فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / الشؤون الدولية / إتهام إيران بعمليات اغتيالٍ في أوروبا: ما الذي حصل ولمَ؟

إتهام إيران بعمليات اغتيالٍ في أوروبا: ما الذي حصل ولمَ؟

Specials- National Council of Resistance of Iran
ناشطون في المجلس الوطني للمقاومة الإيرانية يحملون لافتاتٍ كتب عليها “سلموا الدبلوماسي – الإرهابي الإيراني إلى بلجيكا،” خلال مظاهرةٍ تدعو إلى تسليم مسؤول بجهاز المخابرات إلى بلجيكا، أمام وزارة الخارجية الألمانية في برلين في 11 يوليو 2018. Photo AFP

اتهمت فرنسا إيران في الثاني من أكتوبر 2018، بالتخطيط لهجومٍ إرهابي على أراضيها، حيث كانت تنطوي المحاولة المزعومة على تفجير عبوةٍ ناسفة أثناء مظاهرةٍ لحركة مجاهدي خلق الإيرانية في باريس- وهي منظمة تتألف من المعارضة الإيرانية التي تخوض منذ أربعة عقودٍ نضالاً وهجماتٍ مسلحة داخل إيران. فقد ألقي القبض على زوجين إيرانيين بلجيكيين يحملان أجهزةً ومواد متفجرة في بلجيكا، أعقب ذلك اعتقالاتٍ لعددٍ من الإيرانيين في فرنسا وألمانيا – من بينهم دبلوماسي إيراني. وقال وزراء الخارجية والداخلية والمالية في فرنسا في بيانٍ مشترك إن مثل هذه المؤامرة “الخطيرة للغاية على الأراضي الفرنسية لا يمكن التغاضي عنها دون رد.” وعليه، جمدت فرنسا أصولاً مملوكةً للمخابرات الإيرانية ومواطنين إيرانيين كإجراءٍ عقابي. ومن الجدير بالذكر أن إيران لطالما انتقدت فرنسا لاستضافتها حركة مجاهدي خلق، المُدرجة على القائمة السوداء كمنظمةٍ إرهابية في إيران وبعض الدول الغربية. من جهته، يتعارض هذا الإتهام مع المسار الجديد الذي تسلكه العلاقات الإيرانية مع الإتحاد الأوروبي بعد توقيع خطة العمل الشاملة المشتركة (المعروفة أيضاً بالإتفاق النووي الإيراني) ومن المتوقع أن يؤثر سلباً على العلاقات، فقد أدانت العديد من دول الإتحاد الأوروبي المؤامرة وقالت الولايات المتحدة أن هذا يثبت حقيقة أن إيران هي أخطر الدول الراعية للإرهاب.

وبعد شهرٍ من ذلك، أي في 31 أكتوبر 2018، اتهمت الدنمارك طهران بالتآمر لاغتيال أحد زعماء المعارضة على أراضيها، وقالت المخابرات الدنماركية إن الوكالة تعتقد أن إيران “كانت تخطط لشن هجومٍ في الدنمارك” ضد ثلاثة نشطاء – أعضاء في حركة النضال العربي لتحرير الأحواز. ووفقاً لمعلوماتٍ استخباراتية دنماركية، التقط رجلٌ صوراً لمقر إقامة زعيم حركة النضال العربي لتحرير الأحواز في مدينة رينجستيد، جنوب غرب كوبنهاغن. وفي أكتوبر، قُبض على الرجل في مدينة غوتنبرغ السويدية وتم تسليمه إلى الدنمارك. تعتبر حركة النضال العربي لتحرير الأحواز جماعةً انفصالية، حيث تم تشكيلها في عام 2005 كحركةٍ مسلحة ونفذت هجماتٍ وتفجيرات في إيران منذ ذلك الحين، إذ تُدرج إيران الجماعة على قائمة الجماعات الإرهابية بسبب هجماتها المسلحة داخل البلاد. وجاء الاتهام الدنماركي بعد أن أعلن متحدثٌ باسم الجماعة التي أعلنت مسؤوليتها عن الهجوم المسلح على العرض العسكري في الأحواز في 22 سبتمبر 2018 – أن هذا كان مجرد إدعاء.

رفضت إيران الإتهامين، حيث ادعت أن هذه مجرد محاولةٍ لتلفيق التهم لإيران كوسيلةٍ لزيادة الضغط الأمريكي على البلاد. وعلاوةً على ذلك، كانت تمتلك طهران مجموعةً من الحجج فيما يتعلق بالحوادث المذكورة، وفيما يتعلق بمؤامرة باريس، اتهمت إيران حركة مجاهدي خلق بتلفيق التهمة برمتها، حيث طرحت إيران ثلاثة إشكالاتٍ رئيسية لدعم قضيتها فيما يتعلق بالحادث. فأولاً وقبل كل شيء، ذكر المتحدث باسم وزارة الخارجية الإيرانية أن بعض المتآمرين الذين تم اعتقالهم كانوا معروفين وأعضاء فاعلين في حركة مجاهدي خلق وأن مسؤولي الأمن الإيرانيين كانوا على أتم الاستعداد لتقديم المستندات والأدلة المطلوبة لتوضيح السيناريو المخطط مسبقاً من قبل حركة مجاهدي خلق.

وثانياً، وفقاً لهذه المعلومات، كان من المقرر تنفيذ التفجير المخطط له في وقتٍ كان فيه الرئيس الإيراني حسن روحاني في جولةٍ أوروبية، والتي زار خلالها السويد والنمسا. ووفقاً للإيرانيين، لم يكن من المنطقي تنفيذ مثل هذه المؤامرة، والتي كانت ستحوّل الانتباه من الزيارة إلى تغطيةٍ إعلامية مناهضة لإيران. وقد أوضح وزير الخارجية الإيراني ذلك في تغريدةٍ قال فيها: “يا لها من مصادفة: في الوقت الذي نشرع فيه في زيارة رئاسية لأوروبا، تظهر عملية إيرانية مزعومة ويعتقل مدبروها. إيران تدين بشكلٍ قاطع كل أشكال العنف والإرهاب في أي مكان، وعلى استعدادٍ للعمل مع كل الأطراف المعنية للكشف عن هذه المؤامرة الزائفة الشريرة.”

النقطة الثالثة التي أثارها بعض المحللين الإيرانيين هي أن حركة مجاهدي خلق تُنظم مسيراتها السنوية في باريس منذ سنوات دون أي محاولةٍ إيرانية ضدها وأنه لم يطرأ أي جديد يجبر إيران على تغيير هذا المسار. في الواقع، إذا ما كان هناك أي شيء، ينبغي أن تكون المرحلة الحالية من العلاقات بين إيران والاتحاد الأوروبي، فضلاً عن كون الضغوط الأمريكية على كليهما مقنعةٌ بما فيه الكافية لإيران للإمتناع عن مثل هذه الأنشطة، حتى أكثر من أي وقتٍ مضى.

أما فيما يتعلق بالمؤامرة الثانية في الدنمارك، فبالإضافة إلى تكرار نفس رواية القضية الأولى، اتهم المسؤولون الإيرانيون إسرائيل بتلفيق التهمة لإيران، حيث قام وزير الخارجية محمد جواد ظريف بنشر تغريدةٍ قال فيها إن “المحاولات العنيدة للموساد لفبركة ملفاتٍ ضد إيران تجعلنا أكثر ثباتاً على التواصل البنّاء مع العالم.” فقد جاء هذا الاتهام نتيجة حقيقة أن وكالة المخابرات الإسرائيلية، الموساد، من أبلغت المخابرات الدنماركية عن القضية. كان لاتهام ظريف صدى جيد داخل إيران، حيث يعتقد الإيرانيون أن عدداً من دول الشرق الأوسط، بمن فيهم إسرائيل والسعودية، يحاولون تعقيد العلاقات بين إيران والاتحاد الأوروبي من أجل الضغط على الأخير للالتزام بسياسة الرئيس الأمريكي ترمب المناهضة لإيران والمتمثلة في ممارسة “أقصى قدرٍ من الضغط.”

وعلى الرغم من أنهم يدعمون قضيتها، إلا أن أياً من الحجج الإيرانية تُكذب صراحةً الاتهامات التي قدمتها فرنسا والدنمارك. ووفقاً للوكالات الأمنية الفرنسية والدنماركية، المدعومة من قبل عددٍ من الدول الأخرى، فإن الأحزاب داخل إيران مسؤولةٌ بالفعل عن هذه المؤامرات. هذا التفسير هو انعكاسٌ للتحليلات التي تُفيد بأن الصراع الداخلي على السلطة في إيران لربما يكون المكان الذي من المرجح أن تتجسد فيه المؤامرات التي تم الإبلاغ عنها. وعلى وجه التحديد، هناك فصائل تعمل ضد إدارة روحاني، حيث تحاول إضعافها داخل البلاد من خلال تعقيد علاقات إيران مع الاتحاد الأوروبي – مما يضر بإنجازات السياسة الخارجية القليلة للغاية لإدارة روحاني بعد الانسحاب الأمريكي من خطة العمل الشاملة المشتركة. يتماشى هذا التفسير مع حقيقة أن إدارة روحاني لا تسعى إلى مواجهة الاتحاد الأوروبي في هذه المرحلة، وأنه أيضاً، إذا ما كانت إيران متورطة، فمن المحتمل أن يكون للأمر علاقةٌ بشخصٍ آخر داخل إيران.

وعلى الرغم من أن المنطق القائم على الانقسام الداخلي والحملة المناهضة لروحاني داخل إيران يبدو أكثر وضوحاً للحافز الحقيقي وراء المؤامرات، إلا أن هناك حقائق أخرى تقف في الطريق. الأول والأهم هو أن وزارتين حكوميتين كانتا مرتبطتين بالمؤامرات التي أعلنت عنهما فرنسا والدنمارك. ففي القضية الفرنسية، ألقي القبض على دبلوماسي إيراني، يعمل في سفارة إيران في فيينا، في ألمانيا بسبب صلاته بالزوجين الإيرانيين البلجيكيين. بعبارةٍ أخرى، يبدو أن وزارة الخارجية الإيرانية، أو على الأقل البعض داخلها، على صلةٍ بالمؤامرة. وبالإضافة إلى ذلك، جمدت فرنسا أصول وزارة الاستخبارات الإيرانية باعتبارها العقل المدبر للمؤامرة. وفي القضية الدنماركية، ارتبطت المؤامرة أيضاً بوزارة الاستخبارات الإيرانية. وبعبارةٍ أخرى، وفقاً للاتهامات، فإن وزارتين من إدارة روحاني مسؤولتان عن المؤامرات.

ولهذا السبب بالضبط يعتبر هذا ترويجاً يصعب إقناع الناس به داخل إيران، فضلاً عن تردد صدى تلفيق طرفٍ ثالثٍ للقضية، هناك أيضاً. فلا أحد، بما في ذلك منتقدي روحاني، يعتقدون أن إدارته، بسياستها الخارجية الموالية للغرب، ستنخرط بمثل هذه المؤامرات. ولا يزال هناك احتمالٌ آخر خرج من داخل إيران: دور العناصر المارقة. ففي حين قد يعتبر هذا ما حصل بالفعل من الناحية النظرية، إلا أن حقيقة وقوع الحادثتين على التوالي تشير إلى أن إدارة روحاني إما راضية عن الأمر، أو أنها لم تتصرف ضد تلك العناصر المارقة بعد الحادثة الأولى لكشف الثانية قبل وقوعها. كلا التفسيرين ضربٌ من الخيال، إلا أن ما هو مؤكد أن إدارة روحاني عالقة بين سيناريوهين رئيسيين: الأول ينطوي على خططٍ خارجية (إسرائيل وحركة مجاهدي خلق) لتلفيق التهم لإيران والثاني، يتضمن عناصر مارقة داخلية تعمل ضد سياسة روحاني الخارجية. يحتاج كلا السيناريوهين إلى مزيدٍ من الدعم، ويجب إعادة تقيمهما مع كل معلومةٍ جديدة متاحة.

image_pdfimage_print

دعمكم عونٌ لنا

فَنَك هي مؤسسة إعلامية إلكترونية مستقلة، لا تمولها أي دولة أو مجموعات مصالح. تلتزم فَنَك بنشر تحليلاتٍ مبنية على الوقائع ومحايدة، إلى جانب التقارير المواضيعية حول الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا.
شهد الموقع نمواً سريعاً في نطاق وعمق المعلومات التي يُقدمها، واليوم، بات يُشكل مصدراً غنياً وقيماً للمعلومات عن 21 بلداً، من المغرب إلى عُمان ومن إيران إلى اليمن، باللغتين العربية والإنجليزية. حالياً، وصل عدد القراء إلى 6 ملايين سنوياً، والعدد آخذٌ بالإزدياد.
لضمان حيادية المعلومات على موقع فَنَك (وقائع وأحداث) ، تُنشر المقالات دون ذكر أسماء الكتّاب، مما يُتيح أيضاً لمراسلينا مساحة أكبر من الحرية عند التطرق إلى القضايا الحساسة أو المثيرة للجدل فى بلادهم. وإلى جانب ذلك، نتحرى حقائق جميع المعلومات الواردة في مقالاتنا قبل النشر لضمان دقة المعلومات، وحداثتها وحيادها.

استمرارية تشغيل مثل هذا الموقع الإلكتروني مُكلفة للغاية. بتبرعٍ صغيرٍ منك، يمكنك المساهمة في الحفاظ على حرية واستقلالية تغطيتنا.

Fanack Home / International Affairs / Iran Accused of Assassinations in Europe: What Happened and Why?

Iran Accused of Assassinations in Europe: What Happened and Why?

Specials- National Council of Resistance of Iran
Activists of the National Council of Resistance of Iran (NCRI) hold placards reading ‘Deliver the Iranian diplomat – terrorist to Belgium’ during a demonstration calling for the extradition of a secret service officer to Belgium in front of the Federal Foreign Office in Berlin on July 11, 2018. Photo AFP

On 2 October 2018, France accused Iran of plotting a terrorist attack on its soil. The alleged attempt was to bomb a People’s Mujahideen of Iran (MEK) rally in Paris – an organization comprised of Iranian opposition with a four-decade-long history of armed struggle and attacks within Iran. An Iranian-Belgian couple carrying an explosive device and materials was arrested in Belgium, followed by arrests of a number of Iranians in France and Germany – including an Iranian diplomat. A plot of “such extreme seriousness on French territory could not be let go without a response,” France’s ministers of foreign affairs, interior and finance said in a joint statement. France froze assets belonging to Iran’s intelligence services and two Iranian nationals as a punitive measure. Iran has long been critical of France’s hosting of the MEK, which is blacklisted as a terrorist group in Iran and some western countries. The accusation was at odds with the new course in the Iran-European Union (EU) relationship after the Joint Comprehensive Plan of Action (JCPOA; also known as “the Iran deal”) and is expected to negatively affect the relationship. Many EU states condemned the plot and the US said that it proved the fact that Iran is the most dangerous state sponsor of terrorism.

A month later, on 31 October 2018, Denmark accused Tehran of plotting an assassination against an opposition leader on its soil. Denmark’s intelligence service said the agency believed that Iran “was planning an attack in Denmark” against three activists – members of the separatist Arab Struggle Movement for the Liberation of al-Ahwaz (ASMLA). According to Danish intelligence, a man took pictures of the residence of an ASMLA leader in the city of Ringsted, southwest of Copenhagen. In October, the man was arrested in the Swedish city of Gothenburg and extradited to Denmark. ASMLA is a secessionist group; it was formed in 2005 as an armed movement and has carried out attacks and bombings in Iran ever since. Iran considers the group a terrorist one because of its armed attacks inside the country. The Danish accusation came after a spokesman of the group claimed responsibility for the Ahvaz Parade attack on September 22, 2018 – a claim refuted by IS.

Iran rejected both accusations, claiming they are but an effort to frame Iran as a means of ratcheting up US pressure on the country. Additionally, Tehran had its own set of arguments regarding the incidents. On the Paris plot, Iran accused the MEK of framing the former. Iran brought up three main issues to support its case with regard to the incident. First and most importantly, Iran’s Foreign Ministry spokesperson stated that some of the plotters arrested were known and operational members of the MEK and that Iranian security officials were ready to provide the required documents and evidence to clarify the pre-planned scenario by the MEK.

Secondly, according to this information, the plotted bombing was to be carried out during a time in which Iran’s President Hassan Rouhani was on a European tour, during which he visited Sweden and Austria. According to the Iranians, it did not make any sense to carry out such a plot, which would have deviated attention from the visit to an anti-Iran media coverage. Iran’s Minister of Foreign Affairs (MFA) reflected this in  a tweet saying, “how convenient: just as we embark on a presidential visit to Europe, an alleged Iranian operation and its “plotters” arrested. Iran unequivocally condemns all violence & terror anywhere and is ready to work with all those concerned to uncover what is a sinister false-flag ploy.”

The third point that was brought up by some Iranian analysts is that the MEK has been holding its annual rallies in Paris for years without any Iranian attempt against it and that there was nothing new to force Iran to change this course. In fact, if anything, the current phase of Iran-EU relations and US pressure on both should be compelling enough for Iran to refrain from such activities, even more so than before.

On the second plot in Denmark, in addition to repeating the same narrative on the first case, Iranian officials accused Israel of a plan to frame Iran, with MFA Mohammad Javad Zarif tweeting that “Mossad’s perverse & stubborn planting of false flags (more on this later) only strengthens our resolve to engage constructively with the world.” The accusation came a result of the fact that the Israeli spy agency Mossad informed Denmark’s intelligence in the case. Zarif’s accusation resonated very well within Iran, as Iranians believe that a number of Middle Eastern countries, including Israel and Saudi Arabia, have been trying to complicate Iran-EU relations in order to pressure the latter to comply with US president Trump’s anti-Iran policy of “maximum pressure.”

Though they do bolster its case, however, none of Iran’s arguments outright discredit the accusations made by France and Denmark. According to both the French and Danish security agencies, backed by a number of other states, parties within Iran are indeed responsible for the plots. This reading is reflective of the analysis that Iran’s internal power struggle might be where leads on the reported plots are most likely to materialize. Specifically, that there are factions working against the Rouhani administration, trying to weaken it inside the country by complicating Iran’s relations with the EU – harming the very few foreign policy achievements of the Rouhani administration after the US withdrawal from the JCPOA. This reading is more in line with the fact that the Rouhani administration cannot be pursuing a confrontation with the EU at this stage and that, if Iran is involved, it is likely someone else’s call inside Iran.

Though the reasoning based on the internal divide and anti-Rouhani campaign inside Iran seems more illustrative of the real incentive behind the plots, there are, however, other facts that stand in the way. The first and most important is that two government ministries were linked to the plots by France and Denmark. In the French case, an Iranian diplomat working in Iran’s embassy in Vienna was arrested in Germany on account of his links to the Iranian-Belgian couple. In other words, Iran’s Ministry of Foreign Affairs, or at least some within it, appear to have links to the plot. Additionally, France froze the assets of Iran’s Ministry of Intelligence on account of it master-minding the plot. In the Danish case, the plot was also linked to Iran’s Ministry of Intelligence. In other words, according to the accusations, two ministries of the Rouhani administration are responsible for the plots.

And this is exactly why it is a hard sell within Iran and why the third-party-framing is resonating there. No one, including Rouhani’s critics, believe that his administration, with its pro-West foreign policy, would get involved in such plots. Still there is another possibility which was brought up in Iran: the role of rogue elements. While this could theoretically be the case, the fact that the two incidents happened in a row suggest that either the Rouhani administration is complacent, or that it did not act against those rogue elements after the first incident to uncover the second before it happened. Both explanations are far-fetched. But what is certain is that the Rouhani administration is caught between two main scenarios: the first involving external (Israel and MEK) plans to frame Iran and the second, which has internal rogue elements working against Rouhani’s foreign policy. Both scenarios need to be backed up by more evidence and should be re-evaluated with every new piece of available information.

image_pdfimage_print

We would like to ask you something …

Fanack is an independent media organisation, not funded by any state or any interest group, that distributes in the Middle East and the wider world unbiased analysis and background information, based on facts, about the Middle East and North Africa.

The website grew rapidly in breadth and depth and today forms a rich and valuable source of information on 21 countries, from Morocco to Oman and from Iran to Yemen, both in Arabic and English. We currently reach six million readers annually and growing fast.

In order to guarantee the impartiality of information on the Chronicle, articles are published without by-lines. This also allows correspondents to write more freely about sensitive or controversial issues in their country. All articles are fact-checked before publication to ensure that content is accurate, current and unbiased.

To run such a website is very expensive. With a small donation, you can make a huge impact. And it only takes a minute. Thank you.