار برميل في الوكالات التي تسيطر عليها الحكومات و2,9 مليار برميل من مخزونات الصناعة التي يمكن أن تُضاف إلى المعروض العالمي إذا لزم الأمر. وفي بيان صدر مؤخراً، أكد فاتح بيرول، المدير التنفيذي لوكالة الطاقة الدولية، على أهمية أمن الطاقة لحماية الأسواق والاقتصاد من ضرباتٍ مشابهة على السعودية.

وقال: “الأحداث الأخيرة تذكيرٌ بأن أمن النفط لا يمكن اعتباره أمراً مفروغاً منه، حتى في الأوقات التي يتم فيها تزويد الأسواق على نحوٍ كافٍ، وأن أمن الطاقة يظل ركيزة لا غنى عنها للاقتصاد العالمي.”

وأضاف “لهذا السبب لا تزال الوكالة الدولية للطاقة متيقظة بشأن خطر حدوث انقطاعٍ في إمدادات النفط العالمية، سواء كانت ناجمةً عن أحداث مناخية قاسية مثل الأعاصير أو الانقطاعات التقنية الرئيسية أو الأزمات الجيوسياسية، وهي على استعداد للتصرف عند الحاجة”.

كما أشار ليروي إلى أن تكاليف الإنتاج في أرامكو السعودية كانت من بين أدنى الأسعار على مستوى العالم، وذلك استجابةً للطلب المنخفض بشكلٍ عام وطلبات خفض الأسعار. كما لم يكن الإلتزام بطلبات تكاليف الإنتاج من أوبك ساري المفعول كما كان متوقعاً، بسبب تزايد إنتاج الخام الأمريكي الذي أبقى السوق متمتعاً بتزويدٍ جيد.

وقد يظهر ارتفاعُ في التكاليف وارتفاعٌ في الأسعار إذا ما فشلت المملكة العربية السعودية في تزويد عملائها. وكما يقول ليروي، “من الواضح أن هذا لن يكون إيجابياً للمملكة حيث إنها ستخسر حصتها في السوق، الذي يبدو اليوم أهم هدف للمملكة العربية السعودية.”

بالنظر إلى الهدف ومدى اتساع الهجوم، ظلت أسعار النفط مستقرة نسبياً. ومع ذلك، قد تكون هناك مخاوف قائمة على أسسٍ قوية تلوح في الأفق، بالنظر إلى الرسائل الأقل وضوحاً حول الأضرار التي لحقت بالمنشأة السعودية وقدرتها على الوفاء بالتزامات التوريد. في الواقع، يمكننا أن نرى ارتفاع أسعار النفط بشكلٍ أعلى من المعتاد في حين أن أي ضرباتٍ أخرى في الدول المنتجة للنفط يمكن أن يقلب كفة الميزان.

© Copyright Notice

click on link to view the associated photo/image
©AFP ⁃ Fayez Nureldine

دعمكم عونٌ لنا

فَنَك هي مؤسسة إعلامية إلكترونية مستقلة، لا تمولها أي دولة أو مجموعات مصالح. تلتزم فَنَك بنشر تحليلاتٍ مبنية على الوقائع ومحايدة، إلى جانب التقارير المواضيعية حول الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا.
شهد الموقع نمواً سريعاً في نطاق وعمق المعلومات التي يُقدمها، واليوم، بات يُشكل مصدراً غنياً وقيماً للمعلومات عن 21 بلداً، من المغرب إلى عُمان ومن إيران إلى اليمن، باللغتين العربية والإنجليزية. حالياً، وصل عدد القراء إلى 6 ملايين سنوياً، والعدد آخذٌ بالإزدياد.
لضمان حيادية المعلومات على موقع فَنَك (وقائع وأحداث) ، تُنشر المقالات دون ذكر أسماء الكتّاب، مما يُتيح أيضاً لمراسلينا مساحة أكبر من الحرية عند التطرق إلى القضايا الحساسة أو المثيرة للجدل فى بلادهم. وإلى جانب ذلك، نتحرى حقائق جميع المعلومات الواردة في مقالاتنا قبل النشر لضمان دقة المعلومات، وحداثتها وحيادها.

استمرارية تشغيل مثل هذا الموقع الإلكتروني مُكلفة للغاية. بتبرعٍ صغيرٍ منك، يمكنك المساهمة في الحفاظ على حرية واستقلالية تغطيتنا.

Fanack Home / International Affairs / Global Oil Prices at Risk following Saudi Aramco Attack

Global Oil Prices at Risk following Saudi Aramco Attack

Aramco oil company
Employees of Aramco oil company stand near a heavily damaged installation in Saudi Arabia’s Khurais oil processing plant on September 20, 2019. Photo: Fayez Nureldine / AFP ©AFP ⁃ Fayez Nureldine

Since the attack on a major Saudi oil facility on 14 September 2019, fluctuating prices on oil markets have caused confusion among buyers and investors.

The price of oil dropped more than 2.6 per cent on 25 September, after Saudi Arabia announced that oil production would be back to normal the following week despite the damage done to the facility.

The announcement followed contradicting reports the previous day that it would take months for normal production to resume.

A swarm attack of drones and missiles hit the Abqaiq production plant and Khurais oilfield in the Eastern Province. Houthi rebels in Yemen claimed responsibility for the strike, but the United States (US) along with France, Germany and the United Kingdom blamed Iran.

Tensions in the Middle East have since risen, and the Pentagon increased its small troop deployment to support Saudi defences.

The facility belongs to the state-owned energy company Saudi Aramco and accounts for around 5 per cent of the world’s oil production.

“The sudden fluctuation is mostly due to market fears that can be more or less rational,” said Ludovic Leroy of the French Petroleum Institute.

“As an example, a tweet from [US President] Donald Trump or a statement from Saudi officials, even if not realistic, can be sufficient to move that price by several dollars,” he said.

Stable prices are important for the global economy and particularly investors in order to accurately forecast costs. Inevitably, oil prices impact businesses.

Saudi Aramco reportedly had 50 million barrels of oil in storage prior to the attack and a total of 80 million barrels of usable and unusable oil at global ports.

The company is keen to maintain export levels even if it has to draw on reserves. It may, however, sacrifice product exports and cut refining to free up crude oil. It will also reportedly restart production at its offshore oilfields and ask customers to take different grades of crude.

“Saudi officials have been communicating quite quickly to reassure the market and [particularly] Asia, the biggest Saudi customer for crude,” Leroy noted.

Limiting supply has been a key strategy of the Organization of the Petroleum Exporting Countries (OPEC) to keep oil prices from dipping, and Brent crude prices have risen 18 per cent this year.

With the kingdom’s current reserves as well as reserves from International Energy Agency (IEA) member countries, the official line has been that supply is adequate to keep the market going.

One source told Reuters news agency that Saudi Arabia had already restored more than 75 per cent of the crude output lost.

Leroy said some scepticism around this statement is understandable given that importers like China are being offered different grades of crude – medium instead of light – and that the waiting times of supertankers or very large crude carriers are increasing.

With the plant requiring up to $1.8 billion of repair work and taking into account the satellite images and pictures circulating on social media, Leroy estimated that it would take eight months to resume pre-attack production levels.

“In my opinion, we can definitely raise some concerns about the official statements’ veracity and the ability of the kingdom to fulfil its supply contracts,” he said, adding that there are doubts the petrostate will even be able to fulfil domestic requirements.

Prior to the attack, supply had not been a problem, which is why issues impacting other oil-producing countries – the economic and political crisis in Venezuela, war in Libya, US sanctions against oil exports from Iran – had not raised supply-side concerns. That has changed now.

Oil prices are also impacted by poor eurozone growth and slow manufacturing data.

“The geopolitical risk premium has returned with a vengeance and supply-side developments have been thrust back into the spotlight,” according to PVM’s Stephen Brennock.

“While Saudi oil facilities smoulder, the potential for fresh outages in Nigeria, Libya and Venezuela continues to hang over the market,” he said.

As oil prices change, there are ultimately winners and losers. India and Turkey would have been among those most impacted by rising oil prices and diminishing supply. India, which depends heavily on oil and has not made the energy efficiency gains seen in other countries, imports over 80 per cent of its oil.

Turkey is also a large importer, bringing in almost 85 per cent of its oil. The impact of each 10 per cent increase in the price of oil would increase the deficit in the countries’ current account by half a per cent.

Russia, on the other hand, would be a clear winner from higher oil prices as its balance improves by 1.2 per cent of GDP for each 10 per cent price increase.

Low prices will have the opposite effect.

Ultimately, Saudi Arabia’s income will be hit. Moreover, any furtherance of Saudi Aramco’s proposed initial public offering, which is the main financing tool of the kingdom’s Vision 2030 to help diversify the nation’s economy away from oil, is reportedly now on hold.

Emergency oil stocks from IEA member countries amount to 1.55 billion barrels in government-controlled agencies and 2.9 billion barrels of industry stocks that could add to global supply if needed. In a recent statement, Fatih Birol, the IEA’s executive director, stressed the importance of energy security to protect the markets and economy from hits like the one on Saudi Arabia.

“Recent events are a reminder that oil security cannot be taken for granted, even at times when markets are well supplied, and that energy security remains an indispensable pillar of the global economy,” he said.

“This is why the IEA remains vigilant about the risk of disruptions to global oil supplies, whether they are caused by extreme weather events such as hurricanes, major technical outages or geopolitical crises, and stands ready to act when needed.”

Leroy noted that Saudi Aramco’s production costs have been among the lowest globally, in response to generally low demand and requests for lower pricing. Adhering to requests for production costs from OPEC had not been as effectual as anticipated, however, due to a US crude explosion that kept the market well-supplied.

Higher costs and higher prices could arise if Saudi Arabia fails to supply its customers. “This would obviously not be positive for the kingdom as it would lose its market shares, which today, seems to be the most important goal for Saudi Arabia,” he said.

Considering the target and extent of the attack, oil prices have remained relatively stable. There could be well-founded concerns on the horizon, however, given the less than clear messaging on the damage caused to the Saudi facility and its ability to fulfil supply commitments. We could, in fact, see oil prices rise well above the norm while any other hits in oil-producing countries could tip the balance.

© Copyright Notice

click on link to view the associated photo/image
©AFP ⁃ Fayez Nureldine | ©AFP ⁃ Fayez Nureldine

We would like to ask you something …

Fanack is an independent media organisation, not funded by any state or any interest group, that distributes in the Middle East and the wider world unbiased analysis and background information, based on facts, about the Middle East and North Africa.

The website grew rapidly in breadth and depth and today forms a rich and valuable source of information on 21 countries, from Morocco to Oman and from Iran to Yemen, both in Arabic and English. We currently reach six million readers annually and growing fast.

In order to guarantee the impartiality of information on the Chronicle, articles are published without by-lines. This also allows correspondents to write more freely about sensitive or controversial issues in their country. All articles are fact-checked before publication to ensure that content is accurate, current and unbiased.

To run such a website is very expensive. With a small donation, you can make a huge impact. And it only takes a minute. Thank you.