فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / الشؤون الدولية / نظرة فاحصة على قرار المحكمة الجنائية الدولية بالتحقيق في “الوضع في فلسطين”

نظرة فاحصة على قرار المحكمة الجنائية الدولية بالتحقيق في “الوضع في فلسطين”

ICC
Photo: STRINGER Image / Shutterstock.com ©Shutterstock ⁃ STRINGER

في 20 ديسمبر 2019، أصدرت المدعية العامة للمحكمة الجنائية الدولية بياناً قالت فيه إنها تنوي التحقيق في “الوضع في فلسطين.”

وخلصت فاتو بنسودا إلى أن جميع المعايير القانونية بموجب نظام روما الأساسي، وهي الآلية القانونية التي تحكم المحكمة التي تتخذ من لاهاي مقراً لها، قد تم الوفاء بها وأن المحكمة لها اختصاص على الأحداث في فلسطين.

تبرز قضية الاختصاص القضائي في هذه الحالة لأن وضع فلسطين كدولة ذات سيادة قد تم رفضه من قبل اللاعبين العالميين الرئيسيين، إذ جاء هذا على الرغم من تصويت الأمم المتحدة في 29 نوفمبر 2012 الذي شهد تصويت 138 دولة عضو لصالح الاعتراف الفعلي بدولة فلسطينية ذات سيادة في الجمعية العامة للأمم المتحدة المؤلفة من 193 عضواً.

وبصرف النظر عن قيام دولةٍ طرف بإحالة قضيةٍ ما، إلا إن الطرق الأخرى الوحيدة لتمكن المحكمة الجنائية الدولية من إجراء تحقيقٍ هي بإحالةٍ من مجلس الأمن التابع للأمم المتحدة أو في حال ارتكب طرف في نظام روما الأساسي الجرائم. ومع ذلك، إسرائيل ليست طرفاً في نظام روما الأساسي.

وبينما خلصت بنسودا إلى أن فلسطين دولة، وطرفٌ في نظام روما الأساسي، وبالتالي، يمكنها أن تطلب من المحكمة التحقيق في جرائم الحرب المزعومة، وطلبت من الدائرة التمهيدية الأولى أن تأذن بقرارها بفتح التحقيق بسبب “القضايا القانونية والوقائعية الفريدة والمتنازع عليها بشدة المرتبطة بالوضع.”

كما طلبت من المحكمة تأكيد أنها تستطيع ممارسة اختصاصها على الضفة الغربية والقدس الشرقية وغزة. كما قدمت حججها من أجل اعتبار فلسطين دولة وكذلك حججاً بديلة، إذا لم تقنع حججها الأولية الدائرة التمهيدية الأولى، بما في ذلك تخفيف المعايير في الحالات التي يُرفض فيها الحق المعترف به لتقرير المصير في إقليمٍ ما بسبب أفعالٍ تعتبر غير قانونية بموجب القانون الدولي.

وفي خطوةٍ استباقية، أصدر المدعي العام الإسرائيلي أفيخاي ماندلبليت مذكرة تفيد بأن المحكمة الجنائية الدولية تفتقر إلى الاختصاص للتحقيق في جرائم الحرب المزعومة في فلسطين.

وقالت بنسودا إن هناك أساساً معقولاً للاعتقاد بأن جرائم الحرب قد ارتكبت من قبل الجانبين خلال العملية العسكرية الجرف الصامد عام 2014. وفي الوقت نفسه، قالت إن حماس وغيرها من الجماعات المسلحة الفلسطينية ربما ارتكبت جرائم حرب وأنه ينبغي التحقيق في مسألة التوسع الاستيطاني والاستخدام غير المتناسب للقوة ضد المتظاهرين في غزة منذ عام 2018.

وعليه، استقبل قرارها بالثناء والإنتقاد، إلا أن أي إدانة ستدخل في صراعٍ مع المسائل الإجرئية وسياسة الواقع والوقت.

بدورها، أفادت وزارة الخارجية الفلسطينية في بيانٍ إن ” فلسطين ترحب بالخطوة باعتبارها خطوة للمضي قدماً نحو فتح التحقيق الجنائي الذي طال انتظاره في الجرائم، بعد ما يقارب خمس سنوات من بدء الدراسة الأولية في الحالة في فلسطين.”

من جهته، أصدر رئيس الوزراء الإسرائيلي بنيامين نتنياهو بياناً قال فيه: “ليس للمحكمة الجنائية الدولية أي صلاحية لبحث هذا الموضوع. للمحكمة الجنائية الدولية صلاحية فقط لبحث قضايا ترفع من قبل دول ذات سيادة، ولكن لم تكن هناك أبداً دولة فلسطينية. لقد حول قرار المدعية العامة للمحكمة الجنائية الدولية المحكمة الجنائية الدولية إلى أداةٍ سياسية لتجريد إسرائيل من شرعيتها.”

ومضى بالطلب من الدول الأطراف في نظام روما الأساسي فرض عقوباتٍ على المحكمة.

في حين قال وزير الخارجية الأمريكي مايك بومبيو إن الولايات المتحدة لا تعتقد أن فلسطين تعتبر دولة ذات سيادة، مضيفاً أنها تعارض قرار المحكمة الجنائية الدولية “وأي عملٍ آخر يسعى لاستهداف إسرائيل بشكل غير عادل.”

بينما قال عمر شاتس، المحامي الدولي الذي مارس المحاماة في إسرائيل قبل عام 2014، لفَنَك أنه ينتقد قرار بنسودا. وقال “لم يكن من الضروري طلب إذن من المحكمة، من الناحية الإجرائية، فيما يتعلق بالاختصاص.”

بعد أن توصلت بالفعل إلى نتيجة مفادها أن فلسطين دولة، فإن السؤال عما إذا كانت على حق أم على خطأ يظهر عدم الثقة في فهمها للقانون وكذلك الشجاعة لتحمل النقد السياسي لاستنتاجها، بحسب قول شاتس. لذا، من وجهة نظره، حاولت تبرير عملية صنع القرار هذه.

ومن الجدير بالذكر أن هذه ليست المرة الأولى التي تلاحق فيها المحكمة الجنائية الدولية إسرائيل بسبب جرائم حربٍ مزعومة. ففي قضية الغارة الإسرائيلية عام 2010 على أسطولٍ يحمل مساعدات إلى غزة والتي أسفرت عن مقتل تسعة مواطنين أتراك، رفضت بنسودا توجيه اتهامات، وخلصت إلى أنه “لا أساس وجيه يدفع إلى الاستنتاج بأن أي قضية محتملة قد تنجم عن هذا الوضع ستكون على قدر كاف من الخطورة.”

فقد سبق وناشدت فلسطين فتح تحقيقٍ من قبل المحكمة الجنائية الدولية في عام 2009 عن أفعالٍ ارتكبت منذ 1 يوليو 2002، حيث تعامل لويس مورينو أوكامبو، سلف بنسودا، مع القضية من خلال الاستعانة بمصادر خارجية من الأجهزة السياسية في الأمم المتحدة حول مسألة كون فلسطين دولة.

ومع ذلك، لاحظ شاتس أن الإطار الزمني والسياق مختلفان وأن “مسألة الدولة أمرٌ يتطور.” وبالطريقة نفسها، بينما يمكن أن تقول بنسودا إنها تنقذ الموارد المحدودة للمحكمة الجنائية الدولية في التحقيق إذا ما تم رفضها على أساس الاختصاص لاحقاً، فقد قال شاتس إنه إذا سُمع عن محاكمةٍ في المستقبل، فقد تكون الظروف مواتية أكثر للاعتراف بالدولة الفلسطينية. وفي الوقت نفسه، قد يكون لمتابعة التحقيق تأثير للحد من الأنشطة الإسرائيلية.

“كان بإمكانها أن تنقذ أرواح الناس، وكان بإمكانها تجنب إنشاء مستوطنات جديدة وضم مناطق في الضفة الغربية وتجنب جرائم حرب محتملة يمكن ارتكابها في الجولة المقبلة من العمليات العسكرية، فقط بمجرد حقيقة أنها [اسرائيل] ستكون قيد التحقيق الرسمي،” على حد تعبير شاتس.

أمام المحكمة 120 يوماً للتوصل لقرار، بيد أنه تم تجاوز هذه المدة لتجاوز المدعية العامة الحد الأقصى لعدد الصفحات في ملفها، مما يُجبرها على تقديم طلبٍ جديد. ومن المرجح أن يتم نشر القرار بعد الانتخابات الإسرائيلية القادمة في الثاني من مارس 2020.

يمكن للقضاة في الدائرة التمهيدية الأولى أن يحكموا أن فلسطين دولة، أو أنها ليست دولة أو أن المناطق المعنية في الضفة الغربية فقط كالمناطق “أ” و “ب” هي جزءٌ من الدولة الفلسطينية وأن المنطقة “ج” لا تخضع لاختصاص المحكمة، ذلك أنها تخضع بالكامل للسيطرة الإسرائيلية. وبالمثل، لا تخضع غزة لسيطرة السلطة الفلسطينية التي تحكم الضفة الغربية، بل تحت سيطرة حماس التي تعتبرها العديد من الدول منظمة إرهابية.

القضية الأخرى التي ظهرت في بيان بنسودا هي مبدأ التكامل، الذي يُملي عدم اختصاص المحكمة إذا كان هناك عمليات محلية كافية تحقق في الجرائم المزعومة، وهو الأمر الذي قد تستخدمه إسرائيل كحجة.

كما طالبت بنسودا بـ”عملية تشاركية” للسماح بتقييم “مجموعة من وجهات نظر الأطراف ذات الصلة”.

وفي حال أصدرت الدائرة التمهيدية الأولى قرارها بعدم اختصاص المحكمة، يمكن لفلسطين أن تحيل قضيتها إلى دائرة الاستئناف، التي ستستغرق عدة أشهر للتداول.

إسرائيل، بدورها، لن تكون قادرةً على الطعن في قرار المحكمة الجنائية الدولية لأنها ليست عضواً في المحكمة. وما إذا كان يمكن لطرفٍ ثالث صديق لإسرائيل وطرفٍ في نظام روما الأساسي أن يستأنف نيابة عن إسرائيل، يبقى مسألةً مفتوحة للنقاش.

وإذا ما أمكن الشروع بتحقيق بنسودا، فستجمع شهادة الشهود لإثبات الجرم بما لا يدع مجالاً للشك، وبعد ذلك يمكنها إصدار أوامر اعتقال لإجراء مقابلات إضافية.

فجميع الأطراف البالغ عددهم 123 طرفاً في نظام روما الأساسي ملزمين، من الناحية النظرية، بالتعاون مع مذكرات التوقيف، الذي من شأنه إعاقة قدرة المسؤولين الإسرائيليين على السفر دولياً.

إن الطريق إلى الإدانة بارتكاب جرائم خطيرة ربما تكون قد ارتكبت في الأراضي الفلسطينية هو طريق طويل ومن المرجح أن يمتد إلى ما بعد ولاية بنسودا كمدعي عام، والتي من المقرر أن تنتهي في يونيو 2021.

© Copyright Notice
Click on link to view the associated photo/image:
©Shutterstock ⁃ STRINGER

دعمكم عونٌ لنا

فَنَك هي مؤسسة إعلامية إلكترونية مستقلة، لا تمولها أي دولة أو مجموعات مصالح. تلتزم فَنَك بنشر تحليلاتٍ مبنية على الوقائع ومحايدة، إلى جانب التقارير المواضيعية حول الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا.
شهد الموقع نمواً سريعاً في نطاق وعمق المعلومات التي يُقدمها، واليوم، بات يُشكل مصدراً غنياً وقيماً للمعلومات عن 21 بلداً، من المغرب إلى عُمان ومن إيران إلى اليمن، باللغتين العربية والإنجليزية. حالياً، وصل عدد القراء إلى 6 ملايين سنوياً، والعدد آخذٌ بالإزدياد.
لضمان حيادية المعلومات على موقع فَنَك (وقائع وأحداث) ، تُنشر المقالات دون ذكر أسماء الكتّاب، مما يُتيح أيضاً لمراسلينا مساحة أكبر من الحرية عند التطرق إلى القضايا الحساسة أو المثيرة للجدل فى بلادهم. وإلى جانب ذلك، نتحرى حقائق جميع المعلومات الواردة في مقالاتنا قبل النشر لضمان دقة المعلومات، وحداثتها وحيادها.

استمرارية تشغيل مثل هذا الموقع الإلكتروني مُكلفة للغاية. بتبرعٍ صغيرٍ منك، يمكنك المساهمة في الحفاظ على حرية واستقلالية تغطيتنا.

Fanack Home / International Affairs / A Closer Look at the International Criminal Court’s Decision to Investigate the ‘Situation in Palestine’

A Closer Look at the International Criminal Court’s Decision to Investigate the ‘Situation in Palestine’

ICC
Photo: STRINGER Image / Shutterstock.com ©Shutterstock ⁃ STRINGER

On 20 December 2019, the chief prosecutor of the International Criminal Court (ICC) issued a statement saying that she intends to investigate the ‘situation in Palestine’.

Fatou Bensouda concluded that all the statutory criteria under the Rome Statute, the legal mechanism governing The Hague-based tribunal, had been met and that the court has jurisdiction over events in Palestine.

The issue of jurisdiction arises in this case as Palestine’s status as a sovereign state has been denied by major global players. This is despite a United Nations (UN) vote on 29 November 2012 that saw 138 votes in favour of the de facto recognition of a sovereign Palestinian state in the UN’s 193-member General Assembly.

Aside from a state party referring a case, the only other avenues to an ICC investigation is via a UN Security Council referral or if a party to the Rome Statute committed the crimes. Israel is not a party to the Rome Statute.

While Bensouda concluded that Palestine is a state, a party to the Rome Statute and, therefore, can request the court to investigate alleged war crimes, she asked the Pre-trial Chamber (PTC) to authorize her decision to open the investigation due to “the unique and highly contested legal and factual issues attaching to this situation”.

She also asked the court to confirm it can exercise jurisdiction over the West Bank, East Jerusalem and Gaza. She provided her arguments for Palestine to be considered a state as well as alternative arguments, should her initial arguments not convince the chamber, including the loosening of criteria in situations where a recognized right to self-determination in a territory is denied due to acts considered illegal under international law.

Pre-emptively, Israeli Attorney General Avichai Mandelblit released a memorandum saying the ICC lacks jurisdiction to investigate alleged war crimes in Palestine.

Bensouda said there is a reasonable basis to believe that war crimes had been committed by both sides during the 2014 military operation Protective Edge. At the same time, she said Hamas and other Palestinian armed groups may have also committed war crimes and that the issue of settlement expansion and the disproportionate use of force against demonstrators in Gaza since 2018 should be investigated.

Her decision has received both praise and criticism, but any conviction will have to grapple with procedural questions, realpolitik and time.

‘Palestine welcomes this step as a long-overdue step to move the process forward towards an investigation, after nearly five long and difficult years of preliminary examination,’ said a statement from the Palestinian Foreign Ministry.

Israeli Prime Minister Benjamin Netanyahu issued his own statement, saying, ‘The court has no jurisdiction in this case. The ICC only has jurisdiction over petitions submitted by sovereign states. But there has never been a Palestinian state. The ICC prosecutor’s decision has turned the International Criminal Court into a political tool to delegitimize the State of Israel.’

He went on to ask states party to the Rome Statute to impose sanctions on the court..

US Secretary of State Mike Pompeo said the United States does not believe Palestine qualifies as a sovereign state, adding that it opposes the ICC’s decision “and any other action that seeks to target Israel unfairly”.

Omer Shatz, an international lawyer who practised law in Israel prior to 2014, told Fanack that he is critical of Bensouda’s decision.

“It was unnecessary to ask permission from the court, procedurally speaking, in terms of jurisdiction,” he said.

Having already reached a conclusion that Palestine is a state, to ask if she is right or wrong shows a lack of self-assurance in her own understanding of the law as well as courage to bear the political criticism of her conclusion, Shatz said. So, in his view, she attempted to externalize that decision-making.

This is not the first time the ICC has probed Israel for alleged war crimes. In the 2010 case of an Israeli raid on a flotilla carrying aid to Gaza that resulted in the deaths of nine Turkish citizens, Bensouda refused to press charges, concluding, “There is no potential case arising from this situation that is sufficiently grave.”

Palestine also previously attempted to invoke an ICC investigation in 2009 for acts committed since 1 July 2002. Luis Moreno Ocampo, Bensouda’s predecessor, dealt with the issue by outsourcing the question of statehood to the UN’s political organs.

Shatz noted, however, that the timeframe and context were different and that “statehood is something that evolves”. In the same way, while Bensouda could argue she is saving the ICC’s limited resources on an investigation if it is to be rejected on the grounds of jurisdiction later, Shatz said that if a trial is heard in the future, the circumstances may be more conducive to recognizing Palestinian statehood. Meanwhile, pursuing an investigation may have a cooling effect on Israeli activities.

“She could have [potentially] saved people’s lives, and she could have avoided the establishment of new settlements and annexations of territories in the West Bank and the potential war crimes that could be committed in the next round of military operations, just by the mere fact that it (Israel) will be under official investigation.”

The court has 120 days to return its verdict but has been delayed due to the prosecutor exceeding the page limit of her filing, making it necessary for her to file a new request. The verdict is likely to be published after the next Israeli elections on 2 March 2020.

The judges in the PTC could either rule that Palestine is a state, it is not a state or that only the zones in the West Bank designated as areas A and B are part of a Palestinian state and that area C does not come under the court’s jurisdiction because it is under full Israeli control. Likewise, Gaza is not under the control of the Palestinian Authority, which governs the West Bank, but Hamas, which is designated by many countries as a terrorist organization.

The other issue that arose in Bensouda’s statement was the principle of complementarity, which dictates that the court would not have jurisdiction if there are adequate domestic processes investigating alleged crimes, which Israel might argue is the case.

Bensouda has also asked for a “participatory process” to allow “a spectrum of parties’ relevant perspectives” to be assessed.

Should the PTC rule that the court does not have jurisdiction, Palestine can refer its case to the appeals chamber, which will then take several months to deliberate.

Israel would, in turn, not be able to appeal the ICC’s decision as it is not a member of the court. Whether a third party friendly with Israel and party to the Rome Statute could appeal on Israel’s behalf remains an open question.

If Bensouda’s investigation is able to commence, she will gather witness testimony to establish guilt beyond a reasonable doubt after which she can issue arrest warrants to conduct further interviews.

All of the 123 parties to the Rome Statute are, in theory, obliged to cooperate with an arrest warrant, which would hinder Israeli officials’ ability to travel internationally.

The path to convictions for grave crimes that may have been committed in the Palestinian territories is a long one and is likely to extend beyond Bensouda’s term as prosecutor, which is due to end in June 2021.


Further Reading

In-depth Special file concerning the international affairs of the Middle East and North Africa.
Palestine is made up of two geographically separate areas: the West Bank and the Gaza Strip. Together, they make up 22 p...
Palestinians have been waging a bitter struggle to establish their independent state and implement international legitim...

© Copyright Notice
Click on link to view the associated photo/image:
©Shutterstock ⁃ STRINGER

We would like to ask you something …

Fanack is an independent media organisation, not funded by any state or any interest group, that distributes in the Middle East and the wider world unbiased analysis and background information, based on facts, about the Middle East and North Africa.

The website grew rapidly in breadth and depth and today forms a rich and valuable source of information on 21 countries, from Morocco to Oman and from Iran to Yemen, both in Arabic and English. We currently reach six million readers annually and growing fast.

In order to guarantee the impartiality of information on the Chronicle, articles are published without by-lines. This also allows correspondents to write more freely about sensitive or controversial issues in their country. All articles are fact-checked before publication to ensure that content is accurate, current and unbiased.

To run such a website is very expensive. With a small donation, you can make a huge impact. And it only takes a minute. Thank you.