فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / الشؤون الدولية / لماذا تواصل الصين شراء النفط الإيراني؟ نظرة على التاريخ الطويل للعلاقات السياسية والاقتصادية بين إيران والصين

لماذا تواصل الصين شراء النفط الإيراني؟ نظرة على التاريخ الطويل للعلاقات السياسية والاقتصادية بين إيران والصين

Specials- Mohammad Javad Zarif
وزير الخارجية الصيني وانغ يي (يمين) أثناء لقائه بوزير الخارجية الإيراني محمد جواد ظريف في بكين يوم 17 مايو 2019. Photo AFP ©AFP ⁃ THOMAS PETER

في 2 مايو 2019، أنهت الولايات المتحدة الإعفاءات من العقوبات المفروضة على صادرات النفط الإيرانية، والتي تم منحها لثمانية دول من بين المستوردين الرئيسيين من إيران. تم منح الإعفاءات في نوفمبر 2018 للمستوردين للتكيف مع العقوبات الأمريكية الجديدة، التي أعيد فرضها على إيران بعد انسحاب الولايات المتحدة في مايو 2018 من خطة العمل الشاملة المشتركة. فقد رفعت الخطة، الموقعة في عام 2015، العقوبات الأصلية مقابل موافقة إيران على وضع قيودٍ على برنامجها النووي، إلا إن الجولة الجديدة من العقوبات مشابهة تماماً لتلك التي فرضت على طهران قبل خطة العمل الشاملة المشتركة، والتي تم تقديمها بهدف دفع البلاد إلى طاولة المفاوضات خلال فترة ولاية أوباما. وفي أبريل 2019، نقلت إدارة ترمب العقوبات إلى مرحلتها النهائية بإعلانها فرض حظرٍ شامل على النفط الإيراني.

بالنسبة للإيرانيين، تعادل خطوة ترمب المطالبة باستسلامٍ كلي، إذ ستجبر الإيرانيين على العودة إلى طاولة مفاوضاتٍ حول برنامج صواريخها الداخلية وقوتها الإقليمية، فضلاً عن البرنامج النووي، الذي تعتقد الولايات المتحدة أنه يجب إيقافه إلى الأبد – بما يتجاوز المعايير والقوانين الدولية. وبحسب الرئيس الإيراني روحاني، إيران مستعدة للتفاوض، لكن ليس للاستسلام.

يتمثل رهان إيران الرئيسي بتحدي الضغط الأمريكي في محاولتها إيجاد أطراف يمكن لها تقديم يد العون لطهران للتحايل على العقوبات الأمريكية، خاصة في صادراتها النفطية. وعليه، تعتبر الصين واحدةً من المستوردين الرئيسيين من إيران ويبدو أنها تتطلع إلى اهتمامٍ استراتيجي بدعم سياسة إيران في مقاومة الممارسة الأمريكية لأقصى قدرٍ من الضغط. لكن السؤال المطروح هو: إلى أي مدى تستطيع الصين دعم المقاومة الإيرانية؟

على الساحة الدولية، تعدّ الصين واحدةً من أقدم أصدقاء إيران، فعلاقاتهم الأولية تسبق تاريخ الولايات المتحدة بألفي سنة. ولقرون، كانت إيران البوابة الرئيسية للصين للوصول إلى الأسواق الأوروبية عبر طريق الحرير. فقد وقع البلدان ضحية للقوى الاستعمارية ولهما وجهات نظر عالمية مماثلة عندما يتعلق الأمر بالسياسات الغربية في آسيا والشرق الأوسط، ولهذا السبب لم يتبنى الصينيون قط وجهات النظر الغربية تجاه الجمهورية الإسلامية. في الواقع، حتى في المرحلة الأولى من تأسيس الجمهورية الإسلامية، سرعان ما اعترفت الصين بها كشريكٍ قوي وبدأت العمل معها وفقاً لذلك. وخلال ثمانينيات القرن الماضي، زودت الصين إيران بالأسلحة التي تمس الحاجة إليها، والتي حرم الغرب إيران منها وأمدّ بها العراق، أثناء الحرب العراقية الإيرانية (1980-1988). وبينما كانت إيران خاضعةً للعقوبات الأمريكية والغربية طوال معظم تاريخها بعد عام 1979، واصلت الصين علاقاتها الاقتصادية والعسكرية والسياسية مع طهران.

وفي الفترة التي سبقت خطة العمل الشاملة المشتركة، واصلت الصين أعمالها التجارية مع طهران على الرغم من الحملة الأمريكية “للعقوبات التي أصابت البلاد بالشلل.” ولتفادي فرض الولايات المتحدة عقوباتٍ على مصارفها، كلفت الصين مصرفاً واحداً، بنك كونلون، بتمويل أعمالها التجارية مع طهران. لذلك، كانت الصين واحدة من الجهات الدولية الفاعلة التي يُنظر إليها على أنها تنتهك العقوبات الأمريكية على إيران. وبعد انسحاب الولايات المتحدة من خطة العمل الشاملة المشتركة، انتقدت الصين ممارسة الولايات المتحدة أقصى قدرٍ من الضغط على إيران وسعت للحصول على إعفاءاتٍ من العقوبات الأمريكية. وفي نوفمبر 2018، تم منحها واحدة من هذه الإعفاءات. وفي 2 مايو 2019، بعد أن أوقفت الولايات المتحدة الإعفاءات، كانت بكين واضحةً في انتقادها للسياسة الأمريكية، حيث أعلنت عزمها على الاستمرار في استيراد النفط الإيراني والقيام بأعمال تجارية مع طهران في تحدٍ لسياسة الولايات المتحدة بفرض أقصى قدرٍ من الضغط. ولكن لماذا تفعل الصين هذا، وإلى أي مدى يمكنها أن تساعد طهران في التحايل على العقوبات الأمريكية؟

هناك أربعة أهداف رئيسية تبدو مرتبطة بنوايا بكين في دعم طهران.

أولاً، تكمن مصلحة الصين الإستراتيجية في إبعاد واشنطن. تعدّ هذه الطريقة الأكثر عقلانية لبكين لمواجهة السياسات العدوانية للولايات المتحدة بطريقة غير مباشرة. وفي هذا السياق، يبدو أن إيران تشكل أرضية مثالية لمواجهة الولايات المتحدة.

ثانياً، هناك المواجهة الاقتصادية الصينية مع الولايات المتحدة وحرب الرسوم الجمركية التي بدأت إدارة ترمب بشنها ضد الشركات الصينية. تعرف الصين جيداً أن أي خطوةٍ إلى الوراء ستقود الولايات المتحدة إلى تصعيد ضغطها الاقتصادي. لذلك، يبدو أن الحكومة الصينية ليست في مزاجٍ ملائم للإلتزام بالعقوبات الأمريكية على إيران بالطريقة التي تتوقعها واشنطن.

ثالثًا، تعد إيران واحدةً من شركاء الصين الرئيسيين في مبادرة الحزام والطريق الصينية، وقد يضر الاستسلام لعقوبات الولايات المتحدة بقبول إيران على التعاون مع الصين في مبادرة الحزام والطريق الصينية- مما يؤثر سلباً على الخطة الاقتصادية الرئيسية للصين في الشرق الأوسط.

وأخيراً، تمتلك الصين حصةً في إنتاج النفط الإيراني. فقد استثمر عملاقا النفط الصينيان الرئيسيان، سينوبك والشركة الوطنية الصينية للنفط، في اثنين من حقول النفط الرئيسية في إيران ويُصدران إنتاجهما في إيران إلى الصين. إن أي تغييرٍ ناتج عن العقوبات الأمريكية يمكن أن يضر بمصالحهم الاقتصادية وعقودهم مع إيران – إلى جانب التداعيات القانونية. نقطة تقنية أخرى هي أن بعض مصافي تكرير النفط في الصين مصممة لمعالجة النفط الإيراني، وإذا ما افترضنا استسلام الصين للضغط الأمريكي، لا يمكنها التحول بسهولة إلى أنواع أخرى من النفط.

بصفتها المستهلك الرئيسي للنفط على مستوى العالم، يبدو أن الصين ليس لديها مصلحة في الالتزام بالعقوبات الأمريكية. ومع انتهاء الإعفاءات الأمريكية في 2 مايو 2019، عارضت الصين صراحةً إنهاء الولايات المتحدة للإعفاءات وذكرت بوضوح أنها ستواصل استيراد النفط الإيراني. وبالإضافة إلى المتحدث الرسمي باسم وزارة الخارجية، قال السفير الصيني السابق لدى طهران إن إنهاء الإعفاءات الأمريكية لا يعني أن الصين ستوقف وارداتها من إيران. في الواقع، كانت الصين الوجهة الأولى لناقلة نفطٍ إيرانية بعد أن أوقفت الولايات المتحدة إعفاءاتها – مؤشرٌ واضح على نية الصين التصدي للعقوبات الأمريكية. في الواقع، وصلت واردات الصين من النفط الإيراني إلى مستوى قياسي بلغ 792,000 برميل يومياً في شهر أبريل 2019، أي قبل شهر من توقف إعفاءات الولايات المتحدة. انخفضت الأرقام بعد ذلك، لكن الصين استمرت في استيراد المزيد من النفط الإيراني بشكلٍ أكبر من أي مستهلكٍ آخر للنفط. لم يكن هذا الموقف الأول للصين: خلال ذروة العقوبات الأمريكية المُعطلة في عام 2014، تم تسجيل رقم قياسي آخر قدره 803,000 برميل في اليوم من واردات النفط إلى الصين.

السؤال الذي لا يزال يطرح نفسه هنا هو تمويل واردات النفط الإيراني. مرةً أخرى، تمتلك الصين سابقةً في هذا الصدد. فخلال العقوبات المعطلة التي فرضتها إدارة أوباما، أنشأت شركة النفط الوطنية الصينية مصرفاً، بنك كونلون، المكرس لتمويل تلك الواردات النفطية من إيران. وعلى الرغم من أن المصرف لم يُجري أي تفاعلاتٍ مالية كبيرة مع أي دولٍ أخرى غير إيران، إلا أنه وكما هو متوقع، فرضت الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية عقوباتٍ عليه. ومع ذلك، لم تعطل العقوبات عمل الصين مع طهران، بل في الواقع، يمكن اعتبار بنك كونلون نموذجاً مشابهاً للآلية المالية الأوروبية “إنستكس،” على الرغم من عدم وجود مؤشرٍ يربط بينهما. ومن المسلم به عموماً أن بنك كونلون الصيني سيواصل تعاملاته مع إيران، باستخدام اليوان الصيني كعملة، بدلاً من الدولار الأمريكي. ومن الجدير بالذكر أن صادرات النفط الإيرانية الأولى إلى الصين بعد أن أوقفت الولايات المتحدة إعفاءاتها ذهبت إلى شركة النفط الصينية بيترو تشاينا، المالكة لبنك كونلون.

على الرغم من الاعتراف العام بأن واردات الصين من الخام الإيراني تأثرت بالعقوبات الأمريكية، إلا أنه لا يوجد ما يشير إلى دعم الافتراض بأن هذه الواردات ستتوقف.

© Copyright Notice

click on link to view the associated photo/image
©AFP ⁃ THOMAS PETER

دعمكم عونٌ لنا

فَنَك هي مؤسسة إعلامية إلكترونية مستقلة، لا تمولها أي دولة أو مجموعات مصالح. تلتزم فَنَك بنشر تحليلاتٍ مبنية على الوقائع ومحايدة، إلى جانب التقارير المواضيعية حول الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا.
شهد الموقع نمواً سريعاً في نطاق وعمق المعلومات التي يُقدمها، واليوم، بات يُشكل مصدراً غنياً وقيماً للمعلومات عن 21 بلداً، من المغرب إلى عُمان ومن إيران إلى اليمن، باللغتين العربية والإنجليزية. حالياً، وصل عدد القراء إلى 6 ملايين سنوياً، والعدد آخذٌ بالإزدياد.
لضمان حيادية المعلومات على موقع فَنَك (وقائع وأحداث) ، تُنشر المقالات دون ذكر أسماء الكتّاب، مما يُتيح أيضاً لمراسلينا مساحة أكبر من الحرية عند التطرق إلى القضايا الحساسة أو المثيرة للجدل فى بلادهم. وإلى جانب ذلك، نتحرى حقائق جميع المعلومات الواردة في مقالاتنا قبل النشر لضمان دقة المعلومات، وحداثتها وحيادها.

استمرارية تشغيل مثل هذا الموقع الإلكتروني مُكلفة للغاية. بتبرعٍ صغيرٍ منك، يمكنك المساهمة في الحفاظ على حرية واستقلالية تغطيتنا.

Fanack Home / International Affairs / Why does China keep buying oil from Iran? Look at China and Iran’s long history of political and economic ties

Why does China keep buying oil from Iran? Look at China and Iran’s long history of political and economic ties

Specials- Mohammad Javad Zarif
China’s Foreign Minister Wang Yi (R) meets Iran’s Foreign Minister Mohammad Javad Zarif in Beijing on May 17, 2019. Photo AFP ©AFP ⁃ THOMAS PETER

On May 2, 2019, the United States ended the exemptions from its sanctions on Iranian oil exports, which had been given to eight countries among Iran’s major importers. The waivers were granted in November 2018 for the importers to adapt to the new U.S. sanctions. Those sanctions were re-imposed on Iran after the U.S. withdrew in May 2018 from the Joint Comprehensive Plan of Action (JCPOA). The plan, signed in 2015, lifted the original sanctions in exchange for Iran agreeing to put limits on its nuclear program. The new round of sanctions is quite similar to the ones imposed on Tehran before the JCPOA, that were introduced with the aim of bringing the country to the negotiating table during the Obama tenure. In April 2019, the Trump administration took the sanctions to their ultimate stage by announcing a total oil embargo on Iran.

To the Iranians, Trump’s move is the equivalents to demanding a total surrender. It would force Iranians to come to a table that would discuss their internal missiles program and regional power, as well as their nuclear program, which the U.S. think should be halted forever—beyond and above international norms and regulations. According to Iranian President Rouhani, Iran is ready for negotiation, but not for surrender.

Iran’s main bet on defying U.S. pressure is whether it can find parties that can help circumvent U.S. sanctions, especially in its oil exports. China is one of Iran’s major importers and seems to eye a strategic interest in supporting Iran’s policy of resisting U.S. maximum pressure. But the question is: to what extend can China support Iran’s resistance?

In the international realm, China is one of Iran’s oldest friends. Their initial ties predate the U.S. history by two millennia. For centuries, Iran was China’s main gateway to reach European markets through the Silk Road. The two countries fell victims to colonial powers and have similar worldviews when it comes to western policies in Asia and the Middle East. That is why the Chinese never espoused western views towards the Islamic Republic. Indeed, even at the initial stage of the establishment of the Islamic Republic, China was soon to recognize it as a potential partner and started working with it accordingly. And during the 1980s, China provided Iran with the much-needed arms that the West denied Iran while providing Iraq with them during the Iran-Iraq war (1980-1988). And while Iran has been under U.S. and western sanctions for much of its post-1979 history, China has continued its economic, military and political relations with Tehran.

In the run up to the JCPOA, China continued its business with Tehran despite the U.S. campaign for “crippling sanctions”. To avoid its banks being sanctioned by the U.S., China tasked a single bank, Bank of Kunlun, with the financing of its business with Tehran. Therefore, China was one of the international actors seen as a violator of U.S. sanctions on Iran. After the U.S. withdrawal from the JCPOA, China criticized the U.S.’ maximum pressure on Iran and sought exemptions from the U.S. sanctions. In November 2018, it was granted one of those exemptions. On May 2, 2019, after the U.S. stopped the waivers, Beijing came clear on its criticism of the U.S. Policy. It declared its intention to keep importing Iranian oil and doing business with Tehran in defiance of U.S. maximum pressure. But why is China doing this, and how much can it help Tehran in circumventing U.S. sanctions?

There are four main objectives seemingly relevant to Beijing’s intentions in supporting Tehran.

Firstly, China’s strategic interest lies with keeping Washington at bay. It is way more rational for Beijing to confront the U.S.’ aggressive policies indirectly. In this vein, Iran appears as an ideal ground to confront the U.S.

Secondly, there is the Chinese economic confrontation with the U.S. and the tariff war that the Trump administration has started against Chinese companies. China knows that any step back would lead the U.S. into stepping up its economic pressure. Therefore, it seems that the Chinese government is not in the mood for abiding by U.S. sanctions on Iran the way Washington expects.

Thirdly, Iran is one of China’s main partners in the Chinese Belt and Road Initiative (BRI) and giving into U.S. sanctions might hurt Iran’s willingness to cooperate with China in the BRI—thereby negatively affecting China’s main economic plan in the Middle East.

And finally, China has a share in Iran’s oil production. The two main Chinese state-owned oil giants, Sinopec and China’s National Oil Company, have invested in two of Iran’s main oil fields and export their production in Iran to China. Any change brought by U.S. sanctions could hurt their economic interests and their contracts with Iran—besides the legal repercussions. Another technical point is that some of China’s oil refineries are designed to process Iranian oil and—provided that China is to give in to U.S. pressure—and cannot easily switch to other sorts of oil.

As the main oil consumer globally, China seems to have no interest in abiding by U.S. sanctions. With U.S. exemptions ending on May 2, 2019, China came vocally against the U.S. ending the waivers and stated clearly that it will continue importing Iranian oil. In addition to its Foreign Ministry’s spokesperson, China’s ex-ambassador to Tehran said that ending the U.S. waivers does not mean that China will end its imports from Iran. In fact, China was the first destination of an Iranian oil tanker after the U.S. putting an end to its waivers—a clear indication of China’s intention to resist U.S. sanctions. Indeed, China’s oil imports from Iran reached a record-high rate of 792,000 barrels per day (b/d) in April 2019—a month before U.S. stopping of its waivers. The figures dropped afterwards, but still China continued importing more Iranian oil than any of Iran’s other consumers. And this situation has a precedent: during the height of U.S. crippling sanctions in 2014, another record of 803,000 b/d in Chinese importations was recorded.

The question that remains is the financing of Iranian oil imports. Again, China has a precedent in that regard. During the crippling sanctions of the Obama administration, China’s National Oil Company established a bank, namely the Bank of Kunlun, dedicated to financing those oil imports from Iran. And though, as expected, the bank was sanctioned by the U.S., it did not do any major international financial interactions with countries other than Iran. As such, sanctions did not stop China’s work with Tehran. Indeed, the Bank of Kunlun can be seen as the model similar to which the European INSTEX mechanism is established—though there is no indication linking them. It is generally admitted that the Chinese Bank of Kunlun is to continue its transactions with Iran, using the Chinese Yuan as a currency, instead of U.S. dollar. Iran’s first oil exports to China after the U.S. stopped its waivers went to the Chinese oil company Petro China, which owns the Bank of Kunlun.

Despite a general admission that China’s imports of Iranian crude are affected by U.S. sanctions, there is no indication to back the supposition that those imports will stop.

© Copyright Notice

click on link to view the associated photo/image
©AFP ⁃ THOMAS PETER | ©AFP ⁃ THOMAS PETER

We would like to ask you something …

Fanack is an independent media organisation, not funded by any state or any interest group, that distributes in the Middle East and the wider world unbiased analysis and background information, based on facts, about the Middle East and North Africa.

The website grew rapidly in breadth and depth and today forms a rich and valuable source of information on 21 countries, from Morocco to Oman and from Iran to Yemen, both in Arabic and English. We currently reach six million readers annually and growing fast.

In order to guarantee the impartiality of information on the Chronicle, articles are published without by-lines. This also allows correspondents to write more freely about sensitive or controversial issues in their country. All articles are fact-checked before publication to ensure that content is accurate, current and unbiased.

To run such a website is very expensive. With a small donation, you can make a huge impact. And it only takes a minute. Thank you.