فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / الشؤون الدولية / زعماء الخليج يتوددون إلى إسرائيل ومواطنيهم يرفضون

زعماء الخليج يتوددون إلى إسرائيل ومواطنيهم يرفضون

Specials- King Salman World Rapid
مشاركون يحضرون كأس الملك سلمان للشطرنج، وهي أول مسابقة دولية للشطرنج تعقد في المملكة العربية السعودية، في العاصمة الرياض في 26 ديسمبر 2017. صرح اتحاد الشطرنج الإسرائيلي أنه يسعى للحصول على تعويض من منظمي البطولة في المملكة العربية السعودية بعد رفض الدولة الخليجية إصدار تأشيرات للاعبيها. Photo AFP ©AFP ⁃ STRINGER

يلتمس زعماء الخليج دفء العلاقات مع إسرائيل في محاولةٍ للتطبيع، إذ يقود ولي العهد السعودي، محمد بن سلمان، هذا التغيير.

ففي أبريل 2018، أخبر الملك الشاب المنتظر والمتهور وفداً من الصهاينة الأمريكيين أن على الفلسطينيين قبول السلام مع الإسرائليين أو الصمت، مما أثار غضباً في أوساط قيادة السلطة الفلسطينية. وفي الشهر نفسه، قال محمد بن سلمان لمجلة ذي أتلانتك أن لإسرائيل الحق في امتلاك أرضها الخاصة. وفي المقابلة ذاتها، أكد أن المملكة العربية السعودية تستطيع فحسب تطبيع العلاقات مع الدولة اليهودية بعد توقيع اتفاق سلامٍ بين إسرائيل والفلسطينيين.

ومع ذلك، فإن أي اتفاق سلامٍ يقترحه جاريد كوشنر- صهر الرئيس الأمريكي دونالد ترمب ومستشار الأمن القومي – سيضر أكثر مما ينفع بالنسبة للفلسطينيين. فالأمر آخر اهتمامات محمد بن سلمان إلى جانب محاولته الضغط على الرئيس الفلسطيني محمود عباس لقبول صفقةٍ تستوجب على الفلسطينيين التخلي عن حق العودة وتسليم السيادة على الأراضي المحتلة.

فقد أشارت تعليقات محمد بن سلمان وعلاقته المتوترة مع محمود عباس، إلى أن القضية الفلسطينية لم تعد أولويةً بالنسبة للمملكة. وعوضاً عن ذلك، رأى محمد بن سلمان فرصةً في تشكيل تحالفٍ إقليمي مع اسرائيل لمواجهة إيران.

بيد أن سلطة ولي العهد محدودة، ففي 29 يوليو 2018، طمأن الملك سلمان حلفاءه بأن المملكة العربية السعودية ملتزمةٌ بدعم السلطة الفلسطينية في التفاوض على سلامٍ عادل، مما يقضي رسمياً على موقف ابنه فيما يتعلق بالسياسة الخارجية.

وقال باسم الآغا، السفير الفلسطيني في العاصمة الرياض، لرويترز أن الملك سلمان وعد عباس بعدم التخلي عنه، كما فعل محمد بن سلمان. وأضاف الآغا إن إطلاق الملك سلمان اسم (قمة القدس) على مؤتمر جامعة الدول العربية لعام 2018 وإعلانه مساعدات بقيمة ملايين الدولارات للفلسطينيين، يمثلان إشاراتٍ إلى أن التفاوض على عودة اللاجئين وإعلان القدس الشرقية عاصمةً لفلسطين متطلباتٌ جوهرية في أي اتفاق سلام.

ومن الجدير بالذكر أن الملك سلمان يتمتع بدعمٍ أكبر بكثير من خليفته في جميع أرجاء المنطقة. فوفقاً لآخر استطلاعٍ للرأي أجراه المؤشر العربي (AOI)، وهو مشروعٌ تابعٌ للمركز العربي للبحوث والدراسات السياسية، فإن 87% من المواطنين العرب لا يوافقون على محاولات حكومتهم التخلي عن القضية الفلسطينية من خلال تطبيع العلاقات مع إسرائيل. وأشار معظم المستجيبين إلى التمييز الإسرائيلي ضد الفلسطينيين والتوسع الإسرائيلي كأسباب لموقفهم.

تجلّت شدة العداء الشعبي تجاه إسرائيل في أوائل أغسطس، عندما رفض فريق الريشة الطائرة السعودي المشاركة في بطولةٍ دولية في أوكرانيا بعد اكتشافهم أن أحد أعضاء الفريق المنافس كان إسرائيلياً. صوّر المدرب السعودي فريقه أثناء انسحابه وحمّل الفيديو على تويتر.

وباستثناء الملك سلمان، يبدو أن معظم المواطنين العرب على خلافٍ مع قادتهم عندما يتعلق الأمر بالقضية الفلسطينية. فقد أقامت دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة، على سبيل المثال، علاقاتٍ أوثق مع إسرائيل خلال السنوات القليلة الماضية. وفي سبتمبر 2017، كشف موقع ويكيليكس أن الدولتين كانتا تجريان محادثاتٍ سرية عبر يوسف العتبية، السفير الإماراتي في واشنطن.

وبأي حالٍ من الأحال لم تُشكل المحادثات السرية أي مفاجأة، ذلك أن إسرائيل تتمتع بالفعل بعلاقاتٍ أكثر دفئاً مع الإمارات العربية المتحدة، مقارنةً بجيرانها من الدول العربية الأخرى. ففي عام 2015، افتتحت إسرائيل مكتباً للطاقة في أبو ظبي، وفي عام 2010، تمت دعوة فريق الجودو الإسرائيلي للمشاركة في بطولة في الإمارات لأول مرة.

أما البحرين، التي يعتبرها العديد من المراقبين دولةً تابعة للسعودية، فقد أجرت عدة محادثاتٍ سرية مع إسرائيل. وحتى الآن، تبدو الدولة الخليجية الصغيرة أول من يقيم علاقاتٍ دبلوماسية رسمية مع إسرائيل. ففي سبتمبر 2017، قال ملك البحرين حمد بن عيسى آل خليفة إنه تعب من المقاطعة العربية لإسرائيل. وبعد شهرين، سافر وفدٌ من رجال الدين البحرينيين إلى إسرائيل من أجل “إرسال رسالة سلام.”

والأمر الأكثر إثارة للدهشة هو تغريدة وزير الخارجية البحريني الشيخ خالد آل خليفة في مايو 2018 التي دعمت حق إسرائيل في الدفاع عن نفسها ضد العدوان الإيراني. في ذلك الوقت، أطلقت إيران 20 صاروخاً على مرتفعات الجولان التي تحتلها إسرائيل، مما دفع إسرائيل إلى الانتقام عن طريق ضرب أهدافٍ إيرانية في سوريا. وقال وزير الخارجية البحريني في تغريدته إنّه “لطالما أخلّـت إيران بالوضع القائم في المنطقة واستباحت الدول بقواتها وصواريخها، فإنّه يحق لأي دولة في المنطقة، ومنها إسرائيل، أن تدافع عن نفسها بتدمير مصادر الخطر.”

ولكن بالرغم من تسرب الدفء بشكلٍ أكبر إلى العلاقات مع دول الخليج، إلا أنه يبدو من غير المحتمل أن تتمتع إسرائيل بالقدرة على تطبيع العلاقات قبل إنهاء احتلالها للفلسطينيين، وذلك بحسب فيليب غوردان، وهو زميلٌ بارز في مجلس العلاقات الخارجية، إذ يعتقد أنه إذا ما تم تطبيع العلاقات قبل حل القضية الفلسطينية، فإن ذلك سيثير اضطراباتٍ محلية في العديد من دول الخليج.

فقد كتب غوردان في عمودٍ لصحيفة واشنطن بوست في يونيو 2017، “ببساطة، لا تستطيع الدول العربية، التي تواجه تحدياتٍ هائلة في السياسة الداخلية والخارجية – بدءاً من انخفاض أسعار النفط إلى تهديدات المتطرفين – إنفاق رأس مالٍ سياسي ذو قيمة للدفاع عن التقارب مع إسرائيل وهو الأمر الذي يعتبره مواطنوها خيانةً للقضية الفلسطينية.”

فقد شهدت مصر مثل هذه الاضطرابات في 6 أكتوبر 1981، عندما اغتيل الرئيس أنور السادات من قبل الإخوان المسلمين لتوقيعه اتفاق سلامٍ مع إسرائيل قبل عامين آنذاك.

وفضلاً عن دروس التاريخ، فلن ترغب دول الخليج في التنازل عن القضية الفلسطينية لطهران، بحسب قول فارشا كودوفايور، محللة الأبحاث المختصة بالشأن الخليجي في مؤسسة الدفاع عن الديمقراطيات، وهي مؤسسة فكرية غير حزبية. إذ قالت لنا في فَنَك، “أعتقد أن دول الخليج مدركةٌ لخطر استيلاء [إيران] على عباءة المقاومة الشعبية الفلسطينية، ولهذا السبب نرى توافقهم الدقيق مع إسرائيل.” وأضافت، “تعمل [دول الخليج] ببطء على زيادة الانخراط والتواصل إلا أنها لا تلتزم بعلاقةٍ دبلوماسية كاملة بينما الصراع الإسرائيلي الفلسطيني فوق صفيحٍ ساخن.” وعلى الرغم من محاولات ترمب ورئيس الوزراء الإسرائيلي بنيامين نتنياهو إقناع الدول العربية بإقامة علاقاتٍ رسمية، أكدت كودوفايور أن الطريق إلى التطبيع لا يزال يمر عبر فلسطين، وليس العكس.

وأشارت إلى أنه “يبدو أن هناك فقدانٌ في الشهية تجاه الصراع الإسرائيلي الفلسطيني بين قادة دول الخليج، وذلك في ظل حالة الجمود التي يعاني منها الصراع، وشلل السياسة الفلسطينية وعدم كفاءة قيادة محمود عباس.” وتابعت القول، “لكن القضية الفلسطينية لا تزال مثيرةً للعواطف بالنسبة للعالم العربي. تطبيعٌ دون حلٍ يحمل في طياته مخاطر سياسية داخلية على الأنظمة الملكية.”

© Copyright Notice

click on link to view the associated photo/image
©AFP ⁃ STRINGER

دعمكم عونٌ لنا

فَنَك هي مؤسسة إعلامية إلكترونية مستقلة، لا تمولها أي دولة أو مجموعات مصالح. تلتزم فَنَك بنشر تحليلاتٍ مبنية على الوقائع ومحايدة، إلى جانب التقارير المواضيعية حول الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا.
شهد الموقع نمواً سريعاً في نطاق وعمق المعلومات التي يُقدمها، واليوم، بات يُشكل مصدراً غنياً وقيماً للمعلومات عن 21 بلداً، من المغرب إلى عُمان ومن إيران إلى اليمن، باللغتين العربية والإنجليزية. حالياً، وصل عدد القراء إلى 6 ملايين سنوياً، والعدد آخذٌ بالإزدياد.
لضمان حيادية المعلومات على موقع فَنَك (وقائع وأحداث) ، تُنشر المقالات دون ذكر أسماء الكتّاب، مما يُتيح أيضاً لمراسلينا مساحة أكبر من الحرية عند التطرق إلى القضايا الحساسة أو المثيرة للجدل فى بلادهم. وإلى جانب ذلك، نتحرى حقائق جميع المعلومات الواردة في مقالاتنا قبل النشر لضمان دقة المعلومات، وحداثتها وحيادها.

استمرارية تشغيل مثل هذا الموقع الإلكتروني مُكلفة للغاية. بتبرعٍ صغيرٍ منك، يمكنك المساهمة في الحفاظ على حرية واستقلالية تغطيتنا.

Fanack Home / International Affairs / Gulf Leaders Warm to Israel but Citizens don’t follow

Gulf Leaders Warm to Israel but Citizens don’t follow

Specials- King Salman World Rapid
Participants attend the King Salman World Rapid and Blitz Championships, the first international chess competition held in Saudi Arabia, in the capital Riyadh on December 26, 2017. The Israel Chess Federation said it is seeking compensation from the organisers of a tournament in Saudi Arabia, after the Gulf state refused to issue visas for its players. Photo AFP ©AFP ⁃ STRINGER

Gulf leaders are warming up to Israel in a bid to normalize ties, and Saudi Arabia’s Crown Prince Mohammed bin Salman (often referred to as MBS) is leading the charge.

In April 2018, the brash young king-in-waiting told a delegation of Zionist Americans that the Palestinians should make peace with the Israelis or shut up, sparking outrage among the Palestinian Authority’s (PA) leadership. The same month, MBS told The Atlantic magazine that Israel has the right to its own land. In the same interview, he reiterated that Saudi Arabia could only normalize ties with the Jewish state after a peace deal is inked between Israel and the Palestinians.

Yet any peace deal that Jared Kushner – US President Donald Trump’s son-in-law and national security adviser – proposes will do more harm than good to Palestinians. MBS does not care and has even tried to pressure Palestinian President Mahmoud Abbas into accepting a deal that would require Palestinians to give up the right of return and surrender sovereignty over the occupied territories.

MBS’ comments, and fraying relationship with Abbas, indicated that the Palestinian cause was no longer a priority for the kingdom. Instead, MBS saw an opportunity to form a regional alliance with Israel to offset Iran.

However, the crown prince’s power has limits. On 29 July, King Salman reassured his allies that Saudi Arabia is committed to supporting the PA in negotiating a just peace, officially overruling his son’s foreign policy stance.

Basem al-Agha, the Palestinian ambassador in the Saudi capital Riyadh, told Reuters that King Salman has promised Abbas that he will not abandon him, as MBS has done. Al-Agha added that the fact that King Salman named the 2018 Arab League conference ‘the Jerusalem Summit’, while providing millions of dollars in aid for Palestinians, were signs that negotiating the return of refugees and reclaiming East Jerusalem as Palestine’s capital were essential requirements to any peace deal.

King Salman enjoys far more support across the region than his successor. According to the latest survey conducted by the Arab Opinion Index (AOI), a project of the Arab Center for Research and Policy Studies, 87 per cent of Arab citizens disapprove of their government’s attempts to abandon the Palestinian cause by normalizing ties with Israel. Most respondents cited Israeli discrimination against Palestinians and Israeli expansionism as the reasons for their stance.

The strength of public hostility towards Israel was evident in early August, when the junior Saudi badminton team refused to participate in an international championship in Ukraine after they found out that a member of the opposing team was Israeli. The Saudi coach filmed his team walking out and uploaded it to Twitter.

With the exception of King Salman, most Arab citizens appear to be at odds with their leaders when it comes to the Palestinian cause. The United Arab Emirates (UAE), for one, has established closer ties with Israel over the last few years. In September 2017, WikiLeaks revealed that the two countries were engaging in secret talks via Yousef al-Otabia, the Emirati ambassador to Washington.

The backchannel talks should not come as a surprise, however, since Israel already enjoyed warmer relations with the UAE, compared to its other Arab neighbours. In 2015, Israel opened an energy office in Abu Dhabi; and in 2010, Israel’s judo team was invited to take part in a tournament in the UAE for the first time.

Bahrain, which many observers consider a satellite state of Saudi Arabia, has also held several secretive talks with Israel. To date, the tiny Gulf nation looks destined to be the first to establish official diplomatic relations with Israel. In September 2017, Bahrain’s King Hamad bin Isa al-Khalifa even said that he was growing tired of the Arab boycott of Israel. Two months later, a delegation of clerics from Bahrain travelled to Israel to ‘send a message of peace’.

Even more surprising was a May 2018 tweet by Bahraini Foreign Minister Sheikh Khalid al-Khalifa supporting Israel’s right to defend itself from Iranian aggression. At the time, Iran had fired 20 rockets at the Israeli-occupied Golan Heights, triggering Israel to retaliate by hitting Iranian targets in Syria.

‘As long as Iran has breached the status quo in the region and invaded countries with its forces and missiles, so any state in the region, including Israel, is entitled to defend itself by destroying sources of danger,’ the minister wrote.

Yet despite warming relations with Gulf countries, it seems unlikely that Israel will be able to normalize ties before ending its occupation of Palestinian, according to Philip Gordan, a senior fellow at the Council of Foreign Relations. He believes that if relations are normalized before the Palestinian issue is resolved, it will trigger domestic turmoil in many Gulf states.

‘Facing massive domestic and foreign policy challenges – from low oil prices to threats from extremists – [Arab states] simply cannot afford to spend valuable political capital defending a rapprochement with Israel that most of their citizens would consider a betrayal of the Palestinian cause,’ Gordon wrote in a column for The Washington Post in June 2017.

Egypt experienced such turmoil on 6 October 1981, when President Anwar al-Sadat was assassinated by the Muslim Brotherhood for signing a peace agreement with Israel two years prior.

Beyond the lessons of history, Gulf states would not want to cede the Palestinian issue to Tehran, said Varsha Koduvayur, a Gulf research analyst for the Foundation for Defense of Democracies, a nonpartisan think tank.

“I think Gulf states are aware of the [risk] of Iran seizing the populist mantle of Palestinian resistance, and that’s why we’re seeing them in this delicate balancing act with Israel,” she told Fanack Chronicle. “[Gulf states] are slowly increasing outreach and communication but not committing to a full-fledged diplomatic relationship while the Israeli-Palestinian conflict simmers.”

Despite attempts by Trump and Israeli Prime Benjamin Netanyahu to persuade Arab states to establish official ties, Koduvayur emphasized that the road to normalization still passes through Palestine, not the other way around.

“There appears to be decreasing appetite for the Israeli-Palestinian conflict among Gulf leaders, due to the conflict’s stalemate, the deadlock in Palestinian politics and the inefficacy of Mahmoud Abbas’ leadership,” she noted. “But the Palestinian issue does continue to be an emotive one for the Arab world. Normalizing without a resolution carries domestic political risks for the monarchies.”

© Copyright Notice

click on link to view the associated photo/image
©AFP ⁃ STRINGER | ©AFP ⁃ STRINGER

We would like to ask you something …

Fanack is an independent media organisation, not funded by any state or any interest group, that distributes in the Middle East and the wider world unbiased analysis and background information, based on facts, about the Middle East and North Africa.

The website grew rapidly in breadth and depth and today forms a rich and valuable source of information on 21 countries, from Morocco to Oman and from Iran to Yemen, both in Arabic and English. We currently reach six million readers annually and growing fast.

In order to guarantee the impartiality of information on the Chronicle, articles are published without by-lines. This also allows correspondents to write more freely about sensitive or controversial issues in their country. All articles are fact-checked before publication to ensure that content is accurate, current and unbiased.

To run such a website is very expensive. With a small donation, you can make a huge impact. And it only takes a minute. Thank you.